GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sligoman2 on May 03, 2014, 02:46:36 PM

Title: GAAGO where are you?
Post by: sligoman2 on May 03, 2014, 02:46:36 PM
The championship kicks off tomorrow and those of us in the US would like to know where/when gaago will be offering us games and more importantly how much it will cost.
If the gaa are serious about accommodating the overseas fan I assume they will offer the season pass for less than the $200 that we paid last year.
I haven't seen a website or anything yet that we can sign up for- does anyone have any info on what galago will offer and when it will be available?
Title: Re: GAAGO where are you?
Post by: NetNitrate on May 03, 2014, 11:12:25 PM
Looks like this will be the URL  www.rte.ie/gaago
Post by: sligoman2 on May 04, 2014, 01:36:56 AM
Thanks NN
Lovely color but no info which is frustrating since the championship starts tomorrow.

I hope my fears are unfounded but you would think they would have something on that page by noe rather just saying it's launching this summer
Post by: sligoman2 on May 12, 2014, 06:27:17 PM
I still don't see a way to subscribe to this or a schedule which is frustrating as there are a good few games on this weekend.
Does anyone know anything about gaago and when they will be offering games?

This is not the way to promote the games overseas- maybe this is up and running and I don't know where to look.
Post by: NetNitrate on May 12, 2014, 08:20:15 PM
Supposed to be launching Wednesday 14th according to @thesundaygame
Post by: NetNitrate on May 13, 2014, 01:15:00 AM
Looks like some kind of launch event to milk it. Can they not just let us know the costs and where to sign up for the streaming service itself.

http://webcast.gaago.ie/register?pak=5925127850884097
Post by: BennyHarp on May 13, 2014, 09:10:23 AM
I assume this isn't available in Britain?
Post by: Zulu on May 14, 2014, 01:22:28 PM
The live launch is currently on - €110 for a worldwide season ticket (excluding Ireland & UK), €60 for UK season ticket or €10 per game.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 14, 2014, 01:54:12 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 14, 2014, 01:22:28 PM
The live launch is currently on - €110 for a worldwide season ticket (excluding Ireland & UK), €60 for UK season ticket or €10 per game.

Why not offer it to UK users??
Post by: AZOffaly on May 14, 2014, 01:56:34 PM
It is. €60 to UK Users. (Presumably less than €110 because the others are on Sky).
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 14, 2014, 02:05:01 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 14, 2014, 01:56:34 PM
It is. €60 to UK Users. (Presumably less than €110 because the others are on Sky).

Haha heads away. Cheers AZ.
Post by: Zulu on May 14, 2014, 02:09:11 PM

Only 25 games available to UK based users, 45 to those outside the UK & Ireland.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 14, 2014, 02:10:39 PM
Quote from: Zulu on May 14, 2014, 02:09:11 PM

Only 25 games available to UK based users, 45 to those outside the UK & Ireland.

I assume this is due to the Sky deal? People in the UK will just stream then.
Post by: seafoid on May 14, 2014, 02:22:19 PM
Is there wifi in Porky Croky - ie could you watch Diego if the match you were at was dull ?
Post by: Zulu on May 14, 2014, 02:30:23 PM
GAAGO will be operational from 14 June. Until then, all games will be available worldwide, free-of-charge, on the RTÉ Player - starting with Tyrone v Down on Sunday.
Post by: Syferus on May 14, 2014, 03:51:36 PM
That's a good price that under-cuts the cowboys currently owning the streaming market. Hopefully there's proper HD streams and archive access coming too - imagine being able to thumb through the last 30 years of AI finals. It'll be a must-have for any GAA supporters outside the country then.
Post by: sam03/05 on May 14, 2014, 04:49:50 PM
the problem I have is watching the Sunday Game online on the ipad? its always says only available in the island of Ireland but I live in bloody Tyrone, anyone else have that problem...
Post by: armaghniac on May 14, 2014, 05:05:08 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on May 14, 2014, 04:49:50 PM
the problem I have is watching the Sunday Game online on the ipad? its always says only available in the island of Ireland but I live in bloody Tyrone, anyone else have that problem...

Why do people sign up to Internet providers without the least interest in their geocoding policies and then blame RTÉ?
Post by: sam03/05 on May 14, 2014, 06:14:07 PM
so how do I fix this???
Post by: Westside on May 14, 2014, 06:52:26 PM
So does this mean the Cavan v Armagh game is being streamed by RTE?
Post by: sligoman2 on May 14, 2014, 09:13:24 PM
Nice job today by rte and the gaa.  The price is fair and it looks like they have done their homework.  Hopefully the streams work well and we don't have spinning wheels and frozen screens.

I think they will have a lot of subscribers so I hope they make sure the service can handle the demand. 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on May 15, 2014, 12:37:35 AM
Not as good as free-to-air but an improvement on $20/game in the pub.

I await the uproar from the "grassroots are being fleeced" crowd with great interest.
Post by: AMayoFan on May 15, 2014, 01:01:26 PM
Is there a full schedule on the games that will be covered? I'm also wondering will matches be streamed live that are not necessary being broadcasted live on RTE ? 
Post by: southdown on May 15, 2014, 03:53:06 PM
Are people who do not have sky aware of the sky go app that lets you hook up to another account? Its a great job, meaning I have free Sky sports after linking up to my parents account.
Post by: southdown on May 15, 2014, 04:45:22 PM
Get a life
Post by: Ringfort on June 15, 2014, 05:11:17 PM
Are there many other UK based posters on here? Lads what are ye doing to get to watch the matches for the rest of the summer???

I went on to the GAAGO site before the Mon/Tyrone match and read up the terms of service. If I'm interpreting it right the service will basically stop for UK users at the AIQF stage (where we will only get 2 out of the 4 games). No semis or finals because they will be on Sky. What are we to do if we do not have Sky in the house already and live nowhere near an Irish pub?? Pay a fortune to get Sky installed to only watch one thing ie GAA? That's a non runner.

I tried the old dodgy streams route today for the football and saw a grand total of about 5 minutes. I have Hola unblocker to try and get the rte.ie stream from Island of Ireland but it cuts out for me constantly but most of use time the page won't even load. Useless.

So what are my options for seeing the whole of the championship? GAAGO for the early stages then hope for the best with streams for the Aug/Sept games?? I have no problem with paying a subscription to get full coverage but it looks like the deal with Sky has robbed me of the climax of the championship. Anyone else in the same boat or with any suggestions I am over looking??
Post by: thejuice on June 15, 2014, 05:15:28 PM
I'm in the local pubs or the hurling. Might fork out for next year but haven't the spare beans for it after buying a house. Not buying sky anyways.
Post by: J OGorman on August 09, 2014, 03:44:05 PM
Have paid for the Donegal match with gaago. Unable to get it to.play on a kindle fire. Click link to watch and diddly. Flash playing Tec. Anyone any ideas? Be nice if they let you test a 5 second recorded stream to test the bastardin thing before paying

Thanks in as advance
Post by: sligoman2 on August 10, 2014, 12:24:41 PM
Sorry to hear that ogorman, send an email to rte and they will sort you out, or at least they did when I emailed them.

I have to say the service has been excellent and I am very satisfied with the quality of the picture, and I had my doubts at the start.  Well done (so far) to all involved, please make sure ye have enough bandwidth foe the semis and finals when the demand increases.

Also, it would be nice to put the Sunday game on there like it was last year on premium sports.
Post by: Puckoon on February 28, 2015, 06:14:45 PM
Anyone have a promo code for this or any US based posters using it? I'd like to give it a go but for the price I'd like to make sure it's a great deal better than the old setanta broadband
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on February 28, 2015, 06:32:59 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 28, 2015, 06:14:45 PM
Anyone have a promo code for this or any US based posters using it? I'd like to give it a go but for the price I'd like to make sure it's a great deal better than the old setanta broadband

I find it very unreliable, constantly buffering every few seconds.  They tell me it's my ISP, but I stream other stuff with no problem.   A friend of mine uses it, and it works for him just fine...so I guess it depends.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 28, 2015, 09:10:20 PM
I think those adverts will be a bit annoying as the year progresses. Who are the Sexton sisters?
Post by: qz on March 01, 2015, 01:41:11 AM
GAAGO has the worst streaming of any video site I use. Frustrating is an understatement, when you try to get into the momentum of a match. Stream interrupts nearly every minute. This happens on no other site I use for video.
Anyone  have similar experience?
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on March 01, 2015, 02:17:00 AM
Quote from: qz on March 01, 2015, 01:41:11 AM
GAAGO has the worst streaming of any video site I use. Frustrating is an understatement, when you try to get into the momentum of a match. Stream interrupts nearly every minute. This happens on no other site I use for video.
Anyone  have similar experience?

