The Poppy

Started by Hereiam, November 01, 2008, 11:09:25 PM

Where does the money from poppy sales go?

Jesus some of you lads are very easily offended . The poppy is a nice concept and like every symbol in the North some people will try to taint it .

Quote from: Puckoon on November 02, 2008, 12:38:49 PM
Where does the money from poppy sales go?
The UDA i believe

Quote from: Hardy on November 02, 2008, 11:16:30 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 02, 2008, 11:13:08 AMAnyway, i'm sure if Girls Aloud were in Ireland on March 17th they'd have no issue with wearing the poppy - why would they?

They'd get some funny looks, all the same.

Quote from: fred the red on November 02, 2008, 11:18:28 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on November 02, 2008, 11:13:08 AM
Quote from: comethekingdom on November 02, 2008, 10:11:45 AM
Fair play to Nadine coyle for standing up for herself and her nationality. will the other Girls aloud members all wear shamrocks on Paddy's day?

Is the shamrock the Irish equivalent of the poppy? Anyway, i'm sure if Girls Aloud were in Ireland on March 17th they'd have no issue with wearing the poppy - why would they?

im not sure what your point is here, i cant see them wearing the poppy in march.

Sorry - typo on my part! I meant that Girls Aloud would surely have no issue wearing the shamrock if they were in Ireland on March 17th.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on November 02, 2008, 12:08:42 AM
The unionists in Northern ireland use it as some sort of marker, a badge of identity. 

The one thing I can't stand is turning on the tv and everyone is wearing them for two weeks before the day, there is clearly some sort of policy that everyone must wear one if they're going to be on the tv whether it be presenters or guests and that is just wrong not to mention ironic!
The worst are the tossers who put the sticker on the car - i mean, wtf??  Maybe somebody should start a campaign "A poppy is just for armistice" ;)

Wearing paper poppies is an expression of British nationalism and imperialism. It is unacceptable to wear such a thing in any country given what the British have been up to over the years, but it is entirely unacceptable to do so in Ireland as we have been at the receiving end of this militarism. That TV presenters and others do so is a sign of the continuing sectarian nature of these TV stations.

It has nothing to do with the shamrock, which has no military connotations. It has nothing to do with commemorating the First World war, there will be gathering of Belgians, French, Austrians, Czech, Slovene, Italians and so forth to commemorate the First World War and there won't be single poppy on anyone's lapel.

QuoteWearing paper poppies is an expression of British nationalism and imperialism. It is unacceptable to wear such a thing in any country given what the British have been up to over the years, but it is entirely unacceptable to do so in Ireland as we have been at the receiving end of this militarism.
Yeah but those wearign it in Ireland support that militarism i.e. the state sponsored killing.

QuoteYeah but those wearign it in Ireland support that militarism i.e. the state sponsored killing.

Exactly. But some would have you believe that it is to do with the First World War. It is like wearing a Nazi Swastika and saying that you admire their fight against Stalin, and that you are not bothered about the other stuff. 

Quote from: armaghniac on November 02, 2008, 01:40:19 PM
Wearing paper poppies is an expression of British nationalism and imperialism. It is unacceptable to wear such a thing in any country given what the British have been up to over the years, but it is entirely unacceptable to do so in Ireland as we have been at the receiving end of this militarism. That TV presenters and others do so is a sign of the continuing sectarian nature of these TV stations.

It has nothing to do with the shamrock, which has no military connotations. It has nothing to do with commemorating the First World war, there will be gathering of Belgians, French, Austrians, Czech, Slovene, Italians and so forth to commemorate the First World War and there won't be single poppy on anyone's lapel.
So it's an elaborate ruse to annoy the papes in Ireland? You simply couldn't make up some of the stuff you read on here. Obviously someone does though!

Quote from: armaghniac on November 02, 2008, 01:40:19 PM
It has nothing to do with commemorating the First World war, there will be gathering of Belgians, French, Austrians, Czech, Slovene, Italians and so forth to commemorate the First World War and there won't be single poppy on anyone's lapel.

Could i not just be the way the British commemorate the First World War? Maybe those other nations have their own symbols for remembering the war. That doesn't necessarily invalidate the poppy as a symbol of commemoration, does it?

