GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 18, 2015, 12:17:26 AM

Title: Leinster S.F.C. 2015
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 18, 2015, 12:17:26 AM
Ticket Prices for Leinster S.F.C. 1ST Round and Quarter-Finals

Offaly v Longford     -    Tullamore    -    16.5.2015 @ 7.00pm
Carlow v Laois     -    Carlow     -    16.5.2015 @ 7.00pm
Louth v Westmeath  -    Louth    -    17.5.2015 – (TBC)

LS/CW v Kildare  - Portlaoise/Tullamore - 6.6.2015@ 7.00pm
LH/WH v Wexford – Wexford/Mullingar- 14.6.2015
Wicklow v Meath – Navan – 14.6.2015 – (TBC)

GENERAL
Stand - €20
Terrace - €10

FAMILY TICKETS:-
Stand:- Adults €20 Juveniles  - €5 each (Carlow & Louth)
Terrace:- Adults €10 Juveniles  - €3 each

Senior Citizens/Students (Stand & Terrace) 
Carlow & Louth (Senior Citizens only in the Stand)

Wheelchair Tickets:-
The Wheelchair Ticket is free of charge and the Assistant's ticket is €20

Adult Club Group Tickets:- Terrace: €5: Stand: €15 each  (Not in Carlow & Louth)

GROUP PASSES:- GROUP PASSES (Under 16's) – STAND/TERRACE (DEPENDING ON SIZE OF STAND) – (TERRACE ONLY IN CARLOW & LOUTH)
Groups Passes U-16 :- €2 per child (Terrace) €3 per child (Stand)
Title: Re: Leinster S.F.C. 2015
Post by: SCFC on April 25, 2015, 10:22:16 AM
I see Brendan Murphy won't be playing for Carlow. He's off to the US for the summer. He'll be a huge loss to them and this should ensure we go through to play Kildare.
Post by: Faugheen on April 25, 2015, 06:01:53 PM
Tomas O Connor gone from the Kildare panel also..
Post by: redsetanta on April 25, 2015, 06:33:09 PM
Did I hear somewhere that he was going to Offaly?
Post by: Unlaoised on April 27, 2015, 03:36:25 PM
If we beat Carlow....Where is the Kildare game set for?
Post by: redsetanta on April 27, 2015, 04:34:21 PM
Tullamore.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 27, 2015, 04:42:05 PM
Tullamore is that for Certain?

Any friendly games being played I heard they were going away for a Bonding weekend to Waterford ...

I hope all the injury's are starting to clear up and we have a full squad to pick form for the Carlow game!
Post by: Catch and Kick on April 27, 2015, 06:36:52 PM
Any of the boys back in the fold? Long term they it would be good to have the best players in and playing but it might be too late for the Carlow game.
Post by: Faugheen on April 27, 2015, 08:49:32 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on April 25, 2015, 06:33:09 PM
Did I hear somewhere that he was going to Offaly?
Heard he was looking for a transfer to Offaly...His father is a former Offaly great.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 28, 2015, 03:43:14 PM
Yeah both his parents are from biffo land...He'd be a nice full forward for them....

Anyway back to Laois what is the outcome of any friendlies or bounce games does anyone know...

We Usually play Tipperary or Limerick this time of year!
Post by: portlaoisekid on April 28, 2015, 08:07:30 PM
I heard tonight that both McMahon and Meredith have rejoined the Laois panel.... its from a lad that would know but can anyone confirm it?
Post by: redsetanta on April 28, 2015, 08:55:45 PM
Proper order and great news if true. Hope to see it.
Post by: Barney Army on April 28, 2015, 09:59:06 PM
Merideth is back. Great news if McMahon is too as we are very light at the back
Post by: Heshs Umpire on April 29, 2015, 12:29:57 PM
That would be a massive boost. We're short at the back so McMahon is a big plus and having Meredith might allow us to drop someone like Begley or Donoher back.
Post by: stevecw on April 29, 2015, 12:38:16 PM
Quote from: SCFC on April 25, 2015, 10:22:16 AM
I see Brendan Murphy won't be playing for Carlow. He's off to the US for the summer. He'll be a huge loss to them and this should ensure we go through to play Kildare.

Ye will beat us easily enough. Brendan Murphy & Hughie Gahan the 2 best midfielders in Carlow have left the panel. Our keeper whose kick outs were crucial to our good start to the league got a 12 week ban and he misses the Laois game too. 2nd choice keeper is injured.
So basically we will be playing ye with a 3rd choice keeper who is tiny, our 1st choice midfield gone, and our only quality forward coming back from 3 months out injured.

The fact we are playing at home doesn't help either. For some reason we always play better away. Even in the league just gone, we beat Waterford away, drew away to Antrim were robbed away to Offaly losing by a point that was well wide (that's why our keeper got the 12 week ban, abuse to officials!) Home games we got hammered by Leitrim & Longford. Scraped a lucky draw v Wicklow & bet London by 2 pts.

Paddy Power have Laois -4 @5/6 right now. Will be going big on that.
Post by: Catch and Kick on April 29, 2015, 04:28:37 PM
Yeah it looks like the wheels have come off in Carla. Laois should have no problems now. Laois started poorly but finished well. Carla started well but finished poorly!
Post by: Giovanni on April 29, 2015, 05:15:37 PM
Feel sorry for the likes of Carlow who are losing players like Brendan Murphy for the summer. There's no doubt that if he was from Kerry, he'd be going nowhere. We had our own exodus just a few short years ago (and actually did alright taking everything into account) but it's a bit of a sickener for everyone who's put so much into it.

Having said that, I'd rather be playing them without him so I'm not trying to encourage him back or anything......

Absolutely delighted to see Meredith and McMahon coming back. No hope to reverse O' Leary's decision to retire??
Post by: Catch and Kick on May 03, 2015, 08:41:35 PM
Big win over Offaly in challenge. Anyone at it?
Post by: Windbreaker on May 03, 2015, 10:36:21 PM
Carlow will still be tough, they'll give it a go and hopefully we'll pull away,, but looking at our situation in winning the sam maguire, i'd kinda agree with lads not joining the panel, the CB have done or tried to do anything to help improve football in this county ,, so maybe back to basic's might be a good thing, intall belief in ones own club and show what commitment is involved to become winners and what better place to do it than the club,, i'd rather a more competitve championship and show the young lads of the future that there is a future , than travel for 3 matches ( hopefully) and all say that we are in a good place, winning starts at home so get lads to think about 17th of march for a few years and then the rest will evolve
Post by: Unlaoised on May 06, 2015, 04:54:04 PM
Anyword on the friendly win over the biffo's I hreard Laois ran up a big score in a friendly but I didn't hear who they played?
Post by: les Antiques on May 11, 2015, 04:21:39 PM
McMahon not back till maybe early June . Meredith  returning will be a boost for sure  but cant see him starting Saturday night . Positive vibes coming from training and it will be interesting to see the set up we adapt against Carlow who usually give Laois something to think about . The loss of Murphy and Gannon is a blow though .
Post by: Faugheen on May 11, 2015, 09:49:22 PM
Didn't hear anything about Gannon, is he injured ? if so he will be a massive loss to Carlow.But even with him we should beat them. Watched them play  towards the latter end of the league and they were awful.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 12, 2015, 07:46:35 PM
Its not Gannon that's missing, it's Hughie Gahan. He left the panel earlier this year at the end of the League.
Post by: Giovanni on May 13, 2015, 11:39:42 AM
Very quiet in here on the week of a big match. Any news or rumours at all? Assuming McMahon is still not available but everyone else is fit, my team would be:

1. Brody
2. Robbie
3. Timmons
4. Paul Begley
5. Strong
6. Attride (switching with Robbie depending on matchups)
7. Begley
8. JOL
9. Quigley
10. Donoher
11. Meredith
12. O Carroll
13. Ross
14. Donie
15. Shiels
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on May 13, 2015, 11:51:43 AM
Damien O Connor deserves to start based on his displays in the league.
Maybe start him in half forward line with Meredith to come on in 2nd half.
Paul begley is a doubt .. Is hanrahan fit?
Post by: redsetanta on May 13, 2015, 12:15:28 PM
O'Connor has pace and a great engine so a spot should be found for him. Shiels will hardly start, will he? It would be more likely that someone like O'Connor would be named at 15 but play further back the field.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on May 14, 2015, 08:31:16 AM
Good luck to the lads on Saturday. I'll be following closely on twitter from a few thousand miles away hoping for a crack at the West Dubs in the next round.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on May 14, 2015, 11:30:46 PM
Laois Senior Football Manager Tomas O'Flatharta has announced his starting 15 for Saturday's Leinster SFC clash with Carlow at 7pm.

1. Graham Brody (Portlaoise)

2. Damien O'Connor (Timahoe)

3. Mark Timmons (Graiguecullen)

4. Stephen Attride (Killeshin)

5. Darren Strong (Emo)

6. Robbie Kehoe (O'Dempsey's)

7. Colm Begley (Parnells)

8. Brendan Quigley (Timahoe)

9. John O'Loughlin (St Brigid's)

10. Niall Donoher (Courtwood)

11. Conor Boyle (Portlaoise)

12. Evan O'Carroll (Crettyard)

13. Ross Munnelly (Arles-Kilcruise)

14. Donal Kingston (Arles-Killeen)

15. Paul Kingston (Arles-Killeen)

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 14, 2015, 11:59:34 PM
Good bit of pace in that team, Damien O'Connor at corner back is a major surprise to me but he must be doing well at training in that position. Plenty of fire power up front too with Paul Kingston being a great addition to that area.  With a solid midfield to launch attacks from we should have enough to win this one.

Could be a lot worse and the best of luck to all the lads on Saturday. Hopefully we'll have a good support there as its only down the road... :)
Post by: Giovanni on May 15, 2015, 09:10:05 AM
Yes, with Paul Begley unfit, we don't have too many options for the corner back positions. I wonder is Gearoid Hanrahan fit? He looked like a more natural corner back to me than Damien O Connor. Still, apart from the corner back positions, it looks to be a team with a good mix of pace and power so hoping for the best.
Post by: portlaoisekid on May 15, 2015, 11:05:39 AM
Real pace in that team, I'd rather see Boyle deployed in the backs to be honest but in general thats the best team we have and with a couple of good pacy substitutes to come in.

Best of luck to the lads, I'm sure we will have a harder game than many expect but we should win.
Post by: Saint75 on May 15, 2015, 02:57:50 PM
Not sure if there is 'real pace' in that team. D O'C ok but doesn't use it. Who else?
Post by: Giovanni on May 15, 2015, 04:32:51 PM
I'd imagine DoC, Attride, and Donoher would be considered pacey. Both Quigley and Donie are very quick (although it takes them a few paces to get up to speed).. The likes of Timmons,  Robbie Kehoe and Evan O Carroll wouldn't be slouches either.
Post by: SCFC on May 15, 2015, 10:23:32 PM
I'd be concerned about our bench. With Paul Begley struggling with an injury, I only see Hanrahan as defensive cover. With Finn, Meredith and Sheehan as our main options up front.
Post by: County Man on May 16, 2015, 04:09:41 PM
Ah here we are again. What we all have been waiting for, its Championship time!! Such a long wait but thats what makes it so special.

Lets hope for a good support for this derby game and obviously the right result.

I'm sure Carlow will go hell for leather but we should be able to produce enough to get over the line.

Glad to hear things are going well in the camp.

Best of luck lads, this is what all the hard training has been for.

Laois Abu :)
Title: Geall
Post by: drici on May 16, 2015, 07:53:19 PM
Quote from: stevecw on June 12, 2014, 07:39:04 PM
Carlow team is picked and it's seriously bad. The half forward line is a complete joke, the backs are brutal, midfield has 1 decent player and 1 slow unfit guy. The full forward line picked is lethal, they are full of scores but can't see them getting anywhere near enough ball to be involved.

Meath will win this by at least 15 points, despite the injuries etc. I've heard it a few times from people I was talking to today and I agree, this is the worst team Carlow have ever put out for a championship game. 

Quote from: Farrandeelin on June 15, 2014, 05:37:01 PM

Poor stevecw was correct with his prediction anyway.

Quote from: stevecw on April 29, 2015, 12:38:16 PM

So basically we will be playing ye with a 3rd choice keeper who is tiny, our 1st choice midfield gone, and our only quality forward coming back from 3 months out injured.

The fact we are playing at home doesn't help either. For some reason we always play better away. Even in the league just gone, we beat Waterford away, drew away to Antrim were robbed away to Offaly losing by a point that was well wide (that's why our keeper got the 12 week ban, abuse to officials!) Home games we got hammered by Leitrim & Longford. Scraped a lucky draw v Wicklow & bet London by 2 pts.

Paddy Power have Laois -4 @5/6 right now. Will be going big on that.

Carlow 0-03  Laois 1-10   Half Time

Half way there with this year's bet. Laois were cut to minus 5 at 10/11 yesterday
Carlow with the breeze though in 2nd Half.
Title: Toradh
Post by: drici on May 16, 2015, 08:32:38 PM
Carlow 0-08  Laois 3-16

All over.

Get in the queue.

The Board owes you loads of pints stevecw after yet another correct betting prediction involving Carlow.
(although Carlow don't seem to win in these predictions)
Post by: Giovanni on May 17, 2015, 09:50:51 PM
Great win Saturday night. Surprised that there isn't more of a reaction on here. I suppose you get more of a reaction when you're beaten by Longford in the first round........

Although Carlow were obviously weakened by the loss of some of their key players, I don't think that should take from our performance. I think our forward unit is now as good as it's been for many a long year and our midfield pairing is probably on a par with anything in the country. I'm still not really convinced by our defensive system but our two corner backs were very good yesterday against admittedly poor enough opposition.

Still, we have plenty to improve on. We kicked some really bad wides, especially in the first half and I felt that there were a lot more goals in the game for us if we really believed in ourselves. Although we only conceded 8, I'd still didn't really get the impression that our defence was really tight. In particular, there were still too many occasions when a Carlow man in possession was allowed make 25 or 30 yards before encountering a Laois man. You didn't see that in Ulster today and that's what we have to try to achieve.

Overall though it's given me a high level of optimism for the Kildare match. Well done to all.

Post by: Saint75 on May 18, 2015, 01:26:05 AM
Great to get the win with a good score put up but my god Carlow were terrible. I hope this game doesn't come back to bite us against Kildare. Kildare are very beatable but a nothing game like that could have us at a lower intensity than we need. Laois will go in as favourites now and that's a tag that doesn't suit us.

