Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on September 10, 2013, 12:10:12 PM

Title: Sinead O'Connor
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 10, 2013, 12:10:12 PM
Sinead O'Connor has had the initials 'B' and 'Q' permanently tattooed on her face in red ink.

The singer had the letters etched on each of her cheeks as a reminder to a man who upset her.

She told the Irish Sun: "It was suitably painful. It is a B and a Q... the initials of the last man who is ever going to s*** all over me."

When asked if she wanted a permanent reminder of the unknown person who had annoyed her, she replied: "I want him to be reminded."

O'Connor added: "Got it done at Zulu Tattoos in Dublin about two weeks ago. I don't believe in explaining tattoos so even he doesn't know what it means.

"It's dangerous to be considered 'pretty'. I feel safer having 'un-prettied' my face... and he doesn't get to forget.

"So I'm double happy — we musicians do things differently."

The Nothing Compares 2 U star has had a number of tattoos inked in recent years – including a large image of Jesus Christ and a heart symbol on her chest.

No rule 1 of the DIY chain on her mush but I am sure they will surface.

For the record I'd day she's a 42 on the mental scale.
Title: Re: On a scale of 1-10 how mad is Sinead O'Connor?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 10, 2013, 12:18:37 PM
I feel really sorry for her. She's obviously a fairly disturbed individual, and what a voice she had.
Post by: thejuice on September 10, 2013, 12:21:53 PM
leaver alone

Post by: highorlow on September 10, 2013, 12:28:10 PM
Could be worse she could have got WOODIES stamped on her arse.
Post by: orangeman on September 10, 2013, 01:01:14 PM
She's a genius. A musical legend.

She does and says crazy stuff but she's not mad.
Post by: Feckitt on September 10, 2013, 01:10:50 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 10, 2013, 01:01:14 PM

Yes, and half the crazy shit that she was saying in the 80s that shocked and appalled everyone turned out to be true!!

No one, and I mean not a single person alive had the balls to go on TV and say that the Pope, the nice happy smiley faced Pope was presiding over a church that was actively protecting and covering up Paedophiles, but she did.  It may have cost her career, but she did it anyway.  The song that she brought out last year, 'The Wolf is getting Married' is a career highlight.  She's still got it.  I hope the facial tattoo thing isn't true, but I wouldn't be surprised.  Of course she's a bit mad, but I'm proud that she's Irish.
Post by: Nally Stand on September 10, 2013, 01:16:45 PM
It's true it seems

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BTyYgEwCMAAX-Gi.jpg:large)
Post by: balladmaker on September 10, 2013, 01:21:21 PM
QuoteShe's a genius. A musical legend.

Would have to disagree with you there, her musical legacy is not one which would get her close to any such overused legendary status imo.
Post by: deiseach on September 10, 2013, 01:51:53 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 10, 2013, 01:10:50 PM
No one, and I mean not a single person alive had the balls to go on TV and say that the Pope, the nice happy smiley faced Pope was presiding over a church that was actively protecting and covering up Paedophiles, but she did.

But that's not really what she did, is it? There's a good account of what happened here (http://www.notbored.org/sinead.html) , and it seems all she did was change two words in a Bob Marley song from "racial injustice" to "sexual abuse" then tear up a photo of JPII. Everyone remembers what she did, no one ever asks why. As political stunts go, it was rubbish. As attention-seeking escapades go, it was one of the best. The woman needs help. I don't know where she's going to get it from.
Post by: Orior on September 10, 2013, 01:55:58 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on September 10, 2013, 01:21:21 PM

Would have to disagree with you there, her musical legacy is not one which would get her close to any such overused legendary status imo.

Agreed. Her one big hit, was written by Prince
Post by: muppet on September 10, 2013, 02:01:56 PM
Quote from: Orior on September 10, 2013, 01:55:58 PM

Dunno, she was doing well enough before that. Here she is at the Grammys in 1989:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JugUQJv9YlY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JugUQJv9YlY)

I think she was way ahead of her time. She invented text speak with Nothing compares 2U even before there were mobile phones!
Post by: Feckitt on September 10, 2013, 02:02:17 PM
Quote from: deiseach on September 10, 2013, 01:51:53 PM
No one, and I mean not a single person alive had the balls to go on TV and say that the Pope, the nice happy smiley faced Pope was presiding over a church that was actively protecting and covering up Paedophiles, but she did.

But that's not really what she did, is it? There's a good account of what happened here (http://www.notbored.org/sinead.html) , and it seems all she did was change two words in a Bob Marley song from "racial injustice" to "sexual abuse" then tear up a photo of JPII. Everyone remembers what she did, no one ever asks why. As political stunts go, it was rubbish. As attention-seeking escapades go, it was one of the best. The woman needs help. I don't know where she's going to get it from.

Yes, but it wasn't just Saturday Night Live was it.  In countless interviews she dared to speak out against the church and highlighted the role  of the church including Mr nice smiley Pope John Paul II in protecting child torturers and child rapists.
Post by: deiseach on September 10, 2013, 02:21:21 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on September 10, 2013, 02:02:17 PM
Yes, but it wasn't just Saturday Night Live was it.  In countless interviews she dared to speak out against the church and highlighted the role  of the church including Mr nice smiley Pope John Paul II in protecting child torturers and child rapists.

And yet people don't know here for that. She's going about it the wrong way.
Post by: EC Unique on September 10, 2013, 02:26:28 PM
She is and always has been a bit 'different' Nice voice and used to be very pretty but 'a musical legend'? That's stretching it a bit.
Post by: Feckitt on September 10, 2013, 02:29:35 PM
That's because she's f**king nuts  :'( 

Of course she's better known for doing daft stuff, like becoming a priest and a nun, and now I'm saddened to see her apparently deface her own face in order to teach her ex a lesson  :-\

However, I still think of her as a rebel, a person with guts, and a person who is prepared to stand up for herself.  She may not always be right, she is a troublemaker, and sometimes appears to be like a lost child, but you cannot forget the positive impact that she has had on this country.

As a few people have rightly said, she is not a musical genius, but she sings from her heart and soul.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on September 10, 2013, 02:56:48 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 10, 2013, 02:01:56 PM

I think she was way ahead of her time. She invented text speak with Nothing compares 2U even before there were mobile phones!

I thought U2 came up with it first
Post by: muppet on September 10, 2013, 03:32:08 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on September 10, 2013, 02:56:48 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 10, 2013, 02:01:56 PM

I thought U2 came up with it first

That is Bad but is only One of their Mysterious Ways.

Post by: Dougal Maguire on September 10, 2013, 07:02:09 PM
I wonder if Laoislad 'would'?
Post by: Itchy on September 10, 2013, 07:14:48 PM
I don't think it is very nice to describe her as mad. She is clearly troubled and suffers from bi polar disorder. I don't think that's too funny myself.
Post by: J OGorman on September 10, 2013, 07:50:30 PM
Poor woman having to deal with whats going on in her head. .Shes clearly unwell
Post by: Puckoon on September 10, 2013, 07:57:04 PM
Maybe she is mad, or maybe she is mad. Either way there's evidence there to underline the hypothesis that people with celebrity and money when allowed to run unchecked in how they choose to live their life by peers, friends, or family often end up in weird sad situations. Like having B and Q tattooed on their faces.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 10, 2013, 08:49:26 PM
A decent, loving person! An above average voice. Not afraid to ruffle feathers for what she believes in. In fairness she has got a lot of platforms on RTE to air her view over the years. I think she likes being in the lime light and craves attention. Various stunts such as her internet Love, Vegas wedding, becoming a Priest, Various partners, row with Shane McGowan, row with Mary Coughlan, tearing the picture of the Pope, and so on! This stunt will get her a few more weeks in the papers. But this stunt has a cutting your nose off to spite your face feel!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 10, 2013, 09:34:44 PM
i go with a richter scale 10!!
Post by: AQMP on September 10, 2013, 09:36:25 PM
A complete bin lid.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on September 10, 2013, 09:53:09 PM

Disagreed. Listen to any of her covers or songs on YouTube, and the woman is a musical genius. 'Foggy Dew' with the Chieftains is a stand out example. No female alive could sing that as uniquely as she does.
She also shone a light on different genres of Irish music at a time when most could not see past U2.
I think it is safe to say that the Cranberries for one would not have the fame they had if it wasn't for her.
Feel sorry for her - her voice and influence will be appreciated when she is no more.
Post by: magpie seanie on September 11, 2013, 10:48:58 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 10, 2013, 08:49:26 PM
A decent, loving person! An above average voice. Not afraid to ruffle feathers for what she believes in. In fairness she has got a lot of platforms on RTE to air her view over the years. I think she likes being in the lime light and craves attention. Various stunts such as her internet Love, Vegas wedding, becoming a Priest, Various partners, row with Shane McGowan, row with Mary Coughlan, tearing the picture of the Pope, and so on! This stunt will get her a few more weeks in the papers. But this stunt has a cutting your nose off to spite your face feel!