The origin of the poppy:
QuoteScarlet corn poppies (popaver rhoeas) grow naturally in conditions of disturbed earth throughout Western Europe. The destruction brought by the Napoleonic wars of the early 19th Century transformed bare land into fields of blood red poppies, growing around the bodies of the fallen soldiers.

In late 1914, the fields of Northern France and Flanders were once again ripped open as World War One raged through Europe's heart. Once the conflict was over the poppy was one of the only plants to grow on the otherwise barren battlefields.

I doubt there were too may Austrians, Czechs, Slovenians or Italians in the fields of northern France - i may be wrong.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 02, 2008, 12:33:53 AM
The thing that takes me to the fair is that the Unionists are always slabbering about the poppy being for everyone, but if Nationalists started wearing them they'd go nuts.
Really? Yoiur evidence for such a theory? This Unionist would be pleased, since it would be a sign that NI is possibly maturing sufficiently for individuals to behave according to their conscience, rather than according to what politicians/prelates/community spokespersons etc dictate.

On which point, I'd say SF/IRA would go nuts if Nationalists started wearing Poppies... ::)

Walking around belfast yesterday, i would say 20-25% of people were wearing their poppy. Considering the unionist population over here would be max 60% it is clear that the unionist community in Northern ireland feel the need to show their support for the poppy much more than their english counterparts  :-\
True enough, but "showing support for the poppy" should not automatically be conflated with fllaunting their Britishness, rubbing it in etc. There has always been a strong military tradition in NI*, more so than in other parts of the UK, so it is hardly unexpected that more people in NI should feel an affinity with the Poppy.

I've no doubt that many more people e.g. in garrison towns like Aldershot or Portsmouth etc wear the Poppy than e.g. in those parts of London where over 50% of the population was born outside the UK.

* - And in Ireland generally, prior to partition.

fred the red

Quote from: Evil Genius on November 02, 2008, 03:03:03 PM
Walking around belfast yesterday, i would say 20-25% of people were wearing their poppy. Considering the unionist population over here would be max 60% it is clear that the unionist community in Northern ireland feel the need to show their support for the poppy much more than their english counterparts  :-\
True enough, but "showing support for the poppy" should not automatically be conflated with fllaunting their Britishness, rubbing it in etc. There has always been a strong military tradition in NI*, more so than in other parts of the UK, so it is hardly unexpected that more people in NI should feel an affinity with the Poppy.

I've no doubt that many more people e.g. in garrison towns like Aldershot or Portsmouth etc wear the Poppy than e.g. in those parts of London where over 50% of the population was born outside the UK.

* - And in Ireland generally, prior to partition.

Eh, who mentioned London?

the original quote was referring to Bournemouth, a city where alot less than 50% of its population was born outside the UK. (probably simlilar to Belfast in fact).

el_cuervo_fc

What do people expect this young fella to do?  he's trying to win this competition.  I can't understand how some people can be so small minded

Quote from: Hereiam on November 02, 2008, 01:32:49 AM
I seen our man on x-factor had his on. He won't be gettin my vote now.  :(

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/sunday-life/single-minded-eoghan-14028166.html

Brave teen defies dissident threats over contribution to charity record for Army

X-factor star Eoghan Quigg last night defied sinister renegade republican threats by taking to the stage for the hit show. And Sunday Life today reveals the identity of the top dissident republican who has warned the Dungiven family could be in danger because of Eoghan's decision to perform on the new Help for Heroes single, Hero.

Our picture shows Republican Sinn Fein spokesman Richard Walsh who has called for a boycott of the single.

He once claimed that police tried to recruit him as an informer and is also a close associate of hardliner Ruairi O'Bradiagh. The single — produced to raise funds for British soldiers — is set to reach the No 1 spot today after selling more than 100,000 copies on the first day of its release.

But the release of the chart-topping track was overshadowed by web threats to the 16-year-old singer from diehard republicans.

One message read: "Lives at risk as X-Factor used to glorify Brit Army. This could put Dungiven hurler Eoghan Quigg in a tough position as he now has to sing for British troops."

Another poster also asked: "So will young Quigg be knee-capped when he gets back? This is not a very nice position to put Eoghan Quigg in." Speaking to the Sunday Life, Walsh — whose group is linked to the Continuity IRA — last night attempted to justify the anger directed at the singer.

