Prague

Started by downredblack, January 17, 2007, 12:58:04 PM

downredblack

Heading over to Prague for 3 nights , Anybody been recently ? What's good to eat / drink ? Any must see places ? Is it expensive ? etc . Staying at the Roma Hotel , anyone stay here before ?

cville

Yeah the Roma is a nice hotel, however, it is in the centre of the city's gay district. A vast majority of it's clientele are gay and lesbian but in the year 2007, that is not a problem. The trams are very cheap but watch out for pickpockets. Prague has a problem with street lepers - apparently the Soviet Union refused to provide any vaccination and a lot of the disease still prevails. A waiter in a restaurant we were at had leprosy of the hand but he had put cream on his sores so I was happy.
Also watch out for street hawkers who will try and sell you anything. It is a tradition in Prague to walk home from a bar naked - day or night. The police turn a blind eye to this and will even help you if you are drunk. Remember also that the local girls like to be paid in Euro for any services rendered - ask them to perform the Gdaaskiy - its well worth the extra 50 cent. It is also a normal in restaurants to snap your fingers and shout "Oi! Pedro" at waiters. And finally if you order bacon, be prepared ... They slaughter the animal in front of you in the restaurant and teh more the pig squeals, the better.  - again its a tradition. Apart from that it was ok.

Prague nice place,make sure and go to the niteclub down by the river it has 5 levels to it and each level has a different theme i think the top level was called the chill out room,no need to expalin really i think you can guess why it is called so...
Go to Rocky O'Rielys Irish pub good food and not too dear

QuoteGo to Rocky O'Rielys Irish pub

If you like stag nights as far as the eye can see, if you like the aroma of stale male sweat and even staler beer and the wonder combination of Cockney rhyming slang mixed with Tallaghfornication then Rocky O'Reilly's is the place for you.

There are magnificent bars and restaurants in Prague WTF would you go to somewhere like Rocky O'Reilly's?  ::)

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Hated that Rocky O'Reilly's myself.

If you have to go to an Irish bar, then try Molly Malone's, 5 minutes off the old town square (not in or on it).

Prague's OK. Locals a bit unfriendly but then again they probably think you're from a bigger island than ours.

Check out the Communist museum, near Wenceslaus Square. That square itself is full of massage parlours and pick-pockets.

"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

venter

Im going there next week with work. I was thinking of staying in a hotel close to the airport. Any recommendations? is the airport far from the City?

Don't stay at the airport, too far.

Get a bus or licensed taxi ( get the fare quoted before you get in ) to town. Plenty of reasonable hotels. Try to stay near old town square, new town square or Wenceslas square. The underground system doesn't go to the sirport but does go everywhere else and is cheap and easy to use. Be careful not to wander too far from the tourist areas at night but it's no worse than Dublin or any other cities.

Shop around for restaurants. Don't pay Dublin prices keep looking and you should pay less than half of what you normally would. Local beer is great but also try the local wines. Unknown in this part of Europe but cheap and very nice.

OK if you only visit one pub make it the Golden Tiger on Husova in the Old town (Stare Mesto).    Very famous but not commericialised like most other places. Its a beer cellar that serves only pilsner urquell in pints.  About 30p a throw and its brewed in house and is gorgeous.  Superb nites craic.

http://www.whitebeertravels.co.uk/prague.html

Eating dont miss the Imperial on Na Porici again in the Old Town.  Like stepping into the early 1900's with food & service you wont believe for about £20 for 2 persons.

http://www.2.virtualtourist.com/hotels/Europe/Czech_Republic/Hlavni_Mesto_Praha/Prague-400455/Hotels_and_Accommodations-Prague-Imperial-BR-1.html

Bes tip is to get off the tourist trail down some side streets to find the best bars & craic at cheap prices.

It is a beautiful city. Some of the views are spectular. But watch it will be sub zero at this time of the year so dress up warm!! I'd say make sure and try some of the old restaurants in Old town as they are far nicer and cheaper than near Wenceslaus square. Also check out the Bridge, Just cant remember the name of it at the minute!!
AS some one mentioned earlier use the Trams, they great for getting to see a wider area and very cheap. You'll have a ball it's a lovely city!!!

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

I think the bridge is called Charles Bridge.

The castle where Hitler stayed when they invaded there and the cathderal are also v impressive - some climb up the steps to them.

QuoteThe castle where Hitler stayed when they invaded there and the cathderal are also v impressive - some climb up the steps to them.

Aye those steps caught me out too.  Yer legs are on fire and there's no stopping because of the queue behind you! 

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Or the fact you're trying to prove you're still an athlete..... ;D

Quote from: muppet on January 17, 2007, 01:48:30 PM
QuoteGo to Rocky O'Rielys Irish pub

If you like stag nights as far as the eye can see, if you like the aroma of stale male sweat and even staler beer and the wonder combination of Cockney rhyming slang mixed with Tallaghfornication then Rocky O'Reilly's is the place for you.

There are magnificent bars and restaurants in Prague WTF would you go to somewhere like Rocky O'Reilly's?  ::)

I went there ohh about five or six years ago it was the night Liverpool played Celtic in the UEFA Cup..Mostly Irish people in pub that night and we had a great time..Now i was very very pissed but the food was good that night the women who served me left nothing to the imagination and it was cheap.

Theres an Irish pub at the corner of Old town square, can't remember the name of it at the minute, but loads of seats outside it, anyway theres a street down from it and on that street is a restaurant called teh goat (obviously its named in Czech and I can't remember it either!) but if you ask in the Irish bar (not the English shite hole beside it) they will point you in the right direction.
The food was absolutely fantastic, meat meat and more meat, huge portions, well presented and dirt cheap, couple of courses for me and the then fiance, throw in a bottle of vino and a few beers - all for less then a tenner!!! Fcuk I think I'll check out the price of flights in March......

Its three years since I was there, but at that stage it was incredibly cheap. Myself and five other lads got a large pizza and a drink (some spirits, some beer) each for a total of less than 25 euros in an Italian restaurant near that famous clock (Old Town square if I remember correctly). Pints in the pubs were around 50 cents (about a tenner in the strip joints though!). I'd recommend the absinthe! :)

It is definitely one of the most beautiful cities I've ever been to and I'd love to back someday in some situation other than a stag weekend, just to properly see everything!

Definitely watch out for the pickpockets and thieves though. Some are very brazen! A couple (Romanian I think) came up to us when we were walking back at the end of the night, asking for a light, and the girl just casually slips her hand into one of the lad's pockets and pulls out his wallet, not giving a shit that I could see her doing it! Thankfully they took off without any further hassle when I grabbed it back off her, but if it was a couple or a lad on his own, it might not have ended so quickly.