I know a few people who would dispute that first bit strongly and from a something that happened involving a relation of mine I'd be one of them.

She had a good voice but wasn't a "great" singer due to her breathing. Nothing Compares 2U was and still is magical. Besides that she just seems to be an attention seeker. If she really believed half of what she spouted she'd be more constructive in trying to bring about change, not generate headlines. I do strongly suspect she is mentally ill and really this should have been addressed by now.
Post by: laoislad on September 11, 2013, 11:06:00 AM
I think Nothing compares to you is one of the most annoying songs ever.I can't listen to it fecking hate it.

I do like the Haunted song she done with McGowan though.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 11, 2013, 11:18:38 AM
Ok - I take the point that perhaps labelling her "mad" is unfair but, as with anything, the first step is admitting one has a problem where one is evident.

She has a major problem and irregardless of her musical output (she was good when she was good and awful when she was poor) she needs help and it would seem those in a position to help her have either washed their hands or abrogated all responsibility.

I did hear that not so long ago she threatened to set herself on fire in the lobby of a newspaper office unless she got to speak to a journalist who had written something negative about her (not sure if she had a can of petrol with her) and added to me witnessing her behaviour close hand and off camera in a tv studio, her dressing up as a priest etc etc shows that she needs help urgently and out of the public glare.
Post by: deiseach on September 11, 2013, 11:39:44 AM
The woman is ill, as ill as if she were walking around with an axe in her head. In an ideal world, the media would not reinforce her illness. In this world . . . good luck with that.
Post by: johnneycool on September 11, 2013, 11:56:08 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on September 10, 2013, 09:53:09 PM

Disagreed. Listen to any of her covers or songs on YouTube, and the woman is a musical genius. 'Foggy Dew' with the Chieftains is a stand out example. No female alive could sing that as uniquely as she does.
She also shone a light on different genres of Irish music at a time when most could not see past U2.
I think it is safe to say that the Cranberries for one would not have the fame they had if it wasn't for her.
Feel sorry for her - her voice and influence will be appreciated when she is no more.

Her version of the Foggy Dew with the Chieftains is the best I've heard to date, fantastic voice irrespective of anything else about her.
Post by: Applesisapples on September 11, 2013, 12:54:07 PM

Good voice but legend....I don't think so. On the madness scale at least 100.
Post by: Tubberman on September 11, 2013, 12:58:18 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 11, 2013, 11:56:08 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on September 10, 2013, 09:53:09 PM

Her version of the Foggy Dew with the Chieftains is the best I've heard to date, fantastic voice irrespective of anything else about her.

Yeah, it's a fantastic version, but I don't think that makes her a musical genius. She sang the song (and did it very well), but I'm sure the musical arrangement etc was done by The Chieftains themselves, not Sinéad.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 11, 2013, 01:00:33 PM
It seems pretty irresponsible on the tattooist's part. I'm in favor of free choice on most things, but I don't think someone should be allowed to get a tattoo on their face without undergoing psychological (or is it psychiatric? I don't know the difference) evaluation first. I'd be surprised if she doesn't end up regretting this for the rest of her life.

Agree with BBB that her version of "The Foggy Dew" with the Chieftains is amazing.
Post by: JUst retired on September 11, 2013, 01:15:10 PM
 The wheel is still turning,but the hamster is dead I`m afraid. ;)
Post by: muppet on September 11, 2013, 01:40:49 PM
Quote from: JUst retired on September 11, 2013, 01:15:10 PM

Never heard that song.

Who wrote it, Cantona?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 12, 2013, 02:14:54 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 11, 2013, 01:40:49 PM
Quote from: JUst retired on September 11, 2013, 01:15:10 PM

Never heard that song.

Who wrote it, Cantona?

Not sure but I'd say he killed the hampster.
Post by: orangeman on October 04, 2013, 04:36:30 PM
Pop star Miley Cyrus has hit back at Sinead O'Connor, after the Irish singer warned her not to be exploited by the music business.

In a series of tweets, Cyrus mocked O'Connor, comparing her to US actress Amanda Bynes before alluding to O'Connor's mental health problems.

O'Connor responded with another open letter to the singer, accusing her of "irresponsible" behaviour.

The Irish singer told her to "remove her tweets immediately".

The tit-for-tat conversation began after Cyrus, 20, cited O'Connor's video Nothing Compares 2 U as an inspiration for her explicit Wrecking Ball video.

O'Connor, 46, said she was prompted to write, "in the spirit of motherliness" after "phone calls from various newspapers" who wanted the singer-songwriter to comment upon similarities between the two videos.

In the video for Nothing Compares 2 U, O'Connor sheds a single tear as she performs the Prince-penned break-up ballad.

Cyrus cries in the promo clip for Wrecking Ball, which shares similar lyrical themes to O'Connor's song. But the video also finds her licking a sledgehammer and swinging naked on a metal demolition ball.

Some scenes in the videos share a similar aesthetic
O'Connor said she was "extremely concerned" that those around Cyrus had led or encouraged her to believe "that it is in any way 'cool' to be naked and licking sledgehammers in your videos".

Cyrus, who found fame as the child star of Disney children's show Hannah Montana, has been criticised in recent weeks for her controversial performances, particularly at the MTV Video Music Awards in Brooklyn last month.

O'Connor continued: "The message you keep sending is that it's somehow cool to be prostituted.. it's so not cool Miley... it's dangerous.

"It is in fact the case that you will obscure your talent by allowing yourself to be pimped, whether it's the music business or yourself doing the pimping," added O'Connor.

Responding on Twitter, Cyrus wrote: "Top of the mornin to ya."

She added a screen shot of O'Connor's tweets from 2012 in which the Irish star, who has bi-polar disorder, referred to her own mental health problems, asking for Twitter followers to recommend a psychiatrist.

She compared the singer to former child actress Amanda Bynes, who is currently undergoing psychiatric treatment.

"I don't have time to write you an open letter cause I'm hosting & performing on SNL this week," Cyrus continued.

Cyrus prompted more controversy with her raunchy performance in Las Vegas this month
Cyrus also tweeted a picture of O'Connor ripping up a photograph of the pope, an infamous on-stage stunt by the singer, before asking her to "meet up and talk".

Responding to Cyrus in a third open letter, O'Connor said she would take legal action against her if she did not remove the tweets.

"You have posted today tweets of mine which are two years old, which were posted by me when I was unwell and seeking help so as to make them look like they are recent.

"In doing so you mock myself and Amanda Bynes for having suffered with mental health issues and for having sought help," said O'Connor.

She added: "It is most unbecoming of you to respond in such a fashion to someone who expressed care for you," O'Connor added.
Post by: heganboy on October 04, 2013, 04:47:17 PM
Sinead is a pretty special talent, even going back to Troy and Mandinka. Her cover of marbled halls is fantastic. However she is definitely a troubled individual as relates to her mental state. Don't have any issue with the open letter to the bould Miley, but seriously what reaction did she expect?
Post by: orangeman on October 04, 2013, 05:11:21 PM
Sinéad O'Connor is rumoured to be making an appearance on tonight's Late Late Show to talk about her war of words with Miley Cyrus.

Earlier this week O'Connor wrote an open letter to Cyrus after the pop star said her new video was inspired by the famous promo clip for Nothing Compares 2U.

In the letter, which was published on her website, O'Connor offered Cyrus advice and warnings about the dangers of the music industry but the 20-year-old lashed out at O'Connor on Twitter, taunting her and actress Amanda Bynes about mental health issues.

O'Connor has since penned two more letters and threatened legal action unless Cyrus apologises for mocking her and Bynes.
Post by: Cold tea on October 04, 2013, 05:25:11 PM
Cryus is a pure w**ker akin to Bieber, a ballbag who got his entourage to carry him up the great wall of China.  Spoilt child syndrome's, why kids buy these asshole's records will remain a mystery to me.
Post by: Syferus on October 04, 2013, 05:47:08 PM
At least Sinead isn't Miley Cyrus.
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2013, 06:18:40 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 04, 2013, 04:36:30 PM
Pop star Miley Cyrus has hit back at Sinead O'Connor, after the Irish singer warned her not to be exploited by the music business.

In a series of tweets, Cyrus mocked O'Connor, comparing her to US actress Amanda Bynes before alluding to O'Connor's mental health problems.

O'Connor responded with another open letter to the singer, accusing her of "irresponsible" behaviour.

The Irish singer told her to "remove her tweets immediately".

The tit-for-tat conversation began after Cyrus, 20, cited O'Connor's video Nothing Compares 2 U as an inspiration for her explicit Wrecking Ball video.

O'Connor, 46, said she was prompted to write, "in the spirit of motherliness" after "phone calls from various newspapers" who wanted the singer-songwriter to comment upon similarities between the two videos.

In the video for Nothing Compares 2 U, O'Connor sheds a single tear as she performs the Prince-penned break-up ballad.

Cyrus cries in the promo clip for Wrecking Ball, which shares similar lyrical themes to O'Connor's song. But the video also finds her licking a sledgehammer and swinging naked on a metal demolition ball.

