Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Hardy on February 04, 2013, 11:06:32 AM

Title: Fearon books Citywest for AIF, by Easytiger
Post by: Hardy on February 04, 2013, 11:06:32 AM
 Just came across it. Re-posted by The Biff - 2006.

The Biff (http://p072.ezboard.com/bgaadiscussionboard.showUserPublicProfile?gid=thebiff)
(26/10/06 18:30)
Reply (http://p072.ezboard.com/fgaadiscussionboardfrm1.showAddReplyScreenFromWeb?topicID=13118.topic&index=113)

More from My Archives - (Sad, I know)

Easytiger – Posts: 699 – (11/8/03 17:35)
Reply The Conversation - starring Gene Hackman as Tony Fearon
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Receptionist: "Hello, City West. How can I help you?"

TF: "Yes, hello? Judging by your accent, you are not from Armagh and may not be aware that on the 21st of September, in the Cathedral we call Croke, a new glorious reign will be invoked..."

Receptionist: "I'm sorry sir, but there are other calls on my switchboard."

TF: "...as the Great McGeeney flexes his manly biceps and lifts the sacred cup above his Bryonic brow, surveying the gathered masses, disdainful of the Tyrone hordes put to flight as once again Sam Maguire makes his voyage north, as Ulyssess once set forth for Ithaca..."

Receptionist: "Sam Magure? You mean the football? But is that not on -"

TF: " And as Joe and his Orange Brigade shall be setting up camp, as it were for the weekend in your fine establishment, accompanied no doubt by such flaming celestial stars as Elton John, Rod Stewart, Jarlath Burns and maybe the boys from End to End, with whom I am of course on a first name basis, or should I say they are on a first name basis with me (giggles girlishly) but I digress! As such may I book a room for myself, my fine maiden, but not my mother, she didn't get a ticket, hard lines, she's not a true fan, for the 20th and 21st of the month of September."

Receptionist: "(to herself) For f**ks sake. (smartening up) Of course sir, we have a fine room for a great rate of €100 for that weekend."

TF: "Splendid! Expect my arrival forthwith! Now I must not tarry as there is a table quiz on in the local hostelry tonight, the prize being an epic trip to historic Bunratty Castle for two nights, breakfast included -"

Receptionist: "(hanging up) I'm not paid enough to listen to that shite. I hope I'm off that weekend."

The Conversation 2 - starring Krusty the Klown as Tony Fearon

Receptionist: "Hello City West?"

TF:" Due to the machinations of a GAA administration that is too far removed from the grassroots that sustain it i.e. me, the All Ireland Final has been rescheduled a week later than promised, almost as if the very thought of good, honest Armagh men cavorting with Sam was too hard for the faceless grey suits to bear-"

Receptionist: "Sir, you got the dates wrong and now you want to change your reservation to the following week, is that right sir? And tell the truth."

TF: "...yes."

Receptionist: "We have no rooms available for that weekend and we do not refund on cancellations. Is that alright sir?"

TF: "...yes."

Receptionist: "Goodbye sir.(hangs up) Plank."
Title: Re: Fearon books Citywest for AIF, by Easytiger
Post by: gerrykeegan on February 04, 2013, 11:31:18 AM
Excellent. I wonder what happened Easytiger. Wasn't he a journalist of some sort? He was a dub if I remember correctly.
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 11:31:35 AM
This is like a current repeat of Father Ted. Mildly funny originally, but as most of the audience have seen it at least ten times, it is now depressingly boring, and if this was a subscription service, punters would be seeking a refund.

Now if you want a real contemporary laugh, consider Meath's "performance" against Monaghan yesterday! ;D ;D
Post by: Bingo on February 04, 2013, 11:34:56 AM
No, like Father Ted, this never gets old and is as funny now as it was the first time. You know whats coming but you still laugh anyway.
Post by: Hardy on February 04, 2013, 11:57:48 AM
Watching the fat man go head over heels after slipping on the banana skin - funny. When he steps out of the screen to tell you it's not funny at all - priceless.
Post by: Hardy on February 04, 2013, 11:58:35 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on February 04, 2013, 11:31:18 AM
Excellent. I wonder what happened Easytiger. Wasn't he a journalist of some sort? He was a dub if I remember correctly.