Mine's not quite that bad but it's not great either. Maybe a serious freeze every five minutes or so.
I really resent the amount this service costs. I think the reason it leaves such a bad taste is that they make out they're running the service out of the goodness of their hearts.
Post by: Puckoon on March 01, 2015, 03:49:12 AM
That's ny mind settled until GAAGO convince me otherwise. $179 isn't worth wasting if there's concern over the quality

Thanks
Post by: The Iceman on March 01, 2015, 04:18:02 AM
front row sports is as good as you are going to get online i think
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on March 01, 2015, 04:47:54 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 01, 2015, 03:49:12 AM
That's ny mind settled until GAAGO convince me otherwise. $179 isn't worth wasting if there's concern over the quality

Thanks

Why not try it for yourself for one game (10euro)?  If it doesn't work, they will refund it for you (though they make you jump through a few hoops first).
Post by: snoopdog on March 01, 2015, 12:31:22 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 01, 2015, 04:18:02 AM
does front row show gaa?
Post by: ballinaman on March 01, 2015, 12:51:18 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on March 01, 2015, 12:31:22 PM
does front row show gaa?
Just download Hola and it changes your IP automatically and you can watch it off the TG4 live player..
Post by: maigheo on March 01, 2015, 01:54:55 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 01, 2015, 03:49:12 AM

Thanks
I think the price is 160 dollars right now.I had it last year and also have it this year and have been very happy with the service.Customer service is very good and they get back to you within minutes after you contact them.For me well worth the money
Post by: joemamas on March 01, 2015, 02:25:11 PM
Should change name to GAAStop and GO, brutal today, anybody else having problems
Post by: Puckoon on March 01, 2015, 03:37:32 PM
160€, 173$

Might try a 10€ game to see how it runs

Thanks
Post by: maigheo on March 01, 2015, 04:06:40 PM
My mistake.179 dollars.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on March 01, 2015, 10:24:32 PM
If you're happy enough to wait until after the game is over and watch it then, GAAGo works just fine.  Very choppy/bufferey when watching live, in my experience.
Post by: The Iceman on March 02, 2015, 02:04:00 AM
does front row show gaa?
You can stream channels through it  - sky sports and RTE  I've watched both. Quality isn't HD or even fully clear SD but it's as good as you'll get for free online.
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on March 02, 2015, 02:09:17 AM
I only discovered Hola after I shelled out 260 euro. Much better option, you'll only miss the odd game that the GAA sold out to Sky and you can probably see most of them on streaming services anyway.
Wouldn't mind if the 260 smackers was going somewhere useful but every club I know of in my county is treated as a cash cow rather than a beneficiary.

By the way Channel Seven in Australia have quietly dropped their GAA coverage. Remember, this was one of the main things Croke Park was bragging about to spin the Sky deal.

Not a journalist I know if in Ireland willing to actually cover the story of emigrants getting fleeced in even a mildly critical way. Suppose they don't want to jeopardise the AI tickets dropping on their desks.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on March 02, 2015, 03:11:02 AM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 02, 2015, 02:04:00 AM
does front row show gaa?
You can stream channels through it  - sky sports and RTE  I've watched both. Quality isn't HD or even fully clear SD but it's as good as you'll get for free online.

How does that work?
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 01, 2016, 09:03:41 AM
Signed up for this gaaGo...not very pleased after one weekend. Chose not to watch any live games due to other conflicts, so can only comment on the On Demand viewing.

Saw about 55 mins of one Saturday game before it cut out and failed to restart...even tried starting from the beginning, but no joy.  Got the first 5 mins of second game before she locked up again.

Came back after the Sunday games and none wanted to even start...eventually one game got going, but alas lasted only 15 mins or so.

Tried both laptop and iPad, with wifi. 

Very disappointing to say the least.

Communications via email have commenced to their command post...I will update with any developments.

Post by: sligoman2 on February 01, 2016, 12:32:12 PM
I have to admit I have never had a problem.  I pay $5 additional to the cable co for extra internet power which made a huge difference foe me
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on February 01, 2016, 11:22:14 PM
Ball Hopper I have experienced the same problems for two years with Gaa Go, it's a disgrace of a service, and not a cheap one either. It simply doesn't work properly. I'm planning to do without this year, it will be gut-wrenching to miss some of the games but I just feel the GAA are fleecing their own members and can't be dealing with it any more.
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 02, 2016, 09:06:36 AM
Watched one of the inaccessible games in full with only minor buffering events.  I'm not all that pushed on watching the games live anyway.  A game a day on demand will keep me happy enough.

First email from gaaGo said a problem was identified and fixed.  Hopefully better service over the weekend.  Maybe too many subscribers versus their system capability this early in the year?

Will update after the weekend.  If others can share their experiences it will be valuable for anyone considering the purchase. 

Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on February 02, 2016, 02:47:40 PM
Used it last year, and had the same problems with constant buffering.  What I ended up doing was to slide the blue progress bar back about 5-10 mins behind the action, and that usually worked.  Only problem then was that if it did then start to buffer again (which was relatively rare), you had to catch it quick or it would revert back to the live action, and you'd know what the score was in live time at that point.

Bought the season pass this at the wkend, more in hope that the problems would have been solved this year, but had constant problems with buffering again.  Last year they tried to tell me the problem was my end (even though other streaming services work fine for me).  This weekend I tried it on both my wifi and on my 4g phone network.  Problems the same on each, so it isn't my end.   
Post by: Ohtoohtobe on February 04, 2016, 04:00:10 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on February 02, 2016, 02:47:40 PM
Last year they tried to tell me the problem was my end (even though other streaming services work fine for me).  This weekend I tried it on both my wifi and on my 4g phone network.  Problems the same on each, so it isn't my end.

Exactly what happened to me. Like you I had no problems streaming other stuff. I also tried it on my work computer and a computer at a friend's house and the problems were the same. I think it's borderline scandalous that they can charge what they do and then provide such a sub-standard service.
Post by: munchkin on February 04, 2016, 09:37:45 AM
had it last year with relatively few problems, just more gripes that a paused live stream (when a child unexpectedly does something that has to be cleaned up immediately!) might restart live rather than back 10mins before when you re-start it- but thats arguably an ipad / Apple tv issue than anything

I might just give it a skip this year though as I just havent the time, and when I or the wife do, then we'd often enough just hit the pub to get away from the kids when watching it live !

BTW, I see clubs have a scheme where they get a donation of 10% of the fee so maybe be aware of that when signing up that your local club gets a small kickback
Post by: munchkin on February 04, 2016, 04:12:34 PM
if youre in Sligo then you can get RTE and TG4 online for free PLUS gaa go only works abroad as RTE and TG4 are blocked to non irish viewers
Post by: J70 on February 04, 2016, 04:35:18 PM
I had no issues last year, but I couldn't watch the Donegal Down game at the weekend due to it stopping repeatedly and telling me it was my internet connection  (it wasn't). Watched it later in week and much better, but was still stopping and starting.

They better improve things.
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 09, 2016, 08:33:07 AM
Weekend number two much better.  Again, watched all games via the on demand feature.  Only a few buffering events in each game, and usually less than 10 seconds before resuming, although Donegal/Cork might have a few more buffering moments.

Happy with the improvement...next test is the small ball.

Post by: Ball Hopper on February 16, 2016, 09:18:19 AM
Hurling on the iPad was quite good.  Zero buffering watching a few days after the event.

Am pleased at this stage with the service.  Hope it keeps up the standard for the season.

Post by: Fuzzman on February 16, 2016, 11:41:53 AM
Anyone know if you are a Setanta customer can you watch their channels including BT Sports online the same as watching say Sky sports?
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 25, 2016, 07:59:59 PM
GAAGO offering 10% discount on season pass till end Feb.
Post by: sligoman2 on February 27, 2016, 02:40:42 PM
Just bought it ....
Post by: J70 on February 27, 2016, 05:24:25 PM
Who's on this weekend?
Post by: sligoman2 on February 27, 2016, 05:50:31 PM
dubv Monaghan
Armagh v ferm today

Donegal v mayo
Down v Kerry. Tomorrow

How do you attach a picture to a post?
Post by: FL/MAYO on February 27, 2016, 06:57:19 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on February 27, 2016, 05:50:31 PM
dubv Monaghan
Armagh v ferm today

Any idea of the TV channels for these games?