At Midfield we are very strong but defensively we are wide open still. In attack Donie will be a marked man the next day. He's had a great year so far but the next day is his first real test and he needs to do it in championship. Himself and Paul seem to want to find each other with the ball a lot. We are stronger than last year with Timmons, Quigley and Boyle adding strength and experience down the middle and Attrite, O'Carrol, Sheils and P Kingston all a year older. Weakness would be the physicality of our cornerbacks and number 6 and maybe not enough defensively minded players in the middle third.
Post by: Unlaoised on May 18, 2015, 03:24:30 PM
Great win against a poor Carlow side still the movement of our players was superb...

suprised with some of the Subs and how long it took TOF to change it he really should have been bringing them in earlier and should been all forwards..

not sure why Billy got a run we no what he can and can't offer I would have prefered to see Dillion or Finn who are supposed to be going well in training.Finn  is our only real option for Midfield if something happened Quigley or Johno

Lowry was a strange one aswell I didnt even know he was still on the panel.

Looking forward to the Kildare match
Post by: portlaoisekid on May 18, 2015, 03:46:21 PM
The performance was good from us saturday but Carlow were shocking.......Kildare will be a huge step up and I believe we can beat them...

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 19, 2015, 12:32:43 AM
Thought we started the game with a great deal of purpose, imposed ourselves on them and picked off some great scores. That to me is the most important time of a game, the first 20 mins.
At that time you don't know what the other team are going to throw at you and you play as though you were playing the best team in Ireland, you play to a plan and try to take control of a game and we did that to perfection.
After that we knew where we stood, how good or bad the opposition were and what we needed to do to win the game. It was then that we became a bit sloppy and let them start to get a grip on the game which against a better team would have been very dangerous. Donnie's goal came at a great time for us, completely knocked the stuffing out of them and we took over totally for the remainder of the game.
We have to put that one behind us now and train like hell for the next one which is going to be a lot tougher for us. Kildare need to win a game like this to renew faith in their supporters and themselves and they won't need too much motivation to knock us back on our arses.

Paddy Power has Kildare as slight favourites for this one.
Kildare 5/6 
Laois 6/5
Draw 15/2

Here are a few quotes from the Kildare forum:
Bigfullforward
Junior A

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Was down in Carlow Saturday night to see the potential opposition.
Carlow were dreadful. You cannot comprehend how bad they were. Half the senior clubs in Kildare would beat them.
As for Laois, you just can't judge them on this game. An absolute stroll. I reckon if Donie Kingston is stopped, it'll be "aisy talk to them".

QuoteFreddy Krueger
Intermediate

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
kickingking wrote:It's a sad state of affairs when some people wouldn't consider a defeat to Laois to be a complete disaster because it would mean avoiding Dublin. It would be the silver lining in a mushroom cloud.

If we park our thoughts on the whole management and county board setup for a moment and concentrate on the players. We don't have a bad set of players despite how bad this year has gone so far. They were good enough to beat Laois in their own back yard only a few weeks ago and are more than capable of doing so again. They're no world beaters by any means but they have to be hurting at the way things have gone and we have to hope that they can channel that hurt into a few good committed displays this summer.

There may be very little faith in the management's ability to set the players up properly and buy into the strategy but we have to hope that the players' pride will see them go down fighting at the very least. If we do get over Laois then we really wouldn't have anything to lose against Dublin. The odds are we'll get a heavy beating but it's not like we haven't been on the receiving end of any of those throughout our history. Go out and give it everything and who knows, we might restore some pride. That might be a very simplistic and outdated mentality but it's all we're left with at this stage.
Clutching at straws kickingking. Pride and will to win at this level is a given for the most part. What separates the wheat from the chaff is the level of preparation and the system you implement. The simple fact of the matter is with the players we have at our disposal, we are certainly not getting any return.

The players will be standing in the dressing room before the Laois match knowing they are poorly prepared and off the back of back to back relegations, and lets face it some very very poor results and performances.
It's not a tap you can turn on. Laois will be absolutely gunning for us, make no mistake about it.
What might get us over the line against Laois is the fact that we have far superior footballers. Not pride or chest pumping.

I would love to be a fly on the wall in the dressing room after some of the league defeats this year. Or after some training sessions in the next couple of weeks, just to see the mentality of Jason Ryan and the players.

Because it has to be a very bad place to be at the moment.

QuoteSeamusMurphy
All-Star

"Far Superior Footballers".. Not so sure Freddy.
I would probably fancy us if the Match was in Portlaoise, .. not so sure about Tullamore.

Freddy Krueger
Intermediate

What makes you so unsure Seamus. We've beaten them at underage and Senior level for the last 5/6/7 years. And comfortably too.
If I remember rightly we beat them by 21/22 points at u21 level a couple of years back.
We have far superior footballers. The stats don't lie. We're just not getting the most from them at the moment.
Post by: les Antiques on May 19, 2015, 03:03:59 AM
Carlow were poor indeed , the poorest I have seen them in a very long time . Laois can only beat whats in front of them and they did so without ever been tested truthfully . Kingston is delivering for Laois and this is  the year when he can become a big star .
Our record against Kildare in recent years is awful . They will pose a serious threat . I am sure Donie will  be in for some treatment but hopefully he can manage it . My worry is we are weak on the sideline in some key positions and also the fact Jason Ryan is a championship manager .With Wexford his focus was always championship and his record was good including a All Ireland Semi Final appearance . Regardless of the turmoil and unhappiness in Kildare with him you dont become a bad manager over-night. It will be closer this time between Laois and Kildare but I do think Laois with Donie Kingston to the fore will just have too much for Kildare .
Post by: redsetanta on May 19, 2015, 11:19:11 AM
It will be an interesting game against the lillies. We certainly owe them in the championship as they have turned us over the last couple of times and I won't forget the last visit to Tullamore where they gave us a bit of a hiding in fairness. They are rightly favourites based on the league game and previous championship games however I would not agree that they have superior footballers.
We have some very good footballers in key positions and our centrefield partnership is as good as any in the country. Kildare won't want to be kicking out to our lads so our forwards should stay high and pressure the keeper into kicking it long. It's definately a dual where we should come out on top.

We have a nice blend of youth and experience in the team at the moment and while we are a little short on good replacement defenders we have decent options up front.

Looking forward to this game in what will be a big weekend for Laois GAA with this game on the Saturday evening and our hurlers out in O'Moore Park the following day. (Pending Westmeath result)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on May 20, 2015, 12:57:48 AM
Great to see three of our lads named on Hogan Stand- Team of the Week. Well done boys.

QuoteHS football team of the week
18 May 2015

There's nothing like the championship to herald the start of the summer, here's our football team of the week ...

1. Michael O'Neill (Tyrone)
The championship debutant from Clonoe couldn't be faulted for his side's three-point defeat as he pulled off a number of fine saves.

2. Kevin Maguire (Westmeath)
Maguire and his Westmeath team-mates now turn their attention to a quarter-final clash against Wexford after they gained revenge from last year's defeat at the hands of Louth.

3. Neil McGee (Donegal)
Is there a better full-back in gaelic football at the moment? On the evidence of yesterday's game in Ballybofey the answer is no.

4. Mark Timmons (Laois)
The Graiguecullen clubman hadn't far to travel to Netwatch Cullen Park on Saturday evening as Laois experienced little difficulty in disposing of the Carlow challenge.

5. Colm P Smyth (Longford)
Smyth's adventurous spirit was rewarded with a point in each half of Saturday's three-point victory over Offaly.

6. Karl Lacey (Donegal)
Hugely influential in the heart of the Donegal defence, the former Footballer of the Year also inflicted damage on Tyrone on the counter-attack and chipped in with a trademark point.

