Fantasy NHL - idiot squad 57 on tour

Started by turk, November 15, 2006, 10:32:53 AM

turk

Hi folks,

I'm going to a real life NHL match on sunday. It's New york v tampa. Brendan Shanahan will be playing (he's irish).

Anyone been to one of these?

I was at a NY Rangers v Carolina game in Madison Square Garden a few years back, its a good night out but stock up on the beers. If its a close game the atmosphere will be very good but if NY get a few ahead it dies out. Takes a while to get used to the rules and up to the speed of the puc. It does move fast but if you are used to seeing hurling live then its no problem. If you can, do a tour of the Garden there are some great photos of the sports stars who have appeared there over the years and you see the original boxing heavweight champions trophy with all the champions names upto Ali and beyond inscribed on it.

I used to go to alot of ice hockey during my time in Slovakia, 1 Euro would get you a good seat and 0.25 a beer and it was really good exciting hockey with less of the fighting you get in US hockey and also less of the US razzmatazz.

Enjoy...

I've been to at least 30 or 40 NHL games. They are great craic. Where are your seats? Is it the Islanders or the Rangers? (Oh I just saw you mentioned Shanahan, so it's the Rangers.) Is it in the garden?

The last hockey game I was at was the Islanders against the Flyers last year.

Mike, the fighting has really gone down in the NHL. It's seldom enough there'd be a fight now, unless there's a reason for it.

turk

Great stuff lads! keep an eye out for the big mammoth flag!!

The Claw

Should have brought Shanahan to the international rules, some of his fights on youtube are frightening.

Youtube Scott Stevens if you want to see some good hits.

Shanahan's parents are from the Kingdom - I believe he brought the Stanley Cup there a few years back when he won it with Detroit.

Ireland could have had a savage team – if you used the granny rule that is.

I thought Shanahan's parents, and some siblings were from up North, the Ballymena area? I was at a REd Wings - Coyotes play off game and there was something in the program about Shanahan, and that was in the profile.

Quote from the Toronto Saint Patricks Day reports from somewhere. Looks like we were both wrong, but both kind of half - close

QuoteBrendan Shanahan's parents moved from Ireland to Canada in the 1950's. They met and married in Toronto. His lovely mother, Rosaleen Kerr, was born in Belfast.

Donal, from Dunmanus, west Cork, was born into a hockey family himself...sorry, I meant born into a family the size of a hockey team. Donal was one of 15 children!

He was also the first of many in the family to move from Ireland to Toronto. Don became a firefighter and eventually the Director of Fire Prevention in Etobicoke.

Idiot Squad was being reeled back in but is having a stormer again this week, 10-1 up.

Rank   Team W-L-T Pct Pts Last Week Waiver Moves
1.  Idiot Squad 57 49-17-24 .678 122 5-5-5 3 6
2.  Toronto Shamrocks 35-33-22 .511 92 6-7-2 7 3
3.  Carrick Bruisers 27-25-38 .511 92 6-5-4 5 -
4.  Happy Gilmore Hardys 32-31-27 .506 91 5-5-5 8 10
5.  Big Apple Orchards 31-34-25 .483 87 5-6-4 4 -
6.  Mayo Mafiosi 30-35-25 .472 85 10-3-2 1 -
7.  Faithful Icemen 26-36-28 .444 80 7-6-2 2 -
8.  Kildare Flyers 23-42-25 .394 71 3-10-2 6 1

Aristotle Flynn

A tyrant must put on the appearance of uncommon devotion to religion.

The Idiot Squad and the Shamrocks both win again this week.

Looks like Turk got to see a good game - the Rangers won 4-1 and Jarmoir Jagr scored his 600th career goal in the game - only th 16th in history to do so

turk

Hi lads,

yes back from this and it was excellent. I enjoyed it very much and so did the WAGs that were dragged along as part of idiot squad for the night. Jagr scored his landmark goal early and then Tampa did most of the pressing and were held off in a couple of power plays. Shanahan scored and they played fiddly diddly music over the PA system for the crowd. Couple of contentious goal decisions resulted in the Tampa coach getting thick and getting put out. Great night.

The Shamrocks took an awful hammering this week

Rank Team  W-L-T Pct     Pts     Last Week     Waiver     Moves
1. Idiot Squad 57    102-22-41    .742    245    11-1-3    3    6
2. Happy Gilmore Hardys    63-55-47    .524    173    7-3-5    8    10
3. Carrick Bruisers    56-53-56    .509    168    0-9-6    5    -
4. Toronto Shamrocks    59-68-38    .473    156    1-11-3    7    6
5. Big Apple Orchards    57-66-42    .473    156    10-3-2    4    -
6. Mayo Mafiosi    53-63-49    .470    155    3-7-5    1    -
7. Faithful Icemen    43-74-48    .406    134    3-10-2    2    -
8. Kildare Flyers    44-76-45    .403    133    9-0-6    6    1

Idiot Squad running away with this, the race is on for second though

Rank   Team W-L-T Pct Pts Last Week Waiver Moves
1.  Idiot Squad 57 158-38-59 .735 375 8-4-3 3 8
2.  Happy Gilmore Hardys 99-86-70 .525 268 5-4-6 8 10
3.  Toronto Shamrocks 100-92-63 .516 263 5-7-3 7 8
4.  Carrick Bruisers 86-86-83 .500 255 7-5-3 5 -
5.  Big Apple Orchards 86-100-69 .473 241 4-5-6 4 1
6.  Mayo Mafiosi 76-105-74 .443 226 4-8-3 1 -
7.  Kildare Flyers 66-114-75 .406 207 7-3-5 6 1
8.  Faithful Icemen 67-117-71 .402 205 3-7-5 2 -

How come you can only make 10 moves during the season?