Started by Donegal Danny, February 10, 2009, 08:15:17 PM

Donegal Danny

Donegal vs Mayo
10 February 2009

Information for Patrons attending Donegal vs Mayo
At the O'Donnell Park, Letterkenny
On February 14th.

1. There will be NO PARKING in the grounds of the O'Donnell Park.
2. St. Eunan's GAA club will provide a shuttle bus service running between Conwall, The O'Donnell Park and the car park opposite Black's Centra/Tin Tai for patrons who wish to avail of this service.
3. Gardai will have traffic management arrangements in place.
. Through traffic coming from and heading towards the Glenties direction will be diverted around the Rockhill, New Mills road.
. Match traffic will not be allowed past Black's Centra/Tin Tai
. Patrons travelling from the town side are advised to park in the town before making their way to the game and make use of the shuttle bus service being provided by St. Eunans GAA Club.
4. Match traffic coming from the Glenties direction will be allowed in as close to the ground as possible but will be turned and parked headed for home by Gardai.
5. Patrons are advised to park legally and not to block residential entrance etc.
6. Patrons are asked to co-operate with Gardai and stewards at all times.
7. Patrons are asked to respect residents' property as they make their way to and from the game.

Cheers Danny. If you're coming from the Ballybofey end and in by the mount errigal will that Black's Centra be the first post you'll meet of those you've listed? And is it walking distance from there? How many ppl does O'Donnell Park hold?

Looks like a typical pile of GAA sh1t - if there are such plans needed to be put in place surely we could have waited until Sunday when the shopping traffic would have cleared.

Reminds me of the minor replay in Longford. must have walked 3 miles to the ground.

Danny how far is it to the ground from the town centre?

RMDrive

"A" is the bottom of Lurgybrack (aka the big hill as you come down into Letterkenny from Ballybofey).
"B" is Blacks Centra. It's a the bottom of the town but I'd look for parking before you get that far. Try in one of the shopping areas along Pearse road.
"C" is O'Donnell Park. As you can see it's only a short walk from town out to the ground. You can take the bus if you want.

Cheers RM. That turn-off on port rd, the roundabout as shown in the map, is that the roundabout where you take a right turn for Mount Errigal Hotel? Try to get my bearings, ta

RMDrive

Thats the one all right. It's the Pole-Star roundabout. (have you seen the scupture made from telegraph poles?).

Quote from: RMDrive on February 10, 2009, 10:35:21 PM
Thats the one all right. It's the Pole-Star roundabout. (have you seen the scupture made from telegraph poles?).

Cheers. No haven't seen the sculpture. Was in Letterkenny in December but hazy enough memories ::)

Quote from: Barney on February 10, 2009, 09:21:10 PM
Looks like a typical pile of GAA sh1t - if there are such plans needed to be put in place surely we could have waited until Sunday when the shopping traffic would have cleared.

Reminds me of the minor replay in Longford. must have walked 3 miles to the ground.

Danny how far is it to the ground from the town centre?
its about a mile and and a half. it is unbelievable they got planning to put up a stand hold ing a few thousamd people  for a ground built on a bad corner out a minor road  with no parking. that car park danny is talking about holds 20 cars max.there is a Dunnes one beside it but on a Saturday that's going to be packed without a match.
Its a shame mayo people are going to have to bear the brunt of small minded donegal petty politics. taxi out is your best bet fromone of the hotels. though getting back could be a problem

Last time I was in Letterkenny ( for a weekend) I stopped off on the way home of a Sunday in Ballybofey for a league match between Derry and Donegal. It was a treat. The place was wedged. Great match between possibly the top 2 sides at the time. I remember John Duffy having a good game and Kieran McKeever doing his best to kill him - as he should. Feckin hell. Must have been c. 1994. Not ruling out making this match but I dunno.

RMDrive

Quote from: rosnarun on February 10, 2009, 10:58:39 PM
Its a shame mayo people are going to have to bear the brunt of small minded donegal petty politics. taxi out is your best bet fromone of the hotels. though getting back could be a problem

Ah pull your horns in a bit will you. It's only a short walk. No more than from Mick's up to McHale park. I'll have to keep an eye out for someone muttering and moaning as they head out to the game. Hope you enjoy it.

Mayo lads Ye'll be going past my beautiful home town of Cliffoney, Call into any of the pubs for a pint.

Good Luck Donegal ;).