GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 03:23:04 PM

Title: Croke Park - Bags and Shít
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 03:23:04 PM
Ban on bags in Croke Park just announced. Obvious reaction to events in England and elsewhere, but is it too much?

A4-sized bags or smaller only or the high vis (wo)men come out in force..
Title: Re: Croke Park - Bags and Shít
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2017, 03:27:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 03:23:04 PM
Ban on bags in Croke Park just announced. Obvious reaction to events in England and elsewhere, but is it too much?

You can't be too careful, where have you heard..."I didn't think it would happen to me". Right move. In saying that Croke Park are prob doing it so you can't bring in your own food and drinks so buy theirs at extortionate prices
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 20, 2017, 03:29:12 PM
What the hell is an A4 sized bag? Do they mean a purse?
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 03:38:15 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on June 20, 2017, 03:29:12 PM

I assume it's just the width and height they're measuring, otherwise it doesn't make much sense. I checked my camera bag there and it was smaller than an A4 in WxH, thankfully.
Post by: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 03:39:52 PM

A big no bigger than an A4 page.

I'd say bringing in sandwiches, drinks wouldn't be problem, especially if you stick them in a clear plastic bag.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:44:27 PM
Bother for some families with a squad of children.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:49:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 03:23:04 PM

Why are you Roscommon people bringing bags and excrement to Croke Park?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 20, 2017, 03:56:53 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 03:39:52 PM

A big no bigger than an A4 page.

Well I know that. Just that I don't see very many A4 sized or smaller bags about. Unless they are purses.
Post by: BennyCake on June 20, 2017, 04:05:32 PM
It will probably become normal like airports that you can't bring in your own food or drink into stadiums. So they can rip you off with their £5 bottle of water and £3 Twix. I suppose their excuse for it will be because your ham sandwich and packet of Tayto could be used as explosives.
Post by: Taylor on June 20, 2017, 04:10:20 PM
CP execs are rubbing their hands at this.

Only a matter of time before all food and drink are banned from being taken in. Another example of the €€€€ coming before the people
Post by: Lazer on June 20, 2017, 04:10:28 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:44:27 PM

a few small bags and the children carry their own
Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2017, 04:10:46 PM
Quote from: Taylor on June 20, 2017, 04:10:20 PM

Only a matter of time before all food and drink are banned from being taken in. Another example of the €€€€ coming before the people

Seriously? You think that's what this is about?
Post by: Rois on June 20, 2017, 04:33:04 PM
*crouching down protecting head when people are told that there will be lockers outside the stadium to put bags in and that you'll have to pay for them*

Don't worry, I imagine O'Neills will be straight on to the factories to churn out county-coloured approved bags very soon.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2017, 04:39:40 PM
Quote from: Rois on June 20, 2017, 04:33:04 PM
*crouching down protecting head when people are told that there will be lockers outside the stadium to put bags in and that you'll have to pay for them*

Don't worry, I imagine O'Neills will be straight on to the factories to churn out county-coloured approved bags very soon.

They already do. Little mini rucksacks.
Post by: Dire Ear on June 20, 2017, 04:40:15 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 20, 2017, 04:10:46 PM

No doubt about it
Post by: Esmarelda on June 20, 2017, 04:41:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 20, 2017, 04:10:46 PM

It took all of nine replies. ;D ;D ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on June 20, 2017, 04:45:41 PM
Jaysus I'd be a vocal critic of the GAA's decisions which seem to be out to maximise revenue streams at the expense of competition fairness or whatever, but I don't think this is one of those. You'd fit a fair amount of food into a small rucksack, I bring one to Thurles the whole time.

Also, we did the tour of Croke Park on Saturday with 40+ kids, and it was  €11 for them to do it, including a hot lunch, so I thought they were very reasonable because the tour is excellent as well. I don't think it's always just about the money, and I'd like to think this is just best practice for security and comfort. Lets be honest a big rucksack in Croker is a pain in the arse for all the other people around as you end up horsing around getting stuff out of it, moving it to let people out etc.

Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2017, 04:53:33 PM

What?  :o With everything that happened in the UK and France recently, plus Ireland being listed by ISIS as a high target, it's a necessary course of action.
Post by: TheOptimist on June 20, 2017, 05:12:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 20, 2017, 04:53:33 PM

What?  :o With everything that happened in the UK and France recently, plus Ireland being listed by ISIS as a high target, it's a necessary course of action.

Then why only Croke Park?  ???
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:22:01 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on June 20, 2017, 05:12:31 PM

Why was Hawkeye only in Croke Park?

Croke Park is a way bigger target than every other ground in the country too. Can't believe anyone would try to be too smart for school and try to overthink this one.
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2017, 05:31:24 PM
Could the stupid f**kers not just check bags. Sure how can you bring kids to a game without a bag? Why only Croke park?
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2017, 05:32:33 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:22:01 PM

Croke Park is a way bigger target than every other ground in the country too. Can't believe anyone would try to be too smart for school and try to overthink this one.

If they blew up the Hyde it would do ye a favour.
Post by: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 05:33:15 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2017, 05:31:24 PM
Could the stupid f**kers not just check bags. Sure how can you bring kids to a game without a bag? Why only Croke park?

Checking 83,000 people isn't easy.
Post by: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:38:30 PM

What sort of yokes are you putting in kids bags that you'd need it to be bigger than A4-sized?

