Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 07:00:01 PM

Title: Philip Seymour Hoffman dies
Post by: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 07:00:01 PM
http://www.joe.ie/movies/news-3/actor-philip-seymour-hoffman-dies-at-the-age-of-46-in-new-york-city/

Unbelievable, was he ill? A brilliant actor and was in some great movies.

RIP
Title: Re: Philip Seymour Hoffman dies
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 02, 2014, 07:04:20 PM
Drug OD according to Sky news.
Post by: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 07:06:14 PM
A real pity if so. We've lost one of the few genuinely great actors working in Hollywood today.
Post by: J OGorman on February 02, 2014, 07:09:02 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 07:06:14 PM
A real pity if so. We've lost one of the few genuinely great actors working in Hollywood today.

+ 1. Christ thats awful news
Post by: Capt Pat on February 02, 2014, 07:21:59 PM
He had 3 kids as well.
Post by: Jonah on February 02, 2014, 07:40:45 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on February 02, 2014, 07:21:59 PM
He had 3 kids as well.
You see to me that's the real pity and not that hollywood has lost a great actor  ::) 3 kids will be without a Dad because of drugs.
Just another drug addict who paid the consequences for his habit. Him being a famous actor doesn't make him any better than any other druggie imo.
Post by: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 08:09:41 PM
Oh Jesus wept, there's always one idiot.
Post by: Jonah on February 02, 2014, 08:14:45 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 08:09:41 PM
Yeah you.
I'm sick of this faux outpouring of grief when someone famous dies.  Especially when that person is a selfish drug addict.  None of you would bat an eyelid if some druggie died on the cold dirty streets of Dublin or some other Irish city but when he's a famous actor then its a tragedy and you all can't get to the keyboard quick enough to say how bloody great he was.
If you don't want to die from drugs then don't do f**king drugs especially when you have 3 kids.
Post by: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 08:22:31 PM
An Addiction is a horrible illness no matter what it is - drink, glue, gambling, drugs or whatever else and those afflicted need help not condemnation.

A father of 3 kids was found dead in an apartment with a needle in his arm. That is extremely sad.
Post by: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 08:34:34 PM
Quote from: Jonah on February 02, 2014, 08:14:45 PM
Yeah you.
I'm sick of this faux outpouring of grief when someone famous dies.  Especially when that person is a selfish drug addict.  None of you would bat an eyelid if some druggie died on the cold dirty streets of Dublin or some other Irish city but when he's a famous actor then its a tragedy and you all can't get to the keyboard quick enough to say how bloody great he was.
If you don't want to die from drugs then don't do f**king drugs especially when you have 3 kids.

"Yeah you", did it take you long to come up with that witty gem?

"Faux outpouring of grief", are you a complete moron? Nobody is locked in a dark room crying their eyes out here, we simply commented on the tragic death of someone we know through their fame as an actor. It's tragic when anyone loses their life due to drugs but we don't know most of them so we don't comment on forums such as this. Can you comprehend that???

As you are clearly simple, I'll point out nobody said he was great but he was a great actor, there's a difference.

I'm glad your pompous morality is so large that you have no pity when someone dies from drugs, alcohol abuse or other afflictions that humans suffer from. If you have a major problem with drug taking, then fair enough, but only an asshole blowhard would come on to a thread about a tragic death and hijack it to make that point.

Post by: Jonah on February 02, 2014, 08:44:26 PM
You continously insulting me says more about you than it does me, but by all means continue doing it if it makes you feel better in this time of grief for you.
Post by: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 08:50:44 PM
I insulted you because you deserve it due to your incredibly inappropriate post on a topic you could have ignored if you had any class about you at all. A man dies and you feel now's the time to preach and not only that but you clearly didn't understand the content of the posts which triggered your preaching. The tone of my posts reflect only your pompous moralising.
Post by: Jonah on February 02, 2014, 08:53:48 PM
Good lad let it all out. Don't worry though time is a great healer.

Post by: Orior on February 02, 2014, 08:55:07 PM
You are both right.

Taking drugs is wrong. There is a grey line between drugs, cigarettes and alcohol, however drugs are illegal.

The problem is that we all feel we knew PSH, and we don't like to speak ill of the dead. What do family and friends say when a joyrider kills himself in a car crash? "oh he was loveable rogue"
Post by: aontroim on February 02, 2014, 08:57:21 PM
Ironic given that there was a hoax story that he had died recently!
Post by: Zulu on February 02, 2014, 09:01:57 PM
QuoteGood lad let it all out. Don't worry though time is a great healer.

This coming from a guy who started ranting on a thread about a mans death. ::) ::) ::)

I'll leave you to it, you're not worth wasting time on.

QuoteYou are both right.

Orior, he isn't right. This guy did the internet equivalent of turning up a the man's funeral with a placard denouncing drug taking.

None of us are condoning drug taking, we were simply commenting on the death of someone we all know through his fame.
Post by: nrico2006 on February 03, 2014, 09:02:09 AM
Quote from: Jonah on February 02, 2014, 08:14:45 PM
Yeah you.

