Mayo Club Football.

Started by intoDwest, November 10, 2006, 11:34:39 AM

Foreverhopeful

what kind of team did ballina have out, what was howley doing in the half forward line- easing him back no doubt... just want to check up on my north mayo teams. killala gave caramore a good hiding

Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2009, 12:48:48 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 16, 2009, 11:31:50 PM
Was it in 1995 that they (Garrymore) kept on moaning about something with Crossmolina which had to have Kiltane nominated to go through to represent the county. I'm not sure of the details, maybe Deel Rover could fill me in.

Yeah, I remember that alright. I have a fair idea who was behind it but PJ Loftus was the focus of it. Shame because Cross could have gone a long way that year. I remember I bought a beachcasting rod after the final, I think it was, in Castlebar. Had some great days with it and still use it sometimes, but its a reminder how the years slip by. One of my mates who used fish with me has gone to his untimely resting place and the sands of time have drifted by from some fine players from those times as well. Tony Corcoran was a player with a great furure in Spring/early Summer 95 but was never the same after an injury that Summer. To hell with that. Ye guys of the IT age dont want to know about such sentiment. Apologies.

No harm in casting the mind back Moysider. I've heard it said Tony Corcoran was a savage footballer prior to that injury. Saw the last day when I found a programme in the house from the 1995 Connacht final that five of the Under 21 team that got to the All-Ireland final in 1995 started in championship that year - Kenny Mort, Jimmy Nallen, John Casey, Tony Corcoran and Paul Cunney. We got good rights (but not enough) out of Casey and Mort, great rights and still do out of Jimmy Nallen but things didn't work out for Corcoran and Cunney.
Certainly I saw Corcoran play for Garrymore not two years ago and while he hasn't much pace, he reads the game so well, has loads of football in him and is so, so intelligent on the ball.
Christ though when you think that Jimmy Nallen started in 1995 and is still going, well that is simply incredible. A grade a, 24 carat legend.

Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on April 21, 2009, 11:27:22 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2009, 12:48:48 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 16, 2009, 11:31:50 PM
Was it in 1995 that they (Garrymore) kept on moaning about something with Crossmolina which had to have Kiltane nominated to go through to represent the county. I'm not sure of the details, maybe Deel Rover could fill me in.

Yeah, I remember that alright. I have a fair idea who was behind it but PJ Loftus was the focus of it. Shame because Cross could have gone a long way that year. I remember I bought a beachcasting rod after the final, I think it was, in Castlebar. Had some great days with it and still use it sometimes, but its a reminder how the years slip by. One of my mates who used fish with me has gone to his untimely resting place and the sands of time have drifted by from some fine players from those times as well. Tony Corcoran was a player with a great furure in Spring/early Summer 95 but was never the same after an injury that Summer. To hell with that. Ye guys of the IT age dont want to know about such sentiment. Apologies.

No harm in casting the mind back Moysider. I've heard it said Tony Corcoran was a savage footballer prior to that injury. Saw the last day when I found a programme in the house from the 1995 Connacht final that five of the Under 21 team that got to the All-Ireland final in 1995 started in championship that year - Kenny Mort, Jimmy Nallen, John Casey, Tony Corcoran and Paul Cunney. We got good rights (but not enough) out of Casey and Mort, great rights and still do out of Jimmy Nallen but things didn't work out for Corcoran and Cunney.
Certainly I saw Corcoran play for Garrymore not two years ago and while he hasn't much pace, he reads the game so well, has loads of football in him and is so, so intelligent on the ball.
Christ though when you think that Jimmy Nallen started in 1995 and is still going, well that is simply incredible. A grade a, 24 carat legend.

I probably have made some reference to this before. While 95 defeat to Galway in Tuam has been seen by some sort of nadir in 'recent' times, I ve never seen it quite that way. In the previous round v Roscommon I saw what remains for me the best half-back display from what was the most talented trio I ve witnessed in that line. Corcoran, Nallen and Butler. They destroyed Roscommon on their own in the first half scoring at least 1- 3 between them before ht. Corcoran bagged 1-1 but never played again. However Butler 'picked- up' a leg injury before ht which pretty much did for his inter-county career( there appears to have been a frank exchange of views between himself and the subsequent manager in a playing situation  that clouded their subsequent relationship). Before Connacht final Corcoran broke his leg and that was all she wrote. Our defence was in disarray in Tuam. I wont go into detail but I can if anybody is interested. Our 2 midfielders alone kicked 13 wides between them. But Mac was young and McHale was on sabbatical shooting hoops with some homeboys. Ken Mortimor was already in his pomp and Casey was like a coiled spring. Things looked healthier then than they do now.

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on April 21, 2009, 11:03:59 PM
what kind of team did ballina have out, what was howley doing in the half forward line- easing him back no doubt... just want to check up on my north mayo teams. killala gave caramore a good hiding

Ballina had what can only be described as a makeshift team out but it may well be most of what they tog in championship anyway.

