Words only the Irish use.

Started by SidelineKick, December 05, 2008, 11:52:57 AM

SidelineKick

I love the wee phrases and words we have that nobody else uses for example:

Quare

Eejit

Scundered (although in south Derry scundered means fed up whereas practically everywhere else it means embarrassed)

Th'on

Howl (hold)

Cowl (cold)

Curt

Any others welcome  ;D
"If you want to box, say you want to box and we'll box"

"Stoor".  (Although i think this is only Aghagallon people who use this.)

As in "That tractor is stoor".  Roughly translated as "That tractor is a fine piece of machinery, definitely fit-for-purpose".

Other words:

Bejaysus
Ganche
Flange

Cup of Tae with a bit of cow (Cup of tea with Milk)

Inodjus - As in that was an inodjus point Dooher kicked in the All Ireland Final (That was a fine score by dooher)
Wojus - the negative of Inodjus - Your a wojus Bollox (You are not very intelligent)
Clatty - That is a clatty hoor of a day (The weather is bad today)

I could write a book of  them.

SidelineKick

Quote from: mylestheslasher on December 05, 2008, 12:03:27 PM
Inodjus - As in that was an inodjus point Dooher kicked in the All Ireland Final (That was a fine score by dooher)
Wojus - the negative of Inodjus - Your a wojus Bollox (You are not very intelligent)
Clatty - That is a clatty hoor of a day (The weather is bad today)

I could write a book of  them.

I'd buy it  :D

Didn't realise people from outside of Derry used ganch.

Gype is another one - an eejit if you will.

Stoor is a great word. You'd hear plasterers use it when describing the dust and dirt.

Many of those words are dying out now.

You rarely hear now:

Fernenst (against/near)
Foundered (cold)
Clift (eejit)
Thran (moody)
Sheugh
Gutties
Duur/fluur (door/floor)

Carn for the Armachians amongst us. Always took it to mean bit of a bad un.

SidelineKick

Poultus

Foundered is one of my favourites, good work A'Nail!

Thran is also a good find!

Fierce, as in fierce handlin'
Wild (pronounced 'wile') = fierce.
Wain (as in wee one)
Culchie, opposite of Jackeen  ;)

To me hte best word that the Irish use (and not so much up North) is yoke... it can be used to describe anything that you don't know the name of or can't describe.

Ah jesus that's a great yoke that isn't it?!

Another one is "Doofer" (Dont know how to spell it, but this is what it sounds like)

As in something like a small insignificant part of a machine, has anyone else even heard this before?

SidelineKick

Quote from: Onion Bag on December 05, 2008, 12:19:52 PM
Another one is "Doofer" (Dont know how to spell it, but this is what it sounds like)

As in something like a small insignificant part of a machine, has anyone else even heard this before?

Some of the relations would use doofer as the word the remote for the tv!