All Ireland club football championships 2023/24

Started by Blowitupref, January 06, 2023, 09:18:03 PM

Look-Up!

Quote from: intheknowhow on January 15, 2024, 03:55:26 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on January 15, 2024, 03:46:24 PM
Quote from: intheknowhow on January 15, 2024, 03:30:01 PM
Quote from: Look-Up! on January 15, 2024, 02:20:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 01:53:24 PMNo starred games in Cavan?, where there's a means or playing without county players and not losing points?

Another gripe of the club player losing out when the county 'keep' the players for so long, the preference it seems will always be with the 1% club rather than the 99% of games/players

Like I said, there shouldn't be ay argument on teams entering their own championships at whatever level they can, based on their county by/laws

But once you enter the provincial stage you can't be a div 1 team playing in your provinces championships at intermediate level or div 2 at Junior level.

Either you have aspirations of getting better in you county or dropping leagues within your county so that you can perform (should you win your title) in the All Ireland series

You shouldn't be able to do both, complaining that county players are not available isn't a hinderance, at least you have county players, a lot of clubs that enter junior or intermediate haven't any starters or panelists
No idea what that means.

Can't comment on other counties but in Arva's case they finished bottom of Division 1 and should have been relegated in any proper league format. The team that did get relegated had 9 points I think and joint 5th from bottom. So was it a Cavan by/law or GAA protocol caused this anomaly?

Like I said I can't understand what some are trying to fix here. There's plenty needs fixing in GAA, but getting knickers in a twist over formats and over complicating things should not be high on the list, if on it at all.

What's the point in the league then? You are devaluing it ... maybe Arva spotter he loophole.. work the league for a few years. We all know you better better playing better teams... it's no coincidence the all Ireland is won by div 1 teams and senior club championships are won by division 1 teams..
What loophole and how would they work it? I can assure you Arva had their hands full trying to win the Junior the last few years. Nothing else would have been on their minds only that. Some of their better players back to their best from injury, off form etc and some good youngsters coming through created a wave they rode to Croker and fair play to them. Great timing but to even suggest it was by design is crazy. That's more than playing Division 1, that's throwing county finals! Crazy talk.

Just curious do you think your league and champ structures has hampered how your county has performed ? Compared to let's say Tyrone and Monaghan who's leagues and champ align?
No. But the number of clubs we have hold us back which dilutes the overall standard of the club game. Plus a lot of our county plyers are not exposed to senior club football. I'd like to see an additional divisional county championship, like they have in Kerry, where every player in the county is eligible if good enough.

intheknowhow

Quote from: Look-Up! on January 15, 2024, 04:02:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 15, 2024, 01:53:24 PMNo starred games in Cavan?, where there's a means or playing without county players and not losing points?

Another gripe of the club player losing out when the county 'keep' the players for so long, the preference it seems will always be with the 1% club rather than the 99% of games/players

Like I said, there shouldn't be ay argument on teams entering their own championships at whatever level they can, based on their county by/laws

But once you enter the provincial stage you can't be a div 1 team playing in your provinces championships at intermediate level or div 2 at Junior level.

Either you have aspirations of getting better in you county or dropping leagues within your county so that you can perform (should you win your title) in the All Ireland series

You shouldn't be able to do both, complaining that county players are not available isn't a hinderance, at least you have county players, a lot of clubs that enter junior or intermediate haven't any starters or panelists
No idea what that means.

Can't comment on other counties but in Arva's case they finished bottom of Division 1 and should have been relegated in any proper league format. The team that did get relegated had 9 points I think and joint 5th from bottom. So was it a Cavan by/law or GAA protocol caused this anomaly?

Like I said I can't understand what some are trying to fix here. There's plenty needs fixing in GAA, but getting knickers in a twist over formats and over complicating things should not be high on the list, if on it at all.

What's the point in the league then? You are devaluing it ... maybe Arva spotter he loophole.. work the league for a few years. We all know you better better playing better teams... it's no coincidence the all Ireland is won by div 1 teams and senior club championships are won by division 1 teams..
What loophole and how would they work it? I can assure you Arva had their hands full trying to win the Junior the last few years. Nothing else would have been on their minds only that. Some of their better players back to their best from injury, off form etc and some good youngsters coming through created a wave they rode to Croker and fair play to them. Great timing but to even suggest it was by design is crazy. That's more than playing Division 1, that's throwing county finals! Crazy talk.

Just curious do you think your league and champ structures has hampered how your county has performed ? Compared to let's say Tyrone and Monaghan who's leagues and champ align?
No. But the number of clubs we have hold us back which dilutes the overall standard of the club game. Plus a lot of our county plyers are not exposed to senior club football. I'd like to see an additional divisional county championship, like they have in Kerry, where every player in the county is eligible if good enough.

That's mad. I'd argue yous are so poor because there's not actually  meaningful games to play... 5 champ games a year ... you don't care about the league so where does the quality come from?

I think that's how Monaghan produce a decent team and players, because of the structures in the county provide games with jeopardy and meaning!

The fixation of champ in Cavan means no one cares about the league and everyone waits for the co men to come back ...

smort

Quote from: intheknowhow on January 15, 2024, 04:06:59 PM

No idea what that means.

That's mad. I'd argue yous are so poor because there's not actually  meaningful games to play... 5 champ games a year ... you don't care about the league so where does the quality come from?

I think that's how Monaghan produce a decent team and players, because of the structures in the county provide games with jeopardy and meaning!

