Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Under Lights on February 17, 2015, 01:27:03 PM

Title: The Toughest Trade
Post by: Under Lights on February 17, 2015, 01:27:03 PM
FORMER Spurs and England midfielder David Bentley had his first taste of Gaelic football training with legendary Armagh club Crossmaglen Rangers last night.

Armagh star Aaron Kernan is travelling to train and play with Sunderland FC on Thursday in a new 'trading places' television documentary linked to the AIB All-Ireland club championship.

Kilkenny hurling star Jackie Tyrell and  Kernan are both doing week-long swaps with professional athletes in America and Britain for the TV3 show called 'The Toughest Trade', which aims to compare the lives of amateur gaelic players with professional athletes.

Tyrell is going to Florida over the next fortnight to train and play with a Major League Baseball team in a direct swap with former MLB catcher Brian Schneider.

Schneider, who has played for the New York Mets, Philadelphia Phillies and Washington Nationals during his professional baseball career, is coming to Kilkenny to play with Tyrell's club James Stephen's and also to do his day-job as a sales rep with Glanbia.

Kernan is swapping roles with Bentley who arrived in Crossmaglen at lunchtime on Monday.

He went straight into a training session and today the former Spurs and Blackburn players is in Belfast, working in Kernan's property and letting business, before returning for another 8pm session with the club.

The former soccer star, once valued at £15m and with such crossing ability that he was compared to David Beckham, will have to be a quick learner as he's going to play in a challenge match against Cross' local rivals Silverbridge on Wednesday night.

Bentley, who lives in Marbella, retired from soccer in 2014 saying he had fallen out of love with the game so it remains to be seen if the rigours of training and playing gaelic football with one of the greatest clubs in modern gaelic will help him rediscover his sporting passion.

Kernan was once watched by Spurs scouts when he played underage soccer in Dundalk's youth academy but he concentrated on Gaelic football from his mid-teens.

The 31-year-old retired from inter-county football last Winter, having amassed seven Ulster and three All-Ireland club titles, as well as an All-Ireland senior medal with the Orchard county.

"The boys were really impressed with how he dealt with a typical pre-season training session on the third pitch last night," Kernan said of Bentley's introduction to the joys of gaelic training.

"I think he came through it well and certainly enjoyed the camaraderie with all the boys, it's caused great excitement around the town.

"I'm thinking with his striking skills that he'll be a corner-forward, I can't see him coming in as corner-back," Kernan quipped.

The programme, called 'The Toughest Trade', will air on TV3 on March 9, ahead of the AIB All-Ireland Club finals on St Patrick's Day.

(http://cdn1.independent.ie/incoming/article30998586.ece/0b35c/ALTERNATES/h342/DG%20Benley.png)
Title: Re: The Toughest Trade
Post by: armaghniac on February 17, 2015, 02:30:17 PM
Quote"I'm thinking with his striking skills that he'll be a corner-forward, I can't see him coming in as corner-back," Kernan quipped.

Get Francie to give him a few tips and he could be a back too!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 17, 2015, 02:41:34 PM
He's playing for us against the Bridge tomorrow night in the Bridge at 8 so you will have the chance to see him up close and personal.
Post by: 5 Sams on February 17, 2015, 05:53:17 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 17, 2015, 02:41:34 PM
He's playing for us against the Bridge tomorrow night in the Bridge at 8 so you will have the chance to see him up close and personal.

Could be a "bridge" too far for a boy like that. I'd some of the lads will give him a good oul south Armagh "welcome"
Post by: heganboy on February 17, 2015, 06:07:52 PM
that would be great watching
Post by: theticklemister on February 17, 2015, 06:33:50 PM
What does he think about Crossmaglen village
Post by: armaghniac on February 17, 2015, 06:36:52 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 17, 2015, 06:33:50 PM
What does he think about Crossmaglen village

Well it's a veritable conurbation compared to Silverbridge!
Post by: Feckitt on February 18, 2015, 11:18:20 AM
Pity it's on TV3.  Most people in Crossmaglen can't get it.  With UTV Ireland (sic) started as well, Irish Television is becoming increasingly partitioned.
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2015, 11:26:23 AM
Everybody in Crossmaglen can get TV3 surely?
Post by: Feckitt on February 18, 2015, 11:33:33 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 18, 2015, 11:26:23 AM

If you have a sky box in the north you can't get TV3 or UTV Ireland.  I think you need a saorview box, but I'm not sure.  Terrestial TV is extinct so you  can't get it the old way.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2015, 11:39:46 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 18, 2015, 11:33:33 AM

If you have a sky box in the north you can't get TV3 or UTV Ireland.  I think you need a saorview box, but I'm not sure.  Terrestial TV is extinct so you  can't get it the old way.

I would imagine most people have TV3,  nearly any TV bought locally has a built in Saorview.
Post by: Feckitt on February 18, 2015, 11:42:42 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2015, 11:39:46 AM

I would imagine most people have TV3,  nearly any TV bought locally has a built in Saorview.

Ok, i stand corrected.  Must get rid of my 1996 tv!
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2015, 11:59:07 AM

Well people who only have a Sky box and who haven't been watching any regular TV for the last 3 years will have a problem, I suppose. But nearly every house in Cross has an aerial and in most cases either a modern TV or a box is attached to it.
Post by: theticklemister on February 18, 2015, 12:10:15 PM
Reading an interview with Aaron Kernan in today's Irish News and he stated that ' Bently as an English person, would not have been welcome to walk the streets of Crossmaglen 20 years ago.'

I can't believe this. Crossmaglen is a republican area which espouses ideals of Republicanism. An Englishman should never have a fear of a Republican area.
Post by: JohnDenver on February 18, 2015, 01:10:58 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 18, 2015, 12:10:15 PM
Reading an interview with Aaron Kernan in today's Irish News and he stated that ' Bently as an English person, would not have been welcome to walk the streets of Crossmaglen 20 years ago.'