7. Frank McGlynn (Donegal)
Underlined his importance to the Donegal cause with another all-action display and was particularly effect in the transition from defence to attack.

8. Brendan Quigley (Laois)
Quigley and his midfield partner John O'Loughlin will face a much sterner examination against Kildare in the last eight.

9. Paul Conroy (Galway)
In a game that left a lot to be desired, the Galway captain was one of the few players who rose above the mediocre.

10. Martin McElhinney (Donegal)
Has emerged as a vital cog in the Donegal machine as he continued where he left off in the league and finished as his side's top scorer with 1-2.

11. Michael Quinn (Longford)
Missed a penalty in the first-half but the Killoe player's finger prints were all over Longford's stirring comeback in O'Connor Park, Tullamore.

12. Ray Connellan (Westmeath)
A close second behind John Heslin in the 'man-of-the-match' permutations, the maroon and whites' half-forward was a constant thorn in the side of the Louth defence and helped himself to 1-2.

13. Donie Kingston (Laois)
The experienced Kingston warmed up for a quarter-final against Kildare when shooting 1-5 (1-3 from play) against the Barrowsiders.

14. John Heslin (Westmeath)
Louth's defence will be glad to see the back of Heslin who raised nine white flags in Drogheda and also had a hand in two of the Lake County's three goals.

15. Brian Kavanagh (Longford)
The Kilmacud Crokes clubman used his experience to telling effect against the Faithful County and contributed five points to his side's tally.
Post by: Dave like the tv channel on May 20, 2015, 09:35:39 AM
We beat a Division 4 side. I think we can beat a Division 3 side as well. If the lads have any f**king pride, they won't let Kildare catch them out again. Can't bate them enough.
Post by: Unlaoised on May 26, 2015, 09:38:45 AM
Kildare seem to be very confident in the fact that they will walk all over us?

I know our record is not great of late against them but I feel we have the tools to stop the flourbags in their tracks..

Great matches ahead our local rivials in both football and hurling and both games on the same weekend ...I for one cannot wait!
Post by: portlaoisekid on May 26, 2015, 12:55:11 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on May 26, 2015, 09:38:45 AM

well that does shock me........ :o
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on May 27, 2015, 03:52:13 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on May 26, 2015, 09:38:45 AM

I know our record is not great of late against them but I feel we have the tools to stop the flourbags in their tracks..

Great matches ahead our local rivials in both football and hurling and both games on the same weekend ...I for one cannot wait!

Jesus lads I don't know who you're listening to or reading.

This is probably the worst Kildare team in 8 years. If there was serious confidence behind Kildare they wouldn't be offering even money each of two.
Post by: Unlaoised on May 27, 2015, 03:57:44 PM
I'm listening to the lads that are offering me 2/1 and 3/1 in text messages and to quote one lad

"Laois haven't and won't beat a top 10 team for a long long time so you'll be paying up"I'll give you 4 points handicap if you want"

Needless to say I took up his kind offer!!!
Post by: SCFC on May 27, 2015, 08:55:20 PM
They are expecting to win this handy. Let's hope we can give them a land!
Post by: County Man on June 01, 2015, 02:34:16 PM
Only 5 days left to the big one.

Advice for guys here: get your tickets early.

With it now being a double header, this could sell out.

Capacity 18,000.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 05, 2015, 10:12:12 AM
SAME TEAM

5. Darren Strong (Emo)

Post by: portlaoisekid on June 05, 2015, 10:33:54 AM
I don't believe for a second the Kildare in turmoil stories emanating  from the Kildare camp.

The media and supporters from Kildare ( whilst still ultra confident of hammering us) have fed  stories of unrest all week and if we believe any BS that comes from them we are worse ejits. We need to concentrate on ourselves as we have enough to do with our own side without their perceived issues.  I'm in no doubt that they will be a much improved outfit from the Kildare team that had a rubbish league run, they are not a bad team overnight and have a number of good footballers all over the pitch but we are well able to beat them.

There will not be much in this and to be honest I feel who ever wants it more and has the bottle to win it will win it. Laois are long overdue a win of such a nature.

Post by: Don Draper on June 05, 2015, 11:19:04 AM
If that Kildare lines out as it is named and selected, then if we don't beat them by a handful of scores, we may leave it so. Forget the bullshit, that's how it is right now.

Time to man the f**k up.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 05, 2015, 12:00:27 PM
Kildare Team

1. Mark Donnelan
2. Ollie Lyons
3. Mick O'Grady
4. Ciarán Fitzpatrick
5. Emmet Bolton
6. Fergal Conway
7. Kevin Murnaghan
8, Paul Cribbin
9. Gary White
10. Cathal McNally
11. Eoghan O'Flatherty
12. Padraig O'Neill
13. Eamonn Callaghan
14. Alan Smith
15. Padraig Fogarty
Post by: redsetanta on June 05, 2015, 12:14:12 PM
There's still plenty of experience in that Kildare team. In fairness we should be well capable of beating them but it is Laois we are talking about. Fermanagh nearly caught us last year before Tipp did.
Post by: SCFC on June 05, 2015, 02:49:21 PM
Quote from: Don Draper on June 05, 2015, 11:19:04 AM
If that Kildare lines out as it is named and selected, then if we don't beat them by a handful of scores, we may leave it so. Forget the bullshit, that's how it is right now.

Time to man the f**k up.
From what I hear, that's a big if.
Post by: Faugheen on June 05, 2015, 03:48:12 PM

Time to man the f**k up.
10 of that named team played in the team who were beaten by Monaghan after extra time last year in the qualifiers !!!!!!.
Post by: Don Draper on June 05, 2015, 04:03:47 PM
Quote from: Faugheen on June 05, 2015, 03:48:12 PM

Time to man the f**k up.
10 of that named team played in the team who were beaten by Monaghan after extra time last year in the qualifiers !!!!!!.
If you can't beat that team by a handful, then you truly do not have any right facing Dublin in Croke Park
Post by: Spillane on June 05, 2015, 04:09:24 PM
Can't argue with the Laois team selection. Wishing them the best of luck. Hopefully our full forward line can cause them problems. We should win the midfield battle as both JOL and Quigley gave an exhibition of fielding and point taking the last day out. I'd be concerned about how weak Laois' bench is. Aside from Finn and maybe Tom Shiels, there are very little options.

Kildare will be a massive step up from the Carlow game. The backs did well against a clueless attacking system that Carlow deployed, but Laois were found wanting when a forward took on his man and went directly for goals.

Should be a close game and hopefully a cracking atmosphere where our boys come out on top. Laois abu.
Post by: Unlaoised on June 05, 2015, 04:41:28 PM
Finn,Shiel,and Meredith are 3 decent subs to have.....Also there is Hanrahan as cover for backs.

Post by: redsetanta on June 05, 2015, 04:51:59 PM
Is McMahon back involved with the panel?

