GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2017, 10:56:45 AM

Title: Interview with Father Vincent Stapleton
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2017, 10:56:45 AM
Don't worry, I'm not coming down all Tony, but I thought this was a nice interview. Fr. Stapleton is cousin of Paddy Stapleton (nicknamed Saint I believe!!) who used to play for Tipp, and he himself (Vincent) is on the Borrisoleigh panel for Sunday's County Final versus Sars. I thought he came across very well in the interview. The church could do with making lads like this the face of priesthood in Ireland.

https://www.facebook.com/offtheball/videos/10159459179045441/ (https://www.facebook.com/offtheball/videos/10159459179045441/)
Title: Re: Interview with Father Vincent Stapleton
Post by: T Fearon on October 06, 2017, 12:26:14 PM
Saw that.Seems like a good priest too.But the Church is not in the business of PR,and does not need suave media operators.It needs good priests,like Fr Stapleton,ministering to the flock
Post by: seafoid on October 06, 2017, 02:50:11 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 06, 2017, 12:26:14 PM
Saw that.Seems like a good priest too.But the Church is not in the business of PR,and does not need suave media operators.It needs good priests,like Fr Stapleton,ministering to the flock
Promotional Resurrection is pure marketing. So is Virgin birth. They both have shock value and score highly in Niesen surveys.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 06, 2017, 02:52:31 PM
Jaysus lads. Can ye not just look at the video and say he's a great lad and Up Borrisoleigh.
Post by: Rossfan on October 06, 2017, 03:01:12 PM
Sure there'd be no fun in that AZ ;)
Post by: seafoid on October 06, 2017, 03:21:57 PM
Up Tipp. Great to have a bit of good news .
Post by: general_lee on October 06, 2017, 03:37:10 PM
Not often you see priests playing GAA these days, then again it's not often you see any under 40. Was a nice enough interview all the same. There was a priest from Cork that supposedly played for St Peters in Lurgan about 15/16 years ago.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 06, 2017, 03:59:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 06, 2017, 02:52:31 PM
Jaysus lads. Can ye not just look at the video and say he's a great lad and Up Borrisoleigh.

You should have known AZ. The mere mention of the term "Fr" gets Tony's pulse racing.
Post by: seafoid on October 06, 2017, 05:09:40 PM
I was looking at the stats there. Sars had a winless patch between 74 and 2005. 35 altogether. Borrisileigh only have 6  . No club in Galway would be as dominant as the Sars.  Maybe that was the problem historically.
Post by: T Fearon on October 06, 2017, 05:44:55 PM
Proud to say that my home club play at Fr Rafferty Park,in honour of Cooley priest, the late Fr Dom Rafferty,who managed the senior team and did so much for the club in the 80s.He also was involved with Spurs during his time as a curate in N London.

In fact there is a good book waiting to be written about the role of the Catholic Church and Clergy in the founding and development of the GAA,beginning with Archbishop Croke himself
Post by: Avondhu star on October 08, 2017, 12:27:01 AM
Quote from: seafoid on October 06, 2017, 05:09:40 PM
I was looking at the stats there. Sars had a winless patch between 74 and 2005. 35 altogether. Borrisileigh only have 6  . No club in Galway would be as dominant as the Sars.  Maybe that was the problem historically.
Or maybe the Galway inbreds. were. too busy fighting with each other
Post by: mouview on October 08, 2017, 01:06:45 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on October 08, 2017, 12:27:01 AM

Nice piece of work you are. Do a bit of work on your punctuation will you?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on October 08, 2017, 02:30:46 AM
Quote from: Avondhu star on October 08, 2017, 12:27:01 AM

Hang on now. We only advocate inbreeding on weekends. Otherwise we are too busy sipping our Mocha Latte's. Or Buckfast.
Post by: tonto1888 on October 08, 2017, 09:43:30 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 06, 2017, 02:52:31 PM

They're on tele today aren't they?
Post by: T Fearon on October 08, 2017, 08:48:28 PM
Well did Fr Vincent get a medal?
Post by: Tyrdub on October 09, 2017, 09:06:01 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 08, 2017, 08:48:28 PM
Well did Fr Vincent get a medal?

