Seanad Éireann

Started by westmayo, June 28, 2007, 12:16:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

westmayo

I was reading John Waters column in the Times during the week when he was going on about the Seanad elections and how even though he's a college graduate he doesn't get a vote in the elction. It's about time that the vote was opened up to all College graduates (if that's the way they are going to keep it, along with the other panels) rather than just those with degrees from NUI's and TCD. Because it's saying that those from DCU, UL and all the IT'S in the country aren't at the same level as the NUI's and TCD

Fear ón Srath Bán

The whole structure of the second house needs to be reviewed, and dragged, kicking and screaming, into the 21st Century. It's an embarrassment of an anachronism, of which the third level voting rights (or lack thereof) is a primary example.
Carlsberg don't do Gombeenocracies, but by jaysus if they did...

Fishead_Sam

Agreed WestMayo, Im an NUIGalway graduate with a vote, I will as always be exercising my vote, but to be honest I look @ the list and I recognise about 6 or 7 of them, basically the 3 sitting, the FG'r, the Mayoman (who I am to understand has different views to be politicaly), Patrick Hillerys son & 1 or 2 others.

I really find it unfair that I should get a vote and other graduates do not. I heard someone suggest recently on Primetime I think (don't care what allegience it was a good idea) All citizens with a vote register on a particular panel, and then can vote on the area they feel most informed, to me honest I would rather be voting on an Industry, Trade or even Political Ethics related panel (sorry I don't know the names of the panels for these areas) than the education one. I know several people I really want to vote for but I can't because my vote is restricted to a panel I am not as interested in. But at least I have a vote.

I think the vote for the Seanad need to be expanded.

Gaoth Dobhair Abu