Post by: Don Draper on June 06, 2015, 09:27:52 PM
Left behind us, no doubt about it.
Post by: SCFC on June 06, 2015, 09:54:21 PM
Left behind alright but could've been beaten too had Kildare been more ruthless with their goal chances.
We badly lack a mix of scoring forwards.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on June 06, 2015, 11:00:13 PM
Definitely left it behind us. Was sure p Kingston was gonna put it over.
Both team were average but produced an entertaining match but based on that we would be terribly out of out depths if we got through.  I'm still not sure how TOF has set us up tactically. Seems a bit haphazard.
We let them run down the central back channel  unchallenged so often.
Our forward play was poor. Ball into donie has to be better.
I can't understand what Boyle brings to the team. Nice footballer but too slow.
We have to have a better plan for the next day.
When johnno and O'Carroll make those Hugh runs we need ross and shield wrapping around them
We got turned over way more than Kildare.
Donie was immense. What a player. As good a player as there is in the country.
O Connor was very good going forward.
Timmons was solid as always.
Midfield was very good. Like to see johnno release it a bit more.
Shiells will only get better.
Overall I think Kildare have a better tactical manager with a broader spread of players but
We have donie !! Have to get Ross into the game next week.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on June 06, 2015, 11:49:46 PM
Round 1     Hammered Wexford
Qtr Final     Drew with Offaly
                 Beat Offaly in replay
Semi-final  Beat Dublin
Final          Champions

An omen ?
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 07, 2015, 10:43:16 AM
We could have won, we could have lost. Paul Kingston made the space well but just couldn't curl it in. It was a pressure kick with everyone screaming and roaring, he's still very young. He'll learn from it.
We kept giving the ball away easily throughout the match. Taking bad options or just not holding onto the ball. Timmons did very well as did Strong and O'Connor. Quigley dominated until Moolick came on and O'Loughlin was good going forward. Donagher ran with it well as did O'Carroll at times and of course Kingston was excellent.
The negatives were that Attride is too light to mark Smith, we have trouble with teams running at us with pace, we're far too dependent on Kingston. Boyle just is too slow to have an impact at this level. Ross just doesn't seem to have the legs anymore, Shiel needs to strengthen up but he's young. Merideth proved that you need to be training all year.
We're doing very well with what we have however. We have very little on the bench and are forced to start very young players and players way out of their preferred positions. I wonder if all the players that decide not to play for their county regret it on days like yesterday and wish they were out there playing championship football.
I think Kildare will be favourites for the replay as they'll have Moolick and Kelly starting. Both teams probably wont be going too far in the championship anyway but hopefully we can get a win for confidence and reward to all the players who put in huge effort throughout the year.
Post by: Giovanni on June 07, 2015, 11:05:21 AM
I was disappointed with the performance yesterday. I thought we had developed a style of play that suited our players (lot more kick passing, lot less running into contact, feeding small forward players quickly, Robbie Kehoe and Donoher sweeping up a lot of ball in our own half) and I thought there was a really good spirit and confidence in the camp.

Yesterday, I didn't see any of that. I thought the system was ridiculous (almost guaranteeing that we are not using our good forward players properly) and I didn't really see the energy and confidence that I thought was there.

There has been a trend in Laois matches throughout the league to let opponents saunter down the middle of the field unopposed and I don't understand this tactic at all. At the same time, there were dozens of occasions, playing with the wind in the second half, where we had no forward available to run into space for a kick pass. So we have 12 or 13 lads back, none of whom make a tackle and noone available then to launch an attack.

Kildare scored 16 points and really could have scored more. They don't have great forwards. This suggests that there's something wrong with the way we defend. The problem, in my opinion, is our attitude to defence. We have to work harder from the front and we have to put in a lot more tackles way out the field. Unless we do, we are going to end up being hammered by someone along the way.

We should have gone into this match with the same attitude that we had to Carlow. If we had, we would have won handily enough in my opinion.

There was only a handful of players that, in my view, played close to their potential - Brody, O' Connor, Timmons, Strong, JOL and Donie all did well enough. If we play with energy and confidence the next day, I think we have more improvement in ourselves than they do. Whether we win or not, I think we need to see a lot more intensity from our lads, especially when we don't have the ball.
Post by: OTF on June 07, 2015, 01:28:09 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 07, 2015, 11:05:21 AM
I was disappointed with the performance yesterday. I thought we had developed a style of play that suited our players (lot more kick passing, lot less running into contact, feeding small forward players quickly, Robbie Kehoe and Donoher sweeping up a lot of ball in our own half) and I thought there was a really good spirit and confidence in the camp.

Yesterday, I didn't see any of that. I thought the system was ridiculous (almost guaranteeing that we are not using our good forward players properly) and I didn't really see the energy and confidence that I thought was there.

There has been a trend in Laois matches throughout the league to let opponents saunter down the middle of the field unopposed and I don't understand this tactic at all. At the same time, there were dozens of occasions, playing with the wind in the second half, where we had no forward available to run into space for a kick pass. So we have 12 or 13 lads back, none of whom make a tackle and noone available then to launch an attack.

Kildare scored 16 points and really could have scored more. They don't have great forwards. This suggests that there's something wrong with the way we defend. The problem, in my opinion, is our attitude to defence. We have to work harder from the front and we have to put in a lot more tackles way out the field. Unless we do, we are going to end up being hammered by someone along the way.

We should have gone into this match with the same attitude that we had to Carlow. If we had, we would have won handily enough in my opinion.

There was only a handful of players that, in my view, played close to their potential - Brody, O' Connor, Timmons, Strong, JOL and Donie all did well enough. If we play with energy and confidence the next day, I think we have more improvement in ourselves than they do. Whether we win or not, I think we need to see a lot more intensity from our lads, especially when we don't have the ball.
Yes Giovanni
I often wondered why(even under McNulty) with so many bodies behind the ball why we still concede such high scores, I think it's poor tackling and giving away soft frees as a result.
We also need to get faster players nearer to Donie  maybe switch Boyle and OConnor.
Post by: Saint75 on June 07, 2015, 01:30:48 PM
A Game we should have won. 3pts up with minutes to go. Brody: Very good, very sharp and brave. Attrite: in trouble in the corner, Keogh not an Intercounty 6, Quigley: went missing in the second half when we needed him. Can barely remember him touching the ball. Johnno: Drove us on at midfield. Boyle: Absent, too slow. Evan: great game, great work rate. Donie: Great performance. Ross: Frees great but nothing else.

Kildare are still not great. Laois have a great chance the next day.
Post by: Faugheen on June 07, 2015, 02:01:06 PM
Quote from: OTF on June 07, 2015, 01:28:09 PM
Quote from: Giovanni on June 07, 2015, 11:05:21 AM

Yesterday, I didn't see any of that. I thought the system was ridiculous (almost guaranteeing that we are not using our good forward players properly) and I didn't really see the energy and confidence that I thought

Yes Giovanni
I often wondered why(even under McNulty) with so many bodies behind the ball why we still concede such high scores, I think it's poor tackling and giving away soft frees as a result.
We also need to get faster players nearer to Donie  maybe switch Boyle and OConnor.

Robbie kehoe giving away too many frees... Attride never got to grips with Smith... Players running into blind alleys with the ball...Are Ross's legs gone ??. These issues need to be addressed if we are to win the replay.
Post by: Spillane on June 08, 2015, 10:28:20 AM
Overall a good performance only we didn't see out the game. Couldn't believe Paul missed the chance late on, 99% of the time he knocks them over. Fierce displays by Johno and Donie who continuously drove us forward at every opportunity they got. The introduction of Moolick at midfield stopped Quigley's dominance as Kildare finally got a foothold in the game.

Next day out, I feel Kildare can only be sharper in front of goal after getting a Championship game under their belt. But credit to our backs who tackled hard and have their all especially O'Connor who got in a vital hand on numerous occasions.

