Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 02:08:24 PM

Title: the new and improved official irish republican news thread
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 02:08:24 PM
i locked the last one and i cant post replies on it so sorry to the admins for opening a new one
i just hope no one tries to spoil this one too

(http://img240.imageshack.us/img240/6590/sf1jpgw560h560pk7.jpg)
Title: Re: the new and improved official irish republican news thread
Post by: Hardy on March 08, 2007, 02:09:56 PM
Admin - I think it's time ... don't you?
Post by: SlimShady on March 08, 2007, 02:10:54 PM
''funded by the northern bank robbery''

so the RSF is full of touts?! classy  :D
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 02:15:12 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 08, 2007, 02:09:56 PM
Admin - I think it's time ... don't you?
can you read?
i only started a new thread because i can not post on the old one
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 08, 2007, 02:16:34 PM

Quotecan you read?

Maybe admin is trying to tell you something

(http://www.taquitos.net/dbimages13/Tayto-PC-PickledOn.jpg)

(http://www.taquitos.net/dbimages13/Tayto-Spirals-SV.jpg)

(http://www.taquitos.net/dbimages13/Walkers-PC-Worcester.jpg)
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 02:20:16 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 08, 2007, 02:16:34 PM

Quotecan you read?

Maybe admin is trying to tell you something

i locked it myself because like croke park it had been spoiled
i can not unlock it myself
Post by: full back on March 08, 2007, 02:23:47 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 02:20:16 PM
i can not unlock it myself

You can unlock it yourself
Post by: magpie seanie on March 08, 2007, 02:30:21 PM
He's wrong about the Northen Bank Robbery though. That was George Clooney and a few other bucks.
Post by: downredblack on March 08, 2007, 03:02:17 PM
"Hate to admit this, but I have to agree with True Ulster Gael regarding Sinn Fein. They are being paid to administer British rule in the six counties no matter what way you look at it. Though I am sure Donagh will have an answer to that."

I'm sure they would tell you that they are working to dismantle British rule from the inside , the alternative being a group "Real Republicans" who want to change things from their armchair or barstool .
Post by: downredblack on March 08, 2007, 03:20:25 PM
"So Sinn Fein are being paid by the British to dismantle British Rule from within? In my opinion he who pays the piper calls he tune. And just to set you straight I am neither an Armchair or Barstool Republican."

Jaysus calm the nerves there will ya ? Wasn't implying your good self was an armchair Republican . The point I was trying to make was that these Independent Republicans can and will deliver nothing except to possably spliting the mainstream Republican vote . How this advances unity I don't know . Surely a party who could potentially be in government in both seats of power would have more influence than a party that could muster 40 young lads to its latest call for mass demonstration .
Post by: ONeill on March 08, 2007, 03:21:29 PM
Lads. I've a feeling this is the guy who writes sickening posts on McAnallan now and again. Be careful engaging with him.
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 03:22:26 PM
(http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/2997/gsemultipart28815vg4.jpg)
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 03:36:07 PM
Quote from: downredblack on March 08, 2007, 03:02:17 PM
"Hate to admit this, but I have to agree with True Ulster Gael regarding Sinn Fein. They are being paid to administer British rule in the six counties no matter what way you look at it. Though I am sure Donagh will have an answer to that."

I'm sure they would tell you that they are working to dismantle British rule from the inside , the alternative being a group "Real Republicans" who want to change things from their armchair or barstool .
are these the same barstools the provos/stoops2 tried to get celtic and man utd fans off last night to vote?
Post by: The Iceman on March 08, 2007, 03:41:52 PM
admin - seriously this lad needs to go and to the man himself you have no right to use Cormac's pic as your avatar.  If you knew him (which I doubt - cause then I would probably know you) then you would know he would want nothing to do with your right wing opinions or the rest of the crap you spew out.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 08, 2007, 03:45:40 PM
Used to drink this stuff by the bucket full in America, best cure for a hangover...

(http://gc.advancedmn.com/images/content/misc/amnroundtable_mountaindew.jpg)
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 03:46:29 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on March 08, 2007, 03:41:52 PM
admin - seriously this lad needs to go and to the man himself you have no right to use Cormac's pic as your avatar.  If you knew him (which I doubt - cause then I would probably know you) then you would know he would want nothing to do with your right wing opinions or the rest of the crap you spew out.
i dont know where to start laughing at readin that
right wing?
Post by: true ulster gael on March 08, 2007, 11:04:27 PM
(http://www.irishfreedomcommittee.net/GERRY_RUC_web.jpg)
Title: Media Blackout Gives Expected results
Post by: true ulster gael on March 10, 2007, 10:37:42 PM
Statement from Ruairí Ó Brádaigh, President, Republican Sinn Féin
March 9, 2007

Given the almost total media blackout of Republican Sinn Féin during the Stormont election the results for its candidates were only as expected. Even the name of Republican Sinn Féin was suppressed by the Stormont régime's electoral body and a compliant media followed suit. Our candidates were styled "Independents", taking away our coherent strategy and sense of direction.

Although not registered as a "party" at Leinster House for 40 years, the media in the 26 Counties do not class Republican Sinn Féin candidates as "Independents", but treat them as an organised body.   

Indeed, on the TG4 television programme Seacht Lá on polling day, a commentator [Tomás Tiernan] stated that there was a complete block on publicity for Republican Sinn Féin and that there appeared to have been an agreement between the various channels to this effect.   

The result was, that denied publicity and even their organisation's name, our six candidates were consigned to a welter of Independent candidates, without the distinction of the Republican Sinn Féin title and direction. Of course the harassment by the RUC/PSNI of our election workers continued during the campaign.   

As to the general results, the DUP is moving towards a monolithic Unionist Party such as existed up to the 1960s . With its increased vote it will impose even more humiliating terms on the Provisionals.   

The Provos, for their part, will go on to consolidate English rule here, to lead away from Irish national independence and secure lucrative positions of power for their leadership within the system.   

