GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Mossy Bruce on December 19, 2018, 10:07:33 PM

Title: 2019 Allianz National Hurling League
Post by: Mossy Bruce on December 19, 2018, 10:07:33 PM
Allianz Hurling League 2019, Roinn 1B
Fixtures from https://www.gaa.ie/hurling/hurling-league-roinn-1b/  [as of 8 Jan. 2019]

Saturday, 26 January
Round 1
Dublin v Carlow, at 19:00

Sunday, 27 January
Round 1
Galway v Laois, at 12:30
Waterford v Offaly, at 14:00

Sunday, 3 February
Round 2
Laois v Waterford, at 14:00
Carlow v Galway, at 14:00
Offaly v Dublin, at 14:00

Saturday, 16 February
Round 3
Laois v Offaly, at 19:00
Waterford v Carlow, at 19:00

Sunday, 17 February
Round 3
Galway v Dublin, at 14:00

Sunday, 24 February

Round 4
Offaly v Galway, at 13:00
Dublin v Waterford, at 14:00
Carlow v Laois, at 14:00

Sunday, 3 March

Round 5
Carlow v Offaly, at 14:00
Dublin v Laois, at 14:00
Waterford v Galway, at 14:00

Sunday, 10 March
Relegation Play-Off
5th Team 1B v 6th Team 1B
Title: Re: 2019 Allianz National Hurling League
Post by: blueandwhite1 on December 20, 2018, 09:23:07 AM
The games on 17th and 24th February will define our league status most likely. Probably played in muck weather.
Post by: Zooming around on December 20, 2018, 11:54:23 AM
Two groups of three really with two of Laois, Carlow and Offaly in the relegation final and Waterford, Dublin and Galway fighting it out for promotion.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 21, 2019, 08:06:27 PM
Any news on how the panel is shaping up for the upcoming league matches?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 22, 2019, 05:25:09 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on January 21, 2019, 08:06:27 PM
Any news on how the panel is shaping up for the upcoming league matches?

I ask and Laois Today answers...
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/01/22/four-new-faces-join-laois-hurling-panel-ahead-of-league-opener-with-galway/
Post by: redsetanta on January 22, 2019, 05:56:37 PM
What are posters thougts on having Galway and Waterford in the first two games? Will it work to our advantage as we wouldn't expect to get anything from either game and it's the games afterwards particularly Offaly and Carlow that matter. Is it better or does is make any difference who and when we play?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 22, 2019, 06:35:33 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on January 22, 2019, 05:56:37 PM
What are posters thougts on having Galway and Waterford in the first two games? Will it work to our advantage as we wouldn't expect to get anything from either game and it's the games afterwards particularly Offaly and Carlow that matter. Is it better or does is make any difference who and when we play?

I'd rather be up against Offaly and Carlow first, since we would be injury-free and have a fighting chance against these two teams. I am really afraid of the hammering (both physically and morale-wise) that Laois is going to get from Galway and Waterford and the resulting condition our panel will be in when they hit the pitch to meet Offaly and Carlow.
Post by: marty34 on January 22, 2019, 07:12:20 PM
Who's on the frees?
Post by: burdizzo on January 22, 2019, 08:22:26 PM
Scully, I'd say.
Good to see Evan Cuddy back in the fold, he was really good at minor but seems to have slipped off the radar a little since then. Lorcan Burke did well for Camross this year, and certainly has the physicality required.
Is Lee Cleere involved this year?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 25, 2019, 09:05:23 PM
From RTE.ie:
"Division 1B: For Brennan mindset is everything"
https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0118/1024122-division-1b-for-brennan-mindset-is-everything/
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 26, 2019, 08:35:18 PM
'[Ill] Winds of change blow across hurling league'

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/martin-breheny-winds-of-change-blow-across-hurling-league-37750833.html

"Division 1 alone has undergone no fewer than nine changes in the last 22 years and faces another one next season when Division 1 will be split into two groups of six which won't be decided by pecking order. Instead, they will supposedly be of equal status...

For illustration purposes, here's how the groups would have looked this year if the new system were in operation.

Group A: Tipperary, Clare, Wexford, Limerick, Offaly, Carlow.

Group B: Kilkenny, Galway, Cork, Waterford, Dublin, Laois.

The only real difference is that the so-called weaker trio are divided in a 2-1 split between the groups...[!!!]  :o

...It will leave the 9th-12th ranked counties facing some very heavy defeats. At least, under the current system, all three are in the same group, guaranteeing them two games against opposition of similar stature." [emphasis mine]

Splitting Laois, Offaly, and Carlow between two different groups within Division 1?!?!?
Who comes up with this sh!ite?
Post by: merman on January 26, 2019, 09:18:18 PM
I'm very nervous about tomorrow.
Watching the Mayo-Roscommon game this evening, there was an absolute gale blowing.

We could find it a long afternoon against physically dominant opposition.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 26, 2019, 09:27:37 PM
Agree with Merman.
What to do with our own puckouts (which could number many) with and against the wind will be a huge issue.

All they can do is fight.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 27, 2019, 02:46:10 PM
I wasn't there but have already heard criticism of Laois for allowing Galway take short puckouts uncontested. I wasn't there, but in reality what were they supposed to do- play into Galway's hands and jump with them on our own half back line. Sometimes you have to be practical and realistic, even if it looks negative to the outside world. At least there was some thought put into it. Didn't see much evidence of that since Cheddar's time.

Not a huge margin and from a distance it looks an acceptable result and scoreline. Should hopefully draw a decent crowd next Sunday.
I'm sure Eddie doesn't need me to point out that conceding short puckouts to Waterford might not be the correct path.

Listened to Laois Today's Podcast the other day. They are doing great work, but could badly do with a "Hurling" journalist. One of them suggested that Laois dropping down to Division 2 next year might not be a bad thing and compared it to Laois football's mini revival since dropping to Division 4. There is a world of difference. There is feck all difference on any given day between Teams 7 & 17 in Gaelic Football. This is not the case in hurling. A drop down would see Laois returning even less well prepared for 1B that they are now. I know there is a restructure coming, but I still maintain this point.

Overall fair play for battling and putting up a decent score. Hang in there at home next week.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on January 27, 2019, 03:31:21 PM
The league restructure is to appease the top counties. They claim thst 1B is a better division to be in so they can experiment more during the league and you dont have to worry about relegation or go flat out until cship. If its preferrable to be in 1B then experiment away while in 1A. If relegated then you are in 1B which, according to 1A counties, is no big problem anyway.

Its the most pointless restructure ever.

They are forcing teams ranking 9-12 to play more teams that are 15+ points ahead of them. At the moment teams ranked 1-6 compete together and teams ranked 7-12 compete together. Its a league. It makes sense. The new proposal doesnt.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 27, 2019, 04:15:23 PM
Laois 2-15
Galway 1-27

I'd say that's a respectable finish (much better than I feared). Good job to the lads. I'm thrilled there were two goals scored against the Herring Chokers.

Jayz, I just saw the drubbing Offaly took, 2-28 to 0-07.
Post by: redsetanta on January 27, 2019, 10:18:17 PM
Decent performance and at 14 points down with 10 mins to go they didn't throw in the towel and got it down to 7 points. They will have to up it next week against the Deise. Some hidin they gave Offaly alright.
Post by: Don Draper on January 27, 2019, 10:24:10 PM
Settle lads, Galway barely raised a gallop.
Post by: burdizzo on January 27, 2019, 10:32:14 PM
Maybe so, but at least Leix (!) kept at it and didn't allow it to get really bad, like what happened Offaly. Besides, we always knew they wouldn't win this, so as long as they didn't get a right pummelling and avoided any injuries, then what harm? Plus, good to see Cha back, too.
Post by: Don Draper on January 27, 2019, 10:36:34 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 27, 2019, 10:32:14 PM
Maybe so, but at least Leix (!) kept at it and didn't allow it to get really bad, like what happened Offaly. Besides, we always knew they wouldn't win this, so as long as they didn't get a right pummelling and avoided any injuries, then what harm? Plus, good to see Cha back, too.
The introduction of the likes of Cha was a difference. Good to see him back. Some lads on here would have had him buried.
Post by: redsetanta on January 27, 2019, 11:19:55 PM
I don't recall seeing any posters looking to bury Cha. Why would they?
Post by: CruiseCigar on January 28, 2019, 05:44:56 AM
I think not too bad a start. Thought we would have double figures against us. But a couple of goals and less than 10 not a bad return. Decent showing against Waterford and then all out for Offaly game. We know the drill now.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 28, 2019, 09:02:41 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 27, 2019, 10:36:34 PM
The introduction of the likes of Cha was a difference. Good to see him back. Some lads on here would have had him buried.

Bizarre statement. Never heard a bad word mentioned about the chap on here. Great to have him back. There was some commentary a few weeks back about Eddie's unconvincing statement that Cha was back on board but a massive stretch to suggest that people 'had him buried'/
Post by: Don Draper on January 28, 2019, 10:17:34 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on January 28, 2019, 09:02:41 AM

Bizarre statement. Never heard a bad word mentioned about the chap on here. Great to have him back. There was some commentary a few weeks back about Eddie's unconvincing statement that Cha was back on board but a massive stretch to suggest that people 'had him buried'/
I believe it was yourself who read far to much into a comment by the manager a few weeks back. Cha is a lovely young chap who has given great service to Laois GAA already in his short career. He deserved the benefit of the doubt.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 28, 2019, 02:51:22 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 28, 2019, 10:17:34 AM

I believe it was yourself who read far to much into a comment by the manager a few weeks back. Cha is a lovely young chap who has given great service to Laois GAA already in his short career. He deserved the benefit of the doubt.

This is what I said:

The end of the interview he gave yesterday. Was asked whether he [Cha] is involved. Eddie confirmed he was but in a less than emphatic tone. I might be reading it wrong. Hope so.
Post by: Don Draper on January 28, 2019, 02:56:00 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on January 28, 2019, 02:51:22 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 28, 2019, 10:17:34 AM

This is what I said:

The end of the interview he gave yesterday. Was asked whether he [Cha] is involved. Eddie confirmed he was but in a less than emphatic tone. I might be reading it wrong. Hope so.
No arguments, you read far too much into it.
Post by: clonadmad on January 28, 2019, 05:31:45 PM
Galway started with 4 from last years All Ireland Final moved through the gears

Laois were game,stayed going to the very end

The best we can hope from the first 3 rounds,are no injuries and not to cop 3 hidings,I could be wrong but I would worry about the Waterford game

Our league will be with Offaly and Carlow
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 28, 2019, 10:05:49 PM
Bizzare negativity re the performance and even more bizarre commebts re Cha there from DD.