Foreverhopeful

getting a bit nostaglic there, do u think in 14 yrs time we'll be posting about the likes of aidan o shea who arrived on the scene to lead us to all-ireland glory....i can see it happening in the next 5 yrs.  ;D

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on April 22, 2009, 12:41:24 AM
getting a bit nostaglic there, do u think in 14 yrs time we'll be posting about the likes of aidan o shea who arrived on the scene to lead us to all-ireland glory....i can see it happening in the next 5 yrs.  ;D

95?  It nearly happened the following year 96. Not sure that jump possible anymore. Anybody familiar with my posts know how high a regard I hold Aiden Ó Sé( safely say one of the first to mention his name on here) as well as many of the other young lads. Thing is coaching and management has come a long way since 95,96 and 97. There were nt the likes of O Connor and Harte( or big Joe) back then. And please spare me about Boylan and Paudi. You may see it happen Foreverhopeful but I see little to be optimistic about. Likes of Down, Meath and Cork, even Galway, more likely to step up for Sam again before we do. I ve resisted commenting about the U21 defeat until now. Unless that is taken as one of the last wake- up calls we have to take we re done. The team if anything went backwards from the first outing v Galway. Pete McGrath confidence before the match reflected more on his disregard for Mayo than his belief in his own team. He knew from years of experience that Mayo teams out of the province are poorly prepared and naive and so it worked out with Down being comfortable with 14 and only conceding a point(was it?) in last 15 mins. I bet he wont be half as bullish before he plays Cork. He ll respect Cork because Cork win and know how to win. Sure we ve Ó Sé but some of us have seen it all before. Thing is Brogan was probably better and danger was nt bad either. What did we win with them? What we need is a coach and not these guru types. Players are generally well motivated anyway, but they like somebody to take away most of the decision making on the pitch. Most but not all of course. Somebody who ensures on the big stage that the right team is picked( was nt v Down), frees will be kicked and players pass the ball to their own team 10 yards away, and attack the ball on breaks etc.  It s not rocket science. Oh and we had a managent of 3 half backs and their team could nt mark, win a break or knock a Down man on his arse. Harsh but 3 defeats in AI semis in 4 years not great.

The thing is Down comes out of Ulster once in years and can pull off the whole deal. We ve failed miserably the last 3 years. How many times would we have come out of Ulster last 4 years? I Dunno but it looks like there were at least 3 better teams in Ulster than us this year going on displays. We may not be in the comfort zone some people think we are.

Davitt Man

Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2009, 09:54:41 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2009, 08:30:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2009, 12:33:32 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 20, 2009, 08:20:30 PM
Yeah, and the fact that Knockmore have to play Charlestown next Sunday doesn't bode well. :-\

Don t be all doom and gloom Deelin. Didn t Howley return and played well in half forward line. Why did nt you tell us that? Have nt we had enough doom and gloom for one weekend.

I wasn'tatthe game, I had to go to Dublin early. To get ready for Monday and stuff.

Sure I was only winding ye up Deelin. Can t be easy that commuting up and down to that place and the prospect of a Monday morning at what your at would nt fill me with the joys of Spring either. Anyway as I said Howley came on as a sub and scored 1 - 2. I m told( a biased view no doubt but one I d value) Knockmore would have won if he started. As well they could nt kick their frees, Kilcoyne and Munnelly kicking like geese.

Any sign of O'Neill??

Quote from: Davitt Man on April 22, 2009, 11:55:31 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2009, 09:54:41 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2009, 08:30:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2009, 12:33:32 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 20, 2009, 08:20:30 PM
Yeah, and the fact that Knockmore have to play Charlestown next Sunday doesn't bode well. :-\

Don t be all doom and gloom Deelin. Didn t Howley return and played well in half forward line. Why did nt you tell us that? Have nt we had enough doom and gloom for one weekend.

I wasn'tatthe game, I had to go to Dublin early. To get ready for Monday and stuff.

Sure I was only winding ye up Deelin. Can t be easy that commuting up and down to that place and the prospect of a Monday morning at what your at would nt fill me with the joys of Spring either. Anyway as I said Howley came on as a sub and scored 1 - 2. I m told( a biased view no doubt but one I d value) Knockmore would have won if he started. As well they could nt kick their frees, Kilcoyne and Munnelly kicking like geese.

Any sign of O'Neill??

Yeah he s back with them. he ll be a big addition an frees alone.

Foreverhopeful

i can safely say tom parsons needs a kick up the hole.. Can't use this second-season syndrome as an excuse if he plays poorly in summer. it's called making it big in your first year and thinking you are an untouchable. Forget that tom.. Roll up your sleaves get rid of ur black body warmer or else that hungry beast seamie o'shea will take your spot.

I think if U-21's were punching above their weight to be honest. They have very average forwards to say the least. But it's about getting 1/2 players every year to add to seniors. Think we'll have enough within 5 yrs. Likes of higgins, howley will be hitting their peak.

what the  F are you on about . Parsons was brilliant the way he dragged mayo back into the u21's in longford against a very impreesive down pair. and his league form improved every game.
If your looking for a scape goat just Stick with  JOM and Austin o malley after all isnt that why hes in the panel,

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on April 22, 2009, 10:22:52 PM
i can safely say tom parsons needs a kick up the hole.. Can't use this second-season syndrome as an excuse if he plays poorly in summer. it's called making it big in your first year and thinking you are an untouchable. Forget that tom.. Roll up your sleaves get rid of ur black body warmer or else that hungry beast seamie o'shea will take your spot.

