GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Gael85 on November 23, 2020, 08:32:25 PM

Title: Mickey Harte new Louth manager?
Post by: Gael85 on November 23, 2020, 08:32:25 PM
Christ he didn't hang around.
Title: Re: Mickey Harte new Louth manager?
Post by: Kidder81 on November 23, 2020, 08:33:43 PM
Bills to pay
Post by: omagh_gael on November 23, 2020, 08:33:55 PM
Louth for Sam 2021!!
Post by: Ronnie on November 23, 2020, 08:35:26 PM
Louth?
Post by: Blowitupref on November 23, 2020, 08:38:02 PM
Thats a mad one but I suppose he'll be under less pressure with Louth. A 3 year term and will also manage Louths U20s
Post by: macdanger2 on November 23, 2020, 08:38:19 PM
Fair play to him, not a glamorous job
Post by: square_ball on November 23, 2020, 08:39:31 PM
Expect him to say in his first press conference that he's there to knock Dublin off their f**king perch.
Post by: Main Street on November 23, 2020, 08:40:24 PM
Dublin can move aside.
Post by: on the sideline on November 23, 2020, 08:44:25 PM
Strange move for him
Post by: Kidder81 on November 23, 2020, 08:45:57 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on November 23, 2020, 08:44:25 PM
Strange move for him

An attractive financial package I would think, not that strange
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 23, 2020, 08:46:14 PM
Ex Tyrone manager or this fella?

(https://i.ibb.co/RN7q3sj/0-Mickey.webp) (https://imgbb.com/)
Post by: general_lee on November 23, 2020, 08:49:55 PM
Fair play to him and a great coup for Louth, football in a bad way there so he has his work cut out. Plenty of diesel money I'd imagine
Post by: on the sideline on November 23, 2020, 08:57:45 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on November 23, 2020, 08:45:57 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on November 23, 2020, 08:44:25 PM
Strange move for him

An attractive financial package I would think, not that strange

No real hope of success. Could have bided his time and got a job with more prospects easy enough I'm sure. Must be some coin alright!
Post by: themac_23 on November 23, 2020, 09:00:36 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 23, 2020, 08:39:50 PM
Antrim missed a trick there. Could have swayed him with the new Casement and the sleeping giant etc etc.

I said that we should approach him kinda joking in the Antrim thread, we would have been a more attractive proposition than Louth. Ahhh sure it's done now, fair play to Louth
Post by: Saffrongael on November 23, 2020, 09:01:53 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on November 23, 2020, 09:00:36 PM
Antrim missed a trick there. Could have swayed him with the new Casement and the sleeping giant etc etc.

I said that we should approach him kinda joking in the Antrim thread, we would have been a more attractive proposition than Louth. Ahhh sure it's done now, fair play to Louth

No way Antrim could afford Harte
Post by: RedHand88 on November 23, 2020, 09:03:03 PM
Quote from: general_lee on November 23, 2020, 08:49:55 PM
Fair play to him and a great coup for Louth, football in a bad way there so he has his work cut out. Plenty of diesel money I'd imagine

Or a new gaff.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 23, 2020, 09:03:14 PM
Completely shocked at this one. Interesting to see how it pans out
Post by: Rudi on November 23, 2020, 09:09:43 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 23, 2020, 08:46:14 PM
Ex Tyrone manager or this fella?

(https://i.ibb.co/RN7q3sj/0-Mickey.webp) (https://imgbb.com/)

Excellent  ;D

Strange move, but fair play and hope he does well, not a glamorous team.
Post by: BennyCake on November 23, 2020, 09:56:46 PM
Will he be bringing Martin Sludden with him in some capacity?
Post by: Ronnie on November 23, 2020, 10:07:10 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on November 23, 2020, 09:01:53 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on November 23, 2020, 09:00:36 PM

No way Antrim could afford Harte

Could easily & better prospects than Louth.  Harte probably didn't want the inherent negativity.  Missed out.   Although IMO Stevie O'Neill & Enda McGinley will secure promotion with the foundations already laid for them.
Post by: Angelo on November 23, 2020, 10:22:10 PM
Would imagine Harte didn't want to manage another Ulster team.
Post by: Blowitupref on November 23, 2020, 10:25:16 PM
Quote from: Angelo on November 23, 2020, 10:22:10 PM