For Republican Sinn Féin the task must be to build support, to expose the direction of the Provisional leadership and the mis-use of the unionist population by their leaders and by unscrupulous English governments.   
Post by: GweylTah on March 10, 2007, 11:37:49 PM
Has your wet-dream Mr McGeough been released yet?

Post by: lynchbhoy on March 11, 2007, 09:44:40 AM
ruairi obradaigh has had his day. Wheel him back in and park him.

I loved mountain dew in the states. Pity its full of chemicals etc and cannot be sold in the EU.
Also think it has changed its taste since about 10 years ago. Not as nice as I remembered
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 11, 2007, 12:11:31 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on March 11, 2007, 10:35:50 AM
QuoteAlso think it has changed its taste since about 10 years ago. Not as nice as I remembered

Do you not think that is true for many foods that we liked years ago?  Is it not also possible that as we age our taste buds change and our memories soften to believe that we really liked it in the past?  I have found the same change with Kellogs Cornflakes, Wagon Wheels, Snowballs and a few others but the only thing that seems the same is Cadbury's Snack!
Cadbury's snack...mmmm.  I use to love wagon wheels but can't stand them now!  It's the same with northern cheese and onion crisps, they've been making them more and more cheesier.  Salt n Vineger are more vinegary too.  Since my taste buds have never changed and I eat the same things I did when I was 12 I think we can rule that out.  They just don't make things like they use to!
Title: Derry Provos campaign to control Irish medium schools
Post by: true ulster gael on March 12, 2007, 09:26:53 AM
Provisional Sinn Féin in Derry has been campaigning for years to get an irish-medium secondary school closed down so that another one can be set up under their control. Now it looks like they have achieved their goal and the school wil be closed from September.

History:

For about twenty years now, Derry Irish language enthusiasts have worked to establish a full Irish-medium primary and secondary education facility in the city. From the beginning it was a non-party political project and it still is. The first primary school, Bunscoil Cholmcille was started, got recognition and prospered. Then a secondary school, Meánscoil Dhoire was formed to provide for those pupils leaving the Bunscoil who wanted to continue their education through Irish. They did not have official recognition, and were forced to move between several ramshackle premises and scraped and worked to get it going and in 1998 the first students sat for their GCSE's. In the end they joined St Brigid's High School in Shantallow as an "Irish medium unit" on a separate site, to be eligible for government funding. Several naíscoileanna and two other bunscoileanna were started and the prospect looked good for the meánscoil because it seemed likely that there would be more intake from these bunscoileanna as soon as their pupils went through.

The Provos start sniffing around

But it didn't happen. At first it was reported that the head of one of the bunscoileanna, Gaelscoil Éadain Mhóir (a shinner), was telling their pupils not to go to the meánscoil. This seemed strange (some people started to suggest that it could have something to do with a possible grant of £2-3 million to extend that bunscoil as a "middle school" up to age 14 and then to develop further to 16 - under provo control). It didn't seem fair to those who had had to work under dreadful conditions to establish a meánscoil, only to have their work undermined by others who had own power agenda (and of course higher salaries would be involved for the headmaster and others! but maybe that's not relevant). Others who were pushing this agenda were Gearóid Ó hÉara, and Donncha Mac Niallais, both provo counsellers who are on the bunscoil's board of governers. Other members of this group then started a malisious whispering campaign against the Meánscoil, spreading false stories of teachers throwing chairs around, etc. Supporters of the Meánscoil put it down to Derry being a small place, jealousy, etc.
So it went on for several years and intake to the Meánscoil dropped from the moment this campaign started.

PSF strikes

Now, in the last few months, several things have happened. First, "Comhairle na Gaelscoilíochta", the body purporting to reperesent all the Irish-medium schools in the Six Counties, posted out a questionnaire to all parents of children in the bunscoileanna asking them for their support for setting up a "proper second-level school in Derry". This seemed strange considering that this body is supposed to represent the interests of the Meánscoil as well, until it was seen that the questionnaires were sent out by Réamaí Mathers - you guessed it, another provo, and good pal of Gearóid Ó hÉara. People protested, and Réamaí promised that he would send out another letter to correct this misinformation - it never happened.
Then, within a few weeks, Gearóid Ó hÉara and friends called a "closed" meeting in the city library for parents who would be interesting in setting up the provo meánscoil, and 150 attended. (where had their children been going to school all this time?), and the CCMS (the controling body of catholic schools).announced that they intended to close the school, a week later. A few days later, the teachers of the Meánscoil were told.
This means that the provos and comhailre na gaelscoilíochta were all in the know about what the CCMS intended long before the teachers themselves and it is obvious the Comhairle was secretly backing the provos all this time.
Another development yesterday was when Gearóid Ó hÉara was confronted about all this while he was shopping in Sainsbury's, he said that the teachers of the meánscoil would be "cleaned out", as they intended to start again from the very bottom.
This leaves the teachers of the meánscoil summarily dismissed and the pupils made to suddenly change to an English-medium school mid-course.

A couple of questions to any shinners reading this:
(1) Does PSF think this is a proper way to treat people who have made great sacrifices to build Irish-medium provision? Is it worthwhile to undermine a school so that they could have control of another one?
(2) Does PSF think this is a proper ways to deal with teachers as employees? Is this how they regard trade unionists?
(3) How much of the money going to be granted for their project will be unaccounted for, just as happened with the huge amount of money spent in the Conradh na Gaeilge headquarters in Derry - where the full-time receptionist doesn't even speaks Irish (but has good "connections")

Is this the way that PSF will gain power in Ireland - with a ballot paper in one hand and a backroom committee in the other?
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2007, 09:33:22 AM
What are your opinions on white mice, the sweetie ones?
Post by: true ulster gael on March 12, 2007, 09:43:03 AM
Quote from: GweylTah on March 10, 2007, 11:37:49 PM
Has your wet-dream Mr McGeough been released yet?
mc geough is still under ruc captivity
Post by: SlimShady on March 12, 2007, 09:44:59 AM
far rather have the brown chocolate mice. the ones with the strawberry stuff inside them were lethal!
Post by: true ulster gael on March 12, 2007, 09:53:24 AM
i am now warning that if other people keep spoiling my threads i will spoil theirs at random
take notice
Post by: SlimShady on March 12, 2007, 09:56:20 AM
*******shitting myself*******