Donegal v mayo
Down v Kerry. Tomorrow

How do you attach a picture to a post?
Post by: sligoman2 on February 27, 2016, 07:43:08 PM
So far so good.  Brilliant picture on this high def tv I just got.

Good game between dub and Monaghan so far

Game is also on setanta
Post by: omaghjoe on May 10, 2016, 05:12:41 AM
Didnt buy this year yet, but whats the deal for the championship? Do they usually cut the price?
Post by: sligoman2 on December 21, 2016, 01:07:51 PM
I just got the 2017 full season pass for $134 which I think is great value and less than last year.  I know some people have had issues with the service but it has been perfect for me.   I bought it today because there's a 10% discount that expires tomorrow ( I think).

Normal price is $149 so with discount it ends up around $134.  Loving the strong dollar...

Oh by the way the discount code is launch17
Post by: OgraAnDun on December 21, 2016, 01:57:26 PM
https://www.f-secure.com/en_GB/web/home_gb/freedome

Allows me to watch live TV perfectly, sporting or non sporting, on RTE/TG4/BBC etc - more versatile than GAAGo and a lot cheaper too...
Post by: maigheo on December 22, 2016, 12:38:47 AM
just renewed at 134 dollars.Very happy with the service
Post by: Ball Hopper on December 22, 2016, 08:53:10 PM
Renewed at $134 as well. 

I use it exclusively on-demand, as work and other things prevent live viewing.  It made for some interesting viewing in the summer to watch league games from earlier in the year. 

The most enjoyable games from 2016 for me were the two KK/Waterford games and the AI Hurling Final.  And I wouldn't be a huge hurling man at all.  First half of the KK/Waterford replay from Thurles was unreal.

There was a sense of inevitability about most of the big football games, the exception being Tipp taking out Galway while playing nice football.

Post by: sligoman2 on December 24, 2016, 06:57:00 AM
I use the on demand feature when I can't watch live - I just try to make sure nobody tells me the score before I watch the game.
Hopefully there are some more surprises this coming year in football
Post by: Ball Hopper on January 31, 2017, 11:58:49 PM
GAAGO have released their games until 25 February...not all are live, but all will be available on demand until 1 December 2017. 

22 games is some load for February (and the last Sunday's games are not included).  You can buy an individual game in USA for $12 or the season of 125 games plus every episode of The Sunday Game for $149.

February 4-25 below:

Saturday 4th Feb 17:00 (Irish time) AIB Club Hurling semi-final...ST THOMAS v BALLYEA
Saturday 4th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 1...MAYO v MONAGHAN
Saturday 4th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 2...DOWN v FERMANAGH
Saturday 4th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 3...LAOIS v LOUTH

Sunday 5th Feb 14:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 1...CAVAN v DUBLIN
Sunday 5th Feb 15:30 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 1...DONEGAL v KERRY

Sat 11 Feb 14:00 (Irish time) AIB Club Football semi-final...SLAUGHTNEIL v ST VINCENTS
Saturday 11th Feb 16:00 (Irish time) AIB Club Football semi-final...COROFIN v DR CROKES
Sat. 11th Feb 17:00 (Irish time) Allianz Hurling League Div. 1A ...DUBLIN v TIPPERARY
Saturday 11th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 1...DUBLIN v TYRONE
Saturday 11th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 1...KERRY v MAYO
Saturday 11th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Hurling League Div. 1A...CORK v CLARE

Sun 12 Feb 14:00 (Irish time) Allianz Hurling League Div. 1A...KILKENNY v WATERFORD
Sun 12th Feb 15:30 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 1...ROSCOMMON v DONEGAL

Saturday 18th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Hurling League Div. 1A... CORK v DUBLIN
Saturday 18th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Hurling League Div. 1B...LAOIS v OFFALY

Sun 19 Feb 14:00 (Irish time) Allianz Hurling League Div. 1A...WATERFORD v TIPPERARY
Sunday 19th Feb 15:30 (Irish time) Allianz Hurling League Div. 1A...CLARE v KILKENNY

Saturday 25th Feb 15:00 (Irish time) AIB Club Hurling semi-final...CUALA v SLAUGHTNEIL
Saturday 25th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 1...MAYO v ROSCOMMON
Saturday 25th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 2...DOWN v MEATH
Saturday 25th Feb 19:00 (Irish time) Allianz Football League Div. 3...LAOIS v TIPPERARY

Post by: Ball Hopper on February 03, 2017, 10:49:08 PM
Right on cue, the website goes down.  Wonder if we get any games this weekend?
Post by: gortnaleck on February 04, 2017, 10:47:46 AM
Looks like I'll have to go to my backup Edigital place
Post by: maigheo on February 04, 2017, 02:26:13 PM
site still screwed up.Keeps reopening.Still have a few hours to fix the problem
Post by: maigheo on February 04, 2017, 03:44:24 PM
Back on line right now and all seems well ;D
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 06, 2017, 07:36:11 PM
Watched two games on demand (none live) over the weekend and I must say the service was excellent.  Not one instance of buffering, which is amazing.

Hopefully they can keep it up. 
Post by: sligoman2 on February 06, 2017, 10:36:37 PM
Same here ball hopper.  The quality of the picture on the high def tv is brilliant.

Keep up the good work GAAGO
Post by: Ball Hopper on May 22, 2017, 06:14:48 AM
Just finished watching the Cork/Tipperary hurling match on GAAGO.  Not even one instance of buffering in the entire showing (just under 2 hours long).  Excellent quality on the hi def as well.

Keep it up, GAAGO.

Post by: sligoman2 on May 23, 2017, 06:03:25 PM
I watched both matches on Sunday without a glitch, picture quality is excellent.
Post by: NetNitrate on May 23, 2017, 07:03:50 PM
Picture quality is great. My only quibble is that on Roku, there seems to be quite a long delay - would say it's well over a minute.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2017, 04:29:39 PM
What's GAAGO like these days? I see from above it was good but suspect with the Leinster and Ulster finals on this Sunday traffic will be a lot heavier.
Post by: J70 on July 10, 2017, 04:40:11 PM
No problems for me personally so far this year. I use it either on my PC or on the tv via Roku.

But, the test will be, as you say, as we get into the more high demand games.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 10, 2017, 06:31:00 PM
I got it for the first time and there were some buffering issues, but I think it was the house connection which has a lot of devices.
Also I am finding Chrome better than Firefox as the browser and the ipad better than my laptop. Once again it could be just where I am.
I am happy out with this service and paying for it, but I will wait for Michael Duignan to support us all getting a refund as it was a disgrace the hurling game on Saturday wasn't available to me and thousands more abroad for free...
Post by: armaghniac on July 10, 2017, 07:07:21 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 10, 2017, 06:31:00 PM
but I will wait for Michael Duignan to support us all getting a refund as it was a disgrace the hurling game on Saturday wasn't available to me and thousands more abroad for free...

It should not be made available abroad for free, but should be on GAAGo for anyone who wants it, and who does not have a dish.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 10, 2017, 07:39:10 PM
I agree! That was tongue in cheek. I want to see the games and get that service so I pay for it.
Just thought it was worth noting how those abroad who are behind a pay wall are not included in the outrage...
I think it is a great service and a great idea from everyone who made it happen. It works!

Post by: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2017, 08:41:50 PM
Grand will get it for Sunday.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 10, 2017, 09:09:27 PM
Use Chrome and ipad if you can.
Also an issue in general with HDMi cable is that audio and pics don't syn so comms might be out. If you have a smart TV or a link with a device better to go direct.
Post by: Hound on July 11, 2017, 09:13:07 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 10, 2017, 08:41:50 PM
Grand will get it for Sunday.
Going to be in the same boat too. I'm in rural England for the weekend so raging its not on Sky! I see Premier Sports has it in the UK, but presume there'll be feck all pubs that subscribe to it, so I'll be fingers crossed my wifi is strong enough to avoid buffering on GAAGO.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 11, 2017, 11:18:46 AM
I use my iPhone or iPad to Apple TV box no problems at all.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 15, 2017, 12:05:52 PM
I see the season pass is now $109 for the rest of the year which is still good value imo as it includes the Sunday game etc.
4 games on this weekend.

