Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: longballin on January 04, 2018, 10:11:17 PM

Title: Derry Girls - Channel 4
Post by: longballin on January 04, 2018, 10:11:17 PM
Five minutes in and oh dear... not promising. Can hardly understand what them wans are saying and I've been in Derry many times and isn't how they talk...
is a girlie show anyway.
Title: Re: Derry Girls - Channel 4
Post by: Hereiam on January 04, 2018, 10:25:23 PM
Nah gave it to the first ad break....no thank you
Post by: longballin on January 04, 2018, 10:26:46 PM
I didn't even get to ad break...
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 04, 2018, 10:27:19 PM
The black haired girl is how they talk lol
Post by: lenny on January 04, 2018, 10:30:36 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 04, 2018, 10:27:19 PM
The black haired girl is how they talk lol

Not bad at all. A few good lines
Post by: Targetman on January 04, 2018, 10:37:45 PM
Just watched it, tbh was expecting something along them lines
Post by: tyroneman on January 04, 2018, 10:45:11 PM
Utter shite. Hi.
Post by: T Fearon on January 04, 2018, 10:51:59 PM
Surprised the proud people of Derry allow British TV channels lampoon them in shite shows like this
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 04, 2018, 11:20:33 PM
Enjoyed it ,some very funny one liners in it
Post by: thebar on January 04, 2018, 11:20:59 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 04, 2018, 10:51:59 PM
Surprised the proud people of Derry allow British TV channels lampoon them in shite shows like this

what are you talking about?
Post by: Orior on January 04, 2018, 11:36:00 PM
I enjoyed it.

Work with many Derry wans so I will be yanking their chain about it tomorrow.
Post by: bennydorano on January 04, 2018, 11:59:43 PM
Yeh, wasn't too bad. Some hammy acting.

Most NI shows tend to be shit.  I'm struggling to name any NI show that was an Island or UK wide success apart from The Fall and claiming that as an NI show is maybe debateable in itself.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 05, 2018, 12:04:54 AM
Mother f**kers
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 05, 2018, 12:29:23 AM
Michelle and the blondie were Derry City through and through. Some of the other girls were clearly not.
Post by: BennyCake on January 05, 2018, 12:43:40 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 04, 2018, 11:59:43 PM
Yeh, wasn't too bad. Some hammy acting.

Most NI shows tend to be shit.  I'm struggling to name any NI show that was an Island or UK wide success apart from The Fall and claiming that as an NI show is maybe debateable in itself.

NI show?! Is Derry Girls not a Derry show, and The Fall not a Belfast show?  :o
Post by: maggie on January 05, 2018, 12:51:19 AM
I thought it was quite good and alot better than Mrs Brown's Boys but no Moone Boy.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 05, 2018, 12:53:07 AM
Didn't Father Ted get its first outing on Channel 4?
Post by: T Fearon on January 05, 2018, 07:11:46 AM
So a show with adolescent female teenagers with strange accents is funny? How?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2018, 07:42:16 AM
Don't watch it Tony.. clearly better than your humour attempts
Post by: ONeill on January 05, 2018, 07:58:09 AM
Slow enough start but thought the second half had a few laughs.

Insert obligatory quote from show and laughing emoji.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 05, 2018, 08:23:12 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2018, 07:42:16 AM
Don't watch it Tony.. clearly better than your humour attempts
To be honest bar set pretty low when trying to better the Humour of TF ,
Post by: Christmas Lights on January 05, 2018, 08:43:46 AM
Good auld show.

Will watch the rest

Not surprised by the reaction on here, gaaboard full of middle aged mid life crisis men who distain everything  :D
Post by: Longshanks on January 05, 2018, 08:45:52 AM
I thought it was decent and plenty of potential, it was only the first episode and didn't have any huge issues with the accents to be honest.

Plenty of dodgy accents around Derry..

If you don't like watch Mrs Browns boys but give the show a chance.
Post by: Longshanks on January 05, 2018, 08:47:20 AM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on January 05, 2018, 08:43:46 AM
Good auld show.

Will watch the rest

Not surprised by the reaction on here, gaaboard full of middle aged mid life crisis men who distain everything  :D

Nail on head!
Post by: longballin on January 05, 2018, 08:49:53 AM
Quote from: Longshanks on January 05, 2018, 08:47:20 AM
Good auld show.

Will watch the rest

Nail on head!

That's probably it... more suited to immature wee boys watching the trials and tribulations of four adolescent girls  :)
Post by: AQMP on January 05, 2018, 08:53:29 AM
Good auld show.

Will watch the rest

Well Fawlty Towers it wasn't.  It was shite.  I've seen funnier, better acted school nativity plays.  Tony posts better jokes on the death thread.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 05, 2018, 09:22:41 AM
Did it properly convey how dorty Derry girls are?
Post by: JoG2 on January 05, 2018, 09:27:35 AM
Has potential, but probably not my cup of tea tbh. Definitely lifted in the 2nd half. The finale of the detention scene was very good.
Post by: Hardy on January 05, 2018, 09:34:38 AM
Good auld show.

Will watch the rest

Ah you were so close.
Post by: sensethetone on January 05, 2018, 09:42:12 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 05, 2018, 09:22:41 AM
Did it properly convey how dorty Derry girls are?

The Michelle doll said her sister and man broke up cos she was riding round her..
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 05, 2018, 10:13:23 AM
Aside from the odd dodgy accent, I thought it was good and definitely has potential.
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on January 05, 2018, 11:16:05 AM
I thought it was decent - some funny lines in it and would appeal to an age group who grew up in that Era.  General consensus in office I work in was positive as well - its not Peep show, Fr Ted, Fawlty Towers funny but I would rate it better in the first 10 mins than anything Ive seen in Mrs Browns Boys which is one of the cringiest shows I've ever watched
Post by: ned on January 05, 2018, 11:52:56 AM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on January 05, 2018, 11:16:05 AM
I thought it was decent - some funny lines in it and would appeal to an age group who grew up in that Era.  General consensus in office I work in was positive as well - its not Peep show, Fr Ted, Fawlty Towers funny but I would rate it better in the first 10 mins than anything Ive seen in Mrs Browns Boys which is one of the cringiest shows I've ever watched

Thought it was decent too but why compare it to Fr Ted, Fawlty Towers or Peep Show. Those are classic sitcoms which have probably gained greater popularity with time. Will watch next time to give it a chance.
Post by: longballin on January 05, 2018, 11:58:09 AM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on January 05, 2018, 11:16:05 AM

Maybe I dropped it too soon (10 mins)... will watch again and see. You're deffo right about Mrs Brown's Boy... embarassing
Post by: magpie seanie on January 05, 2018, 12:09:05 PM
Honestly can't see what people find amusing about Mrs Brown's boys. Christmas was tough with people insisting on watching that shite.....can't even sleep on the couch with it on.
Post by: general_lee on January 05, 2018, 12:27:07 PM
Wasn't bad, wasn't overly great either. Inbetweeners is the standard-bearer when it comes to comedies over the past decade and it was hilarious from the start (if you enjoy that kind of humour/are good craic). Derry Girls doesn't come close to that but maybe it will get better.
Post by: square_ball on January 05, 2018, 12:32:41 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 05, 2018, 12:27:07 PM
Wasn't bad, wasn't overly great either. Inbetweeners is the standard-bearer when it comes to comedies over the past decade and it was hilarious from the start (if you enjoy that kind of humour/are good craic). Derry Girls doesn't come close to that but maybe it will get better.

I would agree with that. Think the reaction went a bit overboard on twitter etc. The girl playing Erin was over-acting (if that's a word) her role bordering on being very annoying.
Post by: Keyboard Warrior on January 05, 2018, 12:44:09 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 05, 2018, 12:32:41 PM

I would agree with that. Think the reaction went a bit overboard on twitter etc. The girl playing Erin was over-acting (if that's a word) her role bordering on being very annoying.

I'm sure she was acting as directed.
Post by: Targetman on January 05, 2018, 12:46:50 PM
I wonder did the boul Gregory watch it?
Post by: square_ball on January 05, 2018, 12:52:31 PM
Quote from: Keyboard Warrior on January 05, 2018, 12:44:09 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 05, 2018, 12:32:41 PM

I'm sure she was acting as directed.

Absolutely but I found it to be a bit over the top. Maybe it'll be toned down in later episodes.
Post by: armaghniac on January 05, 2018, 01:01:21 PM
Quote from: Targetman on January 05, 2018, 12:46:50 PM

He'll probably be putting a question in Westminster as to why it isn't called Londonderry girls.
Post by: Orior on January 05, 2018, 01:05:59 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 05, 2018, 01:01:21 PM

He'll probably be putting a question in Westminster as to why it isn't called Londonderry girls.

Yes, it would clearly be too one-sided for him. But perhaps he should be asking himself why nobody wants to write a programme about L'Derry Girls? There could be laughs as they get taught British history, learn Scottish dancing, praise royalty and burn Lundy.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 05, 2018, 02:41:15 PM
Derry girls are rides. Londonderry girls are middens. Probably why they choose Derry over Londonderry.  ;)
Post by: Orior on January 05, 2018, 02:51:06 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on January 05, 2018, 02:41:15 PM
Derry girls are rides. Londonderry girls are middens. Probably why they choose Derry over Londonderry.  ;)

There are also West End Girls (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p3j2NYZ8FKs) but I like big end girls.
Post by: BennyCake on January 05, 2018, 02:53:51 PM

I expect the Nolan show to have a debate on it any day now.
Post by: Avondhu star on January 05, 2018, 07:07:32 PM

And hopefully the Speaker will tell him to f**k off
Post by: snoopdog on January 05, 2018, 10:22:24 PM
Quote from: Longshanks on January 05, 2018, 08:47:20 AM
Good auld show.

Will watch the rest

Nail on head!
I'm one of those aul fellas but I enjoyed it. Stupid but funny.
Post by: Rois on January 05, 2018, 10:40:14 PM
Agree with some sentiments on here - worth a giggle and brings back a few memories. I went to an all girls convent school and a lone fella joined at one stage. Yes, stupid, and yes, exaggerated, but it wasn't supposed to be a serious docudrama about Derry. The grandfather's funny.
Post by: omagh_gael on January 06, 2018, 10:49:01 AM
I have to say I enjoyed it, first 10 minutes were dodgy enough but the Michelle character (I think that's her name) definitely tied it all together.

However, wtf is up with thon girl's accent? Horrendous effort that sounds like she's 80 and has smoked 40 fags a day!
Post by: trileacman on January 06, 2018, 02:11:22 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 05, 2018, 10:40:14 PM
Agree with some sentiments on here - worth a giggle and brings back a few memories. I went to an all girls convent school and a lone fella joined at one stage. Yes, stupid, and yes, exaggerated, but it wasn't supposed to be a serious docudrama about Derry. The grandfather's funny.

I was pleasantly surprised. Didn't expect much and the first few comments here were pretty scathing but I like the idiot girl and Michelle, good characters. I thought the lone fella joining was the most unbelievable part of it, obviously I haven't a clue!  ;D just out of interest what was the scenario that caused one lad to join an all girls school??
Post by: ziggysego on January 06, 2018, 04:30:07 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 06, 2018, 02:11:22 PM
I thought the lone fella joining was the most unbelievable part of it, obviously I haven't a clue!  ;D just out of interest what was the scenario that caused one lad to join an all girls school??