Actually maybe don't answer that.
Post by: BennyCake on June 20, 2017, 05:46:15 PM

Something could easily happen outside as inside. Jones' Road is thronged with fans on big days. How would you police that? No bags allowed beyond the motorways?
Post by: ziggysego on June 20, 2017, 05:58:59 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 20, 2017, 05:46:15 PM

Something could easily happen outside as inside. Jones' Road is thronged with fans on big days. How would you police that? No bags allowed beyond the motorways?

What kind of nonsensical argument is that? You can't expect people to stop living, but it's hardly too much not to ask people to take a bag into a location with 82,000+ people.
Post by: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 06:28:10 PM

If something happens elsewhere in the city, that is not the responsibility of the GAA.
Post by: TheOptimist on June 20, 2017, 06:49:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:22:01 PM

So a bomb in a backpack in croke park will do more damage than a bomb in a backpack in Clones?
Post by: BennyCake on June 20, 2017, 06:56:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 20, 2017, 05:58:59 PM

What kind of nonsensical argument is that? You can't expect people to stop living, but it's hardly too much not to ask people to take a bag into a location with 82,000+ people.

I don't expect people to stop living. I'm merely saying that anyone intent on doing damage will do damage. They know things are tighter security so what's to stop them doing damage outside a stadium like Croke Park? And there could be more damage done there than inside. Yes bag checks is good, but that only protects people in the stadium. The blast in Manchester wasn't actually in the arena, don't forget.
Post by: Itchy on June 20, 2017, 07:30:45 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 20, 2017, 05:33:15 PM

83000 people won't all have backpacks, I'd say maybe 5% would at a guess although Armagh people would probably have more to carry in their buckfast.
Post by: macdanger2 on June 20, 2017, 08:20:43 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 20, 2017, 06:56:31 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 20, 2017, 05:58:59 PM

I don't expect people to stop living. I'm merely saying that anyone intent on doing damage will do damage. They know things are tighter security so what's to stop them doing damage outside a stadium like Croke Park? And there could be more damage done there than inside. Yes bag checks is good, but that only protects people in the stadium. The blast in Manchester wasn't actually in the arena, don't forget.

If you follow that logic though, there's no point in putting checks anywhere.

There are plenty of things to criticise the gaa about but this isn't one of them imo
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2017, 08:44:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 20, 2017, 05:38:30 PM

What sort of yokes are you putting in kids bags that you'd need it to be bigger than A4-sized?

Actually maybe don't answer that.

In order to maintain self-sufficiency, the average Cavan family out for the day has to carry 47lbs of provisions.
Post by: yellowcard on June 20, 2017, 09:04:31 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2017, 07:30:45 PM

83000 people won't all have backpacks, I'd say maybe 5% would at a guess although Armagh people would probably have more to carry in their buckfast.

The poor stewards would have their work cut out if Cavan ever got to Croker, with Cavan families bringing in as much cheap food and drink to avoid the extortionate prices inside the ground. The place would be full of rucksacks.
Post by: Jinxy on June 20, 2017, 11:26:23 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 20, 2017, 09:04:31 PM
Quote from: Itchy on June 20, 2017, 07:30:45 PM

The poor stewards would have their work cut out if Cavan ever got to Croker, with Cavan families bringing in as much cheap food and drink to avoid the extortionate prices inside the ground. The place would be full of rucksacks.

Many's the child from Cavan that was brought into Croke Park in a rucksack.
Post by: Dire Ear on June 21, 2017, 07:33:01 PM
Clonliffe College Car Park -
The Clonliffe College car park is situated 5 minutes from Croke Park Stadium. The car park has 2,000 spaces which include 100 disabled spaces and is accessible via Drumcondra Road Lower. Parking is available for just €10 on specified match days only and you will need to purchase your pass in advance
When did this start, booking in advance ??
Post by: Avondhu star on June 21, 2017, 11:56:57 PM

Its only Croke Park have issues with running on to the pitch. Look at Thurles last Sunday
Post by: Avondhu star on June 21, 2017, 11:58:51 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on June 21, 2017, 07:33:01 PM
Clonliffe College Car Park -
The Clonliffe College car park is situated 5 minutes from Croke Park Stadium. The car park has 2,000 spaces which include 100 disabled spaces and is accessible via Drumcondra Road Lower. Parking is available for just €10 on specified match days only and you will need to purchase your pass in advance
When did this start, booking in advance ??

Since the Corporate Health and Safety gobshites butted in
Post by: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 08:18:18 AM
You can bet your bottom dollar the GAA will make money out of this.

While I appreciate the sentiment of keeping everyone safe there is no doubt they are now thinking about how €€€€ can be squeezed from the normal supporter with this.

With the added focus the GAA now have on the Health & Safety of our patrons I look forward to this rule being brought in at every GAA crowd where a crowd of more than say 20k can be expected.

It may be coincidence but the prices of the sweets/food/crisps may also go up by the odd 5 or 10 cent  :-\
Post by: ONeill on June 22, 2017, 08:42:41 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on June 20, 2017, 03:44:27 PM

Armagh wans still bring their children in bags?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 08:45:48 AM
Quote from: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 08:18:18 AM

While I appreciate the sentiment of keeping everyone safe there is no doubt they are now thinking about how €€€€ can be squeezed from the normal supporter with this.

