Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ExiledGael on May 15, 2008, 10:29:10 PM

Title: Robert Dunlop killed in North West 200
Post by: ExiledGael on May 15, 2008, 10:29:10 PM
Dunlop seriously ill after crash

Motorcyclist Robert Dunlop is seriously ill after suffering severe chest injuries in a crash in Thursday's practice session at the North West 200.
Another Northern Ireland rider, Darren Burns, suffered a suspected broken leg and concussion in the accident, but is said to be stable in hospital.
The accident happened in the 250cc qualifying as the riders approached the Mathers Cross Section of the course.
Dunlop's brother Joey was killed in a racing accident in Estonia in 2000.
The riders were travelling at speeds of about 160 miles per hour when the accident happened.
Dunlop's bike appeared to seize and he went over the handlebars.
Burns was following behind and was unable to avoid hitting the Ballymoney rider.
Robert Dunlop sustained serious injuries in a crash at the Isle of Man TT in 1994 before later returning to action.

I know the debate comes up every year, but is this sport worth all this?
The latest in the area suggests he has serious head injuries also.
Title: Re: North West madness
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 10:31:42 PM
Jesus. I hope he pulls through!
Post by: Surreal Steve on May 15, 2008, 10:42:03 PM
Apparently he has died within last half an hour. RIP
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 10:43:32 PM
Where'd you hear that Steve?
Post by: Surreal Steve on May 15, 2008, 10:45:01 PM
F365 forum, a poster on there
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 15, 2008, 10:45:10 PM
Quote from: Surreal Steve on May 15, 2008, 10:42:03 PM
Apparently he has died within last half an hour. RIP

If true.............. that's it ... has to be ....
Post by: haranguerer on May 15, 2008, 10:50:03 PM
Thats brutal, RIP indeed.

The debate does come up often, but its worthwhile. The main issue seems to be how much do you protect people from themselves. It must be absolutely terrifying to be close to someone who competes - the sport is on the edge all the time. I don't think I could put those close to me in that situation regularly, especially when you're seeing the heartbreak so often. But then for those riders its their whole life...

May he rest in peace if that news is true. 
Post by: Surreal Steve on May 15, 2008, 10:51:37 PM
no definite source yet
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 15, 2008, 11:02:30 PM
Radio Ulster 11.00 RIP Robert...
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 11:06:20 PM
RIP Robert and God Bless.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 15, 2008, 11:07:19 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/motorsport/motorbikes/7403931.stm

Robert Dunlop dies after NW crash 

Dunlop survived a major accident on the Isle of Man TT in 1994
Motorcyclist Robert Dunlop has died after suffering severe chest injuries in a crash in Thursday's practice session at the North West 200.

Another Northern Ireland rider, Darren Burns, suffered a suspected broken leg and concussion in the accident, but is said to be stable in hospital.

The accident happened in the 250cc qualifying as the riders approached the Mathers Cross Section of the course.

Dunlop's brother Joey was killed in a racing accident in Estonia in 2000.

The riders were travelling at speeds of about 160 miles per hour when the accident happened.

Dunlop's bike appeared to seize and he went over the handlebars.

Burns was following behind and was unable to avoid hitting the Ballymoney rider.

Robert Dunlop sustained serious injuries in a crash at the Isle of Man TT in 1994 before later returning to action

RIP
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on May 15, 2008, 11:12:15 PM
God rest his soul.

Can we now call a halt to this suicidal "sport" ?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 15, 2008, 11:29:20 PM
I went into Portstewart a wee run yesterday with the weather being good. I am no fan of motor cycling, but there was a real buzz about the place. I was just thinking when the wee lads a year older next year to take him up. However there are downsides to the week too, as we have just learnt.

Another sad day for the Dunlop family.

RIP
Post by: Yes I Would on May 15, 2008, 11:34:11 PM
Very sad news!! RIP!

Surely the future of this sport, if it can be described as sport should be seriously examined. Deaths of young men becoimg all too common!!

Post by: Orior on May 15, 2008, 11:42:54 PM
Sad news.