I can't believe this. Crossmaglen is a republican area which espouses ideals of Republicanism. An Englishman should never have a fear of a Republican area.

Where are you pulling this quote from?  From what I see it states "There's changed times. I know it mightn't have been that great for an englishman walking around the streets 20 years ago but we've moved on well from that."

Which I think is a fair enough statement.  He's not saying he wouldn't have been welcome, but I'm sure an englishman walking the streets of Cross or any other republican area would have been treated with suspicion, and probably still would be to a certain extent, given the past.
Post by: heganboy on February 18, 2015, 02:43:03 PM
not sure what the big fuss is about here, 1995 wouldn't have seen many englishmen in Cross, other than squaddies.
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2015, 02:48:24 PM
Journalists tend to put words in your mouth so that people hear what they expect to hear. The quote is a bit off as it suggests that this programme  could not have been made 20 years ago,which is not true.
Post by: illdecide on February 18, 2015, 03:42:24 PM
Give us a few match reports tomorrow so we can see how he gets on...Could end up playing for Armagh, we may have found Jamie Clarke's partner in FF line... :P
Post by: Feckitt on February 18, 2015, 03:43:59 PM
Was this fella any good?  I've never heard of him!
Post by: illdecide on February 18, 2015, 03:48:08 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 18, 2015, 03:43:59 PM

Yeah Jamie Clarke was good in his day ;)
Post by: JimStynes on February 18, 2015, 03:52:19 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 18, 2015, 03:43:59 PM
He was a good player but didn't fulfil his potential. I think he was signed by Spurs for 17million at one stage. He has played for England and a few times.

Id imagine he would have no problem fitness wise for Gaelic football but general knowledge of the rules and ball handling skills will be his biggest problem i would say.
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2015, 04:06:50 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 18, 2015, 03:52:19 PM
but general knowledge of the rules and ball handling skills will be his biggest problem i would say.

About the same as many players then.
Post by: DennistheMenace on February 18, 2015, 04:15:39 PM
He was a prima donna who thought he was the second coming of Beckham, flattered to deceive and possibly one of the biggest let downs of his generation, lacked pace and more interested in his looks. Great striker of the ball though.
Post by: illdecide on February 18, 2015, 04:20:49 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on February 18, 2015, 04:15:39 PM
He was a prima donna who thought he was the second coming of Beckham, flattered to deceive and possibly one of the biggest let downs of his generation, lacked pace and more interested in his looks. Great striker of the ball though.

That quote above reminded me of a guy called Lynch who ended up working in a Bookies shop in Lurgan...(minus the great striker of a ball ;D)
Post by: magpie seanie on February 18, 2015, 04:21:29 PM
I'd say he will struggle with the physicality. Might pop over a few frees though.
Post by: oakleaflad on February 18, 2015, 04:56:35 PM
When is this show on the TV?
Post by: gallsman on February 18, 2015, 05:15:15 PM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on February 18, 2015, 04:15:39 PM

On the contrary, any time I've ever seen him interviewed he always came across as down to earth and humble.
Post by: theticklemister on February 18, 2015, 05:37:22 PM
Quote from: illdecide on February 18, 2015, 03:42:24 PM
Give us a few match reports tomorrow so we can see how he gets on...Could end up playing for Armagh, we may have found Jamie Clarke's partner in FF line... :P

Clarkey is at wingback these days, so maybe he could knock the ball into Bently in theft forward line.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 18, 2015, 09:56:07 PM
Kicked 0-3 tonight
Post by: gallsman on February 18, 2015, 10:21:36 PM
Fair play!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 18, 2015, 10:35:48 PM
https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=878586418851973 (https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=878586418851973)

Here's one of his points.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 18, 2015, 10:47:47 PM
Were all his scores that difficult?
Post by: armaghniac on February 18, 2015, 11:37:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 18, 2015, 10:47:47 PM
Were all his scores that difficult?

That's only considered a difficult score in Sligo!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 19, 2015, 11:07:18 AM
Sarcasm doesn't travel. Did he get a kick in open play?
Post by: Bingo on February 19, 2015, 11:09:32 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 19, 2015, 11:07:18 AM

Going by Twitter he kicked one from play.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2015, 11:26:10 AM

Had a few goal chances too.  He had a better scoring rate than I ever had when I played!!!
Post by: Bingo on February 19, 2015, 11:29:33 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2015, 11:26:10 AM

Had a few goal chances too.  He had a better scoring rate than I ever had when I played!!!

But you had by far the better striking rate  ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2015, 11:32:09 AM
Quote from: Bingo on February 19, 2015, 11:29:33 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2015, 11:26:10 AM

But you had by far the better striking rate  ;)

(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSl9IG0LVXszyTEdypx-dKpKDhXzqhe9-Ww_ezRc3MjAMT3MY9gGW0YRri3)
Post by: magpie seanie on February 19, 2015, 11:33:10 AM
"The Melter"
Post by: Feckitt on February 19, 2015, 12:05:35 PM
Whatever happened to 'Crossmaglen:The Movie' ? 
Post by: muppet on February 19, 2015, 12:07:51 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 19, 2015, 12:05:35 PM
Whatever happened to 'Crossmaglen:The Movie' ?

