Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Boycey on September 26, 2018, 05:26:34 PM

Title: Ryder Cup 2018
Post by: Boycey on September 26, 2018, 05:26:34 PM
Might as well give it a thread of it's own.

From a betting perspective it's hard to see how the teams are ranked almost even. USA 10/11 Europe 5/4. The Ryder Cup is great viewing but Europe is an entity I can't get too excited abput, I can't imagine getting into a heated debate in the pub over Europe..
Title: Re: Ryder Cup 2018
Post by: gallsman on September 26, 2018, 05:29:30 PM
Get the bingo cards ready.

Spirit of Seve
A Poulter snarl
Montgomerie referencing his own RC record
Anyone from Sky describing it as the biggest prize in golf.
Post by: Boycey on September 26, 2018, 05:36:29 PM
Sky will be worn out by Friday, they going flat to the mat all week. Live coverage every afternoon, Poults Ryder Cup Memories airing at the minute..
Post by: gallsman on September 26, 2018, 05:38:09 PM
LIVE at the Ryder Cup: players eat lunch.
Post by: Minder on September 26, 2018, 06:45:41 PM
It's all so manufactured
Post by: gallsman on September 26, 2018, 06:52:25 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 26, 2018, 06:45:41 PM
It's all so manufactured

It's complete and utter w**k. No doubt enjoyable but still, w**k.
Post by: laoislad on September 26, 2018, 07:22:36 PM
f**k the begrudgers. I love it.
The 3rd day of the Medinah Ryder Cup was one of the most exciting and edge of the seat sporting events I've ever watched.
It's sport entertainment at it's best.
Can't wait for it to start.
Post by: Therealdonald on September 26, 2018, 07:30:39 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 26, 2018, 07:22:36 PM
The 3rd day of the Medinah Ryder Cup was one of the most exciting and edge of the seat sporting events I've ever watched.
Cant like it. Always found it as an excuse for non-major winners to cling to something, probably because the world's best don't care for it.
Post by: trailer on September 26, 2018, 07:31:53 PM
It's a load of dung and it's a complete manifestation of everything hateful about America (especially when it's played in the USA). Drunk yobs shouting, unsportsmanlike conduct, controversy and sometimes cheating.
Hence, I will be glued to all 3 days.
Post by: lenny on September 26, 2018, 08:39:25 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on September 26, 2018, 07:30:39 PM
Cant like it. Always found it as an excuse for non-major winners to cling to something, probably because the world's best don't care for it.

Exactly, for most top players it's a bit of a jolly. They can pretend they really care about it all they like but deep down golfers are selfish and the team ethos doesn't sit well with them. After winning last week woods will enjoy this weekend without having the pressure of trying to follow up on his win. The americans in particular don't really give a sh*t about the ryder cup.
Post by: Minder on September 26, 2018, 08:50:57 PM
McDowell used to turn into big Ern McCracken when playing in the Ryder Cup
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2018, 08:59:21 PM
Come on you boys in Blue.
Post by: gallsman on September 26, 2018, 09:35:04 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2018, 08:59:21 PM
Come on you boys in Blue.

EUUUUURRRRRRRRRRRROOOOOPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEE!
Post by: Orior on September 26, 2018, 10:07:45 PM
Quote from: lenny on September 26, 2018, 08:39:25 PM
Quote from: Therealdonald on September 26, 2018, 07:30:39 PM

Exactly, for most top players it's a bit of a jolly. They can pretend they really care about it all they like but deep down golfers are selfish and the team ethos doesn't sit well with them. After winning last week woods will enjoy this weekend without having the pressure of trying to follow up on his win. The americans in particular don't really give a sh*t about the ryder cup.

Perhaps all individual sports people are selfish: Golfers, Tennis players, Darts players, Handball, Boxers. Of course its all about me.

Soccer, gaelic, hurling, rugby, of course its all about the team.
Post by: thewobbler on September 26, 2018, 10:29:12 PM
I would echo the sentiments that it a pile of overblown nonsense.

But there's something about its mix of history, entertainment, prestige and competitiveness, that all the money, marketing genius and strategic nous in the modern world could not hope to produce a tournament to compete with it, or replicate its success. Whether we like it or not, it has a magical aura which sucks people in.

And it sucks me in every time.
Post by: gallsman on September 26, 2018, 11:26:39 PM
Everybody loves the actual golf aspect of it.

It's the bollocks from Sky and the likes of Poulter or Monty who try to play it up as mattering/meaning as much as a Major or WGC or even some of the prestige events on either tour that drives me up the wall. No surprise from Monty when he describes himself as a major winner for his exploits in the seniors tour.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 26, 2018, 11:55:07 PM
Just saw the odds. Usa 10/11 with pp. Is that not good value? Far from an expert but the quality of player they have v the europeans this time, even given home soil, should it not be a formality or am i missing something?
Post by: thewobbler on September 27, 2018, 06:41:18 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on September 26, 2018, 11:55:07 PM
Just saw the odds. Usa 10/11 with pp. Is that not good value? Far from an expert but the quality of player they have v the europeans this time, even given home soil, should it not be a formality or am i missing something?