I cant understand why people go to watch this stuff. I love F1 and track motor cycling, but that sport(?) is mad. Why are we made to wear seat belts in cars if people can still ride bikes at speed on the open road?
Title: Re: Robert Dunlop killed in North West 200
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 15, 2008, 11:43:06 PM
RIP Robert.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 15, 2008, 11:46:25 PM
Surely the racing this weekend must now be abandoned. If not... if they can stop people smoking in bars... surely, this madness will stop.
Post by: ziggysego on May 15, 2008, 11:47:55 PM
Can only hope that is will be cancelled this year. The right thing to do.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on May 15, 2008, 11:50:02 PM
RIP Robert.  However, Robert is at peace, it is his family that has to live with the loss and hardship that his death willl bring.

This is not a sport, it is extremely dangerous, and a prolonged suicide if you ask me. These riders are not thinking of ther families when they get up on their bikes.

It should be banned,how many deaths should it take?
Post by: ONeill on May 15, 2008, 11:52:26 PM
Horrific news and somewhat inevitable.

Post by: pintsofguinness on May 15, 2008, 11:53:16 PM
Terrible.  RIP
Post by: the green man on May 15, 2008, 11:55:26 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 15, 2008, 11:42:54 PM
I cant understand why people go to watch this stuff. I love F1 and track motor cycling, but that sport(?) is mad. Why are we made to wear seat belts in cars if people can still ride bikes at speed on the open road?

Thats the thing, every time these boys get on a bike for a race, they know it might be their last. I've relations that raced bikes in the 70's and one that died in the TT in the 80's, I'd never put me arse on a motorbike. But that's were these boys get their fix, their adrenaline rush. Some of us here train our balls of for one championship final, some drink, some take drugs, to get that high. Theses boys get it every time the take the seat on a bike, and they know that this time might be the last. Yes it's dangerous and all, but surely thats the thrill that they get. And that is why they continue to do it.
Post by: Hurler on the Bitch on May 15, 2008, 11:57:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 15, 2008, 11:52:26 PM
Horrific news and somewhat inevitable.

True
Post by: J70 on May 16, 2008, 12:06:06 AM
I feel sorry for the man's family, but I can't say I've much sympathy for people who take the kind of crazy risks that these sort of people do, especially a man who has seen his brother killed in identical circumstances.
Post by: Tyrones own on May 16, 2008, 12:25:15 AM

Dreadful news, followed both himself and Joey for years, very sad for the family.
RIP Robert
Post by: saffron sam2 on May 16, 2008, 08:20:46 AM
As ONeill says, very sad but something tragically inevitable about it. Robert had used up his luck after the crash at the TT and that should have been enough for him to call it a day.

I am old enough to remember Tom Herron, Frank Kennedy and Brian Hamilton being killed at the NW in 1979 and can remember a steady stream at nearly every major meeting ever since. The time to stop road racing has long since past.

Condolences to the Dunlop family.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 16, 2008, 08:30:40 AM
Terrible, terrible news! I agree with saffron sam - are we losing too many people to this sport - road racing is just too dangerous, if the greatest that ever lived i.e. the dunlops are having fatal accidents - what chance has the average riders??

At least he died doing something he loved! RIP Robert!
Post by: balladmaker on May 16, 2008, 09:46:45 AM
RIP Robert Dunlop, very very sad once again for the Dunlop family.

Hindsight is a great thing, but I always passed the comment that Robert Dunlop would go the same way as Joey.  When you heard Robert being interviewed, it was obvious that racing was like a drug to him, he just couldn't get it out of his blood if he wanted to. 

I don't think the decision as to whether this sport has a future or not should be left with those who partake in it.  It needs to be a decision for the greater community.  The cyclists are too much part of it in my opinion.

The sad thing is that Robert's two sons were also racing this weekend as well.  i hope the death of their father and uncle will make them think seriously about their future in this sport, or we could be hearing of another Dunlop tragedy in years to come.

RIP Robert Dunlop, he appeared to be, like his brother, one of life's gentlemen.
Post by: saffron on May 16, 2008, 09:58:46 AM
Sad loss alright condolences to the Dunlop family.

It does seem clear that road racing should be stopped but the people taking part are more than happy to put up with the risks and refuse to consider circuits.

The safety measures are ludicrous - they have the Dundrod one near me and you see them putting bales of hay up against concrete gate posts as if that will make any difference at 120 miles per hour. And does anybody remember Tandragee a few years ago where they decided that a straight was too quick so they put bales of hay in the middle of the road in an effort to get them to slow down, which they didnt, and so it just became twice as dangerous.

Have to say though that you cant but have absolute respect for the guys that do it - even if they are a little suicidal.
Post by: Rav67 on May 16, 2008, 10:46:50 AM
They should at least have an upper age limit or something, Robert Dunlop was 48.  How can you be expected to control a bike at that speed at that age?

