Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Aerlik on October 25, 2008, 08:01:16 AM

Title: Rugby League World Cup
Post by: Aerlik on October 25, 2008, 08:01:16 AM
All the very best to our other international team playing Down Under when Ireland begins its 2008 Rugby League World Cup on Monday v. Tonga.  If I was in or near Sydney then I'd have been going to watch having played the game for four years.

Eire Abu
Title: Re: Rugby League World Cup
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 25, 2008, 10:53:38 AM
I've see they've made big changes to the format putting the 3 teams with a chance of winning it in the same group of 4 and qualifying 3 from that group for the semis. To qualify for the semis Ireland need to win their group and beat the winners of the other 3 tram group.

Its not a bad system I suppose as if you had England, NZ and Australia in separate groups it'd just turn into a set of meaningless trashings with little appeal. Bit tough on Papua New Guinea though.
Post by: Tankie on October 25, 2008, 11:43:14 AM
a shite sport! and its hardly an Ireland team, I think there were more Irish lads on our 1990's soccer teams then are on this team!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 25, 2008, 12:45:22 PM
Quote from: Tankie on October 25, 2008, 11:43:14 AM
a shite sport!

Well that's that settled then.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 25, 2008, 02:09:52 PM
This is much more exciting to watch than Rugby Union..
I went to a lot of games when i was living in Sydney
Post by: Gnevin on October 25, 2008, 02:41:47 PM
Quote from: Tankie on October 25, 2008, 11:43:14 AM
I think there were more Irish lads on our 1990's soccer teams then are on this team!

;D ;D
Classic . I'm with Tankie i can't stand  Rugby Lite
Post by: Uladh on October 25, 2008, 03:34:24 PM

Union is rugby lite
Post by: Puckoon on October 25, 2008, 06:23:43 PM

/-------American Football
               /
Rugby-----/
              \
               \--------Rugby League

Both Hybrids have their merits - personally I dont really enjoy rugby league in the slightest. I've tried watching it - ITV always had it on on a saturday afternoon, just didnt enjoy it.
Post by: The Blegard on October 25, 2008, 07:12:19 PM
Rugby League is probably the best TV game IMO as you can see the whole action in one screen shot. TV does no justce to gaelic or soccer as there is as much action off the ball in regards to runs then the screen can show. This is a reason the crowds arent great but the TV audience is huge in Oz.

Is Adrian Morely still playing for England??. That is the hardest man to ever set foot a pitch
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on October 25, 2008, 07:43:25 PM
What became of Brian Carney? Is he still at Munster?
Post by: Old Bill on October 26, 2008, 01:16:15 AM
He is still with munster yea but not getting any gametime unfortunately. watched the england and PNG match today. good even match and good way to start the tournament. Good luck to Ireland on Monday morning. Prefer League to Union myself.
Post by: Tankie on October 26, 2008, 06:32:22 PM
Can the lad that say they prefer league to union please  explain why or do they even know what is different. As someone who has played both games(league is  generally played in the summer by union guys to stay fit) i find league the most rediculous game ever as it makes no sence to tackle somebody and not be allowed to steal the ball.
But i have some non - rugby mates telling me lastnite that they prefer league but yet the most either of them have ever watch is about ten mins of leagues and think its better as it looks fast, but yet they did not know why it was faster.

Aagain i say  - its a shite sport that lets a man retain posession of a ball after he has been tackled and then opposition must retreat to allow the team play!!

Can the pro league people here give an arguement for league or do people just not understand the game?
Post by: Hardy on October 26, 2008, 08:14:37 PM
Rugby League looks to me like rugby for people with a short attention span.
Post by: stephenite on October 26, 2008, 10:32:45 PM
Heading out to watch this game this evening - nothing better to do on a Monday night.
Post by: ONeill on October 27, 2008, 08:16:06 AM

Ireland v Tonga latest score

Ireland 0-6 Tonga

Tonga: Talanoa, Vuna, Jennings, Uaisele, Tonga, Mateo, Taufa'ao,
Kaufusi, Leo-Latau, Manuokafoa, L Paea, Fa'aoso, Manu.

Replacements: Moa, Lauaki, Uasi, Williams.

Ireland: Platt, Blanch, Gleeson, Littler, Richards, Grix,
Fitzpatrick, O'Carroll, Beswick, Tandy, Harrison, Doran,
Finnigan.

Replacements: McIlorum, Finn, Haggerty, Cassidy.
Post by: ONeill on October 27, 2008, 08:36:10 AM

Hard-nosed Ireland ready for battle

By Phil Harlow

Irish teams competing under the pressure of a World Cup environment don't always have the happiest of records.

Roy Keane, the combustible captain of the Republic of Ireland football team, stormed out of his side's training camp in Japan before the 2002 World Cup after a furious row with boss Mick McCarthy about the standard of facilities and a perceived lack of professionalism.

Keane said he was sick of a happy-go-lucky "give it a lash" approach in Irish sport - but the Ireland team travelling to Australia for this month's Rugby League World Cup have no intention of making that mistake.

"We've been planning for this since the day we qualified against Lebanon last November," Ireland team manager Mike Callaghan told BBC Sport.

"All the hard work and attention to detail we've put in over the last few months will stand us in good stead when we actually start playing. It's been a very hectic few months."

With the sport still in its infancy on the Emerald Isle, Rugby League Ireland cannot contemplate the level of resources available to their football counterparts.

But the Irish set-up has done everything possible to ensure the campaign - which begins against Tonga in Parramatta on 27 October - goes smoothly.

"We've had a delegation go to Australia to look at the training camps and hotels and meet local business people," said Callaghan. "We then employed people there to help finalise all the little things that go into a World Cup. It's a very professional set-up."

Ireland have had to cut their cloth to some extent, flying out on the same plane as England but making do with standard seats while Tony Smith's men enjoyed the benefits of business class.

And head coach Andy Kelly has had to take time off from his day job as a self-employed kitchen fitter in order to make the trip down under.

Nevertheless, Ireland, who reached the last eight on their World Cup debut back in 2000, are not going along to make up the numbers.

With the likes of Pat Richards, Eamon O'Carroll, Michael McIlorum, Gareth Haggerty and Wests Tigers prop Ryan Tandy on board, they have plenty of top-level experience in their ranks.

"I feel we've got a very strong squad," added Callaghan. "We'll certainly have the team spirit that will carry us through games. Everyone's working together and we've got a fantastic bond.

"The lads have been doing a lot of work in the gym on the weights, and they trained in the climate chamber at Liverpool John Moores University - our conditioner is a lecturer there - to get accustomed to the heat and humidity they'll encounter in Australia."

Ireland will also benefit from the huge experience of Barrie McDermott and Terry O'Connor, who both played for the Wolfhounds in the 2000 tournament, during their World Cup campaign.

McDermott is Kelly's right-hand man, while O'Connor is assistant to Callaghan, helping deal with the off-the-field logistics.

"They've both been there and done it," said Callaghan, who was Leigh Centurion's general manager during the club's time in Super League.

"They are Grand Final winners and former GB and Ireland internationals. We can draw on that knowledge and experience."

Ireland have got one eye on the long-term future, with the aim of moving up the world rankings and becoming a more established force on the international scene.

"It's about what we can learn from this as a group and take forward for the years to come in the European Nations Cup and so on," said Callaghan.

"What bodes well for Ireland is that we have four players from the domestic competition who have made the grade to play international rugby league at the World Cup. The playing standards there have shot up in the last two years and over the next few years we're aiming to develop that further.

"We have to be realistic. Rugby league is a very minor sport in Ireland at the moment with the competition from the gaelic sports, rugby union, football, horse racing and so on. But there is so much potential over there."

We'll see just how much in the next few weeks.