It's matchplay golf. Everyone reacts differently to this form of golf, and as everyone involved is in the world's top 50 strokeplay golfers, they're all capable of mullering anyone else who is slightly off his game.
Post by: Hound on September 27, 2018, 07:23:55 AM
Supposedly its a course that negates the use of the driver, which is America's main advantage. A lot of water on the course, and usually across fairways where a long drive would land.

Although I do agree the odds on the yanks seem very generous
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on September 27, 2018, 09:17:26 AM
thanks men, food for thought. still think that's where a bit of value lies tho I hate the thought of having to root for them all weekend over the sake of a few pound
Post by: screenexile on September 27, 2018, 10:06:21 AM
Quote from: Hound on September 27, 2018, 07:23:55 AM
Supposedly its a course that negates the use of the driver, which is America's main advantage. A lot of water on the course, and usually across fairways where a long drive would land.

A lot of the yanks not in great form either though. Spieth/Mickelson/Watson/Reed even Koepka & DeChambeau had poor weeks last week so it's far from a formality.

Along with that I think the course is being set up totally to negate all the American's advantages so I don't think it's as one sided as many would think and the betting is probably about right!
Post by: trailer on September 27, 2018, 10:44:53 AM
Quote from: screenexile on September 27, 2018, 10:06:21 AM
Quote from: Hound on September 27, 2018, 07:23:55 AM

A lot of the yanks not in great form either though. Spieth/Mickelson/Watson/Reed even Koepka & DeChambeau had poor weeks last week so it's far from a formality.

Along with that I think the course is being set up totally to negate all the American's advantages so I don't think it's as one sided as many would think and the betting is probably about right!

It's 18 hole match play. Also when it is in the states the US usually set the course up with pins in the middle of the greens and make it a putting competition. That won't happen in Paris. USA still should have enough to get it done, but you never know.
Post by: Orior on September 27, 2018, 12:38:17 PM
Personally, and I hope I'm wrong, though I rarely am, I think the USA will win easily.

Europe 10 USA 18
Post by: screenexile on September 27, 2018, 12:38:45 PM
https://www.independent.ie/sport/columnists/vincent-hogan/vincent-hogan-at-the-ryder-cup-how-do-you-tell-people-a-joke-when-theyre-the-punchline-37359226.html
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 27, 2018, 01:06:40 PM
Of course its overblown, but the format of it is superb.
The last day drama, when there are so many plates spinning and you're trying to work out where the points will land is gripping.
He's safe, he should hold on, might get a half there, he needs to pull it out of the bag, he needs a miracle, still need a point from somewhere. 20 minutes later it's all on its head.

And while an attachment to a Europe team isn't a natural affinity, as soon as you hear the hordes of fat assed, loud mouthed, oafs bellowing "U-S-A, U-S-A" you're on board!
Post by: Boycey on September 27, 2018, 01:18:07 PM
Ex captains match LIVE today  8)
Post by: ziggy90 on September 27, 2018, 01:22:18 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 27, 2018, 01:06:40 PM
Of course its overblown, but the format of it is superb.
The last day drama, when there are so many plates spinning and you're trying to work out where the points will land is gripping.
He's safe, he should hold on, might get a half there, he needs to pull it out of the bag, he needs a miracle, still need a point from somewhere. 20 minutes later it's all on its head.

And while an attachment to a Europe team isn't a natural affinity, as soon as you hear the hordes of fat assed, loud mouthed, oafs bellowing "U-S-A, U-S-A" you're on board!
I wonder if Donald will make it over?
Post by: Hound on September 27, 2018, 01:27:55 PM
Woods and Reed looking a likely partnership. Going to be hard looking at that pair high fiving  :-\
Post by: sid waddell on September 27, 2018, 01:28:09 PM
I feel very European today, so much so that if you cut me, I would likely bleed blue blood with yellow stars in it. Medically that would be a sure sign of serious illness, but I do have a fever - Ryder Cup fever.

As I waited for the traffic to pass at a busy predestrian crossing in Galway this morning, I had to stop for a moment, compose myself, and take a fresh air swing, imagining I was the late, great Christy O'Connor Junior hitting that famous 2 iron at the Belfry in '89, complete with Peter Alliss's "huh huh huh hoooo" playing in my mind.

As I finished that swing, I saw a car flying a European flag from the window. The driver honked his horn and I saluted back. He knew, I  knew. We all know.

The Ryder Cup was special then and it's special now. It's part of what we are as Europeans. Pride in our place, pride in our continent.

On the hopes of the 12 men, our Great Dane captain and assorted vice-captains, do the hopes of the 12 stars rest.

Forget the doubting Thomases, European golf will be Bjorn Again this weekend.

From Iceland to Istanbul, from Finland to Faro, the whole of the continent is behind our boys.

Come on EU boys in blue.

