GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: kerryforsam2018 on September 05, 2018, 05:51:00 PM

Title: Kevin Mc Stays resigns as Roscommon manager?
Post by: kerryforsam2018 on September 05, 2018, 05:51:00 PM
I believe the Players wanted new man in charge. Rochford for manager though might be a step down for him?
Title: Re: Kevin Mc Stays resigns as Roscommon manager?
Post by: Orchard park on September 05, 2018, 05:51:55 PM
will u just PM syferus and save the rest of us
Post by: Orchard park on September 05, 2018, 05:57:46 PM
but hes history alright
Post by: tippabu on September 05, 2018, 06:01:03 PM
Grab the popcorn and let's see syferus and rossman go at it.....
Post by: Syferus on September 05, 2018, 06:03:20 PM
Quote from: tippabu on September 05, 2018, 06:01:03 PM

Rossman, love it!
Post by: twohands!!! on September 05, 2018, 06:07:08 PM
QuoteKevin McStay steps down as Roscommon manager
Updated / Wednesday, 5 Sep 2018 18:00 0

Kevin McStay has resigned as Roscommon manager after three years in charge of the senior footballers, saying he has brought the team as far as he can.

The Roscommon County Board said this evening that they "reluctantly" accepted the resignation after speculation intensified in recent days that he would depart from the role. The former Mayo footballer has been touted as a potential successor to Stephen Rochford with his native county.

The Rossies fell short in the Connacht final to Galway before an inspirational defeat of Armagh secured a place in the Super 8s.

The Connacht side however suffered heavy defeats to Dublin and Tyrone as well as a seven-point defeat to Donegal.

McStay, who led the county to three successive Connacht finals with a victory in 2017 the highlight, believes a change in management is the best course of action for the Rossies, despite getting the backing of the county board.

"Having considered the many factors involved in managing a county football squad, and unable to resolve enough of those factors to my satisfaction, I have decided that a change in management should take place immediately," he said in a lengthy statement.

"I feel I have brought the team as far as I can at this stage and a new voice and direction is now required. The handover to the next management group will be orderly and without fuss."

McStay outlined the achievements in his time in charge, including league success in Division 2 this year and said the provincial success last year was a special moment.

"Winning the 2017 Connacht Final will always remain the happiest day of my sporting life. The joy, satisfaction and fun it provided to us all - players, parents, management, officials and supporters, is something I will cherish forever. The mayhem and madness of those few days will always be a warm memory."

McStay insisted chairman Seamus Sweeney offered his full backing on completion of the current campaign, something he "deeply appreciated", but says the time is right to step away, referencing the difficulties he faced in the role.

"I've done three years, every one of them challenging and sometimes exhausting. In reviewing my time in charge I have to acknowledge the inordinate amount of time I spent dealing with financial and facility issues, personnel issues, media issues and the various contentious and controversial events that kept arising over those seasons.

"Success is what we all crave but we must understand our reality too. While Roscommon is a proud football county, it is a small county with a limited playing pool and deficits in resources and facilities. The budget required to finance success at the highest level demands year-round attention.

"Kevin's professionalism and knowledge were there for everyone to see.  He has left Roscommon football in a good place"

The county board paid tribute to their outgoing manager.

"Today I reluctantly accepted Kevin's resignation as Roscommon senior team manager," chairman Sweeney said in a statement.

"I'd like to thank Kevin for his dedication and commitment to Roscommon GAA over the last three years as manager of our senior team. Kevin's professionalism and knowledge were there for everyone to see.  He has left Roscommon football in a good place".

"I want to thank his selectors Ger Dowd and Liam McHale, and his backroom team who all did their very best to ensure Roscommon were as competitive as possible.  We've had some memorable days from winning the Connacht title to regaining our place in Division One".

The stuff in bold will surely fuel a lot of discussion.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0905/991869-kevin-mcstay-steps-down-as-roscommon-manager/

Post by: Maroon Manc on September 05, 2018, 06:13:57 PM
Were the lads who are leaving the panel doing so because of McStay?
Post by: balladmaker on September 05, 2018, 06:15:49 PM
I wonder does Kevin fancy the comfort of the Sunday Game studio instead of management.
Post by: twohands!!! on September 05, 2018, 06:16:15 PM
His full resignation statement taken from the Roscommon website.

QuoteEarlier this afternoon I spoke with the Chairman of Roscommon GAA and informed him of my decision not to continue in my role as manager of Roscommon senior footballers.

Our annual review of the 2018 season was completed recently. Having considered the many factors involved in managing a county football squad, and unable to resolve enough of those factors to my satisfaction, I have decided that a change in management should take place immediately. I feel I have brought the team as far as I can at this stage and a new voice and direction is now required. The handover to the next management group will be orderly and without fuss.

As is the natural way of things, some players will retire, others will opt out due to work and college commitments while yet more will want to travel. As I have remarked previously, life often gets in the way of football and we must recognise this.

I want to salute two players who have retired this year; both Seanie McDermott and Ian Kilbride gave their county outstanding service.

Over the past 12 months this group of Roscommon players has won, or qualified, for all the competitions they can be reasonably expected to:

Connacht Championship Winners (July 2017)
All Ireland Quarter Finalists (July 2017)
Connacht League (March 2018)
Division 2 Champions & Promotion to 2019 NFL Div 1 (April 2018)
All Ireland Quarter Finalists (July 2018)

Winning the 2017 Connacht Final will always remain the happiest day of my sporting life. The joy, satisfaction and fun it provided to us all - players, parents, management, officials and supporters, is something I will cherish forever. The mayhem and madness of those few days will always be a warm memory.