With the added focus the GAA now have on the Health & Safety of our patrons I look forward to this rule being brought in at every GAA crowd where a crowd of more than say 20k can be expected.

It may be coincidence but the prices of the sweets/food/crisps may also go up by the odd 5 or 10 cent  :-\

Are Croke Park running the food shops, or have they not just rented out to various companies. So if the prices go up, that wouldn't be a Croke Park decision I'd have thought?
Post by: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 09:52:50 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 08:45:48 AM

Are Croke Park running the food shops, or have they not just rented out to various companies. So if the prices go up, that wouldn't be a Croke Park decision I'd have thought?

Cmon AZ - you are not that niaive as to think the GAA are not a money making machine and out to squeeze as much money as possible from the normal supporter? Sky, ticket prices etc etc

This is a perfect opportunity for them to either directly or indirectly make money.

If safety is the only aspect at play here then I expect this directive to be brought in at every county ground immediately?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 09:58:47 AM
I'm not sure I agree to be honest. I think they try to make their money at a higer levels, and they are making competitive decisions which are influenced by maximising revenue rather than promoting competitions, and that's bad. However I don't think they are gouging us in general. Ticket prices are a bit steep but apart from that it's not too bad.

Also, I suppose we should always remember that the GAA is using it's profits to promote and support the games. They give too much of it straight back to Dublin :) but the rest of us benefit from every euro they make too.
Post by: westbound on June 22, 2017, 10:20:31 AM
I really can't believe that people are questioning this decision by Croke park.

Imagine the outcry from people if this wasn't done and god forbid something terrible did happen? The GAA would be accused (rightly IMO) of doing nothing to prevent this and of having their heads in the sand.

Someone asked, why only croke park? Because it's the only stadium that holds over 80K people so lets start there!

There is no way in the world of 100% preventing an attack in this country, but reducing the risk of one makes absolute sense.

Post by: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 10:22:14 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 09:58:47 AM
I'm not sure I agree to be honest. I think they try to make their money at a higer levels, and they are making competitive decisions which are influenced by maximising revenue rather than promoting competitions, and that's bad. However I don't think they are gouging us in general. Ticket prices are a bit steep but apart from that it's not too bad.

Also, I suppose we should always remember that the GAA is using it's profits to promote and support the games. They give too much of it straight back to Dublin :) but the rest of us benefit from every euro they make too.

Ticket prices are ludicrous AZ.
Qualifiers were introduced to generate more income - a lot of it from ticket sales from Joe public
Now the Super 8 will generate more money - a lot of it from ticket sales from Joe public
Sky deal - Joe Public has to pay for subscription to watch games

I could go on.

Hand on heart I can say my local club and local clubs around me have not seen any benefit from any of this additional revenue streams.

Westbound - the 80k figure is a moot point. 1 casualty or death is too many so I expect this ruling to be implemented at every county ground immediately. It isnt difficult to enforce.
Post by: westbound on June 22, 2017, 10:30:12 AM
Quote from: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 10:22:14 AM

Qualifiers were introduced to generate more income - a lot of it from ticket sales from Joe public
Now the Super 8 will generate more money - a lot of it from ticket sales from Joe public

I could go on.

Hand on heart I can say my local club and local clubs around me have not seen any benefit from any of this additional revenue streams.

Westbound - the 80k figure is a moot point. 1 casualty or death is too many so I expect this ruling to be implemented at every county ground immediately. It isnt difficult to enforce.

I don't agree it's a moot point.
I 100% agree that 1 casualty is too many, but the risk of an attack happening is greater in the bigger crowd.

Would you have no problem with this decision if it was implemented across ALL county grounds in the country?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 22, 2017, 10:39:10 AM

I could go on.

Ticket prices would be the least of my worries with the GAA. You could argue they are slightly over priced, but not even by a fiver. In fact a fiver will get U16s into Croke Park Sunday, fantastic value.
Post by: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 11:02:04 AM
Quote from: westbound on June 22, 2017, 10:30:12 AM

I could go on.

I don't agree it's a moot point.
I 100% agree that 1 casualty is too many, but the risk of an attack happening is greater in the bigger crowd.

Would you have no problem with this decision if it was implemented across ALL county grounds in the country?

At least it would demonstrate the Health & Safety of everyone is their only concern
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 11:33:41 AM
Taylor, what county are you in? If you are not seeing benefits from the GAA you need to be kicking up hell. Grants, Coaching courses, etc etc are dispersed all across the country.
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2017, 12:43:35 PM

No doubt this measure will extend to all large games in due course.
They can have or place where anyone with medical needs etc can go along to be searched, while the bulk of the crowd can pass through quickly.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 08:45:48 AM]Croke Park running the food shops, or have they not just rented out to various companies. So if the prices go up, that wouldn't be a Croke Park decision I'd have thought?

In Dublin Airport the DAA (not always a consumer friendly organisation) has the airport water bottles for €1, which keeps the prices in the shops under control. This type of thinking would do something for Croke Park too. It is also objectionable that shops in Croke Park do not take Sterling, even if two 6 county teams were playing, Croke park should have some arrangement with Bureau de Change to collect such sterling at the end of the day having required the shops to accept it at a fair rate.
Post by: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 12:53:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 11:33:41 AM
Taylor, what county are you in? If you are not seeing benefits from the GAA you need to be kicking up hell. Grants, Coaching courses, etc etc are dispersed all across the country.