Post by: GweylTah on March 12, 2007, 10:18:48 AM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 12, 2007, 09:53:24 AM
i am now warning that if other people keep spoiling my threads i will spoil theirs at random
take notice

Vague and misleading warnings - a bit like your hereoes bombs.
Post by: true ulster gael on March 12, 2007, 11:16:01 AM
Quote from: GweylTah on March 12, 2007, 10:18:48 AM
take notice

you got the heros bit right
even if your spelling is not
Post by: EC Unique on March 12, 2007, 12:49:43 PM
Bring back cherry cola ;D :-*
Post by: sureyouwill on March 12, 2007, 12:57:25 PM
No way Cherry Cola was brutal!!!
Post by: dubnut on March 12, 2007, 01:12:51 PM
Quote from: sureyouwill on March 12, 2007, 12:57:25 PM
No way Cherry Cola was brutal!!!

Heres a shocker, I disagree with Sureyouwill : }
Cherry cola was magic!!!
Post by: GweylTah on March 12, 2007, 01:16:52 PM
Looks like his day might have come ...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6440749.stm

Justice will be done.
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 12, 2007, 01:32:16 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 12, 2007, 11:16:01 AM
Quote from: GweylTah on March 12, 2007, 10:18:48 AM
take notice

you got the heros bit right
even if your spelling is not
Whereas your spelling is perfect ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 12, 2007, 03:16:29 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on March 11, 2007, 09:44:40 AM
I loved mountain dew in the states. Pity its full of chemicals etc and cannot be sold in the EU.
Also think it has changed its taste since about 10 years ago. Not as nice as I remembered

Drank it from 98 to 99, only thing that got me going in de morning, tiz indeed a pity its not sold here although it might be for the better what with all the chemicals...
Post by: behind the wire on March 12, 2007, 04:36:01 PM
i think this one needs closed down.

what is everyones  favourite munch after a night out?
mine is definitely a sliced chicken supper half and half!!!!!
Post by: Ryano on March 12, 2007, 05:17:39 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on March 12, 2007, 04:36:01 PM
mine is definitely a sliced chicken supper half and half!!!!!

Eh?? Is that like a free state snack box??? Mmmmmmmmm snack box........

3 in the morning and you would ate the leg of a donkey having sculled 15 pints. The gaseous emissions from you beer filled gut would kill a horse! You'd step over your own mother and kill all before ya for a big dirty greasy snack box from Supermacs.

Tellin ya, You couldn't beat it with a big stick!!
Post by: realredhandfan on March 12, 2007, 05:30:57 PM
I used to put Northern dominance and Southern slugishness down to Supermacs.  Fat bastards in the South the lot of ye.   
Post by: pintsofguinness on March 12, 2007, 09:15:15 PM
QuoteI cam across the Irish section with Barrys tea, Club Orange, Jacobs spring sprong bicuits and Jacobs Mikado, Bounty bars and Snowballs.
It reminded me of Ireland of my youth in the 70's.
When were you last in a shop? You can still buy those things.
Haven't seen black jacks or fruit salads in ages, use to love them. They're not Jelly beans though mmmm.  They're hard to get.

Cherry cola was rotten but not as bad as that dr pepper stuff, what was that?!

Nothing like a feed of chicken and chips after night out but I usually have to settle for chinese, though I wouldnt turn my nose up at that either. 
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 13, 2007, 10:09:05 AM
Postman Pats were the nicest of the penny sweets.

Nothing to beat a durty greasy snack box for the walk home on a Saturday night, although recently have moved over to a Chicken wrap. Well the new season is upon us after all...
Post by: cavan4ever on March 13, 2007, 05:08:36 PM
True ulster gael is awful quiet he must be making a float for some of the parades.
Title: Partition still cause of conflict
Post by: true ulster gael on March 15, 2007, 12:15:08 PM
The right of the Irish people to national self-determination will never be extinguished as long as Republicans continue to point out that partition exists and British troops still occupy part of Ireland, the chairman of the Munster Executive of Republican Sinn Féin said today in Wexford.

Speaking at the Crean, Pearle and Hogan commemoration in the Republican Garden of Remembrance, Des Long from Limerick said that in the Six County elections Republican Sinn Féin candidates stood up against the Provisionals on an abstentionist basis and attracted considerable support highlighting the fact that there are Republicans who refuse to accept the Stormont Agreement.

Condemning the Adams leadership, he said the Movement was subverted, splits were engineered, Leinster House was recognised, and weapons obtained for the freedom of Ireland were decommissioned and finally the police in the Six Counties were approved, endorsed and supported by the Provos.

"We reject the Stormont Agreement because it will not bring about a new and united Ireland," said Mr. Long. "It is a fudged agreement that promises two opposing outcomes. It cannot please either Nationalists or Unionists- it is a stand off and that is the simple truth. Yet the real reason of conflict remains and that is the British presence in Ireland. Partition is still in place.

"We here today know that truth and we will not be silenced - we are saying that partition still exists and it has been the cause of conflict for generations. Allow me borrow some well known words when I say - "The British haven't gone away you know." Let me add to it: "Partition hasn't ended you know!"

"Therefore the root cause of conflict still exists - and partition is enforced by the British military and police presence in the Six Counties and in the wider society by the supine media who continue to actively promote the normalisation of British rule in Ireland. We will continue to oppose it."