Galway are arguably the top team in the country. Missing fellas but they lined out a team full of AI Medal winners at Senior, U21 & Minor. Fellas eager to win their spot.

I agree that Waterford could be a bigger problem.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 28, 2019, 10:23:26 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 28, 2019, 10:05:49 PM
...I agree that Waterford could be a bigger problem.
I'm going plead ignorance--why might Waterford be more of a problem than Galway? More top-notch veteran players available to play next Sunday than Galway had yesterday?
Post by: Don Draper on January 28, 2019, 11:33:17 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on January 28, 2019, 10:23:26 PM
I'm going plead ignorance--why might Waterford be more of a problem than Galway? More top-notch veteran players available to play next Sunday than Galway had yesterday?
Because galway didn't try a leg

Waterford will
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 28, 2019, 11:44:26 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on January 28, 2019, 11:33:17 PM

Waterford will

Yeah, they didn't appear to hold back on Offaly, yesterday.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 29, 2019, 09:22:31 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on January 28, 2019, 11:44:26 PM

Waterford will

Yeah, they didn't appear to hold back on Offaly, yesterday.

This time last year Galway only beat us by 7 points with far more of their starting 15 than last Sunday. Hard to read into it too much. Would be great if we can limit the damage next Sunday by more than Offaly did and then we have 3 right good games against Carlow, Offaly and Dublin, the first 2 in particular. Carlow had jumped well ahead of us in hurling and beaten us convincingly the last two times we played them. Offaly and ourselves are realistically at about the same level for the last year so it would be great if we could get something out of those two games. Injuries and availability will have a big part to play.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 29, 2019, 09:48:26 AM

Waterford will

Extremely unfair on the players who lined out last week. As I already said this was a team packed with AI winners at all levels. I say this regardless of the score line next Sunday.

Let's not go back down the road of jerking off at every thing that happens in one code in this county & turning our nose up at the other. It went on for far too long.
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2019, 09:54:11 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 29, 2019, 09:48:26 AM

Waterford will

Extremely unfair on the players who lined out last week. As I already said this was a team packed with AI winners at all levels. I say this regardless of the score line next Sunday.

Let's not go back down the road of jerking off at every thing that happens in one code in this county & turning our nose up at the other. It went on for far too long.
I'm not being unfair, I don't doubt our players did their utmost, and I would never seek to cast aspersions on any of them who take on the unenviable task of playing for Laois against a top side like Galway. But Galway gave the league little or no truck last year, and I very much doubt they are this year either. They'll do enough, but I suspect that will be it.

Waterford are under a new manager and are in a much different position to Galway. This is a massive year for them and I anticipate they'll go flat out for every game.

And to set the record straight, I've never jerked off over a Laois player or code. Although I will admit I got a bit of a semi when Tommy Fitz scored that goal against Galway in O'Moore Park, but that is about it.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 29, 2019, 11:06:17 AM
We are all aware that Galway are on a different level to Laois.
We are all aware that Galway weren't at full tilt.
Laois played a top 2 opposition on Sunday (short a load from last year) and competed decently at times.

If you want to be fair and objective you should probably point out on another thread that Laois footballers played a team outside of the top 20 (short a load from last year) and just about won.

Blind negativity on one hand and unequivocal positive on the other. Seems to be an agenda at work.
Post by: Don Draper on January 29, 2019, 11:07:05 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on January 29, 2019, 11:06:17 AM
We are all aware that Galway are on a different level to Laois.
We are all aware that Galway weren't at full tilt.
Laois played a top 2 opposition on Sunday (short a load from last year) and competed decently at times.

If you want to be fair and objective you should probably point out on another thread that Laois footballers played a team outside of the top 20 (short a load from last year) and just about won.

Blind negativity on one hand and unequivocal positive on the other. Seems to be an agenda at work.
No agenda whatsoever. It gives me no sexual gratification either, just to clarify.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on January 29, 2019, 09:35:35 PM
From "No light at the end of the tunnel for Offaly after latest defeat"
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/no-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel-for-offaly-after-latest-defeat-37759569.html

"They [Offaly] are looking at a tough spring with Dublin coming to Tullamore this weekend before a game against Laois in round three.

'I [Brian Carroll, former captain for Offaly] know you can say we're not concentrating on these games, it's all about the Laois game, it's all about the Laois game.'"
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 30, 2019, 11:16:57 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on January 29, 2019, 09:35:35 PM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/no-light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel-for-offaly-after-latest-defeat-37759569.html

"They [Offaly] are looking at a tough spring with Dublin coming to Tullamore this weekend before a game against Laois in round three.

'I [Brian Carroll, former captain for Offaly] know you can say we're not concentrating on these games, it's all about the Laois game, it's all about the Laois game.'"

Wonder what he means by that in the context of Carlow. Is he imagining that they will beat Carlow and then it is about beating Laois? Of the two teams, I think Carlow are a more difficult prospect than Offaly however each will require a big performance from Laois.
Post by: Don Draper on January 30, 2019, 11:22:49 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on January 30, 2019, 11:16:57 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on January 29, 2019, 09:35:35 PM

Wonder what he means by that in the context of Carlow. Is he imagining that they will beat Carlow and then it is about beating Laois? Of the two teams, I think Carlow are a more difficult prospect than Offaly however each will require a big performance from Laois.
Our record against Carlow is utterly shite in recent years.
Post by: burdizzo on January 30, 2019, 01:49:40 PM
Carlow will be very hard to beat; they have way more physicality and 'fire in the belly' than Laois have had lately. Remarkable that a county w/ less than half the adult hurling teams we have has overtaken us in the pecking order.
Nothing between Laois and Offaly. Perhaps Carroll was assuming those two would be in the relegation final - I mean, he did say it twice!!?
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 30, 2019, 02:51:37 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on January 30, 2019, 01:49:40 PM
Carlow will be very hard to beat; they have way more physicality and 'fire in the belly' than Laois have had lately. Remarkable that a county w/ less than half the adult hurling teams we have has overtaken us in the pecking order.
Nothing between Laois and Offaly. Perhaps Carroll was assuming those two would be in the relegation final - I mean, he did say it twice!!?

The Carlow story is remarkable alright but no surprise. They beat two of the best U21 sides we have had in years in consecutive years recently, and MLR won Leinster a few years back. Carlow are probably too small to always be a 'power' but they certainly have a crop of fine hurlers at the moment. As well as hunger and more physicality than us, their first touch and skill levels are a cut above what our own has been in the last year.
Post by: Keyser Söze on January 30, 2019, 06:23:10 PM
It took Offaly a long time to regard Laois as at their level. I don't know if they have made that step with Carlow yet!
Post by: Giovanni on February 01, 2019, 12:27:56 AM
You're about to be outed Keyser!

https://soundcloud.com/laoistoday/ep22-who-is-laoiss-keyser-soze-goal-celebrations-and-reasons-for-optimism
Post by: The PRO on February 01, 2019, 08:54:30 AM
Quote from: Giovanni on February 01, 2019, 12:27:56 AM

https://soundcloud.com/laoistoday/ep22-who-is-laoiss-keyser-soze-goal-celebrations-and-reasons-for-optimism
They have very little to be worrying about.
Post by: Don Draper on February 01, 2019, 09:58:44 AM
Quote from: The PRO on February 01, 2019, 08:54:30 AM

Tis only a bit of craic, don't take it so seriously.
Post by: The PRO on February 01, 2019, 09:20:48 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 01, 2019, 09:58:44 AM
Quote from: The PRO on February 01, 2019, 08:54:30 AM

Tis only a bit of craic, don't take it so seriously.
Yeah, I'm really concerned about it...
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 01, 2019, 11:19:16 PM

What's this about?!
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 01, 2019, 11:32:40 PM
Just listened there.
Stand over my argument. There is no comparison between the Divisional set ups in hurling & football.
Anything beyond 1B is wasteland in hurling.
We have spent time in Division 2A on a couple of occasions over the last 20 years- I've yet to see it doing any good. The football comparison is not valid IMO.

And as an aside- they are fairly thin skinned for professional journalists!
Post by: Don Draper on February 02, 2019, 08:16:25 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on February 01, 2019, 11:32:40 PM
Just listened there.
Stand over my argument. There is no comparison between the Divisional set ups in hurling & football.
We have spent time in Division 2A on a couple of occasions over the last 20 years- I've yet to see it doing any good. The football comparison is not valid IMO.

They were joking, relax lads
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 02, 2019, 07:34:52 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 02, 2019, 08:16:25 AM
Just listened there.

I wasn't about to hire Johnny Cochrane 🙄
Post by: Don Draper on February 02, 2019, 08:13:47 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on February 02, 2019, 07:34:52 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 02, 2019, 08:16:25 AM
Just listened there.

I wasn't about to hire Johnny Cochrane 🙄
You called them thin skinned. It was obvious they were joking.
Post by: burdizzo on February 02, 2019, 08:51:42 PM
Decent spread of clubs represented on the starting team against Waterford tomorrow - eleven.
I supposed he'll be keeping Cha and Foyle fresh for the Offaly match?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 02, 2019, 09:11:41 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 02, 2019, 08:51:42 PM
I supposed he'll be keeping Cha and Foyle fresh for the Offaly match?
Good idea.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 03, 2019, 04:13:30 AM
Here's to the best of luck to the lads, today (actually still tomorrow, here in Oregon). I am feeling optimistic that they will put in a good fight against "The (hopefully) Gentle County."

Laois abú!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 03, 2019, 04:37:46 PM
So what happened to bring about a red card in the second half?

With only 14 on the field for most of the second half, the score spread could have been much worse.
Post by: Don Draper on February 03, 2019, 10:04:55 PM
As I tried point out, Galway are sleepwalking through this league, as today's result in Carlow showed. Our Waterford result sadly is a more realistic viewing of where we're at. It's not a dig at the players whom I have the utmost respect for, merely an observation. Fair play to Carlow but it won't be remembered much later in the year.
Post by: Unlaoised on February 04, 2019, 10:36:28 AM
The scoreline could have so much worse ifvwaterfordcwsnted it to be ...