#BelieveInBlue

Post by: seafoid on September 27, 2018, 01:36:32 PM
The Ryder Cup has more credibility these days than gaelic football has
Post by: Hound on September 27, 2018, 01:37:44 PM
Is Team Europe's flag the exact EU flag or is it different?

If it's the same, then you could imagine some ToryHead looking to get it changed in time for the next Ryder Cup!

Despite being open to all Europeans (since late 70s I think), pretty sure all players have been from EU to date. No Norwegians or Swiss made it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2018, 01:39:24 PM
Quote from: Hound on September 27, 2018, 01:27:55 PM
Woods and Reed looking a likely partnership. Going to be hard looking at that pair high fiving  :-\
Reed is an awful tool at the Ryder Cup.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 27, 2018, 02:02:09 PM
Quote from: Hound on September 27, 2018, 01:37:44 PM

If it's the same, then you could imagine some ToryHead looking to get it changed in time for the next Ryder Cup!

Despite being open to all Europeans (since late 70s I think), pretty sure all players have been from EU to date. No Norwegians or Swiss made it.
The Spaniards who competed for Europe from 1979 to 1985 were non EU (EEC as it was back then) players.
Post by: AQMP on September 27, 2018, 02:13:41 PM

Pedant alert!  European players have payed in the RC since 1979.  Spain didn't join the EU until 1986 so any Spaniard before then was an non-EU player.  Likewise Joakim Haeggman of Sweden played in 1993 and Sweden didn't become an EU member state until 1995.
Post by: NAG1 on September 27, 2018, 02:18:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2018, 01:39:24 PM
Quote from: Hound on September 27, 2018, 01:27:55 PM
Reed is an awful tool at the Ryder Cup.

Fixed that for you Tony
Post by: Hound on September 27, 2018, 02:44:12 PM
Quote from: AQMP on September 27, 2018, 02:13:41 PM

Pedant alert!  European players have payed in the RC since 1979.  Spain didn't join the EU until 1986 so any Spaniard before then was an non-EU player.  Likewise Joakim Haeggman of Sweden played in 1993 and Sweden didn't become an EU member state until 1995.
Indeed. Hadn't thought of that, but Team Europe didn't use the EU flag back then. Only started using it in the early 2000s it seems.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2018, 05:02:04 PM
Friday morning matches

Match 1: Koepka/Finau vs. Rose/Rahm
Match 2: Johnson/Fowler vs. McIlroy/Olesen
Match 3: Spieth/Thomas vs. Casey/Hatton
Match 4: Woods/Reed vs. Molinari/Fleetwood
Post by: screenexile on September 27, 2018, 05:05:54 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2018, 05:02:04 PM
Friday morning matches

Match 1: Koepka/Finau vs. Rose/Rahm - EU
Match 2: Johnson/Fowler vs. McIlroy/Olesen - US
Match 3: Spieth/Thomas vs. Casey/Hatton - A/S
Match 4: Woods/Reed vs. Molinari/Fleetwood - US

1 Up to the US!

Post by: Puckoon on September 27, 2018, 06:01:35 PM
Think Molinari and Fleetwood could be a surprise package there. They certainly wont roll over and both keep it in play and hit it close.

Rory could beat the US lads by himself in match 2, or he might not hit a green all day.
Post by: trailer on September 27, 2018, 07:26:04 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2018, 05:02:04 PM
Friday morning matches

Match 4: Woods/Reed vs. Molinari/Fleetwood A/S

Although I really fear a US whitewash.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2018, 07:47:41 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on September 27, 2018, 06:01:35 PM
Think Molinari and Fleetwood could be a surprise package there. They certainly wont roll over and both keep it in play and hit it close.

Rory could beat the US lads by himself in match 2, or he might not hit a green all day.

Fleetwood loves playing with Tiger and Molinari has held his own twice vs Tiger - at Carnoustie this year and Medinah in 2012
Post by: dec on September 27, 2018, 07:48:39 PM

The 12 star flag originated with the Council of Europe in the 1950s

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flag_of_Europe#History
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2018, 07:54:34 PM
Is this only om SSRyderCup? Or is it on any other channel? I'm not into golf at all, but this tournament gets the European blood going in me.
Post by: yellowcard on September 27, 2018, 10:38:11 PM
The Ryder Cup together with the Lions Tour are the 2 biggest over hyped corporate media junkets in sport. That said the Ryder Cup does make for good TV on the Sunday providing the scores are close.
Post by: Orior on September 27, 2018, 11:00:29 PM
Friday morning matches

Match 4: Woods/Reed vs. Molinari/Fleetwood AS
Post by: Puckoon on September 28, 2018, 05:57:11 AM
Jaysus, Ken Schofield's gnashers.