Top job so far, well done to all at GAAGO, please keep up the good work now that we are approaching the business end of the championships.
Post by: PMG1 on July 15, 2017, 05:55:34 PM
If you are in northern Ireland does gaago season pass give you access yo all the games on rte, sky etc?
Post by: armaghniac on July 15, 2017, 09:50:52 PM
The games on Sky alone used not be available at UK IP addresses on GAAgo and the price was reduced. If you are in the north you can watch on RTÉ website provided your IP number isn't in England
Post by: omaghjoe on July 16, 2017, 02:57:13 PM

Rubbish for any1 else today?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2017, 09:17:34 AM
Excellent for me in the South of France except for Martin Carney couldn't ask for more.
Post by: The Subbie on July 17, 2017, 01:39:42 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2017, 09:17:34 AM
Excellent for me in the South of France except for Martin Carney couldn't ask for more.
I thought you were gonna forget about the south of France and go to Monaghan for an Indian instead Dinny, what happened??? 8)
Hope the holidays are going well !
Post by: sligoman2 on July 18, 2017, 11:10:09 AM
No problems here either.

The service can only be as good as the wifi or wired internet you are using. 
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 18, 2017, 06:58:40 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on July 17, 2017, 01:39:42 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 17, 2017, 09:17:34 AM
I thought you were gonna forget about the south of France and go to Monaghan for an Indian instead Dinny, what happened??? 8)
Hope the holidays are going well !

Ha! Yes the wine has eased the pain.  I will get that Indian when I get back.

But GAAGO has much improved.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 18, 2017, 12:56:27 AM
I have to say fair play to Rte and Gaago.  I enjoyed all the games, had no problems and was happy with the price.

We are quick enough to criticize and we should also be able to say fair play when it is due.

Well done to all involved. Great coverage and great picture quality...
Post by: J70 on September 18, 2017, 01:03:12 AM
Yes, great job this year.

Worked fantastically on Roku.

If only NBC Sports could get their shit sorted with their premier league app in a similar fashion!
Post by: Syferus on September 18, 2017, 01:28:06 AM
As someone who works on these sorts of things for a living the one time I had to use it all year (via a proxy to see the Ros-Dublin massacre in the league) left me with a bad taste in my mouth. Still a very 1.0 platform, and the UI is needlessly obtuse in places. Games are expensive and more than that, the service should be much more complete in terms of its archive as well also offering other GAA shows aired on RTE and TG4. Being able to thumb through 50-60 years of old Sunday Games and documentaries would make it a service they could sell to GAA supporters at home as well.

NFL Pass should be the gold standard for this sort of service and GAAGO remains a long way off that.
Post by: Puckoon on September 18, 2017, 03:23:49 AM
I'd give it 6.5/10. A lot of buffering, at times there seemed to be 2 sets of commentary coming through, and a periodic pause.

I'd love to have a service that was worth the money (whatever that may be)
Post by: omaghjoe on September 18, 2017, 03:48:47 AM
Its been ok this year better than it has been but I had a bit of bother with it today. No problem with the 3 stooges but then it went AWOL for the first 10mins twas ok after that. However there was a 2min lag on it

And if I have to listen to that Hunt plank 1 more time I think I will go mad, why the hell was that part of their marketing?
Post by: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 12:32:49 AM
I haven't had any issues with it since I upgraded my internet plan for more power.  I actually go with wifi from router to iPad to Apple TV to big screen.
Agree with hunt and the cork hurling strike from 20 years ago, not to mention the same bank of Ireland ad and the guy in London who wants to move to Ireland.I think gaago could do something more inventive during the breaks, maybe a quiz or something.  But the games themselves have been top class.
Post by: J70 on September 19, 2017, 02:14:03 AM
Perhaps the internet signal strength IS an issue.

We have a plan which gives us up to 330 Mbps and the Roku app has been excellent. No issues whatsoever with buffering this year.
Post by: sligoman2 on November 30, 2017, 06:14:28 PM

Looks like gaago rates will remain the same for next year, which is great with some added features.

See email I received from them yesterday - below...

Dear Customer,

We hope you're enjoying your annual subscription to GAAGO!

Our 2018 Season Pass will launch shortly – however, you don't have to do anything as your subscription will auto-renew at €140/$149 on the same date as you purchased last year. It means you have uninterrupted access to all 2018 has to offer

Our 2018 Season Pass is our most comprehensive one yet, with access to more matches than ever before, brand new documentaries updated throughout the year, a new archive of classic games from yesteryear and, for the first time ever, League Sunday! The new formats from the GAA promise an even more exciting Championship in 2018, so you won't miss a thing.

However, if you would prefer to cancel auto-renew, you can do so in the MY GAAGO section of your account, where you can also see all your purchase history.

Thank you for using GAAGO!
Post by: Ball Hopper on November 30, 2017, 09:36:07 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on November 30, 2017, 06:14:28 PM

Looks like gaago rates will remain the same for next year, which is great with some added features.

Dear Customer,

Our 2018 Season Pass will launch shortly – however, you don't have to do anything as your subscription will auto-renew at €140/$149 on the same date as you purchased last year. It means you have uninterrupted access to all 2018 has to offer

Our 2018 Season Pass is our most comprehensive one yet, with access to more matches than ever before, brand new documentaries updated throughout the year, a new archive of classic games from yesteryear and, for the first time ever, League Sunday! The new formats from the GAA promise an even more exciting Championship in 2018, so you won't miss a thing.

However, if you would prefer to cancel auto-renew, you can do so in the MY GAAGO section of your account, where you can also see all your purchase history.

Hopefully these will be available from 1 Jan 2018 for viewing...January is definitely the longest month of the year for me.

Post by: Never beat the deeler on December 01, 2017, 02:59:24 AM

Dear Customer,

I hope they update their player - can't rewind, slow or anything. You need to drag the wee progress bar if you want to scan through and it;s rubbish
Post by: Ball Hopper on December 01, 2017, 08:29:47 PM

Dear Customer,

Got a follow up email:

Dear Customer,

Please ignore previous email sent in error today 01/12/2017.

Apologies for the inconvenience.

Best regards,
GAAGO Support.
Post by: Ball Hopper on January 11, 2018, 08:02:59 PM
Email today with a nice line up of games to get us through January:

We hope you're easing yourself back into the new year and enjoyed your break over the holidays.

This week we've introduced an added new feature to our product for Season Pass holders; our 'Classic Games' archive. Throughout the year we will be adding full-length games from the last number of decades that live on in the memory of GAA fans. This library of matches will be constantly added to all year. Here are the details of the opening batch of 14 games for you to enjoy and reminisce on in addition to all the live action we have to look forward to.

Hurling

1996 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Wexford v Limerick
    1995 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Clare v Offaly
    1994 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Limerick v Offaly
    1990 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Cork v Galway
    1988 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Galway v Tipperary
    1984 All Ireland Hurling Final - Cork v Offaly
    1973 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Kilkenny v Limerick

Football

1992 Ulster Football Final - Donegal v Derry
    1992 All-Ireland Football Semi-Final - Donegal v Mayo
    1990 All-Ireland Football Final - Cork v Meath
    1982 All-Ireland Football Final - Kerry v Offaly
    1972 All-Ireland Football Final REPLAY - Kerry v Offaly
    1966 All-Ireland Football Final - Galway v Meath
    1965 All-Ireland Football Final - Kerry v Galway
Post by: sligoman2 on January 11, 2018, 08:19:46 PM
Yeah, nice addition to the menu.

Wonder when the league schedule will be out.
Post by: Puckoon on February 03, 2018, 02:59:06 PM
Any promo codes bouncing around?
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 03, 2018, 09:41:01 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 03, 2018, 02:59:06 PM
Any promo codes bouncing around?

Nothing this year so far...
Post by: omaghjoe on May 05, 2018, 04:46:43 PM
I see its at US$150 at the minute what did it cost in January?

Does anyone know at what point do they start cutting the prices? Is it at the provincial final stage or the quarter finals?

Post by: Gmac on May 05, 2018, 05:21:05 PM
Get edigital place give u all home channels uk and us $60 a year and comes through good
Post by: munchkin on May 07, 2018, 02:53:46 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 05, 2018, 04:46:43 PM

Does anyone know at what point do they start cutting the prices? Is it at the provincial final stage or the quarter finals?
this year there was no promo offer I don't think.