As Sister Michael said,  "There were serious concerns for his safety because, well, unfortunately James happens to be English."

I enjoyed Derry Girls. A funny wee sitcom, with a side ways look of growing up in the north during the early 90s. I like that while the Troubles is referenced throughout, it's not the focus and with the humour we grew up with.

Love the Derry lingo.

Post by: longballin on January 06, 2018, 04:44:31 PM
Just watched entire episode... I was a bit hasty writing it off after ten minutes... not bad and has a few laughs.
Post by: trileacman on January 06, 2018, 06:11:18 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 06, 2018, 04:30:07 PM
I thought the lone fella joining was the most unbelievable part of it, obviously I haven't a clue!  ;D just out of interest what was the scenario that caused one lad to join an all girls school??

As Sister Michael said,  "There were serious concerns for his safety because, well, unfortunately James happens to be English."

I enjoyed Derry Girls. A funny wee sitcom, with a side ways look of growing up in the north during the early 90s. I like that while the Troubles is referenced throughout, it's not the focus and with the humour we grew up with.

Love the Derry lingo.

I understand the situation in the sitcom it was the incident Rios referred to in her post where a lad attended an all girls school whilst she was attending. Never heard of it happening in real life before.
Post by: JoG2 on January 06, 2018, 06:29:31 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on January 06, 2018, 10:49:01 AM
I have to say I enjoyed it, first 10 minutes were dodgy enough but the Michelle character (I think that's her name) definitely tied it all together.

However, wtf is up with thon girl's accent? Horrendous effort that sounds like she's 80 and has smoked 40 fags a day!

She's 30 odd according to the ones in work.
Post by: Orior on January 06, 2018, 08:17:05 PM
Quote from: trileacman on January 06, 2018, 06:11:18 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 06, 2018, 04:30:07 PM

Love the Derry lingo.

I understand the situation in the sitcom it was the incident Rios referred to in her post where a lad attended an all girls school whilst she was attending. Never heard of it happening in real life before.

It happened in the Convent, St Mary's Magherafelt, Co Derry.
Post by: snoopdog on January 06, 2018, 10:04:42 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 06, 2018, 06:29:31 PM

She was in something else a few years back on bbc. About students in Belfast. Can't remember what it was called though.
Post by: michaelg on January 06, 2018, 10:10:25 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on January 06, 2018, 10:04:42 PM

She was in something else a few years back on bbc. About students in Belfast. Can't remember what it was called though.
Six Degrees
Post by: T Fearon on January 11, 2018, 08:36:40 PM
I see this pish is on tonight again😥😥
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 11, 2018, 08:42:21 PM
Hopefully Derry Girls can build on the promise of the first episode ,( I see Channel 4 have commissioned a second series already )
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 11, 2018, 08:45:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 11, 2018, 08:36:40 PM
I see this pish is on tonight again😥😥

Pish? Any jokes therein are a helluva lot better than your feeble attempts.
Post by: tyroneman on January 11, 2018, 10:24:02 PM
Most of them make a reasonable fist of it but the main one horribly overacts. No need to pull seven faces during each sentence.

Like watching a younger mrs Doyle.

Post by: longballin on January 11, 2018, 10:31:17 PM
Kevin McAleer was hilarious   :D
Post by: tyroneman on January 11, 2018, 10:31:55 PM
Quote from: longballin on January 11, 2018, 10:31:17 PM

True. Hasn't changed one bit this 30 years.
Post by: MoChara on January 11, 2018, 10:38:10 PM

Michelle's 26 the wee blondie girls 31
Post by: JoG2 on January 11, 2018, 10:44:10 PM

He is some craic
Post by: screenexile on January 11, 2018, 10:50:46 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 11, 2018, 10:44:10 PM

He is some craic

Great cameo...
Post by: Targetman on January 11, 2018, 10:51:02 PM
 Tommy Tiernan's father in law thinks the world of him!!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 11, 2018, 10:58:20 PM
Mcaleer. That takes me back. Wee 20min stint on youtube there for reminiscin 😊
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 11, 2018, 11:01:08 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 11, 2018, 10:58:20 PM
Mcaleer. That takes me back. Wee 20min stint on youtube there for reminiscin 😊

I went searching YouTube for this as soon as the programme was over!

https://youtu.be/9FMjCB5-xw8
Post by: Armamike on January 11, 2018, 11:40:49 PM

Brilliant. No better man to play that cameo   ;D
Post by: ONeill on January 11, 2018, 11:49:05 PM
Thought it was the opposite of the first. Faded badly second half. Some of the jokes are becoming stale already.
Post by: ned on January 12, 2018, 11:46:09 AM
Quote from: Armamike on January 11, 2018, 11:40:49 PM

Seemed like that part was all him, no script. Hilarious.
Post by: BennyCake on January 12, 2018, 01:27:51 PM
Seriously, what are you boys smoking? Kevin McAleer hilarious? Jaysus, I've had bouts of the shits that was funnier than anything that man has ever done.
Post by: T Fearon on January 18, 2018, 06:30:10 PM
I see the Derry girls are all Derry ould dolls in real life,one in her 30s.That's wile hi!
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on January 18, 2018, 07:17:55 PM
Quote from: Armamike on January 11, 2018, 11:40:49 PM

lads, he was not funny in the slightest. jesus wept
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 18, 2018, 09:17:13 PM
Haven't seen any of the Derry Girls yet and going by this thread its getting mixed views.  Mcaleer is probably the driest comedian around hard to see how he would be hilarious?
Post by: T Fearon on January 18, 2018, 09:22:41 PM
Adolescent girls engaging in adolescent talk in a strange accent.About as funny as a fart in a space suit
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 18, 2018, 09:33:55 PM
Or most of your "musings" on here.
Post by: bamboo on January 18, 2018, 09:38:32 PM
For a fella that doesn't like it Tony you know plenty about it. When it's on, the age of the girls in real life etc.

Liking it is ok, we wont(can't) think any less of you.

Did you like Moone Boy by the way?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2018, 09:59:05 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 18, 2018, 09:22:41 PM
Adolescent girls engaging in adolescent talk in a strange accent.About as funny as a fart in a space suit

Jesus for someone who hates it, you most have the most posts on here about ya clampit!!
Post by: longballin on January 18, 2018, 10:02:24 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 18, 2018, 09:22:41 PM

they need to thrown in a few jokes about recently deceased to amuse you Tony
Post by: T Fearon on January 18, 2018, 10:08:08 PM
There's no avoiding it.
Post by: johnneycool on January 18, 2018, 10:12:20 PM
Have you still only got 4 channels Tone?

A bit sacrilegious tonight....
Post by: longballin on January 18, 2018, 10:15:16 PM
Definitely blasphemy... very funny though!!   :D
Post by: rrhf on January 18, 2018, 10:34:25 PM
Great laugh. Just enjoy.  It's there!
Post by: T Fearon on January 18, 2018, 10:55:10 PM
This is the latest in the long line of pish (Father Ted,Mrs Brown's Boys etc) considered funny across the water,not for any genuine comic content,but simply because it depicts the Oirish as fecking mad eejits.This in turn seems to engender some native pride at home and misplaced notion that this has to be comic genius as it makes the Brits laugh.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2018, 11:08:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 18, 2018, 10:55:10 PM
This is the latest in the long line of pish (Father Ted,Mrs Brown's Boys etc) considered funny across the water,not for any genuine comic content,but simply because it depicts the Oirish as fecking mad eejits.This in turn seems to engender some native pride at home and misplaced notion that this has to be comic genius as it makes the Brits laugh.

Did you ever watch, Boys from the blackstuff and Auf Wiedersehen, Pet, the Liver birds and other regional shows? The above shows you have mention are just that, local shows that other parts of the country and within that regional area like... to me you are they type thats embarrassed about being where you are from, a snob would define you..

Post by: on the sideline on January 18, 2018, 11:08:35 PM

And what if it makes us laugh? What if we see bits that we recognise/can relate to and can see the humour in? What if we see the bits that remind us purely of Derry, or people we know from there, in a way that's light hearted and something we can have a laugh at?

Comic content is subjective. Just because you don't find it funny doesn't mean people from here don't. It's an enjoyable, easy watch that has made me laugh out loud in every episode so far. It's doing the job that it's supposed to do. If you don't like it then there's plenty of other things you can watch instead.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 18, 2018, 11:11:34 PM
Enjoyed it again this week , but then a comedy that  offends Tony was always going to make me chuckle .
Post by: T Fearon on January 18, 2018, 11:12:45 PM
Boys from the Blackstuff and Auf Wiedersen were both top drawer dramas with great social and political undertones,and the comic bits were highly intelligent and relevant as well.
Post by: bannside on January 18, 2018, 11:13:17 PM
I agree 100% with that Tony. Lets see how pathetic we can make ourselves look so that the Brits can have a good laugh and think we are a bunch of halfwits. A total embarrassment from start to finish, that's all that load of tripe is.

I'd bet the Derry European city of culture committee are delighted!
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 18, 2018, 11:14:08 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 18, 2018, 11:08:00 PM

Did you ever watch, Boys from the blackstuff and Auf Wiedersehen, Pet, the Liver birds and other regional shows? The above shows you have mention are just that, local shows that other parts of the country and within that regional area like... to me you are they type thats embarrassed about being where you are from, a snob would define you..
Bread and RAB C Nesbitt could be added to the list above
Post by: GJL on January 18, 2018, 11:53:27 PM
It's getting worse as it goes on. Poor show.
Post by: ashman on January 19, 2018, 01:43:05 AM
Quote from: GJL on January 18, 2018, 11:53:27 PM

Less funny  than Mrs Brown . 
Post by: lenny on January 19, 2018, 07:18:31 AM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on January 18, 2018, 11:11:34 PM
Enjoyed it again this week , but then a comedy that  offends Tony was always going to make me chuckle .

Totally agree. Not perfect but some very funny lines and moments.
Post by: longballin on January 19, 2018, 08:19:02 AM
Quote from: ashman on January 19, 2018, 01:43:05 AM
Quote from: GJL on January 18, 2018, 11:53:27 PM

Less funny  than Mrs Brown .

Nothing is less funny than Mrs Brown.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2018, 08:25:14 AM
It's marmite lads. 

But with the majority of the people on the thread enjoying it, it wouldn't take a genius to work out that our Tony would have an opposing view.  The wee skitter.

Personally I like it.  But if I didn't, I'd probably read a book or watch something else or go to sleep instead.
Post by: square_ball on January 19, 2018, 08:38:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 05, 2018, 07:58:09 AM
Slow enough start but thought the second half had a few laughs.

Insert obligatory quote from show and laughing emoji.

Twitter is exactly this!

