Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: wherefromreferee? on August 13, 2008, 10:20:27 AM

Title: Coal, turf or Peat Briquette??
Post by: wherefromreferee? on August 13, 2008, 10:20:27 AM
Hard to beat a fire these evenings, especially with the price of oil at the minute.  Can't decide which is the best though.
There is a great wiff of the turf, but dont think it burns as hot as the coal does.  Sometimes I mix and match all 3, because I'm mad like that! 

Any preference anyone?
Title: Re: Coal, turf or Peat Brickette??
Post by: mylestheslasher on August 13, 2008, 10:23:22 AM
Blocks of timber would be my choice.
Post by: magpie seanie on August 13, 2008, 10:34:28 AM
Pros and cons with all 3.

Coal - takes londer to light up but possible burns hotter and lasts longer.

Turf - lovely smell and very little mess to clean up. Quick burning. Not as easy to get these days if you don't cut it yourself (again, and inconvenience) and will soon be illegal!

Briquettes - like turf light up quickly but don't last very long. Unlike turf you can walk into any shop and buy them.
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 13, 2008, 10:37:19 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 13, 2008, 10:34:28 AM
Pros and cons with all 3.

Coal - takes londer to light up but possible burns hotter and lasts longer.

Turf - lovely smell and very little mess to clean up. Quick burning. Not as easy to get these days if you don't cut it yourself (again, and inconvenience) and will soon be illegal!

Briquettes - like turf light up quickly but don't last very long. Unlike turf you can walk into any shop and buy them.

Are you serious seanie thats the 1st i heard of this
Post by: orangeman on August 13, 2008, 10:45:53 AM
Turf !
Post by: wherefromreferee? on August 13, 2008, 10:58:22 AM
Magpie, definitely agree with you on the turf, and the fact that there is very little cleaning up to do.  The coal is a disaster to clean.
Post by: Donagh on August 13, 2008, 11:08:27 AM
Have settled for the briquettes myself. The turfs dirty and too hard to light and burn (smells lovely though).

Coal's even dirtier, burns too hot and spits (not good with new carpet).

Brickettes – happy compromise
Post by: under the bar on August 13, 2008, 01:54:47 PM
Was drining up thru the bog on a sunny saturday about 4 weeks ago.   It's been virtually abandoned for 20 years and it was packed with ppl working turf!  Just goes to show ye! 
Post by: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 01:59:23 PM
It's Briquette, not Brickette. (Sorry, it's the Bord na Mona coming out in me :D)

I use Briquettes to light a fire, or to add to a dying fire. I use Turf for long burning fires. (Has to be good solid turf, not the sort that is dried out to jaysus and goes to ashes in 5 minutes).
Post by: magpie seanie on August 13, 2008, 02:02:27 PM
QuoteAre you serious seanie thats the 1st i heard of this

I think there is some EU directive banning cutting turf that is coming in?
Post by: Treasurer on August 13, 2008, 02:07:06 PM
Depends on the quality of the turf.  You'll get as much heat out of 2 or 3 briquettes as a range full of poor turf. 
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2008, 02:17:05 PM
A good block of timber on a bed of turf...
Though up here in Jackeen land your not allowed to burn any of the above
Title: Re: Coal, turf or Peat Briquette??
Post by: wherefromreferee? on August 13, 2008, 02:20:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on August 13, 2008, 01:59:23 PM
It's Briquette, not Brickette. (Sorry, it's the Bord na Mona coming out in me :D)

I use Briquettes to light a fire, or to add to a dying fire. I use Turf for long burning fires. (Has to be good solid turf, not the sort that is dried out to jaysus and goes to ashes in 5 minutes).

Sorted for you now AZ.
Post by: blast05 on August 13, 2008, 02:22:58 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 13, 2008, 02:02:27 PM

It'll be a bit like the dog license so - nobody will take any head of it
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 13, 2008, 02:28:55 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on August 13, 2008, 02:02:27 PM

For fcuk sake next thing you know they will be telling us which way to vote in a treaty ;)
Post by: Puckoon on August 13, 2008, 05:00:27 PM
Boys its the middle of f**king august! :o
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2008, 06:01:31 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 13, 2008, 05:00:27 PM

Middle of august means f**k all,More rain fell here last saturday in 12 hours than the whole month of august last year
Post by: Pangurban on August 13, 2008, 09:20:51 PM
Take the Wife to Bed  enjoy heat and exercise
Post by: ludermor on August 13, 2008, 10:04:00 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on August 13, 2008, 06:01:31 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 13, 2008, 05:00:27 PM

Middle of august means f**k all,More rain fell here last saturday in 12 hours than the whole month of august last year

And it f**king pissed rain here last august
Post by: Lar Naparka on August 14, 2008, 12:52:24 AM
I know turf cutting is due to be banned soon.
Maybe briquette production will continue but I can't say.

The locals where I come from, near Swinford in Mayo, are mighty thick about being stopped from cutting their own turf.
Since none of them have done this for over 20 years I don't see what they are getting worked up about but I couldn't say that, could I?
If you are using smokeless coal it's a hoor to light and keep burning. It generates enough heat to burn out fire grates in no time unless you have a few sods of turf or a good butt of a log or two to provide a bit of ash. The ash seems to provide a bit of protection for the grate.
Briquettes are fine for a small room but are expensive and need to be topped up fairly often.
If you can burn smoky coal, get hold of a bag of slack. Mix the slack with water to make a paste and stuff it into a few tin cans, old bean tins or the likes.
Stuff those into the fire and you will get great heat from them for hours on end.
That's what I used to do when I was living in a flat and they really worked wonders.