Gods Country....Tyrone.

Facilities at county level fantastic..........club level is a whole different ball game
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 12:55:15 PM
Ye need to be raising stink over that. A lot of GAA money goes back to county boards to run their teams, but they are supposed to allocate out certain amounts for development, coaching and games, etc.
Post by: BennyCake on June 22, 2017, 01:28:24 PM
I think all that matters is the county team. £1m a year running such teams. Club teams and facilities come a distant second to the shop window that is the county team.
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2017, 01:35:46 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 22, 2017, 12:43:35 PM

They can have or place where anyone with medical needs etc can go along to be searched, while the bulk of the crowd can pass through quickly.

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 08:45:48 AM]Croke Park running the food shops, or have they not just rented out to various companies. So if the prices go up, that wouldn't be a Croke Park decision I'd have thought?

In Dublin Airport the DAA (not always a consumer friendly organisation) has the airport water bottles for €1, which keeps the prices in the shops under control. This type of thinking would do something for Croke Park too. It is also objectionable that shops in Croke Park do not take Sterling, even if two 6 county teams were playing, Croke park should have some arrangement with Bureau de Change to collect such sterling at the end of the day having required the shops to accept it at a fair rate.

Should every tuck shop at grounds take sterling? It's not very feasible to say the least. Were talking about Dublin here, not Newry or Enniskillen.

Use plastic. Job done.
Post by: Lone Shark on June 22, 2017, 03:01:13 PM
To be honest it just makes good sense for any venue in the south that's hosting thousands of visitors from another currency area to take that currency. Certainly at Croke Park, it should be do-able very easily - worst case scenario, you take notes only at something like £5=€5.50 and give change in euro. Hardly rocket science, should be easy to do. 

I've no idea if we did it at O'Connor Park when Tyrone came down a few years ago but you'd like to think it should be feasible.

Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2017, 03:20:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on June 22, 2017, 01:35:46 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 22, 2017, 12:43:35 PM

Should every tuck shop at grounds take sterling? It's not very feasible to say the least. Were talking about Dublin here, not Newry or Enniskillen.

Croke Park is the national HQ and should not advantage people from one county over another.

QuoteUse plastic. Job done.

Do such shops take plastic for a bag of crisps?
Post by: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 03:28:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 12:55:15 PM
Ye need to be raising stink over that. A lot of GAA money goes back to county boards to run their teams, but they are supposed to allocate out certain amounts for development, coaching and games, etc.
Quote from: BennyCake on June 22, 2017, 01:28:24 PM
I think all that matters is the county team. £1m a year running such teams. Club teams and facilities come a distant second to the shop window that is the county team.

The county team are the only show in town unfortunately. Raising stink has no impact.

The Grab All Assocation is alive and kicking & it is us at grassroots level that continue to pay the price for all of these new marketing initiatives and the no doubt additional cost of not being allowed a certain size of bag into only 1 ground in the country
Post by: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 04:18:35 PM
I disagree with the notion of the Grab All Association. It's not been my experience at least.
Post by: joemamas on June 22, 2017, 04:35:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 04:18:35 PM
I disagree with the notion of the Grab All Association. It's not been my experience at least.

I can find many faults, but I genuinely believe that a lot of funds find their way back to clubs.
Ticket price are very reasonable, especially for Q/finals to final, compared to other sports such as International soccer and rugby.

Digressing, I do hope they really market the Q/finals and playoffs on July 29th 30th, it is a lousy being there when attendance is 30k-40k.
Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2017, 06:00:03 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 22, 2017, 04:35:28 PM

I can find many faults, but I genuinely believe that a lot of funds find their way back to clubs.
Ticket price are very reasonable, especially for Q/finals to final, compared to other sports such as International soccer and rugby.

Digressing, I do hope they really market the Q/finals and playoffs on July 29th 30th, it is a lousy being there when attendance is 30k-40k.

Can't be helped if teams like Kerry, Cork, Tipp are making the QFs.
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2017, 06:08:18 PM

it isn't great either when you are not there and the attendance is 30k-40k.

Quote from: Syferus on June 22, 2017, 06:00:03 PM
Can't be helped if teams like Kerry, Cork, Tipp are making the QFs.

They need to bring back Armagh.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 22, 2017, 06:13:48 PM

Do you honestly think so? I think Ticket prices are way above what one should expect to pay to see Amateur players. The AI final replay was a case in matter of the fans do not matter in charging €80 again from patrons. Myself and the other half had to fork out €320 for the two games, hardly reasonable. Take the blinkers off! Bar Mayo and Dublin Supporters, supporters are voting with their feet, especially the weaker counties.

Post by: Syferus on June 22, 2017, 06:24:23 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 22, 2017, 06:13:48 PM

Do you honestly think so? I think Ticket prices are way above what one should expect to pay to see Amateur players. The AI final replay was a case in matter of the fans do not matter in charging €80 again from patrons. Myself and the other half had to fork out €320 for the two games, hardly reasonable. Take the blinkers off! Bar Mayo and Dublin Supporters, supporters are voting with their feet, especially the weaker counties.

10k at Ros-Leitrim..