It's watchable but think it's more a mrs brown boys than a fr ted in my opinion.
Post by: AQMP on January 19, 2018, 09:40:11 AM
The missus and daughter watch this.  So I watched it again last night.  Still shite.  More of the only decent actor in the piece, Ian McElhinney, might help.  A reviewer in The Guardian has called this the funniest thing on TV.  I kid you not.  The Brits think it's hilarious.  This is what it comes to near the end of the world...Kevin McAleer re-hashes an old routine from 25 years ago, and people find it funny again. Nostradamus said this would happen...while he was spinning a few one liners that Derry Girls is reviving.
Post by: seafoid on January 19, 2018, 09:55:39 AM
Quote from: AQMP on January 19, 2018, 09:40:11 AM
The missus and daughter watch this.  So I watched it again last night.  Still shite.  More of the only decent actor in the piece, Ian McElhinney, might help.  A reviewer in The Guardian has called this the funniest thing on TV.  I kid you not.  The Brits think it's hilarious.  This is what is comes to near the end of the world...Kevin McAleer re-hashes an old routine from 25 years ago, and people find it funny again. Nostradamus said this would happen...while he was spinning a few one liners that Derry Girls is reviving.

https://www.theguardian.com/tv-and-radio/2018/jan/19/derry-girls-channel-4-the-funniest-thing-on-tv-lisa-mcgee
Post by: ned on January 19, 2018, 09:58:22 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 19, 2018, 08:25:14 AM
It's marmite lads. 

But with the majority of the people on the thread enjoying it, it wouldn't take a genius to work out that our Tony would have an opposing view.  The wee skitter.

Personally I like it.  But if I didn't, I'd probably read a book or watch something else or go to sleep instead.

And probably not feel the need to continually post that you don't like it.
Post by: Keyser soze on January 19, 2018, 10:05:22 AM
Anyone that thinks this is funny must have something wrong with them. Excruciating to watch, the peurile humour, plot and acting skills were embarassing, a very poor children's TV programme with lots of swearing.
Post by: longballin on January 19, 2018, 10:08:40 AM
I must have something wrong with me, I find some of it funny. Thought McAleer was brilliant... he's timeless. Also the carry-on with the dog and the tears on the statue had me laughing... maybe I need help!   ???
Post by: gallsman on January 19, 2018, 10:12:35 AM
Thought it was ok and would give it a go to start with but think each episode so far has been poorer then the previous one. Last night's one however want just poor, it wasn't even original. Piss in the church straight from Peep Show, crying Virgin Mary from Only Fools, your one on the energy drinks for an exam from the Inbetweeners etc
Post by: The Gs Man on January 19, 2018, 10:15:48 AM
Quote from: longballin on January 19, 2018, 10:08:40 AM
I must have something wrong with me, I find some of it funny. Thought McAleer was brilliant... he's timeless. Also the carry-on with the dog and the tears on the statue had me laughing... maybe I need help!   ???

Yeah, brought me back to being 14 or 15 and walking round graveyards looking at statues to see if their eyes moved.
Post by: johnneycool on January 19, 2018, 10:38:45 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 19, 2018, 10:12:35 AM
Thought it was ok and would give it a go to start with but think each episode so far has been poorer then the previous one. Last night's one however want just poor, it wasn't even original. Piss in the church straight from Peep Show, crying Virgin Mary from Only Fools, your one on the energy drinks for an exam from the Inbetweeners etc

Did she shit herself? I must have missed that bit.

I thought it was quite good, granted it's not Fr Ted or some of the other comedies people are comparing it to, but watchable all the same.

Some lads with large pokers up their holes on here.
Post by: Megaman on January 19, 2018, 10:42:28 AM
Havent watched last nights yet, but thought the first two where quite funny.

That Erin one can be rather annoying at times though
Post by: armaghniac on January 19, 2018, 10:44:49 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on January 19, 2018, 10:05:22 AM
Anyone that thinks this is funny must have something wrong with them. Excruciating to watch, the peurile humour, plot and acting skills were embarassing, a very poor children's TV programme with lots of swearing.

Exaggerate much? There is TV on 7 days a week, people enjoy watching different stuff. This is perfectly watchable, if not perhaps one of the all time greats.
Post by: gallsman on January 19, 2018, 10:53:13 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 19, 2018, 10:38:45 AM

I thought it was quite good, granted it's not Fr Ted or some of the other comedies people are comparing it to, but watchable all the same.

She didn't, but that's not the point. I just don't think it's that original or funny. No poker up my hole either.

The principal nun is the best character, both written and acted, in the show by far for me.
Post by: ned on January 19, 2018, 12:28:49 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 19, 2018, 10:53:13 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on January 19, 2018, 10:38:45 AM

She didn't, but that's not the point. I just don't think it's that original or funny. No poker up my hole either.

The principal nun is the best character, both written and acted, in the show by far for me.

It's okay, just but fills a half hour later at night as a wind down. Agree about the nun.
However, originality on TV ended in 1980 something. Everything is a rehash or rip off of something else now.
Post by: Targetman on January 19, 2018, 05:41:07 PM
Don't worry folks that all time classic "Give my head peace " makes a welcome or unwelcome return tonight!!
Post by: T Fearon on January 19, 2018, 05:49:30 PM
Have to admit I found Kevin Mc Aleer funny back in the day on Nighthawks etc.We all knew someone who talked like that.Problem is they're all long dead
Post by: thebigfella on January 19, 2018, 08:05:12 PM
Quote from: Targetman on January 19, 2018, 05:41:07 PM
Don't worry folks that all time classic "Give my head peace " makes a welcome or unwelcome return tonight!!

It's like the citizen Kane of comedy when compared to mrs browns boys.
Post by: Targetman on January 19, 2018, 08:20:52 PM
That Mrs Brown's Boys is the biggest feed of shite on tv, followed closely by winning streak!!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 19, 2018, 08:23:58 PM
Just watched this week's episode. It's not bad, passes half an hour painlessly & funny in parts.
Post by: screenexile on January 19, 2018, 08:31:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 19, 2018, 05:49:30 PM
Have to admit I found Kevin Mc Aleer funny back in the day on Nighthawks etc.We all knew someone who talked like that.Problem is they're all long dead

Saw Kevin McAleer a couple of years apart and he didn't change his act in the slightest. Yes I understand he has the same droll way if going on but it was literally the same set.

In fairness to him it worked perfectly for Derry girls but he needs to change it up to stay relevant. In today's game you need a new set every year at least to stay relevant!!
Post by: longballin on January 19, 2018, 09:58:10 PM
Kevin's latest show, 'Saying Yes to Yes' is hilarious and totally up to do date on new age philosophies and all that. A genius had the audience in Strule House in Omagh in tears of laughter. So he hasn't been left behind at all...  https://www.clifdenartsfestival.ie/event/comedy/
Post by: BennyCake on January 20, 2018, 12:12:01 PM
Quote from: Targetman on January 19, 2018, 08:20:52 PM
That Mrs Brown's Boys is the biggest feed of shite on tv, followed closely by winning streak!!

Maybe so, but I wouldn't care about that if I was spinning thon wheel
Post by: T Fearon on January 25, 2018, 10:32:01 PM
I made a point of watching this dross from start to finish tonight.Pure utter shite never laughed once
Post by: rrhf on January 25, 2018, 10:35:13 PM
Another good laugh tonight. Good show.
Post by: Hereiam on January 25, 2018, 10:36:39 PM
Seen in an ad for derry events this year that St Patricks day in derry is being named as a spring festival. Who the fcuk came up with this.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 25, 2018, 10:37:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2018, 10:32:01 PM
I made a point of watching this dross from start to finish tonight.Pure utter shite never laughed once

For a man that hates it - you seem to post on this thread every night that it's on. Is the Mrs forcing you to watch or something?
Post by: Rois on January 25, 2018, 10:44:53 PM
 I'm loving all the throwbacks - the Saturday Night Whigfield dance was class.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 25, 2018, 10:45:49 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 25, 2018, 10:35:13 PM
Thought it was the strongest episode yet,
Post by: longballin on January 25, 2018, 10:48:56 PM

Don't panic someone will die soon be a chance for you to have  a snide joke to cheer yourself up
Post by: SHEEDY on January 25, 2018, 11:04:45 PM
As the nun said at the start about the sectarianism and violence... 'all you need to know is that we're the goodies'. Funny and educational for our neighbours watching across the water. Gregory campbell and willie frazer will have steam coming out their ears at that one liner.
Post by: T Fearon on January 25, 2018, 11:07:48 PM
Seriously? Not one laugh.Surprised good actors like Ian Mc Elhinney agree to appear in this dross,and what is the point of Tommy Tiernan?

Did the Priest at the start bear a slight resemblance to Martin Mc Guinness by the way?
Post by: square_ball on January 25, 2018, 11:13:01 PM
Highlight of the episode being the Mary Black song at the end credits.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2018, 11:20:27 PM

You watch it every week ya balloon ! First on making a comment about it every week
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2018, 11:31:26 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on January 25, 2018, 10:45:49 PM
Quote from: rrhf on January 25, 2018, 10:35:13 PM
Thought it was the strongest episode yet,
Definitely. Was good stuff.
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 26, 2018, 07:40:58 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2018, 11:07:48 PM
Seriously? Not one laugh.Surprised good actors like Ian Mc Elhinney agree to appear in this dross,and what is the point of Tommy Tiernan?

Did the Priest at the start bear a slight resemblance to Martin Mc Guinness by the way?

Agree 100% with you apart from the fact I missed the start. As you say what is the point of Tommy Tiernan in the show?
Post by: clarshack on January 26, 2018, 09:25:19 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 26, 2018, 07:40:58 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 25, 2018, 11:07:48 PM

Agree 100% with you apart from the fact I missed the start. As you say what is the point of Tommy Tiernan in the show?

totally agree about Tommy Tiernan. you could get anybody off the street to mutter the few words he has to say.
Post by: haranguerer on January 26, 2018, 09:31:46 AM
well if tommy tiernan wants to do it why not let him?
Post by: screenexile on January 26, 2018, 10:00:42 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on January 26, 2018, 09:31:46 AM
well if tommy tiernan wants to do it why not let him?

Actor takes part in acting role. . . the mind boggles!!
Post by: general_lee on January 26, 2018, 02:32:10 PM
Why wouldn't Tommy Tiernan be in it!? It's prime exposure for him.
It's starting to grow on me more and more. Growing up in that era there is a lot of nostalgia. Hate the English fella in it, his character doesn't really fit in with a bunch of working class majellas
Post by: screenexile on January 26, 2018, 02:44:23 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 26, 2018, 02:32:10 PM
It's starting to grow on me more and more. Growing up in that era there is a lot of nostalgia. Hate the English fella in it, his character doesn't really fit in with a bunch of working class majellas

I think that's kind of the point of him though?!
Post by: longballin on January 26, 2018, 02:51:09 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 26, 2018, 02:44:23 PM

They could give him more funny lines though... he doesnt say much and what he says is usually serious
Post by: general_lee on January 26, 2018, 03:01:42 PM
Quote from: screenexile on January 26, 2018, 02:44:23 PM

I don't think it works well, the actor playing him isn't great either! Would have preferred a rougher character or at least one that gives back some of the abuse thrown at him
Post by: BennyCake on January 26, 2018, 04:53:20 PM

You're just not "with it", T  ;D
Post by: T Fearon on January 26, 2018, 06:47:41 PM
If that's "it" I can do without "it"😁
Post by: armaghniac on January 26, 2018, 06:53:28 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 26, 2018, 03:01:42 PM
Would have preferred a rougher character or at least one that gives back some of the abuse thrown at him

An opportunity for Tony perhaps?
Post by: RedHand88 on January 26, 2018, 06:57:59 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 26, 2018, 06:47:41 PM

"I used to be with it, but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's 'it' sounds weird and scary to me"
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 26, 2018, 07:49:43 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 25, 2018, 11:13:01 PM

Just watched it....Eleanor McEvoy song at the end??
Post by: BennyCake on January 26, 2018, 08:58:39 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 26, 2018, 06:57:59 PM

"I used to be with it, but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's 'it' sounds weird and scary to me"

Good to know, Abe.
Post by: square_ball on January 26, 2018, 10:39:25 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 26, 2018, 07:49:43 PM

I wrongly assumed that was Mary Black! Possibly was Eleanor McEvoy. Did she write that song?
Post by: gallsman on January 27, 2018, 12:23:10 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 26, 2018, 06:57:59 PM

:D :D :D
Post by: imtommygunn on January 27, 2018, 12:29:57 AM
I think the english fella is a very good running joke in it.