RIP
Post by: behind the wire on May 16, 2008, 11:08:56 AM
nothing to do with his control of the bike rav. id go so far as to say that very few would have better control of a bike than robert dunlop. it seems that the bike seized and threw him over the handlebars, not much he could do about it and could have happened to anyone.

RIP Robert.
Post by: Rav67 on May 16, 2008, 11:12:19 AM
I'm sure you're right I wouldn't know much about racing really, it just seemed very old to me to still be racing bikes on open road.  Is it the norm to continue at it so long?  I read Joey died at 48 too.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 16, 2008, 11:17:39 AM
Unlike the Dunlop brothers, Ray McCullough knew when to call it a day and is still alive as a result.  You only have so many lives and to continue competing at this level of danger when well into your 40's is sheer madness.  RIP
Post by: girt_giggler on May 16, 2008, 11:32:34 AM
As i expected, the North West goes ahead as planned tomorrow.

RIP Robert
Post by: Hardy on May 16, 2008, 11:36:08 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 15, 2008, 11:29:20 PMI was just thinking when the wee lads a year older next year to take him up.

Could I respectfully suggest that you don't? I don't believe it's a good idea to glamourise motorbikes to young lads. As a parent of two boys and a brother-in-law of a fatal motorbike crash victim, one of my worst nightmares was that they would ever get interested in bikes, so I quietly kept bikes out of their consciousness as much as possible when they were growing up. Thankfully, neither has the slightest interest now.

Post by: ziggysego on May 16, 2008, 11:37:31 AM
I'm disappointed that the organisers saw fit to continue with the NW200 this weekend. Surely last night's accident should have been an eye opened, if only for the immediate future.
Post by: Hardy on May 16, 2008, 11:57:18 AM
I was just checking out motorbike accident rates there. According to Wiki, 2004 figures from the Department for Transport in the UK indicate that motorcycles have 121 deaths or serious injuries per 100 million vehicle kilometres.

It's probably reasonable to assume that an average biker would travel at least 100,000 kilometres in his biking lifetime. That would suggest a death or serious injury rate of 121 per 1,000 motorcyclists, or 12.1% ! You have approximately one chance in nine of being killed or seriously injured if you're a regular motorbike user. I can't think of another activity with such a high risk rate - even in sports where the prime intent is to injure your opponent or in intuitively dangerous activities like flying, sky-diving, deep sea diving, mountaineering, etc. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorcycle_safety
Post by: Over the Bar on May 16, 2008, 01:38:50 PM
QuoteI was just thinking when the wee lads a year older next year to take him up.

Perhaps to give him a sense of realism instead of fantasy you should also take him to the neuro ward of the Royal and show him the young men who are now vegetables as a result of choosing road-racing as a sport. 
Post by: Maguire01 on May 16, 2008, 01:40:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 16, 2008, 11:37:31 AM
I'm disappointed that the organisers saw fit to continue with the NW200 this weekend. Surely last night's accident should have been an eye opened, if only for the immediate future.

Not that i'm a fan, or have any interest at all in the sport, but surely Robert Dunlop would have wanted the race to go ahead, no? Is it really inappropriate to go ahead with it?
Post by: haranguerer on May 16, 2008, 02:09:51 PM
I'm surprised if anyone on here thought the races would be called off. As seen from these messages, fatalities are a large part of road-racing - the NW organisers would be well aware that there is every likelihood of a fatality each year. If these events were called off when someone dies there would be no need to ban them, everyone would be that pissed off at never getting to watch/participate, they'd take up another sport.

Another thing, I was wondering if the reluctance to place restrictions or ban road racing in the north at least, would have anything to do with the fact that its a feather in the cap of 'norn irn' - any protests would be mainly from one side of the community, and it could become quite the political hot potato. I'm not trying to introduce a political agenda, it was just something I was thinking about why there is never much mention of whether or not it should be banned in the wider media, while on forums like these its the main issue.
Btw, I've been to the nw and other road races quite a few times, would have had messed about on bikes etc, and can understand both sides to an extent. What I can't understand is knowing how much anguish and worry you are causing those closest to you, and doing it anyway. In that sport, you have no control over too many elements. Another poster was questioning roberts age, but at 48 experience would have made him lower risk. What he couldn't control was his bike seizing, in the same way the other rider couldn't control the fact that a bike seized in front of him and he had nowhere to go but into it.
Post by: Fluffy Che on May 16, 2008, 02:27:17 PM
May he rest in peace..