BBC

Post by: ONeill on October 27, 2008, 08:37:14 AM
LATEST SCORE

31 mins: TRY TONGA 6-10 IRELAND
Superb offload from Gareth Haggarty lands into the breadbasket of Karl Fitzpatrick, who feeds Michael Platt with what looks like a forward pass as the Bradford full-back touches down, despite an excellent last-ditch tackle from Uaisele. However, the try counts as the video referee cannot call on forward passes. Super League's top point scorer Pat Richards adds the extras.

36 mins: TRY TONGA 10-10 IRELAND
Joel Tauf'ao kicks to the corner of the Ireland in-goal area from the fifth tackle, but Michael Platt dithers as he attempts to cover the kick, allowing the onrushing Cooper Vuna the opportunity to get his fingertips on the ball for the try. Ganson calls in video referee Paul Simpkins, who confirms the try is good. Poor concentration from the Bradford number one. However, the scores remain level as Tauf'ao misses the conversion.

TONGA 12-10 IRELAND AT HALF TIME

FULL-TIME: TONGA 22-20 IRELAND
Post by: stephenite on October 28, 2008, 12:24:57 AM
Great game, and great atmosphere. Thought we were very unlucky
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 28, 2008, 08:27:30 AM
QuoteThought we were very unlucky

I know in the end we could have held on but we were lucky more like, 2 forward passes for our tries and the Tongan discipline was horrendous. A friend of my mine didn't make the match squad so was very disappointed for him but very proud of that team, they played with tremedous spirit and passion and represented our country with great distinction.
Post by: stephenite on October 28, 2008, 09:30:45 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 28, 2008, 08:27:30 AM
QuoteThought we were very unlucky

I know in the end we could have held on but we were lucky more like, 2 forward passes for our tries and the Tongan discipline was horrendous. A friend of my mine didn't make the match squad so was very disappointed for him but very proud of that team, they played with tremedous spirit and passion and represented our country with great distinction.

Was pretty much on the touchline and didn't notice the forward passes until I saw the highlights this evening. Great evenings craic though, thoroughly enjoyable. Looking forward to the trip to Melbourne to watch the other Irish team on Friday, Spring racing carnival at Flemington on Saturday and back up to Sydney for the Samoan game next week ;D
Post by: muppet on October 28, 2008, 09:42:36 AM
QuoteWith the sport still in its infancy on the Emerald Isle, Rugby League Ireland cannot contemplate the level of resources available to their football counterparts.

Given some of the brainless comments on this thread earlier I won't dive in but surely a sport has to have been born to be in it's infancy?

For the record I have seen some good RL games on TV but it's not for me. It's seems unnaturally inhibited or something.   
Post by: Mentalman on October 28, 2008, 01:51:03 PM
Can you imagine what it was like when the tackle count was unlimited? Clucking bell.
Post by: magpie seanie on October 28, 2008, 02:41:21 PM
Are there any lads born here in the squad? What's the qualification to be able to be picked for Ireland? Judging by the accents of the bucks interviewed I'd say they're as Irish as Skippy.
Post by: Rossfan on October 28, 2008, 06:32:31 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 28, 2008, 02:41:21 PM
What's the qualification to be able to be picked for Ireland?

I believe they are the same as for Soccer. ;)

Did they play the National Anthem beforehand or was it Ireland's Call?
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 03, 2008, 11:07:12 AM
QuoteRugby League : Wayne Kerr will make his World Cup debut for Ireland in Wednesday's winner-takes-all clash with Samoa. Kerr, 24, who only started playing rugby league three years ago with Carlow Crusaders, will be on the bench in place of veteran Mick Cassidy, the former Wigan and England forward who misses out through injury.

"Mick has been carrying a calf strain during the course of this week," said coach Andy Kelly. "We're hoping he will be ready for our third game. Wayne has worked hard and we think he's ready to drop in there. I know he's excited about it."

The call-up of Kerr, who played for London Skolars this year, is the only addition to the side that lost 22-20 to Tonga in their opening pool C match last Monday.

Kelly also makes two positional changes, with scrum-half Liam Finn and prop Gareth Haggerty coming into the starting line-up at the expense of Karl Fitzpatrick and Ryan Tandy, who both drop to the bench.

Stand-off Graham Holroyd has failed to recover from the knee injury that forced him to sit out Ireland's opening game.

Ireland need to win their final group match at Parramatta Stadium by at least five points to pip Samoa for top spot and a place in the semi-final qualifier against Fiji or Scotland.

Ireland : M Platt (Bradford); D Blanch (Wakefield), S Gleeson (Wakefield), S Littler (Salford), P Richards (Wigan); S Grix (Wakefield, capt), L Finn (Dewsbury), E O'Carroll (Wigan), B Beswick (Widnes), G Haggerty (Harlequins), B Harrison (Warrington), L Doran (Leigh), S Finnigan (Bradford). Replacements : M McIlorum (Wigan), K Fitzpatrick (Salford), W Kerr (London Skolars), R Tandy (Wests Tigers).
Post by: stephenite on November 04, 2008, 12:02:33 AM
Just reminded yesterday that I have to go a conference for the rest of week, leaving tomorrow afternoon a few hours before I was supposed to go to the Ireland game - drink addled from Melbourne and completely forgot about the f**king thing >:( >:(
Post by: Gnevin on November 04, 2008, 12:17:01 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on October 28, 2008, 02:41:21 PM
Are there any lads born here in the squad? What's the qualification to be able to be picked for Ireland? Judging by the accents of the bucks interviewed I'd say they're as Irish as Skippy.

League has no real qualifications rules . I think they just pick a country they like the look of .Sure look at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Matt_Gafa for example
Post by: Bod Mor on November 05, 2008, 03:19:21 AM
Quote from: stephenite on November 04, 2008, 12:02:33 AM
Just reminded yesterday that I have to go a conference for the rest of week, leaving tomorrow afternoon a few hours before I was supposed to go to the Ireland game - drink addled from Melbourne and completely forgot about the f**king thing >:( >:(

Some weekend in Melbourne surely!!

Heading to the match out oin Paramatta later on. I'd be surprised if we did as well against the Samoans as we did against Tonga.
Post by: full back on November 05, 2008, 08:36:19 AM
70 minutes  IRELAND 30-12 SAMOA

Looking good now
Post by: full back on November 05, 2008, 09:07:22 AM
Ireland top the group & through to next round :o
Post by: turk on November 05, 2008, 09:40:26 AM
Superb achievement. These guys are heroes.
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 09:43:09 AM
Quote from: turk on November 05, 2008, 09:40:26 AM
Superb achievement. These guys are heroes.
How so? If the groups where organised in any sort of realistic way they wouldn't have a chance . The RL world cup is a joke .
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 10:18:00 AM
This team are about as Irish as a British soccer team  ::)  but then again atleast some of them soccer teams have Irish players!
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 10:20:01 AM
well done indeed, a fantastic achievement
Post by: bingobus on November 05, 2008, 01:09:22 PM
Some folks are hard to please. Unless you are playing for your parish after washing the kit and lining out the field then you don't get any recognition at all. Any professional sportsmen who achieve any sort of success while wearing an Irish jersey are to be dismissed or targeted once they show any signs of failure.

What a country of self righteous, under achievers we are.  ::)  ::)  ::)
Post by: billy the kid on November 05, 2008, 01:15:39 PM
I agree bingobus.  Never stopped me supporting the Rep. Ireland soccer team and although it would be great if the League boys were all irish born an bread, As long as they are representing my country I will back them. Well done and good luck in the rest of the tournament.
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 01:19:55 PM
Quote from: bingobus on November 05, 2008, 01:09:22 PM
Some folks are hard to please. Unless you are playing for your parish after washing the kit and lining out the field then you don't get any recognition at all. Any professional sportsmen who achieve any sort of success while wearing an Irish jersey are to be dismissed or targeted once they show any signs of failure.

Wat are you on about, the basis of international sport is that you play for your country - these guys are not playing for their country! all these boys just couldnt make it with their own country and decided to jump on this bandwagon and get to play in a world cup.