Disappointed clive didn't make an appearance at the end this week - thought they coyld have made a joke out of him escaping.
Post by: BennyCake on January 27, 2018, 12:37:53 AM
Stop hoggin' the Russian.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 27, 2018, 04:39:16 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 26, 2018, 10:39:25 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 26, 2018, 07:49:43 PM

I wrongly assumed that was Mary Black! Possibly was Eleanor McEvoy. Did she write that song?

As far as I remember, she did & then they built a tour of female artistes around it? Talking a fair number of years ago now.
Post by: T Fearon on January 28, 2018, 07:36:18 PM
Woman's Heart Tour,which I remember being dragged along to in Armagh way back in the early 90s.

I see in the paper today one of the Derry Girls is claiming she was propositioned by a sleazy Director a few years ago.Suppose she'll be shouting Aye,Me Too!
Post by: ziggysego on January 29, 2018, 11:57:11 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 28, 2018, 07:36:18 PM
Woman's Heart Tour,which I remember being dragged along to in Armagh way back in the early 90s.

I see in the paper today one of the Derry Girls is claiming she was propositioned by a sleazy Director a few years ago.Suppose she'll be shouting Aye,Me Too!

God forbid she speaks out about it. She should know her place.
Post by: T Fearon on February 01, 2018, 06:08:50 PM
I see Nadine Coyle wants a role in the next series.She'll no doubt provide the intellectual twist the show needs so badly! 😂😂😂.

By the way how come that Derry wan,Bronagh  Gallagher?,that was in the Commitments and loads of other shows,isn't featuring in this?
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2018, 06:50:41 PM
She could be there yet.

I'm sure Fergal Sharkey will be on it too. And James McClean, Shane Duffy, Pat McCourt, Darron Gibson... I think that's everyone.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 01, 2018, 06:51:20 PM
Probably too busy with nonce hunting to have time to spare for the day job.
Post by: theticklemister on February 01, 2018, 06:52:41 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 01, 2018, 06:50:41 PM
She could be there yet.

I'm sure Fergal Sharkey will be on it too. And James McClean, Shane Duffy, Pat McCourt, Darron Gibson... I think that's everyone.

Waiting for the call up myself
Post by: armaghniac on February 01, 2018, 07:12:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 01, 2018, 06:08:50 PM
I see Nadine Coyle wants a role in the next series.She'll no doubt provide the intellectual twist the show needs so badly! 😂😂😂.

By the way how come that Derry wan,Bronagh  Gallagher?,that was in the Commitments and loads of other shows,isn't featuring in this?

She charges too much now.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on February 01, 2018, 07:20:49 PM

It goes out at 10 tonight, but we can reveal tonight's latest review right now.

Mind you "Let's name & shame a nonce - LIVE" might be a better offering.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 01, 2018, 10:18:08 PM
Tony's right fellas. Nothing funny at all in that 15 mins.
Post by: Targetman on February 01, 2018, 10:42:51 PM
Starring role for Tommy Tiernan tonight!!
Post by: Rois on February 01, 2018, 10:47:33 PM
I enjoyed it - not being allowed to move when something smashed, the punt purse, ginger hair turning Michelle's stomach, St Anthony being called upon - all gave me a laugh.
Post by: screenexile on February 01, 2018, 11:02:30 PM
Was probably the weakest of all the episodes on tonight. I've sat through a lot worse though!!
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2018, 11:04:48 PM
"What are you looking at, ya tangerine tool?!". Must remember that for this year's Twelfth  ;D

Noticed a red and white headband in the rear view mirror. Was that left up there from Derry's Sam win in 1993, or did Derry City win anything in the 90's?
Post by: RedHand88 on February 01, 2018, 11:04:52 PM
Unrealistic episode as there's no need for a food stop between the bogside and the border! Sure it's 15mins away.
Post by: Rois on February 01, 2018, 11:09:11 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on February 01, 2018, 11:04:52 PM
Unrealistic episode as there's no need for a food stop between the bogside and the border! Sure it's 15mins away.
Maybe they were going the long way to Portnoo through Lifford...
Post by: Targetman on February 01, 2018, 11:09:59 PM
The Granda was looking for lottery numbers, when did it start?
Post by: Rois on February 01, 2018, 11:18:42 PM
Quote from: Targetman on February 01, 2018, 11:09:59 PM
The Granda was looking for lottery numbers, when did it start?
Uk one started before 1995, I know that much. And Irish one before that. I had the same thought about anachronisms.
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2018, 11:24:54 PM
Uk lotto started late 94. Irish one a few years before.
Post by: BennyCake on February 01, 2018, 11:26:01 PM
Quote from: Rois on February 01, 2018, 11:09:11 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on February 01, 2018, 11:04:52 PM
Maybe they were going the long way to Portnoo through Lifford...

Via Newbuildings? I wouldn't have thought so!
Post by: theticklemister on February 01, 2018, 11:33:13 PM
The diner at Toomebridge
Post by: gallsman on February 02, 2018, 09:48:17 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on February 01, 2018, 11:33:13 PM
The diner at Toomebridge

Well, it looked like they were filming in New Barnsley so maybe they were on the right road...
Post by: Orior on February 08, 2018, 10:15:00 PM
I loved it when Michelle called her friend "Dick", lol
Post by: Orior on February 08, 2018, 10:30:07 PM
This episode is s rip-off of Napoleon Dynamite!
Post by: on the sideline on February 08, 2018, 10:36:31 PM
What was the newsflash of at the end of tonight's episode? Thought it a poignant enough ending to show what life here was like back then.
Post by: screenexile on February 08, 2018, 10:37:19 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 08, 2018, 10:30:07 PM

Possibly but still very funny and the best episode by a mile!!

Probably Omagh!
Post by: Orior on February 08, 2018, 10:38:35 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 08, 2018, 10:37:19 PM

Probably Omagh!

Agreed
Post by: ziggysego on February 08, 2018, 11:40:07 PM

Probably Omagh!

1. A great episode
2. Wasn't a real incident, but based on Omagh due to scale
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 09, 2018, 12:30:31 AM
omagh was 98, series set in early 90s, but i suppose its not aiming to be historically accurate
Post by: sensethetone on February 09, 2018, 07:54:20 AM
Its had its cheesy moments, but its been good craic. 
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 09, 2018, 08:21:50 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 08, 2018, 11:40:07 PM

Probably Omagh!
I enjoyed that last night, the ending was great.

1. A great episode
2. Wasn't a real incident, but based on Omagh due to scale
Post by: The Gs Man on February 09, 2018, 08:50:03 AM
Quote from: on the sideline on February 08, 2018, 10:36:31 PM
What was the newsflash of at the end of tonight's episode? Thought it a poignant enough ending to show what life here was like back then.

Thought it was the Shankill bombing myself.  1993.  10 died (including the bomber), but the TV show referred to 12, so obviously just artistic licence.

Thought it was a great episode and look forward to a new series. 
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 09, 2018, 08:54:44 AM
Quote from: The Gs Man on February 09, 2018, 08:50:03 AM

Thought it was the Shankill bombing myself.  1993.  10 died (including the bomber), but the TV show referred to 12, so obviously just artistic licence.

I suppose they wanted to make it a 'generic' incident (for want of a better word) rather than a real historic event.
The sad thing is, it could have been any of a number of days in the 80s/90s
Post by: In hiding on February 09, 2018, 09:51:24 AM
I will miss it. Really enjoyable 6 episodes for me. The final episode was superb
Post by: oakleaflad on February 09, 2018, 09:57:15 AM
Enjoyed the series and thought the ending was really well done
Post by: lenny on February 09, 2018, 10:51:12 AM
Quote from: In hiding on February 09, 2018, 09:51:24 AM
I will miss it. Really enjoyable 6 episodes for me. The final episode was superb

Really enjoyed it also but thought the last episode was definitely the weakest in the series.
Post by: Dire Ear on February 09, 2018, 11:21:22 AM
Quote from: lenny on February 09, 2018, 10:51:12 AM
Quote from: In hiding on February 09, 2018, 09:51:24 AM

Really enjoyed it also but thought the last episode was definitely the weakest in the series.
Agreed
Post by: David McKeown on February 09, 2018, 01:34:31 PM
Yeah I thought the last two episodes weren't quite as good as the others although I thought the ending was excellent. Our ones reckoned the footage may have been La Mon. No idea if that's right
Post by: paddyjohn on February 09, 2018, 01:45:11 PM
The end of that show really struck a chord with me, I mind sitting on a bus on the way to a game in Belfast when word of the Omagh bombing came through, we were full of the joys of spring meanwhile 50/60miles down the road one of the worst bombings in my lifetime had just happened.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 09, 2018, 01:50:07 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on February 09, 2018, 01:45:11 PM
The end of that show really struck a chord with me, I mind sitting on a bus on the way to a game in Belfast when word of the Omagh bombing came through, we were full of the joys of spring meanwhile 50/60miles down the road one of the worst bombings in my lifetime had just happened.

Yeah me too, the wife and I both recalled the very moment it happened! clear as day, I'd my son in the park, he was about 4 and there was some choppers heading out from the Royal direction, army ones, left, got to the house and it was on the news! another rotten day in Northern Ireland
Post by: paddyjohn on February 09, 2018, 02:30:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 09, 2018, 01:50:07 PM
Quote from: paddyjohn on February 09, 2018, 01:45:11 PM

Yeah me too, the wife and I both recalled the very moment it happened! clear as day, I'd my son in the park, he was about 4 and there was some choppers heading out from the Royal direction, army ones, left, got to the house and it was on the news! another rotten day in Northern Ireland

I remember such a eerie feeling in Casement that evening, I can't remember such a somber crowd at any game.
Post by: BennyCake on February 09, 2018, 03:45:19 PM
"I don't really believe in lesbians". Great line  ;D

To be fair, the storylines have been ok, but some of the one liners have been top notch.
Post by: lenny on February 09, 2018, 07:22:42 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 09, 2018, 03:45:19 PM
"I don't really believe in lesbians". Great line  ;D

To be fair, the storylines have been ok, but some of the one liners have been top notch.

Well summed up. So so storylines but plenty of brilliant lines and laughs. I will look forward to the new series.
Post by: Rois on February 09, 2018, 07:41:56 PM
"You're a walkin' cack attack" and "Caioimhe reeks of piss" and the random all-girl talent show - echoes of Convent Grammar Strabane 1991-1998. We even had one male in the school too.
I think the writer was at Thornhill the same time I was at its equivalent in Strabane. 

Loved it.
Post by: David McKeown on February 09, 2018, 08:46:38 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 09, 2018, 04:23:04 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 09, 2018, 01:34:31 PM
Yeah I thought the last two episodes weren't quite as good as the others although I thought the ending was excellent. Our ones reckoned the footage may have been La Mon. No idea if that's right
I don't think it was any specific incident at all. Just one they made up to show the contrast of crazy shit happening daily but fairly normal teenage life continuing alongside it.