I'd say If the Monaghan, Donegal jobs had become available and came calling he would likely say yes.
Post by: armaghniac on November 23, 2020, 10:45:20 PM
I am not surprised. The man lives for football but I do not think he would take an immediate Tyrone rival like Donegal or Monaghan, so I would have put my money on Louth or Leitrim, fixer upper project, not in Ulster but not too far to drive. And I do think it is necessarily big money, he could have written for the paper, appeared on Sky etc. I noted here previously that Louth have underperformed their neighbours for decades, little is expected of them and the only way is up.
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 23, 2020, 10:51:48 PM
Division 4 for Mckey next season.  And O'Byrne Cup instead of McKenna Cup. 
Post by: Blowitupref on November 23, 2020, 10:54:44 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on November 23, 2020, 10:51:48 PM
Division 4 for Mckey next season.  And O'Byrne Cup instead of McKenna Cup.

Tailteann Cup also?
Post by: Ronnie on November 23, 2020, 11:40:55 PM

Whilst you should've been removed from this discussion board, that probably makes sense.  I'd still have you barred.
Post by: armaghniac on November 23, 2020, 11:57:20 PM
He won the O'Fiaich cup with Tyrone and can now do so with Louth, if it ever runs again.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 24, 2020, 12:13:11 AM
Fair play to Mickey. A completely different challenge for him in a county who will be glad to have him. Although not competing at the business end for Sam there are reasonable targets ahead, I'd say by the end of 3 years Mickey would be expecting Louth to be in Div 2 and competing for the new 2nd tier competition and perhaps a run through the qualifiers at some point too with a big scalp or two along the way. Do Louth have any talent at u20 /u17 level coming through?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 24, 2020, 01:53:04 AM

Thats what jumped out at me. Not many other jobs a 1h drive from home that he wouldn't be allergic to.

Intersting to see how it pans out, but a serious statement of intent from Louth
Post by: RedHand88 on November 24, 2020, 02:24:30 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 24, 2020, 01:53:04 AM

Thats what jumped out at me. Not many other jobs a 1h drive from home that he wouldn't be allergic to.

You getting worried??
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on November 24, 2020, 03:09:15 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on November 24, 2020, 02:24:30 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 24, 2020, 01:53:04 AM

You getting worried??

More worried about his propensity for references leaking into this jurisdiction than anything football related.
Post by: balladmaker on November 24, 2020, 08:36:58 AM
A no pressure job for Mickey ... you'd expect him to ramp Louth up the divisions in the next 3 years.  Good to see him back so soon, I'd say Mark Sidebottom wore him down on the The Championship on BBC, enough was enough!
Post by: Angelo on November 24, 2020, 09:34:26 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on November 23, 2020, 10:25:16 PM

I'd say If the Monaghan, Donegal jobs had become available and came calling he would likely say yes.

Why didn't he hang about so?

Plenty of bigger jobs will come available than the Louth one. I don't think he wanted to come up in direct opposition to Tyrone as a genuine rival.
Post by: Angelo on November 24, 2020, 09:36:25 AM
Quote from: Ronnie on November 23, 2020, 11:40:55 PM

Whilst you should've been removed from this discussion board, that probably makes sense.  I'd still have you barred.

Barred for what?

And who are you?
Post by: redzone on November 24, 2020, 10:12:05 AM
Quote from: Angelo on November 24, 2020, 09:36:25 AM

Barred for what?

And who are you?

Ronnie. Ronnie f**king pickering
Post by: HiMucker on November 24, 2020, 10:50:11 AM
Quote from: redzone on November 24, 2020, 10:12:05 AM

Barred for what?

And who are you?

Post by: Orior on November 24, 2020, 01:24:05 PM
Quote from: redzone on November 24, 2020, 10:12:05 AM

Barred for what?

And who are you?

lol
Post by: Orior on November 24, 2020, 01:31:05 PM
For the uninitiated....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?edufilter=NULL&v=r0dcv6GKNNw

The moped owner is my hero.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on November 24, 2020, 01:36:57 PM
I know Mickey is a man of faith but he has his work cut out here.

Maybe St. Jude could come into the backroom team.
Post by: seafoid on November 24, 2020, 01:49:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on November 24, 2020, 01:36:57 PM
I know Mickey is a man of faith but he has his work cut out here.