And i dont think people generally slag Irish team, yes alot soccer 'fans' do but wat else do you expect from people who watch a game on tv and clam to be fans. BUT i think you will find that most GAA and Rugby supports will never just slag their team off just because things went wrong. i think the rugby world cup was a perfect example of this when Ireland totally blew it but rugby fans didnt abandon the team.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 01:45:56 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 01:19:55 PM
Quote from: bingobus on November 05, 2008, 01:09:22 PM

Wat are you on about, the basis of international sport is that you play for your country - these guys are not playing for their country! all these boys just couldnt make it with their own country and decided to jump on this bandwagon and get to play in a world cup.

And i dont think people generally slag Irish team, yes alot soccer 'fans' do but wat else do you expect from people who watch a game on tv and clam to be fans. BUT i think you will find that most GAA and Rugby supports will never just slag their team off just because things went wrong. i think the rugby world cup was a perfect example of this when Ireland totally blew it but rugby fans didnt abandon the team.
I think thats completely incorrect

soccer fans and rugby fans regularly round on players...s staunton, s Ireland, keane, mccarthy, the entire team under staunton, eddie osullivan, dempsey/murphy, ogara,gatland, oconnell, stringer, odriscoll etc etc the entire team in a few 6 nations...
maybe not all fans, but a multitude do

they do it in gaa circles also, giving out about players

whatever the sport, if a guy is playing for Ireland, I'll support him and his team.
Rugby league lads as much as anyone - pity the tv coverage is on at such awkward times though !
Post by: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 02:12:59 PM
Yeh, but what's the point? What makes it an Irish team? The fact that it calls itself Ireland and wears a green jersey? Do the players live and/or play in Ireland. Are they Irish citizens? Have they ever visited Ireland? I heard a list of the scorers on the radio and they sounded like Irish names.

I'm asking because I don't know, but the extent to which it's appropriate to get excited about "Ireland" doing well depends on the answers to these types of questions. Indeed if it's just a band of mercenaries using Ireland as a flag of convenience to get into a big tournament and advance their careers, not only would they not be worthy of support, but we should be annoyed about having the country's name used like that. Does anyone here know how Irish this team is, so that I can decide whether to cheer them, ignore them or be annoyed at them?
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 02:22:25 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 02:12:59 PM
Yeh, but what's the point? What makes it an Irish team? The fact that it calls itself Ireland and wears a green jersey? Do the players live and/or play in Ireland. Are they Irish citizens? Have they ever visited Ireland? I heard a list of the scorers on the radio and they sounded like Irish names.

I'm asking because I don't know, but the extent to which it's appropriate to get excited about "Ireland" doing well depends on the answers to these types of questions. Indeed if it's just a band of mercenaries using Ireland as a flag of convenience to get into a big tournament and advance their careers, not only would they not be worthy of support, but we should be annoyed about having the country's name used like that. Does anyone here know how Irish this team is, so that I can decide whether to cheer them, ignore them or be annoyed at them?
[/quoteit depends on your persepctive

as for the players, well I cannot speak for them, but know that a lot of second/third generation Irish over in England - typically in places like the Yorks/Lancs areas where Rugby league is based - are very Irish.
Its this kind of Irishness that has Aidan McGeady and now young McCarthy of hamilton declaring for Ireland. Its not that Ireland were the first team to come in for them (as someone quoted on mccarthy recently) its a sense of nationalism handed down to offspring from their families and in mccarthys case, his grandfather was the man who kept his desire and love for Ireland and the young lad took from him.

I dont know much about rugby league any more - I used to follow it, but just havent the time to watch all sports these days, and I would expect that there are a couple of 'Irish' lads in the squad. Obv a lot of 'cascarinos' too, but they need to be able to fill a full team.
This will continue until we ever get a league here- which imo is unlikely.
imo this rugby league world cup is as necessary as the international rules series we have. its more of a thing to recognise players really.
Post by: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 02:46:23 PM
If there are reasonable qualifying criteria, fair enough. I wouldn't question the Irishness of children of Irish parents - if they qualify for an Irish passport they're Irish to me. I just thought there was a suggestion that there were very lax standards of "Irishness", if any, required to be a member of the team.

I find rugby league very boring. But the best of luck to them if they're a genuine Irish team.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 02:53:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 02:46:23 PM
If there are reasonable qualifying criteria, fair enough. I wouldn't question the Irishness of children of Irish parents - if they qualify for an Irish passport they're Irish to me. I just thought there was a suggestion that there were very lax standards of "Irishness", if any, required to be a member of the team.

I find rugby league very boring. But the best of luck to them if they're a genuine Irish team.
I dont know Hardy,
have also heard that some of them are not near an Irish passport (obv dont know any Irish politicians then!)
but there has to be a few on it that are !

anyhow I'd support Ireland in tiddlywinks or anything - esp if it was against england !
Post by: turk on November 05, 2008, 04:23:39 PM
These guys are heroes. Brian Carney must be sorry he didn't stick with it.

Hopefully we will get the result against Fiji next
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 04:27:59 PM
Fair play to them,Hope they can go even further
Post by: Denn Forever on November 05, 2008, 04:31:24 PM
Is there any rugby league played in Ireland?  Maybe it will start now.
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 04:35:02 PM
Quote from: turk on November 05, 2008, 04:23:39 PM

I'd sure he's happy enough with his H-Cup medal and playing with actual  Irish players in Munster and Ireland
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 04:42:19 PM
Taken from Wiki

The national team
Main article: Ireland national rugby league team
There are in fact two Ireland teams: the full Ireland side is dominated by players of Irish ancestry from Super League and the NRL, whilst the Irish Wolfhounds side is made up of players from the domestic Irish competition.

Until recently the Great Britain team were known as 'Great Britain and Ireland' and Irish players were able to play for them. Brian Carney (rugby footballer) is a rare example of a player who played in the Irish league and then gained a professional contract with Super League club Wigan Warriors, he went on to play for Great Britain and Ireland.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rugby_league_in_Ireland

Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 04:44:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 04:27:59 PM

sure you love your British teams  ;D
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 04:45:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 04:42:19 PM

There are in fact two Ireland teams: the full Ireland side is dominated by players of Irish ancestry from Super League and the NRL, whilst the Irish Wolfhounds side is made up of players from the domestic Irish competition.

I wonder if Obama wants to play for Ireland ?  ;)
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 04:46:45 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 04:45:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 04:42:19 PM

I wonder if Obama want to play for Ireland ? : ;)

Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 04:51:27 PM
I couldn't give a flying fcuk where the lads come from. If they are representing Ireland - I'll back them
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 04:53:32 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 04:51:27 PM
I couldn't give a flying fcuk where the lads come from. If they are representing Ireland - I'll back them
So go support club rugby. As someone said the point of a national team is to have people from that country or with very close ties to that country playing . Not every Tom, Dick and Harry.
Post by: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 04:57:13 PM
What does "dominated" by players of Irish ancestry mean? Does it mean that the players of Irish ancestry bully the others? And who ARE the others?

Seriously, though, I can only interpret it as meaning (1) that the majority of the players have Irish ancestry, not necessarily citizenship - i.e. they might be as Irish as Barack Obama and (2) that there are players on the team who don't even have Irish ANCESTRY, never mind citizenship. How does that work? Sounds like a bit of a joke to me.

Let them fire away, but I don't think I'll be getting up in the middle of the night to go mad about a team "dominated by players of Irish ancestry".

If I got together a few Irish people of French ancestry, added a few Poles, Nigerians and other Irishmen, called the team "France" and entered it in the World Tip-In-The-Hat Championships, could I expect the Legion d'Honneur if we won the thing?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 04:59:57 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 04:53:32 PM
So go support club rugby. As someone said the point of a national team is to have people from that country or with very close ties to that country playing . Not every Tom, Dick and Harry.