I want to sincerely thank all of the players I've dealt with these last three years. I wish them well; they have given so much in their efforts to represent Roscommon, both on and off the field.

I want to note the massive contribution of Liam McHale (Team Coach), over the past 2 years especially. Without his knowledge, enthusiasm, energy, charisma and great sense of fun we would never have won the championships and leagues we did. A life-long friend, on and off the pitch, I want to sincerely thank him for his dedication and loyalty.

Ger Dowd (Selector and sometimes Manager!) worked tirelessly for this group. A hugely experienced coach, Ger always found time in a very busy life to get things done and I deeply respected his work, opinions, advice and friendship.

I want to particularly thank my loyal comrade and friend Sean Finnegan who ensured everything on the 'Admin & Logs' side went perfectly and yet still somehow found time to provide the fun, the laughs and sort out our downtime. The players and management never ceased to be amazed at the royal treatment he laid on for us wherever we went over the three seasons.

David Joyce, our S&C Coach, was a key component of all our successes. In his first major appointment at this level, alongside his professional competence, he was a valued member of management and an extremely positive influence on the group. Damien Martin (S&C) was his able and loyal lieutenant. Tom Coleman & Jeeny Maltese (Nutrition) arrived this year and made a huge contribution.

Thanks to the Goalkeeping Coaches I worked with - Leo Tierney and his predecessor, Declan O'Keeffe. Both men worked extremely hard for the cause.

The Medical Team under Dr. Martin Daly (Aisling Creighton, Sarah Newton, Ciaran Hunt, Seamus Hunt, Pat Regan and Squad Sports Psychologist Jim Lowther) provided a first class service at all times; the Kit Team (Anthony & Daire McCormack) and our Stats Man (Mick Byrne) always excelled and our Camera Man, Ollie Lennon, always got the tapes to us on time.

A special thanks to our loyal and fun Taxi Man, Shay Wade, who never let us down; and Liam McNeill who looked after catering, often at short notice and with considerable distance involved but he always obliged. Thanks also to Vinny Egan for the Ice Baths. There are many others who made contributions: all at St. Brigid's GAA club, the staff in Dr. Hyde Park, the staff in County Board offices, Adrian Greally & Staff at The Abbey Hotel, and so on. It takes a lot of positive people to run an inter-county team – no doubt I've accidently left some people out.

I want to acknowledge the generous sponsorship of Ballymore (Sean Mulryan) and Ranger Pipelines (Tom Hunt) – without their help we could never have achieved what we did.

I want to put on record the inputs of Fergal O'Donnell, in particular, during year one; without his efforts the squads of 2017 and 2018 would not have enjoyed the benefits of the many excellent people and structures he put in place. The 2016 selectors, David Casey and Stephen Bohan never tired trying to do their best for Roscommon GAA. And a sincere thanks also to the 2016 back room team personnel who worked so diligently.

My family, Verona and our three girls, have never once wavered in their support of me, or the Roscommon team, and of course prepared the ground at home to allow me a clear run at managing this fine squad.

I want to thank the former Roscommon players and managers who encouraged, advised gently and supported strongly whatever I was trying to do for the squad.

Throughout my time in charge I have, thankfully, enjoyed the support and friendship of the officers charged with running the affairs of both Roscommon GAA and Connacht GAA: Seamus Sweeney (Chairman, Roscommon GAA), Brian Carroll (Secretary, Roscommon GAA), David O'Connor (Treasurer, Roscommon GAA), his predecessor Seamus Maher and Hugh Lynn (PRO, Roscommon).

Valerie Murray (Fixtures Secretary, Roscommon GAA) was always friendly and courteous. John Prenty (Sec, Connacht GAA) has always been professional and friendly in his personal dealings with me and I thank him for his support over the years. And a massive thanks to all at Club Rossie for their efforts.

I want to confirm that our Chairman, on the day the season ended, gave me his and his executive's full backing and asked that I stay on to see out the final two years of my term. I deeply appreciated that prompt and positive support.

I want to thank the vast majority of media for their fair and accurate reporting on the efforts of our players and my management team.

So, after much consideration I have decided not to take up the Chairman's invitation. I've done three years, every one of them challenging and sometimes exhausting. In reviewing my time in charge I have to acknowledge the inordinate amount of time I spent dealing with financial and facility issues, personnel issues, media issues and the various contentious and controversial events that kept arising over those seasons.

Success is what we all crave but we must understand our reality too. While Roscommon is a proud football county, it is a small county with a limited playing pool and deficits in resources and facilities. The budget required to finance success at the highest level demands year-round attention. Facilities, Catering, Kit & Equipment, Professional expertise and, especially, Travel costs are major financial drainers and they are placing a massive burden on voluntary officers that is often overwhelming.

These are the significant challenges the smaller GAA counties face. If the GAA is committed to ensuring all counties are, at a minimum, competitive, then they must be supported financially in a way that reflects the demands and the need for fairness, equity and solidarity.

I am privileged to say the Roscommon GAA family entrusted their team to me for three years. We had our share of special days, mostly grand days and of course, some very tough days. But overall, on reflection, these have been three of the greatest years of my life. Leaving the safety of the pundits chair for the passion and glory of the dressing room and football field is a decision I'll never regret. However, today marks my retirement from senior inter county football management.