There was a month free trial, during April when theres no matches, and that was it.
Post by: Itchy on May 07, 2018, 03:08:30 PM
Quote from: munchkin on May 07, 2018, 02:53:46 PM

There was a month free trial, during April when theres no matches, and that was it.

Don't understand for the life of me why anyone would pay that sort of money each year with much cheaper options available.
Post by: omaghjoe on May 07, 2018, 04:46:33 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2018, 03:08:30 PM

Don't understand for the life of me why anyone would pay that sort of money each year with much cheaper options available.

Well don't keep them to yourself...?
Post by: omaghjoe on May 07, 2018, 04:47:36 PM
Quote from: Gmac on May 05, 2018, 05:21:05 PM
Get edigital place give u all home channels uk and us $60 a year and comes through good
Does it have  a smart tv app?
Post by: Therealdonald on May 07, 2018, 05:00:27 PM
yeah itchy how does this edigital work?
Post by: sligoman2 on May 07, 2018, 06:25:29 PM
Quote from: omaghjoe on May 07, 2018, 04:46:33 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 07, 2018, 03:08:30 PM

Well don't keep them to yourself...?

Maybe we subscribe because we want to support something that means a lot to many of us.  I think it's a great deal and am okay with the price, if nobody buys it then it goes away and that would be unacceptable.  I didn't see any discounts this year but think $149 is okay as they have the Sunday game and many documentaries, plus you can watch any game you missed live.

Post by: Itchy on May 07, 2018, 06:45:58 PM
I've helped a few people but can only be done by pm so contact me if you need help.
Post by: Jinxy on May 07, 2018, 07:09:34 PM
Fair play, Itchy.
If you want to save money, always ask a Cavan man for advice.
Post by: Itchy on May 07, 2018, 07:17:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 07, 2018, 07:09:34 PM
Fair play, Itchy.
If you want to save money, always ask a Cavan man for advice.

Only available to counties with electricity lad do your out of luck.
Post by: Therealdonald on May 08, 2018, 05:19:48 PM
So guys as I mentioned earlier, I bought GAAGO prematurely, but moving on I downloaded it on my Roku TV, but it won't seem to load up. Has anyone had a similar issue? Is it a bug or am I being stupid?
Post by: Jinxy on May 08, 2018, 08:45:09 PM
Did you try turning it off and on again?
Post by: Therealdonald on May 08, 2018, 09:37:00 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 08, 2018, 08:45:09 PM
Did you try turning it off and on again?

Thanks for the insight Jinxy, but yes I've tried all the dumb things. Off and on, install uninstall etc. Is there a bug maybe with the software? I'm more asking for info/help from someone else that has tried to use Roku for it.
Post by: NetNitrate on May 09, 2018, 12:23:13 AM
Never had any issues with Roku. Is your same account working when you access GAAGO on mobile and web?
Post by: Ball Hopper on May 09, 2018, 12:58:13 AM
Quote from: Therealdonald on May 08, 2018, 05:19:48 PM
So guys as I mentioned earlier, I bought GAAGO prematurely, but moving on I downloaded it on my Roku TV, but it won't seem to load up. Has anyone had a similar issue? Is it a bug or am I being stupid?

With your username, it has to be a fake.

#fakeGAAgames
Post by: DoireGael on May 13, 2018, 01:37:24 PM
Looking at buying this €70 GB GAAGO (Based in London). Basically is it worth it? Do you get the Sunday game with it?
Post by: BennyHarp on May 13, 2018, 01:49:31 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on May 13, 2018, 01:37:24 PM
Looking at buying this €70 GB GAAGO (Based in London). Basically is it worth it? Do you get the Sunday game with it?

I bought it earlier in the year and I think it's great value. The Sunday league show wasn't on until Monday but the Sunday Game for the championship is broadcast live on Sunday night and is available on catch up to watch whenever. After a few quality issues with the picture in previous years, I've had no problems so far this year. I stream it to my TV using Apple TV via my phone and it's spot on. I assume you know it doesn't show any games that Sky cover though.
Post by: giveherlong on May 22, 2018, 01:03:45 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 13, 2018, 01:49:31 PM
Quote from: DoireGael on May 13, 2018, 01:37:24 PM

I bought it earlier in the year and I think it's great value. The Sunday league show wasn't on until Monday but the Sunday Game for the championship is broadcast live on Sunday night and is available on catch up to watch whenever. After a few quality issues with the picture in previous years, I've had no problems so far this year. I stream it to my TV using Apple TV via my phone and it's spot on. I assume you know it doesn't show any games that Sky cover though.

Was looking into it as well
Does it have all the games which are 'exclusive' to sky sports?
Post by: sligoman2 on May 23, 2018, 12:28:10 PM
I think it does, but not all games are televised..

I was able to watch Monaghan v Tyrone on Sunday night because it saves all the games and is a great feature.  If you have the right tv and internet service the quality of the picture is excellent, high def.

I'm Very happy with the service and I was the one who started this thread giving out about them...
Post by: The Subbie on May 23, 2018, 10:03:46 PM
Did anyone else notice on GAAGO coverage of the Tyrone-Monaghan game that it skipped from 39 mins to 43 mins ? It didn't show Beggans free hitting the post
Post by: BennyHarp on May 24, 2018, 12:15:04 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 23, 2018, 10:03:46 PM
Did anyone else notice on GAAGO coverage of the Tyrone-Monaghan game that it skipped from 39 mins to 43 mins ? It didn't show Beggans free hitting the post

It did that on the BBC coverage too.
Post by: theticklemister on May 24, 2018, 12:24:16 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 24, 2018, 12:15:04 AM

It did that on the BBC coverage too.

Media bastards.

Hi Benny Harp me oul mucker, I was thinking about getting the oul GAAgo, but not many decent football games shown until the super 8 shit and then sky get some.

Anyways, good excuse to get away to the bar
Post by: giveherlong on May 24, 2018, 10:45:11 AM
The other option if you're stuck is a day pass for sky sports via Now TV for £7.99 or GaaGo pass for a match at 10 Euro
Post by: J70 on May 24, 2018, 10:54:12 AM
Watched the Micko documentary on GAA Go last night. Very enjoyable. Talk about a life well lived! Although it was poignant to hear him talking about his wife passing, living alone in his big house, and show his hands starting to succumb to old age.
Post by: munchkin on May 24, 2018, 01:47:25 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on May 23, 2018, 12:28:10 PM
I think it does, but not all games are televised..
<snip>
are you sure you are not talking about the €140 worldwide gaago and not the limited €70 GB version which has less matches, and less means (AFAIK) nothing that sky shows which means no sky exclusive games plus no all ireland semis or finals.
Post by: thejuice on May 25, 2018, 04:21:36 PM
No sky games on GB pass definitely.

It's wonder though in this day and age that the GAA aren't streaming all games online. They already have the cameras for the highlights so why not let people pay to watch games that aren't broadcast on tv. Meath were broadcasting the O'Byrne Cup games through the official app so I don't think it's much to set up. I can't get home for games as often these days so I'd love to have something like this.
Post by: Gmac on June 03, 2018, 12:55:40 AM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on January 11, 2018, 08:02:59 PM
Email today with a nice line up of games to get us through January:

We hope you're easing yourself back into the new year and enjoyed your break over the holidays.

This week we've introduced an added new feature to our product for Season Pass holders; our 'Classic Games' archive. Throughout the year we will be adding full-length games from the last number of decades that live on in the memory of GAA fans. This library of matches will be constantly added to all year. Here are the details of the opening batch of 14 games for you to enjoy and reminisce on in addition to all the live action we have to look forward to.

Hurling

1996 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Wexford v Limerick
    1995 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Clare v Offaly
    1994 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Limerick v Offaly
    1990 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Cork v Galway
    1988 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Galway v Tipperary
    1984 All Ireland Hurling Final - Cork v Offaly
    1973 All-Ireland Hurling Final - Kilkenny v Limerick

Football

1992 Ulster Football Final - Donegal v Derry
    1992 All-Ireland Football Semi-Final - Donegal v Mayo
    1990 All-Ireland Football Final - Cork v Meath
    1982 All-Ireland Football Final - Kerry v Offaly
    1972 All-Ireland Football Final REPLAY - Kerry v Offaly
    1966 All-Ireland Football Final - Galway v Meath
    1965 All-Ireland Football Final - Kerry v Galway
anyone watching dubs v Armagh  77 all Ireland on eir sport players took some serious hits with very little reaction, no holding onto the ball after a free also a bonus
The defending was bad tho it has to be said  also the penalty the Armagh player scored in the first half was one of the best gaa penalties I've ever seen
Post by: munchkin on June 04, 2018, 03:12:37 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 25, 2018, 04:21:36 PM
No sky games on GB pass definitely.