Don't tell me what to support or who to support
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 05:01:32 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 04:59:57 PM

ohhh somebody is a bit sesitive today  :D
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 05:01:53 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 04:59:57 PM

Don't tell me not to tell you  what to support or who to support  ;D ;D
Post by: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 05:03:32 PM
Don't tell me people are telling people what to support or who to support and people are telling them back not to tell them what to support or who to support.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 05:05:42 PM
Hilarious lads - you should be up on a stage together
Post by: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 05:07:24 PM
Aye - Laurel and ...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 05:08:37 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 04:44:26 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 04:27:59 PM

sure you love your British teams  ;D

No just the one
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 05:15:46 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 04:57:13 PM
What does "dominated" by players of Irish ancestry mean? Does it mean that the players of Irish ancestry bully the others? And who ARE the others?

Seriously, though, I can only interpret it as meaning (1) that the majority of the players have Irish ancestry, not necessarily citizenship - i.e. they might be as Irish as Barack Obama and (2) that there are players on the team who don't even have Irish ANCESTRY, never mind citizenship. How does that work? Sounds like a bit of a joke to me.

Let them fire away, but I don't think I'll be getting up in the middle of the night to go mad about a team "dominated by players of Irish ancestry".

If I got together a few Irish people of French ancestry added a few Poles, Nigerians and Irishmen, called the team "France" and entered it in the World Tip-In-The-Hat Championships, could I expect the Legion d'Honneur if we won the thing?

where does that stop though - it works both ways
its ok for us to have people with names the likes of Stringer, heaslip, bowe, ward, campbell, trimble, best , in rugby, hand, giles in soccer, plus miskella , canty, cluxton , tohill in international rules playing for us -  but their surnames indicate their 'ancestory' as being actually english or from further afield
are they Irish enough for us ?
obv the answer is yes, so I cant see why people are so uptight about these 'loosely qualified' rugby league lads.
Just glad you lot are not working for the department of imigration !
:o
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 05, 2008, 05:19:19 PM

Whats the point?

Well for a start they are a 32-County team that play Amhrán na bhFiann as their anthem.....that is required to keep the old Fightback section@OWC fuelled in righteous indignation ;D ;D ;D

/Jim.
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 05:19:56 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 05:15:46 PM

If I got together a few Irish people of French ancestry added a few Poles, Nigerians and Irishmen, called the team "France" and entered it in the World Tip-In-The-Hat Championships, could I expect the Legion d'Honneur if we won the thing?

its ok for us to have people with names the likes of Stringer, heaslip, bowe, ward, campbell, trimble, best , in rugby, hand, giles in soccer, plus miskella , canty, cluxton , tohill in international rules playing for us -  but their surnames indicate their 'ancestory' as being actually english or from further afield
are they Irish enough for us ?
obv the answer is yes, so I cant see why people are so uptight about these 'loosely qualified' rugby league lads.
That's not really a far comparison as most of if not all of them lads you mentioned where born and bred in Ireland as where their parents and grandparents . Where as these lads  a Great grand-parent might of been Irish and had never set foot  on the island before declaring for Ireland.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 05:20:52 PM
You really should proof read your posts Gnev
Post by: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 05:22:22 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 05:20:52 PM
Yes i should .I'll try harder.
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 05:23:53 PM

its ok for us to have people with names the likes of Stringer, heaslip, bowe, ward, campbell, trimble, best , in rugby, hand, giles in soccer, plus miskella , canty, cluxton , tohill in international rules playing for us -  but their surnames indicate their 'ancestory' as being actually english or from further afieldare they Irish enough for us ?

now you are boardering on the rediculous!
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 05:26:52 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 05:22:22 PM
I understood it ok, dont mind him !

I understand what you are saying, but I am just pointing out the next level of ridiculousness that such an argument can get to.

ok so these guys were not born here but had Irish ancestory - Farrells, Moores,O'Connors etc
prob more of an Irish heritage and ancestory if you look back up the family tree than the likes of Heaslip, Orr , giles or cluxton

point is that its silliness. We have claimed Irish americans that have dubious ancestory dating back several generations, yet are turning our noses up at these rugby league lads ...I bet we wouldnt be so quick to do so if they won the flipping thing.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 05:27:44 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 05:23:53 PM

its ok for us to have people with names the likes of Stringer, heaslip, bowe, ward, campbell, trimble, best , in rugby, hand, giles in soccer, plus miskella , canty, cluxton , tohill in international rules playing for us -  but their surnames indicate their 'ancestory' as being actually english or from further afieldare they Irish enough for us ?

now you are boardering on the rediculous!
its meant to be ridiculous - however, its not exactly incorrect though is it !

just making a point !
Post by: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 05:30:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 05:26:52 PM

I understand what you are saying, but I am just pointing out the next level of ridiculousness that such an argument can get to.

ok so these guys were not born here but had Irish ancestory - Farrells, Moores,O'Connors etc
prob more of an Irish heritage and ancestory if you look back up the family tree than the likes of Heaslip, Orr , giles or cluxton

point is that its silliness. We have claimed Irish americans that have dubious ancestory dating back several generations, yet are turning our noses up at these rugby league lads ...I bet we wouldnt be so quick to do so if they won the flipping thing.

i think the Rugby Union standard is quite acceptable.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 05:30:59 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 05, 2008, 05:30:21 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 05, 2008, 05:26:52 PM

i think the Rugby Union standard is quite acceptable.
good for you !
:)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 05:33:40 PM
Were you lads up in arms when the cricket fellas were in the World cup last year as well?
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 05, 2008, 06:00:46 PM
Well I delighted for the lads, one of them Wayne Kerr is a friend of mine and from talking to him those guys are really proud of their Irish Heritage and play with a lot of heart and commitment. Some of the comments here are just pure begrudgery which is of course is an Irish man's god given right unless you play rugby league.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 05, 2008, 06:14:53 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 05, 2008, 06:00:46 PM
Well I delighted for the lads, one of them Wayne Kerr is a friend of mine and from talking to him those guys are really proud of their Irish Heritage and play with a lot of heart and commitment. Some of the comments here are just pure begrudgery which is of course is an Irish man's god given right unless you play rugby league.

Well said
Post by: Hardy on November 05, 2008, 07:53:27 PM
Dinny, if that remark is aimed at me, I resent it. I don't begrudge anybody anything. In fact, much more prevalent than the alleged Irish penchant for begrudgery is the predictable dismissal of any questioning of the status quo as "begrudgery". It's the very same phenomenon that gets anyone who criticises anything a traveller says or an immigrant does, labelled as a racist.

To be honest, I don't give a toss what these lads get up to while pretending to be "Ireland" (though I have reservations about any ould Tom Dick or Harry deciding to sail the ocean of international media and commercial entertainment under the banner of Ireland without as much as asking). My point was that I can't get enthusiastic about supporting them as "Ireland". Begrudge them? Not at all. If I begrudged them I'd want them to lose, whereas I couldn't care less if they win the whole feckin thing.
Post by: Rossfan on November 05, 2008, 08:10:18 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 05, 2008, 05:19:19 PM

they are a 32-County team that play Amhrán na bhFiann as their anthem.....

Fair play to them - I'd half expected they'd play Irelands Call or Fields of Athenry
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 05, 2008, 08:20:10 PM
They definitely played Ireland's Call at the 2000 Rugby League World Cup - I was at the game in Windsor Park that day
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 05, 2008, 08:41:36 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 05, 2008, 05:19:19 PM

Whats the point?

Well for a start they are a 32-County team that play Amhrán na bhFiann as their anthem.....that is required to keep the old Fightback section@OWC fuelled in righteous indignation ;D ;D ;D

/Jim.

Their choice of flag and anthem has gone down like the proverbial lead balloon on OWC.