I left with 20 to go couldn't take anymore
Post by: Mad Mentor on February 05, 2019, 05:22:37 AM
We lacked a lot in physicality against Waterford. They won every 50-50 challenge and always seemed to be first to the ball. When we got possession we were swarmed by two or three Waterford players while we couldn't lay a glove on them. Some very silly yellow cards conceded from what seemed to be petulant slapping with the hurl when beaten by the Waterford lads. As for Lee Cleere's red card, I think Eddie was being a bit generous describing it as "tough luck". I hope Lee learns from it and cuts out the unnecessary macho posturing when coming on. To get sent off without touching the ball doesn't look good.

To give the lads credit, they played to the very end, and coped well with being a man down, but that extra power and poise from Waterford meant they were able to tack on scores at ease towards the end - when it looked like we might get the lead down to single digits. They were able to play heads-up hurling while we continually ran into blind alleys and coughed up possession.

I thought our half-back line was our best with both Jack Kelly and Sean Downey showing well, but otherwise we struggled everywhere.
With Carlow drawing with Galway, it's a shootout between ourselves and Offaly. Regardless of who wins the match next week, we will meet in the relegation final and we have in the past struggled to beat teams twice in succession.

Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 05, 2019, 12:18:28 PM
Quote from: Mad Mentor on February 05, 2019, 05:22:37 AM
We lacked a lot in physicality against Waterford. They won every 50-50 challenge and always seemed to be first to the ball. When we got possession we were swarmed by two or three Waterford players while we couldn't lay a glove on them. Some very silly yellow cards conceded from what seemed to be petulant slapping with the hurl when beaten by the Waterford lads. As for Lee Cleere's red card, I think Eddie was being a bit generous describing it as "tough luck". I hope Lee learns from it and cuts out the unnecessary macho posturing when coming on. To get sent off without touching the ball doesn't look good.

To give the lads credit, they played to the very end, and coped well with being a man down, but that extra power and poise from Waterford meant they were able to tack on scores at ease towards the end - when it looked like we might get the lead down to single digits. They were able to play heads-up hurling while we continually ran into blind alleys and coughed up possession.

I thought our half-back line was our best with both Jack Kelly and Sean Downey showing well, but otherwise we struggled everywhere.
With Carlow drawing with Galway, it's a shootout between ourselves and Offaly. Regardless of who wins the match next week, we will meet in the relegation final and we have in the past struggled to beat teams twice in succession.

It's been like this for many years now in the physicality stakes for Laois. In fairness there are a few lads who have a bit of power and hurling combined (Ryan Mullaney, Jack Kelly, Cha, Matthew, Foyle) but we have a lot of small lads who need bulking up too. Youth isn't an excuse anymore - look at Waterford, Limerick and Galway for example. I watched the Tipp game at the weekend and they struggled with Limerick's all round physicality too and Tipp are no small team. Things move on. Good article on RTE Website yesterday about being at nothing without tall and strong ball winning half forwards. We could do with a few.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 05, 2019, 10:02:11 PM
I was curious about Laois' record against Offaly over the last five years, so I did a little research and found the following:

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship
No matches against Offaly as Laois were now in the new Joe McDonagh Cup

Allianz National Hurling League
Offaly 1-21 v 1-16 Laois

No matches against Offaly

Laois 1-26 v 1-20 Offaly

Offaly 1-17 v 0-15 Laois

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship[?]
Laois 0-29 v 0-21 Offaly (Quarter-Final)[?]

Offaly 1-24 v 0-23 Laois

Offaly 2–14 v 1–19 Laois

I have a feeling there are some (maybe a lot of) mistakes on this--a work in progress. :-[
Please let me know of any errors or omissions. Thanks!
Post by: les Antiques on February 05, 2019, 11:38:40 PM
2015 there Mossy ....the auld 43 year old wait and all !!! One of the great days in under Cheddar .
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 06, 2019, 04:25:25 AM
Wow! TG4 had about five minutes of "highlights" from the Laois v. Waterford match. Being way out west in the States, it was, by far, the most video coverage I have ever seen from a Laois match. It was a thrilling and (being the Waterford match) painful experience at the same time. :) :'(

TG4 also had some highlights from the Limerick v Tipp match. I was freezing my arse off just watching.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 06, 2019, 05:17:18 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 05, 2019, 10:02:11 PM
I was curious about Laois' record against Offaly over the last five years, so I did a little research and found the following:

No matches against Offaly as Laois were now in the new Joe McDonagh Cup

Offaly 1-21 v 1-16 Laois

Laois 1-26 v 1-20 Offaly

Offaly 1-17 v 0-15 Laois

Leinster Senior Hurling Championship[?]
Laois 0-29 v 0-21 Offaly (Quarter-Final)[?]

Offaly 1-24 v 0-23 Laois

Offaly 2–14 v 1–19 Laois

I have a feeling there are some (maybe a lot of) mistakes on this--a work in progress. :-[
Please let me know of any errors or omissions. Thanks!

Walsh Cup 2019 - Laois 2-16, Offaly 1-16. Amazing how the results are alternating. If the pattern is a predictor, it is Offaly's turn....
Post by: redsetanta on February 06, 2019, 06:39:22 PM
We've done well in Tullamore in the league and Offaly have been getting the better of us in O'Moore park. All previous form won't matter a whole pile when they start getting stuck into each other.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 06, 2019, 08:07:48 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 06, 2019, 06:39:22 PM
... All previous form won't matter a whole pile when they start getting stuck into each other.
Yeah, as I was finishing typing up my post I realized that teams, circumstances, and conditions are ever changing and that past results will mean little on Saturday week.
Post by: burdizzo on February 07, 2019, 10:37:48 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on February 06, 2019, 05:17:18 PM
Walsh Cup 2019 - Laois 2-16, Offaly 1-16. Amazing how the results are alternating. If the pattern is a predictor, it is Offaly's turn....

So long as we win the relegation play-off, then! In fact, we'll be playing them four times this year altogether - if the relegation play-off does transpire (and I think it will) - so a clean-sweep would be a juicy prospect!
Anyone know how bad Cha's injury is?
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 08, 2019, 10:39:11 AM
I wouldn't be at all shocked if Carlow end up v Laois/Offaly in the relegation play off.
Post by: Don Draper on February 08, 2019, 10:41:40 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on February 08, 2019, 10:39:11 AM
I wouldn't be at all shocked if Carlow end up v Laois/Offaly in the relegation play off.
Carlow have a lovely habit of imploding, its a great enjoyment of mine to watch on as it happens.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 08, 2019, 12:55:57 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 08, 2019, 10:41:40 AM
Carlow have a lovely habit of imploding, its a great enjoyment of mine to watch on as it happens.

This is not like any Carlow team I have ever seen. Div 2 champions last year, McDonagh champions 2018 including giving us a good hiding. Showed well against Dublin and drew with a better Galway than played us (and we were happy enough to lose by 9 points). The quality of their hurling and hurlers is currently a good level above ours. We would underestimate them at their peril. They would be deserved and clear favourites against us or Offaly in a relegation final.
Post by: Don Draper on February 08, 2019, 01:47:37 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on February 08, 2019, 12:55:57 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 08, 2019, 10:41:40 AM

This is not like any Carlow team I have ever seen. Div 2 champions last year, McDonagh champions 2018 including giving us a good hiding. Showed well against Dublin and drew with a better Galway than played us (and we were happy enough to lose by 9 points). The quality of their hurling and hurlers is currently a good level above ours. We would underestimate them at their peril. They would be deserved and clear favourites against us or Offaly in a relegation final.
I dont underestimate them, especially given the problems within our own set up. They're simply better than us.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 09, 2019, 05:28:00 PM
Looking ahead at the changes for Division 1, next year, my understanding is that there will be two groups of roughly equal standing. Does anyone know how the relegation will be handled at the end of the season? I am guessing the bottom team of each group will face off against each other, with the losing team playing the winner of Division 2. Does anyone know much about these upcoming changes? Thanks.
Post by: redsetanta on February 09, 2019, 06:05:54 PM
It will mean more beatings by big scores.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 09, 2019, 06:13:38 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 09, 2019, 06:05:54 PM
It will mean more beatings by big scores.
That is for sure! From what I've been able to find written about these changes I can only conclude it will be brutal for the likes of Laois and Offaly (and possibly West Meath).
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 13, 2019, 07:31:14 PM
The Club Colours thing is a novel idea- bit random from a visuals point of view. Hopefully attracts a crowd though!
Post by: redsetanta on February 14, 2019, 04:03:55 PM
Any word on a likely team for Saturday? How are we injury wise?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 14, 2019, 05:44:21 PM
It will be really interesting to see how Carlow hold up against Waterford, this Saturday.
Post by: Don Draper on February 14, 2019, 06:20:03 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 14, 2019, 05:44:21 PM
It will be really interesting to see how Carlow hold up against Waterford, this Saturday.
Wexford wont hammer anyone, now with that sweeper system. But they'll still beat Carlow.
Post by: burdizzo on February 14, 2019, 06:46:02 PM
Huh?!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 16, 2019, 06:37:53 AM
GO LAOIS!
Post by: G@@ on February 16, 2019, 07:58:00 PM
Laois 2-14 v 1-07 Offaly just after half time.

Going well.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 16, 2019, 08:35:20 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 14, 2019, 05:44:21 PM
Waterford 3-15 (24)
Carlow 0-10 (10)

A quote from Carlow's Twitter feed, "Tough night. Next Sun. is massive....."   

Post by: Don Draper on February 16, 2019, 09:03:36 PM
We sent the c***ts home over the mountain with their tae in a mug
Post by: Gmac on February 16, 2019, 09:08:33 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 16, 2019, 09:03:36 PM
great game don well played👋👋
Post by: SCFC on February 16, 2019, 09:12:57 PM
Could have to play them again in a playoff (unless we can beat Carlow).
Post by: merman on February 16, 2019, 09:44:34 PM
Great to get the win. Great to do so and walk out alongside Offaly supporters who know in their heart of hearts it could have been double figures. We need to develop that ruthlessness but this evening was really encouraging.
Nice Laois support there too.

