George Hook

Started by Boycey, September 13, 2017, 02:01:49 PM

foxcommander

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 13, 2017, 05:34:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 13, 2017, 05:00:53 PM
The whole episode is cynical in the extreme. This miserable ould p***k is making a career, cynically supported by Newstalk in pursuit of ratings, out of copying the right-wing American shock-jocks. As somebody mentioned, there is now a formulaic three-minute rant at the start or every show where he selects the latest anti-immigrant, anti-progressive, anti-science or general right wing cause celebre and works himself into a pseudo-frenzy in a blatant attempt to get the text and twitter machines hopping.

Then, when he oversteps the mark, his employers give him a scripted apology to read out while they rub their hands with satisfaction that the formula is working.
Indeed. Meanwhile the poisonous ideology leaks out into society and before you know it you get neo-Nazis openly marching in the street and extremists elected into office. Some people don't seem to realise how dangerous some ideas are.

Ed Murray - Seattle.
There you go lefties!!

Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Quote from: foxcommander on September 13, 2017, 11:42:53 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on September 13, 2017, 05:34:13 PM
Quote from: Hardy on September 13, 2017, 05:00:53 PM
The whole episode is cynical in the extreme. This miserable ould p***k is making a career, cynically supported by Newstalk in pursuit of ratings, out of copying the right-wing American shock-jocks. As somebody mentioned, there is now a formulaic three-minute rant at the start or every show where he selects the latest anti-immigrant, anti-progressive, anti-science or general right wing cause celebre and works himself into a pseudo-frenzy in a blatant attempt to get the text and twitter machines hopping.

Then, when he oversteps the mark, his employers give him a scripted apology to read out while they rub their hands with satisfaction that the formula is working.
Indeed. Meanwhile the poisonous ideology leaks out into society and before you know it you get neo-Nazis openly marching in the street and extremists elected into office. Some people don't seem to realise how dangerous some ideas are.

Ed Murray - Seattle.
There you go lefties!!

You remembered your login for your alt account I see.

Quote from: Rudi on September 13, 2017, 02:34:05 PM
This one will probably end Hook. A poor choice of words but the over reaction by various groups and of course the leftie bandwagon is beyond belief.  Freedom of speech me hole. He also apologised so what more can he do? Now w**k%rs like Fintan O Tool jump on his grave. Mary Coughlan walks off a show. I read her book she describes a scene where she is so off her tits her young child has to hold her breast into her infants mouth to breast feed. Yet she feels the need to slaughter Hook over a poor choice of words. Stop the world I want to get off.

What would you or George Hook or anyone else say if it was a lad who got hammered, went back to a house party and then got raped by a man? Would it still be a case that he should have stayed sober enough. We've all ended up passed out at a random house party.

It's always the rapist fault, without fail

Richard Keys
Andy Gray
Eric Bristow
Kevin Myers
George Hook

are the ones I can remember. None of them did anything illegal.
The problem with lynch mobs is the counterreaction.
In the US the alt right and 4 Chan feed off feminist/minority lynch mobs.
Zionist Jews love leveraging the Christian minority to shut down debate on Israel for example. It isn't very strategic imo.
You cannot say x Jew is an ass hole or y Jew is greedy . That would be antisemitic. You can say it about Derry people or anyone else.
Sacking Myers wont stop Ísrael collapsing.
Sacking Hook will not change the experience of being raped in Ireland. It won't change the ubiquity of violent porn or misogyny, the reality of class  in the justice system or the politics of cheap alcohol.

Who benefits from all the energy?

It is all bullshit

Esmarelda

Quote from: seafoid on September 14, 2017, 12:40:07 AM
Richard Keys
Andy Gray
Eric Bristow
Kevin Myers
George Hook

Zionist Jews love leveraging the Christian minority to shut down debate on Israel for example. It isn't very strategic imo.
You cannot say x Jew is an ass hole or y Jew is greedy . That would be antisemitic. You can say it about Derry people or anyone else.
Sacking Hook will not change the experience of being raped in Ireland. It won't change the ubiquity of violent porn or misogyny, the reality of class  in the justice system or the politics of cheap alcohol.

It is all bullshit
I assume your last line is referring to all the other lines above it.

Who said anybody did anything illegal? Nobody. What's the relevance of saying that none of them did anything illegal? There is none.

What's your contention? You should only lose your job if you do something illegal? Are you happy, like Fearon, for Hook to exercise his right to his opinion on the airwaves with no limitations?