I look forward to a less stressful period now, concentrating more on work and family life and to supporting Roscommon and Mayo teams in 2019 and beyond.

http://www.gaaroscommon.ie/news-detail/10043386/

First game in the league is Mayo v Roscommon.
Post by: tippabu on September 05, 2018, 06:17:52 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 05, 2018, 06:03:20 PM
Quote from: tippabu on September 05, 2018, 06:01:03 PM

Rossman, love it!

Online abuse any part of the reason for stepping down?!!
Post by: twohands!!! on September 05, 2018, 06:18:13 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on September 05, 2018, 06:15:49 PM
I wonder does Kevin fancy the comfort of the Sunday Game studio instead of management.

There's no comparison between how cushy the lads in The Sunday Game have it compared to management.
Post by: Franko on September 05, 2018, 06:20:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 06, 2018, 09:43:40 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on August 06, 2018, 09:02:51 PM
It can be spun loads of ways but has a county manager on megabucks ever survived losing 2 championship matches bynovrr 15 points s year after losing one by 22.... ?

Nigel Dineen could do no worse but posters here would hang him of a lamp post for those sort of performances.....

And I don't want Nigel in charge either....

Has McStsy list the dressing room??? Today is a very important day in the short/ medium term future

Have a look at the state he left Castlerea in if fûcking Nige is the idea of a replacement for McStay.

Today is very important? Ya what? Today is probably the least important day of the year. McStay is going to be there in 2019 so you'd best get over yourself and accept that fact.

;D ;D ;D ;D

Syferus and facts were never easy bedfellows.

He just makes it so easy.

*He won't see this because he 'has me on ignore'... but we all know he will.
Post by: weareros on September 05, 2018, 06:21:46 PM
First off, I've been a critic. But want to thank Kevin and his team. The Connacht final and Portlaoise this year were two of my fondest memories supporting Ros and a privilege to be there. As with St. Bridgets, he always played football in the right spirit and attractive to watch when we were not out of our depth. I did feel he had taken this team as far as he could go, and next year would serve no one any benefit. Might of course regret saying that because we are not blessed with options. In fairness he did all small counties a favour by highlighting how difficult it is from a resource perspective, both money and players. He used his media savvy to go out in a good way.
Post by: rosnarun on September 05, 2018, 06:29:58 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on September 05, 2018, 06:16:15 PM
His full resignation statement taken from the Roscommon website.

QuoteEarlier this afternoon I spoke with the Chairman of Roscommon GAA and informed him of my decision not to continue in my role as manager of Roscommon senior footballers.

Our annual review of the 2018 season was completed recently. Having considered the many factors involved in managing a county football squad, and unable to resolve enough of those factors to my satisfaction, I have decided that a change in management should take place immediately. I feel I have brought the team as far as I can at this stage and a new voice and direction is now required. The handover to the next management group will be orderly and without fuss.

As is the natural way of things, some players will retire, others will opt out due to work and college commitments while yet more will want to travel. As I have remarked previously, life often gets in the way of football and we must recognise this.

I want to salute two players who have retired this year; both Seanie McDermott and Ian Kilbride gave their county outstanding service.

Over the past 12 months this group of Roscommon players has won, or qualified, for all the competitions they can be reasonably expected to:

Connacht Championship Winners (July 2017)
All Ireland Quarter Finalists (July 2017)
Connacht League (March 2018)
Division 2 Champions & Promotion to 2019 NFL Div 1 (April 2018)
All Ireland Quarter Finalists (July 2018)

Winning the 2017 Connacht Final will always remain the happiest day of my sporting life. The joy, satisfaction and fun it provided to us all - players, parents, management, officials and supporters, is something I will cherish forever. The mayhem and madness of those few days will always be a warm memory.

I want to sincerely thank all of the players I’ve dealt with these last three years. I wish them well; they have given so much in their efforts to represent Roscommon, both on and off the field.

I want to note the massive contribution of Liam McHale (Team Coach), over the past 2 years especially. Without his knowledge, enthusiasm, energy, charisma and great sense of fun we would never have won the championships and leagues we did. A life-long friend, on and off the pitch, I want to sincerely thank him for his dedication and loyalty.

Ger Dowd (Selector and sometimes Manager!) worked tirelessly for this group. A hugely experienced coach, Ger always found time in a very busy life to get things done and I deeply respected his work, opinions, advice and friendship.

I want to particularly thank my loyal comrade and friend Sean Finnegan who ensured everything on the ‘Admin & Logs’ side went perfectly and yet still somehow found time to provide the fun, the laughs and sort out our downtime. The players and management never ceased to be amazed at the royal treatment he laid on for us wherever we went over the three seasons.

David Joyce, our S&C Coach, was a key component of all our successes. In his first major appointment at this level, alongside his professional competence, he was a valued member of management and an extremely positive influence on the group. Damien Martin (S&C) was his able and loyal lieutenant. Tom Coleman & Jeeny Maltese (Nutrition) arrived this year and made a huge contribution.

Thanks to the Goalkeeping Coaches I worked with - Leo Tierney and his predecessor, Declan O’Keeffe. Both men worked extremely hard for the cause.

The Medical Team under Dr. Martin Daly (Aisling Creighton, Sarah Newton, Ciaran Hunt, Seamus Hunt, Pat Regan and Squad Sports Psychologist Jim Lowther) provided a first class service at all times; the Kit Team (Anthony & Daire McCormack) and our Stats Man (Mick Byrne) always excelled and our Camera Man, Ollie Lennon, always got the tapes to us on time.