Maybe St. Jude could come into the backroom team.
Louth won Leinster as recently as 2010
Post by: Ronnie on November 24, 2020, 08:06:51 PM
Yes redzone.  That's me.  Great spot.
Post by: From the Bunker on November 24, 2020, 08:36:18 PM
Ok, lets cut to the chase! He must have been offered a plethora of Money.

Money is the reason he took the Job.
Post by: seafoid on November 24, 2020, 09:30:31 PM
I always thought after 2011 that football was what kept Mickey Harte going.
Post by: Gaafan2 on November 24, 2020, 10:13:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 24, 2020, 09:30:31 PM

Post by: restorepride on November 24, 2020, 11:20:02 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on November 23, 2020, 09:56:46 PM
Will he be bringing Martin Sludden with him in some capacity?
Good one!!!
Post by: GetOverTheBar on November 25, 2020, 09:56:47 AM

It most certainly is, you could be cynical and say he wasn't long in a BBC studio and then taking another county. I just think he needs it.

That commute to Louth isn't exactly handy from his home house.
Post by: sensethetone on November 25, 2020, 10:54:54 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on November 25, 2020, 09:56:47 AM

It most certainly is, you could be cynical and say he wasn't long in a BBC studio and then taking another county. I just think he needs it.

The man likes saying the Rosary in the car, he could have a few done on that commute.
When he gets home he could just shower and go straight to bed as he has his praying for the evening done.
Win Win.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on November 25, 2020, 11:48:48 AM
It's efficient use of time alright. Not much craic for Gavin Devlin though.
Post by: sensethetone on November 25, 2020, 11:52:52 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on November 25, 2020, 11:48:48 AM
It's efficient use of time alright. Not much craic for Gavin Devlin though.

Horse can pray away to Holie Gohost that an IS200 doesn't hand brake turn in front of them and take their money back.
Post by: StPatsAbu on November 25, 2020, 01:45:48 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on November 25, 2020, 09:56:47 AM

On good authority that an agreed quota of training sessions will be in Garvahey.  Money no object to Louth so the mountain will come to Jehovah!
Post by: Blowitupref on March 29, 2022, 05:41:04 PM
Took on the Louth gig in November 2020 when they were just relegated to Division 4 losing 6 of their 7 games.

March 2022 Louth promoted to Division 2.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 29, 2022, 05:53:31 PM
Thats some going in fsirness.
Post by: grounded on March 29, 2022, 06:56:09 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 29, 2022, 05:41:04 PM
Took on the Louth gig in November 2020 when they were just relegated to Division 4 losing 6 of their 7 games.

Yep, he has Louth going well.
Post by: marty34 on March 29, 2022, 08:04:38 PM
Quote from: grounded on March 29, 2022, 06:56:09 PM

Yep, he has Louth going well.

Great achievement alright. Punching well above their weight.

Fair play to him and Devlin.
Post by: Jim Bob on March 29, 2022, 11:10:53 PM
Knowing Mickey he ll be convincing Louth that Dublin can be taken this year.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 30, 2022, 08:29:36 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on March 29, 2022, 11:10:53 PM
if ever there was a year to do it. What I could see happening is Kildare beating Dublin then a weaker county catching Kildare in the final. (Assuming Kildare meet the Dubs before the final.)
Post by: RedHand88 on March 30, 2022, 09:09:39 AM

Well next year Louth will be in the same division  as Kildare who took Dublin this year so you never know.
Ok I'm clutching at straws here but better to be an optimist than accept defeat against Dublin. Too many have done that in the last 5 years.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 30, 2022, 04:28:03 PM

I remember McConville saying that Louth were very likely to bounce back based on what he saw with Dundalk IT in terms of what was coming through and Mickey had been fairly astute in joining when he did.

The most likely thing come championship is a win over Carlow followed by a loss to Kildare.

After that things could get nasty in the qualifiers - it's hard to see them going on much of a run there, considering the quality that will be there - themselves and Limerick might yet end up looking on enviously at the Tailteann Cup teams.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 30, 2022, 05:32:12 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 30, 2022, 04:28:03 PM

I remember McConville saying that Louth were very likely to bounce back based on what he saw with Dundalk IT in terms of what was coming through and Mickey had been fairly astute in joining when he did.