Europe pulling an auld Tyrone with narrowing the pitch and not turning the floodlight on in time.
Post by: Boycey on September 28, 2018, 07:45:32 AM
Sounds like the European fans are getting as boorish as the Yanks  :(
Post by: Kickham csc on September 28, 2018, 09:47:16 AM
Quote from: Boycey on September 28, 2018, 07:45:32 AM
Sounds like the European fans are getting as boorish as the Yanks  :(

but E..U..R..O..P..E just doesn't sound as good as U..S..A..
Post by: magpie seanie on September 28, 2018, 11:10:03 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on September 26, 2018, 10:29:12 PM
I would echo the sentiments that it a pile of overblown nonsense.

But there's something about its mix of history, entertainment, prestige and competitiveness, that all the money, marketing genius and strategic nous in the modern world could not hope to produce a tournament to compete with it, or replicate its success. Whether we like it or not, it has a magical aura which sucks people in.

And it sucks me in every time.

This. I want to ignore it every time but I get sucked in too. And I'm not a big "Europe" fan....it's just dem damned "USA" shouting bahsterds....(goes for lie down)  ;D
Post by: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 11:43:37 AM
Rory having a mare!!
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on September 28, 2018, 12:22:25 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 11:43:37 AM
Rory having a mare!!

Sure no shock there
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 28, 2018, 12:28:06 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 11:43:37 AM
Rory having a mare!!
And he'll only get parked after losing 2 or 3 points.
Post by: Boycey on September 28, 2018, 12:31:29 PM
This last match looking very important for Europe
Post by: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 12:31:40 PM
Rose and Rahm were very unlucky that was a serious break Finau got on 16!

TOMMYYYYYY!!!!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 28, 2018, 12:44:59 PM
3-1 - could have easily been all square

This afternoon

edit: the graphic is wrong - it's Rose/Stenson

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DoLb6wlXsAA0ZEs.jpg)
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2018, 01:11:00 PM
McIlroy and Poulter...will either win or lose 5&4!

Edit: Poulter in the water off the tee at 1st!
Post by: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 02:21:30 PM
Europe going better this afternoon the alternate ball format definitely seems to suit us!
Post by: cornerback on September 28, 2018, 02:36:50 PM
Stenson & Rose are level par through 7 and are 3 up!!
Post by: Orior on September 28, 2018, 02:54:56 PM
Long way to go for the afternoon
Post by: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 03:09:39 PM
I can tell you 2 lads who aren't playing tomorrow anyway!!
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2018, 03:33:47 PM
Incredible.  Garcia & Noren 7 up after 9 holes.  Noren's first Ryder Cup
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 28, 2018, 03:40:20 PM
Americans are playing brutal. Mcginley reckons the wind has spooked them. Is there no wind in America.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 28, 2018, 03:40:35 PM
Quote from: AQMP on September 28, 2018, 03:33:47 PM
A Pierce Purcell pairing would beat Mickelson & DeChambeau - they are a shambles............
Post by: AQMP on September 28, 2018, 03:53:01 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on September 28, 2018, 03:40:35 PM
A Pierce Purcell pairing would beat Mickelson & DeChambeau - they are a shambles............

USA win two in a row - 5 down after 11.  This would be some comeback!
Post by: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 04:00:49 PM
Quote from: AQMP on September 28, 2018, 03:53:01 PM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on September 28, 2018, 03:40:35 PM

USA win two in a row - 5 down after 11.  This would be some comeback!

Europe need to drive this home if one match halves it could be a momentum shift for tomorrow.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 28, 2018, 04:41:08 PM
Whitewash
Post by: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 04:42:56 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 28, 2018, 04:41:08 PM
Whitewash

Great viewing!
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on September 28, 2018, 04:43:13 PM
Impressive. Used to be the other way europe would dominate betterball and struggle with foursomes.
Post by: gallsman on September 28, 2018, 04:46:35 PM
Believe lads, believe.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 28, 2018, 05:21:24 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 28, 2018, 04:46:35 PM
Believe lads, believe.
WE can do this.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 28, 2018, 06:22:46 PM
US coming back with same fourballs tomorrow morning

Koepka/Finau vs. McIlroy/Garcia

Johnson/Fowler vs. Hatton/Casey

Tiger/Reed vs. Molinari/Fleetwood

Thomas/Spieth vs. Poulter/Rahm
Post by: screenexile on September 28, 2018, 06:38:07 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 28, 2018, 06:22:46 PM
US coming back with same fourballs tomorrow morning

Koepka/Finau vs. McIlroy/Garcia

Johnson/Fowler vs. Hatton/Casey

Tiger/Reed vs. Molinari/Fleetwood

Thomas/Spieth vs. Poulter/Rahm

Don't like McIlroy Garcia pairing.