A special thanks to our loyal and fun Taxi Man, Shay Wade, who never let us down; and Liam McNeill who looked after catering, often at short notice and with considerable distance involved but he always obliged. Thanks also to Vinny Egan for the Ice Baths. There are many others who made contributions: all at St. Brigid’s GAA club, the staff in Dr. Hyde Park, the staff in County Board offices, Adrian Greally & Staff at The Abbey Hotel, and so on. It takes a lot of positive people to run an inter-county team – no doubt I’ve accidently left some people out.

I want to acknowledge the generous sponsorship of Ballymore (Sean Mulryan) and Ranger Pipelines (Tom Hunt) – without their help we could never have achieved what we did.

I want to put on record the inputs of Fergal O’Donnell, in particular, during year one; without his efforts the squads of 2017 and 2018 would not have enjoyed the benefits of the many excellent people and structures he put in place. The 2016 selectors, David Casey and Stephen Bohan never tired trying to do their best for Roscommon GAA. And a sincere thanks also to the 2016 back room team personnel who worked so diligently.

My family, Verona and our three girls, have never once wavered in their support of me, or the Roscommon team, and of course prepared the ground at home to allow me a clear run at managing this fine squad.

I want to thank the former Roscommon players and managers who encouraged, advised gently and supported strongly whatever I was trying to do for the squad.

Throughout my time in charge I have, thankfully, enjoyed the support and friendship of the officers charged with running the affairs of both Roscommon GAA and Connacht GAA: Seamus Sweeney (Chairman, Roscommon GAA), Brian Carroll (Secretary, Roscommon GAA), David O’Connor (Treasurer, Roscommon GAA), his predecessor Seamus Maher and Hugh Lynn (PRO, Roscommon).

Valerie Murray (Fixtures Secretary, Roscommon GAA) was always friendly and courteous. John Prenty (Sec, Connacht GAA) has always been professional and friendly in his personal dealings with me and I thank him for his support over the years. And a massive thanks to all at Club Rossie for their efforts.

I want to confirm that our Chairman, on the day the season ended, gave me his and his executive’s full backing and asked that I stay on to see out the final two years of my term. I deeply appreciated that prompt and positive support.

I want to thank the vast majority of media for their fair and accurate reporting on the efforts of our players and my management team.

So, after much consideration I have decided not to take up the Chairman’s invitation. I’ve done three years, every one of them challenging and sometimes exhausting. In reviewing my time in charge I have to acknowledge the inordinate amount of time I spent dealing with financial and facility issues, personnel issues, media issues and the various contentious and controversial events that kept arising over those seasons.

Success is what we all crave but we must understand our reality too. While Roscommon is a proud football county, it is a small county with a limited playing pool and deficits in resources and facilities. The budget required to finance success at the highest level demands year-round attention. Facilities, Catering, Kit & Equipment, Professional expertise and, especially, Travel costs are major financial drainers and they are placing a massive burden on voluntary officers that is often overwhelming.

These are the significant challenges the smaller GAA counties face. If the GAA is committed to ensuring all counties are, at a minimum, competitive, then they must be supported financially in a way that reflects the demands and the need for fairness, equity and solidarity.

I am privileged to say the Roscommon GAA family entrusted their team to me for three years. We had our share of special days, mostly grand days and of course, some very tough days. But overall, on reflection, these have been three of the greatest years of my life. Leaving the safety of the pundits chair for the passion and glory of the dressing room and football field is a decision I’ll never regret. However, today marks my retirement from senior inter county football management.

I look forward to a less stressful period now, concentrating more on work and family life and to supporting Roscommon and Mayo teams in 2019 and beyond.

http://www.gaaroscommon.ie/news-detail/10043386/

First game in the league is Mayo v Roscommon.

no doubt he is a class act
hope hes in form for one last Job before he retires and he can bring Liam. though I wonder is it time for liam to stand on his own 2 feet and take over?
Post by: Syferus on September 05, 2018, 06:54:46 PM
Quote from: weareros on September 05, 2018, 06:21:46 PM
First off, I've been a critic. But want to thank Kevin and his team. The Connacht final and Portlaoise this year were two of my fondest memories supporting Ros and a privilege to be there. As with St. Bridgets, he always played football in the right spirit and attractive to watch when we were not out of our depth. I did feel he had taken this team as far as he could go, and next year would serve no one any benefit. Might of course regret saying that because we are not blessed with options. In fairness he did all small counties a favour by highlighting how difficult it is from a resource perspective, both money and players. He used his media savvy to go out in a good way.

Trying to compose yourself after the nonsense you posted about McStay rings very hollow here.
Post by: weareros on September 05, 2018, 07:11:24 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 05, 2018, 06:54:46 PM
Quote from: weareros on September 05, 2018, 06:21:46 PM

Trying to compose yourself after the nonsense you posted about McStay rings very hollow here.

Everything I criticised McStay and his mgt team for was football related and take nothing back, in particular playing light forwards as backs, which I hope the new mgr will correct. And I have praised what was praiseworthy too. You on the other hand are in online arguments with not only nearly everyone in Roscommon but every other county person, too. Where you get the time and energy I don't know.
Post by: Rossfan on September 05, 2018, 07:32:49 PM
A dramatic evening in Roscommon as our 4th joust with an army officer ends badly.
I wonder can Kevin take his eejiteen cheerleader with him and lock him away from all technology for a month so people can have adult discussions on this and other subjects.
None of us critics of the management posted nonsense about McStay or McHale -we just pointed out what they had got wrong in managing our County team.
I wish them well personally and recognise Kevin's guts in leaving the waffle world for the real one.
Where do we go from here - one of our own or someone from the merry go round?
Post by: Syferus on September 05, 2018, 07:34:55 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 05, 2018, 07:32:49 PM
A dramatic evening in Roscommon as our 4th joust with an army officer ends badly.
I wonder can Kevin take his eejiteen cheerleader with him and lock him away from all technology for a month so people can have adult discussions on this and other subjects.
None of us critics of the management posted nonsense about McStay or McHale -we just pointed out what they had got wrong in managing our County team.
I wish them well personally and recognise Kevin's guts in leaving the waffle world for the real one.
Where do we go from here - one of our own or someone from the merry go round?