The most likely thing come championship is a win over Carlow followed by a loss to Kildare.

After that things could get nasty in the qualifiers - it's hard to see them going on much of a run there, considering the quality that will be there - themselves and Limerick might yet end up looking on enviously at the Tailteann Cup teams.

McConville would always talk up any team he's involved with, in reality Dundalk IT would struggle to be competitive in the Sigerson cup.

Since the U20 championship was introduced in 2018 Louth have played 5 and lost 5 to Offaly twice, Longford, Carlow, Wexford.

Louth senior footballers would have a certain ceiling and it remains to be seen if they can do a Clare and become a long term divsion 2 outfit under a good manager. If they are to be demoted next year i wouldn't be surprised if Louth won Tailteann Cup.
Post by: twohands!!! on March 30, 2022, 07:12:05 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 30, 2022, 05:32:12 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 30, 2022, 04:28:03 PM

McConville would always talk up any team he's involved with, in reality Dundalk IT would struggle to be competitive in the Sigerson cup.

Since the U20 championship was introduced in 2018 Louth have played 5 and lost 5 to Offaly twice, Longford, Carlow, Wexford.

Louth senior footballers would have a certain ceiling and it remains to be seen if they can do a Clare and become a long term divsion 2 outfit under a good manager. If they are to be demoted next year i wouldn't be surprised if Louth won Tailteann Cup.

I think the fact that they won 2 promotions in a row kinda proves McConville right though.

A lot of people seem to think that because Louth is the smallest sized county it's got a small population.

However in the last census it was the county with the 18th biggest population (it was less than 2,000 behind Mayo in 17th and about 10,000 ahead of Clare in 19th)

It was the 6th most populous Leinster County.

I know soccer has a serious hold in the county but you'd have to think there is serious potential to develop the game in the county given those sort of numbers.

Surviving in Division 2 next year is going to be a serious ask (both for them and Limerick)

I'm not sure about their chances in terms of the Tailteann Cup if they do get relegated next year.

I can't help wonder if Mickey might be a manager who is a bit ambivalent about it.

Also I wouldn't be surprised if the teams who do end up in the Tailteann Cup after getting relegated from Division 2 struggle in the year they get relegated.

Over the last decade the form of teams who get relegated in the league has tended to be pretty poor in that year's championship bar a handful of exceptions and I wouldn't be surprised to see something similar happen with the Tailteann Cup over the next few years - out of the 4 relegated teams this year (Down, Offaly, Wicklow, Longford) the only one I wouldn't be surprised to see have any real impact are Offaly.
Post by: Blowitupref on March 30, 2022, 07:50:53 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on March 30, 2022, 07:12:05 PM

I think the fact that they won 2 promotions in a row kinda proves McConville right though.

A lot of people seem to think that because Louth is the smallest sized county it's got a small population.

However in the last census it was the county with the 18th biggest population (it was less than 2,000 behind Mayo in 17th and about 10,000 ahead of Clare in 19th)

It was the 6th most populous Leinster County.

I know soccer has a serious hold in the county but you'd have to think there is serious potential to develop the game in the county given those sort of numbers.

Surviving in Division 2 next year is going to be a serious ask (both for them and Limerick)

I'm not sure about their chances in terms of the Tailteann Cup if they do get relegated next year.

I can't help wonder if Mickey might be a manager who is a bit ambivalent about it.

Also I wouldn't be surprised if the teams who do end up in the Tailteann Cup after getting relegated from Division 2 struggle in the year they get relegated.

Over the last decade the form of teams who get relegated in the league has tended to be pretty poor in that year's championship bar a handful of exceptions and I wouldn't be surprised to see something similar happen with the Tailteann Cup over the next few years - out of the 4 relegated teams this year (Down, Offaly, Wicklow, Longford) the only one I wouldn't be surprised to see have any real impact are Offaly.

Louth county board more than McConville would be the ones that got it right to appoint Harte. Lets be honest it raised plenty of eyebrows when he was appointed. 