Nope
Post by: rrhf on October 09, 2017, 10:35:54 PM
Fcuk that then
Post by: T Fearon on October 09, 2017, 10:55:42 PM
He only came on as a sub after 55 minutes
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 11, 2017, 09:23:33 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on October 09, 2017, 10:55:42 PM
He only came on as a sub after 55 minutes

Threw the collar at the manager and called him every name under the sun after.
Post by: T Fearon on October 11, 2017, 10:18:01 AM
Quite right,shouldn't have left a man with divine powers on the bench so long
Post by: Owen Brannigan on October 11, 2017, 12:04:53 PM
He's no fan of the rosary before a game, saying a prayer in the changing rooms or even saying Mass for a win.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 11, 2017, 03:37:34 PM
Saw the clips of the interview..couldn't get away from the thought that only someone who is quite mental would become a priest really.
Post by: mrhardyannual on October 11, 2017, 06:59:38 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 11, 2017, 03:37:34 PM
Saw the clips of the interview..couldn't get away from the thought that only someone who is quite mental would become a priest really.
Or truly dedicated. Fair play to him. He had a degree and a teaching job that he gave up to follow this path. How much the poorer would our communities be but for him and others like him.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on October 11, 2017, 07:40:04 PM

The lord is not my shepherd, for I am not a sheep.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 12, 2017, 01:00:18 AM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on October 11, 2017, 06:59:38 PM
Or truly dedicated. Fair play to him. He had a degree and a teaching job that he gave up to follow this path. How much the poorer would our communities be but for him and others like him.

So instead of educating kids, he now dedicates himself to an imaginary being..how noble!  ::)
Post by: omaghjoe on October 12, 2017, 04:12:53 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on October 11, 2017, 07:40:04 PM

The lord is not my shepherd, for I am not a sheep.
Metaphor?
Post by: omaghjoe on October 12, 2017, 04:14:20 AM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 12, 2017, 01:00:18 AM

So instead of educating kids, he now dedicates himself to an imaginary being..how noble!  ::)

You may believe that but he and his congregation don't.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 12, 2017, 05:54:53 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on October 12, 2017, 04:14:20 AM

Thankfully (in my view) the number of people involved in such things is ever decreasing.
Post by: Owenmoresider on October 12, 2017, 06:12:32 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 12, 2017, 05:54:53 PM

Thankfully (in my view) the number of people involved in such things is ever decreasing.
Another fine example of the smug superiority complex that atheist/non-believing types tend to hold over those who obviously aren't as enlightened as they like to think they are themselves.
Post by: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 12, 2017, 06:39:28 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on October 12, 2017, 06:12:32 PM

Another fine example of the smug superiority complex that atheist/non-believing types tend to hold over those who obviously aren't as enlightened as they like to think they are themselves.

I said "in my view", so get over yourself. Believe what you want to believe, knock yourself out..but in this country, the church has wielded way too much power and used it control and abuse the population largely. Anybody denying that is either a liar or deluding themselves.
That's my last post on the matter here.
Post by: omaghjoe on October 12, 2017, 07:58:07 PM

....Except the number of Catholics is in fact still growing after tripling from mid 20th century remaining steady at least in line with population.

Also in the scenario were followers were declining wouldn't that make it even more noble to follow something you believe in by bucking the trend? It would in my book but your entitled to your opinion.
Post by: armaghniac on October 12, 2017, 10:16:23 PM
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on October 12, 2017, 06:39:28 PM
I said "in my view", so get over yourself. Believe what you want to believe, knock yourself out..but in this country, the church has wielded way too much power and used it control and abuse the population largely. Anybody denying that is either a liar or deluding themselves.

There is some truth in this. But all along good work was done on the ground by people such as this who worked with the people and who had no power over anyone.

That's my last post on the matter here.

Good. You seem to have a chip on your shoulder.