I think if U-21's were punching above their weight to be honest. They have very average forwards to say the least. But it's about getting 1/2 players every year to add to seniors. Think we'll have enough within 5 yrs. Likes of higgins, howley will be hitting their peak.

Agree, agree about only necessary to be bringing 1 or 2 on each year. However a good few other counties are doing the same and more. And it s not like ours are better than everybody elses. And we ve not produced the killer forwards that give teams an edge. It ll be a few years before any emerge by the looks of things. Nothing on this years U21 team. Some promise in the minors. My biggest worry though is selecting, nurturing and coaching in this county. McKenna and McCrory were great servants of Tyrone football and nearly won the big pot as managers. Harte came along and moulded a team and a style that has won and will only be universally accepted as era defining in time. What I m saying is he is a great coach/manager that put his own stamp on his team, a distinctive style, tactical approach. Kernan and O Connor have also defined teams. Pat O Shea did not. Hence he is history. In fairness Ray Dempsey looks like he has an ethos - his minor team last year was not what I ve become accoustomed to down the years. He appears to be upping the ante but whether the board are interested is another thing. The current U21 and senior management are not bringing any stamp to their teams. Their is nothing defining about their teams. Johnno has a great reputation as a manager but he s never had a style that has set him apart. He copies the latest trends whether it s big full forward, sweeper and he got rid of his best player when idiots in the press said he was slowing things down( maybe we should have Liam Hayes in charge - he d have ended up with the same team). Until we get a man of courage and football conviction in charge we can produce all the talent we want but wont do us much good.

Foreverhopeful

we lack the killer forward but we should work around what we have i.e. a o shea and b moran capable of damage inside. Use the 2 of them. Tis a pity it's all backs + midfielders comin through alrite

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on April 22, 2009, 11:57:14 PM
we lack the killer forward but we should work around what we have i.e. a o shea and b moran capable of damage inside. Use the 2 of them. Tis a pity it's all backs + midfielders comin through alrite

I m not sure that it is a co- incidence that it s backs and midfielders coming through. In fact some of these defenders and midfielders not great at the fundamentals either. Midfielders only intersested in highfielding but not interested in breaking down opposition ball to support. Like an ould fiddle player who wont play with a guitar backup.  MFs who wont track back and turn over ball and run into tackles again and again. Backs that cant mark but great going forward. What they have in common is that they are athletic and can play a bit of ball. Oh and not coached.
Our forwards problems stick in peoples' minds more as we remember the business end of things. But as our backs cant track a runner our forwards cant make a run. And that is down to pure coaching at either end pure and simple, unless we plead our fingers are still dragging on the ground in this county.

I d bet training is still the whole panel doing a warm-up and then the same drills for everybody. Followed by a bit of a game. And ye hear so and so is flying in training and shit. It came as a relief to find out that the keepers do their own stuff now. It s past time that there was proper selective training done in the squad with coaches in charge of different things. defensive systems, kick-outs and frees, attacking formations.

The idea that the manager is still refereeing squad games is a joke. Selectors looking on with arms folded I suppose. Only scraping the surface of what could be achieved. 

Foreverhopeful

ya i can't understand some training sessions held by managers. There should be some specialist training. In this day and age both club's and county's should have this formulation for training. Get in specialist coaches, guys who have played before and know the scene.
Mayo should get in guys like Ken Mortimer or someone down them lines to coach defenders, Pat Fallon/TJ in to look at midfielders etc. It doesnt necessarily have to be ex-players but there should be someone who can command the respect of the players. There is too many clubs where the managers pick selectors with no real knowledge of the role they will or should play.

Training matches are fine but you need the specialist training to hone in on the skills used in these matches. Have u ever trained any teams Moysider? 

Quote from: Foreverhopeful on April 23, 2009, 03:31:49 PM
ya i can't understand some training sessions held by managers. There should be some specialist training. In this day and age both club's and county's should have this formulation for training. Get in specialist coaches, guys who have played before and know the scene.
Mayo should get in guys like Ken Mortimer or someone down them lines to coach defenders, Pat Fallon/TJ in to look at midfielders etc. It doesnt necessarily have to be ex-players but there should be someone who can command the respect of the players. There is too many clubs where the managers pick selectors with no real knowledge of the role they will or should play.

Training matches are fine but you need the specialist training to hone in on the skills used in these matches. Have u ever trained any teams Moysider? 

Yeah. 20 years or more now at it and to be honest I m a bit fed up of taking training sessions at this stage. I ve always enjoyed the coaching and tactical side of things and match days still a buzz. I know resources are scarce enough at club level but at county level, apart from a few notable exceptions there is room for much more specialist coaching. Not all good players make good coaches because what made them good came natural to them and may not have been something they fully understood themselves. Players will respect coaches who know their stuff and and I ve often said they like a game plan and not off the cuff stuff. But coaches who wing it are soon found out.