Well done all.
Roll on Carlow.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on February 16, 2019, 09:56:40 PM

I suppose the above contribution is all that could be expected from this forum's resident amadán.
All fair-minded Laois supporters, though a bit jealous of our neighbour's success in football and hurling, would have nothing but admiration for what they achieved over the years.
Post by: SCFC on February 16, 2019, 09:59:51 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on February 16, 2019, 09:56:40 PM
All fair-minded Laois supporters, though a bit jealous of our neighbour's success in football and hurling, would have nothing but admiration for what they achieved over the years.
Admiration with a tinge of jealousy but never begrudgery.
Post by: Don Draper on February 16, 2019, 10:23:39 PM
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on February 16, 2019, 09:56:40 PM

I suppose the above contribution is all that could be expected from this forum's resident amadán.
You cut me real deep there Shrek
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 17, 2019, 01:50:00 AM
I had to work during the first half of the match but was able to catch up during lunch by looking at Twitter feeds--it looked like Laois was on fire! I was able to follow the second half of the match, live, on Midlands radio. What happened to that amazing momentum from the first half? Did the biffos wake up? Was it the wind? Did the lads get just tired out after all the action in the first half? Did Mr. Brennan experiment with new players since we had a decent lead?

Glad a Harps man was finally put in toward the end of the match.
Post by: burdizzo on February 17, 2019, 02:18:29 AM
Yes, there was a big wind all right. We didn't really use it well until after Dunphy's goal, and it was as if that gave them the lift they needed to 'express themselves'. Some lovely points going over, from all angles, even if they got a bit optimistic towards the end of the first half!
Has to be said, though, that Offaly were dire. Awful first touch, and soft over the ball - unusual to see Laois lads horsing opposition players out of possession. They really should have been beaten by more - the flukey goal at the end made it unjustly respectable for them.
Thought Joe Phelan played a stormer at corner back.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 17, 2019, 02:20:41 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 17, 2019, 02:18:29 AM
...the flukey goal at the end made it unjustly respectable for them.
Was that last Offaly goal from a free or was it in play?
Post by: Gold on February 17, 2019, 03:53:20 AM
Was David Cuddy off Snapchat a Laois Hurler??

What's his story?
Post by: Don Draper on February 17, 2019, 04:48:18 AM
Quote from: Gold on February 17, 2019, 03:53:20 AM

What's his story?
Mind your own business
Post by: burdizzo on February 17, 2019, 08:41:36 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 17, 2019, 02:20:41 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 17, 2019, 02:18:29 AM
...the flukey goal at the end made it unjustly respectable for them.
Was that last Offaly goal from a free or was it in play?

It was a free from over on the side that somehow snuck in the bottom corner, the lads on the goal not moving!
Post by: Gold on February 17, 2019, 09:44:48 AM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 17, 2019, 04:48:18 AM

What's his story?
Mind your own business

He's hilarious. Heard he might have played and was wondering if he was good or still playing or whatever
Post by: les Antiques on February 17, 2019, 09:59:30 AM
Carlow had two sent off last including coady I believe who will be a loss . Any win over Offaly is great win even if they were poor . I know we conceded that late goal and offaly had a concession of points in the second half but I thought our full back showed a lot of consistency last night especially in the tenacity stakes .
Pity the football and hurling are scheduled basically at the same time next week .
Post by: merman on February 17, 2019, 10:14:56 AM

What's his story?

Not the same fella.
The ex-hurler is actually our U20 manager this year. Was a serious hurler in his day.
Post by: G@@ on February 17, 2019, 11:59:01 AM
Some reports:

http://hoganstand.com/Article/Index/295643

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/02/17/talking-points-as-laois-hurlers-claim-their-first-win-of-division-1b/

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/02/16/the-hallelujah-as-laois-get-first-win-of-division-1b-over-neighbours/

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/dunphy-double-heaps-further-misery-on-offaly-as-laois-edge-closer-to-quarterfinal-berth-37822917.html
Post by: burdizzo on February 17, 2019, 03:39:31 PM
Quote from: les Antiques on February 17, 2019, 09:59:30 AM
Carlow had two sent off last including coady I believe who will be a loss . Any win over Offaly is great win even if they were poor . I know we conceded that late goal and offaly had a concession of points in the second half but I thought our full back showed a lot of consistency last night especially in the tenacity stakes .
Pity the football and hurling are scheduled basically at the same time next week .

Coady went off on a double yellow. I think Carlow hadn't their strongest out, either. I'd still fancy them next weekend, but there was some slick passing from Laois, and good to see Purcell back in good form, too.
Any news on Cha?

Football not Saturday night, no?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 17, 2019, 05:12:01 PM
A rules question:
Does a red card result in an automatic suspension from the next match? How about a two yellow cards?
Post by: burdizzo on February 17, 2019, 06:37:24 PM
Yes, red is at least a one match ban, two yellows is just off for the rest of the game.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 17, 2019, 08:06:40 PM
That's what I thought. Thanks, Burdizzo.

By the way, I always thought your name was some Italian word or a city in Italy. Then I looked up what it means--haha, a great user name for a sports forum!
Post by: burdizzo on February 17, 2019, 08:08:48 PM
  ;D ;D
Post by: on the hop on February 17, 2019, 10:55:27 PM
That coverage of the game was filmed through a pair of binoculars. It was really poor
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 17, 2019, 11:08:29 PM
A win is a win. It's for another day, but we have to try to stop measuring ourselves relative to Offaly. We can be number 10 in the country and we can establish a gap behind us. Load of work to get to that point, but we could.
Post by: redsetanta on February 17, 2019, 11:14:56 PM
Would have been good if Eddie sounded a bit more enthusiastic. Didn't really praise the Laois win at all!
Post by: burdizzo on February 17, 2019, 11:23:53 PM
In fairness, it was an awkward position he was in. He managed to say a fair bit without giving away anything, and nicely ignored the question about player availability. What was he supposed to do - talk them up? Keep a lid on it? If he said they were great, he might sound like he was clapping himself on the back, and besides, there's no point getting carried away. Next week is really important, and who knows how that will go? His role as manager is different to his role as analyst, and he can't very well be talking out of school, as it were.
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 17, 2019, 11:40:46 PM
To be honest he shouldn't be there.
I have no negatives from the camp and no axe to grind with him or the set up but this should have been a prerequisite for getting the job.
It smacks of keeping his options open and face in the spotlight.
Laois won't be hurling beyond June and Eddie is available for the business end.
I think it's disrespectful.
Post by: clonadmad on February 18, 2019, 09:19:06 AM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on February 17, 2019, 11:40:46 PM
To be honest he shouldn't be there.
I have no negatives from the camp and no axe to grind with him or the set up but this should have been a prerequisite for getting the job.
It smacks of keeping his options open and face in the spotlight.
Laois won't be hurling beyond June and Eddie is available for the business end.
I think it's disrespectful.

Well said

No other Manager would double job in the way that he is doing this or be let away with it by a county board.

Post by: redsetanta on February 18, 2019, 09:27:29 AM
Has he been on every programme or was yesterday a 'guest appearance' from Eddie? It doesn't happen with other managers as said that's why I assumed it was a one off!
Post by: marty34 on February 18, 2019, 09:38:03 AM
Maybe it's part of his 'contract' - that he has to do a certain amount of programmes per season? Then he'll do a good few when the games come thick and fast later in the year i.e. 3 or 4 big games every week.
Post by: Don Draper on February 18, 2019, 09:43:27 AM
I wouldn't be too bothered about him being on last night. I'd have preferred he wasn't mind you. Interesting to listen on Woolies podcast that Joe Quaid was turned down for the Laois job in favour of him.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 18, 2019, 09:54:57 AM
If he was a teacher or something else besides county manager would we be saying he shouldn't be doing it? He is still a full time Garda too. It's not as if Laois are paying the man millions. I think we should judge him by what he is getting out of the players and how they are responding to him. So far, he has had to deal with a significant number of no-shows by players for different reasons and has managed to get some positivity back into the setup. I know Offaly are struggling but the quality of the Laois performance on Saturday night was higher than it has been in a few years and we have a chance of avoiding relegation next week.

Will Lee Cleere be available next week? Any word on how Cha is doing?
Post by: Zooming around on February 18, 2019, 10:37:32 AM
I was very happy with the Laois performance on Saturday night. We showed a good level of maturity and composure, things which haven't been evident before. I also thought we were quite well set defensively. The forwards worked really hard. This earns you the right to go and play nice hurling with the ball, which we did. I know all the talk is about how poor Offaly were but it was very positive from Laois. 
Post by: merman on February 18, 2019, 11:00:22 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on February 18, 2019, 09:54:57 AM
If he was a teacher or something else besides county manager would we be saying he shouldn't be doing it? He is still a full time Garda too. It's not as if Laois are paying the man millions. I think we should judge him by what he is getting out of the players and how they are responding to him. So far, he has had to deal with a significant number of no-shows by players for different reasons and has managed to get some positivity back into the setup. I know Offaly are struggling but the quality of the Laois performance on Saturday night was higher than it has been in a few years and we have a chance of avoiding relegation next week.

Was surprised Cha wasn't togged on Saturday. I've heard he's fit and flying in training. Hopefully they were keeping him at 100% for this coming weekend.
Lee will also be available.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 18, 2019, 11:42:56 AM
Quote from: merman on February 18, 2019, 11:00:22 AM

Was surprised Cha wasn't togged on Saturday. I've heard he's fit and flying in training. Hopefully they were keeping him at 100% for this coming weekend.
Lee will also be available.

They would be great additions. Nice to see Lorcan Burke coming on Saturday also. His physical presence and aerial skills would add another dimension.
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 18, 2019, 12:36:18 PM

I've read the first part of this a few times & still can't get the point you are making.
He is an inter county manager appearing as a pundit on RTÉ. How is that not a conflict of interest?
The person I think this could damage most is Eddie. Imagine Cody's opinion on this?
When Cody goes, I don't think behaviour like this will be looked on as appropriate in terms of their replacement.