Title: Re: Partition still cause of conflict
Post by: MW on March 15, 2007, 12:37:56 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 15, 2007, 12:15:08 PM
The right of the Irish people to national self-determination will never be extinguished as long as Republicans continue to point out that partition exists

Sort of a Conto/political version of "we exist" eh :D
Title: Election and arrests
Post by: true ulster gael on March 15, 2007, 12:54:09 PM
Michael McManus - RSF candidate for Fermanagh/South Tyrone - has called the arrest and subsequent charging of both Gerry McGeough and Vincie McAnepsie as a disgrace and a shameful exercise on the part of the British to show who really is the boss. The election results, and in particular the successful effort on the part of the censors within the media to prevent any airing of the Republican viewpoint, has emboldened the enemies of Irish Republicans, and those who chose to vote for the Provos and the SDLP should now hang their heads in shame. We warned that a vote for either party was a vote to support this armed wing of the Crown Forces: now clearly as a result of that vote, Gerry and Vincie are just the first two who are now being held to account for their Republicanism.

We acknowledge and thank those near 1,250 voters who chose to oppose the RUC by voting for RSF or Gerry McGeough and we go forward in the belief that we must build on that support to ensure that electorally the Republican Movement continues to challenge all enemies of the Republic.

We send solidarity greetings to both the McGeough and the McAnepsie families in this difficult time for them.

Post by: pintsofguinness on March 15, 2007, 09:14:23 PM
CIRA??  :D

Nearly as funny as
QuoteWe acknowledge and thank those near 1,250 voters who chose to oppose the RUC by voting for RSF or Gerry McGeough
Post by: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 12:38:42 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 15, 2007, 09:14:23 PM
CIRA??  :D

Nearly as funny as
QuoteWe acknowledge and thank those near 1,250 voters who chose to oppose the RUC by voting for RSF or Gerry McGeough
nearly as many in the 26 counties that voted provisional sinn fein in elections for leinster house 15 years ago

our day will come
Post by: heganboy on March 19, 2007, 01:46:33 PM
Quote1,250
just to put that in perspective rainbow george stood in only 4 constituencies and received 221votes (proportionally a higher vote)
Post by: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 01:54:16 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 19, 2007, 01:46:33 PM
Quote1,250
just to put that in perspective rainbow george stood in only 4 constituencies and received 221votes (proportionally a higher vote)
1250 votes were for mc geough and mc manus in fermanagh and south tyrone and not across the six counties
Post by: heganboy on March 19, 2007, 02:00:32 PM
Quote1250 votes were for mc geough and mc manus in fermanagh and south tyrone and not across the six counties

Maybe- but don't you think its great that your boys are in the same ball park as a guys whose manifesto's main points are:

# New currency called the wonder

# Debts to become null and void

# Found music based REEL religion - under which everything is being filmed by cosmic agencies and when people go to 'rainbowland' they get a movie of their lives

# Invite bids from Hollywood to make a movie of how Belfast became a wonder city
Post by: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 02:04:28 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 19, 2007, 02:00:32 PM
Quote1250 votes were for mc geough and mc manus in fermanagh and south tyrone and not across the six counties

Maybe- but don't you think its great that your boys are in the same ball park as a guys whose manifesto's main points are:

# Found music based REEL religion - under which everything is being filmed by cosmic agencies and when people go to 'rainbowland' they get a movie of their lives

# Invite bids from Hollywood to make a movie of how Belfast became a wonder city

221/4=55.25 votes
please dont disgrace yourself comparing that to 1250 republican votes, or more than 22 times the joke vote
Post by: Bensars on March 19, 2007, 02:09:33 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 02:04:28 PM

221/4=55.25 votes
please dont disgrace yourself comparing that to 1250 republican votes, or more than 22 times the joke vote
[/quote

even the tree huggers beat them.

in regards of contributions, whose jobseekers allowance will be topped up ?
Post by: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 02:14:13 PM
Quote from: Bensars on March 19, 2007, 02:09:33 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 02:04:28 PM

221/4=55.25 votes
[/quote

even the tree huggers beat them.

in regards of contributions, whose jobseekers allowance will be topped up ?
yours for mi5 work?
Post by: heganboy on March 19, 2007, 02:14:36 PM
Quoteplease dont disgrace yourself comparing that to 1250 republican votes, or more than 22 times the joke vote

Sinn Fein 180,573 I think you'll find that is 144 times the joke vote(RSF)- it is a bit of a disgrace all right
Post by: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 02:19:57 PM
Quote from: heganboy on March 19, 2007, 02:14:36 PM
Quoteplease dont disgrace yourself comparing that to 1250 republican votes, or more than 22 times the joke vote

Sinn Fein 180,573 I think you'll find that is 144 times the joke vote(RSF)- it is a bit of a disgrace all right
the provos got over 180000 votes in fermanagh and south tyrone?
Post by: GweylTah on March 19, 2007, 02:28:41 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 02:19:57 PM

Why can't you just surrender in the way that the Provos did in the end, only the sooner the better so we don't have to go through the boredom of it all?

Post by: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 02:45:21 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on March 19, 2007, 02:28:41 PM
Quote from: true ulster gael on March 19, 2007, 02:19:57 PM

Why can't you just surrender in the way that the Provos did in the end, only the sooner the better so we don't have to go through the boredom of it all?

why dont the brits just leave ireland?
true republicans will never surrender
Post by: heganboy on March 19, 2007, 02:52:20 PM
Balls, wanted to get in first, but why don't the unionists do as they were told in 1921 by their king and prime minister and unite the country.
George V and Lloyd George, the voices of Irish nationalism
Or did they surrender too?
Post by: continuity tug on March 23, 2007, 02:25:12 PM
From 'IN DUBLIN' magazine, August 1985 .

MICHAEL KELLY : " What did you think of your party's results in the local elections in Dublin ? They were much less than half the ten percent in the North ."

GERRY ADAMS : " I think the results were most striking for a party of our size . We got a sizeable vote in the areas where we stood . It took the Workers' Party a long time to build up anywhere near the same vote and in quite a few areas we beat the Labour Party. I think that what an awful lot of people forget is that we did that while censored by Section 31.