What changes do you expect to see to the starting 15? I can't see Shiels starting ahead of Paul/Meredith. With Donie on the 45 we had no size in front of goal and the ball going into Ross and Shiels didn't suit them. Also Boyle at 11 is questionable, in fairness to him, he's not a forward plain and simple.
Post by: Hospital Pass on June 08, 2015, 02:05:32 PM
Quote from: Spillane on June 08, 2015, 10:28:20 AM
What changes do you expect to see to the starting 15? I can't see Shiels starting ahead of Paul/Meredith. With Donie on the 45 we had no size in front of goal and the ball going into Ross and Shiels didn't suit them. Also Boyle at 11 is questionable, in fairness to him, he's not a forward plain and simple.
We should have seen the game out but we went into a sit back and hope formation in the last 7-8 minutes. its slight advantage kildare now after the draw. id expect them to start with niall kelly and definitely moolick the next day. From our own side i would throw in hanrahan at corner back, attride had a problem with smith and hanrahan may be better equipped physically for that challenge. shiels is probably more of an impact sub, paul kingston will start in the corner saturday.
the one thing that was obvious on saturday was our lack of strength in depth. when the game needed fresh legs we had very little options. 
Post by: From the Terrace on June 09, 2015, 08:38:14 AM
I think the laois defence has too many attack minded players, who cannot defend properly & this is where we are constantly let down, but as performances go thought they played well & just couldn't see it out. Evan O'Carroll yellow card was a joke at this rate bad referring will take the shoulder to shoulder challenge out of the game which is a mortal sin in my eyes.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 09, 2015, 10:51:29 AM
We can all see that not everything is perfect with the line up but lets be honest here, we really don't have many options. We don't have a lot on the bench. If Paul Begley was fit he could go corner back or centre back but he isn't. McMahon wouldn't be up to speed yet, he mightn't be all Summer. Hanrahan has looked dodgy in a few games.
In the forwards what do we have on the bench? Shiel or Kingston to come on for whichever one of them that starts. Merideth was nowhere near fitness, Sheehan? Finn? We just don't have the strenght in depth at all. We're doing very well with what we have considering. If we get any injuries we're in big trouble. Timmons for example, what would we do then?
Post by: redsetanta on June 09, 2015, 10:55:59 AM
Finn seems to be way down the pecking order. What's the story there?
Post by: From the Terrace on June 09, 2015, 11:12:58 AM
Options do seem limited, finn is physical player & might of been a good option instead of quigley last 20mins as he ran out of steam a bit after an excellent 1st half, but it seems TOF has just decided to ignore him maybe hes not doing in in training but from last year IFC championship displays i think he still has something to offer us.
Post by: Don Draper on June 09, 2015, 12:45:10 PM
Quote from: Teo Lurley on June 09, 2015, 10:51:29 AM
We can all see that not everything is perfect with the line up but lets be honest here, we really don't have many options. We don't have a lot on the bench. If Paul Begley was fit he could go corner back or centre back but he isn't. McMahon wouldn't be up to speed yet, he mightn't be all Summer. Hanrahan has looked dodgy in a few games.
In the forwards what do we have on the bench? Shiel or Kingston to come on for whichever one of them that starts. Merideth was nowhere near fitness, Sheehan? Finn? We just don't have the strenght in depth at all. We're doing very well with what we have considering. If we get any injuries we're in big trouble. Timmons for example, what would we do then?
You've nailed it right there. Which makes it all the more disappointing to pass up the opportunity to hand that shower their holes when it was there. It might be gone, it might not be, but it was there last Saturday, of that there's no doubt.
Post by: redsetanta on June 12, 2015, 12:40:33 PM
Same team again for Saturday.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 12, 2015, 02:32:13 PM
Not surprising that same starting team was announced. If there are changes, I am guessing we will know at around 7.10 tomorrow.

I think it is good that Kildare are being viewed as favorites for this. No doubt their confidence will be up. I still think we have better footballers.
Post by: redsetanta on June 12, 2015, 02:56:25 PM
I'd say lads would want to have their tickets bought well before throw in. There will be some scrum at the ticket office with everyone heading there after the Ireland v Scotland game.

Is the Laois v Kildare game on Sky this week?
Post by: redsetanta on June 12, 2015, 03:11:58 PM
Kildare have named the same team also. You can be sure there will be 2 or 3 changes to that.

What about Laois?
Post by: Giovanni on June 12, 2015, 05:43:48 PM
I would be hoping for a much better performance this time. I've seen Kildare twice now and it's clear that they don't have great forwards and/or they don't have a great attacking system. We also have a stronger midfield. This fact should give us the confidence to press forward and keep them under pressure further out the field. In my opinion, we should have at least two inside forwards available inside at all times and the ball should be delivered to them quickly. Our inside line are capable of doing damage but they need the right kind of service. I hope they go out in a positive attacking frame rather than just a load of people running backwards just for the sake of it and never putting in a tackle. A leaf should be taken from the hurlers - we have nothing to fear from this Kildare team and we shouldn't play as if we're afraid.
Post by: County Man on June 13, 2015, 11:13:37 AM
Its showtime again in Tullamore.

Seems its gonna be dry for it and not half as windy as last Saturday.

Moolick is one huge guy so will see if we can win the midfield battle today.

We need at least one goal. We haven't scored a goal against Kildare in championship football since that glorious day we lifted the Delaney Cup.

I'm tipping Ross to really come to the fore today and chip in.

I think Evan O'Carroll can have a massive game.

Hopefully our defence can be better in the tackle and hopefully Donie can produce more genius today.

Looking forward to this one.
Post by: Don Draper on June 14, 2015, 09:08:08 AM
As we all knew chance missed last week. A hammering would arrive in Leinster, that it happened against as a limited a side as that is unacceptable. Questions to be asked of management, tactics and attitude.
Post by: Giovanni on June 14, 2015, 09:13:25 AM
I said last week that if we didn't address the problem of allowing opponents the freedom to wander the field without a challenge we'd eventually get hammered. I honestly didn't think that Kildare were capable of doing that to us and, in truth, Kildare are really not very good.

We are, I think, a pretty serious team when we have the ball. We have a good midfield, plenty of scoring forwards and, individually, some decent defenders too. However, when we don't have the ball, I don't think it's harsh to say that we must be one of the worst teams in the country. I'd love to see the tackle count from that game and I'd say you could count the number of proper tackles in single digits. Kildare lads, as a rule, had no-one within 5 yards of them and had the freedom to pick out any one of 4 or 5 team mates at any point in time.

We were a point up at half time (and could have been more if the goal chances had been taken) but that was due to our good attacking play. We still weren't working hard enough or getting close enough to Kildare when we didn't have the ball so it was only a matter of time before they took advantage. We played the same way last week and got away with it. You won't get away with it in too many championship games.

In an attacking sense, there were plenty of good performances but Donie was again head and shoulders above anyone. JOL was also excellent, Evan O Carroll was very good, Niall Donoher contributed, Quigley did better this time. But none of these lads really did their defensive duties properly.  That's really disappointing because you would think that that's the easier part to get right.