Moliwood looking like the best pairing of the lot would easily have them out for all 4.
Post by: An Watcher on September 28, 2018, 07:12:32 PM
Should McIlroy get the chip for the foursomes, unless he improves tomorrow morn?
Post by: Boycey on September 28, 2018, 07:25:35 PM
That'd be the McIlroy that was involved in a 4&2 foursomes win this afternoon  :o
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on September 28, 2018, 07:45:12 PM
Quote from: Boycey on September 28, 2018, 07:25:35 PM
That'd be the McIlroy that was involved in a 4&2 foursomes win this afternoon  :o
He was much better this afternoon in fairness to him, carried Poulter for a good part of it I thought.
Post by: mouview on September 28, 2018, 08:52:02 PM
The Yanks on paper have a very strong team but, on reflection, any pairing involving the likes of Fowler, Johnson, Fat Phil, Dechambeau or Bubba can be very exploitable. Fowler is the flake all other flakes call the galactico. 
Post by: lenny on September 28, 2018, 10:26:19 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on September 28, 2018, 04:43:13 PM
Impressive. Used to be the other way europe would dominate betterball and struggle with foursomes.

Europe have always been better at foursomes than the americans. Furyk picking mickelson in the foursomes confirms what I've always thought - deep down the americans don't give a shit about winning the ryrder cup.
Post by: gallsman on September 28, 2018, 10:31:36 PM
Quote from: lenny on September 28, 2018, 10:26:19 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on September 28, 2018, 04:43:13 PM

Europe have always been better at foursomes than the americans. Furyk picking mickelson in the foursomes confirms what I've always thought - deep down the americans don't give a shit about winning the ryrder cup.

Not true. Americans have a better record at it, as stated multiple times on commentary today. Europeans statistically better only on home soil.
Post by: trailer on September 28, 2018, 11:14:48 PM
I Furyk throws Phil under the bus on Sunday if they lose. Talk about a shocker.
Post by: gawa316 on September 29, 2018, 07:25:15 AM
If youre into the Ryder cup a Friday morning vasectomy is a great choice! ;)
Post by: Boycey on September 29, 2018, 07:45:14 AM
Imagine going to a golf tournament and booing Tiger Woods :o
Post by: laoislad on September 29, 2018, 07:47:59 AM
Quote from: gawa316 on September 29, 2018, 07:25:15 AM
If youre into the Ryder cup a Friday morning vasectomy is a great choice! ;)
I can think of better ways to take a Friday off to watch Golf!
Post by: screenexile on September 29, 2018, 08:57:21 AM
McIlroy in the mood today!!
Post by: stephenite on September 29, 2018, 10:47:46 AM
Any links where to watch this?
Post by: Ambrose on September 29, 2018, 11:10:25 AM
Quote from: stephenite on September 29, 2018, 10:47:46 AM
Any links where to watch this?

https://www.reddit.com/r/PuttStreams/comments/9jllj2/event_thread_2018_ryder_cup/
Post by: screenexile on September 29, 2018, 11:33:30 AM
Could be a big swing this McIlroy Garcia match!!
Post by: Boycey on September 29, 2018, 11:53:55 AM
And some people on here thought Sergio was a poor pick..
Post by: Boycey on September 29, 2018, 01:31:53 PM
A hole halved in triple bogey sixes, incredible.
Post by: DuffleKing on September 29, 2018, 02:15:40 PM

Who is this Australian dick on Sky commentary?
Post by: Boycey on September 29, 2018, 02:19:41 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on September 29, 2018, 02:15:40 PM

Radar or Wayne Riley to give him his proper name

You dont watch much golf? He's on most weeks. I think he's very good.
Post by: screenexile on September 29, 2018, 03:14:29 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on September 29, 2018, 02:15:40 PM

He's eccentric but I quite like him!!
Post by: screenexile on September 29, 2018, 03:39:43 PM
McIlroy stinking the place out this evening again!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 29, 2018, 05:14:45 PM
Fleetwood, Molinari and Woods have been Europe's best point getters by a long way.
Post by: screenexile on September 29, 2018, 05:21:53 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 29, 2018, 05:14:45 PM
Fleetwood, Molinari and Woods have been Europe's best point getters by a long way.

Ah now Dechambeau, Mickelson & Reed have been worse than Tiger!!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 29, 2018, 05:28:06 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 29, 2018, 05:21:53 PM

Yeah, at least the others are droppable.
Furyk is seemingly compelled to keep picking him.
The yanks' only victories this millennium (2008 and 2016) came with Woods not there weighing the ship down..
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 29, 2018, 06:31:41 PM
(https://i.postimg.cc/9M20h5kb/20180929_132924.jpg)
Post by: thebigfella on September 29, 2018, 07:49:16 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 29, 2018, 05:28:06 PM

The yanks' only victories this millennium (2008 and 2016) came with Woods not there weighing the ship down..

What a load of shit.

Woods has went from around 700 in the world to 13th, and on a smaller schedule than other players. He's probably the best form of any player in the USA squad.
Post by: Boycey on September 29, 2018, 07:56:55 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on September 29, 2018, 07:49:16 PM

What a load of shit.

Woods has went from around 700 in the world to 13th, and on a smaller schedule than other players. He's probably the best form of any player in the USA squad.