No spokesperson for our party was interviewed by any of the main daily newspapers or by RTE radio or television . I'm quite sure that if the Labour Party or the Workers' Party were to be censored like that , they wouldn't exist today . So our vote was quite respectable . "
Title: Faoi Ghlas ag Gallaibh! Conditions endured by Republican POWs in Maghaberry Jail
Post by: continuity tug on April 09, 2007, 09:46:27 PM
THE Stormont Agreement of 1998, signed by the British Government and the Provisionals, removed political status from Republican prisoners in the jails in the British-Occupied Six Counties. Since then the British have pursued a policy of criminalisation and conditions have deteriorated so much so that on June 19, 2006 the POWs escalated their campaign to win back POW status. They are refusing to eat their meals in their cells and are only taking food, purchased in the tuck shop, during unlock. As a result their health is suffering.

Presently the men in Maghaberry jail are:

locked into their cells for between 21 and 23 hours per day;
strip-searched constantly, one prisoner received 1,135 rubdown searches and 31 strip searches in a six month period;
made to chose between daily exercise and education. The right of the prisoners to organise their own education, ie handcraft, Irish language and history classes, etc is denied them. Hankies made by the POWs were either destroyed or confiscated by prison staff;
restricted in their movement within the landings. Controlled movement ensures that no more than three prisoners are permitted out of their cells at any one time on any one landing and each prisoner is accompanied by two members of prison staff;
subjected to either a closed visit or no visit if the drugs dog sits beside a visitor as he/she is being searched on entering the prison. No Republican POW has ever been found in possession of drugs.
denied proper medical care. Access to a doctor is only once a week.
subjected to loss of remission though this practice was banned by the European Court of Human Rights in 2002.
often denied compassionate parole. POWs have been offered restricted parole of six hours for family funerals. On returning from parole they are placed in solitary confinement for 48 hours.
Visitors have been at the receiving end of loyalist threats when visiting the Republican POWs.
Republican Sinn Féin Poblachtach POW Department
223 Parnell Street, Dublin 1
Phone: Dublin 872 9747; FAX: 872 9757; email: saoirse@iol.ie
229 Falls Road Belfast
Phone: Belfast 90 319004, email: rsfbelfast2006@yahoo.co.uk

Title: Easter Statement from the Leadership of the Republican Movement
Post by: continuity tug on April 09, 2007, 09:48:30 PM
ON this the 91st anniversary of the 1916 Proclamation of the Irish Republic, the Leadership of the Republican Movement sends greetings to members, supporters and friends throughout the world. We send a special greeting to our imprisoned comrades in Portlaoise and Maghaberry, Co Antrim and applaud the continual prison protest in Maghaberry which has been ongoing since last June. On this note we would like to extend our appreciation to the Republican Prisoners Action Group who have organised and promoted the outside activity in support of the protesting prisoners. We would like to thank all groups and all people who supported these protests.

Over the course of this Easter weekend comrades and supporters of the Republican Movement will assemble at gravesides, memorials and monuments to fallen comrades from many generations who have given their lives for the cause of Irish National Liberation. This year many of us will assemble with a heavy heart following the further betrayal of the All-Ireland Republic by former comrades who have taken yet a another step in treachery with their recognition of the RUC/PSNI, and their further acceptance and administering of British Rule in the occupied six northern counties. True Republicans will have watched with horror the antics and political posturing of the Provisional Leadership over the last twelve months in their attempts to placate militant Paisleyism and their eagerness to hold a special Ard-Fheis to rush through a motion to support the armed wing of the British Oppressor. The true Republican Leadership will never compromise and will never accept British Rule in any part of our Country.

In recent weeks we have seen yet another election to a British controlled assembly in the occupied part of our country. We note the involvement of Republican Sinn Féin who fielded abstentionist candidates and we applaud all of those candidates, their agents and supporters who fought a superb political campaign against very difficult odds. We also congratulate all candidates who contested these elections on an abstentionist basis. Supporters should remember that the struggle for Irish National Liberation has never been measured by the number of votes which our movement have been afforded but by the commitment of the small numbers who have remained steadfast and loyal to the Irish Republic.

Our history has shown that the men and women of 1916 who proclaimed the Irish Republic were besmirched and indeed spat upon following the historic Proclamation. We should remember that political change can often take place very quickly and dramatically as was seen by the Election results just two years later in 1918.

Over the past twelve months our members and supporters were subjected to continued harassment, arrests and false imprisonment on both sides of border. This is something that we have come to accept, and is a clear indication to everyone that nothing has changed, regardless of what many might think. True Republicans have always experienced such treatment but let our message be clear: we will not be intimidated or derailed from our continued resistance to British Occupation. We urge our members to be ever vigilant.

THERE have been further overtures to our Leadership from a number of British agents in various guises, including the Provisionals, to advance what they think will put into place the final piece of their sordid jigsaw for British Rule in Ireland. We say to all such on-comers that the Republican movement will not yield to any such agents. We are not for sale and we cannot be bought. This message should be understood by all our members, supporters and friends. There have also been continual attempts to besmirch the Republican Movement by associating them with drugs, criminality and to recent murders in Belfast. The Leadership of the Continuity Irish Republican Army has already categorically denied involvement in any of this activity and reiterates it once more in this statement.

Due to the treachery of others our struggle faces greater obstacles than before, but this leadership is aware that there has always been a significant body of opinion in Ireland opposed to British Rule. The task of the Republican movement in the immediate future is to organise, harness and lead that support in opposition to foreign rule and British Imperialism. For this purpose we re-dedicate ourselves this Easter day. An Phoblacht Abú!
— Issued by the Leadership of the Republican Movement, Easter 2007.