You posted nearly exclusively personalised nonsense for three years. Takes some neck to deny what's in black and white.
Post by: Rossfan on September 05, 2018, 07:36:27 PM
Shut you stupid gob.
I never posted personalised stuff against the man.
Your a vile evil yoke.
Post by: Syferus on September 05, 2018, 07:43:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 05, 2018, 07:36:27 PM
Shut you stupid gob.
I never posted personalised stuff against the man.
Your a vile evil yoke.

"€€€€€€€€€€€€"

"Cool clean cut hero smileyfacesmileyface"

QED.
Post by: seafoid on September 05, 2018, 08:56:12 PM
Something sad about this inevitable news. McStay always came across as decent and thoughtful as well as insightful. But the game is semi pro now and when counties with bigger populations get organised there is nothing for the Roscommons and Cavans.

There was one ambush

https://youtu.be/1q6otO_GLTY

and nothing else.
Orchard Park was talking about the Galway match in 98 a while ago. Ros could have won only for the ref and Galway weren't disorganised. They were very good. That seems like a different country.

The wider view is that Gaelic football is banjaxed
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 05, 2018, 10:22:06 PM
Rossfan and Syf. The dreamteam.
Post by: moysider on September 05, 2018, 10:40:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 05, 2018, 08:56:12 PM
Something sad about this inevitable news. McStay always came across as decent and thoughtful as well as insightful. But the game is semi pro now and when counties with bigger populations get organised there is nothing for the Roscommons and Cavans.

There was one ambush

and nothing else.
Orchard Park was talking about the Galway match in 98 a while ago. Ros could have won only for the ref and Galway weren't disorganised. They were very good. That seems like a different country.

The game has evolved and will continue to do so. Banjaxed is a way of looking at it of course. Realistically it is a long time since a smaller population county won an AI.
The game itself has had incremental leaps forwards over the years. In more recent times the Heffo revolution upped the ante. Micko cranked it up in Kerry. There was another sea-change at end of 80s when likes of Meath brought intensity levels up another notch.

Tyrone and Armagh brought a more regimental and defensive savvy approach in early 2000s that left counties like Galway, Down and Meath floundering. Counties that had recently had considerable success.

Jim McGuinness brought defensive approach to a new level altogher and again it worked. Last couple of years it looked like Mickey Harte was playing Ultra McGuiness.

Dublin's approach is based on minding possession at all costs and patiently creating opportunities. They have 5/6 players that are brilliantly suited to that gameplan. Cluxton, Fenton, McCarty, McCaffrey, Kilkenny and Mannion are all 9/10 players and would be great in any gameplan anyway. The others are not bad either!

Last Sunday's AI final was very enjoyable. It was actually a very open game. There was space there for Dublin to exploit from the off, but they seemed a bit sluggish at the start. Only one point on the board after 17 minutes was more about their lack of control early than blanket Tyrone defence. Tyrone were creating chances the other end too and were very wasteful throughout the game.

The game swung after @20 mins because Tyrone lost their eary control when errors started creeping in. Dublin as such didn't have to do anything special -for them - to swing it.

The pattern down the years is that a county steals a march on others with a fairly radical new approach, backed up with enough quality players to make it work. I don't see any difference this time. To beat Dublin you have to be able to control the game. You can't control the game without monopolising possession. Very few counties will have enough of the type of players that can do that.
Post by: Rossfan on September 05, 2018, 11:47:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 05, 2018, 10:22:06 PM
Bates Maughan and Horan any day ;D
Post by: moysider on September 06, 2018, 12:07:02 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 05, 2018, 11:47:42 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 05, 2018, 10:22:06 PM
Bates Maughan and Horan any day ;D

I suspect they might manage to get along better!
Post by: Rossfan on September 06, 2018, 12:11:01 AM
Can take imagine being stuck with Syfīn for a whole day :-\
Post by: moysider on September 06, 2018, 12:32:18 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 06, 2018, 12:11:01 AM

Well I gave up on this forum for some time - wonder why?!
But some of ye lads seem to love bickering all day long, every bloody day. Ye gotta love each other to keep the 'old married couple' act going because ye are not going to change anything ye are arguing about.
Post by: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 12:48:35 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 06, 2018, 12:32:18 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 06, 2018, 12:11:01 AM

Well I gave up on this forum for some time - wonder why?!
But some of ye lads seem to love bickering all day long, every bloody day. Ye gotta love each other to keep the 'old married couple' act going because ye are not going to change anything ye are arguing about.

You're here now big man.. addicted just like the rest of us.
Post by: tippabu on September 06, 2018, 09:22:37 AM
 On a serious note, who would ye like to see in now? Rory Gallagher? Like tipp roscommon badly need a solid defensive structure put in place but would he go too far or given roscommon forwards would he adapt from the style he has at fermanagh. Even the likes of rochford, unlikely but would ye be happy with someone like that or is there someone within the county?
Post by: oliverkelly on September 06, 2018, 09:40:06 AM
Quote from: tippabu on September 06, 2018, 09:22:37 AM
On a serious note, who would ye like to see in now? Rory Gallagher? Like tipp roscommon badly need a solid defensive structure put in place but would he go too far or given roscommon forwards would he adapt from the style he has at fermanagh. Even the likes of rochford, unlikely but would ye be happy with someone like that or is there someone within the county?