Some scenes in the videos share a similar aesthetic
O'Connor said she was "extremely concerned" that those around Cyrus had led or encouraged her to believe "that it is in any way 'cool' to be naked and licking sledgehammers in your videos".

Cyrus, who found fame as the child star of Disney children's show Hannah Montana, has been criticised in recent weeks for her controversial performances, particularly at the MTV Video Music Awards in Brooklyn last month.

O'Connor continued: "The message you keep sending is that it's somehow cool to be prostituted.. it's so not cool Miley... it's dangerous.

"It is in fact the case that you will obscure your talent by allowing yourself to be pimped, whether it's the music business or yourself doing the pimping," added O'Connor.

Responding on Twitter, Cyrus wrote: "Top of the mornin to ya."

She added a screen shot of O'Connor's tweets from 2012 in which the Irish star, who has bi-polar disorder, referred to her own mental health problems, asking for Twitter followers to recommend a psychiatrist.

She compared the singer to former child actress Amanda Bynes, who is currently undergoing psychiatric treatment.

"I don't have time to write you an open letter cause I'm hosting & performing on SNL this week," Cyrus continued.

Cyrus prompted more controversy with her raunchy performance in Las Vegas this month
Cyrus also tweeted a picture of O'Connor ripping up a photograph of the pope, an infamous on-stage stunt by the singer, before asking her to "meet up and talk".

Responding to Cyrus in a third open letter, O'Connor said she would take legal action against her if she did not remove the tweets.

"You have posted today tweets of mine which are two years old, which were posted by me when I was unwell and seeking help so as to make them look like they are recent.

"In doing so you mock myself and Amanda Bynes for having suffered with mental health issues and for having sought help," said O'Connor.

She added: "It is most unbecoming of you to respond in such a fashion to someone who expressed care for you," O'Connor added.
Very poor form from Cyrus, playing the woman instead of the ball.
O'Connor is right about the music business taking advantage of young women. Cyrus will learn about it but she's not particularly
intelligent by the looks of things. I know it's only showbiz but she gives a very boring interview

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMk0R2qdTH4

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 04, 2013, 07:20:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 04, 2013, 06:18:40 PMCyrus will learn about it but she's not particularly intelligent by the looks of things.

That's where I beg to differ - she's been playing a blinder in the last month.
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2013, 08:43:23 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 04, 2013, 07:20:36 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 04, 2013, 06:18:40 PMCyrus will learn about it but she's not particularly intelligent by the looks of things.

Let's see how the album goes. I think she'll be forgotten soon enough. She doesn't have the smarts of a Gaga. Get your tits out for the lads is not enough in that business. 
Post by: turk on October 04, 2013, 10:09:57 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 04, 2013, 07:20:36 PM

Agreed - Cyrus has made O'Connor look like a right mug here.
Post by: laoislad on October 04, 2013, 10:34:51 PM
She's on the Late Late right now.
Post by: Syferus on October 04, 2013, 10:38:06 PM
She's talking plenty of sense.
Post by: Bingo on October 04, 2013, 10:42:32 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 04, 2013, 10:38:06 PM

Post by: turk on October 04, 2013, 10:44:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 04, 2013, 10:38:06 PM

Agreed - O'Connor has made Tubridy look like a right mug here.
Post by: Syferus on October 04, 2013, 10:45:27 PM
Why the fúck is Tubs fixating on Miley Cyrus and glossing over the actually-interesting issue she's trying to talk about?
Post by: From the Bunker on October 04, 2013, 10:51:41 PM
Ah sure we know the Evil Empire Music industry is ruining Music!

Tell us sane music listeners something we don't know.

As for her question ''Why not give the phone in quiz money to charity?'' Sure it's a money earner for RTE from the cost of the calls. The money is raised from the calls provides the funds not sponsorship. But Tubs could not tell the general public that.
Post by: Syferus on October 04, 2013, 11:08:04 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 04, 2013, 10:51:41 PM
Ah sure we know the Evil Empire Music industry is ruining Music!

Tell us sane music listeners something we don't know.

As for her question ''Why not give the phone in quiz money to charity?'' Sure it's a money earner for RTE from the cost of the calls. The money is raised from the calls provides the funds not sponsorship. But Tubs could not tell the general public that.

Pretty sure it's the sponsor that stumps up the prize, it's quite cheap prime-time advertisement for them.
Post by: theskull1 on October 04, 2013, 11:18:22 PM
Would a member of 1D get away with such explicit behaviour on stage as that calculating wee bitch?

Post by: Tubberman on October 05, 2013, 12:10:12 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on October 04, 2013, 11:18:22 PM
Would a member of 1D get away with such explicit behaviour on stage as that calculating wee bitch?

Who/what are you on about?
Post by: snoopdog on October 05, 2013, 08:33:28 AM

Yeah Prince probably made more from it than crazy horse did
Post by: T Fearon on October 05, 2013, 09:22:13 AM
Not as mad as you think.Didn't she cancel a world tour a while back.What better way to gain publicity for herself if this tour is shortly to go ahead. Also stand by for the big kiss and make up and Miley Cyrus duetting with her at gigs in the States etc.No flies or hair on Sinead.
Post by: SBH1983 on October 05, 2013, 09:35:03 AM
can't take this thread seriously with that title. it should be "on a scale of 1-7 how mad is Sinead O'Connor?"
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 05, 2013, 10:36:06 AM
Only saw a bit of Sinead on Late Late and she looked to be on top of her game, in fairness, although she looks rougher than a badger's arse.

She has brains to burn and she is right in her advice to the wannabe skank Mylie Cyrus. I hope she keeps taking the meds to keep her on the straight and narrow.
Post by: seafoid on October 05, 2013, 11:21:29 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 05, 2013, 10:36:06 AM
Only saw a bit of Sinead on Late Late and she looked to be on top of her game, in fairness, although she looks rougher than a badger's arse.

She has brains to burn and she is right in her advice to the wannabe skank Mylie Cyrus. I hope she keeps taking the meds to keep her on the straight and narrow.
It's interesting to see someone in showbiz with their own view on things
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on October 05, 2013, 12:00:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on October 04, 2013, 10:45:27 PM
Why the fúck is Tubs fixating on Miley Cyrus and glossing over the actually-interesting issue she's trying to talk about?

Strange, isn't it? You'd imagine Tubridy was thick, or something.
Post by: stew on October 05, 2013, 10:48:51 PM

Yes, and half the crazy shit that she was saying in the 80s that shocked and appalled everyone turned out to be true!!

No one, and I mean not a single person alive had the balls to go on TV and say that the Pope, the nice happy smiley faced Pope was presiding over a church that was actively protecting and covering up Paedophiles, but she did.  It may have cost her career, but she did it anyway.  The song that she brought out last year, 'The Wolf is getting Married' is a career highlight.  She's still got it.  I hope the facial tattoo thing isn't true, but I wouldn't be surprised.  Of course she's a bit mad, but I'm proud that she's Irish.

The single, best post ever on this board.
Post by: firestarter on October 06, 2013, 11:00:17 AM
The name of this thread shows an ignorance regarding mental health. If someone was physically sick and suffering from cancer for example would you start a post asking on a  scale of 10 how bad their cancer was?
Post by: seafoid on October 06, 2013, 09:56:01 PM
http://www.rte.ie/player/ch/show/10205178/

starts around 53 minutes
Very eloquent performance
Post by: rosnarun on October 07, 2013, 02:56:30 AM
Quote from: firestarter on October 06, 2013, 11:00:17 AM
The name of this thread shows an ignorance regarding mental health. If someone was physically sick and suffering from cancer for example would you start a post asking on a  scale of 10 how bad their cancer was?
possibly if they kept using their cancer to get on tv and generate endless publicity for themselves every time a new album was due
or were making a career out of being a 'cancer survivor' 
Post by: stephenite on October 07, 2013, 04:13:57 AM
Quote from: firestarter on October 06, 2013, 11:00:17 AM

Idiot
Post by: Asal Mor on October 07, 2013, 05:55:20 AM
She was brilliant. Very honest. If she's mad, then I'd like to be mad too. Tubridy was a bit fecking annoying, he made 7 or 8 attempts to steer the conversation back to Miley Cyrus, when Sinead was talking about important things.

Post by: glens abu on October 07, 2013, 10:23:15 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on October 07, 2013, 05:55:20 AM
She was brilliant. Very honest. If she's mad, then I'd like to be mad too. Tubridy was a bit fecking annoying, he made 7 or 8 attempts to steer the conversation back to Miley Cyrus, when Sinead was talking about important things.