It's wonder though in this day and age that the GAA aren't streaming all games online. They already have the cameras for the highlights so why not let people pay to watch games that aren't broadcast on tv. Meath were broadcasting the O'Byrne Cup games through the official app so I don't think it's much to set up. I can't get home for games as often these days so I'd love to have something like this.
there's been murmurings of doing something regarding a GAA Tv channel, and I see it as being inevitable that happen at some stage in the future, but I'd be surprised if it happened before the end of this media rights deal which is another 4 years to run.

The GAA can't introduce anything new into Ireland until that deal is gone, as they aren't going to give any goodies to the folks abroad which would pish off people at home who are already sensitive over the sky deal.

The previous broadcast deal abroad with Setanta had a delayed game every week which was a help in getting to see a broader range of games, so even to go back to that would be a massive bonus.
Post by: craicwas90 on July 25, 2018, 05:00:27 PM
I see they are doing a package bundle for the end of the season

https://www.gaago.ie/fixture/BC59-18-EV-FINALS

Took up their free trial earlier on in the season, pleasantly surprised that the gaa can produce something good! Think I'll be getting this bundle as it works out cheaper than going to the pub!
Post by: Ball Hopper on January 24, 2019, 07:52:48 PM
Free Pass for this weekend only:

https://www.gaago.ie/packages
Post by: toby47 on January 25, 2019, 10:01:05 AM
What exactly is Gaa Go? Is it an app? Can it be used in North & South?
Post by: Ball Hopper on January 25, 2019, 07:32:28 PM
Quote from: toby47 on January 25, 2019, 10:01:05 AM
What exactly is Gaa Go? Is it an app? Can it be used in North & South?

GB has a limited service, otherwise International service only.  Not available on the Island Of Ireland.
Post by: thejuice on February 17, 2019, 11:38:39 AM
Anyone know a way of putting this on a smart tv other than a laptop and a hdmi cable. The tv has a web browser and I can load the GAAgo page but doesn't support the videos. Would one of those google chromecast or something similar do that? Would it be any better than the laptop and hdmi in anyway?
Post by: craicwas90 on February 17, 2019, 07:34:00 PM
Quote from: thejuice on February 17, 2019, 11:38:39 AM
Anyone know a way of putting this on a smart tv other than a laptop and a hdmi cable. The tv has a web browser and I can load the GAAgo page but doesn't support the videos. Would one of those google chromecast or something similar do that? Would it be any better than the laptop and hdmi in anyway?

Chromecast works for me through the player on laptop and Android.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 17, 2019, 08:15:29 PM

Works fine with screen mirroring on Apple TV
Post by: thejuice on February 17, 2019, 08:29:42 PM
I have an iPhone so I'll give that a go. I'm a bit clueless with the latest tv gadgetry these days as I'd have little use for it otherwise.

Edit: I'll need to use the Samsung Smart View app to do this I think not Apple TV as my tv is Samsung.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on February 19, 2019, 04:03:26 PM
If you have a firestick or can otherwise download the amazon silk browser, that works fine for me on gaago.
Post by: Gmac on February 19, 2019, 05:01:42 PM
i have edigitalplace.com which is also 24/7 stream tv it's $60 a year and has all Irish English and us channels I log into it on the smart tv like a laptop and comes through great .
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 19, 2019, 07:05:29 PM
Quote from: Gmac on February 19, 2019, 05:01:42 PM
i have edigitalplace.com which is also 24/7 stream tv it's $60 a year and has all Irish English and us channels I log into it on the smart tv like a laptop and comes through great .

Can you record games from edigitalplace.com?
Post by: Gmac on February 19, 2019, 08:28:27 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on February 19, 2019, 07:05:29 PM
Quote from: Gmac on February 19, 2019, 05:01:42 PM
i don't know how u would that doesn't mean it can't be done but it's not like a cable tv feed there's no stopping or rewinding

Can you record games from edigitalplace.com?
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 20, 2019, 12:19:23 AM
The most annoying thing about Gaago is their player. You can't speed up or slow down playback.
You can't rewind or go forward unless using the slider (which is really inaccurate)

And they leave all the gaps in when putting up games. Half time will be twenty minutes of Gaago's loop of random people's tweets from 5 years ago
Post by: sligoman2 on February 20, 2019, 04:22:56 PM
If you are in the USA you can download gaago on Roku, and you can use the remote to go forward or back etc.. if using an iPhone you can airplay to Apple TV and use the Apple remote.  Very happy with sevice so far this year.
Post by: armaghniac on March 01, 2019, 12:30:49 PM
What's the story with GAAGo and the league games that are on Eirsport. Does GAAGo work for these games in 26 counties, in 6 counties?

Is there another PPV way of getting Eirsport games?
Post by: Ball Hopper on March 01, 2019, 08:36:43 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 01, 2019, 12:30:49 PM
What's the story with GAAGo and the league games that are on Eirsport. Does GAAGo work for these games in 26 counties, in 6 counties?

Is there another PPV way of getting Eirsport games?

GAAGO is not available in the 26 counties or the 6 counties.  It is limited in some way in England/Scotland/Wales, but I think league games are available.

No idea on getting Eirsport via PPV or any other platform.
Post by: BennyHarp on June 22, 2019, 07:54:56 PM
Anyone else having problems with this tonight?
Post by: Niall Quinn on June 22, 2019, 07:58:05 PM
yeah, it shut down just before half in the munster final
Post by: BennyHarp on January 25, 2021, 06:58:58 PM
I may be a bit late to this but I see they have all their content on an app now. At first glance it seems pretty decent.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on May 23, 2021, 03:29:42 PM
Absolutely dire today.  Must have missed at least 15 minutes of the game with the stream cutting out and freezing.
Post by: Itchy on May 23, 2021, 06:44:28 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on May 23, 2021, 03:29:42 PM
Absolutely dire today.  Must have missed at least 15 minutes of the game with the stream cutting out and freezing.

Sligo v antrim?

Watched a good few this week and last, today's game between sligo and antrim was first major blip
Post by: Captain Scarlet on May 23, 2021, 07:28:39 PM
Just on Kildare v Clare they eventually turned up the volume. Ya couldn't hear the comms at all really for the first 10-15 minutes and they also had errors in spelling. Jimmy Hoyland was lining for Kildare seemingly.

I know there are more serious things but if you are charging for a service it should be good.
Post by: mouview on May 23, 2021, 08:41:12 PM
There other major network disruptions ongoing in the country currently? One of my ISPs is under DDOS attack at the moment.
Post by: Gold on May 23, 2021, 08:51:53 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 23, 2021, 06:44:28 PM

Sligo v antrim?

Watched a good few this week and last, today's game between sligo and antrim was first major blip

Tyrone v Armagh last night for me too

As an Antrim man I was gutted to miss that last second winner today

Not good enough

If you pay for a pint you get a pint...not 2 sips of a pint. Compensation needed as service not provided
Post by: An Watcher on May 23, 2021, 09:27:08 PM
Not an antrim man but gutted to miss an exciting finish in the antrim game
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on May 24, 2021, 02:29:11 AM
Quote from: Itchy on May 23, 2021, 06:44:28 PM

Sligo v antrim?

Nah, Dublin Kerry.  Dublin were winning with 5 minutes to go. I'm told it was a draw in the end, but I'm not sure I believe it.

I watched the Dublin hurlers Vs. Antrim on Saturday and the stream was fine.
Post by: rosnarun on May 24, 2021, 12:36:15 PM
Quote from: mouview on May 23, 2021, 08:41:12 PM
There other major network disruptions ongoing in the country currently? One of my ISPs is under DDOS attack at the moment.
how did you know that did you get a text or was it on their website or something .
theproblem with internet fails is its not alway easy to say who is to blame.
My GAA go was perfect  last week and this. my only problem is there too many games top watch. just feeding the addiction
Post by: mouview on May 24, 2021, 09:36:07 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 24, 2021, 12:36:15 PM
Quote from: mouview on May 23, 2021, 08:41:12 PM
how did you know that did you get a text or was it on their website or something .
theproblem with internet fails is its not alway easy to say who is to blame.
My GAA go was perfect  last week and this. my only problem is there too many games top watch. just feeding the addiction

Yes; Airwire, Galway-based provider texted details of a DDOS attack, and I saw a Lightnet one also. I think there was a fair bit of disruption around the country yesterday. If it happens again, try using your mobile as a Wi-Fi hotspot; if it has a 4G signal, should get away with it.
Post by: Dreadnought on May 25, 2021, 08:10:18 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 23, 2021, 07:28:39 PM
Just on Kildare v Clare they eventually turned up the volume. Ya couldn't hear the comms at all really for the first 10-15 minutes and they also had errors in spelling. Jimmy Hoyland was lining for Kildare seemingly.