I do hate the over the top grief people show for famous people (especially those you see on TV crying their eyes out over some celebrity they never met) yet barely bat an eyelid at someone who has died from the bottom of their street.  On the flipside, I hate the way people on here can call some celebrity a 'selfish drug addict' yet what would the reaction be here if it were some top GAA player who died in a similar situation (either drugs or suicide)?  Would they have been selfish too?
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 09:52:34 AM
So I guess we'll 'sey no more hoffhim'  he was supposed to pick up his kids instead he was doing drugs. Kids money and a brillant career still wasnt enough. Hard to get too upset over this..
Post by: theskull1 on February 03, 2014, 10:53:00 AM
As alternative country (i.e so nothing like Garth Brooks) singer songwriter Fred Eaglesmith wrote

Fame doesnt take away the pain
it just pays the bills
And you wind up on alcohol and pills

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMuIXzZj7YY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMuIXzZj7YY)
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 11:11:32 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on February 03, 2014, 10:53:00 AM
As alternative country (i.e so nothing like Garth Brooks) singer songwriter Fred Eaglesmith wrote

Fame doesnt take away the pain
it just pays the bills
And you wind up on alcohol and pills

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMuIXzZj7YY (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMuIXzZj7YY)
Great tune that you could keep singing it and just keep changing the names
Post by: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 11:57:16 AM
What a sympathetic bunch we are today - should be proud of ourselves ::)

Hoffman was a gifted man, and unlike a lot of other gifted people, worked hugely hard and left, even at the relativelty young age of 46, a legacy that stands up against any actor working in Hollywood today. He wasn't a Brando or a Pacino - I think he was more of a character actor in the alec Guinness/Olivier mode. He was also an immensely talented theatre director.

The word genius is thrown about too often in obits - but I first thought he was blessed/cursed with it after seeing his immensely empathethic role in "Magnolia".

Of course I didn't know the man, but with his own work, he shed a light on other peoples lives - the essence of great art.

Addiction and creativity are often intertwined - and the most tortured people can be the most illuminative of the human condition. It's a terrible situation for his family and kids, but just as there is no place for crocodile tears from ambulance chasing fans, there is no place for judgement from people who didn't know him. None of us can know what put the junkie on the street or the needle in the arm in any situation. Kindness shouldn't just be reserved for personal acquaintances.

RIP
Post by: Cold tea on February 03, 2014, 12:05:10 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 11:57:16 AM
What a sympathetic bunch we are today - should be proud of ourselves ::)

Hoffman was a gifted man, and unlike a lot of other gifted people, worked hugely hard and left, even at the relativelty young age of 46, a legacy that stands up against any actor working in Hollywood today. He wasn't a Brando or a Pacino - I think he was more of a character actor in the alec Guinness/Olivier mode. He was also an immensely talented theatre director.

The word genius is thrown about too often in obits - but I first thought he was blessed/cursed with it after seeing his immensely empathethic role in "Magnolia".

Of course I didn't know the man, but with his own work, he shed a light on other peoples lives - the essence of great art.

Addiction and creativity are often intertwined - and the most tortured people can be the most illuminative of the human condition. It's a terrible situation for his family and kids, but just as there is no place for crocodile tears from ambulance chasing fans, there is no place for judgement from people who didn't know him. None of us can know what put the junkie on the street or the needle in the arm in any situation. Kindness shouldn't just be reserved for personal acquaintances.

RIP

What a bullshit statement.
Post by: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 12:14:22 PM
George Best, Jimi Hendrix, Rimbaud, Bob dylan (intermittently), John Lennon (listen to Cold Turkey), Syd Barret, Kurt Cobain, Jim Morrison, David Bowie, Lou Reed (listen to Heroin), Dylan Thomas, Brendan Behan, Lord Byron, David Foster Wallace, John Kennedy O'Toole, William Faulkner, F Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway.....

do you want me to go on - or do you want to continue to make bullshit statements?
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 12:26:02 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 12:14:22 PM
George Best, Jimi Hendrix, Rimbaud, Bob dylan (intermittently), John Lennon (listen to Cold Turkey), Syd Barret, Kurt Cobain, Jim Morrison, David Bowie, Lou Reed (listen to Heroin), Dylan Thomas, Brendan Behan, Lord Byron, David Foster Wallace, John Kennedy O'Toole, William Faulkner, F Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway.....

do you want me to go on - or do you want to continue to make bullshit statements?
Justin beiber :D
Post by: Cold tea on February 03, 2014, 12:26:49 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 12:14:22 PM

What does that prove, it proves rich people pay for drugs and sex.  You said Addiction and creativity are often intertwined - that's bullshit, the only reason that list exists is because they could afford to pay for drugs and sex, nothing to do with Addiction and creativity being intertwined and all to do with selfish rich people thinking they can do whatever the f**k they want because they are lorded by the pricks that surround them.
Post by: Cold tea on February 03, 2014, 12:28:42 PM
You reap what you sow in life, unfortunately these "celebs" leave the misery for their poor families to deal with.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 03, 2014, 12:31:41 PM
A lot more poor people die of drug addiction than the rich and famous
Post by: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 12:34:51 PM
I think alot of them are murdered by their dealers.