What important things was she talking about?
Post by: seafoid on October 07, 2013, 10:46:55 AM
Quote from: glens abu on October 07, 2013, 10:23:15 AM

Sexualisation of kids, how it's all about how you look rather than the music, what about kids who aren't lookers, the worship of money and bling,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kh2FRFhS7QY
Rihanna as a role model, Cyrus perhaps not understanding the implications of what she is doing etc

She's very smart but not conventionally. Tubs was a bit out of his depth
Post by: rosnarun on October 07, 2013, 11:05:18 AM

the only reason she was on was because of her Publicity seeking  comments about Miley cyrus and maybe the Tattoos on her face which she also refused to discuss,tubridy was well out of his deoth with such a skilful manipulator like O connor.
the important things that she wanted to discuss was the may Louis Walsh and co control the Music industry . It was always that was only now they do it in public on TV rather than in a Smokey Record company office where willingness to exchange sexual favours for fame was one of the main Criteria.
what the betting O connor is looking for a job on the Voice or one of thos shows ?
Post by: Asal Mor on October 07, 2013, 12:38:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 07, 2013, 10:46:55 AM

Sexualisation of kids, how it's all about how you look rather than the music, what about kids who aren't lookers, the worship of money and bling,

Exactly.
Post by: johnneycool on October 07, 2013, 02:10:42 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on October 07, 2013, 12:38:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 07, 2013, 10:46:55 AM

Exactly.

You only had to see that at work on the X-Factor where some of the best singers were kicked off as they didn't have the 'marketability'

Post by: Asal Mor on October 07, 2013, 02:51:46 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 07, 2013, 02:10:42 PM
You only had to see that at work on the X-Factor where some of the best singers were kicked off as they didn't have the 'marketability'

They should have started blubbering about how they were doing it for their dying uncle.
Post by: Feckitt on October 07, 2013, 03:27:12 PM
Quote from: stew on October 05, 2013, 10:48:51 PM

The single, best post ever on this board.

Ah, thanks Stew.

It was good to see her looking and sounding good on the Late Late. 
Post by: johnneycool on October 07, 2013, 03:42:41 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on October 07, 2013, 02:51:46 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on October 07, 2013, 02:10:42 PM

They should have started blubbering about how they were doing it for their dying uncle.

Aye, but if you're a big fat lad, not so good looking, who can sing, no one gives a shít for your dying uncle.
Post by: J OGorman on October 07, 2013, 04:07:17 PM
fair play to her, she came across well and highlighted a few big concerns for those within the music industry and those 'into' music. Though, if youve only a passing interest in music, it wouldnt mean buck all, but for those interested in music and care what direction the whole industry is going, then it was important. 
Post by: magpie seanie on October 07, 2013, 05:31:47 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on October 07, 2013, 04:07:17 PM
fair play to her, she came across well and highlighted a few big concerns for those within the music industry and those 'into' music. Though, if youve only a passing interest in music, it wouldnt mean buck all, but for those interested in music and care what direction the whole industry is going, then it was important.

Come on. It's a bit like saying - our politicians are not really interested in helping the people who elected them and are not doing a good job!!! Newsflash!!! It was a pathetic segment on an increasingly pathetic show. What's she going to do to right this wrong except mouth off like she has done all her life. It was a pointless interview. Obviously RTE thought they were going to get some incendiary Miley Cyrus stuff but they didn't get it, despite Tubridy's repeated attempts.

When Gay Byrne came on it showed you how far that show has sunk and I wouldn't have been anything like his biggest fan.
Post by: T Fearon on October 08, 2013, 12:52:12 PM
Due to their frequency, mundane guests flogging books etc, chat shows are outdated, particularly Irish chat shows, where there is a small enough celebrity pool. I assume though the Late Late is still a ratings winner for RTE, regardless of the quality.
Post by: J OGorman on October 08, 2013, 01:36:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 07, 2013, 05:31:47 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on October 07, 2013, 04:07:17 PM

Come on. It's a bit like saying - our politicians are not really interested in helping the people who elected them and are not doing a good job!!! Newsflash!!! It was a pathetic segment on an increasingly pathetic show. What's she going to do to right this wrong except mouth off like she has done all her life. It was a pointless interview. Obviously RTE thought they were going to get some incendiary Miley Cyrus stuff but they didn't get it, despite Tubridy's repeated attempts.

When Gay Byrne came on it showed you how far that show has sunk and I wouldn't have been anything like his biggest fan.

I'm not questioning whether or not the show is pathetic etc...I'm agreeing with what she said, whether she said it or not to up her own anti, i couldnt give two hoots. Have not, nor never will attend a concert or buy a CD of hers. However, she is bang on the money regarding Cowell, Louis the wet blanket etc and the current state of the music industry and the one way direction it is headed in...ker ching ker ching. Its your own call whether you agree with sentiments or not, I do, 100%
Post by: Feckitt on December 09, 2014, 09:29:56 AM
Sinead O'Connor has joined Sinn Fein!
Post by: nrico2006 on December 09, 2014, 09:34:38 AM
She is a wingnut and how the hell did she get near the Band Aid song.
Post by: muppet on December 09, 2014, 10:19:16 AM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/showbiz/sinead-oconnor-joins-sinn-fein-653925.html (http://www.breakingnews.ie/showbiz/sinead-oconnor-joins-sinn-fein-653925.html)

From priest to popstar, Sinead O' Connor is taking another career turn into politics.

The controversial singer has announced on her blog that she plans to join Sinn Féin as she would like to see a 'proper socialist Ireland'.

"I'm joining Sinn Féin now. If they'll have me." she wrote.

She expressed her eagerness to learn and her passion to revolt.

"I might not even be the kind of person they want, because I'm gonna write here that I feel the elders of Sinn Féin are going to have to make 'the supreme sacrifice' and step down shortly in the same way the last Pope did" she said.

Sources have said that 'there are some issues that need to be ironed out, shur she can hardly be seen singing a song by someone called Prince, can she now hi?'. She will also have to swear an oath not to tear up pictures of bearded men before full membership is granted.

In other news, Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI has joined Bananarama.
Post by: armaghniac on December 09, 2014, 10:39:51 AM
I's say the Shinners will welcome a free thinker in their ranks, just as the Catholic Church did.
Post by: deiseach on December 09, 2014, 12:47:48 PM
One for the WTF thread.
Post by: Orior on December 09, 2014, 01:10:01 PM
Like her video, it will only end in tears.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 09, 2014, 01:35:39 PM
Well she did have a record called Lay Down Your Arms.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 09, 2014, 01:51:30 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on December 09, 2014, 09:34:38 AM
She is a wingnut and how the hell did she get near the Band Aid song.

A lot of pushing and shoving! I'd say! Many of her co-singers on the Band Aid track would hardly know her? Not even the Mullingar lad in One Direction. She is loved by RTE, she must be, they give her huge air.
Post by: mouview on December 09, 2014, 03:02:55 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on December 09, 2014, 09:29:56 AM

That should finish them off!
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on December 09, 2014, 03:14:40 PM
Quote from: mouview on December 09, 2014, 03:02:55 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on December 09, 2014, 09:29:56 AM

That should finish them off!

As a member she has called on leadership to resign:

http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/music-news/sinead-oconnor-joins-sinn-fein-and-immediately-calls-for-the-leadership-to-step-down-30812806.html (http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/music/music-news/sinead-oconnor-joins-sinn-fein-and-immediately-calls-for-the-leadership-to-step-down-30812806.html)

/Jim
Post by: deiseach on December 09, 2014, 03:16:08 PM
My immediate reaction was to think that was Waterford Whispers!
Post by: BennyCake on December 09, 2014, 05:38:37 PM
Attention seeking fcukwit. I wish the media would just ignore her so she would go away.
Post by: muppet on December 09, 2014, 05:45:22 PM
Quote from: deiseach on December 09, 2014, 03:16:08 PM
My immediate reaction was to think that was Waterford Whispers!

Agreed, I would have thought it was about as likely as my 'Pope Benedict joins Bananarama' line.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 09, 2014, 06:29:42 PM
It's a recipe for entertainment. Not a mission she'll stay on message.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 09, 2014, 09:19:06 PM
Sin é O'Connor as Gerry would put it.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 09, 2014, 09:45:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on December 09, 2014, 09:23:30 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on December 09, 2014, 09:19:06 PM
Sin é O'Connor as Gerry would put it.
".......ye b**tard ye."

Sorry HS, too obvious  ;D
Post by: Under Lights on December 10, 2014, 11:03:35 AM
She is absolutely brilliant in this. Great video overall. Take 15 mins on me.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HSLaXh-lCg4 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HSLaXh-lCg4)
Post by: lynchbhoy on December 10, 2014, 11:23:11 AM
Quote from: muppet on December 09, 2014, 10:19:16 AM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/showbiz/sinead-oconnor-joins-sinn-fein-653925.html (http://www.breakingnews.ie/showbiz/sinead-oconnor-joins-sinn-fein-653925.html)

From priest to popstar, Sinead O' Connor is taking another career turn into politics.

The controversial singer has announced on her blog that she plans to join Sinn Féin as she would like to see a 'proper socialist Ireland'.

"I'm joining Sinn Féin now. If they'll have me." she wrote.

She expressed her eagerness to learn and her passion to revolt.

"I might not even be the kind of person they want, because I'm gonna write here that I feel the elders of Sinn Féin are going to have to make 'the supreme sacrifice' and step down shortly in the same way the last Pope did" she said.