Price isn't the problem, but the lopsided product that has allowed one team in particular to dominant the sport at all grades.
Post by: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 07:52:27 PM

Perhaps if tickets were cheaper there would be a bigger crowd??
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2017, 08:03:10 PM
Quote from: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 07:52:27 PM

Perhaps if tickets were cheaper there would be a bigger crowd??

People either go or they don't go, €5 doesn't make their decision, most people are not hard up.
Post by: seafoid on June 22, 2017, 09:26:43 PM
Croke Park is great for carvery dinners. For people who are into that sort of thing. It is like the Ashling hotel with sport going on outside the window.
Post by: Rossfan on June 22, 2017, 11:33:07 PM
Do many neutrals go to Quarters or Semis?
Or do they all wait for the final?😊
Post by: omaghjoe on June 23, 2017, 05:49:30 AM
If any1 can honestly seriously say this isnt about the money in some shape or form your deluded.
Why cant they search the bags?....dont want to pay the security personel?
Shops within Croker guaranteed to do better, even if they are run privately they can hike up the rents because of better margins
Possible added bonus of less clean up so less clean up personnel to hire.

What security has to do with it I dont know? Its about availing of an opportunity to look like their doing something and maximizing profit in the process,

In terms of security it reminds me of the time the French done away with public rubbish bins after ETA put a bomb put in one.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on June 23, 2017, 09:20:34 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 22, 2017, 06:13:48 PM

Unless I'm very much mistaken seats were reduced to €60 for the replay were they not? They were certainly reduced to €50 for the hurling replays for 2012-2014.
Post by: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 11:34:41 AM
The shops in CP must be laughing all the way to the bank.

On Saturday security was stopping so many people with bags. Most people were ditching the bags and there were wheelie bins full of them.

FFS could they not just search the bags?

Woman in front of me had a small rucksack - sandwiches and a few bottles of juice in it yet security deemed it too big.

The cost to take a family to a game now must be ridiculously high especially if there are two games on as you are in the stadium for longer

€5 gets you a bottle of juice, crisps and bar of chocolate in the ground

Its all about the money after all it seems
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2017, 11:49:26 AM
Stop whining. They said no bags. If each person carries their sandwiches in a plastic bag, then they need not spend a cent in the stadium.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 31, 2017, 12:06:11 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 11:34:41 AM

On Saturday security was stopping so many people with bags. Most people were ditching the bags and there were wheelie bins full of them.

Woman in front of me had a small rucksack - sandwiches and a few bottles of juice in it yet security deemed it too big.

The cost to take a family to a game now must be ridiculously high especially if there are two games on as you are in the stadium for longer

What a load of bull.
I have often brought 4 or 5 kids with me to Croke Park and never saw the need for a back-pack. It's not a picnic. Any child can carry a bottle of water in their hand and a packet of sweets etc in a pocket. Picnic/lunch at the car before or after the game.
Yesterday's game was nearly ruined by people leaving their seats when it rained, leaving 10 mins before half time to go to the shop and most moronically of all ( in Mayo and Roscommon jerseys) leaving 10 mins before the final whistle when the game was deadlocked.
Stay home and watch on tv with cheap chocolate and popcorn and your life will be much simpler!
Post by: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 12:14:49 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on July 31, 2017, 12:06:11 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 11:34:41 AM

What a load of bull.
I have often brought 4 or 5 kids with me to Croke Park and never saw the need for a back-pack. It's not a picnic. Any child can carry a bottle of water in their hand and a packet of sweets etc in a pocket. Picnic/lunch at the car before or after the game.
Yesterday's game was nearly ruined by people leaving their seats when it rained, leaving 10 mins before half time to go to the shop and most moronically of all ( in Mayo and Roscommon jerseys) leaving 10 mins before the final whistle when the game was deadlocked.
Stay home and watch on tv with cheap chocolate and popcorn and your life will be much simpler!

Whats a load of bull?

I can assure you there were wheelie bins full of bags which had been taken from people.

Money making exercise.

If CP had H & S in mind this rule would be brought in at every ground.

Less than 40k there on Saturday - significantly more at the Munster Hurling final but this rule wasnt in place there. Why?
Post by: Orior on July 31, 2017, 12:42:00 PM
I had no bother entering the stadium with my backpack.

I also saw an empty plastic bag dance on the turf for a good 10 mins during the curtain raiser.
Post by: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 12:46:44 PM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2017, 12:42:00 PM
I had no bother entering the stadium with my backpack.

I also saw an empty plastic bag dance on the turf for a good 10 mins during the curtain raiser.

Was that not the bags from the gloves that the Monaghan players put on just before ht?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 31, 2017, 01:45:01 PM
Quote from: Taylor on June 22, 2017, 12:53:31 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 22, 2017, 11:33:41 AM

Gods Country....Tyrone.

Facilities at county level fantastic..........club level is a whole different ball game

Don't the club's get use of Garvaghey? Blitzs etc?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 31, 2017, 01:48:47 PM

Nor I. It's a lazy analysis to be fair. Heard another fella use the term because he wasn't getting his kids tickets (at €5 each!) in the middle of the lower Hogan for an all ireland semi final. True story.
Post by: T Fearon on July 31, 2017, 01:55:03 PM
I saw a guy in the Cusack on Saturday with a back pack the size of which you would take on a global trek.Time to charge just like Ryanair
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 31, 2017, 02:40:13 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 31, 2017, 01:48:47 PM

Nor I. It's a lazy analysis to be fair. Heard another fella use the term because he wasn't getting his kids tickets (at €5 each!) in the middle of the lower Hogan for an all ireland semi final. True story.

