Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BauldBull on May 31, 2007, 05:29:31 PM

Title: Shaver advice
Post by: BauldBull on May 31, 2007, 05:29:31 PM
Guys

I'm thinking of buying an electric shaver but are they any good? Do they offer as close a shave as a razor does?
I rarely ever use razors as they tear the skin off my face and make my neck erupt in these little painful white spots. I normally just trim my beard down to stubble which works grand but with a heap of weddings coming up that just wont do.

So I'm thinking an electric shaver will cause alot less irritation but will it give a good close shave?

Any advice welcome
Bull
Title: Re: Shaver advice
Post by: Square Ball on May 31, 2007, 05:48:13 PM
Bull

believe it or not there is already a thread on this

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=557.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=557.0)
Post by: ziggysego on May 31, 2007, 07:33:45 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on May 31, 2007, 05:48:13 PM
Bull

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=557.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=557.0)

Pops up every wedding season ;)
Post by: Square Ball on May 31, 2007, 08:22:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 31, 2007, 07:33:45 PM
Bull

and exactly what are you referring to as it "pops up?"   :o
Post by: balladmaker on June 01, 2007, 12:12:32 AM
Just last week I got myself an electric Phillishave for the princely sum of £99....read the reviews etc. and decided on this one....

http://www.shavers.co.uk/shopping.php?product_id=457 (http://www.shavers.co.uk/shopping.php?product_id=457)

The reason I changed was because I wanted something a bit faster for the mornings.

After a week of suffering since I got it, the only thing stopping me from binning it, is the fact that I paid 99 quid for it.  To be honest, it is a disaster....if this is supposed to be one of the best Phiilshave can come up with, I would hate to try the worst.

There is no way it is anywhere near as close or as comfortable as a wetshave.  It does say in the instructions that it could take up to 2  to 3 weeks for your skin to get used to it, but if I give it that long, skin will be the least of my worries!

So with a weekend of socialising coming up, it will be back to Gillette's finest for me.
Post by: Tyrones own on June 01, 2007, 12:32:46 AM

Agree with Balladmaker, they're a pure waste of money.
The o'l razor is your only man, unfortunately.
Post by: Orior on June 01, 2007, 01:06:30 AM
Anyone here gone for the crack, back and sack shave? I'me sure a few Rossies have, as the Antrim men tell me that sheep like their men smooth.
Post by: john mcgill on June 01, 2007, 07:29:31 AM
I have just taken heganboy's advice and bought a Merkel Futur razor with the old style blades costing £3.50 for 10.  I'm waiting for the weekend to try it as I have been told that the first couple of times you nick yourself.
Have you ever noticed that nicks generally occur when you are heading out somewwhere special?
Post by: CiKe on June 01, 2007, 08:27:16 AM
I have the Merkur as well, and first few times you'll defintely nick yourself - as you say don't use it for the first time if you're planing on going somewhere. Once you get used to it you'll never use a Mach 3 again.
Post by: High Catch on June 01, 2007, 11:42:47 AM
Is the 'Total Shaving Solution' oil any good? Dont like the idea of putting oil onto the old face.
Post by: Billys Boots on June 01, 2007, 12:01:00 PM
Quote'Total Shaving Solution'

It's good enough, but you go through blades very quickly.
Post by: wesaysanchez on June 01, 2007, 01:42:19 PM
i dnot votew DUP  but i think rhat ian paisly junior has a point but doesnt know how to go abouut ti in the right manern..that means he doesn't kike what gayds do but he might like gay people. so dont be too weuicjk to judge people read the wjole whotry
Post by: wesaysanchez on June 01, 2007, 01:46:30 PM
pressed the wrong button there admin could you move this ovwer to the casulauty threasd whre3 it was meant be to.

shavers ha ha ha i don't really know what to dsay i suppose just be carewful because lon my first dat at wiork on the malone reoad i cut the face clean off my self with an ulold bic razzer. the boss thought id been in accident and told be he's send me home but he smelt me and id been drinkning thre night befreoore asnd he sacked me foir drink drining even though i came by a bus from cregagh,.
Post by: ziggysego on June 01, 2007, 02:33:49 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on May 31, 2007, 08:22:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 31, 2007, 07:33:45 PM
Bull

and exactly what are you referring to as it "pops up?"   :o

Cheeky f**ker!  :D
Post by: rosnarun on June 01, 2007, 02:37:40 PM
for a real mans shave brand new BIC or old style blade with out soap or foam
the Total shave solution works best with a Straight blade
Post by: BauldBull on June 01, 2007, 07:35:00 PM
Cheers for the replies guys.
Looks like the electric shaver is not the way to go given Balladmakers experience. Waste of money it seems.

Would a trip to a barbers be the way to go? The shave with the cut throat might cause less irritation.

Oh lifes dilemmas!
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 01, 2007, 10:35:11 PM
Yous are like women talking about periods!
Post by: stiffler on June 01, 2007, 10:36:29 PM
Shaving, then sweating is the worssssssttttt
Post by: Hardy on June 01, 2007, 11:56:31 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 01, 2007, 10:35:11 PM
Yous are like women talking about periods!

Well for once ...

I never heard such flibberty shite in me life. Next we'll have lads here asking each other what types of clothes they like and does me arse look wrong in this yoke.

About barbers - a fella I know told me about a barber he knew in Tuam who was permanently drunk. One day the bishop came in for a shave and the barber made a bit of a slip with the cutthroat and nicked the bishop.

"Ahh John", says the bishop in a forgiving tone, "the demon drink".

"Yes Bishop", says John, "it makes the shkin very tender".
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 02, 2007, 12:08:05 AM
Quoteand does me arse look wrong in this yoke.

When herself who thinks she's the boss asks "does this make my arse look big", its probably best not to reply, "of course not, its the chocolate and fatty foods that makes you arse look big in that"  :P

Post by: john mcgill on June 02, 2007, 09:09:22 AM
Used the Merkur today for the first time, my face now looks like the arse of a plucked hen (apologies to those who are too young to remember or those who think that chicken only comes in plastic bags from Tesco).  I will stick with it but I'll be the unshaven one with the fresh scars at the Meath Dublin match tomorrow!