Gerry ryan.. Whitney.. Elivis..
Post by: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 12:39:36 PM
What it proves Cold Tea, is that you are a moron that can't read. To define that as a list of "celebs" just proves you should go back to the Daily Mail.com with the rest of the trolls. What is Bieber up to today, I wonder?

As for my original point, creativity and addiction are often intertwined - which they are, as people who are fairly high up the creative genius curve tend to have characteristics that can make them predisposed to addiction - that doesn't mean that they will become addicted, it also doesn't mean that their creative output is enhanced by their addictions.

You're right Milltown, but again that is because of enviromental factors that can leave people exposed/ predisposed to addiction e.g. if you're living in a block of flats where heroin is easily available, you're unemployed, under pressure, these can all be factors - but it doesn't mean you certainly will, and most people don't. What differeniates those who do and those who don't is the nature,soul and personal circumstances of the person, something none of us can fully claim to know. Which is what I was saying in response to people dancing a jig on a man's grave.
Post by: trileacman on February 03, 2014, 12:42:15 PM
This thread is pure WUM bait, f**k the lot of ye.
Post by: Cold tea on February 03, 2014, 12:48:43 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 12:39:36 PM
What it proves Cold Tea, is that you are a moron that can't read. To define that as a list of "celebs" just proves you should go back to the Daily Mail.com with the rest of the trolls. What is Bieber up to today, I wonder?

As for my original point, creativity and addiction are often intertwined - which they are, as people who are fairly high up the creative genius curve tend to have characteristics that can make them predisposed to addiction - that doesn't mean that they will become addicted, it also doesn't mean that their creative output is enhanced by their addictions.

You're right Milltown, but again that is because of enviromental factors that can leave people exposed/ predisposed to addiction e.g. if you're living in a block of flats where heroin is easily available, you're unemployed, under pressure, these can all be factors - but it doesn't mean you certainly will, and most people don't. What differeniates those who do and those who don't is the nature,soul and personal circumstances of the person, something none of us can fully claim to know. Which is what I was saying in response to people dancing a jig on a man's grave.

Ill read all the evidence you have on this, you can post it here, at least it rules you as you are obviously brain dead.
Post by: trileacman on February 03, 2014, 12:52:51 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on February 03, 2014, 12:48:43 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 12:39:36 PM

Ill read all the evidence you have on this, you can post it here, at least it rules you as you are obviously brain dead.

Sure only the rich pay for drugs and sex, or so you say. Them junkies off O'Connell street are f**king millionaires sure. And all the hookers shooting up are f**king loaded too.

Show us some evidence that "only the rich pay for drugs and sex" there and be a big man, since you're demanding evidence from every else.  ::)
Post by: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 12:57:35 PM
http://www.scientificamerican.com/article/is-there-a-link-between-creativity-and-addiction/

Fairly good over view there, and a nice distinction made - it's not creativity and addiction that are linked, it is the characteristics that are prerequisites for creativity that are linked with addiction.

Hope that is clear enough for you. You might need to get someone to read it to you.
Post by: CD on February 03, 2014, 01:08:12 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 09:52:34 AM
So I guess we'll 'sey no more hoffhim'  he was supposed to pick up his kids instead he was doing drugs. Kids money and a brillant career still wasnt enough. Hard to get too upset over this..

I'm with you on this one. I can imagine the whole 'poor twisted soul using drugs to help him cope, He's the victim etc etc rubbish that the Hollywood press will doubtless peddle. (see River Phoenix and Heath Ledger). Going to get some mileage out of this pre Oscars. Great actor, feel fantastically sad for his youngsters.
Post by: Jonah on February 03, 2014, 01:13:56 PM
I was wondering when someone would roll out the tortured genius line  ::)
As if somehow this druggie was better than some unemployed dead beat druggie because he was a good actor and therefore deserves our sympathy and how sad it is he is gone because the world has lost should a wonderful talent.
Give me a break ffs. A druggie is a druggie end of.
Post by: J OGorman on February 03, 2014, 01:22:28 PM
Quote from: Jonah on February 03, 2014, 01:13:56 PM
I was wondering when someone would roll out the tortured genius line  ::)
As if somehow this druggie was better than some unemployed dead beat druggie because he was a good actor and therefore deserves our sympathy and how sad it is he is gone because the world has lost should a wonderful talent.
Give me a break ffs. A druggie is a druggie end of.

an angry troll is an angry troll is an angry troll....the likes of yourself and cold tea, what goes through you boys heads to continuously rant and get angry and whip out the wee eyes to heaven emoticon? Surely life has more to offer than using a gaa forum as your anger / bitter outlet?
Post by: bennydorano on February 03, 2014, 01:23:01 PM
Cretins abound.