He was a journalist and a dub OK. He worked on the Breaking Ball programme, for one.
Post by: BennyCake on February 04, 2013, 12:21:03 PM
Ya know, there's a reason this was in the archives. What's funny about this!?
Post by: Orior on February 04, 2013, 12:41:22 PM
Well, it made me laugh.
Post by: deiseach on February 04, 2013, 12:43:33 PM
It's a pity the original post is no more. The lost works of Sophocles are but the output of Stock, Aitken & Waterman by comparison.
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2013, 01:14:40 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 04, 2013, 12:41:22 PM
Well, it made me laugh.

+1.
Post by: BennyCake on February 04, 2013, 01:26:08 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 04, 2013, 01:14:40 PM
Well, it made me laugh.

+1.

Each to their own, I suppose. I find nothing funny about it. And comparing it to Father Ted, well that's just blasphemy!
Post by: Hound on February 04, 2013, 01:30:19 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 04, 2013, 01:26:08 PM
Well, it made me laugh.

+1.

Each to their own, I suppose. I find nothing funny about it. And comparing it to Father Ted, well that's just blasphemy!
You do know that its a true story?
That TF came on one morning boasting about the great deal he got for the AI weekend, and that the team would also be staying there and what great parties there'd be, etc.
Only for another poster to point out that he'd booked the wrong weekend!
Maybe you had to be there....
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2013, 01:31:57 PM
Quote from: Hound on February 04, 2013, 01:30:19 PM
Well, it made me laugh.

+1.

That TF came on one morning boasting about the great deal he got for the AI weekend, and that the team would also be staying there and what great parties there'd be, etc.

That and TF insisting for years after that it wasn't funny, which made it even funnier.
Post by: LeoMc on February 04, 2013, 02:15:43 PM
Well, it made me laugh.

+1.

Maybe you had to be there....a week early.
Finished that for ya.
Post by: nifan on February 04, 2013, 02:47:13 PM

I think you have to remember TF's persona at the time also, which caused it to be much more amusing
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 04:10:20 PM
Simple mistake, that has provided inexplicable mirth for the easily amused for almost a decade. Rectified quickly at the time, at no additional expense, and to cap off my stay at Citywest, I got a free invite (from a well known Bank) to the Armagh post match banquet, free premium tickets from the same bank (half way line on Hogan!) for the game itself, and an invite to their pre match breakfast in the Gresham!

The only things that spoiled a great weekend in fact, were the absence of Sam at the Citywest at the banquet, and Philip Jordan! ;D
Post by: heganboy on February 04, 2013, 04:13:23 PM
Tony,
you do know that those embellishments are really only making it worse...
HB
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 04:21:41 PM
No HB, simply pointing out that in the aftermath of a simple mistake in the summer of 2003, I had cause to laugh loudest and longest! ;D
Post by: johnneycool on February 04, 2013, 04:28:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 04:21:41 PM
No HB, simply pointing out that in the aftermath of a simple mistake in the summer of 2003, I had cause to laugh loudest and longest! ;D

You should take it as a compliment Tony.
Post by: seafoid on February 04, 2013, 04:28:35 PM
It is a relief that Armagh are no longer in the running for Sam these days.  I remember wishing they'd lose now.  Tyrone were far more dignified the year later. 
Post by: red hander on February 04, 2013, 04:33:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 04:21:41 PM

No you didn't, Tony ... Tyrone fans did  ;)
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 04:37:43 PM
Seafoid, this could feature in RTE's Reeling in the Years! Yes, I remember you posting about coming up to Omagh on the Monday night to welcome Tyrone home.
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 04:41:18 PM
Early noughties were filled with happiness! Apart from Sam arriving in Armagh, there was of course my essay,printed in the 2001 All Ireland Hurling Final programme that year, which won me a four day trip to LA, and Seafoid posted a copy of the programme to me, and I still don't even know his name!
Post by: ziggysego on February 04, 2013, 04:50:20 PM
I had so much fun reading this again. Brought back many fond memories of that week on the board. Those were the days  :'(