Would not be happy with Rochford or Gallagher but i dont even think they would be intrested anyway. We will end up with someone like Dineen or Casey. Lads that will try their best but just wont be able to improve us. The lads heading overseas will be followed by a few more heading away next year.
Post by: Rossfan on September 06, 2018, 09:59:19 AM
Who we might get depends on whether " Benny Factor" keeps the wallet open or closed.
If closed we're going for one of our own who'll get expenses and free dinners if lucky.
Fergal is the first name that will come to mind but after what elements did to him in 2016......
Cake was U20 manager this year but acording to some was not the best.
David Casey up and coming, did very well with St Croans and Aughnasheelin.  However apart from assisting in 2016 gas no other Inter County experience.
Nigel (just to finish Syf off altogether), Mark  Dowd, Paul Tully or Paul Staunton have managed recent County under age teams.
And of course there's Gay Sheerin.

If €€s available then there are a number of journeyman professionals from the merry go round looking for positions.
Post by: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 10:03:52 AM
Better to spend the cash on a good coach and get a cheap manager than the reverse.
Post by: spuds on September 06, 2018, 10:08:52 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 10:03:52 AM
Better to spend the cash on a good coach and get a cheap manager than the reverse.
Didn't ye get a brand new shiny coach there the last few years?
Post by: Rossfan on September 06, 2018, 10:58:23 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 10:03:52 AM
The reverse is what we had last few years  :-\
Post by: seafoid on September 06, 2018, 11:38:19 AM
I was reading McStay's parting shot.

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/its-been-challenging-kevin-mcstay-steps-down-as-roscommon-boss-and-wont-be-returning-to-senior-intercounty-management-37286731.html

How much does it cost per year to keep the Roscommon footballers in the style to which they have become accustomed?
Post by: seafoid on September 06, 2018, 11:45:32 AM
Quote from: moysider on September 05, 2018, 10:40:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 05, 2018, 08:56:12 PM

There was one ambush

and nothing else.

The game has evolved and will continue to do so. Banjaxed is a way of looking at it of course. Realistically it is a long time since a smaller population county won an AI.
The game itself has had incremental leaps forwards over the years. In more recent times the Heffo revolution upped the ante. Micko cranked it up in Kerry. There was another sea-change at end of 80s when likes of Meath brought intensity levels up another notch.

Tyrone and Armagh brought a more regimental and defensive savvy approach in early 2000s that left counties like Galway, Down and Meath floundering. Counties that had recently had considerable success.

Jim McGuinness brought defensive approach to a new level altogher and again it worked. Last couple of years it looked like Mickey Harte was playing Ultra McGuiness.

Dublin's approach is based on minding possession at all costs and patiently creating opportunities. They have 5/6 players that are brilliantly suited to that gameplan. Cluxton, Fenton, McCarty, McCaffrey, Kilkenny and Mannion are all 9/10 players and would be great in any gameplan anyway. The others are not bad either!

Last Sunday's AI final was very enjoyable. It was actually a very open game. There was space there for Dublin to exploit from the off, but they seemed a bit sluggish at the start. Only one point on the board after 17 minutes was more about their lack of control early than blanket Tyrone defence. Tyrone were creating chances the other end too and were very wasteful throughout the game.

The game swung after @20 mins because Tyrone lost their eary control when errors started creeping in. Dublin as such didn't have to do anything special -for them - to swing it.

The pattern down the years is that a county steals a march on others with a fairly radical new approach, backed up with enough quality players to make it work. I don't see any difference this time. To beat Dublin you have to be able to control the game. You can't control the game without monopolising possession. Very few counties will have enough of the type of players that can do that.
The game is always changing but what is different now is the gestation period for a top level
county footballer.  20 years ago it was much shorter because the S&C wasn't emphasised. Now it is and that together with the art of building a team means only a few counties can compete. It also means dominant teams stay on top longer.
Smaller counties like Ros find this setup really hard because it is not just about talent. It is also about time commitment over several years. So the dropout rate is higher.

Maybe the inter county system is goosed.
Post by: oliverkelly on September 06, 2018, 11:57:38 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 06, 2018, 11:38:19 AM
I was reading McStay's parting shot.

https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/its-been-challenging-kevin-mcstay-steps-down-as-roscommon-boss-and-wont-be-returning-to-senior-intercounty-management-37286731.html

How much does it cost per year to keep the Roscommon footballers in the style to which they have become accustomed?

Not sure of a figure but i would say 90% of the panel is based outside of the county with the majority in Dublin. Paying travel expenses and transporting lads down is a monsterous expense plus feeding these lads who miss out on dinners while been stuck in a car most the evening. The likes of Galway and Dublin are lucky they a 3rd level education and decent employment within their counties they dont need to spend as much on travel
Post by: sligoman2 on September 06, 2018, 12:47:45 PM
80% of Connacht senior county managers have resigned in the last 2 months.  75% of those vacancies are still unfilled.

Football is definitely in a dark period nationally and especially in the west..
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2018, 12:53:15 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 06, 2018, 12:47:45 PM
80% of Connacht senior county managers have resigned in the last 2 months.  75% of those vacancies are still unfilled.

