China Coronavirus

Started by lurganblue, January 23, 2020, 09:52:32 AM

Seaney

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2020, 01:56:01 PM
More than 2.8m tests had been conducted in Kashgar by Sunday afternoon and the rest will be completed within two days, according to city officials.

Like what the f**k is wrong with doing massive tests like that here?

In a couple of days the whole of Ireland could be tested and those that test positive isolate ta feck!! along with their family!

And as soon as one is tested, and hour later they could get it, so how often is one to get tested, daily, weekly, monthly?

Quote from: Seaney on October 26, 2020, 02:22:09 PM
More than 2.8m tests had been conducted in Kashgar by Sunday afternoon and the rest will be completed within two days, according to city officials.

In a couple of days the whole of Ireland could be tested and those that test positive isolate ta feck!! along with their family!

And as soon as one is tested, and hour later they could get it, so how often is one to get tested, daily, weekly, monthly?

So you don't think mass testing is a good idea?

Seaney

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2020, 02:23:40 PM

Quare place this, everyone put words in others mouths, or just makes up lies.  I was making the point if you are negative, you are only negative the moment the swab leaves your throat, just walking away you could get it, so how often should one get tested, daily, weekly, monthly?

GetOverTheBar

You do mass testing to see where you are at. It nails asymptomatic cases and closes the net as opposed to what we are doing here which is moving one finger to stop the water dripping out whilst another leak forms....

So to broadly speak, mass testing over 2 or 3 days. You get your result....no Covid, great. Go about your daily life as normal. If you have it, no ifs or buts. You just have to suck it up and do the 2 weeks. That.....very basically is how they stamped it out in China to the extent those pictures of the pool parties were doing the rounds there awhile ago.

Would most people not be in favour of an actual direction as opposed to this nonsense here we insist of "circuit breakers" to basically buy time and hope for the best? The only real reason I can think of why they are doing this series of lockdowns is because they must be fairly confident in the vaccine in the coming months (which I hope is the reason of course).

Quote from: Seaney on October 26, 2020, 02:27:16 PM

Quare place this, everyone put words in others mouths, or just makes up lies.  I was making the point if you are negative, you are only negative the moment the swab leaves your throat, just walking away you could get it, so how often should one get tested, daily, weekly, monthly?

So is that an answer or did you just give me another question? Where did the lies bit come from?

Seaney

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2020, 02:30:13 PM

So is that an answer or did you just give me another question? Where did the lies bit come from?

Did you not give me another question, in relation to my question?  ::)  The lies are everywhere, some folk on here seriously think they have a contribution to make.

Quote from: Seaney on October 26, 2020, 02:34:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 26, 2020, 02:30:13 PM

Did you not give me another question, in relation to my question?  ::)  The lies are everywhere, some folk on here seriously think they have a contribution to make.

To answer your question.... The person gets tested goes home or he's at home with the home testing kit, he stays there until he's given the result. If he's driven to the place then he'll be alone or if he's had to go with someone they'll get tested too.

Now, maybe you can answer me now, is mass testing not a good idea? 

Seaney

Yes it is, but it won't happen.

Seaney

The question still remains when he or she is given the negative result, he or she could walk out the door and get it, so do you get tested weekly?

Quote from: Seaney on October 26, 2020, 02:49:16 PM
The question still remains when he or she is given the negative result, he or she could walk out the door and get it, so do you get tested weekly?

No if they are given a negative result they stay in as they will need to wait until all the results are given, that's why its got to be mass testing so everyone is getting tested in mass, otherwise it wouldn't be mass testing and we'd be doing what we are just doing now, and that be daft.

so no getting tested weekly, just have the app and make sure the track and trace system is working!

Seaney

Ok so essentially a 3 / 4 day total lockdown instead of these mad 2 week lockdown rolling on, in theory it is a sound plan.

JohnDenver

Mass testing is good in theory to find out who's infected and narrow down the spread.

But it's not worth a fiddlers if the air and sea ports are still open, with no mandatory quarantine or testing in place for people entering the entire island of Ireland.  That's basically what's happening in NZ and Australia - but how could that be applied here with the amount of people that need to travel to england etc every week for work.

Ed Ricketts

FFS, lads. China can mass test 4.7 million people in a few days because China is f**king massive with virtually limitless resources.

There are 1,393 million people in China.
There are 6.8 million people in Ireland.

Proportionally, what China is doing is like Ireland testing the whole of Omagh or Mullingar over a few days. It could be done, but unlike in China, COVID is everywhere here so there's no point focussing all your attention on one town.

This mass testing idea is just naive nonsense with our current available resources.

And, even if in a parallel universe, where testing everyone was possible - what's the point? Huge numbers are currently running around in the full knowledge that they have the virus and don't give a shite. These selfish pricks would just reinfect the populace as quick as you thought you had a handle on things.
Doc would listen to any kind of nonsense and change it for you to a kind of wisdom.

Quote from: Ed Ricketts on October 26, 2020, 03:55:02 PM
FFS, lads. China can mass test 4.7 million people in a few days because China is f**king massive with virtually limitless resources.

Proportionally, what China is doing is like Ireland testing the whole of Omagh or Mullingar over a few days. It could be done, but unlike in China, COVID is everywhere here so there's no point focussing all your attention on one town.

This mass testing idea is just naive nonsense with our current available resources.

And, even if in a parallel universe, where testing everyone was possible - what's the point? Huge numbers are currently running around in the full knowledge that they have the virus and don't give a shite. These selfish pricks would just reinfect the populace as quick as you thought you had a handle on things.

I know the logistics is crazy and comparing is stupid but, and its a big but, surely the money spent and lost up to now would have been better spent at mass testing? if we need to quarantine areas  then do that, we'll get nowhere at the minute based on what you have said with the selfish pricks that go about not giving a shit!

GetOverTheBar

Quote from: Ed Ricketts on October 26, 2020, 03:55:02 PM

It's fair to say China has a slight advantage when it comes to getting the population to comply.