The hardliner, who campaigns for Continuity IRA prisoners, said: "There's no doubt about it — there's a lot of anger in Dungiven and in the wider community about this.

"Eoghan is only a young fella, but I can understand why people are upset about his decision to appear on a song which honours the British war machine.

"I'm concerned this decision could be a problem for him and his family. I just wish his family would have been more responsible when allowing their son to participate in this song.

"Considering the town where he comes from and the fact people from Dungiven have suffered at the hands of the British Army, it is totally inappropriate for him to sing on this song.

"The X Factor bosses should also have done their home work and kept him out of the song. They may have put pressure on him, but he had every right to keep away from this project."

The 27-year-old Derry diehard has also chillingly warned that renegade violence is set to increase over the coming months, adding: "We can be satisfied that republican resistance to foreign occupation is on the rise.

"Hugh Orde may not miss any opportunity to label republicans as lunatics, but the reality is that only a lunatic would believe that republican resistance will cease once policing and justice have been devolved.

"The message from Lisnaskea, Roslea and Craigavon was that the British colonial police will never be welcome in our country.

"We must resist all attempts to bolster English rule in part of Ireland."

The teenager's dad Chris accused bigots of attempting to destroy his son's singing dream, added: "He's not a republican. We've lived through the Troubles but Eoghan was born in 1992 — he's far too young to know anything about this.

"He's in a singing competition, that's what's important. I'm annoyed there are still small-minded bigots here.

"Part of this is because he's a wee Catholic lad from Derry and some republicans are stirring it

up. I don't agree with Iraq, but that's nothing to do with it.

"This is for people who have lost limbs and lost their lives, whatever they were fighting for.

"They'll probably need a lot of help for the rest of their lives and that's fair enough. I'd a feeling there would be trouble over this. We don't want that. If the song is for the Army, so be it."

Worried X-Factor bosses also defended the young star's decision to appear in the single, adding: "Eoghan's political views played no part in his decision to join all the final acts in supporting the Help for Heroes campaign."

The threats were issued to the schoolboy in the same week that renegade republican godfathers vowed to cause "havoc" after today's controversial RIR homecoming parade.

Senior police chiefs were last night finalising security plans after it emerged they had spent over £400,000 in overtime during recent security operations against dissident republican activity throughout Ulster.

Cops signed up for over-time after PSNI Chief Constable Sir Hugh Orde was asked by MI5 to recruit more officers in the war against rival republican factions.

A senior security source also claimed MI5 were placing more emphasis on combating renegade republicans than muslim extremists.

Many of the officers will be on the frontline today in Belfast as tensions continue to rise over the controversial RIR homecoming parade.

Some of the police units deployed later today include the specialist E4A and District Mobile Support Units. The units have been deployed over fears the protests could be similar to the violence which erupted after the 'Love Ulster' parade was held in Dublin in 2006.

Said the source: "The threat from dissident republicans has been given top priority at MI5 and Sir Hugh has been told to get more officers. There are genuine fears over the parade because there will be so many opposing factions converging in the city and it just takes one person to kick-start serious disturbances."

A spokesman for the dissident republican Erigi group warned violence could erupt if their protesters are moved by police.

Said the spokesman: "Make no mistake about it — if there is trouble then blame will lie at the feet of the British."

"We have a right to engage in protest at the British war machine and we won't be forced off our own streets."

Assistant Chief Constable Alistair Finlay urged everyone to ensure parade and associated protest passes off peacefully.

He said: "Significant effort, in conjunction with parade and protest organisers and political and community representatives, has gone into the planning of Sunday's events. Our aim is to ensure the safety of all.

"Community leadership and personal responsibility will also play an important role in public safety. We are aware that there have been tensions building in the run up to the parade and protest. This is a time for cool heads.

"It is in everyone's interest for the day to pass off peacefully. The policing operation will be appropriate and proportionate to ensure public safety, minimum disruption and an early return to normality.

"However, we will not tolerate the activities of the very small number of people in society determined to cause trouble."

Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on November 02, 2008, 03:19:29 PM
Brave teen defies dissident threats over contribution to charity record for Army

Doubt it was much of a definance. Good Luck to him, he could wear clown nose and comical glasses for all I care. Each to their own. Poppy's never annoyed me and neither should it anyone. I just dislike the fact that certain people turn their noses up at people who don't and those who wear them for the wrong reasons.