Mouthed usually by those with some sort of a weird grudge against the association. Fellow told me recently the he wouldn't let his son, who was walking around with a hurl, play for the Grab All Association (I presume when he will be an adult) as they won't pay their players and all the money is going to the fat cats on the board. Couldn't name one of these fat cats when asked and then I remembered the golden rule about not arguing with fools.

Only time I've heard it mouthed by supporters is in the immediate aftermath of a draw when a possible win was just denied to them.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 31, 2017, 06:52:49 PM
they had two people checking bags on the way in for the lower hogan yesterday.
I mean, come on, two people for the whole lower hogan stand!
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2017, 06:59:40 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 31, 2017, 06:52:49 PM
they had two people checking bags on the way in for the lower hogan yesterday.
I mean, come on, two people for the whole lower hogan stand!

If people didn't bring bags, as they were asked, then this would be more than sufficient.
Post by: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 07:13:34 PM
The powers that be can do as they please and if they say no bags then we must obey however don't dress it up with health and safety bullshit.

It's all about getting more money in the coffers
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 31, 2017, 07:21:42 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 07:13:34 PM
The powers that be can do as they please and if they say no bags then we must obey however don't dress it up with health and safety bullshit.

How does it get more money in? They haven't banned bags just big ones. How much room do you need to carry a few sandwiches or snacks? If it's for a group just spread it over three or four bags and carry one each.
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2017, 07:31:43 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on July 31, 2017, 07:21:42 PM

How does it get more money in? They haven't banned bags just big ones. How much room do you need to carry a few sandwiches or snacks? If it's for a group just spread it over three or four bags and carry one each.

Tyrone people eat a fierce amount, a wee bag is not enough. 
Post by: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 07:36:52 PM

So why hasn't it been implemented at all grounds?
Post by: Boycey on July 31, 2017, 07:40:24 PM

Being Ireland Mammy has to carry all the sandwiches for the whole family  group. Anyway what's wrong with the old way of doing it, hang sandwiches and a flask of tae at the back of the car..
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2017, 07:47:14 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 07:36:52 PM

You have to start somewhere.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 31, 2017, 07:47:56 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 07:36:52 PM

Usually attacks are at high profile places. As croke park is the national stadium and is situated in the capital it is probably seen by security as more at risk. You didn't answer how it generates more money by only allowing smaller bags? I could easily carry a drink, crisps, chocolate and sandwiches for myself in a plastic bag/small bag if I wanted to.
Post by: Taylor on July 31, 2017, 07:51:04 PM
so they implemented it on Saturday for less than 40k fans. They must be more important than the fans at the Munster Hurling final so
Post by: Rossfan on July 31, 2017, 07:58:45 PM
Of course they are.
Football and it's fans are much more important than hurley stuff.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2017, 07:59:40 PM
The Gaa been a rip of for the past 15yrs; they be getting higher attendances if tickets were alot less! As for grants northern teams survived on the national lotto grants; dont know many who got croke park type grants!  Starting to wonder where all the money goes to be honest! The bags issue is down to security i presume!
Post by: RedHand88 on July 31, 2017, 08:42:29 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 31, 2017, 07:59:40 PM
The Gaa been a rip of for the past 15yrs; they be getting higher attendances if tickets were alot less! As for grants northern teams survived on the national lotto grants; dont know many who got croke park type grants!  Starting to wonder where all the money goes to be honest! The bags issue is down to security i presume!

It's all available online for anyone to have a look.
http://www.gaa.ie/news/gaa-annual-accounts-for-2016-published/
But there's no pleasing some people. Some will always have conspiracy theories.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 31, 2017, 08:48:15 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 31, 2017, 01:55:03 PM
I saw a guy in the Cusack on Saturday with a back pack the size of which you would take on a global trek.Time to charge just like Ryanair

Has to have been an Armagh getting the weens in for free!
Post by: downtown on July 31, 2017, 09:04:51 PM
Anyone know if can take a pram to croker?
Post by: Orior on July 31, 2017, 09:28:53 PM
Where/how was I told about this new rule? I've only ever looked at the ticket for row and seat numbers.
Post by: armaghniac on July 31, 2017, 09:38:24 PM
I once brought a bag to Croke Park, but she didn't want to keep company with me after that.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 01, 2017, 09:32:56 AM
Quote from: Boycey on July 31, 2017, 07:40:24 PM

Being Ireland Mammy has to carry all the sandwiches for the whole family  group. Anyway what's wrong with the old way of doing it, hang sandwiches and a flask of tae at the back of the car..
we took the train
there should be a queue for those with bags and those without
Post by: Rossfan on August 01, 2017, 09:42:38 AM
Is it just me or does anyone else find the whole Croke Park "experience" a bit off putting.
Bad enough all the rules about bags , flags etc , and the whole feel of being in an airport.
However the sight of thousands milling round out the back of the stand drinking, smoking, chatting etc while the Galway Kerry game was on was mind boggling. I got there 20 minutes into that game and thought it must be half time.
Then the ones leaving seats 5 minutes before h/t to Q up to buy overpriced items......
Then of course you can't go on the pitch to mingle with players afterwards and people standing around talking afterwards aren't encouraged to stay long as gates are being shut noisily to give you the hint.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 01, 2017, 10:57:20 AM
Quote from: downtown on July 31, 2017, 09:04:51 PM

Have never seen one in Croker. Give them a ring, you might be able to swap your ticket for a disabled ticket and stick the pram in the wheelchair spot beside you. Premium is better for this than the back of the Cusack.