QuoteIt'll just make it all the sweeter when they get bate 78-0 by an island nation smaller than the Copelands by three pygmies & an oil rig worker then

Although that was posted yesterday. ;D
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 12:01:29 AM
QuoteDinny, if that remark is aimed at me, I resent it. I don't begrudge anybody anything. In fact, much more prevalent than the alleged Irish penchant for begrudgery is the predictable dismissal of any questioning of the status quo as "begrudgery". It's the very same phenomenon that gets anyone who criticises anything a traveller says or an immigrant does, labelled as a racist.

To be honest, I don't give a toss what these lads get up to while pretending to be "Ireland" (though I have reservations about any ould Tom Dick or Harry deciding to sail the ocean of international media and commercial entertainment under the banner of Ireland without as much as asking). My point was that I can't get enthusiastic about supporting them as "Ireland". Begrudge them? Not at all. If I begrudged them I'd want them to lose, whereas I couldn't care less if they win the whole feckin thing.

It wasn't aimed at you Hardy, you actually qualify your opinions. Wayne is a 24 year old young lad from Brownstown in Kildare and playing for his country means everything to him. Anyhow don't forget as a nation we recognise the Irish Diaspora and they are as much entitled to Irish Citizenship through their heritage as any poster on this board. There is no glory in playing Rugby League for Ireland, those guys are playing because they choose to play, does anyway honestly believe a legend like Mick Cassidy is out there for a junket, putting his body on the line, these guys played with a lot of passion and spirit and were deserved winners today. How can anyone define what it is to be Irish, it means something different for every single one us but as they are representing my country regardless of the insane qualification standards well then they will always get my support.
Post by: Bod Mor on November 06, 2008, 12:06:56 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 12:01:29 AM
There is no glory in playing Rugby League for Ireland

You should have been in Parramtta stadium last night, then you would know there is plenty of glory playing rugby league for Ireland ;D

Amazing scenes last night. It's a pity the Fiji match is up in the Gold Coast on Monday. If we beat them, it's the Aussies up next at SFS!!
Post by: Aerlik on November 06, 2008, 12:58:54 AM
I can't believe the amount of shite some people are writing on this subject.  FFS there is a team representing the nation of Ireland with men who are either Irish-born or whose ancestry stems from ALL of the 32 counties, just like the Union team.  Give it a f**king rest.  WE beat a highly fancied Samoan team and were just pipped by the Tongans.  Did any of you listen carefully to the Fijian interviewed after the Scotland loss - well done to our Gaelic neighbours on their first ever RLWC win yesterday, too btw - he's as Aussie as they come.  And the Samoan team had a fair proportion of Aussie-born players, as do Fiji and Tonga.  So get off your high fcukin horse.  Joe Lydon and Shaun Edwards were two of the greatest players Wigan ever produced and both are of Irish heritage.  Lydon told us - he was at uni with us - that it would have been his dream to play for Ireland in the RLWC but as it was there was no such tournament back then.  Edwards was prominent in the Irish community in Wigan. 

I played League for four years.  I love it.  Not quite as defined as in the '80s and early '90s.  I'll be roaring as loudly next Monday as I was yesterday for the men in the game against Fiji.

As for Tohill being an English name...the name Tohill is almost exclusively located in the Kilrea-Swatragh area of County Derry.  The name of the parish is in fact Kilrea-Desertohill.  Just like Crilly is the same as the village Tamlaght O'Crilly. It's as Irish as Murphy.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 06, 2008, 09:19:06 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on November 05, 2008, 08:41:36 PM
Their choice of flag and anthem has gone down like the proverbial lead balloon on OWC.

Shame! We Exist!

/Jim.
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 06, 2008, 09:31:23 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on November 06, 2008, 12:58:54 AM
I can't believe the amount of shite some people are writing on this subject.  FFS there is a team representing the nation of Ireland with men who are either Irish-born or whose ancestry stems from ALL of the 32 counties, just like the Union team.  Give it a f**king rest.  WE beat a highly fancied Samoan team and were just pipped by the Tongans.  Did any of you listen carefully to the Fijian interviewed after the Scotland loss - well done to our Gaelic neighbours on their first ever RLWC win yesterday, too btw - he's as Aussie as they come.  And the Samoan team had a fair proportion of Aussie-born players, as do Fiji and Tonga.  So get off your high fcukin horse.  Joe Lydon and Shaun Edwards were two of the greatest players Wigan ever produced and both are of Irish heritage.  Lydon told us - he was at uni with us - that it would have been his dream to play for Ireland in the RLWC but as it was there was no such tournament back then.  Edwards was prominent in the Irish community in Wigan. 

I played League for four years.  I love it.  Not quite as defined as in the '80s and early '90s.  I'll be roaring as loudly next Monday as I was yesterday for the men in the game against Fiji.

As for Tohill being an English name...the name Tohill is almost exclusively located in the Kilrea-Swatragh area of County Derry.  The name of the parish is in fact Kilrea-Desertohill.  Just like Crilly is the same as the village Tamlaght O'Crilly. It's as Irish as Murphy.
good post - apart from the tohill part
tohill is a name from the lincolnshire area of england afaik!
Post by: Gnevin on November 06, 2008, 10:14:58 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on November 06, 2008, 09:31:23 AM

good post - apart from the tohill part
tohill is a name from the lincolnshire area of england afaik!

http://www.ancestry.com/facts/Tohill-places-origin.ashx
http://www.ancestry.com/facts/Tohill-family-history-uk.ashx
Post by: Hardy on November 06, 2008, 11:12:46 AM
Well argued, Dinny. You're right.
Post by: turk on November 06, 2008, 11:17:24 AM
QuoteDinny, if that remark is aimed at me, I resent it. I don't begrudge anybody anything. In fact, much more prevalent than the alleged Irish penchant for begrudgery is the predictable dismissal of any questioning of the status quo as "begrudgery". It's the very same phenomenon that gets anyone who criticises anything a traveller says or an immigrant does, labelled as a racist.

It wasn't aimed at you Hardy, you actually qualify your opinions. Wayne is a 24 year old young lad from Brownstown in Kildare and playing for his country means everything to him. Anyhow don't forget as a nation we recognise the Irish Diaspora and they are as much entitled to Irish Citizenship through their heritage as any poster on this board. There is no glory in playing Rugby League for Ireland, those guys are playing because they choose to play, does anyway honestly believe a legend like Mick Cassidy is out there for a junket, putting his body on the line, these guys played with a lot of passion and spirit and were deserved winners today. How can anyone define what it is to be Irish, it means something different for every single one us but as they are representing my country regardless of the insane qualification standards well then they will always get my support.

Great post Dinny
Post by: turk on November 06, 2008, 11:17:47 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on November 06, 2008, 12:06:56 AM
There is no glory in playing Rugby League for Ireland

You should have been in Parramtta stadium last night, then you would know there is plenty of glory playing rugby league for Ireland ;D

Amazing scenes last night. It's a pity the Fiji match is up in the Gold Coast on Monday. If we beat them, it's the Aussies up next at SFS!!

Superb
Post by: turk on November 06, 2008, 11:20:41 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 05, 2008, 04:35:02 PM
Quote from: turk on November 05, 2008, 04:23:39 PM

I'd sure he's happy enough with his H-Cup medal and playing with actual  Irish players in Munster and Ireland

Maybe! Maybe not!
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 11:49:35 AM
Ok lads so it is fair to say that alot of people on this board would have no problem with their county team being made up of 20 lads from different counties with no other links to your county other than a grandparent?

I know i would rather see 15 Dublin lads be beaten every week than have a heap of outsiders playing for us. If anyone watched that program on the Dubs it proves that most people dont just follow a name, its what the team is made up of that counts!
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 11:51:04 AM
Tankie, you're a big Leinster fan no?
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 11:57:24 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 11:51:04 AM
Tankie, you're a big Leinster fan no?

i am
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 12:05:42 PM
Are all those Leinster rugby players from Leinster?
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 12:12:25 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 12:05:42 PM

a completly different situation as leinster are professional team and do have a huge amount of players from leinster and their captain too BUT the HUGE difference is that both the players from leinster and the international stars give something back to the comunity. these boys have nothing to do with grandparent or some bullshite and live in Britain all their lives, these people are living and playing in Ireland and giving something to the comunity through training camps for kids etc.