Rip to a fine actor.
Post by: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 01:24:47 PM
A man is a man, end of, whether famous or not. He deserves as much sympathy as any other person to lose their lives in terrible circumstances. You and your alter ego are the ones suggesting he deserves as little sympathy as a "druggie", whatever that may be.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16715.Men_and_Cartoons

Try "The Dystopianist" - essential reading for WUMs  8)

Post by: trueblue1234 on February 03, 2014, 01:30:36 PM
For me, anyone dying from Drug abuse is sad, especially when children are involved. Doesn't matter if they're a homeless person of the streets or a hollywood actor. Drugs claiming another life is sad. It's just in most cases it's a stat, and there's very little connection to the person. When someone famous dies, it puts a face to it and can make it  bit more identifiable. That doesn't mean that we don't feel pity for the unknown homeless person as well, as I said, any loss of life to drugs is sad. But when it's someone famous there's more opportunity to make comment on it. Attacking someone for feeling sorry for a death even by a selfish act is pretty pathetic if you ask me. 
Post by: Cold tea on February 03, 2014, 01:35:40 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 03, 2014, 01:23:01 PM
Cretins abound.

Rip to a fine actor.

So if everyone doesn't buy into the whole out pouring of emotion for a famous drug user's death, they are cretin, dry you eyes ffs.  It's sad the man is dead for his family and friends but he's gone, and this bullshit that because he was creative he was almost destined for addiction is bollocks.  Although according to easytiger there has been less than 20 creative people throughout history!
Post by: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 01:38:51 PM
Yeah that is exactly what I said - well done. Tell me, anymore word on Bieber today? Or Niall Horan?

Midterms coming up soon.
Post by: EC Unique on February 03, 2014, 01:46:17 PM
Bit sad the way this thread has gone but typical of the GAABoard this last while.

RIP to the man.
Post by: Zulu on February 03, 2014, 04:31:39 PM
Lads don't mind these fools. It's one thing being anti drugs but to use a thread which simply expresses sympathy for a man's death to preach is beyond pathetic. It's been pointed out repeatedly that these threads are started only because we know these people in some way, not because their lives are more important than anyone else's but any sane person would understand that already.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2014, 04:45:58 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on February 03, 2014, 01:46:17 PM
Bit sad the way this thread has gone but typical of the GAABoard this last while.

RIP to the man.
Has always been this way since I joined (not linked  ;D) and not exclusive to the gaaboard. Some boys could start a fight in a phonebox.
Post by: CD on February 03, 2014, 04:48:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2014, 04:45:58 PM

RIP to the man.
Has always been this way since I joined (not linked  ;D) and not exclusive to the gaaboard. Some boys could start a fight in a phonebox.

I once saw two fellas fighting in a phonebox. it was hilarious!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2014, 05:04:08 PM
Quote from: CD on February 03, 2014, 04:48:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 03, 2014, 04:45:58 PM

RIP to the man.

I once saw two fellas fighting in a phonebox. it was hilarious!!
It's not like they are used for making calls so at least they found a use for it.
Post by: easytiger95 on February 03, 2014, 05:48:47 PM
Posted by: Zulu
« on: Today at 04:31:39 PM

Lads don't mind these fools. It's one thing being anti drugs but to use a thread which simply expresses sympathy for a man's death to preach is beyond pathetic. It's been pointed out repeatedly that these threads are started only because we know these people in some way, not because their lives are more important than anyone else's but any sane person would understand that already.

There is something very disturbing in the attitude of trolls like that - once information is filtered through a screen and keyboard, it becomes a tool to annoy, to wind up, to slag - it's a complete disassociation from the reality that a talented man is dead and his kids are left without their father. Compassion and empathy don't come into it, it is all about winning the next flame war they are going to create. It's a curious way to spend your day and I don't know who they are tyring to amuse beyond themselves.

I've been contributing on and (very!) off since 2001 and it has definitely got more blatant and vicious. Maybe we could set up a seperate forum for trolls only? The Shrek board, anyone?
Post by: muppet on February 03, 2014, 06:26:19 PM
It really amazes me that anyone would want to go onto a thread, about the death of someone they don't know, and hurl abuse at the deceased and anyone that expresses sympathy.

Mind boggling ignorance.

Post by: Captain Obvious on February 03, 2014, 06:32:16 PM
Quote from: orangeman on February 02, 2014, 08:22:31 PM
An Addiction is a horrible illness no matter what it is - drink, glue, gambling, drugs or whatever else and those afflicted need help not condemnation.

A father of 3 kids was found dead in an apartment with a needle in his arm. That is extremely sad.

Quote from: muppet on February 03, 2014, 06:26:19 PM
It really amazes me that anyone would want to go onto a thread, about the death of someone they don't know, and hurl abuse at the deceased and anyone that expresses sympathy.

Mind boggling ignorance.

Well said guys.
Post by: give her dixie on February 03, 2014, 07:51:06 PM
Extremely sad news, and it seems that despite been sober for 23 years, he fell off the wagon and his
addiction started again. What a talented actor, and personally, if I saw his name appearing in a movie,
I knew it was going to be good. Scent Of A Woman and Dead Poets Society were probably the earliest memories
I had of him acting, and from then, I can't recall a bad role he ever had.

Thanks for the memories Philip, and may you rest in peace.
Post by: stew on February 03, 2014, 10:24:55 PM
Well said Dixie.

