Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on May 07, 2007, 02:48:31 PM

Title: KFC
Post by: ziggysego on May 07, 2007, 02:48:31 PM
(http://signgenerator.kfccruelty.com/SignCache/589aba7b-de60-49da-80b6-4114ea27c1e0.jpg)
Title: Re: KFC
Post by: ExiledGael on May 07, 2007, 03:00:28 PM
OK Ziggy what the hell is that all about?? :-\
Post by: stew on May 07, 2007, 06:43:00 PM
KFC have been using 'deformed and sickly chickens' as in chickens that are deformed and have serious malady's. I have not eaten there since I was sent a link by a mate. I deleted it though but it has put me off going there.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 07, 2007, 07:08:52 PM
KFC is rotten.  There is no where on the planet like Friar Tucks.

Post by: Syd The Sailor on May 07, 2007, 07:15:19 PM
KFC is the only fast food joint i refuse to eat out of when on shore leave ;) It is pure shite.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on May 07, 2007, 07:24:38 PM
Quote from: stew on May 07, 2007, 06:43:00 PM
KFC have been using 'deformed and sickly chickens' as in chickens that are deformed and have serious malady's. I have not eaten there since I was sent a link by a mate. I deleted it though but it has put me off going there.

I'm not sure if its the same link that I got, but an email has been doing the rounds for years saying something like that and backing it up with research from some university.  It turns out to be pure shite and untrue.  If you actually think about it, such a thing would not be allowed to happen and if it was true would have been reported in many different parts of the media.  I wouldnt believe a word of it.
Post by: stew on May 07, 2007, 10:36:01 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on May 07, 2007, 07:24:38 PM
Quote from: stew on May 07, 2007, 06:43:00 PM

I'm not sure if its the same link that I got, but an email has been doing the rounds for years saying something like that and backing it up with research from some university.  It turns out to be pure shite and untrue.  If you actually think about it, such a thing would not be allowed to happen and if it was true would have been reported in many different parts of the media.  I wouldnt believe a word of it.

Either way, KFC was finger lickin good when i did eat it, now I go to Subway and eat healthy, it is great stuff altogether. I never was into KFC much, maybe once every few months but I wont be going back after the report I read.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 08, 2007, 08:46:45 AM
one of the in law's works installing equipment in chicken farms etc
he says that he have been told and seen the chickens that are used for the KFC's and supermerket 'chicken breast' packs etc
these are usually the chickens that are malnourished, malformed and usually who cannot walk (legs are fecked - mostly as its a huge crush on in the cages)

while this cannot be good for the chickens, I dont think it affects the taste.

its not right though ....
Post by: his holiness nb on May 08, 2007, 09:44:59 AM
I know I may sound like a culchie here, but you cant beat a good supermacs!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 08, 2007, 10:22:59 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 08, 2007, 09:44:59 AM

Totally agree nb, sadly Supermacs haven't arrived in Belfast yet, still waiting with bated breath though!
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 08, 2007, 10:25:02 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on May 08, 2007, 10:22:59 AM
Quote from: his holiness nb on May 08, 2007, 09:44:59 AM

Totally agree nb, sadly Supermacs haven't arrived in Belfast yet, still waiting with bated breath though!

dunno about supermacs
my missus loves it , but I think its very hit and miss

I suppose inversely proportional to the amount of drink you have taken

(GD - how shite was that perf from both sides on sat.....schoolboy league/innishowen div 5 league standard at best)
Post by: rosnarun on May 08, 2007, 10:30:47 AM
Quotebacking it up with research from some university
I didnt realize it was that official
how anyone could eat at KFC when they could have the breast fed chicken easily availible from any Chinese take away or super macs  baffles me.  
Post by: full back on May 08, 2007, 10:33:30 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 08, 2007, 10:30:47 AM
Quotebacking it up with research from some university
I didnt realize it was that official
how anyone could eat at KFC when they could have the breast fed chicken easily availible from any Chinese take away or super macs  baffles me.  

Is it fed on the t1t?
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 08, 2007, 10:34:31 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 08, 2007, 10:30:47 AM
the breast fed chicken easily availible from any Chinese take away  

you have confused me (easily done mind)
breast fed chicken ?
Breast of chiocken thats corn fed or something ?

bear in mind that chinese restaurants are not the bastion of clenliness or have a reputation of being purveyors of the best quality food going...
ask anyone who haas heard of multiple chinese restaurants being closed down by health inspectors
(they are not all bad, but I have heard about some amount of closures over the years)

as for supermacs...I'd not expect them to be much better...
I'd like to be wrong though..
Post by: ziggysego on May 08, 2007, 10:56:56 AM
I think Supermac is great too. Yes, they are moving North. Can't wait!
Post by: rosnarun on May 08, 2007, 11:35:39 AM
sorry if my satirical style confused .
chise take qaways use chicken from the cheapest source . it is often putrid. KFC get a bad rap because people can see how they raise their chickens but at least its has a clear traceability so when one of them pruduces sammonella they know which batch number ect too stop and have procedure (including PR one) to halt the damage . no such chance in Chinese take aways as they are mostly independanlt eun and you arre at the mercy of the owner. This also applys to all indian and irish independantly run restraunts who dont have a tracebilty policy
Post by: rrhf on April 18, 2013, 07:41:55 PM
Hungry
Post by: laoislad on April 18, 2013, 07:45:13 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 18, 2013, 07:41:55 PM
Hungry

Zinger Tower meal is the job.
Post by: Hereiam on April 18, 2013, 07:55:42 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 18, 2013, 07:45:13 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 18, 2013, 07:41:55 PM
Hungry

Zinger Tower meal is the job.

Now ur talkin  ;)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 19, 2013, 12:28:26 AM
Used to eat there when getting my oil changed because there's one across the road from my mechanic. Tasted nice, but gawd it was greasy! And my guts protested for 24 hours afterwards. Now I bring my own food and wait in the waiting area.
Post by: Syferus on April 19, 2013, 03:33:08 AM
I remember when on the way back from a family excursion to the lovely wesht coast (and off it to the Arrans) we stopped at a KFC on the Galway road and the big man went in to order.

"I'll have a quarter pounder"

"We only serve chicken, sir"

"Ok, I'll have fish and chips then"