Yeah I don't think it was supposed to be a specific incident, but the archive footage played on the screen is what I'm referring too.
Post by: ONeill on February 09, 2018, 09:00:51 PM
I can't make a call on it atall. Liked bits. Others not so good. But still tuned in. Couldn't care if there was another series. But would watch again.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 09, 2018, 09:04:44 PM
It's based on Thornhill Convent of Mercy. Their student booklet was even called the habit
Post by: Rois on February 09, 2018, 09:12:29 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on February 09, 2018, 09:04:44 PM
It's based on Thornhill Convent of Mercy. Their student booklet was even called the habit
Yes it was and the writer went through school at the same time as me, we have mutual friends, so it's no wonder some of the stuff is so familiar. Hope they do a Colaiste Samhraidh version.
Post by: BennyCake on February 09, 2018, 11:25:28 PM
A bittersweet ending too hearing Dreams with Dolores' great voice.
Post by: seafoid on February 14, 2018, 10:43:53 AM
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/entertainment/film-tv/news/derry-girls-the-funniest-lines-from-series-one-36582185.html
Post by: mrdeeds on February 14, 2018, 12:55:49 PM
Talk of a Derry Girls Young Offenders crossover. But they are set in different times so hard to see how possible.
Post by: Jim_Murphy_74 on March 06, 2018, 07:54:02 PM

Finally got around to watching this. Watched all 6 episodes over two nights. Found it very enjoyable. I presumed the report at the end was about Enniskillen.

/Jim
Post by: mrdeeds on March 06, 2018, 09:22:46 PM
Quote from: Jim_Murphy_74 on March 06, 2018, 07:54:02 PM

Finally got around to watching this. Watched all 6 episodes over two nights. Found it very enjoyable. I presumed the report at the end was about Enniskillen.

/Jim

The creator said it had Omagh in mind but was just a demonstration of what happened and not one specifically. Omagh was a Saturday and in the show it's a school day.
Post by: Don Johnson on March 07, 2018, 11:53:27 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on February 14, 2018, 12:55:49 PM
Talk of a Derry Girls Young Offenders crossover. But they are set in different times so hard to see how possible.

Hopefully not. Young Offenders is so much better it would be a shame to tarnish it.
Post by: AQMP on March 07, 2018, 12:26:26 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on March 06, 2018, 09:22:46 PM

/Jim

The creator said it had Omagh in mind but was just a demonstration of what happened and not one specifically. Omagh was a Saturday and in the show it's a school day.

Enniskillen was a Sunday, Shankill Bomb was a Saturday too.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 07, 2018, 01:55:10 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on March 07, 2018, 11:53:27 AM

Hopefully not. Young Offenders is so much better it would be a shame to tarnish it.
Late to the party but watched a few episodes of the young offenders last night, really  enjoyed them
Post by: Don Johnson on March 07, 2018, 01:57:11 PM
Quote from: Newbridge Exile on March 07, 2018, 01:55:10 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on March 07, 2018, 11:53:27 AM

Late to the party but watched a few episodes of the young offenders last night, really  enjoyed them

It's class. There is a film on Netflix too.
Post by: gallsman on March 07, 2018, 03:30:02 PM
Quote from: AQMP on March 07, 2018, 12:26:26 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on March 06, 2018, 09:22:46 PM

/Jim

Enniskillen was a Sunday, Shankill Bomb was a Saturday too.

Enniskillen was also 1987 and the show is set in the mid 90s.
Post by: oakleaflad on April 10, 2019, 12:35:59 PM
Second season finished up last night. Thought the episodes were mostly stronger than the first season. First episode away on the trip with the Protestant boys, the da seeing them on TV away at the Take that concert (smiling and saying nothing), James showing up to take Erin to the formal and last nights episode were highlights from memory.

The music is great. Enjoy the granda and the aunt (very Derry). Clare annoys me a we bit - everything just a bit too over the top.

A third season is in the works.
Post by: clarshack on April 10, 2019, 01:00:17 PM
Enjoyed the second season as well. Don't understand all the begrudgery i've seen on social media.
Only thing I would have issue with the show is that there can be timeline errors. The IRA ceasefire (August 1994) seemed to be in between The Usual Suspects (August 1995) and Bill Clinton coming here (November 1995).
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2019, 01:09:12 PM
Some good bits, but some things a bit drab. Aunt Mary and the nun have some cracking lines. Thought series one was better though.
Post by: screenexile on April 10, 2019, 01:43:08 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 10, 2019, 01:09:12 PM
Some good bits, but some things a bit drab. Aunt Mary and the nun have some cracking lines. Thought series one was better though.

It's still good there's plenty of classic comedies have shite bits in them.

Was particularly disappointed with last night's episode the lads heading to Burt to find Clinton was very weak!!
Post by: gallsman on April 10, 2019, 01:46:42 PM
I enjoy it, whilst struggling to believe the scale of the hype and critical fascination with it.

Find the dodgy accents very off-putting. Can't take 75% of them. Erin's overacting and Orla's dreaminess/ropiness didn't annoy me as much as first time around but found Clare even more annoying than before. Her accent is genuinely awful. Love how foul-mouthed Michelle is and how phrases like "f**king p***k" can essentially be used as a term of endearment. Probably the most accurate of how Irish teenagers get on around each other.

Love the soundtrack - full playlist of it here on spotify https://open.spotify.com/user/1181646670/playlist/6xPhOPIiMX5BP6GggzFpna?si=q26IxTmkSAyhj7YqLZymWA

Jenny Joyce is a right wee root. There's one of her in every school.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 10, 2019, 01:52:56 PM
Derrygirls. Good in parts and overly daft in others. It could and should be alot better with the premise used.
Post by: Main Street on April 10, 2019, 02:08:28 PM
I watched the first episode of season 1 the other week, the torture was endured stoically to the end, in case.
But ever since, I have stood idly by.

Has any survey been taken to measure the overall negative impact that Derry Girls might have with southern voters in an AI referendum?

Post by: oakleaflad on April 10, 2019, 02:23:03 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 10, 2019, 02:08:28 PM
I watched the first episode of season 1 the other week, the torture was endured stoically to the end, in case.
But ever since, I have stood idly by.

Has any survey been taken to measure the overall negative impact that Derry Girls might have with southern voters in an AI referendum?
To be fair, I probably didn't warm to it until half way through the first season and enjoyed the second season even more. It's far from perfect and I wouldn't go in to watching it with a serious head on. It's a bit of harmless fun with just the right amount of nostalgia and 'Derry-ism's' for me to enjoy.
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2019, 02:25:55 PM
I wonder do Protestant school kids and workers head into school/work the day after and ask, "Did you watch that Londonderry Girls last night?"
Post by: Taylor on April 10, 2019, 02:29:39 PM
Genuinely find it painful to watch and find myself wanting to turn it over if someone else wasnt watching it in the room.

Find it more stupid than in any way funny.

Maybe its just because Im getting to be a grumpy ballix in old age  ::)
Post by: screenexile on April 10, 2019, 03:05:08 PM
It's the age old problem of comedy being subjective. . . All the best sitcoms had overly stupid storylines and shit bits in them but that doesn't stop them being named as the best ever.

Here's a list published today from a Radio Times poll and I could easily argue against a lot of them!

ADVERTISEMENT

20 greatest sitcoms ever
1. Fawlty Towers

2. Father Ted

3. I'm Alan Partridge

4. Blackadder

5. Dad's Army

6. Only Fools and Horses

7. Porridge

8. The Royle Family

9. Absolutely Fabulous

10. Dinnerladies

11. The Thick of it

12. The Office

13. Peep Show

14. The Vicar of Dibley

15. The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin

16. The Young Ones

17. Gavin & Stacey

18. The Good Life

19. Detectorists

20. Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads?
Post by: Sheugh Water on April 10, 2019, 03:30:11 PM
As a Derry City man, far too many dodgy Belfast accents in there. Michelle and Auntie are Derry in the sod.
Post by: general_lee on April 10, 2019, 03:37:27 PM
Considering it's aimed at a UK audience I doubt they gave too much consideration to the accents. The wee girl from Galway actually isn't too bad. As for that list by screenexile, it doesn't even have the inbetweeners and is therefore null and void
Post by: screenexile on April 10, 2019, 03:51:06 PM
Quote from: general_lee on April 10, 2019, 03:37:27 PM
Considering it's aimed at a UK audience I doubt they gave too much consideration to the accents. The wee girl from Galway actually isn't too bad. As for that list by screenexile, it doesn't even have the inbetweeners and is therefore null and void

Nor Fleabag!!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2019, 03:56:40 PM
The acting is irritating as Gallsman says and I think in general the writing is stronger than the acting. Michelle the most believable and is pure Derry. Clare and Orla could easily disappear and the show wouldn't suffer.
Post by: bennydorano on April 10, 2019, 04:34:49 PM
Any best of list without Phoenix Nights can f**k off
Post by: Snapchap on April 10, 2019, 04:56:20 PM
Quote from: clarshack on April 10, 2019, 01:00:17 PM
Don't understand all the begrudgery i've seen on social media.

That's the sort of line that gets under my skin. There feels like a real 'groupthink' attitude to Derry Girls whereby it's almost embarrassing to admit in public that you think it's s**t; and that post underscores that feeling for me - it's an implied suggestion that if you don't like it then you are just a begrudging so and so.

It's possible to think it's rubbish because you just don't think it's funny, rather than because of any sort of begrudgery.
Post by: trailer on April 10, 2019, 05:12:12 PM
Writing good, acting questionable. 6.5 / 10
Post by: ziggy90 on April 10, 2019, 05:39:28 PM
No Dad's Army, Steptoe and Son or Til Death Us Do Part on the list? Very poor.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 10, 2019, 05:57:29 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 10, 2019, 03:05:08 PM
It's the age old problem of comedy being subjective. . . All the best sitcoms had overly stupid storylines and shit bits in them but that doesn't stop them being named as the best ever.

Here's a list published today from a Radio Times poll and I could easily argue against a lot of them!

ADVERTISEMENT

20 greatest sitcoms ever
1. Fawlty Towers

2. Father Ted

3. I'm Alan Partridge

4. Blackadder

5. Dad's Army

6. Only Fools and Horses

7. Porridge

8. The Royle Family

9. Absolutely Fabulous

10. Dinnerladies

11. The Thick of it

12. The Office

13. Peep Show

14. The Vicar of Dibley

15. The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin

16. The Young Ones

17. Gavin & Stacey

18. The Good Life

19. Detectorists

20. Whatever Happened to the Likely Lads?

UK comedy is great and all, but there's something about the underlying themes of class that has always struck me as a bit... odd. The basis of a lot of British comedy seems to be that someone tries to improve their station in life, but fails miserably with hilarious results.

Del Trotter is a working class man who had to raise his brother like a son, has aspirations for millionairedom, but can't get there because he's a poorly educated working class person, so let's all have a good laugh at him. Look at him trying to move in the same circles as the "yuppie sorts" and upper class people in mansions but sticking out like a sore thumb because he doesn't know his place.

Blackadder was the same. He always tried to get one over on the toffs who were in control of his life, tried some scheme to escape the drudgery of his life, and it always backfired on him.