Unless there's a very radical change in the way we approach these games, I can't see us going much further. This would be a shame because we have enough players to cause a few surprises in the championship.
Post by: Teo Lurley on June 14, 2015, 11:51:22 AM
Yes we blew the chance last week. Kildare did some drills behind the terrace at half time, while Laois were standing on the pitch in their positions Kildare were getting fired up in a huddle with some fella (not Ryan) shouting at them and getting them fired up. They ran out the short distance to the pitch, game started and they blitzed us. Game over within a few minutes.
Maybe our players were feeling confident at half time. We were the better team. Then when they upped their game we were unable to answer. We looked shell shocked. The mistake by Brody rocked us and they took advantage. Their running game through us worked because they have more pace around the middle, simple as that. Quigley, O'Loughlin and Boyle are too slow getting back.
Kingston was excellent again but it's really sad to see Ross in the form he's in. It's probably his last year and his confidence is just gone. A great player for us for well over a decade though, he owes us nothing. We can talk about the management, the tactics, how different players performed and all that but at the end of the day the reason we're not at the races is because a number of our best players don't want to play for their county.
We had many players playing out of position on the starting team, we had a few 19 year olds starting and we had practically nothing on the bench. We have the Portlaoise sub keeper in goals, Healy's playing hurling and the only other Portlaoise player we have is Dillon. Where are the rest? They've dominated Laois for years. Why don't they want to play for their county? I think O'Leary was with Jack Nolan in the commentary box, he's 29 I think. He should be playing. Kevin Meaney, Gary Walsh, why aren't they there? Merideth and McMahon have come back but they're nowhere near the right level of fitness for inter county football.
We know how difficult it is to give the amount of commitment needed to play for Laois these days but do any of these players not feel a bit of guilt looking at that yesterday? Shouldn't they be out there helping their county? Until everyone starts rowing in the same direction results like yesterday will happen. This is not to criticise the players we have. They've put in great effort and some of them have played in foreign positions to what they're used to with no complaints.
I'm just angry today but I want to see a team with our best players playing, it will probably never happen. If all these players trained all year and were available it would make a huge difference to the team. Not just the starting 15 but the bench and the competition for places: Nolan, Healy, O'Leary, McMahon, Merideth, Walsh, Cahilane, Meaney.
Post by: Asal Mor on June 14, 2015, 12:57:38 PM
Good post TL. Laois are my second county and I always take an interest. Strange situation with the Portlaoise fellas alright. O Flatharta must be under big pressure at this stage. Surprised Laois gave him the job after his stint with Galway.
Post by: The Monument Road on June 14, 2015, 03:58:44 PM
Wher do i start. Hugely dissapointed and expected us to win easily enough and to some extent we should have. We started well, owned midfield, our forwards were working well enough and the backs (full back line especially ) were doing ok.The rot started with the missed penalty and Quigleys open goal miss. Should have been up 7 or 8 at half time and we would have moved on after the interval. Ross's confidence is shattered and maybe he should have left it to Carroll or Kingston. He also coughed up a lot of possession where Kildare scored directly from turnovers. I'm not going to be too hard on Ross as he owes us nothing. I also wonder if the first half tackle on Brody affected him as he gave away a goal or two and several points with his short kickouts. He is a good goalie so he must have been affected. laois are not 13 points worse then Kildare. Not in a month of sundays.
Teo Lurleys comment about kildare doing drills at half time is interesting though....

Post by: INDIANA on June 14, 2015, 05:07:38 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on June 14, 2015, 12:57:38 PM
Good post TL. Laois are my second county and I always take an interest. Strange situation with the Portlaoise fellas alright. O Flatharta must be under big pressure at this stage. Surprised Laois gave him the job after his stint with Galway.

If you saw Portloaise versus Vincents you'd realise they aren't such a loss. Only Cahir Healy and Cahilane worth a look. Rest of them have had their day at county football.

Kildare have hugely outperformed Laois at underage recently.

I said Kildare would win this two weeks ago even when their own fans had no faith in them.

Terrrible to think JOL and Kingston will never even win a provincial title.
Post by: Gmac on June 14, 2015, 11:58:16 PM
I think ciaran whelan summed it up perfectly on the sunday game that the laois players either had no desire or the energy to follow their men back or regroup when the ball is turned over ,it's a simple thing hat every team has to do in today's Gaelic football sprint back to set up the defensive structure when the ball is lost in attack
Post by: Joeythelips on June 15, 2015, 11:18:55 AM
Think some of the comments here are a bit harsh. Laois are a decent intercounty side, not in the same league as the likes of kerry, dublin etc in terms of quality but they give a lot with what they have got. The fact that Ross is still there tells a lot about the quality of players coming through.

We all hear about the lack of Portlaoise players on the team but the fact is very few would make much of a difference. Wolly Parkinson even admitted this on off the ball recently. Healy would make a big improvement but he is committed to the hurlers.

Given our current squad im not sure how much more we could improve with a new manager. The players give everything so i commend their commitment. In fairness we were caught with a blitz, but we should have been much further ahead by this point. Kildare knew they got out of jail in the first half and caught us napping.
Post by: ILikeStrawberryJam on June 15, 2015, 02:06:43 PM
There is obviously respect there for the lads that are giving their all for the county but from what i have heard there is no real respect there for TOF.
Its all been driven by the players. Why have O'leary, mcmahon, meredith, meaney all dropped off the panel since the start of the year.
Also D conway, booth, walsh since last year. I dont really think there are any portlaoise players that would get in the first team or first 20 ..
All you want is the best setup possible for the players as per the hurling setup. You dont feel this is happening with the footballers.
We survived in Div 2 thanks to the brillance of Donie. We have a limited panel but why dont lads want to play that are good enough to play.
Thats the elephant in the room. Is it down to TOF? i dunno from what i heard its a big part of it ..
Post by: Helix on June 15, 2015, 07:34:13 PM
Like the hurling it might take a Laois man to solve a Laois problem. Who we get in Laois I'm not so sure. We never evolved with the times after we won many leinsters and paying the price perhaps. I feel we'll be playing catch up for a good while to get even to an AI q final spots again (hope i'm wrong of course).
Can't blame Portlaoise either with all the county titles they've won. Up to the other clubs to step up and haven't done so.

Post by: OTF on June 16, 2015, 01:17:51 PM
Quote from: Helix on June 15, 2015, 07:34:13 PM
Like the hurling it might take a Laois man to solve a Laois problem. Who we get in Laois I'm not so sure. We never evolved with the times after we won many leinsters and paying the price perhaps. I feel we'll be playing catch up for a good while to get even to an AI q final spots again (hope i'm wrong of course).
Can't blame Portlaoise either with all the county titles they've won. Up to the other clubs to step up and haven't done so.

I often thought that Helix  a mad hure  from within like Ger Loughnane is badly needed to drag Laois kicking and screaming into the real world.

Bitterly disappointed after the weekend but worst days lie ahead I'm afraid.
Our underage system once the envy of the country has being left go to rack and ruin  a total lack of leadership at the very top is the problem IMO.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on June 16, 2015, 10:04:38 PM
I think that we need someone to help these players to believe in themselves. The stark difference for me between Laois and Kildare was self belief. We went 3 points down from being a point up in a few minutes and what do we do? We stop believing and go defensive. And not aggressive defending, passive defending with no real belief that we could fight Kildare and overcome the 3 point deficit. Even at 7 points down there was still time but we were beaten mentally by then. Micko may not have been a tactical genius but he got the players to believe in themselves and bring out the best in themselves. I think that is how Jason Ryan got Kildare over the line too.

We saw that same lack of belief against Meath and of course in the first game against Kildare when we blew a 3 point lead with the wind behind us.