Very sad, met him once and he'd plenty of time for the chat, photographs etc. A real gent, much like his brother.

The personal tragedy to the wider family circle must be powerful.

l think its time for it to stop now and begin a closed circuit (safer) campaign. Maybe the Maze...
Post by: Evil Genius on May 16, 2008, 02:28:54 PM
In the end, Robert Dunlop knew the dangers better than any of us and still chose to continue. (In fact, am I correct in thinking that his son or sons are also racers?). In which case, I'm sure the last thing his family needs right now is non-racing enthusiasts, however well-intentioned, telling them how "mad" or "irresponsible" etc he was.

And whilst I would never have anything to do with road-racing, and would hope to dissuade my nearest and dearest from ever getting involved, I feel that so long as the sport is properly regulated, we just have to accept other peoples right to continue, from a Libertarian point of view.

In fact, if I'm truly honest, for all that I disapprove of the consequences, a part of me admires their courage and is even a little envious of them, since they must be getting an enormous thrill out of it for them to continue in the face of such enormous risks.

In the end, I'd rather have young people getting their kicks from regulated activities like racing or boxing, no matter how hazardous, than joyriding or drugs etc.

Post by: BennyHarp on May 16, 2008, 02:31:03 PM
Quotel think its time for it to stop now and begin a closed circuit (safer) campaign. Maybe the Maze...

Now that sounds like an idea!
Post by: wherefromreferee? on May 16, 2008, 02:35:57 PM
I can remember being in Casement Park when the news of Joeys crash reverberated around the ground and I thought to myself then that maybe Robert would decide to call it a day.  When he did eventually retire in 2004 I was delighted, and although I was never going to be able to see him ride again at the NW, I was happy for his family that he did.  Now, 4 yrs later, I cant help but feel for his family, especially Louise, who now have to go through the absolute heartache of losing a husband (and a father).

R.I.P Robert
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 16, 2008, 02:53:39 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 16, 2008, 11:36:08 AM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 15, 2008, 11:29:20 PMI was just thinking when the wee lads a year older next year to take him up.

Could I respectfully suggest that you don't? I don't believe it's a good idea to glamourise motorbikes to young lads. As a parent of two boys and a brother-in-law of a fatal motorbike crash victim, one of my worst nightmares was that they would ever get interested in bikes, so I quietly kept bikes out of their consciousness as much as possible when they were growing up. Thankfully, neither has the slightest interest now.

I understand what your saying Hardy however a good friend of mine has a motorbike  and he has two young lads he told me that he is going to buy a bike for the lads  when they were old enough to ride one.Like you i was suprised and enquired as to why and his answer was that he used a bike all his life and if driven correctly and properly  biking can be great fun. I suppose its like everthing it depends how fast you go if you have a big powerfull bike which can reach speeds of 170 to 200 miles per hour and you drive them that quickly then of course you likehood of Dying is going to be high however if you keep within the limits and are fully geared up then you should be ok. 

Also condolences to the dunlop family
Post by: Rav67 on May 16, 2008, 03:13:10 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 16, 2008, 11:57:18 AM
I was just checking out motorbike accident rates there. According to Wiki, 2004 figures from the Department for Transport in the UK indicate that motorcycles have 121 deaths or serious injuries per 100 million vehicle kilometres.

It's probably reasonable to assume that an average biker would travel at least 100,000 kilometres in his biking lifetime. That would suggest a death or serious injury rate of 121 per 1,000 motorcyclists, or 12.1% ! You have approximately one chance in nine of being killed or seriously injured if you're a regular motorbike user. I can't think of another activity with such a high risk rate - even in sports where the prime intent is to injure your opponent or in intuitively dangerous activities like flying, sky-diving, deep sea diving, mountaineering, etc. 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorcycle_safety

From looking at your link, those figures are for motorcycle riding not racing, so I'm sure the figure of 121 per 100,000,000 is much higher for racing on roads even allowing for greater skill among racers.
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 16, 2008, 03:40:19 PM
Condolences to the Dunlop family during what must be a very difficult time. RIP Robert.  Phillip McCallan was on Good Morniing Ulster this morning and really articulated what this sport means to men of his ilk.
This sport is in the blood of these families in much the same way GAA & Soccer run through our blood.