Where I park the car I don't fancy standing around and talking to the locals.
Post by: Boycey on August 01, 2017, 02:08:40 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 01, 2017, 10:57:20 AM

Have never seen one in Croker. Give them a ring, you might be able to swap your ticket for a disabled ticket and stick the pram in the wheelchair spot beside you. Premium is better for this than the back of the Cusack.

Ha, you park in Springgarden Street too :-). I was back at the car 10/15 mins before everyone else at the All Ireland final 2 or 3 years ago and spent a very entertaining time talking to the local juveniles..
Post by: manfromdelmonte on August 01, 2017, 02:17:49 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 01, 2017, 09:42:38 AM
Is it just me or does anyone else find the whole Croke Park "experience" a bit off putting.
Bad enough all the rules about bags , flags etc , and the whole feel of being in an airport.
However the sight of thousands milling round out the back of the stand drinking, smoking, chatting etc while the Galway Kerry game was on was mind boggling. I got there 20 minutes into that game and thought it must be half time.
Then the ones leaving seats 5 minutes before h/t to Q up to buy overpriced items......
Then of course you can't go on the pitch to mingle with players afterwards and people standing around talking afterwards aren't encouraged to stay long as gates are being shut noisily to give you the hint.
go to a rugby game or soccer game
its even worse

the whole thing is being sanitised
however if you piss off the core support from each county the bandwagoners won't turn up for super 8 games
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 01, 2017, 02:36:57 PM
Quote from: Boycey on August 01, 2017, 02:08:40 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 01, 2017, 10:57:20 AM

Ha, you park in Springgarden Street too :-). I was back at the car 10/15 mins before everyone else at the All Ireland final 2 or 3 years ago and spent a very entertaining time talking to the local juveniles..

Not a million miles away. Left it on Charleville Mall before, couldn't relax during the game at all, stay north of the canal now
Post by: Goldengreen on August 01, 2017, 02:52:07 PM

https://crokepark.ie/match-day/faq (https://crokepark.ie/match-day/faq)

it mentions a buggy but i am sure its the same for a pram. Few years ago we brought a buggy/stroller into Croke park, it folded longways so we were able to just put it under our seats.
We had to enter the stand via the wheel chair entrance, for Cusack stand it was right down near the end of the turn styles close to the Canal End.
Bear in mind  that you will need a ticket for the baby too, they insist on it even if the baby will just end up sitting on your lap. I assume its a baby as its a pram you are taking.
Another time we went my wife took a Baby Bjorn (front carrier ) and was actually much handier, and for sitting  in the seat too . (Though would it fall foul of the A4 size back pack in croke park's eyes lol , you never know with them!!!!!)
Post by: macdanger2 on August 01, 2017, 03:08:27 PM

Saw two of them in there on Sunday
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2017, 11:54:34 PM
If you are staying the Sat night and heading home after the match on the train it's the only time I bring a bag.... place across the road from Connelly station has a looker rental, they'll have put the prices up no doubt!
Post by: Owen Brannigan on August 02, 2017, 07:49:25 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2017, 11:54:34 PM
If you are staying the Sat night and heading home after the match on the train it's the only time I bring a bag.... place across the road from Connelly station has a looker rental, they'll have put the prices up no doubt!

That's some service, they kept an eye on your bag until you come back?  I have seen boyos offering to watch your car for a few euros while you're at the match but never your luggage.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2017, 10:33:04 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on August 02, 2017, 07:49:25 AM

That's some service, they kept an eye on your bag until you come back?  I have seen boyos offering to watch your car for a few euros while you're at the match but never your luggage.

I could have spelt that wrong again and it would have been a hooker rental!! Instead of, locker rental  ;)
Post by: armaghniac on August 02, 2017, 11:10:51 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2017, 10:33:04 AM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on August 02, 2017, 07:49:25 AM

I could have spelt that wrong again and it would have been a hooker rental!! Instead of, locker rental  ;)

Monto isn't what it used to be.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 02, 2017, 10:42:27 PM
Anyone tried getting in flags/banners under the new rules? Have they clamped down on flag pole length or anything?
Post by: mayo.mick on August 02, 2017, 11:22:59 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 02, 2017, 10:42:27 PM
Anyone tried getting in flags/banners under the new rules? Have they clamped down on flag pole length or anything?

Nope, not last Sunday into the Cusack anyway. Had to que with my (small camera bag, did't chance my bigger one). No problem with my flag, 4ft x 4ft, though I've the pole cut to just the length of the flag, makes it a bit handier for transporting! I did notice a lot of drinks cans and bottles on the table, must have been taken off  people. Two young girls on the security check were very pleasant.
Post by: Syferus on August 02, 2017, 11:37:03 PM
The bag check line got me inside way faster than the line for the normals my mates went into. Bring a bag if you want to beat the queue..
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 02, 2017, 11:38:42 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 02, 2017, 11:37:03 PM
The bag check line got me inside way faster than the line for the normals my mates went into. Bring a bag if you want to beat the queue..