Power Rangers?
Title: The Toughest Trade
Post by: laoislad on February 19, 2015, 12:11:12 PM
I'd say Electrician. That's why we're paid the most. 8)
Plumbing is the handiest.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2015, 12:16:56 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 19, 2015, 12:11:12 PM

Holy Smoley look who's back!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2015, 01:28:25 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2015, 12:16:56 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 19, 2015, 12:11:12 PM

Holy Smoley look who's back!!!
I was wondering where he was. I kept checking RTE news for electricians imprisoned for electrical fires through shoddy workmanship.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 19, 2015, 02:11:57 PM
Bentley is one of the few to score a PL hat-trick against Man Utd.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 19, 2015, 02:13:28 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 19, 2015, 02:11:57 PM

I'd say he's the only one who has done that AND scored three points against Silverbridge.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 19, 2015, 02:23:07 PM
Maybe Dirk Kuyt can get a run out for a team as well
Post by: themac_23 on February 19, 2015, 02:29:46 PM
Always liked Bentley, seemed like good craic and quite level headed, throwing the water over Harry Redknapp was a personal favourite of mine. lol
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2015, 02:30:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 19, 2015, 02:13:28 PM

I'd say he's the only one who has done that AND scored three points against Silverbridge.

I wonder which meant more to him? :P
Post by: illdecide on February 19, 2015, 03:25:55 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2015, 02:30:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 19, 2015, 02:13:28 PM

I wonder which meant more to him? :P

He'll go home smelling of diesel either way ;)
Post by: heganboy on February 19, 2015, 05:59:07 PM
see it made the guardian today:
http://www.theguardian.com/sport/2015/feb/19/david-bentley-gaelic-football-crossmaglen-rangers
Post by: laoislad on March 12, 2015, 09:35:01 PM
On tonight TV3 10pm.
Post by: 5 Sams on March 12, 2015, 09:54:48 PM
Any way any of us Sky subscribers could get to see this in the black north?
Post by: armaghniac on March 12, 2015, 10:02:20 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on March 12, 2015, 09:54:48 PM
Any way any of us Sky subscribers could get to see this in the black north?

Call into a neighbour with a proper aerial who hasn't sold out to Murdoch.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:02:45 PM
Well the voice-over intro was a bit pants

Jackie obviously got the best part of any trade cruising around in the sun.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:11:27 PM
Interesting to see Bentley struggling to get a handle on the tackling.

Bentley not liking the sticky winter pitches ;)
Post by: laoislad on March 12, 2015, 10:16:08 PM
Agree about the voice over but other than that it's good so far.
The baseball player seems a little bit in awe of Hurling already.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:18:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 12, 2015, 10:16:08 PM
Agree about the voice over but other than that it's good so far.
The baseball player seems a little bit in awe of Hurling already.

Yeah picked up a good bit since the voice-over intro.

Might have been better splitting it into 2 half-hours as there is a lot of chopping and changing between the 4 different lads.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:20:19 PM
Well I definitely don't think that Bentley will be going into the auctioneering business anytime so....

His patter showing the property was just pants.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:25:24 PM
McConville is just hilarious
Post by: AZOffaly on March 12, 2015, 10:29:27 PM
Jackie catching the ball bare handed :)
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:35:05 PM
Sliotar
The following regulations apply:
The diameter is between 69 mm and 72 mm
The mass is between 110 g and 120 g
The rib height is between 2 mm and 2.8 mm, and width between 3.6 mm and 5.4 mm
The leather cover can be between 1.8 mm and 2.7 mm and is laminated with a coating of no more than 0.15 mm

Baseball
It is 9.00–9.25 inches (228.60–234.95 mm) in circumference (2.86–2.94 in or 72.64–74.68 mm in diameter) and masses from 5.00 to 5.25 ounces (141.75 to 148.83 g).

Not a huge bit of difference in the sizes of sliotar and baseball
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:35:57 PM
Cummins with the baseball bat  ;D ;D ;D

Post by: AZOffaly on March 12, 2015, 10:37:06 PM
Cummins is a gas man.

The balls are the same size roughly, but the baseball is way harder.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:39:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 12, 2015, 10:37:06 PM
Cummins is a gas man.

The balls are the same size roughly, but the baseball is way harder.

Yeah - met a Yank once who had his head caved in by one once and had a metal plate in his head.

As against that catching must be so much easier when you don't have someone else challenging you for a ball.

Post by: armaghniac on March 12, 2015, 10:40:38 PM
Johnny Hanratty teaching Bently the rules, no better man.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:40:56 PM
After 2 training sessions with Crossmaglen, Bentley hasnt figured out that you can't just take the man out #nocomment
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 12, 2015, 10:43:12 PM
Whaa giving rules instructions!!!! You have to laugh like!
Post by: twohands!!! on March 12, 2015, 10:58:30 PM
Not a bad watch but not hugely insightful.

Wonder if any of the baseball lads will be over to scout the Kilkenny lads anytime soon?
Post by: JimStynes on March 12, 2015, 11:04:03 PM
bit disappointed by that. The Bentley segment was the best and the most realistic test out of them all. He would be a cracking footballer I reckon.
Post by: T Fearon on March 12, 2015, 11:12:44 PM
Felt this would have been better if if had focussed on just two,not four players,or if first half was devoted entirely to Bentley and Kernan,and the second half to Tyrell and the baseball player.Very impressed with Bentley,certainly shattered a few perceptions about Premiership players.
Post by: armaghniac on March 12, 2015, 11:22:35 PM
You'd wonder what was in it for Bentley, but perhaps he is not quite a typical Premiership player.
Post by: Rossfan on March 12, 2015, 11:38:20 PM
Can't help feeling that a better station would have made 4 programmes out of it.
Post by: armaghniac on March 13, 2015, 01:09:09 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 12, 2015, 11:38:20 PM
Can't help feeling that a better station would have made 4 programmes out of it.