My own personal opinion would be to scrap this as a sport, but I have no right to claim this. 

On another note BBC NI are launching a new show tonight about two motorbike mad brothers from the North East of the 6 counties (Aghadowey I think) and it is a spin off from that horrendous Dry Your Eyes shite.  Wonder will they have the foresight to cancel it as I don't think there will be much humour derived from it at the best of times but particularly now and the fact that inferences could be made with the show and another Sporting Family who served that area and their sport with great distinction.
Post by: Hardy on May 16, 2008, 03:43:59 PM
Rav67 - yes - I didn't point it out explicitly, but these figures were for normal motorbike use. I imagine the statistics for racers must be horrendous.

Deel Rover - I won't second-guess another parent's decision. I'm sure bikes are great fun. I'd love one myself, except I don't want to be another of those old farts who take up bikes in their dotage. And of course, the more careful, well-trained, etc. you are, the better chance you have of coming through alive. BUt two things would still convince me to take the attitude I did with my own kids.

1. No matter how careful you are, accidents happen. If an accident happens on a bike, you haven't much chance.

2. No matter how well I'd have trained my lads and taught them not to speed, etc. I still wouldn't be sure  that they'd follow that advice. It's a teenager's job to rebel against what their parents tell them and it's also their job to seek thrills. I know if I'd had a bike as a youngster I'd have been that way.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 16, 2008, 03:58:36 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 16, 2008, 03:43:59 PM
Rav67 - yes - I didn't point it out explicitly, but these figures were for normal motorbike use. I imagine the statistics for racers must be horrendous.

Deel Rover - I won't second-guess another parent's decision. I'm sure bikes are great fun. I'd love one myself, except I don't want to be another of those old farts who take up bikes in their dotage. And of course, the more careful, well-trained, etc. you are, the better chance you have of coming through alive. BUt two things would still convince me to take the attitude I did with my own kids.

1. No matter how careful you are, accidents happen. If an accident happens on a bike, you haven't much chance.

2. No matter how well I'd have trained my lads and taught them not to speed, etc. I still wouldn't be sure  that they'd follow that advice. It's a teenager's job to rebel against what their parents tell them and it's also their job to seek thrills. I know if I'd had a bike as a youngster I'd have been that way.

Ye i agree with you hardy i have a bike myself don't use it very often  but when i do i really enjoy it , i don't ride it for the thrill of speed or anything in fact it can't go that fast . Like you i have 2 kids and i don't really know what to do either. A few months ago i was going to sell the bike because like you i didn't want my Kids to be riding them because ok i know i'm a safe rider but i wouldn't know how my children would be, then i was talking to my friend and i could see where he was coming from, i would love in future years if my kids got older to go to the south of france or europe touring and that we would have an interest together just like i hope to be going to gaa matches ect ect with them. Its like everthing in life i suppose i would rather my kids do whatever they are going to do with me rather than rebelling behind my back ( talking ideally i know) however like you said i wouldn't want to be encouraging them by glamourising the bike .
Post by: stew on May 16, 2008, 04:27:38 PM
I have a bike, a  kawasaki vulcan nomad and I use it for work every day during the summer. I love the fact that the only thing I have to do for that hour is to concentrate on the ride and there are no phones going off and no radio blaring, nor are there people talking to me when I am riding.

I am aware always of the dangers involved with motorbikes and i am always looking out for the inattentiveness of others because it can kill.

Although I lobe the bike I am selling it next spring because I can no longer justify the risk, I have had two near misses in the past two years and I have decided to sell the bike and move on.

I feel for the Dunlop family and hope they can move on with their lives after the mourning is over. What a sad loss.
Post by: the Deel Rover on May 16, 2008, 04:29:48 PM
Quote from: stew on May 16, 2008, 04:27:38 PM
I have a bike, a  kawasaki vulcan nomad and I use it for work every day during the summer. I love the fact that the only thing I have to do for that hour is to concentrate on the ride and there are no phones going off and no radio blaring, nor are there people talking to me when I am riding.

I am aware always of the dangers involved with motorbikes and i am always looking out for the inattentiveness of others because it can kill.

Although I lobe the bike I am selling it next spring because I can no longer justify the risk, I have had two near misses in the past two years and I have decided to sell the bike and move on.

I feel for the Dunlop family and hope they can move on with their lives after the mourning is over. What a sad loss.