Did your missus mind you taking through that line?
Post by: ONeill on August 02, 2017, 11:42:21 PM

No Orange colours allowed.

If someone can't last a couple of hours without a bag they deserve to be thrown out. Unless for medical reasons.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 03, 2017, 08:20:51 AM
Quote from: mayo.mick on August 02, 2017, 11:22:59 PM

Nope, not last Sunday into the Cusack anyway. Had to que with my (small camera bag, did't chance my bigger one). No problem with my flag, 4ft x 4ft, though I've the pole cut to just the length of the flag, makes it a bit handier for transporting! I did notice a lot of drinks cans and bottles on the table, must have been taken off  people. Two young girls on the security check were very pleasant.

Cheers mick, was wondering what they would do with you club 51 lads at the weekend. Have a 5x5 with a telescopic pole and was wondering if it would be ok.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on August 03, 2017, 02:56:29 PM
I did notice a lot of drinks cans and bottles on the table, must have been taken off  people.

To what end would drinks cans and bottles be regarded as a safety issue?  And if they are, can we say that they drink receptacles provided by stadium outlets are safer?

A report like that fuels my suspicion that commercial reasons are at least a consideration in this new policy.

/Jim.
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2017, 03:06:40 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on August 03, 2017, 02:56:29 PM
I did notice a lot of drinks cans and bottles on the table, must have been taken off  people.

To what end would drinks cans and bottles be regarded as a safety issue?  And if they are, can we say that they drink receptacles provided by stadium outlets are safer?

The receptacles provided inside are a known quantity, those coming in from outside are not.
Post by: Syferus on August 03, 2017, 03:07:29 PM

A report like that fuels my suspicion that commercial reasons are at least a consideration in this new policy.

/Jim.

I was let in with a water bottle in my hand, that must empty your fuel tank of conspiracy..
Post by: Taylor on August 03, 2017, 03:11:22 PM

/Jim.

This is the long term plan - the move is all for commercial purposes
Post by: twohands!!! on August 04, 2017, 05:09:34 PM

/Jim.

A closed plastic bottle or can full of liquid makes a very throwable missile - pretty sure some stadiums/festivals actually allow opened containers if the bottle cap is handed over/can is open.

I'd imagine all of the drink receptacles in the stadium are probably of the plastic drinking vessel type.
Post by: westbound on August 08, 2017, 09:51:26 AM
Has anyone here actually been stopped bringing a bottle into croke park?

I've been at 4 games over the last few weeks in croker and never yet been stopped from bringing bottles (with caps on) into the ground.

Post by: DickyRock on August 08, 2017, 10:12:21 PM
Nope. I brought in bottles of water and snacks for the kids last week. No issue. I had them in a wee drawstring bag (https://www.oneills.com/oneills-gaa-gym-bag.html (https://www.oneills.com/oneills-gaa-gym-bag.html)) but I saw a few people with backpacks inside.
Post by: leenie on August 12, 2017, 09:44:11 AM
Does anyone know If there is any provisions in place for someone who is in their 80s to get to croke park from drumconda without walking .. the said person will always get a good seat but the walking to croke park is taking its toll ? 
Post by: delgany on August 12, 2017, 11:21:00 AM
I  think There is a disabled  car park  behind the davin stand .
This connects directly to ground with accessible lifts.
I'd contact croke park for pass arrangements.

Post by: delgany on August 12, 2017, 11:23:46 AM
I took a 10kg travel bag in last week.
There was a bag check.
Girl said that it was the last week that it would be allowed.
HOWEVER
THERE IS NO MENTION OF IT IN THE GROUND REGULATIONS OR ON THE TICKETS OR ON E TICKET
Post by: Owen Brannigan on August 13, 2017, 12:48:56 PM
Quote from: leenie on August 12, 2017, 09:44:11 AM
Does anyone know If there is any provisions in place for someone who is in their 80s to get to croke park from drumconda without walking .. the said person will always get a good seat but the walking to croke park is taking its toll ?

If you could persuade them to take a wheelchair, I am sure you could leave it secure during the game.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on August 13, 2017, 12:51:12 PM
Last week, umbrellas were being confiscated and put into blue wheelie bins.  While there is no place for umbrellas at a game blocking views and dripping onto the people behind, it would be a loss to some to have their golfing umbrella confiscated on entry to the ground when there was no warning beforehand.
Post by: Taylor on August 13, 2017, 01:22:39 PM
And the week before that they were filling the blue wheelie bins with bags.
Post by: johnneycool on August 14, 2017, 04:17:24 PM
I had a small rucksack with me and had it checked.

All they were looking for was cans of drink as far as I could see by the contents of the table.

They may have unofficially relaxed those rules it seems.
Post by: RedHand88 on August 14, 2017, 11:49:51 PM
Know someone that had the bamboo pole removed from the flag on the way in. Depends who you got it seemed.
Post by: lurganblue on August 15, 2017, 11:31:59 AM
took a backpack with me on sunday. very brief check but they didnt seem too interested in my chicken sambos
Post by: BennyCake on August 15, 2017, 02:07:06 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on August 15, 2017, 11:31:59 AM
took a backpack with me on sunday. very brief check but they didnt seem too interested in my chicken sambos

They're next on the banned list, along with those Confederates flags.