I hope George gets the boot and goes home and expresses his opinion to the mirror or whoever is willing to listen to him until his dying day.

sid waddell

Eh, I'm pretty sure sexual harrassment, which is what Keys and Gray did, is illegal.

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 14, 2017, 12:35:55 AM
Quote from: Rudi on September 13, 2017, 02:34:05 PM
This one will probably end Hook. A poor choice of words but the over reaction by various groups and of course the leftie bandwagon is beyond belief.  Freedom of speech me hole. He also apologised so what more can he do? Now w**k%rs like Fintan O Tool jump on his grave. Mary Coughlan walks off a show. I read her book she describes a scene where she is so off her tits her young child has to hold her breast into her infants mouth to breast feed. Yet she feels the need to slaughter Hook over a poor choice of words. Stop the world I want to get off.

What would you or George Hook or anyone else say if it was a lad who got hammered, went back to a house party and then got raped by a man? Would it still be a case that he should have stayed sober enough. We've all ended up passed out at a random house party.

It's always the rapist fault, without fail

I would say the same. And I have woken up on a toilet seat a few times.
In an ideal world when I'm having a few drinks and go for a smoke, I should be able to leave my pint, wallet and phone on the bar table and it should be there when I come back. However that would be naive. In the town I grew up, I was always told not to walk down certain parts on my own after a certain time.
George Hook is not very likable and his comments were out of line, he said sorry, yellow card, now move on.

sid waddell

Quote from: Rudi on September 14, 2017, 10:13:00 AM

George Hook is not very likable and his comments were out of line, he said sorry, yellow card, now move on.
The below was the yellow card offence.

But what Hook said last Friday should be a straight red anyway.

http://www.thejournal.ie/george-hook-comments-niamh-nic-domhnaill-2218672-Jul2015/

What about this. Hypothetically... you go into a relationship with somebody, be it marriage or be it you're living with someone. So now you're sharing a bed with somebody, yes, and obviously sexual congress takes place on a regular basis because you're living with someone. Is there not an implied consent therefore that you consent to sexual congress?

That's an implication that there can be no such thing as rape within either marriage or a co-habiting relationship.

Quote from: Esmarelda on September 14, 2017, 09:51:57 AM
Richard Keys
Andy Gray
Eric Bristow
Kevin Myers
George Hook

It is all bullshit

Who said anybody did anything illegal? Nobody. What's the relevance of saying that none of them did anything illegal? There is none.

What's your contention? You should only lose your job if you do something illegal? Are you happy, like Fearon, for Hook to exercise his right to his opinion on the airwaves with no limitations?

I hope George gets the boot and goes home and expresses his opinion to the mirror or whoever is willing to listen to him until his dying day.
Fearon is different

Hook and Myers apologised.
Losing your job because there is a lynch mob is wrong

the whole thing is polarising.

In a non polarised society there are agreed ways of dealing with people who may cause offence. there are courts but there are also understandings. 

Manufactured outrages which lead to lynch mobs and their justice have no place in a stable society.

Polarisation is a feature of societies going through economic meltdown. All means to attract and distract.  Don't look at the Euro architecture over there. Don't look at where your pension is invested.

If you really care about rape vote for someone who will address the structural issues that drive it.

Hook is a clown. He is not a Nazi.
The Nazis are all laughing at ye .

Quote from: sid waddell on September 14, 2017, 10:17:40 AM

http://www.thejournal.ie/george-hook-comments-niamh-nic-domhnaill-2218672-Jul2015/

What about this. Hypothetically... you go into a relationship with somebody, be it marriage or be it you're living with someone. So now you're sharing a bed with somebody, yes, and obviously sexual congress takes place on a regular basis because you're living with someone. Is there not an implied consent therefore that you consent to sexual congress?

That's an implication that there can be no such thing as rape within either marriage or a co-habiting relationship.

Also Sid, Hook is no excuse for what you wrote about Mrs Keady

sid waddell

Quote from: seafoid on September 14, 2017, 10:36:39 AM

Also Sid, Hook is no excuse for what you wrote about Mrs Keady
FFS.  ::)

I agree. I have often put my hand on the mrs rudi arse only to be told "not tonight". It ends there, its down to a half sally in seconds.

Esmarelda

Seafoid, are you suggesting that the likes of Hook and Myers apologising is from the heart and not as a means to getting away with what they said? Do you honestly think that either have different views to those they expressed?

The rest of your argument just regresses to the "PC Brigade Brigade" debate. Someone is outraged by something and someone like you sneers at the outrage. Sure I'll just throw another layer on it. I'm part of the PC Brigade Brigade Brigade and on we go.