I believe Tony's story also made it into the Tyrone GAA yearly book. ;)
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 04:58:36 PM
It was everywhere. I remember sitting in a traffic jam on the way home from Clones, the following summer, and Lynette Fay reading the Choose Armagh poem on the radio, which had the immortal line "Choose supporters who book hotels for the wrong weekend!" ;D

Still, ten years later, it is more nostalgic than amusing!
Post by: ziggysego on February 04, 2013, 05:00:32 PM
As I was telling you on Facebook last night Tony, you're known everywhere!  ;D
Post by: BennyCake on February 04, 2013, 05:15:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 04, 2013, 04:28:35 PM
It is a relief that Armagh are no longer in the running for Sam these days.  I remember wishing they'd lose now.  Tyrone were far more dignified the year later.

Please explain your thinking behind that one.
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 04, 2013, 05:16:35 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 04:58:36 PM
It was everywhere. I remember sitting in a traffic jam on the way home from Clones, the following summer, and Lynette Fay reading the Choose Armagh poem on the radio, which had the immortal line "Choose supporters who book hotels for the wrong weekend!" ;D

Still, ten years later, it is more nostalgic than amusing!

What happened to those 'Choose whatever county' things?
Post by: BennyCake on February 04, 2013, 05:21:26 PM
For those who find this story amusing, is it only because it's Tony? He's well known, that's for sure. But I'd say if it was any Joe Soap, nobody would give it a second thought.
Post by: trileacman on February 04, 2013, 05:26:00 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 04, 2013, 05:21:26 PM
For those who find this story amusing, is it only because it's Tony? He's well known, that's for sure. But I'd say if it was any Joe Soap, nobody would give it a second thought.

It was mildly amusing the last time I heard it a year or two ago but there's no need for it to be recycled again and again. Should we periodically drag up all the old funny threads (Iris /muck savage/ Rachel Riley) to reminisce about the good ould days?
Post by: The Worker on February 04, 2013, 07:17:17 PM
It's a well known fact this board has went down hill for years, and will never reach the heights of when our nail loney, corn02 et al were on board.
Post by: T Fearon on February 04, 2013, 07:20:07 PM
Yes Bummer,your post on the N.I Tourist Board's website,ahead of the Armagh Fermanagh Ulster semi final in 2002 is worth remembering.You know,the one where you appealed for the populace of Fermanagh to come out and support their boys against "the most hateful shower in Ireland" ;D ;D

It had the desired affect, an additional card load of Fermanagh supporters turned up in addition to the normal two car loads!
Post by: Jonah on February 04, 2013, 07:23:10 PM
Never heard this story before  ;D
Excellent.
Post by: The Stallion on November 26, 2016, 08:52:46 PM
Bump for whoever mentioned this in another thread there.
Post by: seafoid on November 26, 2016, 09:40:43 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 04, 2013, 12:43:33 PM
It's a pity the original post is no more. The lost works of Sophocles are but the output of Stock, Aitken & Waterman by comparison.

The Real Tony Fearon
(8/11/03 8:37 am)
Get the hotels booked now!
In the sure and certain knowledge of being there on Sept 21st,i have reserved accommodation this morning,at a very reasonable rate,,for the 20 and 21st of Sept,at Citywest.I advise you to folloow suit,as hotel space will be at a premium with premium rates come Sept 21
Post by: ziggysego on November 26, 2016, 10:00:06 PM
The gift that keeps giving :)
Post by: T Fearon on November 27, 2016, 12:10:43 PM
I do remember this with a certain fondness not least for the fact that my accommodation at Citywest that year was subsequently paid for by the Corporate Sector as was my attendance at the official Armagh Dinner at the same venue that night.In fact the only thing missing from a cost free weekend was Sam!😜
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 27, 2016, 01:18:33 PM
How are you Tony, was that the year I gave you two Premiums for the Final and you thought up to the last day that I was bluffing. We met on some back road like two drug dealers !  Them was the days
Post by: T Fearon on November 27, 2016, 05:51:35 PM
That was the year before Bud.The year we won Sam.Yes we met in Cavan and my gratitude is eternal and you generosity unforgotten.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 28, 2016, 01:08:32 PM
Good to hear from you Bud.....haven't noticed you around here too much for a while. Like Tony, I benefitted from your generosity and will never forget the craic we had with the golf/fundraiser/piss up! Great times.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 28, 2016, 01:15:07 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 28, 2016, 01:08:32 PM
Good to hear from you Bud.....haven't noticed you around here too much for a while. Like Tony, I benefitted from your generosity and will never forget the craic we had with the golf/fundraiser/piss up! Great times.