I know there are more serious things but if you are charging for a service it should be good.

Ah I hear where you are coming from, but they are small things. Commentary on game I watched was brutal, but I didn't mind. If anything (as much as many might not want to hear it) it shows the production values of likes of RTE which are usually slagged off. I know we're paying a fiver, but as long as I'm seeing the game then I don't mind spelling mistakes or bad commentary. Stream first for me, and if that stops then we've a problem. They simply wouldn't have the funds behind to produce a lot of high production quality streams over a weekend so need to temper expecctations. I'm just happy I saw my game
Post by: Soju on May 30, 2021, 10:54:37 AM
Anyone try watching the Monaghan v Tyrone & Donegal v Armagh games  on catch up today?
I could only watch 40 mins of the Monaghan v Tyrone and then it just stops.
The Donegal v Armagh game will only play from the 52 min to the 53 min. I mean what is going on?
This is the third time I've tried to watch a catch up game (the day after the live stream) and it's either not working (Donegal V Tyrone) or just shows bits of the game.

How can they not set up a recorded game properly for play back?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 30, 2021, 12:09:08 PM
Can watch back on the full Armagh v Donegal match here.

https://youtu.be/41DTlju_DBM
Post by: RedHand88 on May 30, 2021, 12:28:00 PM
Quote from: Soju on May 30, 2021, 10:54:37 AM
Anyone try watching the Monaghan v Tyrone & Donegal v Armagh games  on catch up today?
The Donegal v Armagh game will only play from the 52 min to the 53 min. I mean what is going on?
This is the third time I've tried to watch a catch up game (the day after the live stream) and it's either not working (Donegal V Tyrone) or just shows bits of the game.

Not being able to show it live is one thing. Not being able to playback on demand is ridiculous.
Post by: Soju on May 30, 2021, 02:52:01 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 30, 2021, 12:28:00 PM

Not being able to show it live is one thing. Not being able to playback on demand is ridiculous.
It's working grand now after I contacted them about the problem. And it's not the first time i've had to contact them about on demand playback.
Smacks of staff that don't give a f**k or incompetent.
Post by: Main Street on May 30, 2021, 04:30:16 PM
GAAGO has more teething problems than Shane McGowan.

FWIW, the Tyrone Monaghan game does get back on track about half way into the 2nd half.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on May 30, 2021, 11:05:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 30, 2021, 04:30:16 PM

FWIW, the Tyrone Monaghan game does get back on track about half way into the 2nd half.

Teething problems? The feckin thing was launched in 2014
Post by: Main Street on May 31, 2021, 12:31:29 AM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on May 30, 2021, 11:05:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on May 30, 2021, 04:30:16 PM

Teething problems? The feckin thing was launched in 2014
And Shane McGowan still has (seriously bad) teeth problems
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on May 31, 2021, 03:54:58 AM
Yeah, Gaago is about the level of reliability you'd expect from livestream365 or some such dodgy spot.  But it should be better if you're paying for it.
Post by: delgany on May 31, 2021, 05:24:53 AM
The GAAGO games are being transmitted from a live feed from a transit van with a dish. You'd see a news crew do a live link with. Compare that the to the infrastructure used for a live gave via rte/bbc, 4 or 5 massive transmission service vehicles ,etc
Post by: Soju on May 31, 2021, 05:44:37 AM
Quote from: Soju on May 30, 2021, 02:52:01 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on May 30, 2021, 12:28:00 PM

It's working grand now after I contacted them about the problem. And it's not the first time i've had to contact them about on demand playback.
Smacks of staff that don't give a f**k or incompetent.
GAAGO to hire new Technical Operations Manager

https://hoganstand.com/County/National/Article/Index/317262

Must have got the sack after all my complaints😆😆 ;D
Post by: delgany on May 31, 2021, 05:04:27 PM
GAAGO have offered a free game due to service disruption !
Post by: imtommygunn on May 31, 2021, 08:08:13 PM
Sure what difference will that be to people who have subscribed.
Post by: Main Street on June 02, 2021, 10:44:30 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 31, 2021, 08:08:13 PM
Sure what difference will that be to people who have subscribed.
It's the thought that counts.

It has the makings of a brilliant service made available to irish people world wide. A fast forward function on the playback would be nice.
Post by: Ronnie on June 04, 2021, 07:44:23 AM
Least of their problems.  If mine doesn't improve in next month there'll be a small claims class action.
Post by: dec on June 25, 2021, 03:15:41 PM
Has anyone used GAAGo in the US? How is the stream quality?

Probably wouldn't spring for the annual pass but I might try it for an Armagh game.
Post by: J70 on June 25, 2021, 06:23:46 PM
Quote from: dec on June 25, 2021, 03:15:41 PM
Has anyone used GAAGo in the US? How is the stream quality?

Probably wouldn't spring for the annual pass but I might try it for an Armagh game.

I've used it a lot, although not this year to date.

Its been fine, for the most part, after teething problems when they launched (whenever that was - 7 or 8 years ago?)
Post by: Boycey on June 25, 2021, 09:31:06 PM
GAAgo had some problems during the league this season, possibly through the sheer volume of games they attempted to cover. I'm not sure of the price of a yearly GAAGo sub but at this stage any decent IPTV service will come with GAAGo as part of your package ..
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on June 26, 2021, 02:49:55 AM
I use it in the US.  Was very dodgy when it first came out. Last few years it's been very reliable, but this year there've been a number of games when it was very iffy.  Must try harder.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on June 26, 2021, 05:19:07 AM
I use it in Chicago when I'm there, never any real problems. Tyrone were playing Armagh a few weeks ago and it went down for a short time other than that no complaints.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 26, 2021, 08:35:06 AM
Quote from: Baile an tuaigh on June 26, 2021, 05:19:07 AM
I use it in Chicago when I'm there, never any real problems. Tyrone were playing Armagh a few weeks ago and it went down for a short time other than that no complaints.

You'll be on it today!!

Hopefully it won't go down during the game
Post by: macker15 on June 26, 2021, 04:43:11 PM
Sky couldn't have picked two games to show.  2 handy games for Kerry and Mayo. Will be watching the soccer tonight 🙄🙄
Post by: imtommygunn on June 26, 2021, 05:49:16 PM
I couldn't get the Antrim match on the app but could on the browser. I didn't pay any extra for the championship.
Post by: 5times5times on January 06, 2022, 05:35:58 PM
Anyone seen/read if GAAGO will be available in 2022? I know they're offering the 2021 club c'ship games, but havent got an email from them about any renewal, or package(s) for 2022?

Living in OZ and IP clampdowns, harder to get a reliable stream on the ol IPTV.
Post by: sligoman2 on January 06, 2022, 07:15:51 PM
I'm fairly sure they charged me in November for a year so I certainly hope so.  The renewal is automatic unless  you notify them that you don't want to renew your subscription.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 06, 2022, 09:03:40 PM
Yeah, I got a generic email around the time of my auto renewal:

Your Annual Pass subscription is set to renew next weekend and we're delighted to say we've reduced our standard price for 2021. In addition, the GAA's new split season for next year (inter-county All-Irelands to be completed by end of July) guarantees a packed year of action. Working out at significantly less than €1 per game, your year-long subscription will include:                   

Every game in this year's Football and Hurling Championships

Action from next year's Allianz Leagues and the 2022 Championships up until your renewal point next year

All club coverage throughout autumn and winter, and highlights shows (Allianz League Sunday / Sunday Game) during your subscription term

Exclusive access to classic games and documentaries on GAAGO TV.

