Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on October 25, 2007, 11:27:08 PM

Title: Static Electricity!
Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2007, 11:27:08 PM
What can be done about static electricity? For the past months or so, I'm been having terrible bouts of it. Can barely touch anything now, without getting a shock from it. In fact, sometime I can even hear the crackle... which I didn't think was possible for static electricity.

Once or twice, it was so bad that my left arm went numb for a few minutes. Now that was scary!

Is there anything I can do to combat this, or is it a case of getting myself off to the doctors?
Title: Re: Static Electricity!
Post by: An Fear Rua on October 25, 2007, 11:30:05 PM
stop shopping in cheap clothes shops
Post by: Puckoon on October 25, 2007, 11:31:04 PM
Ziggy turn your pacemaker down a notch!
Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2007, 11:34:30 PM
I wear nothing but the best An Fear Rua.

As for the pace maker*, I know it's a joke, but do you reckon my new wheelchair could be a contributing factor in it all Puckoon?

* I don't have a pacemaker
Post by: Donagh on October 25, 2007, 11:48:08 PM
I'm the same – handed a wee girl in work a flash drive the other day and she actually jumped out of her seat. It's partly to do with the time of year and if you are about electrical goods a lot. Best thing to do is to earth yourself every now and again to let it discharge - touch the metal part of the car as your getting out of it, metal railings or gates before you go into work etc...
Post by: Donagh on October 25, 2007, 11:51:47 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 25, 2007, 11:34:30 PM
do you reckon my new wheelchair could be a contributing factor in it all Puckoon?

Didn't realise ziggy - could be contributing but won't be the cause as such, it's just accelerating the build up of static. Touch a radiator every now and again and you'll be grand.
Post by: ONeill on October 25, 2007, 11:52:28 PM
Had a serious bout of that recently, usually when getting out of the car. Couldn't touch the car door for fear of the imminent shock. I remember reading something about your footwear but can't be arse googling. It annoyed when I was trying to steal money out of her purse. She'd hear the crackle and I'd be sent upstairs.
Post by: ziggysego on October 25, 2007, 11:55:13 PM
Quote from: Donagh on October 25, 2007, 11:51:47 PM
do you reckon my new wheelchair could be a contributing factor in it all Puckoon?

Didn't realise ziggy - could be contributing but won't be the cause as such, it's just accelerating the build up of static. Touch a radiator every now and again and you'll be grand.

Must remember that, thanks Donagh.

You were saying about handing a girl at work a flash pen. That reminds me of a story from last week.

I'm doing a course at night at Omagh College. Was of my class mate decided for a laugh to grab the controls and crash me into the wall. Unfortunately when he touched me, there was such a build up of static electricity it nearly took the hand off him. The air turned blue that night!  :D Serves him right!  ;D
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on October 25, 2007, 11:55:33 PM
I got a major static shock recently.  A lorry which sucks shavings/sawdust into it through acrylic/plastic sort of pipes. Just when finished putting it on I went to lift the pipe, had it in my hands a few seconds and then an almighty crack/bang.  
I jumped, and was a few seconds until I realised what it was, my hand was sore and went totally white and numb.  It was about 15 minutes before the colour and feeling came back into it right.
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on October 26, 2007, 12:01:46 AM
Also remember back when was at school, what ever type of monitors we had there was always a large build up of static on the screens. You would have put your hand on the screen and rubbed your hand aroudn the static charge and witht he hand still on the screen you touched someone walking past and they would have got a shock.
Title: Re: Heroes
Post by: ziggysego on October 26, 2007, 12:03:33 AM
Quote from: drici on October 25, 2007, 11:56:47 PM
Beware Ziggy!
Sylar is going around collecting abilities such as this.

Never thought of that, thanks for the warning drici.

If you don't see me for a few days, you know what happened.......
Post by: Orior on October 26, 2007, 09:11:44 AM
I used to suffer quite a bit getting out of my car. However there is a method to address this.

Hold onto the car door or frame as you climb out of the car and don't let go untl your feet are touching the ground. So simple it works.
Post by: his holiness nb on October 26, 2007, 09:17:23 AM
Ziggy, this should be your new avatar!

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/42480000/jpg/_42480452_homer203.jpg)
Post by: stpauls on October 26, 2007, 10:04:16 AM
i see cars that have bits of chain link attached to them and just touching the ground for the same reasons, so that it is always 'grounded'. might be an idea to do the same to your chair ziggy, to try and do the same. it may not work but worth a try!
Post by: Bogball XV on October 26, 2007, 10:20:05 AM
I heard it was all down to cheap Y-fronts!
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 26, 2007, 10:24:59 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on October 26, 2007, 10:20:05 AM
I heard it was all down to cheap Y-fronts!

no
thats 'slutty electricity'

ziggy - you could run a copper wire electrode from your wheelchair to your 'family jewels' - at least each time this happens in the future, you get some kind of gratification out of it ! :o ;) :D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 26, 2007, 11:01:00 AM
... but do you reckon my new wheelchair could be a contributing factor in it all?

Yes Ziggy, it could, absolutely (static would be generated by the turning of those particular wheels on the ground). As lynchbhoy says sort of  ;), run a copper wire from the frame of your chair to the ground, that'll discharge any build-up as it accumulates.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on October 26, 2007, 12:13:46 PM
Got a serious shock off my 4 month old niece.

Hilarious face she pulled after it happened :D

Ya could hear it and all
Post by: his holiness nb on October 26, 2007, 06:10:43 PM
Just seen the new avatar Ziggy, I'm honoured!
Post by: Square Ball on October 26, 2007, 06:48:28 PM
Get it all the time in work, hate being asked to open the windows, it can be painful. Dont get it in the house, could it be something to do with carpet tiles in work?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 26, 2007, 07:21:19 PM
I used to suffer from it terribly when I lived in a basement during the winter - it was particularly hazardous when the girlfriend popped around
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 26, 2007, 08:40:43 PM
Ye're all a bunch of softies...Static shock me hole..
If ye ever got a 3phase 440volt electric shock ye wouldn't mind an auld static shock now and again..
I remember being thrown halfway across a room  and landing on my back one day,I was putting 3phase sockets into a mechanics garage when some gobshite turned on the juice before i had finished...Now that was a proper electric shock,I had burn marks on my fingers for a month afterwards
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 26, 2007, 08:47:20 PM
True enough RLL, there's a bit of a power difference, but static can build up to an incredible maximum of 20,000 Volts (20KV), and whilst there is no real current to go with it to represent any real danger it's that potential difference that gives the 'spark' in the first place. Had a few hairy ones myself running the juice to various bits and pieces.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on October 26, 2007, 09:00:00 PM
Are you a Electrican Fear on Srath Ban?

I saw a poor youngfella nearly killed one day,He was testing a 3phase isolator and the electricity arced across the two probes he was using,the flash that occurred was unreal,Lucky enough he was wearing safety glasses but the hard hat was melted into his head and he had to get skin grafts on his arms he was that severely burned
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 26, 2007, 09:09:25 PM
No RLL, installed CCTVs for a while a good while ago (though have done a few electrical engineering exams). Scary stuff indeed, on one occasion sparks flew as I was wiring up a metal-cased socket with the juice on with a non-insulated screwdriver (own fault), and on another a colleague was running a power line to a camera, tacking it to the (outside) wall, when he lost his grip of it and it swung into a puddle, and went zzzippp, zzizppp!... Eejit!