The more you think about it, the cost of travel etc, it is astonishing not to make 2 programmes at least.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 13, 2015, 07:58:09 AM
I'd say this was as much an AIB vehicle as anything else. #thetoughest is their slogan for the club championship, Brendan Cummins and Eoin Larkin work for AIB. I'd say they basically wanted a long ad for Tuesday's games.
Post by: laoislad on March 13, 2015, 08:04:06 AM
I thought it was good.
They could have nearly left out yer man going over to Sunderland though as he did feck all.
I thought they could have arranged a reserve match for him to play in or at least train with the first team squad.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 13, 2015, 08:25:06 AM
I get the feeling Sunderland weren't too keen on the whole thing. They made up some excuse that he'd have to sign a professional contract with them, which is nonsense. He could be a triallist.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on March 13, 2015, 08:46:39 AM
Quote from: laoislad on March 13, 2015, 08:04:06 AM
I thought it was good.
They could have nearly left out yer man going over to Sunderland though as he did feck all.
I thought they could have arranged a reserve match for him to play in or at least train with the first team squad.
basically the only comparison they amde was his bleep test scores against the professional ones  :-\

I would have thought Kernan would have gotten on alright in a game. would ahve been interesting to see though.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 13, 2015, 08:54:26 AM
Kernan looked the most comfortable of the 4 I thought, although I was surprised how naturally the Baseball catcher executed a few jab lifts in the goals. He'd have been completely lost out the field though. Bentley looked ok, but it was a big ask to look like you were a natural after 5 days or whatever. His handpassing and kicking style looked very awkward, but as Oisin said if he had him for a couple of months you'd make something out of him. He looked like a good lad too, the way he carried himself. You could tell he really liked the concept of the club ethos in the GAA, which of course is part of the reason he retired from soccer.

Jackie probably was the biggest fish out of water. The baseball swing is way different and he adapted well to it, but you could tell he wasn't comfortable with the game itself. The nature of it, and the equipment etc.

I liked the Brendan Cummins cameo. 'Come in here Richie Hogan till I have a talk with you' and 'Tell you what, leave the hurley at home on Tuesday night and bring that big glove'.
Post by: seafoid on March 13, 2015, 10:54:52 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 13, 2015, 08:54:26 AM
Kernan looked the most comfortable of the 4 I thought, although I was surprised how naturally the Baseball catcher executed a few jab lifts in the goals. He'd have been completely lost out the field though. Bentley looked ok, but it was a big ask to look like you were a natural after 5 days or whatever. His handpassing and kicking style looked very awkward, but as Oisin said if he had him for a couple of months you'd make something out of him. He looked like a good lad too, the way he carried himself. You could tell he really liked the concept of the club ethos in the GAA, which of course is part of the reason he retired from soccer.

Jackie probably was the biggest fish out of water. The baseball swing is way different and he adapted well to it, but you could tell he wasn't comfortable with the game itself. The nature of it, and the equipment etc.

I liked the Brendan Cummins cameo. 'Come in here Richie Hogan till I have a talk with you' and 'Tell you what, leave the hurley at home on Tuesday night and bring that big glove'.
Bentley's interview on why he left football is very interesting

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7DlO6XZxNdU
Post by: 50fiftyball on March 13, 2015, 11:42:48 AM
Was very disappointed by the Aaron Kernan to Sunderland part of the programme like many of you. Was expecting to see him in a match situation or at least testing his fitness vs " the professionals". I reckon Sunderland gave a bit of  the old cold shoulder approach to this experiment.

Out of the 4 I would say that the "easiest" (define easy) transition would be from the Gaelic to Soccer, as most of us would play a bit of soccer.
Post by: WT4E on March 13, 2015, 12:57:40 PM
Yeah looked like Sunderland didn't want to be involved - surely they could have found a club even in the championship or something that would of been interested and that would have gave Kernan a chance to see how he would get on.

It was a bit embarrassing the way they tried to hype up the results of a bleep test at the end.

Thought the baseball player came across really well and was very good at adapting to a difficult sport.

Bentley as the estate agent was comedy gold!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 15, 2015, 07:44:22 PM
For anyone who hasn't seen it and can't get it on TV3 player here ye go, part 1 and 2.

http://youtu.be/GgWoNEKERik
Post by: BennyCake on March 15, 2015, 11:10:40 PM
"Come in here Richie Hogan, till I have a chat with ye".

Great line.
Post by: pullhard on March 16, 2015, 08:59:56 AM
Thanks for the links had a watch.

Agree the programs should have been split up
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 12, 2016, 04:10:44 PM
So I see this is back again this March - Aidan O'Shea has gone to America to play American football and former NFL wide receiver Roberto Wallace is taking his place for Breaffy

Tipp hurler Brendan Maher is down in Australia playing with the Big Bash League's Adelaide Strikers - not sure what cricketer is coming to play hurling though.

Post by: Declan on February 12, 2016, 04:31:26 PM
Quotenot sure what cricketer is coming to play hurling though.

Steve Harmison - ex English bowler
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 13, 2017, 01:06:08 PM
Former Wales rugby international Shane Williams and Michael Murphy are participating this year. Williams togged out for a game with Glenswilly last night and scored 0-4

(https://s29.postimg.org/4wkq6dlif/Capture.png)

Michael Murphy is off with Clermont Auvergne
Post by: magpie seanie on January 13, 2017, 01:10:55 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on January 13, 2017, 01:06:08 PM
Former Wales rugby international Shane Williams and Michael Murphy are participating this year. Williams togged out for a game with Glenswilly last night and scored 0-4

(https://s29.postimg.org/4wkq6dlif/Capture.png)

Michael Murphy is off with Clermont Auvergne

Saw some pictures.....Baltic in Glenswilly for Shane Williams.
Post by: StephenC on January 13, 2017, 02:12:49 PM
Shane Williams visiting with some of the local schools and the general feedback is that he's an absolute gentleman; down to earth and interested in the community. Fair play to him.
Post by: J70 on January 13, 2017, 02:24:39 PM
Is this an RTE show available online?
Post by: keepherlit on January 13, 2017, 02:39:44 PM
Quote from: J70 on January 13, 2017, 02:24:39 PM
Is this an RTE show available online?