Anyways, hopefully it's not a regular thing and doesn't become a talking point. Nearly sorry I mentioned it now, Steven Miller will probably have a bounty on my head.
Post by: burdizzo on February 18, 2019, 01:36:27 PM
Eddie did look a bit sheepish at being there at all, I thought, and yes - it clearly is a conflict of interest. Perhaps it's as Marty34 said, that he has a contract to fulfil. Who knows, it's not a huge deal, but I did think the one presenting it might have had the nous not to ask him about the Laois/ Offaly game.
Also, what purpose does the camogie chick serve, apart from pandering to political correctness??! Dreadful.
Post by: Keyser Söze on February 18, 2019, 01:49:09 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 18, 2019, 01:36:27 PM
Eddie did look a bit sheepish at being there at all, I thought, and yes - it clearly is a conflict of interest. Perhaps it's as Marty34 said, that he has a contract to fulfil. Who knows, it's not a huge deal, but I did think the one presenting it might have had the nous not to ask him about the Laois/ Offaly game.
Also, what purpose does the camogie chick serve, apart from pandering to political correctness??! Dreadful.

You see I think you are looking at this from the wrong persepective. Once he was there she had to ask in my opinion, for her own professional integrity. It's not her job to protect him.
Post by: burdizzo on February 18, 2019, 02:05:42 PM
Fair enough. In any case, he waffled away without really saying anything, so as you say, if there is any harm done, it's probably to himself.
Post by: SCFC on February 18, 2019, 03:01:56 PM
I'm.not mad about you describing her as a chick but agree 100% with your post. It's crazy having a camogie player as a pundit on hurling. She was very nervous and I actually felt a bit sorry for her.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 18, 2019, 03:38:16 PM
Quote from: SCFC on February 18, 2019, 03:01:56 PM
I'm.not mad about you describing her as a chick but agree 100% with your post. It's crazy having a camogie player as a pundit on hurling. She was very nervous and I actually felt a bit sorry for her.
Completely disregarding her gender, I thought she really added nothing to the discussion. But you could say the same about plenty of male pundits too. Dessie Dolan would be one I don't get at all.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 18, 2019, 04:09:35 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on February 18, 2019, 12:36:18 PM
I've read the first part of this a few times & still can't get the point you are making.
He is an inter county manager appearing as a pundit on RTÉ. How is that not a conflict of interest?
The person I think this could damage most is Eddie. Imagine Cody's opinion on this?
When Cody goes, I don't think behaviour like this will be looked on as appropriate in terms of their replacement.

Anyways, hopefully it's not a regular thing and doesn't become a talking point. Nearly sorry I mentioned it now, Steven Miller will probably have a bounty on my head.
Haha! I was thinking the same thing.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 18, 2019, 04:30:59 PM
Quote from: Keyser Söze on February 18, 2019, 12:36:18 PM

My point is that the chap is protecting an income stream for the future. Not sure it's a massive conflict of interest. Lots of other sports have existing managers in semi-punditry mode. Rugby for example.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 20, 2019, 09:09:07 PM
From LaoisToday, today:

Mid-Term Report
"Here, we take a look at the players who have featured so far and those who have yet to do so, review of the games played in the league so far, preview what's to come and finally give them a grade on their performance to date."

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/02/20/laois-hurlers-mid-term-report/
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 21, 2019, 09:23:20 PM
From the Independent:

"Carlow ace Kavanagh doubtful for Laois duel"

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/carlow-ace-kavanagh-doubtful-for-laois-duel-37837817.html
Post by: burdizzo on February 22, 2019, 11:43:06 PM
I'd say they'll play him if they can at all.
Brennan has named an unchanged team, too. Hmm. There's a couple I'd like to see on, but who would you leave off?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 23, 2019, 08:48:23 PM
I'm looking for a Carlow radio station that might broadcast the match online, tomorrow. I found KCLR 96FM but it looks like they cover Carlow AND Kilkenny. Any suggestions? It looks like there are a few radio stations there in Carlow. Thanks!
Post by: Heshs Umpire on February 24, 2019, 08:25:57 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 23, 2019, 08:48:23 PM
I'm looking for a Carlow radio station that might broadcast the match online, tomorrow. I found KCLR 96FM but it looks like they cover Carlow AND Kilkenny. Any suggestions? It looks like there are a few radio stations there in Carlow. Thanks!
I'd say Midlands 103 will cover it with reports but not full commentary. And KCLR much the same. If you switch between those two, it's your best bet.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 24, 2019, 01:37:23 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on February 24, 2019, 08:25:57 AM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on February 23, 2019, 08:48:23 PM
I'd say Midlands 103 will cover it with reports but not full commentary. And KCLR much the same. If you switch between those two, it's your best bet.
Thanks, Heshs Umpire!

GO LAOIS!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 24, 2019, 03:47:44 PM
If I ever win the lotto I am setting up a radio station that only covers Laois hurling. The radio coverage of this important match was dreadful, today.
Post by: burdizzo on February 24, 2019, 04:42:25 PM
Scrappy enough match on a tight pitch, but you'd have to say it was as good as a loss for Laois. They probably had a dozen wides to only a couple for Carlow, plus a goal chance or two butchered... The only thing that could save them would be an Offaly win next week, but that doesn't seem very likely. So, a toss-up in the relegation final in Tullamore? Disappointing.
Nasty injury for Eanna Lyons. Hope he's OK.
Post by: G@@ on February 24, 2019, 08:46:27 PM
Thought Laois could have gotten more from that match today, the ton of wides killed us. We should really have bagged a goal or two aswell.

On a positive note, we can say that we have improved since our last encounters with Carlow where we shipped bad beatings at their hands.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 24, 2019, 09:05:17 PM
With how Waterford have performed so far in league, and then Dublin beating them today, next week isn't looking too good.

Waterford 2-28
Offaly 0-07

Waterford 4-22
Laois 1-15

Waterford 3-15
Carlow 0-10

Dublin 1-25
Waterford 4-15
Post by: redsetanta on February 24, 2019, 09:25:00 PM
Dublin have it all to play for next week with Waterford u against Galway. Could sneak a playoff spot. Offaly might avoid relegation playoff if they beat Carlow. All up in the air.
Post by: burdizzo on February 24, 2019, 09:30:47 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 24, 2019, 09:25:00 PM
Dublin have it all to play for next week with Waterford u against Galway. Could sneak a playoff spot. Offaly might avoid relegation playoff if they beat Carlow. All up in the air.

Eh? I thought Offaly would be in the relegation no matter what, and that Dublin were in the quarter-finals anyway, too? The only question would be if Offaly would give it a lash against Carlow, or not?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on February 24, 2019, 09:32:10 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 24, 2019, 09:25:00 PM
..Offaly might avoid relegation playoff if they beat Carlow. ...
Even if Offaly win, I think they are still going to be in the relegation playoff as they would then have 1 win, 0 draws, and 4 losses. If Carlow and Laois both lose, next week, they will each have 3 losses.
Post by: redsetanta on February 24, 2019, 11:49:22 PM
You're right. All Offaly can do is decide who they'd rather play. Don't know what I was smoking earlier.
Post by: Don Draper on February 25, 2019, 09:19:02 AM
Quote from: redsetanta on February 24, 2019, 11:49:22 PM
You're right. All Offaly can do is decide who they'd rather play. Don't know what I was smoking earlier.
They wont want to lose to Carlow, you can be sure as shit of that. I think Offaly will beat them.
Post by: G@@ on February 25, 2019, 09:33:29 AM
Offaly beating Carlow sends us to the Quarter Finals no matter what the result in Parnell Park. However, if in the very unlikely event that we beat Dublin there we wouldn't be looking to O'Connor Park for a favourable result as we'd go through regardless.
A win for Carlow puts us in a relegation dogfight with Offaly.
Things come down to scoring difference if Offaly and Carlow draw. An interesting finale to this league either which way!
Post by: Don Draper on February 25, 2019, 09:51:21 AM
Quote from: G@@ on February 25, 2019, 09:33:29 AM
Offaly beating Carlow sends us to the Quarter Finals no matter what the result in Parnell Park. However, if in the very unlikely event that we beat Dublin there we wouldn't be looking to O'Connor Park for a favourable result as we'd go through regardless.
A win for Carlow puts us in a relegation dogfight with Offaly.
Things come down to scoring difference if Offaly and Carlow draw. An interesting finale to this league either which way!
Am I right in thinking, barring we lose by a single point to Dublin, scoring difference is out?
Post by: burdizzo on February 25, 2019, 10:05:02 AM
If we end level on points w/ Carlow, it's head to head, and then scoring difference. Carlow have a better scoring difference than us.
I just can't see Offaly beating Carlow in Carlow. Carlow were probably marginally better than us, their forwards scored a little more freely than ours, even though our half-back line did pretty well. Jack Kelly limped off, but it didn't look too bad. However, we still had the chances to put them away, especially when they went down to 14. We did well to claw it back, but it's a lost opportunity, no doubt.
Post by: Laois Rising on February 25, 2019, 10:31:09 AM
Will Offaly have home advantage in a relegation play off since they had to travel to Portlaoise and Netwatch Park for the group games. Having to play Offaly in Tullamore (a team that will be gunning for revenge will be difficult)- Offaly also have the advantage of having a couple of weeks to mentally prepare themselves for that relegation play-off. Huge ramifications for the loser of that game. Division 2a hurling playing counties like London, Mayo, Meath and Kildare will not aid the development of Laois hurling. Also hard to entice lads to commit next year with no real rewards to play for-unless we end up winning the Joe McDonagh. Then you would be faced with paradoxical situation of being a Divsion 2a standard league team but tier 1 championship team. 
Post by: Don Draper on February 25, 2019, 10:35:54 AM
Quote from: Laois Rising on February 25, 2019, 10:31:09 AM
Will Offaly have home advantage in a relegation play off since they had to travel to Portlaoise and Netwatch Park for the group games. Having to play Offaly in Tullamore (a team that will be gunning for revenge will be difficult)- Offaly also have the advantage of having a couple of weeks to mentally prepare themselves for that relegation play-off. Huge ramifications for the loser of that game. Division 2a hurling playing counties like London, Mayo, Meath and Kildare will not aid the development of Laois hurling. Also hard to entice lads to commit next year with no real rewards to play for-unless we end up winning the Joe McDonagh. Then you would be faced with paradoxical situation of being a Divsion 2a standard league team but tier 1 championship team.