My issue with the RL guys is that they really have no connection to Ireland and give nothing back as they dont live or play here and are just using the Ireland name, also i am not looking for them to lose or anything but i dont get excited about it either as I do not see them as Irish!
Post by: Gnevin on November 06, 2008, 12:20:24 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 12:12:25 PM

My issue with the RL guys is that they really have no connection to Ireland and give nothing back as they dont live or play here and are just using the Ireland name, also i am not looking for them to lose or anything but i dont get excited about it either as I do not see them as Irish!

I agree its the same with Celtic, founded by an Irish man years ago and people try to claim they are an Irish club.  ::)
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 12:47:53 PM
QuoteMy issue with the RL guys is that they really have no connection to Ireland and give nothing back as they dont live or play here and are just using the Ireland name, also i am not looking for them to lose or anything but i dont get excited about it either as I do not see them as Irish!

Born in Ireland, have Irish parents/grand-parents, your right absloutely no connection to Ireland.  My father emigrated to the North of England in the 50s, he was lucky in that he was able to afford to come home, many a 'Mick' or a 'Paddy' could not instead they settled in the North of England. Their children have as much right to Irish citizenship as you and in the eyes of our state and constitution are as much an Irish person as you or I. These 2nd/3rd generation Irish men see this as an opportunity to express their Irishness on the world stage (small stage I know), something which shows ithrough n their committment in the games they have played.

By the way Wayne Kerr played Youths rugby for Leinster but then again he plays League he mustn't be Irish.

As for Leinster rugby giving back to the community, you're having a a laugh. They run the odd training camp outside of D4 as a PR excercise, Leinster Rugby is about building a fan base to support the professional game, in fact it's well known that professional rugby has all but ruined senior rugby. Leinster rugby do not support the local game financially at all, they give very little back they are not the GAA.
Post by: bingobus on November 06, 2008, 01:01:11 PM

a completly different situation as leinster are professional team and do have a huge amount of players from leinster and their captain too BUT the HUGE difference is that both the players from leinster and the international stars give something back to the comunity. these boys have nothing to do with grandparent or some bullshite and live in Britain all their lives, these people are living and playing in Ireland and giving something to the comunity through training camps for kids etc.

That is the biggest load of crap i have read in a long time. Don't know where to start, so I'll leave you at it. You obviosuly aren't for turning. Sad really.
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 01:05:57 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 12:47:53 PM
QuoteMy issue with the RL guys is that they really have no connection to Ireland and give nothing back as they dont live or play here and are just using the Ireland name, also i am not looking for them to lose or anything but i dont get excited about it either as I do not see them as Irish!

Born in Ireland, have Irish parents/grand-parents, your right absloutely no connection to Ireland.  My father emigrated to the North of England in the 50s, he was lucky in that he was able to afford to come home, many a 'Mick' or a 'Paddy' could not instead they settled in the North of England. Their children have as much right to Irish citizenship as you and in the eyes of our state and constitution are as much an Irish person as you or I. These 2nd/3rd generation Irish men see this as an opportunity to express their Irishness on the world stage (small stage I know), something which shows ithrough n their committment in the games they have played.

By the way Wayne Kerr played Youths rugby for Leinster but then again he plays League he mustn't be Irish.

As for Leinster rugby giving back to the community, you're having a a laugh. They run the odd training camp outside of D4 as a PR excercise, Leinster Rugby is about building a fan base to support the professional game, in fact it's well known that professional rugby has all but ruined senior rugby. Leinster rugby do not support the local game financially at all, they give very little back they are not the GAA.

Does have a professional team that play in this country not give something back, does it not give people a team to support rather than the bar tools that sit in a pub every saturday and sunday watching British soccer. Yes they do not give as much back as an amateur organisation such as the gaa but i do believe that Rugby does give to the comunity and please dont give me that D4 bullshite, for example leinster pretty much fully funded and 100% supported the creation of Tallaght rugby and i am sure there are many more example around the province and country!
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 01:06:28 PM
Quote from: bingobus on November 06, 2008, 01:01:11 PM

That is the biggest load of crap i have read in a long time. Don't know where to start, so I'll leave you at it. You obviosuly aren't for turning. Sad really.

great reply  ::)
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 01:54:23 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 11:49:35 AM
Ok lads so it is fair to say that alot of people on this board would have no problem with their county team being made up of 20 lads from different counties with no other links to your county other than a grandparent?

I know i would rather see 15 Dublin lads be beaten every week than have a heap of outsiders playing for us.

What a load of bollix..I don't care what you say in reply but there is no way I am believing that  :D
Btw your Junior team that won the All Ireland this year their captain is from Laois...Does that matter to you  :-*
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 02:16:56 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 01:54:23 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 11:49:35 AM

I know i would rather see 15 Dublin lads be beaten every week than have a heap of outsiders playing for us.

What a load of bollix..I don't care what you say in reply but there is no way I am believing that  :D
Btw your Junior team that won the All Ireland this year their captain is from Laois...Does that matter to you  :-*

i'm glad to say that we aint all like you LL who travel over to Britain or go down the pub to watch a british soccer team play, some of us like to watch home grown players and watch IRISH sports teams to succeed!
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 02:26:06 PM
Tankie, Leinster rugby train in Belfield, Old Belvedere and Donnybrook. They play in the RDS and Donnybrook. These are all in D4, don't be looking to deflect. The Tallaght project has all but collapsed despite investment form the IRFU. There was always rugby to watch before the game turned professional if anything they are taking people away from their local clubs so they can idolise the latest Australian, Kiwi import. It's a moot point that professional rugby is helping grassroots rugby.
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 02:39:58 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 02:26:06 PM
Tankie, Leinster rugby train in Belfield, Old Belvedere and Donnybrook. They play in the RDS and Donnybrook. These are all in D4, don't be looking to deflect. The Tallaght project has all but collapsed despite investment form the IRFU. There was always rugby to watch before the game turned professional if anything they are taking people away from their local clubs so they can idolise the latest Australian, Kiwi import. It's a moot point that professional rugby is helping grassroots rugby.

that si where they play and train for years, do you expect Munster to move out of their limerick base and head to Waterford or something? As for the Tallaght 'project' can you please tell me how this has all but callapsed?

Also i do not see people walking away from local clubs as player numbers are up again this year.
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 03:18:53 PM
Eh where did I say they should move training, I was making the point that the only thing Leinster Rugby do for clubs in the province is run the odd training session which again is just a PR excercise.

Tallaght field one adult team a J4 side (The lowest standard in rugby possible to play week to week), they do not own their own grounds or club-house. Their Youths system is not competive and as far as I am aware do not field a 20s or an 18s. That is a very poor return for the thousands of euro invested.

As for player numbers maybe be up (inflated by Tag rugby) but supporter numbers are down. As an example Carlow Rugby regularly had 600-1000 paying supporters at a game, now they are lucky to have 1 man and a dog.
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 03:39:20 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 03:18:53 PM
Eh where did I say they should move training, I was making the point that the only thing Leinster Rugby do for clubs in the province is run the odd training session which again is just a PR excercise.

Tallaght field one adult team a J4 side (The lowest standard in rugby possible to play week to week), they do not own their own grounds or club-house. Their Youths system is not competive and as far as I am aware do not field a 20s or an 18s. That is a very poor return for the thousands of euro invested.