I cannot imagine fighting an addiction for 23 years and then succumb to it again , this thread should never have descended into this bile but people should respect a persons right to be saddened at the loss of someone they admired.

A brilliant actor  and father of three lost his life due to his addiction, he brought pleasure to millions due to his ability and I hope he rests In peace.

Post by: trileacman on February 03, 2014, 11:40:06 PM
Is it just me, or should his role in Twister not be noted? f**king top show.
Post by: Gazzler on February 04, 2014, 08:59:38 AM
Quote from: CD on February 03, 2014, 01:08:12 PM
Quote from: lawnseed on February 03, 2014, 09:52:34 AM

I'm with you on this one. I can imagine the whole 'poor twisted soul using drugs to help him cope, He's the victim etc etc rubbish that the Hollywood press will doubtless peddle. (see River Phoenix and Heath Ledger). Going to get some mileage out of this pre Oscars. Great actor, feel fantastically sad for his youngsters.
+1 to both posts.
Post by: lawnseed on February 04, 2014, 09:20:52 AM
I just want to say that I thought he was another fella and the word "pasticé"  dont know what it means but I always wanted to have it in one of my posts.. Luvvy types always say pasticé.. God rest the man and pasticé to him as well

None of ye mentioned rainman with tom cruise it wasnt a bad show
Post by: stew on February 04, 2014, 11:11:43 AM
The arseholes pictured above are from a church who make it their business to attend  the funerals of servicemen and they try and get a reaction from the mourners, they are right wing scum who are too thick to understand that the God they profess to love would loathe their actions.

It takes a special kind of cnut to picket a funeral and I for one hope these tramps get run over by a train!
Post by: imtommygunn on February 04, 2014, 12:57:55 PM
They picketed Heath Ledger's funeral too as he was in brokeback mountain and they frowned upon it. Scumbags.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 04, 2014, 01:12:52 PM
Them Westboro guys are a bunch of nut jobs. The following is a list of events they have, or were going to, picket. Absolute bat shit crazy. (From Wiki)

Funeral pickets

The group came into the national spotlight in 1998, when it was featured on CNN for picketing the funeral of Matthew Shepard, a young man from Laramie, Wyoming who was beaten to death by two men allegedly because of his homosexuality.[

In July 2005, the Westboro Baptist Church declared its intention to picket the memorial service of Carrie French in Boise, Idaho. French, 19, was killed on June 5 in Kirkuk, Iraq, where she served as an ammunition specialist with the 116th Brigade Combat Team's 145th Support Battalion. Phelps Sr. said, "Our attitude toward what's happening with the war is the Lord is punishing this evil nation for abandoning all moral imperatives that are worth a dime."[41]

In 2006, Westboro picketed with banners saying "God hates fags" and "Thank God for dead soldiers" at the Westminster, Maryland, funeral of Matthew Snyder, a U.S. Marine who was also killed in Iraq.  Ruling on a subsequent lawsuit filed by Snyder's father, Albert Snyder, the U.S. Supreme Court decided, 8–1 in Snyder v. Phelps, that Westboro's actions constituted protected free speech.

On February 2, 2008, the group picketed during the funeral of former LDS Church president Gordon B. Hinckley in Salt Lake City, Utah, displaying picket signs accusing him of being a "lying false prophet" and "leading millions of people astray". The organization also criticized Hinckley for being too accepting of gay people, accusing him of having an ambiguous voice about homosexuality rather than taking a firm stand against it. Police had difficulty determining whether the demonstration met the guidelines of protected free speech.

Westboro picketed the funeral of recording artist Michael Jackson after his death on June 25, 2009. Members of Westboro have also recorded a song titled "God Hates the World", an adaptation of Jackson's charity single "We Are the World".[48]

In May 2010, Westboro picketed the funeral of heavy metal vocalist Ronnie James Dio in Los Angeles, saying that they believed the singer worshipped Satan. Dio's widow urged attendees to ignore the protest, saying "Ronnie hates prejudice and violence. We need to turn the other cheek on these people that only know how to hate someone they didn't know. We only know how to love someone we know."

In January 2011, Westboro announced that they would picket the funeral of Christina Green, a 9-year-old victim of the 2011 Tucson shooting in which Representative Gabrielle Giffords was also (non-fatally) shot. In response, the Arizona legislature passed an emergency bill to ban protests within 300 feet (91 m) of a funeral service, and Tucson residents made plans to shield the funeral from protesters. The church canceled plans to hold a protest during the memorial at the University of Arizona in exchange for air time on radio talk shows. According to university officials, between 700 and 1,200 students amassed to counter four WBC picketers who appeared at the campus after the event.

Jael Phelps explained to Louis Theroux in her America's Most Hated Family in Crisis interview that she and the other members of the WBC picketed at the funeral of a Muslim man's wife simply because the man had witnessed and scolded them for intentionally burning a copy of the Quran in public a week earlier.

On October 5, 2011, Fred Phelps' daughter, Margie, announced via her Twitter account that the church would be picketing Apple Inc. founder Steve Jobs' funeral. CBS News and The Washington Post noted the irony in the fact that Margie used an iPhone to create the tweet.