His poor Ryder Cup career performances are indisputable though even in his pomp..
Post by: trailer on September 29, 2018, 10:24:46 PM
The Americans are playing like they hate America.
So glad to see Mr America Patrick Reed and Mr All American FIGJAM stink the place up.

I pity Speith and Thomas. They're actually very good and they want to win. They're just carrying the dead weight of the 40 year olds. Phil, Tiger, Bubba never been Ryder Cup players and never will. Too selfish.
Post by: David McKeown on September 29, 2018, 11:54:37 PM

What a load of shit.

They were saying this was his 19th tournament of the season which is the number he played when he was weld number 1 and he still has tournaments to play this year. How many tournaments behind other players is he?
Post by: David McKeown on September 29, 2018, 11:59:59 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 29, 2018, 06:31:41 PM
(https://i.postimg.cc/9M20h5kb/20180929_132924.jpg)

I think that's a good draw for the USA. Apart from the Molinari game I think all other matches are too close to call.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on September 30, 2018, 12:14:55 AM
I agree apart from fleetwoood v finau should be a cert to Europe
Post by: David McKeown on September 30, 2018, 12:58:32 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on September 30, 2018, 12:14:55 AM
I agree apart from fleetwoood v finau should be a cert to Europe

Through 5 he's one down and still to half a hole.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on September 30, 2018, 02:39:56 PM
Nice anticlimax on 18 from rors
Post by: mouview on September 30, 2018, 03:44:13 PM
Molinari MOTM this week .
Post by: screenexile on September 30, 2018, 04:26:02 PM
Great afternoon's entertainment!!
Post by: Insane Bolt on September 30, 2018, 04:27:30 PM
Quote from: mouview on September 30, 2018, 03:44:13 PM
Molinari MOTM this week .

Agree, super player and great temperament.
Post by: Aaron Boone on September 30, 2018, 04:56:16 PM
Congrats everyone, good job.
Post by: Minder on September 30, 2018, 05:38:18 PM
McIlroy proudly flying the flag
Post by: An Watcher on September 30, 2018, 07:03:20 PM
Didn't enjoy this RC without any Irish involved
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2018, 07:15:20 PM
Quote from: An Watcher on September 30, 2018, 07:03:20 PM
Same.
Post by: screenexile on September 30, 2018, 07:51:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 30, 2018, 07:15:20 PM
Same.

Good work!

(https://media.giphy.com/media/wMo0ehZa8O3ao/giphy.gif)
Post by: laoislad on September 30, 2018, 07:59:32 PM
Harrington was a Vice Captain 🇮🇪🇮🇪🇮🇪
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 30, 2018, 08:07:03 PM
G-Mac played a blinder also
Post by: trailer on October 01, 2018, 08:34:27 AM
Great to see Patrick and Justine Reed go nuclear. Knives out already.
An awful lot of nasty personalities involved in Ryder Cup teams for the USA. Does this event just bring the worst out in Americans?

Post by: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 09:07:17 AM
Quote from: trailer on October 01, 2018, 08:34:27 AM
An awful lot of nasty personalities involved in Ryder Cup teams for the USA. Does this event just bring the worst out in Americans?

In this case I'd say it's just Patrick and Justine Reed being themselves.
Post by: screenexile on October 01, 2018, 09:26:47 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 01, 2018, 09:07:17 AM

In this case I'd say it's just Patrick and Justine Reed being themselves.

His point about Europe being able to park their egos better than the Yanks I think makes perfect sense.

USA had a better team but a combination of the course setup/yanks not gelling as a team done for them in the end.
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2018, 09:47:04 AM

Wonder who Mickleson will blame this time?
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 01, 2018, 10:04:54 AM

What a load of shit.

It's mad how in the Ryder Cup a big ego or being an asshole tends to be the biggest undermining factor to rankings and form.
Where World No 2 Phil Mickelson can lose a singles match to 118th ranked Phillip Price.
Where Tiger Woods is virtually unpartnerable and has a Ryder Cup win rate more akin to some of the hackers who represented Britan and Ireland in the 70s.

If the Americans got a replay for next weekend and could drop Tiger, Phil Ramhar and Padraig Reed, then it would be a far tighter scoreline.
Post by: Geoff Tipps on October 01, 2018, 11:26:52 AM
https://twitter.com/RyderCupEurope/status/1046688393005060096
Post by: Applesisapples on October 01, 2018, 12:22:21 PM
Great to see Rory flying the flag for loyal Ulster. The Ryder Cup is a con. Golf is primarily a solo sport the chest beating and roaring from Europe in particular is gut wrenchingly nauseating, the yanks aren't far behind but at least the represent a country. IMO of course.
Post by: NAG1 on October 01, 2018, 03:41:40 PM
It is the most over hyped event going, Sky threw their lot in with it and have created a marketing monster around it.

The fans are cringeworthy at best.
Post by: bennydorano on October 01, 2018, 03:59:50 PM
It's an advertisers wet dream, hence why Sky go into hyperdrive  £££££
Post by: Orior on October 01, 2018, 04:09:48 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 01, 2018, 03:41:40 PM
It is the most over hyped event going, Sky threw their lot in with it and have created a marketing monster around it.