Sources have said that 'there are some issues that need to be ironed out, shur she can hardly be seen singing a song by someone called Prince, can she now hi?'. She will also have to swear an oath not to tear up pictures of bearded men before full membership is granted.

In other news, Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI has joined Bananarama.
sinn fein are not socialist!!
centre socialist perhaps! but not the marx version of socialism that some of the crew used to be years ago.

not sure how true this is, but I recall years ago (about 25) being told that sinead oconnors brother had been to central america to join up to help with the contra rebels against the government forces.
seemingly a family full of 'interesting' people!
Post by: T Fearon on December 10, 2014, 07:40:42 PM
Her ding dongs with Ruth Dudley Edwards will be entertaining
Post by: Orior on December 10, 2014, 09:37:22 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 10, 2014, 07:40:42 PM
Her ding dongs with Ruth Dudley Edwards will be entertaining

RDE is one of those journalists that appears to hate everything Irish. So why does she continue to live in Dublin?
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 29, 2015, 07:04:54 PM
Troubled soul. http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/sinead-oconnor-safe-and-sound-after-worrying-message-posted-to-facebook-account-708973.html
Post by: stew on November 29, 2015, 09:40:48 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 29, 2015, 07:04:54 PM
Troubled soul. http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/sinead-oconnor-safe-and-sound-after-worrying-message-posted-to-facebook-account-708973.html

I hope she gets the help she needs, very much a troubled soul and I hope her family comes around and supports her, Suicide is an awful bad deal and if she does kill herself obviously the can never undo what damage there was between them.

Post by: T Fearon on November 29, 2015, 09:48:58 PM
Wouldn't like to read her Tripadvisor rating of the Hotel she was in!
Post by: Maguire01 on November 29, 2015, 10:14:05 PM
Disgusting comment.
Post by: Itchy on November 29, 2015, 10:17:22 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 29, 2015, 09:48:58 PM

The mask slips, some Christian you are
Post by: seafoid on November 29, 2015, 10:23:11 PM
Quote from: Itchy on November 29, 2015, 10:17:22 PM

a bit like this guy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wUPeOGPx1bY
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 29, 2015, 10:25:28 PM
Sorry for starting this thread way back. I read Sineads cry and she needs serious help. Keeping it classy Tony
Post by: SHEEDY on November 29, 2015, 10:29:46 PM
hope she gets the helps she needs. really distasteful comment posted by t fearon.
Post by: stew on November 29, 2015, 10:46:07 PM

Tony that is not very Christian of you at all at all, rescind that comment, it is brutal.
Post by: Itchy on November 30, 2015, 12:09:29 AM
Quote from: stew on November 29, 2015, 10:46:07 PM

Tony that is not very Christian of you at all at all, rescind that comment, it is brutal.

He's not man enough to do that.
Post by: BennyCake on November 30, 2015, 01:41:14 AM
Attention seeker.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 30, 2015, 08:30:59 AM
Quote from: Itchy on November 29, 2015, 10:17:22 PM

There was mask?
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 03:09:29 PM
That cry for help is hard reading. Imagine if that was someone in your own family who had put that up on FB.

It seems to be the time of year, maybe the weather, long run to Christmas and the stresses associated with that. But I know of a few cases like this just in the last week. Thankfully they got to Sinead and Maurice Shanahan in time. A colleague of mine wasn't so fortunate.
Post by: orangeman on November 30, 2015, 03:23:26 PM
So so sad. So talented on one level and so powerless on another. I've long admired her talent and I really do hope that she gets the help she so badly needs.
Post by: charlieTully on November 30, 2015, 03:52:49 PM
could the title of this thread not be renamed or something. It was obviously meant in jest at the time but hardly seems appropriate now.
Title: Sinead O'Connor
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 03:53:51 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on November 30, 2015, 03:52:49 PM
could the title of this thread not be renamed or something. It was obviously meant in jest at the time but hardly seems appropriate now.

Maybe merge it with the depression thread?
Post by: From the Bunker on November 30, 2015, 04:43:21 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 30, 2015, 03:09:29 PM
That cry for help is hard reading. Imagine if that was someone in your own family who had put that up on FB.

It seems to be the time of year, maybe the weather, long run to Christmas and the stresses associated with that. But I know of a few cases like this just in the last week. Thankfully they got to Sinead and Maurice Shanahan in time. A colleague of mine wasn't so fortunate.

Yes,this was one that greatly affected a lot of people in the Castlebar area. (If we are taking about the same lad). RIP
Title: Re: Sinead O'Connor
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 06:41:56 PM
I have no sympathy whatsoever for this woman,a mouthpiece who has bad mouthed all and sundry,including her own parents marriage.No wonder she is disowned by her own family.
Post by: Maguire01 on November 30, 2015, 06:54:46 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 06:41:56 PM
I have no sympathy whatsoever for this woman,a mouthpiece who has bad mouthed all and sundry,including her own parents marriage.No wonder she is disowned by her own family.
Once again, great Christian compassion there. And class, as always.
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 06:56:22 PM
I will reserve my compassion and pity for those that deserve it.
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 06:59:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 06:56:22 PM
I will reserve my compassion and pity for those that deserve it.

What you mean is you will reserve it for those that can benefit you in some way.

Compassion isn't quite the right word though......
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 07:01:37 PM
How will I benefit from feeling compassion or sympathy?
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 07:07:35 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 07:01:37 PM

You do it tactically to help you towards your own eternal salvation. So you (uniquely in my experience) will defend Sean Brady while attacking the parents of victims of clerical abuse. They parents are of no use to you, but the Primate of All-Ireland certainly is of use to a staunch Catholic.
Post by: stew on November 30, 2015, 07:13:08 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 06:41:56 PM

Tell it the way is is Tony, she hates the Church you idolize and for good reason, the woman is not well in the head and you should have sympathy for her given the fact she is were she is between the ears, not hr fault ffs!
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 07:14:44 PM
Stew,she is obnoxious full stop,a Katy Hopkins clone, and not thankful for her privileged life.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 30, 2015, 07:25:00 PM
With what is going on with her on  a mental health level she is not privileged in the slightest.  I don't see how anyone would think she is privileged  :o
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 07:30:08 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 07:14:44 PM
Stew,she is obnoxious full stop,a Katy Hopkins clone, and not thankful for her privileged life.

WTF?

Hopkins first appeared on tv in 2007 according to wiki. Sinead was tearing up a picture of the Pope over child sex abuse in 1992.

Of course this is Tony's problem with Sinead. How dare she highlight child sex abusers. She should cover them up, like the sort of people Tony reserves his 'compassion and pity' for.
Post by: seafoid on November 30, 2015, 07:36:41 PM
No she isn't

For this alone I admire her

O'Connor published an open letter, on her own website, to pop singer Miley Cyrus on 2 October 2013 in which she warns Cyrus of the treatment of women in the music industry and the role that sexuality plays in this context. O'Connor states:

The message you keep sending is that its somehow cool to be prostituted... its so not cool Miley... its dangerous. Women are to be valued for so much more than their sexuality. We aren't merely objects of desire. I would be encouraging you to send healthier messages to your peers... that they and you are worth more than what is currently going on in your career.[59]
Post by: Itchy on November 30, 2015, 07:50:03 PM

Sounds like you are describing yourself Tony. You really are  a low life, berating someone with obvious mental health issues. Disgusting if not surprising.
Post by: BennyCake on November 30, 2015, 07:58:35 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on November 30, 2015, 07:25:00 PM
With what is going on with her on  a mental health level she is not privileged in the slightest.  I don't see how anyone would think she is privileged  :o

Would have sympathy for those with mental health problems, but it's this suicide note. Attention seeking, making people feel concerned about her and guilt tripping people for not spending more time with her. Have no time for people like that. If she'd wanted to top herself, she'd have done it.

What's the odds she gets her own show now? RTE feeling they have to give poor Sinead something to focus on. Like Gazza and all the chances he got and pissed away. Tosspot.
Post by: seafoid on November 30, 2015, 08:06:23 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 30, 2015, 07:58:35 PM

Would have sympathy for those with mental health problems, but it's this suicide note. Attention seeking, making people feel concerned about her and guilt tripping people for not spending more time with her. Have no time for people like that. If she'd wanted to top herself, she'd have done it.

What's the odds she gets her own show now? RTE feeling they have to give poor Sinead something to focus on. Like Gazza and all the chances It's he got and pissed away. Tosspot.
Attention seeking etc.
How do you know ? She probably felt suicidal. Often that sort of situation involves a cry for help.
Not that many proceed to actual suicide. A personal crisis, more like. Very messy.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 30, 2015, 08:19:48 PM

What's the odds she gets her own show now? RTE feeling they have to give poor Sinead something to focus on. Like Gazza and all the chances he got and pissed away. Tosspot.