The church announced on December 16, 2012, it would be picketing at the funerals of the victims of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shootings.

On April 15, 2013, the church posted a press release to its Twitter account in which it thanked God for that day's Boston Marathon bombings, and announced its plan to "picket the funeral of those killed". Pointing out that the federal government is classifying the bombings as a terrorist attack, yet is being unclear about whether it is of a "domestic or foreign nature", the release went on to claim to answer the question with, "Here's a hint — GOD SENT THE BOMBS! How many more terrifying ways will you have the LORD injure and kill your fellow countrymen because you insist on nation-dooming filthy fag marriage?!" By early the next morning, nearly 4,000 people had signed a We the People petition on the White House website asking for the banning of such demonstrations by the church at victims' funerals. Additionally, a posting that same day on a Twitter account affiliated with the hacker group Anonymous warned that Church leaders would be targeted if they made good on their threat to picket the funerals.

On May 20, 2013, the church tweeted praising God for the 2013 Moore tornado and that they would protest the funerals of the victims.

Protests against Jewish institutions

In 1996 Phelps led a protest at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C., proclaiming:
Whatever righteous cause the Jewish victims of the 1930s–40s Nazi Holocaust had (probably minuscule, compared to the Jewish Holocausts against Middle Passage Blacks, African Americans and Christians—including the bloody persecution of Westboro Baptist Church by Topeka Jews in the 1990s), has been drowned in sodomite semen. American taxpayers are financing this unholy monument to Jewish mendacity and greed and to filthy fag lust. Homosexuals and Jews dominated Nazi Germany ... The Jews now wander the earth despised, smitten with moral and spiritual blindness by a divine judicial stroke ... And God has smitten Jews with a certain unique madness ... Jews, thus perverted, out of all proportion to their numbers energize the militant sodomite agenda... Jews are the real Nazis.

WBC was present at a 2002 Holocaust memorial dedication in Topeka, proclaiming "God Hates Reform Judaism".

On May 8, 2009, members of the church protested at three Jewish sites in Washington, D.C., including the Anti-Defamation League (ADL) offices, the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum and the city's largest synagogue. Margie Phelps, daughter of Pastor Fred Phelps, led the protest, holding signs stating that "God Hates Israel", "Jews Killed Jesus", "America Is Doomed", "Israel Is Doomed", and "ADL Jew Bullies". The protest was apparently part of a series of upcoming protests which the church has planned at Jewish institutions in Omaha, St. Louis, South Florida and Providence. The group reportedly posted a list of the upcoming protests' locations and dates, along with the statement "Jews Killed the Lord Jesus."

In an interview, Margie Phelps said that her church was targeting the American Jewish community because church members had "testified" to Gentiles for 19 years that "America is doomed" and that "Now it's too late. We're done with them." She also claimed that Jews were "one of the loudest voices" in favor of homosexuality and abortion, and that "[Jews] claim to be God's chosen people. Do you think that God is going to wink at that forever?" Phelps concluded by stating, in an apparent reference to the Book of Revelation, that all the nations of the world would soon march on Israel, and that they would be led by President Barack Obama, whom she called the "Antichrist".

Other protest activities

On January 26, 2008, WBC traveled to Jacksonville, North Carolina, home of Camp Lejeune, to protest the United States Marine Corps in the wake of the murder of Maria Lauterbach. Five women protested, stomping on the American flag and shouting slogans such as "1,2,3,4, God Hates the Marine Corps". A group of over 40 counter-protesters arrived and one spat in Shirley Phelps-Roper's face. Another counter-protest was held across town,which attracted over 150 counter protesters.

On May 14, 2008, two days after the 2008 Sichuan earthquake which claimed the lives of at least 70,000 people, WBC issued a press release thanking God for the heavy loss of life in China, and praying "for many more earthquakes to kill many more thousands of impudent and ungrateful Chinese".

On May 29, 2011, the WBC intended to protest in Joplin, Missouri, at the memorial service for the victims of the May 22, 2011, tornado that leveled large portions of that town.Those intending to protest the memorial service or President Obama's speech given there, or both, were refused entry into the venue by hundreds of local and regional residents, including a large group of bikers from the Patriot Guard Riders.

On May 30, 2011, the WBC was present at Arlington National Cemetery's Memorial Day services as part of their "Thank God for Dead Soldiers" campaign. A counter protest included members of the Ku Klux Klan.

Eleven-year-old brain tumor victim Harry Moseley raised £500,000 for charity but Marge Phelps of the Westboro Baptist Church criticized his family for not teaching him to "obey God". This comment within a few hours of the boy's death caused great distress to the bereaved.