Post by: lynchbhoy on April 10, 2007, 09:11:41 AM
I'd like to think that the continuity, reals etc are not involved in drugs - but have been hearing otherwise.
Do you believe that they are innocent of this Tug?
IMO chiefly because of this they are as bad and the unionist/loyalist gangs who have been openly dealing for decades.
Also the continuity/reals by dealing drugs are associating with these opposition murder gangs.
How can that be in the interests of republicanism?
Post by: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 02:07:46 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 10, 2007, 09:11:41 AM
I'd like to think that the continuity, reals etc are not involved in drugs - but have been hearing otherwise.
IMO chiefly because of this they are as bad and the unionist/loyalist gangs who have been openly dealing for decades.
Also the continuity/reals by dealing drugs are associating with these opposition murder gangs.
real republicans dont do drugs
Title: RPAG condemns Brit prison policy on Easter Lillies
Post by: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 02:09:18 PM
The Republican Prisoners' Action Group condemns the news that several Republican POWs in Maghaberry Gaol have been charged under prison rules for the wearing of the Easter Lily. Archbishop Seán Brady visited the gaol and assured the prisoners that he would do whatever he could to secure a resolution to the ongoing protest in Maghaberry. Clearly he has not been effective in this regard.

The Republican POWs have refused to eat food in their cells, which contain a toilet, on hygience grounds since the commencement of their protest on June 19th of last year. If the POWs are sent to the boards as punishment then they will be without any food for the duration of this punishment.

It must also be stated that the screws are free to wear poppies on segregated Republican landings. This contradiction must be resolved, and the Republican POWs who have suffered the loss of their liberty owing to their principled opposition to English rule in Ireland must be allowed to honour Ireland's patriot dead. We would also ask the Provos – who have been very vocal in calling for people to wear the Easter Lily, despite their policy U-turns – to publicly support the Prisoners of War in Maghaberry to this end.

Post by: GweylTah on April 18, 2007, 02:28:36 PM
The real reason they are not allowed to wear lillies is because of the problem caused by the spores in them - they are dreadfully bad for the sufferers of hay-fever, especially in the early prolonged dry and sunny weather we've been having; the ban did not apply to synthetic lillies.
Post by: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 02:44:00 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on April 18, 2007, 02:28:36 PM
The real reason they are not allowed to wear lillies is because of the problem caused by the spores in them - they are dreadfully bad for the sufferers of hay-fever, especially in the early prolonged dry and sunny weather we've been having; the ban did not apply to synthetic lillies.
prove it
Title: Armagh Brigade I.R.A Easter Statement
Post by: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 04:53:07 PM
The link below is a video of a Masked and uniformed Volunteer of the Irish Republican Armys Armagh Brigade reading a statement from the Armagh Command to the people in the Armagh City Graveyard what the video does not show are the R.U.C/P.S.N.I landrovers full of Crown forces watchin on helplessly the statement was allso read by a masked Volunteer in Lurgan during the Easter Comemoration in the Lurgan graveyard a large Crown forces presence was in the area following the discovery of a Morter Bomb the Crown forces could not prevent the Armagh Brigade from delivering their message
Beir Bua I.R.A Abu

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3c1lkFWGvg

Here's the text of the statement:

The Armagh Brigade of the Irish Republican Armagh sends Revolutionary and Seasonal greetings to its Comrades and supporters in Armagh, Ireland the U.S and Europe. This year the Armagh Brigade has upped the ante in its War on the British Forces of occupation, we have sought at every turn to bring the fight to the Crown Forces. Our Volunteers have engaged the enemy on numerous occasions, in Armagh City, Keady and Lurgan areas, we salute the brave Active Services Units who risk their lives and freedom to continue the cause of Irish Freedom. We condemn those in the media who have tired to hide and deny these attacks took place, these people are on the payroll of the British and their actions are designed to enhance the image of British rule in Ireland. To the world we tell the British Army and its local milita the R.U.C/ P.S.N.I that we will continue to engage them on our terms. In the past they have been lucky but we only need to be lucky once once they need to be lucky all the time !.

We send solidarity greetings to our Comrades in Portloise Jail and to the Republican prisoners on protest in Maghaberry P.O.W camp, we commend them for their principled stance and condem our former comrades in the Provisional Movement who sold political status away when they signed the Stormont agreement. A status won in blood by Bobby Sands and his Comrades in 1981. We also commend and thank the Republican Prisoners Action Group for its workthis year in supporting and hightlighting the prison protest, there white line protest have brought the prison protert out of the media black out and onto the national stage, they are are the voice of our protesting prisoners !.

This year has seen not only the return of British rule through Storment, by the Provo acceptance of the R.U.C/P.S.N.I British milita as a acceptable Police force. This forces aim is to enforce British rule in Ireland and we call on all Irish men and women to refuse to accept it as anything less than the enemy and warn all prospective recruits that they will be seen as legitimate targets and will be delt with as such !.

We commend and praise the men and women of Republican Sinn Fein who on short notice stood up to the Provo/ British machine and held throught to the Republican Principles when they stood against them in the March elections. Despite a complete media black out on R.S.F , those candidates and their has shown has shown us there is a small nucleus in the Republican heartlandson which to build. We call on all those disgruntled Republicans to return to the fold and help us rebuild and strengthen the Republican movement, it is throught unity that we will gain continuity.

The Armagh Brigade Óglaigh na hÉireann, Irish Republican Army pledges its allegiance to the Continuity Army Council and the 2nd all Ireland Dail whose powers it protects, we swear to uphold the Republic by Continuing the war against its enemies. We call on the youth of Armagh to join us and help us continue the fight for Irish Freeom, may our guns never be silent while the Brits occupy our land.!!

Beir Bua

Forward To Freedom !

Officer Commanding Armagh Brigade

http://www.freewebs.com/rsfarmaghkeady/
Post by: heganboy on April 18, 2007, 08:33:07 PM
well, the spelling is a bit better,
Quotehelp us continue the fight for Irish Freeom
with some exceptions...

Now we'll start with grammar and punctuation lesson 1:

QuoteIn the past they have been lucky but we only need to be lucky once once they need to be lucky all the time !.