Never forget? I can barely remember ! :) Good to see you back Bud.
Post by: Hardy on November 28, 2016, 05:42:11 PM
How's it going Bud (from another beneficiary)?
Post by: ONeill on November 28, 2016, 05:44:11 PM
Bud's tip yonks back made me a nice sum. Some horse led from start to finish around 28-1 or so.
Post by: Bud Wiser on November 29, 2016, 05:16:34 AM
I always thought it was great when Armagh won the All-Ireland, it did so much for weaker counties at the time because everyone thought, well if a piss-poor team like Armagh can win it anyone can. There was talk of three in a row (the only time they do three in a row up there is when repeating the leaving cert) and there were Armagh men criss-crossing our little island in helicopters as demand for their managerial skills grew. Others became mercenaries and joined Dublin, Kildare and other clubs to generously donate freely the magic winning formula.  Sadly it all ended like a great big water balloon and as always, just when Laois were on the rise the rug was pulled from under us again.
Post by: Main Street on November 29, 2016, 10:43:01 AM
I thought Laois on the rise was just a rumour.
Post by: No wides on November 29, 2016, 10:47:50 AM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on November 29, 2016, 05:16:34 AM
I always thought it was great when Armagh won the All-Ireland, it did so much for weaker counties at the time because everyone thought, well if a piss-poor team like Armagh can win it anyone can. There was talk of three in a row (the only time they do three in a row up there is when repeating the leaving cert) and there were Armagh men criss-crossing our little island in helicopters as demand for their managerial skills grew. Others became mercenaries and joined Dublin, Kildare and other clubs to generously donate freely the magic winning formula.  Sadly it all ended like a great big water balloon and as always, just when Laois were on the rise the rug was pulled from under us again.

As funny as ever!!!! Oh the occupied 6 don't do the leaving cert!
Post by: T Fearon on December 02, 2016, 06:45:59 AM
Laois gave us our fill of it in the 03 quarter final,as did Sligo the year before at the same stage,in both the first game and replay.Hard to see Laois,Armagh or Sligo being contenders anytime soon these days
Post by: stew on December 02, 2016, 09:23:27 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on December 02, 2016, 06:45:59 AM
Laois gave us our fill of it in the 03 quarter final,as did Sligo the year before at the same stage,in both the first game and replay.Hard to see Laois,Armagh or Sligo being contenders anytime soon these days

Correct but Lapis are complete and utter white, they can beat us in the leagua but are brutal,in the All Ireland series, long may their ineptitude reign.
Post by: magpie seanie on December 02, 2016, 10:01:32 AM
We were very good back then and could well have won both days. I'm not sure we would have gone on and beaten Dublin and Kerry like you guys did but 2002 was probably the best Sligo team ever. Gave away a Connacht title by poor team selection that year.

We're not that bad at the moment but sorely lack some big men up the middle.
Post by: OgraAnDun on December 02, 2016, 04:40:21 PM
Quote from: stew on December 02, 2016, 09:23:27 AM

Correct but Lapis are complete and utter white, they can beat us in the leagua but are brutal,in the All Ireland series, long may their ineptitude reign.

They're so brutal in the AI series that they beat you twice.
Post by: armaghniac on December 02, 2016, 05:00:30 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on December 02, 2016, 04:40:21 PM

Thank you for this information. If I were from a county beaten at home by Longford, I wouldn't be such a petit malin!
Post by: OgraAnDun on December 02, 2016, 06:31:55 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 02, 2016, 05:00:30 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on December 02, 2016, 04:40:21 PM

Thank you for this information. If I were from a county beaten at home by Longford, I wouldn't be such a petit malin!

The difference is that you'll not find me calling Longford brutal in 2016!
Post by: Armamike on December 03, 2016, 05:45:57 PM
Quote from: Bud Wiser on November 29, 2016, 05:16:34 AM

Laois had a good wee team in the early-mid noughties. Gave us a couple of good games.