Post by: 5times5times on January 10, 2022, 04:53:05 PM
Quote from: Never beat the deeler on January 06, 2022, 09:03:40 PM
Yeah, I got a generic email around the time of my auto renewal:

Your Annual Pass subscription is set to renew next weekend and we're delighted to say we've reduced our standard price for 2021. In addition, the GAA's new split season for next year (inter-county All-Irelands to be completed by end of July) guarantees a packed year of action. Working out at significantly less than €1 per game, your year-long subscription will include:                   

Every game in this year's Football and Hurling Championships

Action from next year's Allianz Leagues and the 2022 Championships up until your renewal point next year

All club coverage throughout autumn and winter, and highlights shows (Allianz League Sunday / Sunday Game) during your subscription term

Exclusive access to classic games and documentaries on GAAGO TV.

Mind if I ask what you paid for the year?
Post by: dec on January 29, 2022, 08:13:31 PM
Anyone know what resolution GAAGO streams at? I am watching the Armagh game and although the stream is consistent, no buffering so far, it does not look like very high resolution.
Post by: thewobbler on January 29, 2022, 08:21:01 PM
Quote from: dec on January 29, 2022, 08:13:31 PM
Anyone know what resolution GAAGO streams at? I am watching the Armagh game and although the stream is consistent, no buffering so far, it does not look like very high resolution.

If it's a proper service the stream resolution will respond to your bandwidth. As it sends stuff you way, a small signal is sent back to let the streamer, which measures your speed and dictates whether SD/HD/FHD is the right one.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on January 29, 2022, 08:21:36 PM
it's fine for me me today, but gaago is generally all over the place. You never know what you're going to get in terms of quality.  But there's nowhere else to go, is there?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on January 29, 2022, 08:22:31 PM
I stream live sports at HD all the time. I don't have cable.  But gaago is the only weak link.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 29, 2022, 08:23:08 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 29, 2022, 08:21:01 PM
Quote from: dec on January 29, 2022, 08:13:31 PM

If it's a proper service the stream resolution will respond to your bandwidth. As it sends stuff you way, a small signal is sent back to let the streamer, which measures your speed and dictates whether SD/HD/FHD is the right one.

Adaptive streaming. I don't think it uses that.
Post by: dec on February 06, 2022, 02:08:28 PM
The stream for the Kerry Dublin game yesterday was good but so far the Armagh Tyrone game is very poor. It is breaking up a lot
Post by: Main Street on February 06, 2022, 02:47:50 PM
Quote from: dec on February 06, 2022, 02:08:28 PM
The stream for the Kerry Dublin game yesterday was good but so far the Armagh Tyrone game is very poor. It is breaking up a lot
It improved as the half wore on, it's (there or thereabouts) HD quality now.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 06, 2022, 02:52:02 PM
I missed Armaghs first goal with the glitches but as you say getting better as the game goes on.

That's some crowd at the game.
Post by: Baile an tuaigh on February 06, 2022, 03:41:07 PM
Every time something exciting happens computer goes out. This is the worst experience I had with gaago.
Post by: An Watcher on February 06, 2022, 05:34:37 PM
Trying to watch it back here now but no good
Post by: Hound on February 06, 2022, 05:36:02 PM
Deferred coverage just started on tg4.
Post by: An Watcher on February 06, 2022, 05:38:09 PM
Aye but have to wait for an hour for the kimsy
Post by: dec on February 17, 2022, 05:02:49 PM
I was trying the 2 week free trial but after the awful stream for the Armagh Tyrone game I decided not to go ahead with the annual pass. For those of you have used GAAGO in the past, was the quality of that game unusual/a one off or is that what I should expect if I subscribe for the year?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on February 17, 2022, 07:54:33 PM
It varies quite a bit in my experience.  Sometimes it's fine, but buffering and dropping out are common.  Not an issue I have on any other live sports streaming app I use, so the problem isn't my end.  If I had any other option in the states for at-home watching, I probably wouldn't use gaago.
Post by: dec on December 02, 2022, 08:18:07 PM
I just got this email from GAAGO, I only got a Roku because the GAAGO app was available for Roku but not FireTV.
--------
Dear Customer,

We are contacting you today to inform you that the GAAGO Roku app has been discontinued. However, there are a number of ways for you to continue watching GAAGO content:

Directly on our website https://www.gaago.ie. Simply go to our website. Click 'LOGIN' in the top right-hand corn. Enter the email address and password associated with your GAAGO account in the provided fields. Click on the box beside the text 'I am not a robot' and complete any verification steps required. Wait a few seconds for the spinning loading wheel to become a tick symbol the proceed to click the 'LOGIN' button positioned below. Once logged in, click the 'MATCHES' tab along the navigation bar at the top of the screen to generate a dropdown menu. If you wish to purchase or watch an upcoming or live game, click on 'LIVE & UPCOMING,' and click on the BUY/WATCH button displayed below the game listing image. If you wish to watch on-demand content, select 'CATCH UP' from the MATCHES tab dropdown and access in the same way as above

In the coming weeks, the GAAGO apps for iOS and Android will also be relaunched. The apps have been totally rebuilt to ensure an improved user experience. You can sign in with your existing account and access content bought via the gaago.ie website, or the Roku app, directly on your mobile or tablet. The apps will also allow casting to your TV via Chromecast or Apple Airplay - see our FAQs post launch for full details.

You can also watch on your TV via a wired connection, by connecting your laptop to your TV. Simply connect one end of a HDMI cable (can be purchased in any electrical store and most supermarkets will stock them) into your laptop and the other end into a HDMI port at the back of your TV and whatever is on your device screen will display on your TV screen. Typically, this comes in on your TV on a separate source to your cable, ordinarily called HDMI 1, 2, 3 and so on. This will depend on your TV so please see your TV manual for further information on this. You will need to select the source the HDMI connection footage is coming in on your TV in order to view it on your TV; it will not automatically appear on screen once you hook it up. 

Please keep an eye on our email newsletter, social channels and the gaago.ie website for further updates about how to access GAAGO. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to get in touch on support@gaago.ie and a member of our Support Team will get back to you as soon as they possibly can.

Kind Regards,
GAAGO Team
------
Post by: dec on February 04, 2023, 07:51:01 PM
Has anyone used the latest version of the GAAGo app? What is the quality like? Was thinking about getting the monthly subscription and was hoping to cast from my phone to the TV.

from an email I got yesterday

QuoteDear Customer,
We are pleased to announce that our new GAAGO app V.2 is out there to download in the App Store and on Google Play. We would like to apologise again for the inconvenience of not having it ready for the start of the Leagues.
Users will be able to cast the games to TV via Apple AirPlay and through Google Chromecast. Customers will also be notified as we roll out additional apps to new platforms in the coming months for even more ways to watch on the bigger screen. We hope you enjoy our second weekend of inter-county coverage in 2023 and the season ahead.
Thank you,
GAAGO Team
Post by: joemamas on February 05, 2023, 03:38:30 PM
Mayo V Armagh not available for some reason even thought it shows up as paid  >:(
Post by: dec on February 06, 2023, 10:59:08 PM
Quote from: joemamas on February 05, 2023, 03:38:30 PM
Mayo V Armagh not available for some reason even thought it shows up as paid  >:(

The stream picked up about half way through the first half and was good for the rest of the game. They should refund anyone who specifically paid for that game.
Post by: armaghniac on February 07, 2023, 12:55:53 AM
Quote from: dec on February 06, 2023, 10:59:08 PM
Quote from: joemamas on February 05, 2023, 03:38:30 PM

The stream picked up about half way through the first half and was good for the rest of the game. They should refund anyone who specifically paid for that game.

You would have thought that a game with a live broadcast would be the easiest to stream. You do not need a connection at the ground you could just feed your stream from the TG4 studio.
Post by: Itchy on February 08, 2023, 02:45:00 PM
Quote from: Soju on February 07, 2023, 04:48:00 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on February 17, 2022, 07:54:33 PM
It varies quite a bit in my experience.  Sometimes it's fine, but buffering and dropping out are common.  Not an issue I have on any other live sports streaming app I use, so the problem isn't my end.  If I had any other option in the states for at-home watching, I probably wouldn't use gaago.
Gaago is crap for a paid service! I gave up on it last year and use nordvpn to watch tg4 and RTE. Have had zero problems watching tg4 games live.
Only watched rte games on playback so far and it is ok with some buffering issues, live could be a different story as rte player is poor.
Anyway give nordvpn a shot I suggest.

The only watch out for anyone considering this is that a VPN will reduce your available speed. So if you have 20mb broadband, you could be down to 10mb by the time it passes through the VPN. So try a free trial first before coughing up the dough.