Oh yeah, did I mention you're an idiot?
Post by: ardal on April 18, 2007, 11:33:24 PM
Quote from: continuity tug on April 18, 2007, 02:07:46 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 10, 2007, 09:11:41 AM
real republicans dont do drugs

But do they do "Ulster fry burgers". Once had this from a place in Lurgan, now that's what's needed after a few pints
Post by: ziggysego on April 18, 2007, 11:35:43 PM
TUG must be in bed now. God love the poor wee critter, he has a tiring day at big school.
Post by: stew on April 18, 2007, 11:45:50 PM
If anyone thinks that some of these so called republicians that are out there now are not selling drugs they are deluding themselves, these deathmongers are not republicians they are hoods and gangsters and are no better than their loyalist counterparts.

Any republicians I know are disgusted by the antics of these drug dealers and they have nothing in common with each other at all at all.
Title: Republican parades not criminal acts - RSF
Post by: continuity tug on April 29, 2007, 02:57:45 PM
April 22, 2007
In the Belfast News Letter of Saturday, 21st April, the Provos commented that "the vast, vast majority of Republicans (sic) attended legally arranged [Provo] parades over Easter." Clearly the "laws" the Provos are referring to are the diktats of the English government.

Republican Sinn Féin rejects the Provo description of Republican Commemorations as criminal acts. Furthermore, the actions of those who not only applied to the British Crown Forces for permission to march, but also used these platforms to pressurise Nationalists into embracing their total collaboration with English rule in Ireland, amounts to nothing less than the desecration of the graves of Ireland's Patriot Dead.

Do the Provos agree with Fermanagh DUP councillor Bert Johnston that those involved in Republican parades such as that in Roslea should feel the full rigour of alien laws? And where does Michelle Gildernew – who was so vociferous on Radio Ulster's Talk Back programme during the election campaign – stand on this issue and the arrests and charging of three people accused of Republican activity in Lurgan last week?

True Republicans will never apply to enemy forces for the right to honour our Patriot Dead, and will continue to commemorate all those who gave their lives in the Cause of Irish Freedom with dignity and respect. The Provos, on the other hand, should have the honesty and decency to stay away from the graves of those who died serving the All-Ireland Republic and fighting British Occupation.

Title: Provos engage to point of adopting Unionist position
Post by: continuity tug on April 29, 2007, 02:58:53 PM
April 23, 2007
It is appropriate that the Provos have today nominated their "Director of Unionist Engagement", Martina Anderson, to take a seat on the RUC Policing Board alongside Alex Maskey and Dáithí McKay. This latest announcement demonstrates the depths they are prepared to engage with Unionism – to the point of mimicking their political position. The proposed Provo Ard-Chomhairle meeting on May 12th is certainly viewed merely as a rubber-stamp.

The claim by Ms. Anderson that she is "going in there [to the Policing Board] to hold them [the RUC] to account" is an insult to the intelligence of the general public, and in particular the Nationalist community who have suffered so much at the hands of the British Colonial Police. The role of Ms. Anderson and her colleagues will simply be to strengthen English rule in Ireland, acting in full and open collaboration with the British Crown Forces.

Rank and file Provisionals must now reject the boundless arrogance of their leaders and seek a return to their former allegiance. They should also be under no illusion that collaborating with the British forces of Occupation can in any way be considered a Revolutionary act.

Post by: stew on April 29, 2007, 05:17:33 PM
Anyway, whatever happened 'banjo's' they were the best ever closely followed by wagon wheels and breakaways.

As for white mice they were ok but not great.
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2007, 05:55:30 PM
You can't beat a packet of Rollos stew. Though Cadbury's Creame Eggs are a tasty treat at Easter.
Post by: stew on April 29, 2007, 11:00:14 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 29, 2007, 05:55:30 PM
You can't beat a packet of Rollos stew. Though Cadbury's Creame Eggs are a tasty treat at Easter.

true ziggy but only if they are fresh and the yoke is still runny. Rollo are ok but for me the best ever were banjo's
Title: The East Tyrone Brigade & the Loughgall Ambush
Post by: continuity tug on April 29, 2007, 11:04:22 PM
The Irish Republican Army's East Tyrone Brigade was one of the most active over the course of the last 30 years. They are believed to have drawn their membership from right across the eastern side of County Tyrone as well as north County Monaghan and south Derry The east of the county has a long history of militant Republicanism from Tom Clarke, Joseph McGarrity, Liam Kelly, Gerry McGeough, Tommy McKearney, Bernadette Devlin and Martin Hurson. One of the most widely publicised failures in the Brigade's campaign was at Loughgall where a group of eight men were ambushed and killed by the British SAS, during an attack on the RUC station on 8 May 1987.
In the 1980s, the IRA in East Tyrone and other areas close to the border, such as South Armagh, were following a Maoist military theory devised for Ireland by Jim Lynagh, the leader of the IRA in East Tyrone (but a native of County Monaghan). The theory involved creating "zones of liberation" that the Security forces of Northern Ireland did not control and gradually expanding them to make the country ungovernable. Lynagh's strategy was to start off with one area which the British military did not control, preferably a Republican stronghold such as East Tyrone. The South Armagh area was considered to be a liberated zone already, since British troops and the RUC could not use the roads there for fear of roadside bombs. Thus it was from there that the IRA East Tyrone Brigade attacks were launched, with most of them occurring in East Tyrone in areas close to South Armagh, which offered good escape routes. The first phase of Lynagh's plan to drive out the British Security Forces from East Tyrone involved destroying isolated rural police stations and then killing any building contractors who were employed to rebuild them.