Hyacinth Bucket is a middle class woman who tried to look upper class and makes a pig's ear of it.

David Brent wants to be a famous comedian or rockstar but is stuck in a middle-management office job – and then gets kicked down another rung of the ladder in the end.

Don't get me wrong, they're all funny shows and all. I'm just saying. There's something about the Brits and an obsession with class.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 10, 2019, 06:06:22 PM
Well Monty Python did make the 'Class' sketch so that's a 'thing' in the uk and elsewhere tbf (except USA)
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2019, 06:23:37 PM
19. Detectorists is a great wee show.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2019, 07:15:18 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 10, 2019, 06:23:37 PM
It's class. I was late to the party on it but I'd put it right up there with my favourite programmes of the last 10 years.
Post by: ziggysego on April 10, 2019, 08:04:53 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on April 10, 2019, 05:39:28 PM

Renounce the Ziggy name would you, until you know how to respect how to use it.

Derry Girls is one of the funniest comedies currently on television. It's witty, it's crude, it's thought provoking and it evokes so many great memories from being a teen in the 90s and studying in that there city.

Then you go and say Dad's Army is what is held up at the pinicle of great comedies? It's rubbish, utter rubbish.

Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2019, 08:22:00 PM
Never seen more than 2 minutes of Dads Army in me life.

Can't really comment. It might well be good. But just looks too English for my liking.
Post by: screenexile on April 10, 2019, 08:23:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2019, 07:15:18 PM
It's class. I was late to the party on it but I'd put it right up there with my favourite programmes of the last 10 years.

Really?? Must get into it
Post by: BennyCake on April 10, 2019, 08:27:25 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 10, 2019, 08:23:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 10, 2019, 07:15:18 PM

Really?? Must get into it

Yup. Well worth a watch. Great show.
Post by: ziggy90 on April 11, 2019, 11:00:41 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 10, 2019, 08:04:53 PM

Derry Girls is one of the funniest comedies currently on television. It's witty, it's crude, it's thought provoking and it evokes so many great memories from being a teen in the 90s and studying in that there city.

Then you go and say Dad's Army is what is held up at the pinicle of great comedies? It's rubbish, utter rubbish.

I might, if you promise to try and improve your spelling next term.
Post by: Orior on April 11, 2019, 11:07:06 AM
This quote from Dad's Army could have been written for Brexiteers

Wilson: "It's a beautiful sunset, sir,"

Mainwaring: "It's a beautiful land. They're not going to get their hands on it. We shall fight to the last. We shall keep firing until we have only one round each. We shall save that for ourselves. By the way, Wilson, how much ammunition do we have?"

Wilson: "One round each, sir"
Post by: ziggy90 on April 11, 2019, 11:24:47 AM
Quote from: Orior on April 11, 2019, 11:07:06 AM
This quote from Dad's Army could have been written for Brexiteers

Wilson: "It's a beautiful sunset, sir,"

Mainwaring: "It's a beautiful land. They're not going to get their hands on it. We shall fight to the last. We shall keep firing until we have only one round each. We shall save that for ourselves. By the way, Wilson, how much ammunition do we have?"

Wilson: "One round each, sir"

Post by: gallsman on April 11, 2019, 11:36:05 AM
It's funny in places, but it's really not all that witty, Ziggy.

As someone mentioned previously, a load of lads driving to Burt looking for Clinton because they heard a radio transmission of "bring bill back to base"??? Load of shite.
Post by: tyroneman on April 11, 2019, 01:04:01 PM
Give my Derry head peace Mrs Brown
Post by: Armamike on April 11, 2019, 01:06:51 PM
No Steptoe and Rising Damp on that list. Wow. 
Post by: ziggysego on April 11, 2019, 01:24:38 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on April 11, 2019, 11:00:41 AM

I'll thnik about it
Post by: TabClear on April 11, 2019, 01:46:34 PM
Quote from: Armamike on April 11, 2019, 01:06:51 PM
No Steptoe and Rising Damp on that list. Wow.

Yes Minister/Prime minister would be right at the top of that list for me. Brilliantly written
Post by: Taylor on April 11, 2019, 01:57:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 11, 2019, 01:24:38 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on April 11, 2019, 11:00:41 AM

I'll thnik about it

Perhaps if you concentrated on the spelling rather than posing for photos with a barrage of beauties it would be better  ;)
Post by: ziggysego on April 11, 2019, 02:28:38 PM
I want to confirm that whilst my Internet post is littered with spelling and grammar errors, I did not follow for Brexit.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on April 11, 2019, 02:40:53 PM
The Likely Lads should be in that top 20.
Post by: Truth hurts on April 28, 2022, 12:53:53 PM
Does anyone think there is a lot of repetitive stuff from father Ted?
Post by: J70 on April 28, 2022, 01:39:01 PM
Its amusing reading back on this thread and the amount of hatred for this show back when it first came out.

Have to save I've enjoyed it thoroughly. My American missus loves it too (although she needs subtitles).

Kevin McAleer's cameos are hilarious.

Only seen the second episode of the new season so far on our dodgy tv box. It didn't quite hit the heights of the earlier stuff.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 28, 2022, 01:49:21 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on April 28, 2022, 12:53:53 PM

Yes 2or3 times this week said to myself ive seen similar before (i suppose all stuff is repeated eventually) likewise yer wan Jamie Lee is like rent aquote at this stage of Norn-Iron-isms. Having said that still enjoyable with great music in the background
Post by: clarshack on April 28, 2022, 02:01:33 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 28, 2022, 01:49:21 PM

Yes 2or3 times this week said to myself ive seen similar before (i suppose all stuff is repeated eventually) likewise yer wan Jamie Lee is like rent aquote at this stage of Norn-Iron-isms. Having said that still enjoyable with great music in the background

Thought the latest episode was better than what most other people seemed to think about it.
Post by: WT4E on April 28, 2022, 02:18:13 PM
Episode 1 shit
Episode 2 very good
Episode 3 okay
Post by: tintin25 on April 28, 2022, 02:34:40 PM
Episode 1 - ok
Episode 2 - good
Episode 3 - brutal bad

Overall, it's watchable but personally don't think it's anywhere near as funny as the likes of the Inbetweeners
Post by: screenexile on April 28, 2022, 03:08:59 PM
Thought the last episode was quite weak but these things happen... not every episode of the inbetweeners/Father Ted was quality they all have their bad ones!

Also Amy Huberman's accent was atrocious!!
Post by: Main Street on April 28, 2022, 04:34:31 PM
I laughed once at something in the latest episode one, I have to admit I don't get the love for DGs. But I might give ep 2 a gander seeing as the reviews  here consider it to be  drama gold.
Post by: screenexile on April 28, 2022, 04:41:08 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 28, 2022, 04:34:31 PM
I laughed once at something in the latest episode one, I have to admit I don't get the love for DGs. But I might give ep 2 a gander seeing as the reviews  here consider it to be  drama gold.

I wouldn't sat that I just enjoy Kevin McAleer's schtick.
Post by: general_lee on April 28, 2022, 04:44:34 PM
It's watchable, some people (women) hype it up to be a lot better than what it actually is
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 28, 2022, 04:46:40 PM
Wifey was gigglin away at ep2 deffo the best so far. Will it go down as one if the top twenty comedies ever? No

Is it enjoyable all the same with plenty of laughs with a nice throwback to an era plenty of us remember, good tunes, few good local celebs like mcaleer and tiernan etc, while being levels above Give my Head Peace and Mrs Browns Boys? yes 😊
Post by: bennydorano on April 28, 2022, 07:26:19 PM
Another vote for Episode 2,. I'm not a huge fan but that Episode was  very funny. Episode 3 wasn't as strong but it was OK.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 28, 2022, 07:57:23 PM
Quote from: WT4E on April 28, 2022, 02:18:13 PM
Episode 1 shit
Episode 2 very good
Episode 3 okay
+1. Last weeks was definitely a high point.
Post by: thebigfella on April 28, 2022, 09:14:13 PM

Yes..... see next post on Kevin McAleer. It's just a rip off of Father Austin Purcell IMO.

In fairness it's watchable, has some genuinely funny moments but it's not ground breaking. It is heavily influenced by stuff like father ted but that in itself is not a bad thing as it lures us in with the nostalgia. Nobody complains that stranger things just rips off/borrows form every 80s movie, in fact we expect it at this stage 😀
Post by: rosnarun on April 29, 2022, 09:31:10 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on April 28, 2022, 09:14:13 PM

Yes..... see next post on Kevin McAleer. It's just a rip off of Father Austin Purcell IMO.

In fairness it's watchable, has some genuinely funny moments but it's not ground breaking. It is heavily influenced by stuff like father ted but that in itself is not a bad thing as it lures us in with the nostalgia. Nobody complains that stranger things just rips off/borrows form every 80s movie, in fact we expect it at this stage 😀
Mcaleer was it it ling befroe fr ted. and it wasnt funny then either
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 29, 2022, 11:39:50 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 28, 2022, 04:46:40 PM
Wifey was gigglin away at ep2 deffo the best so far. Will it go down as one if the top twenty comedies ever? No

Is it enjoyable all the same with plenty of laughs with a nice throwback to an era plenty of us remember, good tunes, few good local celebs like mcaleer and tiernan etc, while being levels above Give my Head Peace and Mrs Browns Boys? yes 😊

Jesus we are wile harsh on ourselves, the Irish that is.. It's a bitta craic and light entertainment. Very rare will you get belly laughs now on tv and if you do its from the 70's and you aint suppose to be laughing
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on April 29, 2022, 12:26:13 PM

You are starting from a low bar there. Two shows I cannot abide. Give my Head Peace is at least 20 if not 30 years past its sell-by date. Utter utter shite. And Mrs Browns Boys is about as funny as a kick to the stones.

Derry Girls like most other shows has its moments and while it is not comedy gold or won't be remembered as a classic is still a decent effort.

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 29, 2022, 12:30:34 PM
So we agree! 😃
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on April 29, 2022, 12:31:43 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 29, 2022, 12:30:34 PM
So we agree! 😃

100%  :D
Post by: Man Marker on April 29, 2022, 12:33:59 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on April 29, 2022, 12:26:13 PM

You are starting from a low bar there. Two shows I cannot abide. Give my Head Peace is at least 20 if not 30 years past its sell-by date. Utter utter shite. And Mrs Browns Boys is about as funny as a kick to the stones.

Derry Girls like most other shows has its moments and while it is not comedy gold or won't be remembered as a classic is still a decent effort.

you must be some craic to go with for a night
Post by: rrhf on April 29, 2022, 12:36:15 PM
Tyrone Boys is going to be the next big thing...
Post by: imtommygunn on April 29, 2022, 12:50:25 PM
Mrs Browns boys is embarrassing - it's utter shite. Give my head peace does have the odd funny thing in it.
Post by: screenexile on April 29, 2022, 12:52:06 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 29, 2022, 12:36:15 PM

We've already had that and I'm pretty sure we can all agree it was horrific.

"There's no place like Tyrone"

Well thank f**k there isn't one's more than enough!!
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on April 29, 2022, 01:15:19 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on April 29, 2022, 12:33:59 PM

you must be some craic to go with for a night

f**k and here was me thinking I was allowed an opinion. What should I have said?
Post by: RedHand88 on April 29, 2022, 01:15:50 PM
Quote from: screenexile on April 29, 2022, 12:52:06 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 29, 2022, 12:36:15 PM

We've already had that and I'm pretty sure we can all agree it was horrific.