Were you going fast with the two near misses stew ?
Post by: ExiledGael on May 16, 2008, 04:33:51 PM
Lot of interesting debate on this today accross the media and on here.
People suggesting a proper course at the Maze are effectively killing off the road-racing aspect, or the real danger, which is what gives these men that buzz that they crave. That'll change the sport fundamentally, and while it may be safer, these racers will never agree to it. Besides it's the whole history and culture of the North West that draws in the thousands, and the drinking. The Maze arena would sanitise the sport and kill of what makes it such an event for these people.
Type in the North West on Google and countless references on tourist sites to this 'death defying' 'must see' event pop up. That's what makes it special for racing enthusiasts.
Dunlop's death yesterday came as a result of the bike seizing, it wasn't an especially dangerous stretch of road or corner, and people within the sport have said an accident like that can happen at any time on any open road for any motorcyclist. He was thrown off the bike, then hit by the rider behind who was also injured.
It was a mechanical failure, the issue is the speed and I don't think we'll ever slow the sport down.
Heard a statistic this morning that this is only the second death at the NW 200 in almost 20 years, anyone know if this is accurate?
On the other hand that's now Robert, Joey and a brother in law all killed racing. Robert's sons William and Michael were due to race this week too. These people know the risk, as can be seen from the family-backed decision to go ahead with the races.
Despite the death of a big name, nothing really has changed in the sport. People get killed in action from time to time, it's a factor all these men were aware of and they will go down in Armoy Armada folklore.
Thank God I have no friends or relatives connected to the sport, in saying that I've plenty who are pretty reckless on four wheels.
The sport will continue, more people will die.
Post by: Tonto on May 17, 2008, 12:19:27 PM
Just heard that his son, Michael, has won the first race in this years NW200.

RIP Robert
Post by: small white mayoman on May 17, 2008, 12:27:59 PM
Quote from: Tonto on May 17, 2008, 12:19:27 PM
Just heard that his son, Michael, has won the first race in this years NW200.

RIP Robert

crikey you would wonder how his son could get up on a bike and concentrate 2 days after his father died they must be bike mad and really love the sport
RIP Robert Dunlop
Post by: JimStynes on May 17, 2008, 11:40:41 PM
Fair play to the son for going on and winning it. This sport is madness though. I know people will say that its like us playing gaelic football. I love gaa with a passion but if it had the dangers and risks that racing does i would give it up in a second. Its unfair to put that kind of worry on their wives and children every week.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/7406127.stm
Post by: Aerlik on May 18, 2008, 06:47:48 AM
Lads, there has been a few interesting posts on this one.  I have to say that even though I don't ride bikes I do enjoy the races.  My big brother is a biker and although not a speed merchant, loves the road races.  He and I used to go to the NW200 with his mates and the last event I went with him to was the Mid-Antrim "500" (I think it was called) in 1998.  It was there that I got to meet Joey and Robert both and they both autographed the same wee bit of paper for me which is now safely stored at home in Ireland.  Those two men were gentlemen.  Robert used to be sponsored by a certain haulage company from Co.Derry with very, very strong links to Dunloy.  So much for religion being a barrier in sport.  They epitomised all that is good about sport.  You'd often see Robert going through Kilrea to Ballymoney and he'd always acknowledge you. 

This is just so sad. God rest you Robert.
Post by: Maguire01 on May 18, 2008, 06:47:18 PM
I see there was a minute silence at Casement today.  Good stuff.
Post by: Seany on May 18, 2008, 09:17:35 PM
Actually the story is worse.  i was at the NW this weekend and the story is that Robert's bike got stuck in gear, so he went to clutch.  The clutch is on the right handlebar, but Robert can't use his right hand because of his 1994 accident.  By accident, he pressed the button  on the handlebar which is the brake and that threw him over the handlebars.   Imagine the heartache for his wofe, Louise.  Losing her brother in law, then her husband and now her 2 sons are involved.  She said she knew he was going to die from the sport.  Does she also know about her sons? What a way to live.  I love motor racing, but it's time to call a halt...
Post by: JimStynes on May 18, 2008, 11:44:46 PM
Quote from: Seany on May 18, 2008, 09:17:35 PM
Actually the story is worse.  i was at the NW this weekend and the story is that Robert's bike got stuck in gear, so he went to clutch.  The clutch is on the right handlebar, but Robert can't use his right hand because of his 1994 accident.  By accident, he pressed the button  on the handlebar which is the brake and that threw him over the handlebars.   Imagine the heartache for his wife, Louise.  Losing her brother in law, then her husband and now her 2 sons are involved.  She said she knew he was going to die from the sport.  Does she also know about her sons? What a way to live.  I love motor racing, but it's time to call a halt...