Down probably need more Kilcoo players to join up to turn things around and that probably won't happen this summer.  Other teams relegated from Div 2 will have prepared for the Tailteann cup against better opposition and if they take it serious/keep the majority of best players on board they should be there or thereabout to winning that 2nd tier competition.
Post by: Hound on March 30, 2022, 08:58:41 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 30, 2022, 08:29:36 AM
if ever there was a year to do it. What I could see happening is Kildare beating Dublin then a weaker county catching Kildare in the final. (Assuming Kildare meet the Dubs before the final.)

Louth have Carlow first, then Kildare. Should be tasty. Semis are open draw.

QUARTER FINALS:    
4.   Dublin   v   Offaly/Wexford   30.4.2021   6.30pm   Tullamore/Wexford   
5.   Meath   v   Laois/Wicklow   01.05.2022   TBC   Portlaoise/Navan   
6   Kildare   v   Louth/Carlow   01.05.2022   TBC   Navan/Portlaoise/Tullamore   
7.   Westmeath   v   Longford   01.05.2022   TBC   TEG Cusack Park
Post by: armaghniac on March 30, 2022, 09:28:51 PM
Kildare would be seriously pissed if they were beaten by Louth in a year when Dublin are vulnerable.
On thing about Harte being in charge of Louth, it would be inappropriate to have a Tyrone referee.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 30, 2022, 09:51:00 PM
Assuming Louth beat Carlow...
Post by: Blowitupref on April 30, 2023, 04:21:59 PM

An update on this.  This year Louth when tipped for relegation finished 3rd in Div 2 and today has led Louth to their first Leinster final in 13 years.
Post by: square_ball on April 30, 2023, 04:25:03 PM
Maybe Mickey knows what he's doing after all.
Post by: clarshack on April 30, 2023, 04:27:03 PM
Quote from: square_ball on April 30, 2023, 04:25:03 PM

Nobody said he didn't know what he was doing, he just stayed in the Tyrone job far too long.
Post by: screenexile on April 30, 2023, 04:27:34 PM
Quote from: square_ball on April 30, 2023, 04:25:03 PM

Tyrone should give him a shout next time they're playing Offaly!
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 30, 2023, 04:37:39 PM
He's done some job with them when most myself including was left surprised by this appointment. Would Jim Gavin have done a better job with Louth?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 30, 2023, 04:51:39 PM
Nope, Harte done a great job with them with a fairly small pick.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 30, 2023, 07:10:14 PM
Mickey knows his stuff! Also this caliber of Manager means that you will get a higher percentage of good players to commit to the county team. Players who would otherwise say why bother. Players will buy into a system, buy into a belief and will buy into strength and conditioning.
Post by: nrico2006 on April 30, 2023, 07:36:08 PM
Louth had a handy draw this year, usually would at least have to face a Meath, Kildale or Dublin.
Post by: Rossfan on April 30, 2023, 07:40:11 PM
They bet the team that bet Meath ;)
Post by: Captain Obvious on April 30, 2023, 07:51:12 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 30, 2023, 07:36:08 PM
Louth had a handy draw this year, usually would at least have to face a Meath, Kildale or Dublin.
The same Meath and Kildare that finished behind and lost to Louth in Division two this year?
Post by: square_ball on April 30, 2023, 07:53:09 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 30, 2023, 07:51:12 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on April 30, 2023, 07:36:08 PM
The same Meath and Kildare that finished behind and lost to Louth in Division two this year?

Yeah I think Louth have confirmed their position as best of the rest in Leinster throughout league and championship.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 30, 2023, 08:03:39 PM
Harte done well with Louth, took a small county with small pick and no real home venue, and improved them massively. What's Meath and Kildare excuse with massive picks in comparison.
Post by: shantygael on April 30, 2023, 08:26:55 PM
They like everybody else use the dubs excuse
Post by: square_ball on April 30, 2023, 10:16:21 PM
Quote from: shantygael on April 30, 2023, 08:26:55 PM

Correct

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0430/1380034-ryan-we-dont-get-fair-crack-of-the-whip-against-dubs/
Post by: mrdeeds on April 30, 2023, 10:17:56 PM
Quote from: square_ball on April 30, 2023, 10:16:21 PM
Quote from: shantygael on April 30, 2023, 08:26:55 PM

Correct

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2023/0430/1380034-ryan-we-dont-get-fair-crack-of-the-whip-against-dubs/

What did he say that was incorrect?