As for player numbers maybe be up (inflated by Tag rugby) but supporter numbers are down. As an example Carlow Rugby regularly had 600-1000 paying supporters at a game, now they are lucky to have 1 man and a dog.

i really think you are being a bit hard on a team that are only a few years in existance, under age structure dont just happen as generally older players will enter their kids in etc so I would see that as a work in progress. Their player numbers are up this year for their J4 team which is very positive for an area that didnt have a rugby team before and as for not have a pitch or a club house their is not alot they can do as the price of land etc in Dublin makes it unfeasable for clubs to buy land these days, i think the setup they have is very good as they have the use of a pitch and a clubhouse that they can call their own. sadly the days of a club buying land and setting up are gone, its either rent of an existing team or the council may help you out (but unlikely).

I really cannot see how you view this as a failure if their player numbers are up and from wat i'm told are mainly made up of new players so they were hardly gonna play in a higher league! these things take years to build!
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 03:45:26 PM
Considering the money invested, it is a failure. Simply economics, the money would have had a better return if invested elsewhere. Tallaght got to an All-Ireland u18 final a few years ago and to be only fielding 1 adult side at J4 is very disappointing.  I'm not been harsh, just been a realist.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:50:19 PM
Dinny if I was you I wouldn't be wasting my energy on this fool..Fact is if even one member of the Rugby League team was from D4 Tankie would be creaming himself over the fact they are doing so well..
They are a credit to themselves and its great we have a Rugby team that can actually compete in a World Cup unlike those overhyped Rugby union fellas who once again flattered to deceive at last years World Cup
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 03:51:13 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 03:45:26 PM
Considering the money invested, it is a failure. Simply economics, the money would have had a better return if invested elsewhere. Tallaght got to an All-Ireland u18 final a few years ago and to be only fielding 1 adult side at J4 is very disappointing.  I'm not been harsh, just been a realist.

from what i'm told they do plan on fielding two next year but i still do not see this as a failure, tallaght is an area that has never had rugby and now have alot of lads who have never played before now playing, this should grow and grow with the right encouragement. I do not think that this is something that should be decided on economics, if that was the case they should have given the cash to one or the senier clubs as it may have developed more talent but then you would complain that only D4 gets the cash.
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 03:52:57 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:50:19 PM
Dinny if I was you I wouldn't be wasting my energy on this fool..Fact is if even one member of the Rugby League team was from D4 Tankie would be creaming himself over the fact they are doing so well..
They are a credit to themselves and its great we have a Rugby team that can actually compete in a World Cup unlike those overhyped Rugby union fellas who once again flattered to deceive at last years World Cup

LL we are having a proper discussion here so if you have nothing constructive to say i'm sure there is some british soccer match from the 1990's being replayed on Sky Sports at the moment!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:55:08 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 03:52:57 PM

LL we are having a proper discussion here so if you have nothing constructive to say i'm sure there is some british soccer match from the 1990's being replayed on Sky Sports at the moment!

Proper Discussion????   :D
More like Dinny is making a show of you and showing you up for the tool you are
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 04:03:35 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 03:55:08 PM

Do you ever stop ruining threads with your shite comments?

also all i want is to promote a sport in a non rugby area and do not believe it should be judged on ecomonics just yet, but local stuff wouldnt really interest you so no wonder you have no problem supporting and irish team of brits!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 04:05:06 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 04:03:35 PM

also all i want is to promote a sport in a non rugby area and do not believe it should be judged on ecomonics just yet, but local stuff wouldnt really interest you so no wonder you have no problem supporting and irish team of brits!

That hole your digging is getting rather large  :D
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 04:11:20 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 06, 2008, 04:05:06 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 04:03:35 PM

That hole your digging is getting rather large  :D

stop trolling LL but by the looks of things you have once again successfully ruined another thread!
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 04:18:00 PM
In fairness LL I don't think Tankie is a D4 head.

Look Tankie I'm not here to argue the failure/success of rugby in Tallaght. My point is that you dismiss the Irish Rugby league team yet one the players played for Leinster, is he not worthy of your support? Leinster Rugby which I support is no more mercenary than any professional support Rugby League included. What about all the rugby players that came via London Irish. (Briam Smith, Jim Staples, Simon Geoghegan, Justin Bishop etc etc), did you not support them? Brian Smith actually played for Oz and Ireland.

You might be on for promoting rugby in a non-rugby area but as it stands Tallaght has not worked, the IRFU it if wants to invest money in non-rugby areas would be better off in rural Leinster imho.
Post by: Tankie on November 06, 2008, 04:30:15 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on November 06, 2008, 04:18:00 PM
In fairness LL I don't think Tankie is a D4 head.

Look Tankie I'm not here to argue the failure/success of rugby in Tallaght. My point is that you dismiss the Irish Rugby league team yet one the players played for Leinster, is he not worthy of your support? Leinster Rugby which I support is no more mercenary than any professional support Rugby League included. What about all the rugby players that came via London Irish. (Briam Smith, Jim Staples, Simon Geoghegan, Justin Bishop etc etc), did you not support them? Brian Smith actually played for Oz and Ireland.

You might be on for promoting rugby in a non-rugby area but as it stands Tallaght has not worked, the IRFU it if wants to invest money in non-rugby areas would be better off in rural Leinster imho.

I do see where you are coming from with the RL lads and maybe i am a bit harsh as I am very much about players playing for Ireland either being from Ireland and ideally playing in the country. I am not looking for these guys to lose and am verry happy for them to win but i just dont get that excited about it compare to how I will feel about Ireland playing over the next 3 weeks.
Post by: Old Bill on November 06, 2008, 11:52:38 PM
The Irish RL team are doing greta out in oz and they could show the soccer team a thing or do bout playing for the jersey and with passion.. no matter what their nationality. Samoa were rated 4th/5th in the world and our boys hammered them. great achievement. hope it will highlight the growth of RL in Ireland. Come on the Wolfhounds!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on November 06, 2008, 11:54:47 PM
whats the RL National League like here in Ireland anyway? Good standard? Know a couple of lads who play/played on one of the north dublin teams.
Pair of Animals aswell!!
Post by: Bod Mor on November 09, 2008, 11:50:41 PM
Ireland can make the semi's for the first time ever in any world tournament competition tonight if we beat Fiji. That would be some achievment!
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 10, 2008, 12:11:39 AM
Always found league more enjoyable than unioin!
Well done to all involved with the Irish team!
chances are that there is probably more on the RL team that knows the irish national anthem than there is on the Dublin team!
Post by: Aerlik on November 10, 2008, 02:16:16 AM
Good luck to OUR NATIONAL TEAM in the game tonight.  I'll be roaring you on from the AFL heartland of North Perth.

G'wan d'Irish
Post by: Carmen Stateside on November 10, 2008, 02:20:25 AM
WHAT TIME IT AT?
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 02:49:33 AM
20:00 EST
09:00 GMT
Post by: Bod Mor on November 10, 2008, 03:44:54 AM
There'll be bonfires in Bondi tonight if Ireland win. I propose if we do win, every Irish man, woman and child in the southern hemisphere to converge on the SFS on Sunday to outroar, outplay, outscore and outdrink the Aussies!
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 04:32:23 AM
I'll be there if we get through - off the drink at the moment though :-\
Post by: Aerlik on November 10, 2008, 04:46:10 AM
Bod Mor, I would if I could, but I can't so I won't.  :(
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 10, 2008, 04:56:28 AM
Quote from: Bod Mor on November 10, 2008, 03:44:54 AM
There'll be bonfires in Bondi tonight if Ireland win. I propose if we do win, every Irish man, woman and child in the southern hemisphere to converge on the SFS on Sunday to outroar, outplay, outscore and outdrink the Aussies!

Bonfires in Bondi, lol! Doesn't quite have the same ring as Bonfires in Bohola to it but a close second!

I'm leaving Sydney next week so that game against the Aussies could tie in for a great super cider Sunday! Come on Ireland!
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 05:02:42 AM
IF we get to play the Aussies NSW and Queensland at their national sport it'll be a massacre of immense of proportions.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on November 10, 2008, 05:07:45 AM
Quote from: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 05:02:42 AM
IF we get to play the Aussies NSW and Queensland at their national sport it'll be a massacre of immense of proportions.