The fixation of champ in Cavan means no one cares about the league and everyone waits for the co men to come back ...

And Tyrone

Look-Up!

Quote from: intheknowhow on January 15, 2024, 04:06:59 PM

No idea what that means.

I don't think so, like I said I think the bigger issue is the number of clubs. 40 in Cavan.

We still take the league games seriously enough, just not be all and end all and we try out more players and levels of fitness would be lower with training geared towards peaking for championship.

There's still incentive there, any player serious about upping his game and being in contention for championship can't arse about in the league. But come championship there's no holding back, that's why you sometimes see such swings in form, especially where a) squads are small or b)county men return 

Dreadnought

No idea what that means.

To suggest they lost a Junior final as they discovered some 'loophole' is madness. They lost the Division 2 final (which oddly saw them promoted) and hardly went into Junior saying, sure look, we got relegated last year, let's lose this so we can win it next year instead after a Division 1 campaign. I cannot believe you typed out what you did

intheknowhow

Quote from: Dreadnought on January 15, 2024, 05:00:54 PM

No idea what that means.

To suggest they lost a Junior final as they discovered some 'loophole' is madness. They lost the Division 2 final (which oddly saw them promoted) and hardly went into Junior saying, sure look, we got relegated last year, let's lose this so we can win it next year instead after a Division 1 campaign. I cannot believe you typed out what you did

What I said was they targeted the league, this would have huge benefit over the years! Bad teams don't play Div 1 football. They get better and learn at a higher level. This has paid dividends this year playing better opposition and winning the junior champ.

They will prob win intermediate

Quote from: intheknowhow on January 15, 2024, 01:13:30 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 15, 2024, 01:06:22 PM
Quote from: DownFanatic on January 15, 2024, 12:33:46 PMI've made the assertion previously, but really, what is the point of the All Ireland Intermediate and Junior competitions? They both just operate on skewed levels across counties and provinces. It's near impossible to streamline them in terms of club eligibility. The senior competition is authentic and balanced for obvious reasons but the other two just aren't fit for purpose.

100%. Tg4 had a graphic up yesterday showing the Listowel and Arva's games to dates...some amount of hammerings, especially in Munster / Ulster. A complete waste of time unless you're a good Div 1 team or from Kerry

Counties need to align the league and champ as does the inter county scene
Club has to be standardised both in terms of levels and finishing the season before Christmas.

Westside

Quote from: intheknowhow on January 15, 2024, 05:23:46 PM

No idea what that means.

What I said was they targeted the league, this would have huge benefit over the years! Bad teams don't play Div 1 football. They get better and learn at a higher level. This has paid dividends this year playing better opposition and winning the junior champ.

"Targeted the league" My christ.

Do yourself a favour, quit looking for the grand plan. It doesn't exist.

ClubScene13

You can't tell me you watched that game yesterday and think Arva are a senior club. Their forwards couldn't hit a barn door.

Division 1 league and junior at the same time is bizzare to me as a Tyrone man, and seriously throws the Ulster JFC into disrepute, but I can't see Arva winning Cavan IFC next year based on what I seen yesterday. They've a few brilliant individuals in a largely mediocre side.

Too strong for junior, and I would imagine this situation is an anomaly, but they're a run of the mill intermediate outfit as far as I can see. Bottom end Division 1 league and middling IFC next season would probably be fairly normal of what you'd expect when league and championships aren't linked, that's what I'd expect of them next year.

From gaastatsman.  On what was a decent day for football and played on a perfect surface the shooting accuracy and shot selection for whatever reason wasn't the best.

Junior final

Arva total shots 26 and scores 13 (50%)

Listowel total shots 17 and scores 10 (58%)

Intermediate final

Cill na Martra total shots 29 scores 7 (24%)

Cullyhanna total shots 21 and scores 9 (42%)

Overall shots from the four teams 93 and scores 39.

Dreadnought

Quote from: intheknowhow on January 15, 2024, 05:23:46 PM

No idea what that means.

They targeted the Junior last year and lost by a few points. How on earth do you think targeting the League suited them better? Let me tell you, no team in Cavan prefers league over Championship. It's Championship or nothing here

Oh and Drumlane beat Arva last year and should have won Ulster Junior, losing the final on penalties. In Intermediate year after, they sneaked into quarters in 8th place with 1 won from 4, and promptly got beat by 6 points in the quarters. Junior in Cavan is strong recently, with Denn winning Ulster in 2021 along with Drumlane narrowly losing and now Arva, but the gap to Intermediate is huge. No team in ages in Cavan has ever broached that gap quickly.

Arva have a big year ahead with little break. Like someone said above, their forward play is good for Junior and they have some strong players, but that's not good enough at Intermediate. I can't see them winning it next year. In 2 or 3, maybe. But that's it after they get used to this level. Last time they were there with mostly the same team they won one of 8 group games

It's good to see the All Irelands going to different counties. When is the last time a team from Cavan in any grade won an all Ireland ?

Quote from: seafoid on January 16, 2024, 08:15:01 AMIt's good to see the All Irelands going to different counties. When is the last time a team from Cavan in any grade won an all Ireland ?
I think their manager said 1952 was the last time they won anything in Croker.

Did the county team not win any leagues in all their yoyo years there recently though?

Quote from: imtommygunn on January 16, 2024, 09:02:04 AMThey're division 3 champions.
did they win 4 that year they were down as well?

They'd a string of Ulster winning u21 teams as well but not sure if any of them won the ai