Hasn't been shown on tv yet.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on March 01, 2017, 09:27:35 PM
The latest installment about to start on RTE 2...
Post by: rrhf on March 01, 2017, 09:50:42 PM
Murphy's some man on the weights. Williams going well too. Interesting show.
Post by: Gold on March 01, 2017, 10:07:06 PM
Great show
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 01, 2017, 10:27:56 PM
Murphy can take a tackle without falling over
Post by: rrhf on March 01, 2017, 10:33:10 PM
Lee chin doing ice hockey bound to be tough. How the hell de ye learn ice hockey in a week.
Post by: rodney trotter on March 01, 2017, 10:39:17 PM
Great show.  Quality kicking from Murphy against Parra.
Post by: trileacman on March 01, 2017, 10:40:41 PM
The strangest thing about that or most interesting in my eyes is how Williams struggled with the pick up. I mean probably none of us consider it a skill and yet they obviously just had to let him pluck it off the ground or else he wouldn't have got possession at all hardly.

People used to always say we should get rid of it because it's not a skill, kind of looked like it was tonight.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on March 01, 2017, 10:43:55 PM
The best show on TV.
I love the unspoken respect between sportsmen who were, or are at the top of their game.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 01, 2017, 10:45:19 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 01, 2017, 10:40:41 PM
The strangest thing about that or most interesting in my eyes is how Williams struggled with the pick up. I mean probably none of us consider it a skill and yet they obviously just had to let him pluck it off the ground or else he wouldn't have got possession at all hardly.

People used to always say we should get rid of it because it's not a skill, kind of looked like it was tonight.

What does it add to the game? The pick up I mean??
Post by: From the Bunker on March 01, 2017, 10:47:58 PM
Good  tv! A bit of a pity both competitors are hindered! Williams  by his age and Murphy by holding back with the fear of getting injured. There is a lot of Plamasing, but they have to make a Tv show!
Post by: trileacman on March 01, 2017, 11:07:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 01, 2017, 10:45:19 PM

You'd probably think f**k all but they way Williams struggled with it whilst preforming decent kicks and even a dummy solo would suggest it's probably harder to master than you'd think. I just found it curious he'd adapt so well to other aspects of the game but butcher  the simplest.
Post by: trileacman on March 01, 2017, 11:10:02 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 01, 2017, 10:47:58 PM
Good  tv! A bit of a pity both competitors are hindered! Williams  by his age and Murphy by holding back with the fear of getting injured. There is a lot of Plamasing, but they have to make a Tv show!

A weeks not long enough either to really get into the game. To see them at the end of a fortnight or month would be much more interesting. (If not impossible to arrange)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 01, 2017, 11:11:43 PM
Quote from: trileacman on March 01, 2017, 11:07:34 PM

You'd probably think f**k all but they way Williams struggled with it whilst preforming decent kicks and even a dummy solo would suggest it's probably harder to master than you'd think. I just found it curious he'd adapt so well to other aspects of the game but butcher  the simplest.

It was a week!! I'd say no training at senior level has pick up skills session at it.... be like training kids again they struggle until under 10/12
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on March 01, 2017, 11:33:41 PM
Jeez lads, talk about nit picking; just enjoy the feckin thing will yis?
Post by: macdanger2 on March 01, 2017, 11:44:55 PM
Good show. Pity Murphy missed the easier of the two wide kicks, would have been nice to beat Parra

Post by: Syferus on March 01, 2017, 11:47:32 PM
The pickup is still a bit shïte, lads.
Post by: longballin on March 01, 2017, 11:51:42 PM
Great show... Williams and Murphy came across as two really sound lads.
Post by: J70 on March 02, 2017, 02:37:37 AM
Good show. Its already up on youtube for those interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1T1gCEBVpY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1T1gCEBVpY)

Did they purposely pick a week in January to get that weather in Donegal? ;D

Both of them appeared to do pretty well, although they did understandably grant Williams a lot of latitude! Former Donegal county player Ciaran Bonner stole the ball off him nicely in one of the training segments.
Post by: Taylor on March 02, 2017, 09:33:32 AM
Great show. Murphy one of those lads that is talented no matter what he does.

As someone said be good to see how they cope & adapt over a longer period of time.

Rugby lads are hard as nails.
Post by: general_lee on March 02, 2017, 09:39:04 AM
Top  show. Thought Williams was brilliant for the age of him. You could tell big Murphy was loving testing himself at the highest level.
Post by: grounded on March 02, 2017, 10:49:36 AM
Really enjoyed the show. 2 sound lads. Would have been nice to see how Micheal performed in a full game (I'd say given the right training he could play at a fairly high level in Rugby). Shane Williams seemed to really enjoy his week, i thought one of the highlights was the school visit and his "no homework tonight" shout.
           Given that we know GAA underage players can develop into world class Rugby players. Are there any current or past top GAA Players who have taken up Rugby in the middle or end of their football/hurling careers? I seem to remember David Beggy having a go at Rugby when Meath were at the height of their powers. Also I think Aaron Kiernan might be playing a bit for Dundalk?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 02, 2017, 11:08:42 AM
Why would a Donegal lad need to go to France to tear around roads in a souped up Subaru?

Overall it was a good show. There has to be a token amount of it spent with the GAA player being praised and the blow in praising the parish environment he has been parachuted into.
Murphy had a lot of the attributes needed to hold his own. His power, size and decent vision meant he held his own in the drills.
Williams put in a decent effort too and it probably helped the ref played Winter rules (pick ups allowed). In rugby coaching there is an emphasis on getting your centre of gravity over the ball and snatching it upwards, so William's instinctive fear of knocking it on was still a factor.

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on March 02, 2017, 11:51:01 AM
Good show, but lets face it, Gaelic Football is one of the easiest games in the world to pick up, it is basic and  that's why it is more widespread than hurling.