Totally agree, its not worth it. It breaks your heart just watching the footage of the son on the winners podium the other day then the funeral today. Cant even begin to imagine the heart break and devastation that the family must be going through. Its just not worth the risk, something needs to be done.
Post by: ONeill on May 19, 2008, 12:06:45 AM
I disagree with anyone who calls for an end to this sport. People have a choice. It's a massively popular sport in certain parts and unless it's in your blood, you don't understand the the buzz/adrenline it gives the participants as well as their followers. Those who take part, and the relatives of, know the dangers - as do others involved in sports which involved high speed from skiing to horse racing.
Post by: J70 on May 19, 2008, 12:11:40 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 19, 2008, 12:06:45 AM
I disagree with anyone who calls for an end to this sport. People have a choice. It's a massively popular sport in certain parts and unless it's in your blood, you don't understand the the buzz/adrenline it gives the participants as well as their followers. Those who take part, and the relatives of, know the dangers - as do others involved in sports which involved high speed from skiing to horse racing.

I agree. I think anyone who would partake in such a sport is very, very foolish, but there is no law against being a fool!

Do these guys actually get insurance? I cannot imagine an insurance company who would want to cover someone for injury or even death in a sport as dangerous as road bike racing.
Post by: JimStynes on May 19, 2008, 12:16:42 AM
Very true o'neill. its easy to say if gaa had the same risks then i would give it up but impossible to know unless i was put in that position. Every sport with speed has dangers and people die from accidents but road racing just seems crazy. I would say all those riders at the north west will have known or been friends with someone who has died in road racing accidents. I found the following article about your man ryan fraquhar before Robert Dunlops accident

Ryan Farquhar has admitted he may consider his future in road racing at the end of this season in the wake of Martin Finnegan's death on Saturday.

"This could possibly be my last year in road racing. I'm not saying it will be but it is possible," he told the BBC.

"It could just as easily have been me that was killed on Saturday and I know it's not fair on my wife and child but it's like a drug and I love the sport.

"I have one major ambition left to fulfil, to win a major Superbike race."

"If I won a big bike race at some of the international meetings, that may influence my decision about the future."

Farquhar witnessed the crash in which Finnegan suffered fatal injuries at the Tandragee 100 and said he "felt sick at the time".

"You just have to try and carry on as normal but it is hard to get your head round it.

"We had a great race earlier in the day in the Open event and I think the feature race would have seen another great battle between the two of us, but it was not to be. It is all very sad.

"Martin knew the risks he was taking, as I do, but I just have to try and put it to the back of my mind and try and focus on the North West 200.

"I am expecting that I may get flashbacks of the crash whenever I get back on the bike but I will just see how it goes.

"Martin's passing is a big, big loss to the sport and I know he loved the sport, just like I do," added Farquhar.
Post by: turf123 on May 19, 2008, 12:45:59 AM
Terribly sad news about Robert. I feel for his sister who has lost 2 of her brother and her first husband (Paul Robinson) in motor  biking accidents. I live in Portstewart myself and the buzz about the place every year is great for the town and although I am not a huge fan of bikes i enjoy the craic of the occassion. This death has certainly opened my eyes of the dangers of biking, however to call an end to it wont happen. There are too many bike fanatics around who would strongly object to it and too a lot of people the risk involved makes it more fun for them-an adrenalin rush. Was nice to see a minutes silence in a club match between ourselves and Lavey on Friday night.

RIP Robert and God bless your family and friends.
Post by: Ambrose on May 14, 2019, 07:05:37 PM
Remembering William Dunlop.

Family, friends and fellow riders reflect on the life of William Dunlop, one of Northern Ireland's best ever motorcycle road racers. The programme also features many of his most famous race victories.

Tonight, BBC1 10:35.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 15, 2019, 01:54:53 PM
When did Michael, son of Robert, die?
Post by: dec on May 15, 2019, 02:56:19 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 15, 2019, 01:54:53 PM
When did Michael, son of Robert, die?

I assume that was a typo

It was William that died, Michael is racing this year despite getting injured in practice

https://www.bbc.com/sport/northern-ireland/48260499