I think it's quite clear for some time that Sinead O'Connor has mental health issues that needs sorting and not everyone with mental health problems have "topped" themselves. Gazza has a long history with alcohol abuse and probably won't see sixty.
Post by: BennyCake on November 30, 2015, 08:37:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 30, 2015, 08:06:23 PM

What's the odds she gets her own show now? RTE feeling they have to give poor Sinead something to focus on. Like Gazza and all the chances It's he got and pissed away. Tosspot.
Attention seeking etc.
How do you know ?
She probably felt suicidal. Often that sort of situation involves a cry for help.
Not that many proceed to actual suicide. A personal crisis, more like. Very messy.

Because of her pity party message, that's how.
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 08:56:15 PM
Benny you are right.Those poor people genuinely contemplating and actually committing suicide do not advertise it.I can't recall a single act of decency from this woman,who has too much time and money on her hands,and not enough real life problems,like the rest of us,to keep her grounded.

I certainly don't want to see anyone committing suicide,not even her,but spare me these cringeworthy career advancing stunts,which have been a feature of her life since she hit the big time with a song written by someone else >:(
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 09:06:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 08:56:15 PM
Benny you are right.Those poor people genuinely contemplating and actually committing suicide do not advertise it.I can't recall a single act of decency from this woman,who has too much time and money on her hands,and not enough real life problems,like the rest of us,to keep her grounded.

I certainly don't want to see anyone committing suicide,not even her,but spare me these cringeworthy career advancing stunts,which have been a feature of her life since she hit the big time with a song written by someone else >:(

Your knowledge of music is as arseways as your knowledge of The Bible.

Here she is at the 1989 Grammys, before she recorded Nothing Compares to U: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nwg6W1nWms (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4nwg6W1nWms)

Katy Hopkins was 14 at that stage. But of course O'Connor is a Katy Hopkins 'clone'.
Post by: BennyCake on November 30, 2015, 09:44:53 PM

Career advancing stunts indeed.

I remember Gaybo had her on when she became a "priest". Why didn't people just ignore her? Then on the 50th anniversary of the LL show, Tubs had Gaybo and Kenny on the show (appropriately). Who do they invite to sit with them, only that asshole! As T said, she's famous for one song. I could understand if they had Daniel O'Donnell on, even Bono, Big Tom, Enya, one of the Dubliners. Someone who actually had a music career or any sort of career!

Now that social media is everywhere, she's still trying to stay in the public eye with her antics. Married 24 times, many children by many men, divorced after a week, becoming a priest, politican etc. Just ignore the headcase.
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 09:58:00 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 30, 2015, 09:44:53 PM

I remember Gaybo had her on when she became a "priest". Why didn't people just ignore her? Then on the 50th anniversary of the LL show, Tubs had Gaybo and Kenny on the show (appropriately). Who do they invite to sit with them, only that asshole! As T said, she's famous for one song. I could understand if they had Daniel O'Donnell on, even Bono, Big Tom, Enya, one of the Dubliners. Someone who actually had a music career or any sort of career!

Now that social media is everywhere, she's still trying to stay in the public eye with her antics. Married 24 times, many children by many men, divorced after a week, becoming a priest, politican etc. Just ignore the headcase.

You obviously don't.  ;D
Post by: BennyCake on November 30, 2015, 10:00:39 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 30, 2015, 09:58:00 PM

You obviously don't.  ;D

I do now. I stopped counting after 24  ;D
Post by: Maguire01 on November 30, 2015, 10:03:34 PM
Married 4 times.
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 30, 2015, 10:04:43 PM
Perhaps if Sinead O Connor did commit suicide she'd get some respect from Fearon?? What a strange branch of Christianity he belongs to or maybe since gross hypocrisy is the bedrock of most churches we should congratulate Fearon on his consistency.

Anyway, I think it is sad to see someone as talented as O Connor implode in such a public way and I hope she can get the help she needs.
Post by: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 10:27:40 PM
What a crass and stupid comment,saying that she would earn my respect if she committed suicide😠.

I have every respect and pity for some poor working person struggling financially,for example,through no fault of their own or with personal demons,but not this publicity seeking excuse for a human being trying to drum up (no pun intended) publicity for an imminent tour or greatest hits (all one of them) release.

Even her own brother disowns her ffs.Anyone who disses their own family is unworthy of respect or sympathy
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 30, 2015, 10:38:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 30, 2015, 10:27:40 PM
What a crass and stupid comment,saying that she would earn my respect if she committed suicide😠.

I have every respect and pity for some poor working person struggling financially,for example,through no fault of their own or with personal demons,but not this publicity seeking excuse for a human being trying to drum up (no pun intended) publicity for an imminent tour or greatest hits (all one of them) release.

Even her own brother disowns her ffs.Anyone who disses their own family is unworthy of respect or sympathy

Depression is the same as cancer Tony, it doesn't care about your wealth, colour or creed. I wonder would Jesus have treated Sinead O Connor like you do? You are a hypocrite to your own supposed beliefs. Why don't you just admit you hate O Connor for having the cheek to question the catholic church. You are a bitter twisted little man - nothing else.
Post by: laoislad on November 30, 2015, 10:47:45 PM

But you said you'd disown your own child if they were Gay, you don't think that much of family if you would do that to your own child.
Post by: Itchy on November 30, 2015, 10:51:03 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 30, 2015, 10:47:45 PM

But you said you'd disown your own child if they were Gay, you don't think that much of family if you would do that to your own child.

He's the mouthpiece he accuses O Connor of being, super ironic.
Post by: redzone on November 30, 2015, 11:01:26 PM
Wtf. If any of Yous had any decency Yous wouldn't be commenting at all about her. Pretty pathetic
Post by: Newbridge Exile on November 30, 2015, 11:02:10 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 30, 2015, 10:47:45 PM

I know its hard but ignoring rather than responding to Fearon is the way to go, you are just not going to get any sort of reasoned response on topics like this and he just ignores his blatant hypocrisy when it is highlighted to him such as above
Post by: seafoid on November 30, 2015, 11:10:41 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 30, 2015, 07:07:35 PM

You do it tactically to help you towards your own eternal salvation. So you (uniquely in my experience) will defend Sean Brady while attacking the parents of victims of clerical abuse. They parents are of no use to you, but the Primate of All-Ireland certainly is of use to a staunch Catholic.
Tony will be reincarnated as a  Dalit. woman . in Pakistan. He's going to get such a land when he hears the news from St Peter.
Post by: muppet on November 30, 2015, 11:17:23 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 30, 2015, 11:10:41 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 30, 2015, 07:07:35 PM

Tony will be reincarnated as a  Dalit. woman . in Pakistan. He's going to get such a land when he hears the news from St Peter.

I got a funny feeling God will say: Hey Pete, take 5. I'll take this one.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 01, 2015, 05:24:54 AM
She was a priest at one point, Tony. Do you respect her now?
Post by: T Fearon on December 01, 2015, 07:20:58 AM
Er, the last time I checked the real Catholic Church didn't do women priests.It was another pathetic attempt to gain publicity and blatant mockery of the beliefs of millions of people.

Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2015, 09:22:49 AM
She's obviously always been 'off', and I'm sure some of what she did was in the name of self promotion, that's what musicians do, they try generate media attention to raise their profile. However I think it's fairly clear there's always been something fragile and disturbed about Sinéad O'Connor, and I think it's more than a bit snide and bollocky to be sneering at her, particularly when she is threatening suicide in a very public way (regardless of whether the threat is genuine or a bit of a 'help me'). Snide and bollocky, but not surprising given the source.
Post by: nrico2006 on December 01, 2015, 10:21:35 AM

Spot on.
Post by: Applesisapples on December 01, 2015, 11:01:49 AM
There has been issues in Sinead O'Connor's life for some time. My first recollection of her was an appearance with Gaybo where she accused her parents of abuse and neglect. I have no doubt that she is ill. I don't think abusing her or dismissing her illness as hype is helpful. Neither do I think her very public cries for help do anything to help people with depression who are less well off or well known. It is sad that she appears to be so alone with her illness, some people with such deep mental illness are beyond help and very often families just get tired of trying to intervene. I guess what I'm saying is we shouldn't be so judgemental whilst at the same time recognising that she doesn't do her self any favours...but that's probably the illness.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 01, 2015, 11:11:32 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on December 01, 2015, 11:01:49 AM
There has been issues in Sinead O'Connor's life for some time. My first recollection of her was an appearance with Gaybo where she accused her parents of abuse and neglect. I have no doubt that she is ill. I don't think abusing her or dismissing her illness as hype is helpful. Neither do I think her very public cries for help do anything to help people with depression who are less well off or well known. It is sad that she appears to be so alone with her illness, some people with such deep mental illness are beyond help and very often families just get tired of trying to intervene. I guess what I'm saying is we shouldn't be so judgemental whilst at the same time recognising that she doesn't do her self any favours...but that's probably the illness.