Both lads came across really well
Post by: illdecide on March 02, 2017, 11:55:00 AM
Def one of the better shows on last night, enjoyed it myself. I think SW was genuine when he said he'd a lot of respect for the GAA men with their fitness levels, attitude and commitment for amateur men ( i know we're not really amateur with the training we do but we don't get any coin). Big Murphy thought held his own and Clermont coach was impressed with him at the end knowing he'd only a weeks coaching over him...

The Le Chin one will be interesting...especially if one of the Ice Hockey guys take the helmet off and offer's him a punch up (I know it's for TV and that wouldn't happen)
Post by: NAG1 on March 02, 2017, 12:01:11 PM
Was interesting when SW noted: that he had never done a skills session at that pace before, after doing one of the drills.

Maybe that was something for the coaches out there to have a think about.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 02, 2017, 01:18:34 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on March 02, 2017, 11:08:42 AM
Why would a Donegal lad need to go to France to tear around roads in a souped up Subaru?

Overall it was a good show. There has to be a token amount of it spent with the GAA player being praised and the blow in praising the parish environment he has been parachuted into.
Murphy had a lot of the attributes needed to hold his own. His power, size and decent vision meant he held his own in the drills.
Williams put in a decent effort too and it probably helped the ref played Winter rules (pick ups allowed). In rugby coaching there is an emphasis on getting your centre of gravity over the ball and snatching it upwards, so William's instinctive fear of knocking it on was still a factor.

Height wise Murphy was ok, still a lot of lads taller than him, weight wise and body strength i'd say he's a bit to go in that department...
Post by: haranguerer on March 02, 2017, 02:28:50 PM

It has the effect of meaning there can only be one person in position to pick the ball up. So stops mauls where 5 men are around the ball attempting to pick up with outstretched hands. Of course, didn't stop the gaa trying to do away with it before realising their error, and it seems people are forgetting about the mess that created already
Post by: haranguerer on March 02, 2017, 02:30:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 02, 2017, 02:37:37 AM
Good show. Its already up on youtube for those interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1T1gCEBVpY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1T1gCEBVpY)

Both of them appeared to do pretty well, although they did understandably grant Williams a lot of latitude! Former Donegal county player Ciaran Bonner stole the ball off him nicely in one of the training segments.

You don't think murphy was granted a bit too??  ;D
Post by: J70 on March 02, 2017, 02:32:57 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 02, 2017, 02:30:25 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 02, 2017, 02:37:37 AM

You don't think murphy was granted a bit too??  ;D

I'm sure he was. I'm about as far from an informed follower of rugby as you could get though!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 02, 2017, 02:46:22 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 02, 2017, 02:28:50 PM

It has the effect of meaning there can only be one person in position to pick the ball up. So stops mauls where 5 men are around the ball attempting to pick up with outstretched hands. Of course, didn't stop the gaa trying to do away with it before realising their error, and it seems people are forgetting about the mess that created already

No mauling in ladies football (unfortunately  ;) ) You need to be on your feet to lift the ball, which would stop that mauling surely?
Post by: haranguerer on March 02, 2017, 02:59:14 PM
Mauling perhaps a bad choice of word esp given the rugby angle to the thread.

Can't commentate on the ladies game, but without it can't identify who is in primary position for the ball. Even on feet, still 4 or 5 people can be in the same position to take possession. It was an absolute mess when trialled, with throw ups galore.
Post by: Hardy on March 02, 2017, 03:16:43 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 02, 2017, 02:59:14 PM

Can't commentate on the ladies game, but without it can't identify who is in primary position for the ball. Even on feet, still 4 or 5 people can be in the same position to take possession. It was an absolute mess when trialled, with throw ups galore.

- like what happens when I watch Tyrone.
Post by: Walter Cronc on March 02, 2017, 05:12:36 PM
http://www.the42.ie/michael-murphy-shane-williams-toughest-trade-3267539-Mar2017/
Post by: rrhf on March 02, 2017, 05:55:17 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 02, 2017, 03:16:43 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 02, 2017, 02:59:14 PM

- like what happens when I watch Tyrone.
I struggle with the sight of blood as well. 1996 was tough on us all.
Post by: redzone on March 02, 2017, 08:12:36 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on March 02, 2017, 05:12:36 PM
http://www.the42.ie/michael-murphy-shane-williams-toughest-trade-3267539-Mar2017/

For anyone who hasn't been in garvaghy there's striking resemblance to the setup at Clermont
Post by: JoG2 on March 02, 2017, 08:27:44 PM
Quote from: redzone on March 02, 2017, 08:12:36 PM

For anyone who hasn't been in garvaghy there's striking resemblance to the setup at Clermont

Some setup @ Clermont!

I agree with Bord na Mona, had a wee chuckle at the Donegal man in the Subaru!

Very enjoyable show
Post by: lurganblue on March 03, 2017, 10:19:22 AM
Surely Murphy has done a little bit of Rugby before?  His passing was decent and there wasnt one clip of him being shown how to do that.  Now i'll admit i know nothing about Rugby but surely to spin the ball like that while passing it takes a little practice?
Post by: BluestackBoy on March 03, 2017, 10:45:39 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 03, 2017, 10:19:22 AM
Surely Murphy has done a little bit of Rugby before?  His passing was decent and there wasnt one clip of him being shown how to do that.  Now i'll admit i know nothing about Rugby but surely to spin the ball like that while passing it takes a little practice?