Then perhaps those lads should have scored an extra auld point yesterday.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on February 25, 2019, 11:12:14 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on February 25, 2019, 10:05:02 AM
If we end level on points w/ Carlow, it's head to head, and then scoring difference. Carlow have a better scoring difference than us.
I just can't see Offaly beating Carlow in Carlow. Carlow were probably marginally better than us, their forwards scored a little more freely than ours, even though our half-back line did pretty well. Jack Kelly limped off, but it didn't look too bad. However, we still had the chances to put them away, especially when they went down to 14. We did well to claw it back, but it's a lost opportunity, no doubt.

Yes we could have won on the day but I agree with your comment about them being marginally better than us. Their skills were better - catching, rising, controlling the ball on the stick and getting rid of the ball under pressure. We had way too many lads who's first touch and basic hurling ability was nowhere near inter county standard. Some of them will improve but some of them are unlikely to ever get there. On the upside, the harrassing of Carlow when they were on the ball was impressive and we won a lot of ball this way. Great to see Cha back. We need 3-4 more quick scoring forwards. Best for me yesterday were Aaron Dunphy, who was our only scoring threat from play, and Ryan Mullaney. Rowland and Kavanagh did well from dead balls. Everyone worked like dogs for the 75 minutes and it is definitely an improvement over last year.

Having watched both matches, Carlow are miles ahead of Offaly. Unless Carlow collapse and Offaly turn things around very fast I can't see Offaly turning them over.

Post by: LooseCannon on February 25, 2019, 08:50:55 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on February 25, 2019, 10:31:09 AM
We'll play it in Birr!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 01, 2019, 08:46:24 AM
Offaly might be fired up to beat Carlow at the weekend and do us a favour:

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0228/1033570-offaly-league-relegation/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0228/1033570-offaly-league-relegation/)

With the league structures the way they will be next year its hard to see who the winners and losers will be.

I think it would be better for everyone if we had a Joe McDonagh type league with the likes of Laois, Offaly, Carlow, Antrim, Westmeath and Kerry with the winners playing a promotion relegation game against the worst division 1 team to see if they are worthy of promotion to the top table and the bottom team doing the same with winners of division 3. You would have 5 competitive league games with a championship to follow and path to promotion. The gap between the top teams and this second team is staggering, as is the gap between our peer group and the teams below us.
Post by: Don Draper on March 01, 2019, 10:06:39 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on March 01, 2019, 08:46:24 AM
Offaly might be fired up to beat Carlow at the weekend and do us a favour:

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0228/1033570-offaly-league-relegation/ (https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2019/0228/1033570-offaly-league-relegation/)

With the league structures the way they will be next year its hard to see who the winners and losers will be.

I think it would be better for everyone if we had a Joe McDonagh type league with the likes of Laois, Offaly, Carlow, Antrim, Westmeath and Kerry with the winners playing a promotion relegation game against the worst division 1 team to see if they are worthy of promotion to the top table and the bottom team doing the same with winners of division 3. You would have 5 competitive league games with a championship to follow and path to promotion. The gap between the top teams and this second team is staggering, as is the gap between our peer group and the teams below us.
I can see this game being a bloodbath. There'll be murder at it.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 02, 2019, 07:37:04 PM
Anyone have a recommendation for a Dublin radio station that might cover the match?
Post by: Laois Rising on March 03, 2019, 10:20:12 AM
https://www.dublincityfm.ie/shows/on-the-ball

They have a sunday sports programme from around 3pm every week. Might have some commentary from the game but with footballers playing I imagine that will get precedence.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 01:40:41 PM
Quote from: Laois Rising on March 03, 2019, 10:20:12 AM
https://www.dublincityfm.ie/shows/on-the-ball

They have a sunday sports programme from around 3pm every week. Might have some commentary from the game but with footballers playing I imagine that will get precedence.
Thank you!
Post by: Giovanni on March 03, 2019, 01:53:23 PM
I'd imagine Midlands 103 is probably your best bet although as usual Offaly will probably get precedence. Still, it'll keep you informed on what's happening in both matches.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 02:15:53 PM
Thanks, Giovanni.
Post by: burdizzo on March 03, 2019, 03:44:14 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 25, 2019, 09:19:02 AM
They wont want to lose to Carlow, you can be sure as shit of that. I think Offaly will beat them.

Have to hand it to you, Don... Didn't see Offaly winning that, but it puts Leix through to the quarter finals. I imagine they'll be pushed back now, w/ all the matches postponed, too? Though perhaps not, as it's certain it'll be Laois v Limerick.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 03:55:46 PM
Jayz. Offaly were on fire.

We're in the Quarter-finals!  :)
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 04:08:52 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 03, 2019, 03:44:14 PM
...as it's certain it'll be Laois v Limerick.
I'm thrilled Laois are in the quarter-finals but it's going to be brutal against Limerick.
Post by: Don Draper on March 03, 2019, 04:38:22 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on February 25, 2019, 09:19:02 AM

Have to hand it to you, Don... Didn't see Offaly winning that, but it puts Leix through to the quarter finals. I imagine they'll be pushed back now, w/ all the matches postponed, too? Though perhaps not, as it's certain it'll be Laois v Limerick.
The MLR fella who bawls his face off in that AIB advert came out with some guff last year about Carlow being 10 points better than Offaly. This was Offaly's only opportunity to ram those words down their throats in 2019 (prior to an unconfirmed relegation final).  Offaly might be shite, but they're still a proud county of ignorant f**kers. No way was that slight going unpunished. I'd have put my house on it.
Post by: Don Draper on March 03, 2019, 04:39:06 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 04:08:52 PM
I'm thrilled Laois are in the quarter-finals but it's going to be brutal against Limerick.
It is what it is Moss. Better this than the alternative.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 05:21:15 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on March 03, 2019, 04:39:06 PM
Yep. I totally agree.

Enough about the Biffos, it sounds like the lads of Laois put it up to the Dubs: https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaelic-games/367277/herculian-laois-effort-comes-up-short-against-dublin-in-nhl-division-1b.html

By the way, I have to say the Leinster Express (@Express_Sport) does a great match commentary via Twitter. Good stuff!
Post by: Don Draper on March 03, 2019, 07:47:19 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 03, 2019, 05:21:15 PM
Yep. I totally agree.

Enough about the Biffos, it sounds like the lads of Laois put it up to the Dubs: https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaelic-games/367277/herculian-laois-effort-comes-up-short-against-dublin-in-nhl-division-1b.html

By the way, I have to say the Leinster Express (@Express_Sport) does a great match commentary via Twitter. Good stuff!
Aye Rory will be missed when he goes
Post by: Jd on March 03, 2019, 08:22:33 PM
I think the management deserve credit for the way the team are playing. They fight for every ball and look that they really want to play for Laois. There are probably better players in the county but not many with more heart. A huge improvement from last year I think
Post by: burdizzo on March 03, 2019, 08:34:18 PM
Quite right - well said. Furthermore, they obviously approached the game as a 'must win', and not a damage limitation exercise.
Post by: SCFC on March 03, 2019, 08:43:39 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on March 03, 2019, 07:47:19 PM
Yep. I totally agree.

Ah no, where's he going?
Post by: Don Draper on March 03, 2019, 09:05:11 PM
Quote from: SCFC on March 03, 2019, 08:43:39 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on March 03, 2019, 07:47:19 PM
Yep. I totally agree.

Ah no, where's he going?
They're advertising for a sports editor, I believe he's starting a new career.
Post by: Keyser Söze on March 03, 2019, 11:43:38 PM

You heard it here first (after Carlow-Galway drew)
Sounds like a right gutsy performance from Laois today.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 04, 2019, 01:50:47 AM
Midlands Sport: Eddie Brennan Post Dublin [Interview]
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/eddie-brennan-post-dublin-1

I'm starting to like this guy. I am beginning to hear a little passion for Laois hurling in his voice.
Post by: redsetanta on March 04, 2019, 10:18:55 AM
Fantastic gutsy display by Laois in very tough conditions. Plenty of water on the pitch and players were sliding all over the place. I honestly felt the conditions would give us a chance and fair play to the lads they got stuck in from the word go.
The ref was inconsistent and some of the decisions were very frustrating. I also think that the ref had forgotten he had already given a yellow to Cha when he dished out the second one as it was only when he was putting the name in the book that he called Cha back.

Two incidents near the end decided the result in what was a very close game. Aaron Dunphy went on a great run with Paddy Purcell supporting him. He should have passed it inside earlier but continued his run and passed to Paddy when he probably should have taken on the shot himself. The Dubs cleared the ball up field and got a point. The short puckout afterwards was fumbled and Dublin scored a point again to go from 1 down to 1 up. In what was a very tight game those two incidents at the end made a big difference.

In saying that we had a couple of great goal chances earlier in the game. I thought the defence was excellent throughout and handled the Dublin attack. Physically we got the better of Dublin and it was another one of those Laois performances where it was left behind.

Onwards to the Limerick game and hopefully we have a performance similar to Clare or Galway under Cheddar.

On a side note, fair play to the lads in the ticket van outside. I went to buy a ticket and they gave me a ticket that someone else handed in. They joked that anyone who travelled up for the game in that weather deserved a ticket! It's not often I praise the dubs but fair play to the lads for that. That was as generous as it got on the day!
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 04, 2019, 11:23:34 AM
Thank you redsetanta for braving the conditions and for the report.