Jesus that's some stat....you could have just said 4 and 3 :P
Post by: sligoman2 on September 06, 2018, 01:01:16 PM
80 > 4

75 > 3

It's all a numbers game..
Post by: Oldira on September 06, 2018, 01:10:26 PM
I am old enough to remember the 70s and 80s. In 1981/82 interest in football was really low. The 1981 season was a damp squib and in 82 only 17000 turned up for an All Ireland Semi final. Offaly then casued a massive upset and interest was rekindled. Dublin will come back to the back. In fact I would argue its happenning now. One Cluxton goes Dublin will be in bother.
As for Roscommon we are not a top 8 team but are a top 10 team. A lot of managers would be interested in the job but going for some journeyman will not benefit us. I doubt Rochford would take a step that far down so how about one of his backroom team? Tony McEntee would definitely bring some steel and defensive nous. I would thik he would love a tilt at management and a division 1 team would be a good start for him. There is absolutely nobody within the county worthy of the job yet.
Post by: shark on September 06, 2018, 01:16:17 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 06, 2018, 12:47:45 PM

I've been saying this for a while now. There is huge apathy out there among the playing population. For the vast majority of players there is no realistic possibility of getting enough out of inter-county football for what one has to put in to it. There are too many other things to do in life, thankfully.
Post by: larryin89 on September 06, 2018, 01:18:47 PM
You'd imagine mcantee would be a good addition to Ros. For the past 4/5 years Roscommon have lacked that bit of Steel to push on to the next level .
Post by: Maroon Manc on September 06, 2018, 01:22:38 PM
Its a great job for someone using it as a stepping stone for a bigger job
Post by: sligoman2 on September 06, 2018, 01:43:30 PM
Quote from: Oldira on September 06, 2018, 01:10:26 PM
I am old enough to remember the 70s and 80s. In 1981/82 interest in football was really low. The 1981 season was a damp squib and in 82 only 17000 turned up for an All Ireland Semi final. Offaly then casued a massive upset and interest was rekindled. Dublin will come back to the back. In fact I would argue its happenning now. One Cluxton goes Dublin will be in bother.
As for Roscommon we are not a top 8 team but are a top 10 team. A lot of managers would be interested in the job but going for some journeyman will not benefit us. I doubt Rochford would take a step that far down so how about one of his backroom team? Tony McEntee would definitely bring some steel and defensive nous. I would thik he would love a tilt at management and a division 1 team would be a good start for him. There is absolutely nobody within the county worthy of the job yet.

1981 was a damp squib for Roscommon because they were in the All-ireland the previous year and got a good beating in Markievicz the following year.  It wasn't as damp for Sligo people...
Post by: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 01:46:13 PM

By either league or championship or both, Roscommon are a top eight team, and consistently so..
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2018, 01:47:06 PM
Tony McEntee is a non starter lads...how would someone like him make a go of it without the backing of Syferus?  He'd be on a loser from the minute he took the job
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on September 06, 2018, 02:18:48 PM
I only see this as a good thing from a Roscommon point of view... They conceded 4-24, 4-24 and 0-20 in the Super 8 and after the Dublin game Kevin Mc Stay  was talking about putting a "defensive system in,in the winter for the 2019 season", after two full years in the job.  ???   Roscommon have shown themselves to be a better team than Cavan over the last number of years and Cavan gave Tyrone a battle  to the finish and conceded 0-18. Roscommon massively underachieved this year in the Championship and have loads of talent.
Post by: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 02:21:38 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2018, 01:47:06 PM
Tony McEntee is a non starter lads...how would someone like him make a go of it without the backing of Syferus?  He'd be on a loser from the minute he took the job

With the rumours surrounding McEntee out west I'd be glad if he's a non-runner.. our board is prone to bad decisions, though.

Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on September 06, 2018, 02:18:48 PM
I only see this as a good thing from a Roscommon point of view... They conceded 4-24, 4-24 and 0-20 in the Super 8 and after the Dublin game Kevin Mc Stay  was talking about putting a "defensive system in,in the winter for the 2019 season", after two full years in the job.  ???   Roscommon have shown themselves to be a better team than Cavan over the last number of years and Cavan gave Tyrone a battle  to the finish and conceded 0-18. Roscommon massively underachieved this year in the Championship and have loads of talent.

We don't have loads of talent and we will have even less next year. McStay was our best manager in a quarter of a century and despite a few games where our defensive frailties ended the contests early, he got us to about the level anyone could realistically expect over the course of his three seasons.
Post by: seafoid on September 06, 2018, 02:38:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 02:21:38 PM

With the rumours surrounding McEntee out west I'd be glad if he's a non-runner.. our board is prone to bad decisions, though.

We don't have loads of talent and we will have even less next year. McStay was our best manager in a quarter of a century and despite a few games where our defensive frailties ended the contests early, he got us to about the level anyone could realistically expect over the course of his three seasons.
If Galway and Mayo are on the other side of the draw , Ros need to win one match to get to
the last 8.
Cavan don't have that sort of luxury. If they did make it maybe they wouldn't lose their 3 matches.
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 06, 2018, 03:00:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 01:46:13 PM

By either league or championship or both, Roscommon are a top eight team, and consistently so..

