Mayo Club Football.

Started by intoDwest, November 10, 2006, 11:34:39 AM

Quote from: the Deel Rover on May 10, 2008, 10:43:17 PM
Ye must be top of the league farrandeelin especially with the draw between ballaghadreen and charlestown its fairly tight and a good league so far not a lot between the teams

Yeah the league results are interesting to date. I reckon this year's senior championship will be extremely entertaining and hard to call. A lot more so than has been the case for years. Ya could pick any one of Ballagh, Cross, Ballina, Charlestown and prob Knockmore and make very good arguments for each of them.

Then I think ya have Castlebar, Breaffy and Shrule as possible dark horses. Everyone else will be competitive most of the time, with the possible exception of Louisburgh.
I think it'll be a good 'un

It will be good entertainment, but is the standard slipping?

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 12, 2008, 02:16:33 PM
It will be good entertainment, but is the standard slipping?

Perhaps. Certainly I don't think any of the teams around now are as good as Crossmolina were when they got to the All-Ireland in 2001 and 2003 but I think its refreshing too that its so open.

While I'm sure there was great craic in north Mayo when Ballina, Cross and Knockmore were the big three over an extended period, I think the game in the county will get a gee up if there is greater competition.

Other clubs are more likely to aim for the top if they feel it is achieveable. In their day Knockmore, Crossmolina and Ballina were far too good for a lot of teams imho. Now a lot more teams are preparing with a genuine belief of making a cut at the title.

When are the championships due to start there lads? Usually was the last weekend of May in recent times. We are following that idea this year anyway. Going to be open enough then, with Ballagh and Charlestown going strong, could the power shift to the east for a time maybe?

(Cue a Ballina v Knockmore/Cross final, having said that now)

How will Intermediate go? Kiltimagh probable favourites I'd say. Who'd be the main challengers?

Due to start the last weekending 25th May OMS. I hope the majority of them are on a Sunday afternoon cos I probably will not make the Saturday evening games.

Burrishoole 2-8 Crossmolina 1-10. Shock of the day in Mayo I'd say. Certainly in Division 1A.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 18, 2008, 05:46:10 PM
Burrishoole 2-8 Crossmolina 1-10. Shock of the day in Mayo I'd say. Certainly in Division 1A.

Absolutely the shock of the day. Burrishoole are unreal for pulling out a result from where and when you least expect it

Other Division 1A results (first named at home):

Breaffy  2-13 1-12 Ballaghadereen   
Ballinrobe  0-8 0-9 Davitts 
Belmullet  1-11 0-7 Moy-Davitts   
Westport  2-8 2-14 Knockmore

Big wins for breaffy and belmullet as well

Anyone else doing the fantasy comp in the western?

F**k it M4S! I meant to do it! Ah sure there's always next year... :-\

still time if u get it in the post tomorrow

Club championship looming. I'll have a cut at predictions even though they're likely to be way off! Anyone wanna chance their arm on them?

Ballintubber v Charlestown, Charlestown by 6
Garrymore v Moy-Davitts, Moy Davitts by 3
Crossmolina v Ballinrobe, Crossmolina by 7
Louisburgh v Knockmore, Knockmore by 10
Kiltane v Ballaghadereen, Ballagh' by 2
Shrule-Glencorrib v Breaffy, Breaffy by 4
Burrishoole v Claremorris, draw
Castlebar v Ballina, Ballina by 1

Achill vs Ballyhaunis - Ballyhaunis by 3
Mayo Gaels vs Westport - Westport by 6
Kilmeena vs Bonniconlon - Kilmeena by 6
Aghamore vs Bellmullet - Draw
Parke vs Cross B - Parke by 4
Kilcommon vs Swinford - Swinford  by 1
Tourmakeady vs Davitts - Draw
Kiltimagh vs Hollymount - Kiltimagh by 4

Ballintubber v Charlestown, Charlestown DRAW
Garrymore v Moy-Davitts, Moy Davitts by 5
Crossmolina v Ballinrobe, Crossmolina by 4
Louisburgh v Knockmore, Knockmore by 8
Kiltane v Ballaghadereen, Ballagh' DRAW
Shrule-Glencorrib v Breaffy, Breaffy by 4
Burrishoole v Claremorris, Burrishoole by 1
Castlebar v Ballina, Ballina by 4

Achill vs Ballyhaunis - Ballyhaunis by 5
Mayo Gaels vs Westport - Westport by 8
Kilmeena vs Bonniconlon - Kilmeena by 5
Aghamore vs Bellmullet - Bellmullet by 2
Parke vs Cross B - Parke by 3
Kilcommon vs Swinford - Swinford  by 2
Tourmakeady vs Davitts - Tourmakeady by 3
Kiltimagh vs Hollymount - Kiltimagh by 6

Looking in from the outside, I'd say:

Charlestown
Garrymore
Cross
Knockmore
Ballagh
Breaffy
Claremorris
Ballina

Intermediate - I'll defer on that.

Around the county tomorrow, so might wander in to one of the games in the evening. Any good ones on then?

Lads hope cross win up at bruce glory days 

khabilli

how did Cross do against Balinrobe?