Nah, just natural God given talent.
Post by: haranguerer on March 03, 2017, 10:46:08 AM
Thought that too - then also thought if you were told you were doing it you'd put some practice in, so maybe that explains it
Post by: The Subbie on March 03, 2017, 11:44:49 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 03, 2017, 10:19:22 AM

Wasn't there a clip showing the skills coach showing him how to pass and then running him up &down the field passing & trying to hit dummies with the ball?
Post by: haranguerer on March 03, 2017, 11:50:42 AM
There's skill in being able to even throw the ball properly, i.e. long before he got to that stage.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on March 03, 2017, 01:28:29 PM
Quote from: haranguerer on March 03, 2017, 11:50:42 AM
There's skill in being able to even throw the ball properly, i.e. long before he got to that stage.
Throwing balls round the sports shop?
Post by: Syferus on March 03, 2017, 02:05:00 PM
Murphy hasn't really been dominating games for a while now. Maybe it's a bit harsh to say he's living on reputation but I've seen him well policed more times than not recently.
Post by: J70 on March 03, 2017, 02:39:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 03, 2017, 02:05:00 PM
Murphy hasn't really been dominating games for a while now. Maybe it's a bit harsh to say he's living on reputation but I've seen him well policed more times than not recently.

He's been going very well in the last two league games, including against yourselves.

He'd a quiet championship last year. Rumours were he was carrying an injury, which he always denied. I'd say it's a case of, as with a lot of players any more, of getting swallowed up in the morass and Donegal spreading him too thin.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 03, 2017, 02:49:54 PM
In fairness to the lad there is an awful lot expected of him when he plays. He has set the bar so high that if he has even (only) a decent game people are complaining about his form. I wish his Dad had stayed in Mayo and we had him - that's for sure!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 10, 2017, 12:41:56 PM
So Lee Chin's interview in the Times yesterday seem to have set off a bit of a firestorm over here.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/canucks-drinking-lee-chin-1.4018117

His IT interview - http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/lee-chin-surprised-by-levels-of-drinking-and-fighting-in-nhl-1.3003990
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2017, 12:59:40 PM
He may have fucked any further chances of anyone going to an NHL team in the future. Pity. I doubt he meant it as it sounded.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 10, 2017, 01:04:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 10, 2017, 12:59:40 PM
He may have fucked any further chances of anyone going to an NHL team in the future. Pity. I doubt he meant it as it sounded.
Since when did the rude word filter stop working?
Post by: HiMucker on March 10, 2017, 01:05:34 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 10, 2017, 01:04:02 PM
f**k knows
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 10, 2017, 01:18:54 PM

Yeah - and I think some of the lads may have been telling him a few tall tales and he believed them.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 10, 2017, 01:20:05 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on March 10, 2017, 01:05:34 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 10, 2017, 01:04:02 PM
f**k knows

**** of a thing anyway
Post by: whitey on March 10, 2017, 01:51:16 PM
I'm sure the Canadian guys were showing him a good time.....kinda naiive of him to make the comments he did.....did he think the media wouldn't jump all over it?
Post by: Syferus on March 10, 2017, 02:30:33 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 03, 2017, 02:39:10 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 03, 2017, 02:05:00 PM

He's been going very well in the last two league games, including against yourselves.

He'd a quiet championship last year. Rumours were he was carrying an injury, which he always denied. I'd say it's a case of, as with a lot of players any more, of getting swallowed up in the morass and Donegal spreading him too thin.

In fairness J70 against us ye lost the middle to Higgins (he's been carrying a knee injury and is out for the rest of the league now) and O'Rourke, a young ladeen just out of minor and making his second ever competitive start at senior. Murphy won a few balls but was far from dominant. In fact were it not for the couple of soft frees he got because he's Michael Murphy and Michael Murphy Is Too Amazing for Teams to Strip Legally (a favouritism Dublin and Kerry forwards have fed on for decades) he would have had an even worse day.

Maybe he can be better in his natural position closer to goal but Donegal's need to play him out the field isn't helping his ability to be the Murphy of old.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 10, 2017, 07:54:35 PM
Quote from: redzone on March 02, 2017, 08:12:36 PM

Is that why they are about to build an extension to provide proper training facilities that weren't fitted into the famous T shaped building?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on March 10, 2017, 07:56:57 PM
The manner is which Chin publicly dumped Wexford Youths on twitter during the play offs suggests that Chin wouldn't be a diplomat.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 10, 2017, 08:06:08 PM
At the beginning it said Murphy would play a game with the seconds team but that turned out to be a fairly soft if high speed training game with the academy players.  At the same time, Williams was thrown into a full game in horrible conditions and left to get on with it.  Overall, Murphy not exposed to the full force of the modern French club game which is usually quite brutal and has some of the biggest men involved that made Murphy look relatively small or the same size a Morgan Parra, compare Murphy to the size of Rougerie.

Can't understand why he didn't go to an Welsh professional side or an English Championship side to give him a chance to really try out.  Going to a club in the toughest and most physical league was not really a proper trade.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on March 10, 2017, 11:32:05 PM
Murphy and Williams looked good
Alex and chin tonight were crap
Post by: michaelg on March 10, 2017, 11:43:55 PM
Quote from: Owen Brannigan on March 10, 2017, 08:06:08 PM
At the beginning it said Murphy would play a game with the seconds team but that turned out to be a fairly soft if high speed training game with the academy players.  At the same time, Williams was thrown into a full game in horrible conditions and left to get on with it.  Overall, Murphy not exposed to the full force of the modern French club game which is usually quite brutal and has some of the biggest men involved that made Murphy look relatively small or the same size a Morgan Parra, compare Murphy to the size of Rougerie.