Exactly. And there's little to be served by mocking her at this stage. If she ends up taking her own life, will there be posts on here about having no sympathy for her?
Post by: Applesisapples on December 01, 2015, 11:15:11 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 01, 2015, 11:11:32 AM

Exactly. And there's little to be served by mocking her at this stage. If she ends up taking her own life, will there be posts on here about having no sympathy for her?
I sincerely hope not, but it was very revealing to see Christ's love and compassion once again being demonstrated through the comments of the born again catholics.
Post by: mikehunt on December 01, 2015, 11:52:17 AM
Read one of her brother's books and he mentions the type of upbringing/home they came from. Would go someway to explaining her erratic behaviour. She obviously suffers from some disorder and for people to give her stick because of it, is odd. She has a troubled mind but a voice of an angel.
Post by: stew on December 01, 2015, 02:19:05 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on December 01, 2015, 11:15:11 AM

I sincerely hope not, but it was very revealing to see Christ's love and compassion once again being demonstrated through the comments of the born again catholics.

That is unfair, Fearon is the only one having a real go here a,d the next time I meet a born again Catholic will be the first one.

I am not a Catholic.
Post by: Applesisapples on December 01, 2015, 03:22:06 PM
Quote from: stew on December 01, 2015, 02:19:05 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on December 01, 2015, 11:15:11 AM

That is unfair, Fearon is the only one having a real go here a,d the next time I meet a born again Catholic will be the first one.

I am not a Catholic.
I was using the term sarcastically.
Post by: BennyCake on December 01, 2015, 04:57:34 PM
Quote from: mikehunt on December 01, 2015, 11:52:17 AM
Read one of her brother's books and he mentions the type of upbringing/home they came from. Would go someway to explaining her erratic behaviour. She obviously suffers from some disorder and for people to give her stick because of it, is odd. She has a troubled mind but a voice of an angel.

That is very much a matter of opinion.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 06:30:30 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 01, 2015, 04:57:34 PM

Same as all music then......and pretty much everything else for that matter
Post by: T Fearon on December 01, 2015, 06:38:55 PM
So it's alright to lambast a 70 something cleric for something he did 40 years ago,the only time in his whole life he made a mistake (if you can call recording accurately what he heard and informing his superiors a mistake),and make excuses for a multi millionaire hedonist whose whole life has been marked by publicity stunts and gratuitous offence to all and sundry?
Post by: BennyCake on December 01, 2015, 07:09:11 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 06:30:30 PM

Not exactly. Quite a lot of things are factual.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 07:19:33 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 01, 2015, 07:09:11 PM

Only if one accepts the rationale that makes it a fact, would it be a fact.

If Sinead O'Connor has perfect tone and pitch you could say her voice is technically excellent in terms of the criteria established by Western Musical theory. But if you dont like it, then you dont like it maybe the criteria doesnt work for your taste, which is fine.
Post by: muppet on December 01, 2015, 08:11:49 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 01, 2015, 06:38:55 PM
So it's alright to lambast a 70 something cleric for something he did 40 years ago,the only time in his whole life he made a mistake (if you can call recording accurately what he heard and informing his superiors a mistake),and make excuses for a multi millionaire hedonist whose whole life has been marked by publicity stunts and gratuitous offence to all and sundry?

Is Brady a multi-millionaire?

Post by: BennyCake on December 01, 2015, 08:27:22 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 07:19:33 PM

If Sinead O'Connor has perfect tone and pitch you could say her voice is technically excellent in terms of the criteria established by Western Musical theory. But if you dont like it, then you dont like it maybe the criteria doesnt work for your taste, which is fine.

Oslo is the capital of Norway - fact.
Sinead O'Connor has the voice of an angel - that's a matter of opinion. Pitch perfect or not.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 09:05:17 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 01, 2015, 08:27:22 PM

Sinead O'Connor has the voice of an angel - that's a matter of opinion. Pitch perfect or not.

I agree with you about the music but regarding anything as "fact" is actually fairly subjective isnt it. For the example you choose you would have to accept that the sovereign state of Norway is indeed real and not just an artificially created figment that the people who live there accept to be part of that society.
Post by: BennyCake on December 01, 2015, 11:02:24 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 09:05:17 PM

I agree with you about the music but regarding anything as "fact" is actually fairly subjective isnt it. For the example you choose you would have to accept that the sovereign state of Norway is indeed real and not just an artificially created figment that the people who live there accept to be part of that society.

I'd say even you can't believe you actually typed that.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 11:09:35 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on December 01, 2015, 11:02:24 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on December 01, 2015, 09:05:17 PM

I'd say even you can't believe you actually typed that.

Well I believe I did, but whether I actually really factualy did or not is an entirely different matter.
Post by: Maguire01 on December 02, 2015, 07:25:15 AM
Imagine... your whole life and only one mistake. And that wasn't really even a mistake!

And then you have someone that offended some people absolutely everyone. Not sure that anyone ever got actually hurt, but still, we were all very offended.
Post by: Applesisapples on December 02, 2015, 09:46:29 AM
I continue to be amazed at the level of true Christian Charity on this thread.
Post by: Gmac on December 02, 2015, 02:18:49 PM
I guess we won't be seeing her in Vegas on the 12th pity
Post by: Itchy on December 02, 2015, 05:42:23 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on December 02, 2015, 09:46:29 AM

Isn't it always the way that the biggest holy joe is hiding the most. Tony can't hide his hatred of a mentally ill woman, I'm sure Jesus will forgive him.
Post by: longballin on December 02, 2015, 06:04:19 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 02, 2015, 05:42:23 PM

Isn't it always the way that the biggest holy joe is hiding the most. Tony can't hide his hatred of a mentally ill woman, I'm sure Jesus will forgive him.

I won't go to see what Tony wrote he's totally predictable. Sinead is a very damaged woman entitled to compassion and for the haters I hope it comes to their door some day.     
Post by: laoislad on December 02, 2015, 06:16:58 PM

Say Ten Hail Marys and you can get away doing or saying anything you want.
Not a bad deal in fairness.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 02, 2015, 06:33:28 PM
Quote from: longballin on December 02, 2015, 06:04:19 PM

I won't go to see what Tony wrote he's totally predictable. Sinead is a very damaged woman entitled to compassion and for the haters I hope it comes to their door some day.   

Wud that final statement not mean that you are lumping yourself in with haters?
Post by: stew on December 02, 2015, 06:35:16 PM

THE WOMAN IS ILL, SICK IN THE HEAD TONY, ffs what part of diminished capacity due to mental illness do you not get?

It is not her fault she is ill!

Not an ounce of Christianity in you on this thread Tony.
Post by: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 07:22:38 PM
How do you know? Has she been clinically diagnosed? If so why wasnt she in care? Sorry I'll save my sympathy for those who deserve it not some junkie trying to boost her career.
Post by: omaghjoe on December 02, 2015, 07:27:54 PM
By the same token how do you know she is not?

Is clinical diagnosis part of your criteria for providing empathy?
Post by: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 07:49:25 PM
I have no empathy with millionaires living lives of debauchery who have spent their lives ridiculing others to advance their careers.
Post by: muppet on December 02, 2015, 08:17:08 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 07:49:25 PM
I have no empathy with millionaires living lives of debauchery who have spent their lives ridiculing others to advance their careers.

So you have finally left the Church?
Post by: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 09:36:33 PM
The Church is not represented by the minuscule number who have behaved shamefully
Post by: laoislad on December 02, 2015, 09:38:28 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 09:36:33 PM
The Church is not represented by the minuscule number who have behaved shamefully
Like riding a young one from Summerhill outside of marriage?
How many Hail Marys did you say to get over that one?
Post by: AZOffaly on December 02, 2015, 09:40:30 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 09:36:33 PM

Nor by you.
Post by: T Fearon on December 02, 2015, 09:53:07 PM
I never claimed to represent the Church!
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on December 10, 2015, 10:30:39 PM
No matter your opinion on Sinead, no-one should have to suffer this....

http://metro.co.uk/2015/11/22/sinead-oconnor-writes-open-letter-to-the-man-threatening-her-with-rape-5518180/

I also watched this from 1995, three years after the Dylan show, interviewed on Jools Holland. A brave woman who spoke a lot of truth, was never a patsy, and probably suffered a lot because of it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Txctjc_JCwc
Post by: seafoid on December 11, 2015, 08:02:25 AM
Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on December 10, 2015, 10:30:39 PM
No matter your opinion on Sinead, no-one should have to suffer this....

http://metro.co.uk/2015/11/22/sinead-oconnor-writes-open-letter-to-the-man-threatening-her-with-rape-5518180/

I also watched this from 1995, three years after the Dylan show, interviewed on Jools Holland. A brave woman who spoke a lot of truth, was never a patsy, and probably suffered a lot because of it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Txctjc_JCwc
She was so beautiful as a young woman. You can see from her face that she has suffered a lot.(first link)
Post by: Puckoon on December 24, 2015, 03:05:13 PM
From Sineads FB on Christmas Eve. Poor girl must be very sick