I think it is much better than watch the british and irish lions. No comparison at all.
Post by: NAG1 on October 01, 2018, 04:15:27 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 01, 2018, 04:09:48 PM

I think it is much better than watch the british and irish lions. No comparison at all.

It has the same kind of feel as the Lions, slick marketing and adertisers all over it. Great craic for those actually playing in it but pretty meaningless for the rest.
Post by: screenexile on October 01, 2018, 04:26:48 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on October 01, 2018, 04:15:27 PM

It has the same kind of feel as the Lions, slick marketing and adertisers all over it. Great craic for those actually playing in it but pretty meaningless for the rest.

There were 270,000 people attended the event and I'm not sure about the viewing figures but I'm pretty sure they were healthy as well so it seems a few more than just those playing are interested in it!!
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on October 01, 2018, 05:01:25 PM
David Livingstone hanging up the presenting for Sky Sports Golf after Sunday I see.  Liked him as a presenter I have to say. 
Post by: gawa316 on October 01, 2018, 05:14:25 PM
All was not well in the US camp

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/golf/45703605
Post by: trileacman on October 01, 2018, 10:51:42 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 01, 2018, 05:14:25 PM

Not surprising that no-one wants to play with Reed.

A man that even a mother couldn't love.
Post by: stephenite on October 01, 2018, 11:48:29 PM
Quote from: trileacman on October 01, 2018, 10:51:42 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 01, 2018, 05:14:25 PM

Not surprising that no-one wants to play with Reed.

A man that even a mother couldn't love.

His own Mother tried and he got her thrown off the course!!
Post by: screenexile on October 02, 2018, 06:51:15 AM
DJ and Brooks came to blows as well??
Post by: phpearse on October 02, 2018, 10:20:14 AM
Spectator hit with Brooks Koepka tee shot looses her eye. Pros very rarely duff their tee shots but it is a bit mad standing so close to the tee box when lads are driving golf balls at 190mph or whatever speed they leave the club face. Not long before there are exclusion zone around tee boxes and spectators around greens and fairways will be issued with hard hats.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 02, 2018, 10:42:51 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on October 01, 2018, 12:22:21 PM
Great to see Rory flying the flag for loyal Ulster. The Ryder Cup is a con. Golf is primarily a solo sport the chest beating and roaring from Europe in particular is gut wrenchingly nauseating, the yanks aren't far behind but at least the represent a country. IMO of course.

Agreed. Cringe fest.
Post by: screenexile on October 02, 2018, 11:41:01 AM
Quote from: phpearse on October 02, 2018, 10:20:14 AM
Spectator hit with Brooks Koepka tee shot looses her eye. Pros very rarely duff their tee shots but it is a bit mad standing so close to the tee box when lads are driving golf balls at 190mph or whatever speed they leave the club face. Not long before there are exclusion zone around tee boxes and spectators around greens and fairways will be issued with hard hats.

She wasn't standing beside the tee box though she was beside the green on a driveable par 4. Horrific to think she's lost her sight I'm sure Koepka is in bad enough form about it too.

It's always a risk when you're watching golf but unfortunately these kinds of things can happen.
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2018, 01:04:06 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 01, 2018, 04:26:48 PM

There were 270,000 people attended the event and I'm not sure about the viewing figures but I'm pretty sure they were healthy as well so it seems a few more than just those playing are interested in it!!

Would say it's a good oul jolly with your mates and is good tv viewing but how many would actually give a good fcuk who won it ?
Post by: thebigfella on October 02, 2018, 02:03:38 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 02, 2018, 11:41:01 AM

She wasn't standing beside the tee box though she was beside the green on a driveable par 4. Horrific to think she's lost her sight I'm sure Koepka is in bad enough form about it too.

It's always a risk when you're watching golf but unfortunately these kinds of things can happen.

It was very clearly called too.... not saying in this case it happened but it always surprises me when people look up when fore is called on a golf course.
Post by: gallsman on October 02, 2018, 02:16:36 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 02, 2018, 01:04:06 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 01, 2018, 04:26:48 PM

Would say it's a good oul jolly with your mates and is good tv viewing but how many would actually give a good fcuk who won it ?

It's basically like going to the darts.
Post by: David McKeown on October 02, 2018, 03:29:28 PM
I don't know. The Ryder Cup is one of my favourite sporting events and I genuinely get annoyed if the USA win. We sent my dad to Medinah for his 70th he loves it that much and I discharged myself from hospital to go to the K Club. It wouldn't mean as much as my Club or county winning something but it would be pretty equivalent for me to my favourite premiership or NFL team winning. I think it's maybe because I'd much rather support a team than an individual and I love golf and this gives me the opportunity to do that.
Post by: gawa316 on October 02, 2018, 06:08:50 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on October 02, 2018, 03:29:28 PM
I don't know. The Ryder Cup is one of my favourite sporting events and I genuinely get annoyed if the USA win. We sent my dad to Medinah for his 70th he loves it that much and I discharged myself from hospital to go to the K Club. It wouldn't mean as much as my Club or county winning something but it would be pretty equivalent for me to my favourite premiership or NFL team winning. I think it's maybe because I'd much rather support a team than an individual and I love golf and this gives me the opportunity to do that.