"There's no place like Tyrone"

Well thank f**k there isn't one's more than enough!!

Remarkably that got a second season.
Post by: Main Street on April 29, 2022, 07:14:44 PM
I am risking a 2 year ban with  Ziggysbigego as mod, but in my opinion Mrs Brown's boys is sitcom class. I don't watch it as a habit but whenever I happen upon an episode I'm impressed by the the staging, the acting, the corny dialogue, corny jokes, the blatant character stereotyping and ridiculing of same.
Post by: Saffrongael on April 29, 2022, 07:26:54 PM
Speaking of unfunny acts, I see there "Mammybanter" is releasing her first book  :-\
Post by: bennydorano on April 29, 2022, 08:42:51 PM

A Give my head peace Classic Sketch
https://youtu.be/j9qV8buoY1E

Post by: Rois on April 29, 2022, 09:59:24 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on April 29, 2022, 07:26:54 PM
Speaking of unfunny acts, I see there "Mammybanter" is releasing her first book  :-\
We tried booking her for an International Women's Day slot for an online conference - the price she was charging for a fifteen min slot was eye-watering! We didn't bother.
Post by: Olly on April 29, 2022, 10:21:19 PM
Derry ones are mad about money
Post by: In hiding on April 29, 2022, 10:46:28 PM
I think Derry Girls and Give My Head Peace are excellent.
Mrs Brown's Boys is terrible though
Post by: Rois on May 18, 2022, 10:40:48 PM
Aw lads, some show this evening. Strabane even featured!
Whatever anyone thinks about the humour (and jeez but I couldn't stand the Claire character), the show has a real ability to tap into the emotions of the time.
Post by: trileacman on May 19, 2022, 01:05:34 AM
Quote from: Rois on May 18, 2022, 10:40:48 PM
Whatever anyone thinks about the humour (and jeez but I couldn't stand the Claire character), the show has a real ability to tap into the emotions of the time.

That post got worse with every sentence.

Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on May 19, 2022, 06:58:09 AM
Quote from: In hiding on April 29, 2022, 10:46:28 PM
I think Derry Girls and Give My Head Peace are excellent.
Mrs Brown's Boys is terrible though

Just saw this post, give my head peace and excellent in the same sentence and no-one said anything ;D
Post by: Rois on May 19, 2022, 07:04:46 AM
Quote from: trileacman on May 19, 2022, 01:05:34 AM
Quote from: Rois on May 18, 2022, 10:40:48 PM

That post got worse with every sentence.

🤣

Come on - it was good and had me in tears! Voted in the referendum on my 18th birthday - can't blame me for reminiscing.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 19, 2022, 07:42:46 AM
Same. It got a bit less funny but more poignant and emotional.

Also it was a bit sickening watching about the good Friday agreement given how little of a shit some current politicians give about it and the fact it is just a pawn in a big game now :(
Post by: Mourne Red on May 19, 2022, 07:54:38 AM
Thought the last 2 episodes this week were brilliant - Haven't enjoyed all of this season but the episode last night tapped into your emotion of what things were like and people
Don't want that anymore never mind when they voted for the GFA, but arseholes working to destabilise that agreement would anger you.. Loved Granda Joes speech about it being a ghost story you'll tell weans.

Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 19, 2022, 11:37:02 AM
Only watched the first, as a Derry man, the accents are away off. Michelle only one that has Derry accent and maybe the auntie/ma a bit, but must catch up on it over next few weeks. I was in Derry the night Clinton came and Belfast the previous night( is that in last episode?)

Funny was I outside Whitlaw hall when Adams came out with Clinton. Big placard protest there of free presbies, think I was only taig there. I shouted "Tiocfaidh Ár Lá Gerry". Oh the looks. Jesus how ive changed
Post by: screenexile on May 19, 2022, 12:13:46 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on May 19, 2022, 07:54:38 AM
Thought the last 2 episodes this week were brilliant - Haven't enjoyed all of this season but the episode last night tapped into your emotion of what things were like and people
Don't want that anymore never mind when they voted for the GFA, but arseholes working to destabilise that agreement would anger you.. Loved Granda Joes speech about it being a ghost story you'll tell weans.

I'm fairly sure Erin is from Derry as well and has a Derry accent! The others are shite enough especially Clare's!
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 19, 2022, 12:21:40 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 19, 2022, 12:13:46 PM

I'm fairly sure Erin is from Derry as well and has a Derry accent! The others are shite enough especially Clare's!

Aye tbf she does, does my napper in with the facial expressions(have I got the right one?)
Post by: tintin25 on May 19, 2022, 12:28:50 PM
Watched the penultimate episode thinking it was the last and was thinking 'is this it?'

Have to say it barely raised a chuckle...series has been pretty dire but all about opinions I guess
Post by: trileacman on May 19, 2022, 12:34:55 PM
Even shite comedies can have their moments. I thought the episode with the granda's new girlfriend was funny. Gave up on the show midway through season 2 though.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2022, 12:47:30 PM

Surely that Michelle one is pure Derry hi!
Post by: nrico2006 on May 19, 2022, 12:48:36 PM
Show had its moments, with the funniest really being the nun and the granda - the aunt became pretty funny too as the show progressed.

Your doll Clare was really annoying as was Erin.

How many of the main cast would actually have a Derry accent though in reality?  Two of the girls and Dennis?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 19, 2022, 12:52:19 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2022, 12:47:30 PM

Surely that Michelle one is pure Derry hi!

She is
Post by: oakleaflad on May 19, 2022, 01:33:36 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on May 19, 2022, 12:48:36 PM
Show had its moments, with the funniest really being the nun and the granda - the aunt became pretty funny too as the show progressed.

How many of the main cast would actually have a Derry accent though in reality?  Two of the girls and Dennis?
Not everyone in Derry sounds the same. Their accents were grand, even if one or two of the characters were a bit annoying at times.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 19, 2022, 01:52:24 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on May 19, 2022, 01:33:36 PM

Not everyone in Derry sounds the same. Their accents were grand, even if one or two of the characters were a bit annoying at times.

Like life..
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 19, 2022, 02:26:54 PM
Quote from: oakleaflad on May 19, 2022, 01:33:36 PM

Lol. I know but every working class Derry person does. We have 2 accents in the city. Urban Derry accent(more close to Inishowen than County Derry) and the put on snobby mid atlantic accent. The accents were brutally off bar Michelle and few others, no big deal.
Post by: screenexile on May 19, 2022, 03:18:16 PM
Watched the first half hour of the last episode at lunch there and it seems better than the series that's gone before looking forward to finishing it tonight!
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2022, 03:21:29 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 19, 2022, 03:18:16 PM
Watched the first half hour of the last episode at lunch there and it seems better than the series that's gone before looking forward to finishing it tonight!
Some boys here in the public sector could have watched the series on their lunch break.  ;)
Post by: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2022, 03:51:12 PM

Dennis is a Strabane man.
Post by: In hiding on May 19, 2022, 04:56:07 PM
Really enjoyed all 3 series.
Some slow bits obviously but one of the few series in recent years which i made a point of watching.
Beauty is in the eye and all that
Post by: Loughshore2022 on May 19, 2022, 07:18:36 PM
A nonsense show that only got famous because it is set in the 90's, the writer knew this would work. The young hipster youth love the 90s, they have a romanticised view of it. That is why the show FRIENDS is so big now, because of 90s nostalgia, it is probably bigger now that when it actually aired.
I also notice how the whole of county Derry are buying into the whole 'Derry Girl' thing, for example you would see the Derry ladies teams refer to themselves as Derry Girls on social media. The Eurovision girl from Bellaghy was also called a Derry girl. I don't know about anyone else but as a South Derry native I have little contact with any goings on in Derry City, I haven't even been there in 8 years. The only connection to Derry I have is that the county was named after the town. I am sure people in North Cork for example can relate to this agenda.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on May 19, 2022, 08:37:10 PM
Jesus. Tough audience.
So, writer writes about something as she knows it will be popular?! Thats one clever lady
Post by: nrico2006 on May 19, 2022, 09:11:44 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on May 19, 2022, 03:51:12 PM

Dennis is a Strabane man.

Aye, ran about with him in school.
Post by: screenexile on May 19, 2022, 10:17:22 PM
Enjoyed that finale helps you remember the last 20 years haven't been as bad as everyone is making out at the minute.

Very enjoyable and although of course there have been weak moments the show is a hit and has a bit of a cult following and is putting Derry in the map so I'm all for it. Fair play to Lisa McGee and all involved!!
Post by: ONeill on May 19, 2022, 10:27:30 PM
My memory must be hazy but I don't recall that great sense of euphoria that people are saying they're experienced at the time, especially from those who were in their teens then.

It was sceptical optimism. We'd already been through a few false dawns.

Post by: HiMucker on May 19, 2022, 10:34:36 PM
Quote from: Loughshore2022 on May 19, 2022, 07:18:36 PM
A nonsense show that only got famous because it is set in the 90's, the writer knew this would work. The young hipster youth love the 90s, they have a romanticised view of it. That is why the show FRIENDS is so big now, because of 90s nostalgia, it is probably bigger now that when it actually aired.
I also notice how the whole of county Derry are buying into the whole 'Derry Girl' thing, for example you would see the Derry ladies teams refer to themselves as Derry Girls on social media. The Eurovision girl from Bellaghy was also called a Derry girl. I don't know about anyone else but as a South Derry native I have little contact with any goings on in Derry City, I haven't even been there in 8 years. The only connection to Derry I have is that the county was named after the town. I am sure people in North Cork for example can relate to this agenda.
;D ;D ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2022, 10:37:41 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 19, 2022, 10:27:30 PM
My memory must be hazy but I don't recall that great sense of euphoria that people are saying they're experienced at the time, especially from those who were in their teens then.

Same. I recall more hullabaloo around the ceasefire in 1994.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 19, 2022, 11:02:13 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on May 19, 2022, 10:37:41 PM

Same. I recall more hullabaloo around the ceasefire in 1994.

As a naive teenager I thought it was a United Ireland!