Can't understand why he didn't go to an Welsh professional side or an English Championship side to give him a chance to really try out.  Going to a club in the toughest and most physical league was not really a proper trade.
TBF, Williams playing a local GAA game against a bunch of lads from the next village / townland would not be comparable with playing professional rugby in France, even if it were at Academy level.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 12, 2017, 12:19:11 AM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on March 10, 2017, 11:32:05 PM
Murphy and Williams looked good
Alex and chin tonight were crap

Definitely the ice hockey guy were instructed to give Chin a fairly wide berth, no one even body checked him never mind any of the usual violence associated with ice hockey.  The team he was playing on was fairly low level given the age profile with some fairly old guys from NHL.  Also he had a head camera fitted which would have precluded anyone from making any sort of proper hockey physical contact.  Alex was too big and immobile for hurling even at a club level.  Some very good editing of an hour of hurling allowed Alex to appear to have had some success.  However, his body language during the game and particularly in the changing room afterwards showed that he had not managed to come to terms with the game.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 12, 2017, 02:32:27 PM
Thinking anyone could play ice hockey from nowhere in the space of a few weeks was ridiculous. I think what Lee Chin achieved was incredible to be honest. My favourite bit of the hurling was Larry O'G coaching by remote control to help get Alex his goal. He had told him and shown him you could kick it (knowing he couldn't hit it with the stick even unmarked!) so there he is at the goalpost... "Kick it, kick it!!!".....the Martins lads were fairly compliant also.
Post by: JimStynes on March 12, 2017, 04:58:27 PM
The programmes are a bit shit to be honest. Would love a good behind the scenes documentary done on the Dubs or something. There was one years ago called 'A year till Sunday'. Would be good to compare that to what the teams are doing now.
Post by: thejuice on March 12, 2017, 09:03:17 PM
I enjoyed it last year but this years wasn't so great. Still Shane did well though was let away with a few technical fouls. It was actually more interesting just to see the level of training that glenswilly were doing nowadays with all the weights at 6am and football at night.

Pro teams are never going to let some lad show up and get among their top players. Better off following one of our young lads trying out at Aussie rules.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on March 14, 2017, 05:33:00 AM
I have to commend Lee Chin with his attitude and athleticism. For only skating a couple of weeks he did extremely well. Growing up I played hockey for over 12 years and he was ages ahead of what I expected someone who never laced up skates.

Chin is just an athlete, he could play and excel at pretty much any sport he puts his mind to. Blue Chipper is the term used for someone with his ability.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 14, 2017, 10:34:27 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on March 14, 2017, 05:33:00 AM
I have to commend Lee Chin with his attitude and athleticism. For only skating a couple of weeks he did extremely well. Growing up I played hockey for over 12 years and he was ages ahead of what I expected someone who never laced up skates.

Chin is just an athlete, he could play and excel at pretty much any sport he puts his mind to. Blue Chipper is the term used for someone with his ability.

Correct and Alex was just a big lad with the bulk and strength for hockey so he struggled in a more mobile sport, would have been interesting to see a hockey player closer to Chin in athleticism.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 14, 2017, 11:42:57 AM
The bulk and strength for hockey? Hockey is a very athletic game, and being able to skate, which in itself is an athletic feat,is the basic building block.

He may have been big and strong, but he was not unathletic if he played in the NHL.
Post by: JimStynes on March 14, 2017, 12:54:47 PM
He was a goalie was he not? So he wouldn't need to be doing too much running around.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 14, 2017, 12:56:33 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 14, 2017, 12:54:47 PM
He was a goalie was he not? So he wouldn't need to be doing too much running around.

They still have to skate, and their body positions as goalies mean they have to be flexible and explosive. He mightn't be a sprinter, but I bet he's pretty athletic.

Of course he may have gone to seed after playing..
Post by: From the Bunker on March 14, 2017, 01:11:07 PM
Have to say the gleam has worn of this show! The two shows this year are mismatches.

Murphy looked (naturally) terrified of getting injured in his show.

Chin was greatly hampered by being on ice for his discipline.

The Plámásing of How great are we playing this sport for nothing. Is a bit of a dose at this stage.

Post by: AZOffaly on March 14, 2017, 01:13:32 PM
I thought Murphy looked reasonably competent in fairness. I didn't think he looked petrified at all.

I didn't watch Chin, but I tried to play Ice Hockey in Arizona. I thought the hurling would help. Pathetic. It doesn't help when the ball is flat, the stick is too long, and the pitch fecking moves when you are standing on it, or trying to.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on March 14, 2017, 09:01:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 14, 2017, 12:56:33 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on March 14, 2017, 12:54:47 PM

They still have to skate, and their body positions as goalies mean they have to be flexible and explosive. He mightn't be a sprinter, but I bet he's pretty athletic.

Of course he may have gone to seed after playing..

Precisely, he may have been athletic in his prime but his age was against him.  So, no comparison between him and Chin in terms of athleticism.  The swap was made in that Chin was dropped into a team which had a number of 'older' but more experienced players.  It was truly a tough trade.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 14, 2017, 09:09:18 PM
The hockey guy says on the programme when training with the hurlers that his fitness was for nothing as a netminder.
Post by: Hardy on March 14, 2017, 11:15:50 PM
It's just more "reality" TV shite. All contrived and formulaic. Strictly come hurling/footballing and tell us how great we are. All part of the continuing trashing of sport in the rubbish dump of mass entertainment.
Post by: Asal Mor on March 14, 2017, 11:37:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 14, 2017, 11:15:50 PM
It's just more "reality" TV shite. All contrived and formulaic. Strictly come hurling/footballing and tell us how great we are. All part of the continuing trashing of sport in the rubbish dump of mass entertainment.
Well said. It's not even good by reality TV standards. It lacks the suspense of the likes of X-Factor or The Apprentice where the contestants genuinely have a lot riding on the outcome
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 11, 2018, 01:33:34 PM
It's back

QuoteFootball legends Harry Redknapp and Gianluca Vialli go head-to-head as they take charge of Castlehaven and Erin's Isle in a rematch of their infamous 1998 All-Ireland club semi-final. #TheToughest Rivalry starts Friday 13th July!

https://twitter.com/AIB_GAA/status/1017015511513796608