Any chance of a run through the players and how they got on?
Post by: burdizzo on March 04, 2019, 08:58:13 PM
I see Matt Whelan was the only Laois player to make the GAA hurling team of the week, so he can't have done too bad!
Post by: redsetanta on March 06, 2019, 12:27:32 PM
blueandwhite1 I haven't had the chance to try and do a long post on each player. Suffice to say that the defense as a unit were very good. Both corners, Matthew at full and the half back line were excellent. Mullaney bar one major error came out with some amount of ball and he doesn't get pushed off it. He was also well able to catch the sliotar despite the conditions. I thought Delaney had a great game too.
Cha still looks a bit off the pace but he threw himself around and plays on the edge as we all know Cha does. Downey was good. Willie Dunphy was playing very well in a much deeper role and he was missed when he went off injured. Foyle did well but he got badly held and dragged and got very little from the ref.
I would say that the substitutions probably swung it for Dublin but all in all a brilliant Laois display.
Post by: redsetanta on March 06, 2019, 12:28:37 PM
Trying to buy a ticket online for the game Saturday evening but can't see that game anywhere. Anyone know what the crack is?
Post by: merman on March 06, 2019, 12:33:07 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on March 06, 2019, 12:27:32 PM
blueandwhite1 I haven't had the chance to try and do a long post on each player. Suffice to say that the defense as a unit were very good. Both corners, Matthew at full and the half back line were excellent. Mullaney bar one major error came out with some amount of ball and he doesn't get pushed off it. He was also well able to catch the sliotar despite the conditions. I thought Delaney had a great game too.
Cha still looks a bit off the pace but he threw himself around and plays on the edge as we all know Cha does. Downey was good. Willie Dunphy was playing very well in a much deeper role and he was missed when he went off injured. Foyle did well but he got badly held and dragged and got very little from the ref.
I would say that the substitutions probably swung it for Dublin but all in all a brilliant Laois display.

I thought Podge Delaney was exceptional. A real 'coming-of-age' match for a seriously talented hurler. Great to see Lee Cleere out on the wing too.
Defence, in general, was excellent. I'd still have some concerns about Mullaney at 6 but he's the best fit at the minute.

Up front, we lack a little punch. Foyle looks to be playing within himself and I'd love to see him being more physical. Aaron Dunphy is looking very lively but same can't be said for Picky who just seems to be lacking any kind of confidence.

Hopefully a few injuries will clear up over the next few weeks.
Post by: redsetanta on March 06, 2019, 03:02:42 PM
There seems to be a problem finding the best position for Picky. I thought he played well against Offaly but was quiet enough against Dublin.
Post by: Nameless on March 06, 2019, 05:10:44 PM
The game will be on TG4 just for anyone who can't make it. Don't know if Mossy can get TG4 in the states.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 06, 2019, 05:54:32 PM
Quote from: Nameless on March 06, 2019, 05:10:44 PM
The game will be on TG4 just for anyone who can't make it. Don't know if Mossy can get TG4 in the states.
I'm able to watch TG4's GAA highlights (for which I am thankful for) but live games aren't viewable in the US. I am looking into getting a VPN that will make it look like I am in Ireland which, hopefully, will make it so I can watch live matches.   :)
Post by: Don Draper on March 06, 2019, 08:11:23 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 06, 2019, 05:54:32 PM
I'm able to watch TG4's GAA highlights (for which I am thankful for) but live games aren't viewable in the US. I am looking into getting a VPN that will make it look like I am in Ireland which, hopefully, will make it so I can watch live matches.   :)
Is GAAGO not an option for TG4 games?
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 06, 2019, 08:12:35 PM
From LaoisToday:

"Injury update and ticket prices as Laois hurlers prepare to host All-Ireland champions

...Willie Dunphy came off with a suspected hamstring injury which had plagued the Clough-Ballacolla in the past.

As previously documented, Eanna Lyons out with an AC joint injury for six weeks since receiving a heavy hit on his shoulder in the Carlow clash.

John Lennon is in a race against time to be fit after an injury to his pectoral muscle saw him come off during the Carlow game and not appearing in the lineup for the meeting with Dublin.

Jack Kelly was also substituted with a dead leg during the Carlow game, and depending on the grade of the injury, will be looking to retain his place on the half-back line this weekend.

Lorcan Burke picked up a minor injury last week before the Dublin game, as did fellow Camross man Mark Dowling..."

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/03/06/injury-updates-as-laois-hurlers-face-clash-with-all-ireland-champions-limerick/
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 06, 2019, 08:13:17 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on March 06, 2019, 08:11:23 PM

I don't know of them. I will look into it. Thanks, Don!
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 06, 2019, 11:04:23 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 06, 2019, 08:13:17 PM

Just checked my Gaago subscription and the Laois v Limerick game will be shown live at 19:00 Irish time for all subscribers outside of ireland.
A yearly subscription costs E140, or you can pay for one off games. This game is E10, I believe the prices go up in latter stages of championship
Post by: Don Draper on March 07, 2019, 08:11:16 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on March 06, 2019, 11:04:23 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 06, 2019, 08:13:17 PM

Just checked my Gaago subscription and the Laois v Limerick game will be shown live at 19:00 Irish time for all subscribers outside of ireland.
A yearly subscription costs E140, or you can pay for one off games. This game is E10, I believe the prices go up in latter stages of championship

There you go Mossy, enjoy.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 07, 2019, 08:35:29 PM
Awesome! I just bought "tickets" to Saturday's match through GAAGO. I never thought I'd have the opportunity to watch a full Laois match, let alone watch it live. Thanks for the suggestion, Don Draper (and Never beat the deeler)!

Post by: redsetanta on March 07, 2019, 08:43:26 PM
Mice one Mossy hopefully you get a competitive game.
Post by: G@@ on March 07, 2019, 09:53:17 PM
Enjoy the game Mossy! Delighted to hear that you will be able to watch it live from your home almost 5,000 miles away!
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 08, 2019, 07:54:32 PM
From the Limerick Leader:

"Just six of All-Ireland team in Limerick line-up for Laois hurling league quarter final"

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/sport/368578/just-six-of-all-ireland-team-in-limerick-line-up-for-laois-hurling-league-quarter-final.html

???
Post by: Mad Mentor on March 08, 2019, 08:02:18 PM
Quote from: Mossy Bruce on March 08, 2019, 07:54:32 PM
From the Limerick Leader:

"Just six of All-Ireland team in Limerick line-up for Laois hurling league quarter final"

https://www.limerickleader.ie/news/sport/368578/just-six-of-all-ireland-team-in-limerick-line-up-for-laois-hurling-league-quarter-final.html

???
That will be their excuse when we beat them.
Post by: burdizzo on March 08, 2019, 10:22:32 PM
No Cha on the team?
Post by: redsetanta on March 09, 2019, 12:00:54 AM
Willie Dunphy injured I take it. Picky left out too. Cha did look a bit unfit the last day. Defense lines up the same which is fair enough.
Post by: les Antiques on March 09, 2019, 02:41:11 AM
Is Cha not suspended or maybe I'm mistaken .
Post by: Heshs Umpire on March 09, 2019, 07:37:30 PM
Jesus, the wides are killing us...
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 09, 2019, 08:42:30 PM
Apart from those wides (yes, and lots of them) and the final score, Laois played a respectable game--against the AI Champions, no less.

I am starting to feel optimistic about the upcoming Joe McDonagh Cup.

What a freekin' thrill to see Laois playing live! I better be careful or I might get addicted to this hurling stuff.
Post by: merman on March 10, 2019, 08:51:33 AM
Tough evening. Limerick are excellent and played a lovely brand of hurling. They've great depth to their panel and the lads that came in look like real options for the Munster Championship games.

The wides....Jesus the wides.
If we'd only hit a fraction of what we missed in the first half, we'd have been within touching distance at half time. As it was, the match was over. We knew it, Limerick knew it.

Collectively, I'd say management will be happy enough. We competed well for most of the match. There were some commendable individual performances with all the backs having good games, Lee Cleere and Joe Phelan especially. Phelan is having a brilliant year; a great choice as vice-captain.

The shooting was poor at times but we're at least trying to do the right thing. The Joe McDonagh Championship will be played at a slower pace and if we can keep doing the right things, fine tune the execution and decision-making, we might be in the shake-up.

Post by: Keyser Söze on March 10, 2019, 12:49:56 PM
The amount of times we attempted "nice" pick ups/controlling touches/ruck root outs from 8-15 was unbelievable. Suppose it comes back to the intensity of our SHC and the quality of opposition we face in championship at IC level.
Inexperienced and youth are acceptable excuses but racing to a ball with the likes of Tom Condon and attempting to control one handed is crazy. Similarly no look passes, shooting off the hurl under pressure etc. One or two of our players further out the field who generally hurled quite well seemed very determined to get themselves on the scoresheet in the second half (abandoning their own primary job in the processs). I'm not talking about overlaps that arose presenting our wingbacks with shooting opportunities.
Must learn from all of this.

Despite all of this, it was a decent, fighting performance. There seems to be spirit & fight there. I'd be optimistic heading to JM.
Post by: burdizzo on March 10, 2019, 12:54:18 PM
Yes, despite the big margin of defeat, it wasn't all bad, and they kept working hard all the way through. The backs, as merman says, were solid, midfield and half forwards had their moments, but the full-forward line was a bit toothless, I thought. I know it's easier to stop a lad scoring, than to actually score, but still, we don't have too many options in up there. Cha's omission? Well, he may not be fit enough, and he may have got sent off against Dublin - and I know it's no harm to run the panel when the game is lost - but we certainly need him on board and firing for the McDonagh Cup, because we don't have an awful lot of options in the forwards.

The other thing - how many scores did we concede with that short puck-out in the second half?! Didn't really achieve much, even when it didn't directly cough up a score.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 10, 2019, 04:14:42 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 10, 2019, 12:54:18 PM
... The other thing - how many scores did we concede with that short puck-out in the second half?! Didn't really achieve much, even when it didn't directly cough up a score.
Yeah, the short puck-outs were puzzling me, too.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 10, 2019, 07:24:38 PM
A preview into the new 2020 League Division 1 and our new "Group B":
Wexford
Clare
Dublin
Laois
Carlow
and the loser of the upcoming Kilkenny v Cork

From: https://www.laoistoday.ie/2019/03/10/revealed-laois-hurlers-2020-league-opponents-confirmed-following-todays-action/
Post by: burdizzo on March 10, 2019, 11:14:21 PM
You'd feel for Westmeath...
Not that it won't be hard work for Laois, too.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 10, 2019, 11:37:16 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 10, 2019, 11:14:21 PM
I didn't even look a Group A, yet.
Jayz, I thought Laois got a rough draw.
I'll stop my whining, now.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 11, 2019, 08:46:08 AM
Yeah, the league format next year is all about the top teams. At least this year we had 2.5 competitive chances if you include Dublin, next year we will have one, against Carlow. Shockingly badly thought through.