Of course the underage structures and development energy needs a massive overhaul but no matter how talented the pool of players you have, if they don't believe they are good enough, they won't be.
Post by: redsetanta on June 16, 2015, 10:52:05 PM
That's the difference with the hurlers at the moment. Cheddar continuously tells the players, the media amd anyone else who will listen that our hurlers are as good as any and are good enough to compete. It's not something that can be turned around overnight. But if you say something often enough you start to believe it. Check any of the best self help books and it's there. Like blueandwhite says you have to have the players but without belief they'll go nowhere.
Post by: Spillane on June 17, 2015, 10:29:21 PM
More than belief the difference between the teams. Legs and speed around the middle was in stark contrast between the teams.  Kildare were up and down the field where as Laois were only going forward. Strong and O' Loughlin may get up the field and get a score or two but also do they're men as they can't be bothered defend. I'd have the traditional view of a back and his primary job being not letting your man score and not to outscore him.

When we needed to step it up after conceding the goals/ close out the game (the last game) too many players went into hiding. Seeing O' Carroll let his man skip past him, then going down to stretch out his calf. Then sprint out the field once the ball was turned over sickened my stomach. Not too many of our players are battlers/leaders when they are called upon besides Donie and Timmons.
Post by: Saint75 on June 18, 2015, 01:44:09 AM
I don't think it's all the players fault that we concede too much and don't track back enough. A game plan is something that is put in place and practiced again and again in training and matches. We lack a game plan big time and have done for as long as I'm looking at Laois. McNulty had a plan of sorts but it only worked to keep down the score against the better teams. Moral victories were how we ended each year but we couldn't beat Longford & Louth. He did bring in a professional physical training setup and that's one of the things that is keeping us going in division 2. Coaching of individuals is seriously lacking too. Very few of our players can tackle correctly. We don't know when to let the ball go and get turned over way too often in games. Donie passes as a last resort. He is playing great but if he doesn't score nobody else will. Boyle is a passenger. Maybe he would be better at 6. Donagher kicked a few lovely scores but he is so weak he can't even slow his man down defensively. Antrim will trouble us Saturday especially if they drop players behind the ball like Fermanagh did last year.
Post by: Windbreaker on June 18, 2015, 03:09:52 AM
On Helix & OTF's point, Any chance of coaxing Mick Dempsey ,,, He's been involved in a winning mentality, maybe as not an all-out manager but him with maybe one on the main leaders of the minor glory days, we need vision plus we need time to execute that vision, so I'd imagine all out power may be handed over,, Development, coaching, plus a collective thinking from all clubs & officials in the county,, it will benefit us all in the long run,,   Best of luck to the lads on Saturday, probably might just scrape it,, don't think there'll be much interest in battling the qualifiers, the writing is on the wall,,
Post by: OTF on June 18, 2015, 10:44:04 AM
It amuses me a small bit when people say we should take example from the hurlers ok fair enough.
In a 12 year period we won
6 Leinster minor
3 All Ireland minor
3 Leinster under 21
Should have won at least 1 under 21 AI
1 Leinster senior
Should have won at least 1 more.
As regards underage we were there , we had this thing sorted but needed to be pushed on to the next level. Standing still was never going to be good enough, we didn't even stand still we went backwords.
There's 20 thousand more people living in Laois  now than there was in '96 and yet the numbers presenting themselves for underage trials has halved. There's something drastically wrong and the responsibility for this lies with the people at the top of Laois football. We haven't  stopped producing young footballers all of a sudden we have traditionally got very good returns from successful underage teams and this is where we should be looking.
We probably don't have the resources to challenge for AI senior  but we have proved we can challenge for underage and this is the area we have totally neglected in recent years.
Post by: redsetanta on June 18, 2015, 11:06:49 AM
My reference to the hurlers was to the current situation where Cheddar is instilling belief into the players directly and indirectly through media interviews etc. O'Flaherta doesn't come across as passionately and maybe he is not instilling the belief in players.

What is the difference between the hurling and football at underage level at the moment? Is it the standard of coaching at club level or the standard of coaches which the county board provide.

I live outside the county so wouldn't be up to date on these issues but the setanta programme had huge numbers attending last week at U11 and U13. What sort of numbers attend the football camps etc? How many ex and current players are involved. Again you had Picky maher a and few others at the hurling camps.

Maybe there is apathy amongst clubs or parents regarding the football. It's a combination of factors. One thing for sure you do need someone to come in and drive it with enthusiasm. I don't see a Critchley or Cheddar type character for the football at the moment. I stand to be corrected though.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 18, 2015, 11:35:26 AM
Quote from: Windbreaker on June 18, 2015, 03:09:52 AM
On Helix & OTF's point, Any chance of coaxing Mick Dempsey ,,, He's been involved in a winning mentality, maybe as not an all-out manager but him with maybe one on the main leaders of the minor glory days, we need vision plus we need time to execute that vision, so I'd imagine all out power may be handed over,, Development, coaching, plus a collective thinking from all clubs & officials in the county,, it will benefit us all in the long run,,   Best of luck to the lads on Saturday, probably might just scrape it,, don't think there'll be much interest in battling the qualifiers, the writing is on the wall,,

Mick along with Sean Dempsey would be a great combination for Laois football. Both have proven records and would have the respect of most lads in the county. I see Sean is involved with Longford this year although in what capacity I'm not sure...
Post by: OTF on June 18, 2015, 12:00:00 PM
Quote from: redsetanta on June 18, 2015, 11:06:49 AM
My reference to the hurlers was to the current situation where Cheddar is instilling belief into the players directly and indirectly through media interviews etc. O'Flaherta doesn't come across as passionately and maybe he is not instilling the belief in players.

What is the difference between the hurling and football at underage level at the moment? Is it the standard of coaching at club level or the standard of coaches which the county board provide.

I live outside the county so wouldn't be up to date on these issues but the setanta programme had huge numbers attending last week at U11 and U13. What sort of numbers attend the football camps etc? How many ex and current players are involved. Again you had Picky maher a and few others at the hurling camps.

Maybe there is apathy amongst clubs or parents regarding the football. It's a combination of factors. One thing for sure you do need someone to come in and drive it with enthusiasm. I don't see a Critchley or Cheddar type character for the football at the moment. I stand to be corrected though.

The point I was trying to make was we had a structure in in place which was working very well probably second to Tyrone, whereas they pushed on continues to improve and ours has disappeared almost.

Junior
Not sure if the same ideas from 10 years ago would still work, but men like Sean with nothing but the best for Laois football in mind are what's required.
Someone needs to put in place a 5-10 year plan, proper coaching, development squads etc. and drive it especially the last part.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 19, 2015, 12:29:55 AM
I agree OTF, the same ideas from 10 years ago certainly would not work now but both those guys will have learned a lot in those 10 years and would have a lot to bring to Laois.
Mick has proved beyond doubt how good he is and seeing that Sean is still involved with county football would lead me to believe he will have learned a lot too. They are both Laoismen who I'm sure would love to see us up there with the best.

In the meantime the team for Saturday has been announced:

5. Darren Strong (Emo)

Post by: Donnellys Hollow on June 19, 2015, 12:47:13 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on June 18, 2015, 11:35:26 AM

Mick along with Sean Dempsey would be a great combination for Laois football. Both have proven records and would have the respect of most lads in the county. I see Sean is involved with Longford this year although in what capacity I'm not sure...

Sean has also been Naas manager since 2013.
Post by: Heshs Umpire on July 21, 2015, 08:21:54 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 19, 2015, 12:47:13 AM

How has he done with Naas? I don't recall them doing a lot recently (which I know may not be Sean's fault!).
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 21, 2015, 06:30:17 PM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on July 21, 2015, 08:21:54 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on June 19, 2015, 12:47:13 AM

How has he done with Naas? I don't recall them doing a lot recently (which I know may not be Sean's fault!).

They were fairly static first two years although they have made some good progress in the league this year.