If you think that Hook deserves to keep his job fine. Let's not complicate it by telling us how this always happens in certain economic or social conditions. It happens because Newstalk employed Hook and encourage his controversy for the sake of controversy. They've tried a similar approach with Paul Williams and, to a lesser extent, Ivan Yates. It's embarrassing.

Oh, and as for the apology, how many times is it that he can apologise and move on before he goes too far in your book? Maybe it's impossible to go too far? Here's a little more light reading for you to scoff at https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2017/sep/12/rape-culture-real-irish-shock-jock-george-hook-womens-voices-heard

sid waddell

Quote from: seafoid on September 14, 2017, 10:35:25 AM
Richard Keys
Andy Gray
Eric Bristow
Kevin Myers
George Hook

It is all bullshit

Fearon is different

In a non polarised society there are agreed ways of dealing with people who may cause offence. there are courts but there are also understandings. 

Manufactured outrages which lead to lynch mobs and their justice have no place in a stable society.

Polarisation is a feature of societies going through economic meltdown. All means to attract and distract.  Don't look at the Euro architecture over there. Don't look at where your pension is invested.

If you really care about rape vote for someone who will address the structural issues that drive it.

That you have to use the term "lynch mob" is a sure sign of a beaten argument.

Every defence I've seen of Hook has used the same techniques -

i) Establish imagined victimhood on the part of the actual bully. This is the primary tool the reactionary right-wing uses to try and drum up sympathy.

ii) Invoke bogus claims of "clamping down on free speech" or "thought control".

iii) Focussing on the irrelevant window dressing in the rest of Hook's comments rather than the actual lines which are cut and dried examples both of victim blaming. Hook says, in different words which mean the exact same thing, that the victim was "asking for it".

iv) Throw in a few catch all right-wing cliches - the usual nonsense - "PC brigade gone mad", "SJWs", "telling it like it is".

The people who defend Hook are the very people who most object when it is genuinely "told like it is".

Neither Hook nor Myers, and you can throw in the likes of Ian O'Doherty and John Waters and that non-entity of a troll John McGuirk, are victims in any form of the word.

They are professional contrarian bullies who use their pulpits to bully and stereotype actual victims, and their words cause real harm. 

Professional contrarians like that generally push it too far in the end and say something completely indefensible.

Hook went on a rant about "personal responsibility". Yet he exercises no personal responsibility.

And for Hook, the only "personal responsibility" he cares about is that of the victim. Not the perpetrator.

Newstalk has become a cesspit of misogynism and reactionary right-wing culture. And that's entirely by choice.

Quote from: sid waddell on September 14, 2017, 10:58:39 AM
Quote from: seafoid on September 14, 2017, 10:35:25 AM
Richard Keys
Andy Gray
Eric Bristow
Kevin Myers
George Hook

It is all bullshit

Fearon is different

That you have to use the term "lynch mob" is a sure sign of a beaten argument.

Every defence I've seen of Hook has used the same techniques -

i) Establish imagined victimhood on the part of the actual bully. This is the primary tool the reactionary right-wing uses to try and drum up sympathy.

ii) Invoke bogus claims of "clamping down on free speech" or "thought control".

iii) Focussing on the irrelevant window dressing in the rest of Hook's comments rather than the actual lines which are cut and dried examples both of victim blaming. Hook says, in different words which mean the exact same thing, that the victim was "asking for it".

iv) Throw in a few catch all right-wing cliches - the usual nonsense - "PC brigade gone mad", "SJWs", "telling it like it is".

The people who defend Hook are the very people who most object when it is genuinely "told like it is".

Neither Hook nor Myers, and you can throw in the likes of Ian O'Doherty and John Waters and that non-entity of a troll John McGuirk, are victims in any form of the word.

They are professional contrarian bullies who use their pulpits to bully and stereotype actual victims, and their words cause real harm. 

Professional contrarians like that generally push it too far in the end and say something completely indefensible.

Hook went on a rant about "personal responsibility". Yet he exercises no personal responsibility.

And for Hook, the only "personal responsibility" he cares about is that of the victim. Not the perpetrator.

Newstalk has become a cesspit of misogynism and reactionary right-wing culture. And that's entirely by choice.

there must be a saying for this kind of craic, a 'chancerism' maybe? When one person in an online argument rolls out the 'when you resort / use {fill in blank} is a sign you've lost the argument (with me as it happens which is handy)  ;D