Was a poignant last show. Made me think there probably would never have been a GFA were those Tories bastards in power. vermin!
Post by: Rois on May 19, 2022, 11:03:57 PM

I've seen people comment more on how important it was in hindsight, not specifically that it was as emotional at the time. I got to vote on the very day I turned 18, so it was a big deal for me, but never dreamt that it wouldn't pass, so no big sense of victory at the time. If John Hume thought it was the right thing to do, then that was me sold.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 19, 2022, 11:21:34 PM

I suppose it's a good feel show that people want to be connected with.  Tbh as a city man I'd not have seen county Derry only for playing GAA, never felt like my county, we very rarely ventured over the bridge during troubles and i think i was only in Belfast handful of times before went to uni . Donegal always felt more natural in every way,family names, relations , work,history , holidays etc
Post by: Loughshore2022 on May 21, 2022, 01:22:35 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 19, 2022, 08:37:10 PM
Jesus. Tough audience.
So, writer writes about something as she knows it will be popular?! Thats one clever lady

My point is that it is popular for the wrong reasons, not because it is particularly funny but people like the nostalgic aspect of it and foreigners like the unusual accents. I've been watching sitcoms since I was 8 years old and the best I've been are Frasier and Two and a half men. They are great because of the comedy, not some nostalgic notion attached to it
Post by: Loughshore2022 on May 21, 2022, 01:34:00 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 19, 2022, 11:21:34 PM

I suppose it's a good feel show that people want to be connected with.  Tbh as a city man I'd not have seen county Derry only for playing GAA, never felt like my county, we very rarely ventured over the bridge during troubles and i think i was only in Belfast handful of times before went to uni . Donegal always felt more natural in every way,family names, relations , work,history , holidays etc

West of Derry city actually used to be in Donegal during the early years of counties before Londonderry was formed. South Derry was North East Tyrone believe it or not. I would say that modern South Derry has more in common with South Antrim though.
Another interesting thing about history is that Inishowen and North co.Derry was part of Tir Eoghain before modern East Tyrone was. It was in the 'Cenel Eoghain' which was the earliest version of Tyrone. So basically Dungiven was in Tyrone before Dungannon was. Irish history is a complex thing.
If Derry City had stayed in Donegal then County Donegal could have been called Londonderry.
Post by: trueblue1234 on May 21, 2022, 01:35:33 PM
Quote from: Loughshore2022 on May 21, 2022, 01:22:35 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on May 19, 2022, 08:37:10 PM
Jesus. Tough audience.

My point is that it is popular for the wrong reasons, not because it is particularly funny but people like the nostalgic aspect of it and foreigners like the unusual accents. I've been watching sitcoms since I was 8 years old and the best I've been are Frasier and Two and a half men. They are great because of the comedy, not some nostalgic notion attached to it

Ffs if someone likes it, they like it. Let's not try to delve too deep into it. Sitcom snobbery now!! 😂
Post by: gallsman on May 21, 2022, 01:37:51 PM
Two and a half Men mentioned in the same breath as Frasier. Jesus wept.

I don't think there's anything wrong with people enjoying the show  because of the nostalgia element or familiarity, think it's all part of it. It's not written as a laugh a minute comedy.

It's not on a par with even some recent Ch 4 stuff like the Inbetweeners from a pure comedy perspective, never mind the classics, but that doesn't mean it's not thoroughly enjoyable in its own right
Post by: Loughshore2022 on May 21, 2022, 01:43:14 PM
Quote from: gallsman on May 21, 2022, 01:37:51 PM
Two and a half Men mentioned in the same breath as Frasier. Jesus wept.

I don't think there's anything wrong with people enjoying the show  because of the nostalgia element or familiarity, think it's all part of it. It's not written as a laugh a minute comedy.

It's not on a par with even some recent Ch 4 stuff like the Inbetweeners from a pure comedy perspective, never mind the classics, but that doesn't mean it's not thoroughly enjoyable in its own right

Yet you say you like Inbetweeners, ithas similar humour to Two and a half men. Both are filthy shows with mainly sexual jokes but that is why both are good. Two and a half men is actually better than Inbetweeners, Alan and the house keeper Berta are iconic sitcom characters. Another thing is that people usually hated when Ashton Kitchen replaced Charlie Sheen but I actually preferred him.
Post by: gallsman on May 21, 2022, 02:10:17 PM
They're completely different shows. The Inbetweeners is a comedy about the, mostly sexual, mishaps of teenage boys and all that that entails. Most men can relate to that awkwardness they felt growing up at that sort of age, horned out of it but nervous around girls, struggling to fit in and find their place. That's where the comedy in it is largely derived from.

Two and Half Men is a comedy with some of the same sort of jokes about grown, nearly middle aged, men. Completely different premise altogether.
Post by: laoislad on May 21, 2022, 02:22:50 PM
"Horned out of it"
😂😂
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on May 21, 2022, 02:30:30 PM
Quote from: Loughshore2022 on May 21, 2022, 01:34:00 PM

West of Derry city actually used to be in Donegal during the early years of counties before Londonderry was formed. South Derry was North East Tyrone believe it or not. I would say that modern South Derry has more in common with South Antrim though.
Another interesting thing about history is that Inishowen and North co.Derry was part of Tir Eoghain before modern East Tyrone was. It was in the 'Cenel Eoghain' which was the earliest version of Tyrone. So basically Dungiven was in Tyrone before Dungannon was. Irish history is a complex thing.
If Derry City had stayed in Donegal then County Donegal could have been called Londonderry.

The old trick pub quiz question was "what is biggest town in Inishowen" , Derry City.

The whole cityside was Inishowen and then part of cityside was separated as ecclesiastical lands. But even then most of cityside remained in Inishowen.
When the Brits were dividing O Dohertys land between them Inishowen and its boundaries were given down to the very streams that demarked the land. Basically the stream that runs down from ballymagroarty and a line that runs west of that to penny burn. Galliagh, Carnhill, Shantallow, Culmore, coshquin, penny burn and anywhere in between those areas are in Inishowen. We are far further north in the peninsula than likes of Burt who are in Inishowen

The Waterside county Derry to me. Cityside just in name, island people hemmed in lol
Post by: gallsman on May 21, 2022, 06:02:05 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 21, 2022, 02:22:50 PM
"Horned out of it"
😂😂

I imagine some of us were worse than others.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 14, 2022, 11:32:31 PM
Where's decent for a bite of lunch in the city? Will have 2 teenage sons with me so nothing too fancy but plenty of it! Might scoop a pint too!
Post by: screenexile on June 14, 2022, 11:35:27 PM
The Exchange
Pykes and Pommes
Walled City Brewery
Fitzroy

All decent
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 14, 2022, 11:49:13 PM
Good man.
Post by: rrhf on June 15, 2022, 07:52:39 AM
Love the exchange
Post by: rosnarun on June 15, 2022, 09:28:46 AM

Was there not  a county Coleraine at some Point?
Post by: trailer on June 15, 2022, 09:35:35 AM

Us South Tyrone ones drove them Dungiven wans out.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 15, 2022, 11:23:21 AM
We still feel Donegal on the west bank.

Post by: oakleaflad on June 15, 2022, 11:41:40 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 15, 2022, 11:23:21 AM
'We' is a very broad statement. Not everyone would feel that way.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2022, 11:47:10 AM
Don't be hijacking my thread about Derry city eating houses.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 15, 2022, 11:50:44 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on June 15, 2022, 11:41:40 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 15, 2022, 11:23:21 AM
'We' is a very broad statement. Not everyone would feel that way.

It is. But id say 80% of us are from Inishowen easily going back 2-3 geneartions, as a city man that would be my experience . The surnames are the give away. Id feel more at home in Buncrana than Dungiven
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on June 15, 2022, 11:51:55 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2022, 11:47:10 AM

Where do you come from "Donegal", hows your purdies "big and small" how do you eat them "skin n all"
Post by: oakleaflad on June 15, 2022, 04:33:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2022, 11:47:10 AM
Pyke 'N' Pommes I reckon is a good shout for you and the sons. Enjoy!
Post by: armaghniac on November 28, 2022, 11:06:52 AM
Martin Scorcese is Derry girls fan.
https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/watch-hollywood-director-martin-scorsese-reveals-he-is-a-derry-girls-fan-42178762.html
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 28, 2022, 05:59:12 PM
Well that's me all caught up on all the episodes. I don't know what some of yiz are smoking. It was a great show! I find an accent so similar to my own a bit hard to listen to on TV at times, and there is a bit of over-acting, but the humour and clever writing more than made up for it. The historical details (the old cars, the music) were spot on. One thing I liked was how every character was so unique with a fully fleshed out personality, which you don't always see in TV these days. Even minor characters that appear in one or two episodes are hillarious. Like your one in the railway station talking on the phone at full volume about her sex life, or yer man in the shop that roars at the customers, or the edgy English literature teacher. Great stuff altogether. It'll be a classic in years to come, and the curmudgeons giving out about it are going to look even funnier.
Post by: armaghniac on November 28, 2022, 06:17:38 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 28, 2022, 05:59:12 PM
Well that's me all caught up on all the episodes. I don't know what some of yiz are smoking. It was a great show! I find an accent so similar to my own a bit hard to listen to on TV at times, and there is a bit of over-acting, but the humour and clever writing more than made up for it. The historical details (the old cars, the music) were spot on. One thing I liked was how every character was so unique with a fully fleshed out personality, which you don't always see in TV these days. Even minor characters that appear in one or two episodes are hillarious. Like your one in the railway station talking on the phone at full volume about her sex life, or yer man in the shop that roars at the customers, or the edgy English literature teacher. Great stuff altogether. It'll be a classic in years to come, and the curmudgeons giving out about it are going to look even funnier.

Have you encountered any Americans who have seen it? I expect even the publicity today will cause a few more to watch it.
Post by: seafoid on November 28, 2022, 06:36:50 PM
I agree. Judging by the comments on youtube the series is already very popular.
Post by: thewobbler on November 28, 2022, 07:38:09 PM
I was sceptical at the start, but it's one of those rare comedy shows that gets better on repeat viewings, and the last 5-6 episodes were all gems. Characters who just make me smile.
Post by: AustinPowers on November 28, 2022, 08:06:19 PM
I think like father ted, Derry girls will  take on a life of its own , where sayings and phrases become part of everyday life. Like an 'in joke' that we're all in on.

"Protestants keep their toaster in the cupboard/hate  ABBA", "Catholics have more freckles " etc... will become the new "Careful now" or "down with this sort of thing".

I don't know about the rest of ye but  I would use father ted-isms very regularly. Even though I wouldn't really watch it much now , the funny lines have seeped into the public consciousness.  That's probably an indicator of how well liked a show is
Post by: armaghniac on November 28, 2022, 08:11:29 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on November 28, 2022, 08:06:19 PM
I think like father ted, Derry girls will  take on a life of its own , where sayings and phrases become part of everyday life. Like an 'in joke' that we're all in on.

"Protestants keep their toaster in the cupboard/hate  ABBA", "Catholics have more freckles " etc... will become the new "Careful now" or "down with this sort of thing".

I don't know about the rest of ye but  I would use father ted-isms very regularly. Even though I wouldn't really watch it much now , the funny lines have seeped into the public consciousness.  That's probably an indicator of how well liked a show is

Down with that sort of thing.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on November 28, 2022, 08:16:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 28, 2022, 08:11:29 PM

Down with that sort of thing.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 28, 2022, 08:48:44 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 28, 2022, 06:17:38 PM

Have you encountered any Americans who have seen it? I expect even the publicity today will cause a few more to watch it.

Yes, plenty. My American wife loves it, although I was constantly hitting pause to explain some background stuff so she could get more of the deeper-layered jokes.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 28, 2022, 08:52:32 PM

The other night my daughter was looking for some sellotape and I said in a Liam Neeson voice, "there is no tape."

There's other lines I quote fairly regularly.

And I said to myself, says I...

You're a massive ride...

Now I don't mind a bit of a breeze, if anything I prefer it, but thon was aggressive...

Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 28, 2022, 08:56:38 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 28, 2022, 07:38:09 PM
I was sceptical at the start, but it's one of those rare comedy shows that gets better on repeat viewings, and the last 5-6 episodes were all gems. Characters who just make me smile.

I sometimes go back just to watch Orla doing random stuff in the background, or her lollipop getting bigger and more elaborate in each episode. Or the random stuff on Sr Michael's desk. Or the interactions between James and Erin before they started getting close. I'm sure there's plenty of other details I've missed.