Odd notions as a child

Started by ziggysego, August 27, 2010, 03:32:51 PM

caughtredhanded

I used to think the wrestling on a saturday was lethal scrappin.

DrinkingHarp

When one of my parents would say "its getting tough to make ends meet".

I thought they were talking about the end of some meat and it was the tough part. ::)

Gaaboard Predict The World Cup Champion 2014

I used to think the people you'd see on the television actually lived inside our tv set.

The runners thing seems to be a common one, definitely felt faster with a new pair.

I remember torturing my mad and da for a pair of Reebok Pumps because apparently you could jump very high with them on.  Wouyld love to see a pair now as I actually never got my hands on them.

I remember getting my uncles old Motorbike helmet and being told how it protects your head no matter what, so I ran down the street and just dived to the ground head first, and it worked.

I also remember putting plastic bags on me like parachutes, and jumping old coal bunkers and walls to see if I could glide.

The Claw

My sister had the notion that in the morning, someone would have to get up and lead the traffic around all day. I.e. he was at the front of the traffic all day.

A friend of mine had the notion that you had to suck any blood that you lost, that it was good for you.

Quote from: rosnarun on August 27, 2010, 07:25:17 PM
Quote from: red hander on August 27, 2010, 06:43:50 PM
I used to think the cowboys and Indians shot off those horses in the Westerns actually died.

I also used to think from a very early age the whole ritual of Mass - the candles, the incense etc - was bollix and that many priests were scary, twisted hypocrites who were given far too much respect and were objects of far too much kow-towing by otherwise sensible adults.

Glad I was wrong about the first one
As long as it didn' T leave you bitter and twisted

Or deluded.

I used to think that Scottish soccer team was Patrick Thistle. I took a lot of convincing when I was told there a while ago.

Niall Quinn

Patrick Thistle & Brian Munich.
Back to the howling old owl in the woods, hunting the horny back toad

Another strange notion I had as a child was, I was convinced someday I was going to spontaneously combust.

Quote from: ziggysego on August 31, 2010, 10:20:21 PM
Another strange notion I had as a child was, I was convinced someday I was going to spontaneously combust.
Nothing strange about it, you will  ;)

winsamsoon

What are ya's on about lads i still think i am running faster than everyone else when i get a new pair of trainers.

Anyone experience the monster under the bed syndrom??? That It the clown bastid nearly tipped me over the edge

Sticking the tip top carton in the back wheel of the bmx thinking it was a motorbike

Also making peg guns and shooting pigeons with them of course no one could shot aswell as yours trully

Ah some craic
I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

Quote from: ziggysego on August 27, 2010, 03:32:51 PM
As I said in another thread:

When I was a child, I thought my life was a soap opera. I thought there was hidden camera all over the place watching me and the show was being viewed in Australia.

I'd a lot of funny notions as a child.

What strange notions did you have as a child growing up?

Me too  :o
Well mine was a bit different. I thought my life was some sort of scientific experiment. That people (doctors, scientists etc) were watching and monitoring me to see how I reacted to things. All the events and interactions with other people in my life were planned to see how I'd react.
I then realised I'm not that important  :D

winsamsoon

I never forget a face but in your case I will make an exception.

mc_grens

I used to think there was a wee band inside our kitchen radio. For years I wanted togelp them escape and give them a good feed.

After having my first kiss with a local blade, in a bush in my housing estate, I remember being as proud as punch telling my friends in primary school the next day I had S-E-X the night before!