Left O'Moore park with similar optimism after Saturday. Our backs are young (Matthew aside, no offense), increasingly physical and can all hurl well. Forwards are our biggest problem. Mark Kavanagh and Aaron Dunphy can score but nobody else showing. We really need Cha back hurling well and a few more besides. Full forward line offered nothing on Saturday night.
Post by: SCFC on March 11, 2019, 10:19:21 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on March 11, 2019, 08:46:08 AM
Forwards are our biggest problem. Mark Kavanagh and Aaron Dunphy can score but nobody else showing. We really need Cha back hurling well and a few more besides. Full forward line offered nothing on Saturday night.
The elephant in the room is that some of the best forwards in the county aren't involved for whatever reason.
Principally Zane and Roddy.
Post by: Don Draper on March 11, 2019, 10:25:42 AM
Quote from: SCFC on March 11, 2019, 10:19:21 AM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on March 11, 2019, 08:46:08 AM
Forwards are our biggest problem. Mark Kavanagh and Aaron Dunphy can score but nobody else showing. We really need Cha back hurling well and a few more besides. Full forward line offered nothing on Saturday night.
The elephant in the room is that some of the best forwards in the county aren't involved for whatever reason.
Principally Zane and Roddy.
TBF to Zane, his struggles with his knees are well documented at this stage, and he's done his duty.

We all know the story with Roddy sadly. Although I did hear a rumor on Saturday night about a potential return, make of that what you will.
Post by: redsetanta on March 11, 2019, 10:30:30 AM
I felt sorry for Neil Foyle Saturday evening. How many times did he actually get the sliotar in hand? Similar to the Dublin game he gets well marshalled and  ends up in a physical battle for teh game. The lad has ability but not sure how he should be played to get the best from him. He certainly stays trying but we're not getting him invloved in the game enough.
Post by: Blow-in on March 11, 2019, 10:40:37 AM
Zane done his duty? Oh right.......
Post by: burdizzo on March 11, 2019, 11:28:22 AM
Surely we're gone past expecting Zane back?! Sheesh!
As for King, my understanding was the door was always left open for him. Might be hard for him to come back now, though.
Post by: redsetanta on March 11, 2019, 11:48:58 AM
I would think Roddy would be more than welcomed back in. We could certainly do with him. I would think he wouldn't take that long to get up to speed and there's 2 months until Mcdonagh cup first game against Offaly. Be great to have him back.

Post by: Don Draper on March 11, 2019, 12:04:05 PM
Quote from: Batman!!! on March 11, 2019, 10:40:37 AM
Yes he did. You can say what you like about Camross and Zane's attendance record, but he burst his bollocks for us under Cheddar, albeit with some coercion and he fucked himself up in a shithole in Kerry hurling for Laois. Which is more than many have done. Leave him off.
Post by: Don Draper on March 11, 2019, 12:06:14 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on March 11, 2019, 10:30:30 AM
I felt sorry for Neil Foyle Saturday evening. How many times did he actually get the sliotar in hand? Similar to the Dublin game he gets well marshalled and  ends up in a physical battle for teh game. The lad has ability but not sure how he should be played to get the best from him. He certainly stays trying but we're not getting him invloved in the game enough.
He could and should have gotten more service, but we saw the difference out there on Saturday when Neil got a ball in front of him and had Morrissey up his hole. Ball fumbled, down the field, Nah killed it on his hurl, into his hand, point. Foyle will have better days than Saturday.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 11, 2019, 03:44:29 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on March 11, 2019, 12:04:05 PM
Yes he did. You can say what you like about Camross and Zane's attendance record, but he burst his bollocks for us under Cheddar, albeit with some coercion and he fucked himself up in a shithole in Kerry hurling for Laois. Which is more than many have done. Leave him off.
How many years did Zane hurl for Laois in total? 4 or 5 maybe? He was no Tommy Fitz or Matthew Whelan.
Post by: Don Draper on March 11, 2019, 03:58:58 PM
Quote from: blueandwhite1 on March 11, 2019, 03:44:29 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on March 11, 2019, 12:04:05 PM
How many years did Zane hurl for Laois in total? 4 or 5 maybe? He was no Tommy Fitz or Matthew Whelan.
No one called him that. I merely pointed out that he's done his time and has f**k all to give at this stage given his age and injuries. He's maligned sure, but his contribution shouldn't be pissed on either. Cheddar got the best out of him.
Post by: Laois Rising on March 11, 2019, 04:26:05 PM
I think Don is correct regarding Zane. Broke his leg in two places in that league game versus Kerry. I don't think he ever returned to quite the same level after that injury but he did give it his all for Cheddar and was one of the key players that pushed Laois forward in those years. 
Post by: Joeythelips on March 11, 2019, 05:08:19 PM
Quote from: burdizzo on March 10, 2019, 11:14:21 PM

At least they got promotion but surely there has to be some class of seeding, they have moved them up 2 divisions effectively. All the talk of trying to promote hurling in weaker counties and that happens. Westmeath have been working very hard in recent years and instead of been in group 2 where it would be natural progression (as they would have had a fighting chance at survival) they are in with the big guns. Look at Carlow this year, great work and progress made rather than 4 or 5 hammerings off the likes of Kilkenny and Tipp. But as I have said at least they get promoted rather than have to play Offaly in a relegation play off like it use to be which was the GAA's equivalent to washing their hands of the weaker counties issue.
Post by: MasterJ on March 11, 2019, 05:22:56 PM
Westmeath have hard draw but Laois will have to work hard. Limerick were casual on Saturday night but Laois were working hard throughout despite huge loss, only problem area is full forward line but again comes down to lack of forwards. Joe Phelan had another good game and Kavanagh had another good performance. Brennan has done excellent work. Short puck outs didn't work well but overall conclusion was Laois worked hard and tried all way through but All-champions are at a whole different level.
Post by: Jd on March 11, 2019, 10:43:06 PM
The national Hurling League is a joke. Why not have the top 8 teams in div1 and work a top 4  2 semi semi final and bottom 4 relegation semis loser goes straight down. Have your next 8 in div2  top and bottom 4 similar to div 1. There is no point in Carlow Laois and Westmeath getting six or seven hammerings next year and trying to take anything from it. Give them games where they have a realistic chance of winning and whoever is good enough to go up will at least be the best of the rest.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 11, 2019, 11:54:18 PM
Quote from: Jd on March 11, 2019, 10:43:06 PM
The national Hurling League is a joke. Why not have the top 8 teams in div1 and work a top 4  2 semi semi final and bottom 4 relegation semis loser goes straight down. Have your next 8 in div2  top and bottom 4 similar to div 1. There is no point in Carlow Laois and Westmeath getting six or seven hammerings next year and trying to take anything from it. Give them games where they have a realistic chance of winning and whoever is good enough to go up will at least be the best of the rest.
Totally agree.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 12, 2019, 12:10:57 AM
Midlands Sport
Eddie Brennan Post Limerick [Interview--Audio]
https://soundcloud.com/midlandssport/eddie-brennan-laois-v-limerick-1
Post by: MasterJ on March 12, 2019, 07:57:32 AM
The championship suits the better teams as well.
Post by: burdizzo on March 12, 2019, 10:57:12 AM
Especially blatant in the Munster group, where Kerry would have to win a play-off if they did happen to win the McDonagh Cup!
Post by: Don Draper on March 12, 2019, 10:59:36 AM
Its time to invade Munster and be done with it.
Post by: Zooming around on March 12, 2019, 01:29:53 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on March 12, 2019, 10:59:36 AM

Aye and salt it like the romans did to Carthage
Post by: blueandwhite1 on March 12, 2019, 04:01:22 PM
Quote from: Zooming around on March 12, 2019, 01:29:53 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on March 12, 2019, 10:59:36 AM

Aye and salt it like the romans did to Carthage

Impressive classical reference there Zooming!! You won't get that over on Hogan stand.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on March 12, 2019, 07:14:46 PM

8 team divisions would leave 1 fairly decent team adrift from the others strong counties. Groups of 6 are actually fine. The stronger counties in 1b have 2-3 tougher games and guaranteed a q-final. Thats much better than no game v a stronger county.

1a have 5 quality games and if relegated 1b isnt the worst place in the world to be. All the repercussions of the current set-up are better options than what westmeath have been given for getting promoted from 2A i.e 5 absolute trimmings. They have been promoted 2 divisions. The next step for them is beating Laois or Carlow not Tipp, Kk etc.

ITS AN ABSOLUTE FARCE
Post by: Jd on March 13, 2019, 10:25:32 AM
Well even that would be better than what Westmeath have been handed. Even a div 2 with a couple of stronger teams and a few below them would create a kind of league within a league. Laois I feel could be the best of the rest next year if we keep progressing and deepen the panel a bit. But imagine being a Westmeath hurler about next November facing  into 7 or 8 months training with 5 guaranteed league hammerings and then trying to pick yourself up for a McDonagh cup campaign that the GAA don't give a toss about ........ would anyone blame a fella for walking away back to your club and taking life a bit easier
Post by: Don Draper on March 13, 2019, 12:29:12 PM
Quote from: Jd on March 13, 2019, 10:25:32 AM
Well even that would be better than what Westmeath have been handed. Even a div 2 with a couple of stronger teams and a few below them would create a kind of league within a league. Laois I feel could be the best of the rest next year if we keep progressing and deepen the panel a bit. But imagine being a Westmeath hurler about next November facing  into 7 or 8 months training with 5 guaranteed league hammerings and then trying to pick yourself up for a McDonagh cup campaign that the GAA don't give a toss about ........ would anyone blame a fella for walking away back to your club and taking life a bit easier
Ah well, they'll get a few top tier jerseys out of it if they manage a few crafty post match swaps
Post by: Bud Wiser on March 17, 2019, 08:40:21 AM
I do take a peek in here to find out what's happening in my home county now and again. I have to say I got diverted for an hour this morning after Zooms post above. I now know more about the form of Scipio Aemilianus Africanus and the Romans than I do about the form of Cha for the championship. Great stuff.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 17, 2019, 03:24:20 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on March 17, 2019, 08:40:21 AM
I do take a peek in here to find out what's happening in my home county now and again. I have to say I got diverted for an hour this morning after Zooms post above. I now know more about the form of Scipio Aemilianus Africanus and the Romans than I do about the form of Cha for the championship. Great stuff.
Haha! I did the same thing—went off on a tangent through Wikipedia.