The WBC announced its intent to protest December 19, 2012, at funerals of victims of the Sandy Hook Elementary School shooting. The online hactivist group Anonymous and several other groups responded by organizing a human wall to shield the victims' families. The WBC then left the area without engaging in any protests.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 04, 2014, 01:22:41 PM
That's what I assumed HS.
Post by: LeoMc on February 04, 2014, 01:47:40 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 04, 2014, 01:12:52 PM
Them Westboro guys are a bunch of nut jobs. The following is a list of events they have, or were going to, picket. Absolute bat shit crazy. (From Wiki)

Protests against Jewish institutions

In 1996 Phelps led a protest at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum in Washington, D.C., proclaiming:
Whatever righteous cause the Jewish victims of the 1930s–40s Nazi Holocaust had (probably minuscule, compared to the Jewish Holocausts against Middle Passage Blacks, African Americans and Christians—including the bloody persecution of Westboro Baptist Church by Topeka Jews in the 1990s), has been drowned in sodomite semen. American taxpayers are financing this unholy monument to Jewish mendacity and greed and to filthy fag lust. Homosexuals and Jews dominated Nazi Germany ... The Jews now wander the earth despised, smitten with moral and spiritual blindness by a divine judicial stroke ... And God has smitten Jews with a certain unique madness ... Jews, thus perverted, out of all proportion to their numbers energize the militant sodomite agenda... Jews are the real Nazis.

Quote from: hardstation on February 04, 2014, 01:20:15 PM
I only posted that pic as some people on this thread reminded me of them.

They didn't mention Spiderman duvets!
Post by: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 05:31:14 PM
I laughed when I saw a picture of one guy on the side of one such picket, with a placard which read,
"God Hates Signs".

From a film perspective, Hoffman has left his mark in modern cinema with more than a few outstanding characterisations.
Not many actors can have a bit part in a film, like Scent of a Woman, and leave you with an indelible image of his character, that sleazy, spineless, spoilt, snitch. There was another character he played  in his early days,  a lecherous loner who preyed on a female living in his block. I was looking for it the other day and can't find any hint what the name of the film was. Could have been a tv film.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 04, 2014, 05:43:06 PM
I actually have no clue who this lad is. I'm obviously film illiterate.
Post by: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 07:35:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 04, 2014, 05:43:06 PM
You most likely have seen him in a string of films over the past 20 years, but just didn't tag him.
I think his oscar role for Capote was his only lead role.

Like, how could you forget a scene like this?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQ_4m2ocxhI
Post by: Syferus on February 04, 2014, 07:45:24 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 07:35:55 PM
You most likely have seen him in a string of films over the past 20 years, but just didn't tag him.

He's had loads of lead roles - Synecdoche, New York, Doubt and The Master being some of the recent ones.
Post by: easytiger95 on February 04, 2014, 07:59:28 PM
QuoteFrom a film perspective, Hoffman has left his mark in modern cinema with more than a few outstanding characterisations.
Not many actors can have a bit part in a film, like Scent of a Woman, and leave you with an indelible image of his character, that sleazy, spineless, spoilt, snitch. There was another character he played  in his early days,  a lecherous loner who preyed on a female living in his block. I was looking for it the other day and can't find any hint what the name of the film was. Could have been a tv film.

Main Street, I think it was "Happiness", directed by a guy called Todd Solondz. Very depressing and disturbing film, but amazingly enough, for a character whose main deal was as you said above, Hoffman made him into one of the most sympathetic characters in the film. He was a genius.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 04, 2014, 08:01:50 PM
Had a small part in the Dirt Diggler movie too
Post by: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 08:21:41 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 04, 2014, 07:45:24 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 07:35:55 PM

He's had loads of lead roles - Synecdoche, New York, Doubt and The Master being some of the recent ones.
I suppose I understand 'lead' to be the leading role. And in Doubt I'd consider Meryl Streep to be the lead
The Master  - Joaquin Phoenix,  I don't know Synendoche.

In Capote he was the lead, he was the centre of attraction, everything revolved around his character.

Post by: Main Street on February 04, 2014, 08:27:24 PM
Quote from: easytiger95 on February 04, 2014, 07:59:28 PM
QuoteFrom a film perspective, Hoffman has left his mark in modern cinema with more than a few outstanding characterisations.

Main Street, I think it was "Happiness", directed by a guy called Todd Solondz. Very depressing and disturbing film, but amazingly enough, for a character whose main deal was as you said above, Hoffman made him into one of the most sympathetic characters in the film. He was a genius.
Thanks ET, it's one I'll revisit,  now that I know which one it is.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on February 04, 2014, 09:19:40 PM
Also was lead in Owning Mahony, which, while not a commercial success, was a pretty good movie.

For those wondering who he was, if you've seen The Big Lebowski (and if not, why not?), he was the lackey to the rich guy in it.
Post by: North Longford on February 05, 2014, 07:41:14 AM
Very good in the boat that rocks and mission possible as well. Just a very talented actor. I don't know but sometimes think the pressure of being in the public limelight is a bigger problem than any flawed genius. I had an old teacher who constantly pronounced that we all put on a face to meet a face. I think in the situation where everybody is watching your face and you are expected to never let it slip than it can be very tough. The mind can take us over and in that case maybe its worse to have money. You can try cures that patently are not a solution.
Post by: Asal Mor on February 05, 2014, 08:41:38 AM
I'd question whether anyone can be a "great actor". I don't think acting is a difficult enough skill for anyone to be great at it. Singing, dancing, playing a musical instrument, hurling, darts,cooking and even accountancy are all things you can be great at. But in acting, it just comes down to whether or not someone is believable enough in the role they're playing to make you forget you're watching an actor at all.

