Pick a song you will never get sick of listening to...

Started by 5 Sams, July 28, 2007, 07:42:38 PM

DoYerJob Linesman

Quote from: stpauls on August 22, 2007, 12:29:02 PM
haven't seen it mentioned, and it may one of the many youTube links on here that i couldn't be arsed looking through, but my song would have to be Jeremy by Pearl Jam.

HeganBoy mentioned Alive from the same album, but for me, lyrically and musically it has to be Jeremy!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bMRTOZExfJA

Lazy Fecker!

Great tune though!
17/03/02 - Semple Stadium Thurles - Heaven On Earth

That banshee still has me leapin behind the sofa....
Darby O'Gill, get in.... :o :o :o :o

dodo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_iUEwB4ME3I

A classic comment to the video

"if ireland ever fields a world class team of arseholes, gay byrne will be captain and centre forward. "

Quote from: dodo on October 26, 2007, 07:10:47 PM

"if ireland ever fields a world class team of arseholes, gay byrne will be captain and centre forward. "

Aint that the truth.

I have despised the hoor for years, especially after the interview with the woman that had the affair with the bishop, that was the most contrived load of aul bollocks. I hope the fcuker gets the clap.

Lynard Skynard - Freebird

10 minutes of guitar greatness

DirtyDozen12

Beer, now there's a temporary solution!!!

Quote from: dodo on October 26, 2007, 07:10:47 PM

Brilliant clip.

QuoteLynard Skynard - Freebird

10 minutes of guitar greatness

A couple of years back, I was over in New York for St. Patrick's Week.  Anyway, myself and the missus went into the Waldorf Astoria for a nosey around.  While her good self was looking around one of the shops in the hotel foyer, I took myself out to the front door of the hotel where I got into conversation with some guy wearing a cowboy hat of some sort.  I hadn't a clue who he was to my shame, I just thought he was a bit eccentric on it.  Out of know where, some horns started beeping at him from cars passing the hotel....all of a sudden he took a massive run into the middle of 3 or 4 lanes of traffic playing air guitar for all he was worth.....it was then I asked someone else, who the feck is yer man......it turned out to be Artimus Pyle of Lynard Skynard who had been receiving some Hall of Fame award the night before at the Waldorf!  You never know who you'd meet in New York....have the video evidence of the air guitar incident, a classic.

Anyways, songs I never get sick of listening to:

Raglan Road, the Luke Kelly version
Raglan Road, the Chris Kavanagh version
Streets of New York, The Wolfe Tones version
McAlpines Fusiliers, the Ronnie Drew version
Ireland Unfree, The Wolfe Tones version

I'm on fire.

Dirty old town.

Green fields of France.

The taliban song. :P

Mustang Sally.

Ride on.

Baker Street.

Fairytale of Noo York.

Oh Holy Night. (in both latin and English) I have never heard anything like it, it is absolutely sublime.

Thats some list there tram amazing what some people like  ;).

Black: Pearl Jam
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CoG897LvAAI

Achilles Heel: Toploader
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zZztNg_I2s

You can call me al: Paul simon (super bassline)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOiVaE-pKqM

Freebird: Lynard Skynyrd my dad handed me a cd one time, in my nirvana days, just discovering guitar. Said you'll want to listen to this.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FSD7cfi3JPQ

Oh Mary: Neil Diamond (song will load automatically)
http://www.neildiamond.com/

Im sure theres more.

Stew, Mrs Puckoon sang a duet of O Holy night at our wedding with Dominic Kirwan on the altar just after communion (was a christmas wedding). There wasnt a dry eye in the house. Must get it uploaded for myself. She has some set of lungs does Mrs Puck.

Quote from: Take Your Points on October 27, 2007, 09:37:12 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 27, 2007, 09:00:52 PM
Stew, Mrs Puckoon sang a duet of O Holy night at our wedding with Dominic Kirwan on the altar just after communion (was a christmas wedding). There wasnt a dry eye in the house. Must get it uploaded for myself. She has some set of lungs does Mrs Puck.

Must have been some wedding Puck, not many have Dominic as the wedding singer! ;)

When Dominic was just starting out he sang at my parents wedding (my dad used to guest with him when he played local and needed a fiddle player). Guess they are old enough friends. Dad thought it would be a nice touch if he sang at my wedding also, so he asked if he was free to do it, and so it happened. Was some wedding alright, Sam Maguire made a personal entrance and even had his own seat at the top table! The american and hungarian guests didnt know what all the fuss was about. :o

Couldn't be arsed reading back over 11 pages so apologies if some have been mentioned before:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=huLklsj_5HI  - manys a great heat i got on while listening to this  ;D

http://youtube.com/watch?v=9SPMfr38fCA - Pearl Jam

http://youtube.com/watch?v=bOL5cpwTkes - Nirvana

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMJ0t-DyA84  - Not a song but a great tune along
with a visual that some of us here could relate to....