Dad, I burned your letter without reading it you total ****. Then I pissed on it. Now hurry up and die so I can piss on your grave for what you did to my mother and me and my brother John. You lying murdering revisionist ****.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 16, 2016, 06:18:38 PM
http://www.nbcchicago.com/news/local/Singer-Sinead-OConnor-Reported-Missing-in-Suburban-Wilmette-379665401.html
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2016, 07:41:00 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on May 16, 2016, 06:18:38 PM
http://www.nbcchicago.com/news/local/Singer-Sinead-OConnor-Reported-Missing-in-Suburban-Wilmette-379665401.html
I hope she is ok
Post by: BennyCake on May 16, 2016, 08:15:32 PM
Another attention seeking stunt. Boo friggidy hoo.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 16, 2016, 08:18:33 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0516/788814-sinead-oconnor/ (http://www.rte.ie/news/2016/0516/788814-sinead-oconnor/)
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2016, 08:49:10 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 16, 2016, 08:15:32 PM
She is probably quite unwell and living it out in public
Post by: blast05 on May 16, 2016, 09:05:26 PM

Substitute 'post' for 'stunt' and i'd say you've described your post to a tee
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2016, 09:27:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 16, 2016, 08:49:10 PM
Definitely unwell and I really don't know why someone from her family doesn't step in to help her out.
Post by: seafoid on May 16, 2016, 09:38:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 16, 2016, 09:27:22 PM
Definitely unwell and I really don't know why someone from her family doesn't step in to help her out.
She burnt her bridges with them years ago.
She is a very sad case
Post by: BennyCake on May 16, 2016, 10:57:51 PM

Plenty of people with similar illness and they don't behave like she does.
Post by: ludermor on May 16, 2016, 11:13:27 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 16, 2016, 10:57:51 PM

They may not but a lot just become a statistic
Post by: longballin on May 16, 2016, 11:19:16 PM
I'm just happy for the people who slag her off who obviously have never encountered mental health illness among any of their relatives or friends...
Post by: NAG1 on May 17, 2016, 09:36:17 AM

What is the illness?

Post by: seafoid on May 17, 2016, 09:48:39 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on May 17, 2016, 09:36:17 AM

What is the illness?
I think she is bipolar
Post by: mikehunt on May 17, 2016, 10:36:44 AM
Quote from: longballin on May 16, 2016, 11:19:16 PM
I'm just happy for the people who slag her off who obviously have never encountered mental health illness among any of their relatives or friends...

The 'snap out of it' brigade.
Post by: BennyCake on May 17, 2016, 04:00:04 PM

She always was an attention seeker. 26 years later after her only real hit, she's no longer relevant in the music industry or in popular culture. Ordained a priest, insulting the Pope, etc - instead of media ignoring her, they invite her onto TV shows ffs.
Post by: mikehunt on May 17, 2016, 04:44:45 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 17, 2016, 04:00:04 PM

She always was an attention seeker. 26 years later after her only real hit, she's no longer relevant in the music industry or in popular culture. Ordained a priest, insulting the Pope, etc - instead of media ignoring her, they invite her onto TV shows ffs.
She has a mental illness. There's a reason she's acting erratically. 
Post by: longballin on May 17, 2016, 04:45:35 PM

... was in context to Pope about mass cover up of child abuse... she done right. as for other stuff... person with mental health issues did stuff that was off the wall wow!
Post by: screenexile on May 17, 2016, 05:05:12 PM

Wait until you have some experience of mental health issues and you'll soon change your tune!!
Post by: longballin on May 17, 2016, 05:47:20 PM
Hitting out at a mentally ill person is bullying... good article this

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/health/how-sinead-oconnor-was-vilified-online-shows-that-we-have-learned-nothing-on-mental-health-34723443.html
Post by: stew on May 17, 2016, 11:49:36 PM

The woman is sick,in the head, leave her the f**k alone you bullocks, ach sure why not beat on a sick person when they are down! >:(
Post by: longballin on May 18, 2016, 09:24:27 AM
Quote from: stew on May 17, 2016, 11:49:36 PM

The woman is sick,in the head, leave her the f**k alone you bullocks, ach sure why not beat on a sick person when they are down! >:(

that's what gutless bullies do...
Post by: easytiger95 on May 18, 2016, 10:08:44 AM
She was ahead of the curve in pointing out the terrible child abuse scandals in Ireland - she was doing that a long time before the Murphy and Ryan reports...

She sings the best version of the Offaly Rover ever, and loves a nice big carvery...up the Biffs!!

She elevated the video form to art with one of the rawest performances every put on camera...

And she now has serious mental health problems, which most people would understand makes her behavior erratic and would hope that she receives the best treatment for.

Attention seeker or publicity whore she is not.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 18, 2016, 10:12:22 AM
Quote from: easytiger95 on May 18, 2016, 10:08:44 AM
She was ahead of the curve in pointing out the terrible child abuse scandals in Ireland - she was doing that a long time before the Murphy and Ryan reports...

She has the absolute voice of an angel that can strip the skin from your back or heal your soul...

She elevated the video form to art with one of the rawest performances every put on camera...

And she now has serious mental health problems, which most people would understand makes her behavior erratic and would hope that she receives the best treatment for.

What?!? What sort of pretentious shite is that :)

A very talented lady, and obviously not well, and has not been well for a long, long time. The way she treated her own body and face always seemed to indicate some inner demons. She was a beautiful girl when she was younger, but she seemed determined to not allow herself be beautiful for some reason. I just hope she can find happiness.
Post by: easytiger95 on May 18, 2016, 01:01:09 PM
Jaysis AZ, I just like my music!! She is definitely up there in the pantheon with some of the best female vocalists ever. Maybe not as a singer songwriter but as an interpreter of other's songs, she's fairly flawless.

It's just a pity that her various illnesses have, amongst other things, severely limited her output.

I might do an edit on that now - pretentious, moi?
Post by: easytiger95 on May 18, 2016, 01:05:00 PM
Edit done.  ;)

Just see that she has posted an open letter on facebook - very sad and twisted stuff, the tragic thing is she seems to realize at times just how out there she is traveling, mental illness is such a curse.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 18, 2016, 01:27:31 PM
Much better :) You could have said something like 'Her voice brings to mind the morning dew gently falling from a newly blossomed snow drop'.
Post by: seafoid on May 18, 2016, 03:20:15 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on May 18, 2016, 10:08:44 AM

She sings the best version of the Offaly Rover ever, and loves a nice big carvery...up the Biffs!!

She was always opposed to hypocrisy and injustice and she knows how the music business and power work.
A lot of what she says is insightful. But she is persecuted by her demons
Post by: BennyCake on May 18, 2016, 04:16:23 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on May 18, 2016, 01:05:00 PM
Edit done.  ;)

Just see that she has posted an open letter on facebook - very sad and twisted stuff, the tragic thing is she seems to realize at times just how out there she is traveling, mental illness is such a curse.

Er, maybe someone should just confiscate her iPad. That would sort the Facebook rants out.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on May 18, 2016, 04:38:35 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 18, 2016, 01:27:31 PM
Much better :) You could have said something like 'Her voice brings to mind the morning dew gently falling from a newly blossomed snow drop'.

Nah, the first way was much better, easytiger.  Put into words how I've always felt about her voice. 
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 24, 2016, 06:45:05 AM
Unfortunate news again.........

http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/wireStory/chicago-police-advised-lookout-sinead-oconnor-40092573?yptr=yahoo
Post by: mouview on June 24, 2016, 01:15:23 PM
She's ok again apparently. Some 'stupid bitch in Swords garda station' overreacted.
Post by: Main Street on June 25, 2016, 02:43:26 AM

It should be clear to anybody with an ounce of experience that Sinead is well across the edge of mental and emotional balance.
Perhaps irish people are subjectively selective  when it comes to being aware and supportive of such individuals, regardless of  their popular profile.
If one chooses  not to be aware and supportive, then  the next best stance is just ignore.
When a character who we called "bang bang" came down main street in our town shooting an imaginary gun up into the heavens when it rained  we kind of got the impression that "bang bang" was just being "bang bang" and it was all just a part of town life that he let loose on occasions.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 15, 2018, 08:30:57 AM
Sinead will be performing in the US as Magda Davitt starting this month April 2018

https://www.billboard.com/articles/news/8259231/sinead-oconnor-magda-davitt-announces-new-us-concert-dates
Post by: dec on October 25, 2018, 02:46:18 PM
https://twitter.com/MagdaDavitt77/status/1053340513871384576

"This is to announce that I am proud to have become a Muslim. This is the natural conclusion of any intelligent theologian's journey. All scripture study leads to Islam. Which makes all other scriptures redundant. I will be given (another) new name. It will be Shuhada'"
Post by: seafoid on October 25, 2018, 02:51:20 PM
Quote from: dec on October 25, 2018, 02:46:18 PM

"This is to announce that I am proud to have become a Muslim. This is the natural conclusion of any intelligent theologian's journey. All scripture study leads to Islam. Which makes all other scriptures redundant. I will be given (another) new name. It will be Shuhada'"
Shuhada means martyrs in Arabic
Post by: armaghniac on October 25, 2018, 02:53:07 PM
Quote from: dec on October 25, 2018, 02:46:18 PM

If she were in Cross' she'd be called Rulya.