Sure didn't we beat them at their national sport a couple of weeks ago ;)
Ur rite tho, twil be a wipeout if it comes to pass
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 05:42:41 AM
That's Victoria's national sport ;)
Post by: rory on November 10, 2008, 09:05:14 AM
Might not have to worry about getting tanked by the Aussies.... 6 - 0 Fiji after 2 minutes.......
Post by: full back on November 10, 2008, 09:11:20 AM
6-6
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 09:25:01 AM
Still 6-6 after 25 mins.
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 09:32:15 AM
Fiji 12-6 up on 30  mins
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 09:41:00 AM
Fiji 12-10 coming up to half time. Simon Finnegan with the latest try.
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 09:43:50 AM
The BBC highlights of the first half:

2 mins: IRELAND 0-6 FIJI
Simon Finnegan chase down Aaron Groom's kick, but the ball lands back into Groom's hand and the hooker sends through Wes Naiqama, who glides through a paper-thin challenge of Michael Platt before accelerating past various defenders before just about grounding the ball over the tryline. And the Fiji skipper adds the extra two points with the kick. Poor start from Ireland.

7 mins: IRELAND 6-6 FIJI
Damien Blanch - how hot is the Wakefield flyer right now? The winger beats two men on the outside with a 30m run after smart passing from Bob Beswick, Lee Doran and Sean Gleeson to ground his seventh try for Ireland in just six appearances. Referee Ashley Klein goes to the video ref, who sees no reason not to award the score. Top fightback from the Wolfhounds as Pat Richards levels matters with two points with the conversion.

25 mins:
Fiji are penalised yet again, this time for holding down in the tackle about 45m out. But Pat Richards' attempt for an extra two points goes just wide of the posts. Wonder if that could be a costly miss...

30 mins: TRY IRELAND 6-12 FIJI
Lovely toes from Akuila Uate, who picks up the ball from dummy-half on the 10m line, skips and jiggles past a gap between prop Ryan Tandy and Lee Doran to power past the right post, giving Wes Naiqama the simplest of conversion kickS. Imagine a dash of Martin Offiah crossed with a sprinkle of Jason Robinson. Akuila Uate would be the result of that experiment.

36 mins: TRY IRELAND 10-12 FIJI
Simon Finnegan floats through a pass for Simon Grix, who skips past two defenders to bring Ireland within two points of Fiji. Nice run from the Wakefield man, who used the angle to his advantage to bundle over, but Pat Richards' conversion kick from the right thumps the uprights, so Ireland still trail by two points.

40 mins:
A real flurry on the final few seconds as Jarryd Haynes makes a break before flinging his ball back dangerously into Irish hands, who do exactly the same before Ryan Tandy secures possession right as referee Ashley Klein blows for half-time. Blimey, good game this.
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 09:50:25 AM
Certainly staying competitive - couple of breaks from the Fijians should've resulted in tries but some heroic defending by Ireland. Can't believe that Jared Hayne is playing for Fiji, one of the best full backs in the NRL.
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 09:55:39 AM
Fiji try disallowed
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 10:10:51 AM
Fiji over for a try. 16-10

Converted, 18-10
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 10:19:28 AM
20-10
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 10:23:50 AM
Another converted try for Fiji, 26-10..... all over
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 10:27:29 AM
Goose cooked.
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 10:28:44 AM
From BBC:

This will require the greatest ever fightback in rugby league history if Ireland are gonna nab this. Half of Ireland's players have blood spurting from various parts of their bodies or on the end of a bone-crunching Fijian tackle.
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 10:31:52 AM
Yep - at least 4 players went off with blood streaming from their heads.
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 10:35:44 AM
30-10
Post by: stephenite on November 10, 2008, 10:37:43 AM
Consolation try for Ireland

all over - put out those bonfires in Bondi lads.
Post by: ONeill on November 10, 2008, 10:57:47 AM
Right so.

Let's get behind the Irish underwater football side in their attempt to annex the world crown next month.
Post by: Tankie on November 10, 2008, 11:11:52 AM
well hard luck lads, put up a brave fight but were up against it. Roll on the next two weeks for the the proper rugby and the games that count!
Post by: Gnevin on November 10, 2008, 12:27:14 PM
What ever happened to league in France?  they came 9th in this world cup .Weren't they decent at some stage?
Post by: Tankie on November 10, 2008, 01:50:22 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 10, 2008, 12:27:14 PM
What ever happened to league in France?  they came 9th in this world cup .Weren't they decent at some stage?

i think like all shite sports it died off! the game is really only played in England, Oz and NZ
Post by: turk on November 10, 2008, 01:50:41 PM
Hard luck to the lads, but they did us proud and are heroes, one and all
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on November 10, 2008, 04:46:57 PM
Quote from: Tankie on November 10, 2008, 01:50:22 PM

i think like all shite sports it died off! the game is really only played in England, Oz and NZ

Firstly - these lads weren't Irish enough - now it's a shite sport?
Post by: ludermor on November 10, 2008, 05:50:28 PM
In fairness to Tankie he said it was a shite sport ages ago.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 10, 2008, 06:31:41 PM

not sure if they were ever decent but the Catalan Dragons being established in the super league is likely to improve the sport in France. (I'm guessing the Dragons are based in the "French" part of Catalonia, rather than the Spanish?)
Post by: Rav67 on November 10, 2008, 06:40:19 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 10, 2008, 06:31:41 PM

not sure if they were ever decent but the Catalan Dragons being established in the super league is likely to improve the sport in France. (I'm guessing the Dragons are based in the "French" part of Catalonia, rather than the Spanish?)

They were quite good this season, made the playoffs anyway and were attracting big crowds.  They're based quite close to Perpignan so there's a good deal of competition with the union code for support.
Post by: Gnevin on November 10, 2008, 07:10:37 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 10, 2008, 06:31:41 PM

They got to a few world cup finals .
Post by: Aerlik on November 10, 2008, 11:35:28 PM
Hard luck lads.  Beaten by a better team all round, simple as that.

Re. shite sport, well that's a moot point.

Over and out.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on November 11, 2008, 10:13:50 AM
Does seem odd to have an Irish team when the sport isn't played at that great a level in Ireland.   Although the soccer guys have set a precedent there.

Also a number (Well...2) of the players I saw interviewed share the trait of some of our soccer players as referring to Ireland as "Over there".

No doubt as a team these guys establish a good spirit and bond but I wonder was that one of the "underdogs" rather than one of Irishness, their tattoos notwithstanding.

All a bit mercenary maybe?

/Jim.
Post by: Gnevin on November 11, 2008, 10:39:07 AM
Quote from: Aerlik on November 10, 2008, 11:35:28 PM

Over and out.
Why is it a moot point?
Post by: Tankie on November 11, 2008, 10:42:22 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 11, 2008, 10:39:07 AM

Over and out.
Why is it a moot point?

open for debate
Post by: Gnevin on November 11, 2008, 10:53:45 AM
Quote from: Tankie on November 11, 2008, 10:42:22 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on November 11, 2008, 10:39:07 AM

Over and out.
Why is it a moot point?

open for debate
What is their to debate its just running with tackling   ::)
Post by: Hardy on November 11, 2008, 11:40:17 AM
There's a lot of bandaging as well. Reminded me of 1996.
Post by: Old Bill on November 16, 2008, 10:55:25 AM
oz v NZ final then? Think oz will take it but it will be tighter than people think.
Post by: Aerlik on November 23, 2008, 09:07:33 AM
Well, the Kiwis defied the odds and gave the Aussies a fair auld walloping.  This was one of the best RL games I have ever seen.  Great hits, great tackles and some great scores too.  Well worth the watch if you can.