Pretty much agree with all that, plus living in the States give me added incentive to support Europe, as some of the in-laws are typical of those yanks that attend the golf!
Post by: Puckoon on October 03, 2018, 01:01:28 AM
Agree with the 2 posts above. It's fantastic entertainment for me and I fully embrace the Euro collective. Wouldn't touch my GAA fandom, but means more to me than Arsenal for sure and only just beaten by any of the Irish lads winning individually in the golf on the big stage.

Strange Ryder Cup - Europe really threw the hammer down on Friday afternoon and never let up. Was disappointed that Rory didn't beat JT in singles, but Poulter - what a lad for the Ryder Cup! Mickelson will regret his last showing at the Ryder cup, but as an article yesterday stated - if this is to be his final Ryder Cup and he went out playing like pure shite - in true Phil form he did it with a smile on his face and some grace about it all.

The Reed/Spieth thing is very interesting, although not all that surprising given that Reed and Mrs Reed appear to be completely on a different level when it comes to basic decencies. DJ and Keopke definitely more surprising and interesting here, time will tell us if its related to Ms Gretzky, or just a blow out due to emotion or something else. Rumour has it they were at it on the flight out there also. Brutal news about the lady with the eye injury. For her and for Keopke. That could unnerve him something serious. 2019 will tell us a lot.

Fair Play to Conor Moore too - he is genuinely funny and doing a great job. I don't like his Sergio and I think he will need to find some new material before the Poulter and Bubba ones get old. A refreshing sense of humor, particularly compared to that Kathleen lad who is about as funny as a box in the balls.

And for the love of all that is holy - someone tell Johnny "bucket of balls" Miller to just stay home.
Post by: heganboy on October 03, 2018, 01:24:02 AM
See one of Patrick Reed's Ryder cup team mates just threw him under the bus...
Post by: gawa316 on October 03, 2018, 06:40:49 AM
Quote from: heganboy on October 03, 2018, 01:24:02 AM

Who was it?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 03, 2018, 07:27:20 AM
I never knew much about the dislike for Reed but having read about him and his wife there it's hard to like the man. Fair enough he is doing his own thing but to isolate your parents who were there for the first 21 yers of your life and helped him become the man he is in terms of his success is very hard to fathom. The wife seems to be a right bitch
Post by: trailer on October 03, 2018, 12:27:48 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on October 02, 2018, 02:03:38 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 02, 2018, 11:41:01 AM

It was very clearly called too.... not saying in this case it happened but it always surprises me when people look up when fore is called on a golf course.

There's not a lot of golf going on. Like there's only 4 matches on the course. You'd think she would've paid a bit more attention.
Post by: screenexile on October 03, 2018, 12:34:19 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 03, 2018, 06:40:49 AM

Who was it?

Unnamed source!!
Post by: trailer on October 03, 2018, 09:31:07 PM

Is there an article somewhere?
Post by: OgraAnDun on October 03, 2018, 10:32:18 PM
Quote from: trailer on October 03, 2018, 09:31:07 PM

Is there an article somewhere?

Probably this:

https://nypost.com/2018/10/01/patrick-reed-is-so-full-of-s-t-us-ryder-cup-fight-explodes/
Post by: Insane Bolt on October 09, 2018, 08:26:04 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/golf/45785202

Poor Phil😂
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2018, 01:23:20 PM
Obviously you don't agree with the author?
Post by: Insane Bolt on October 11, 2018, 01:57:42 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 11, 2018, 01:23:20 PM
Obviously you don't agree with the author?

Don't agree with Phil. Straight hitting has to be rewarded, that's the name of the game.
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2018, 02:25:11 PM
You disagree that he is going to pick and choose more tournaments and you disagree with his assessment of his own game that the Ryder cup course didn't suit him?

You've got a bit of a crusade going, particularly with your insistent use of a decades old nickname but I think it's typical phil honesty. He didn't complain he just stated it didn't work for him. He's an absolute sprayer of the ball and if you look at where he wins (48 times) he's always scrambling from somewhere.
Post by: Insane Bolt on October 11, 2018, 04:26:38 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 11, 2018, 02:25:11 PM
You disagree that he is going to pick and choose more tournaments and you disagree with his assessment of his own game that the Ryder cup course didn't suit him?

You've got a bit of a crusade going, particularly with your insistent use of a decades old nickname but I think it's typical phil honesty. He didn't complain he just stated it didn't work for him. He's an absolute sprayer of the ball and if you look at where he wins (48 times) he's always scrambling from somewhere.

Crusade?😂 You read a lot into 'poor Phil😂'