If you can't stay up in Div 1 and Roscommon will be odds on for relegation again in 2019 then you aren't a top 8 league team and reaching the last 8 of the championship isn't a enough to rated top 8 either. Top 10 is right with the potential to rise to the top 8 if the new manager can get Roscommon defending better.
Post by: shark on September 06, 2018, 03:10:38 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on September 06, 2018, 03:00:36 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 01:46:13 PM

If you can't stay up in Div 1 and Roscommon will be odds on for relegation again in 2019 then you aren't a top 8 league team and reaching the last 8 of the championship isn't a enough to rated top 8 either. Top 10 is right with the potential to rise to the top 8 if the new manager can get Roscommon defending better.

These designations are utterly pointless. Dublin are number 1. Everyone else lost. That's sport.
Post by: weareros on September 06, 2018, 03:11:20 PM
Quote from: seafoid on September 06, 2018, 02:38:54 PM

If Galway and Mayo are on the other side of the draw , Ros need to win one match to get to
the last 8.
Cavan don't have that sort of luxury. If they did make it maybe they wouldn't lose their 3 matches.

We were blessed with easy draws last few years. I expect that to stop this year and that will be a good thing. The reality is we have not beaten a standing division 1 team since 2001 in championship when we bet both Mayo and Galway. Mayo were NFL champs, Galway eventual All-Ireland champs. That actually makes your countyman, John Tobin, our most successful manager in last twenty years.

Des Newton managed to beat an Armagh team that were relegated to Div 2 that year, and McStay managed to beat a Galway team that were promoted to Div 1 but were Div 2 that year. This year we beat Leitrim and an Armagh team minus a lot of good players this year, and that secured us an easy qtr final and then got almighty hammerings as reality set in. Some spin that as success but of course are just codding themselves. The dressing room was lost. Our county board and management had plans for another year. We needed change. I will nail my colors now that these lads will improve under new management.

Post by: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 03:16:02 PM
Quote from: weareros on September 06, 2018, 03:11:20 PM

the last 8.

We were blessed with easy draws last few years. I expect that to stop this year and that will be a good thing. The reality is we have not beaten a standing division 1 team since 2001 in championship when we bet both Mayo and Galway. Mayo were NFL champs, Galway eventual All-Ireland champs. That actually makes your countyman, John Tobin, our most successful manager in last twenty years.

Des Newton managed to beat an Armagh team that were relegated to Div 2 that year, and McStay managed to beat a Galway team that were promoted to Div 1 but were Div 2 that year. This year we beat Leitrim and an Armagh team minus a lot of good players this year, and that secured us an easy qtr final and then got almighty hammerings as reality set in. Some spin that as success but of course are just codding themselves. The dressing room was lost. Our county board and management had plans for another year. We needed change. I will nail my colors now that these lads will improve under new management.

Nothing easy about getting to a QF with Roscommon.

Best Roscommon manager of my lifetime. Thanks Kevin. Now, back to being mediocre..
Post by: weareros on September 06, 2018, 03:22:53 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 03:16:02 PM

Best Roscommon manager of my lifetime. Thanks Kevin. Now, back to being mediocre..

Even you could have qualified with that draw. But we are better off getting Mayo or Galway in an early round in Connacht and earn our way there. We'll actually be a better team for it, or know we are not good enough sooner.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2018, 03:36:13 PM
Syferus in his rumours abound shocker ;D. I've heard enough about what was going on from much better sources than you and the failings of Mayo were very not from the line.
Post by: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 03:53:39 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2018, 03:36:13 PM
Syferus in his rumours abound shocker ;D. I've heard enough about what was going on from much better sources than you and the failings of Mayo were very not from the line.

I'm sure your sources would say that.. Tony should be able to build a castle with the fees he's been charging so he'll probably survive without the Roscommon job for a while..
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on September 06, 2018, 03:55:56 PM

the last 8.

The Rossies will hardly be blessed again with ending up on the opposite side of the draw to both Galway and Mayo for the 4th year on the trot.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2018, 03:58:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 03:53:39 PM

I'm sure your sources would say that.. Tony should be able to build a castle with the fees he's been charging so apparently charging so he'll probably survive without the Roscommon job for a while..

What if he gets the job Syf?  Will you back him or will your vitriol continue?
Post by: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 04:09:10 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on September 06, 2018, 03:58:13 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 06, 2018, 03:53:39 PM

I'm sure your sources would say that.. Tony should be able to build a castle with the fees he's been charging so apparently charging so he'll probably survive without the Roscommon job for a while..

What if he gets the job Syf?  Will you back him or will your vitriol continue?

I'd give him a chance. Nige on the other hand..
Post by: Rossfan on September 06, 2018, 04:09:44 PM
I see eejiteen still posting nonsense about his cool clean hero being the best manager in quarter of a century.
As the Cyaavan man said talking about a defebsive plan at the end of year 3 :o.
As well as most Rossies here it seems players too had lost confidence in the 2 Macs' managerial abilities ( and maybe Benny Factor as well).
Karma being what it is Nigel Dineen will probably get the job.
Post by: Orchard park on September 06, 2018, 04:43:21 PM
Quote from: weareros on September 06, 2018, 03:11:20 PM

the last 8.

Most woukd settle for beating leitrim and Armagh to get there ...... best in 25 yesrs...... John Tobin arguably achieved more with less
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 06, 2018, 04:50:41 PM
Quote from: weareros on September 06, 2018, 03:22:53 PM

Even you could have qualified with that draw. But we are better off getting Mayo or Galway in an early round in Connacht and earn our way there. We'll actually be a better team for it, or know we are not good enough sooner.

In fairness the tougher Super 8 group with no weeks rest before round 1 was where Roscommon have already found out they weren't good enough and i think 2019 should be the year to improve especially in defence.