The squillions of terrible Hollywood blockbusters, starring the highest-paid and most vaunted actors in the world, versus the numerous, brilliant, low-budget movies starring bunches of nobodies testify to the fact that almost anyone can act.

This is nothing against Philip Seymour Hoffman who does as good a job as anyone. This post would have been more appropriate in a thread about, say Tom Hanks, Tom Cruise or Daniel Day-Lewis who seem to be paid inversely to how believable they are.
Post by: HiMucker on February 05, 2014, 09:16:54 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on February 05, 2014, 08:41:38 AM
I'd question whether anyone can be a "great actor". I don't think acting is a difficult enough skill for anyone to be great at it. Singing, dancing, playing a musical instrument, hurling, darts,cooking and even accountancy are all things you can be great at. But in acting, it just comes down to whether or not someone is believable enough in the role they're playing to make you forget you're watching an actor at all.

The squillions of terrible Hollywood blockbusters, starring the highest-paid and most vaunted actors in the world, versus the numerous, brilliant, low-budget movies starring bunches of nobodies testify to the fact that almost anyone can act.

This is nothing against Philip Seymour Hoffman who does as good a job as anyone. This post would have been more appropriate in a thread about, say Tom Hanks, Tom Cruise or Daniel Day-Lewis who seem to be paid inversely to how believable they are.
Asol Mor, your entitled to your opinion, but its shite!  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 05, 2014, 09:27:42 AM
Quote from: North Longford on February 05, 2014, 07:41:14 AM
Very good in the boat that rocks and mission possible as well. Just a very talented actor. I don't know but sometimes think the pressure of being in the public limelight is a bigger problem than any flawed genius. I had an old teacher who constantly pronounced that we all put on a face to meet a face. I think in the situation where everybody is watching your face and you are expected to never let it slip than it can be very tough. The mind can take us over and in that case maybe its worse to have money. You can try cures that patently are not a solution.

I've heard my wife say this about teaching years ago, constantly standing in front of 30 odd students and teaching maths, having to not slip up all the time, I have never found this a problem, classes are smaller where I teach and the kids find it challenging enough to do basic engineering lessons.

People in the public eye are constantly (I'd imagine) striving for publicity and when they get too much they complain and when they don't get any the complain. Fcuk that, the strain of that alone will put you over the edge, Meatloaf was on the radio the other day say all the stars take or have taken large amount of drugs over the years and will continue to do so, comes with the territory
Post by: Cold tea on February 05, 2014, 10:15:12 AM
It has already been established addiction and creativity are often intertwined!
Post by: Syferus on February 05, 2014, 11:09:55 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on February 05, 2014, 08:41:38 AM

???
Post by: Hound on February 05, 2014, 12:00:26 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on February 05, 2014, 10:15:12 AM
Or maybe that's just creative people coming up with a creative cop out.

There are so many creative people who aren't addicts and so many non-creative people who are addicts, that my opinion anyway is that its BS.

Plus the definition of "creative" is wide open to interpretation. There are plenty of media celebrities out there who haven't a creative bone in their body and just follow scripts written by others.
Post by: Cold tea on February 05, 2014, 03:12:46 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 05, 2014, 12:00:26 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on February 05, 2014, 10:15:12 AM
Or maybe that's just creative people coming up with a creative cop out.

There are so many creative people who aren't addicts and so many non-creative people who are addicts, that my opinion anyway is that its BS.

Plus the definition of "creative" is wide open to interpretation. There are plenty of media celebrities out there who haven't a creative bone in their body and just follow scripts written by others.

I was being flippant, I am in total agreement with your sentiments. :)
Post by: muppet on February 06, 2014, 10:31:14 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 05, 2014, 12:05:16 PM
George Best was creative and an alcoholic.
Neil Lennon was not creative and not an alcoholic.

Point proven. Simple.

This is great.

I may become a creationist!

F¨ck ye boring Darwanists.
Post by: EC Unique on February 06, 2014, 12:44:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 05, 2014, 12:05:16 PM
George Best was creative and an alcoholic.
Neil Lennon was not creative and not an alcoholic.

Point proven. Simple.

Man Utd could do with a few alcoholic midfielders!!
Post by: easytiger95 on February 06, 2014, 12:57:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xiWw5dwngc

I feel the same....
Post by: give her dixie on February 06, 2014, 03:10:28 PM
This is a good link to a Rolling Stones article that has 15 short clips of his acting career.

http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/pictures/peter-travers-on-philip-seymour-hoffmans-brilliant-roles-20140203
Post by: Main Street on February 06, 2014, 05:34:01 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on February 06, 2014, 03:10:28 PM
This is a good link to a Rolling Stones article that has 15 short clips of his acting career.

http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/pictures/peter-travers-on-philip-seymour-hoffmans-brilliant-roles-20140203
Is there a bad link to that article?

Acting ability apart, the overriding image I have of him is a guy who looks as if he could do with a few good nights sleep.