The East Tyrone Brigade carried out two successful attacks on RUC bases in East Tyrone. Both attacks were begun by driving a JCB digger with a 200 lb (91 kg) bomb in its bucket through the reinforced fences the RUC had in place around their bases, and then exploding the bomb and raking the police station with gunfire. On these two occasions the stations were destroyed, and most or all of the occupants killed. It was therefore with some confidence that the IRA tried the same tactics on the Loughall RUC station on 8 May 1987

The SAS, however, had set a trap to destroy the unit. They had placed an SAS soldier inside the station, and deployed a squad of 24 soldiers split into six groups around the station building. It has been alleged, but never proved, that the RUC had an informer in the IRA group, and that he was killed by the SAS in the ambush. However, in his book Big Boys' Rules Mark Urban points to the fact that a Loughgall woman Colette O'Neill was abducted by the IRA several weeks later, and he hypothesises that she may have been the informer.
Just after 7pm, Declan Arthurs drove the JCB carrying the bomb through the perimeter fence of the RUC station. The van carrying the rest of the PIRA unit pulled up and they jumped out and opened fire on the station. The IRA just managed to detonate its 200lb bomb before the SAS opened fire, heavily damaging the police station.
The SAS riddled the JCB and the van with bullets. In addition, the car of passer-by Anthony Hughes was fired on by the SAS. Hughes, 36, was killed and his brother badly wounded. Subsequent security forces statements said with regret that they had been innocent passers-by caught in crossfire. All eight IRA men were killed, all from head wounds. The soldiers fired more than 600 rounds; the IRA men fired 70 rounds but did not hit any of the soldiers. It was later alleged that one of the dead men was in fact an informant for the RUC, although this was denied by security sources, who claimed that the information on the PIRA unit was gained from electronic surveillance.
The British recovered eight IRA weapons from the scene - three Heckler & Koch rifles, one FN rifle, two FNC rifles, a Ruger revolver and a Spas-12 shotgun. The Royal Ulster Constabulary linked the guns to 7 murders and 12 attempted murders in the mid Ulster area. One of the guns had been taken from a reserve RUC constable murdered in an attack on police two years earlier.
The innocent civilian, Anthony Hughes, who was shot dead by the SAS had been travelling in a car with his brother, Oliver, unaware of the ambush. Unfortunately, both brothers were wearing blue overalls similar to those sometimes worn by IRA members on operations and so were mistaken for IRA men engaged in the attack. As they attempted to reverse out of the gunfire, SAS troopers positioned nearby mistook them as part of the IRA unit and opened fire. Forty shots were aimed at the car, killing Anthony and wounding his brother. Hughes' widow later received compensation from the British Government for the death of her husband.
SAS operations against the IRA continued well into the 1990s. The IRA conducted a long investigation in search of the informer believed to have been in their ranks, although some would say it was a waste of time since that informer had allegedly been killed in the ambush.
The PIRA group became known as the "Loughgall Martyrs" among Republicans, who alleged that their deaths were part of a deliberate shoot-to-kill policy by the security forces.
Thousands of people attended the funerals of the dead IRA men, the biggest republican funerals in Northern Ireland since those of the IRA hunger strikers of 1981. In 2001 the European Court of Human Rights ruled that the eight IRA men (among others) had had their human rights violated by the failure of the British government to conduct a proper investigation into the circumstances of their deaths.
The East Tyrone Brigade members killed at Loughgall in 1987 consisted of:

* Commander Patrick Kelly (aged 30)
* Jim Lynagh (aged 31)
* Pádraig McKearney (aged 32)
* Declan Arthurs (aged 21)
* Seamus Donnelly (aged 19)
* Eugene Kelly (aged 25)
* Gerry O'Callaghan (aged 29)
* Tony Gormley (aged 25)

Eugene Kelly
Eugene Kelly (Irish Eugene Ó Ceallaigh; born 5 July 1962), was from Cappagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland. Kelly was from a family of two brothers and four sisters and grew in the rural village of Cappagh, County Tyrone. He became a highly active member of the IRA after first joining in 1982.
Kelly became regularly active within the East Tyrone Brigade of the IRA and was ultilised for his detailed geographical knowledge of rural areas of County Tyrone and County Armagh.
At the request of his family he was buried in a private ceremony at Altmore Cemetery, Cappagh in order to avoid much of the press attention which had followed the family after his death.
Declan Arthurs
Declan Arthurs (Irish: Deaglan Mac Airt; born 28 October 1965) was from Galbally near Cappagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland.
Declan Arthurs was the fourth of six children born to Patrick and Amelia Arthurs in Galbally, a rural village in County Tyrone.
Arthurs was mechanically minded and once he left school he joined his father and worked as an agricultural contractor. Arthurs became radicalised in the early 1980s after attending torchlight vigils for the 1981 hunger strikers and after attending the funeral of Martin Hurson, who died during the hunger strike and was also from the Galbally area. During Christmas of 1986, Arthurs was interned in Gough Barracks for seven days without charge and once released was again detained two days later for a further seven days. In January 1987, Arthurs spent all but seven days in Gough Barracks again without any charges for an offence being brought. In May 1987, both Arthurs and fellow volunteer, Séamus Donnelly, were buried at St.John's, Galbally.
Gerry O'Callaghan
Gerard O'Callaghan (born 8 January 1959), was from Benburb, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland
O'Callaghan joined the IRA in the 1970s and was arrested along with fellow IRA volunteer Padraig McKearney in 1980.
O'Callaghan was sentenced for possession of weapons and IRA membership in 1981. During his time in prison he was part of the blanket protest. Upon his release O'Callaghan returned to active service with the Provisional Irish Republican Army
Séamus Donnelly
Séamus Donnelly (Irish: Séamas Ó Donnghaile, born 11 January 1968), was from County Tyrone, Northern Ireland
Donnelly was the fourth eldest child in a family of eight and was born and raised in the small village of Aughnaskea, Gallbally, a rural area of east County Tyrone. Here he grew up with fellow members of the East Tyrone Brigade Declan Arthurs and Tony Gormley.
At 19 years old he was the youngest of eight IRA members and a civilian to be killed at Loughgall. Arthurs, Donnelly, Gormley and Kelly were all from the village of Cappagh, and had joined the IRA after the death of Martin Hurson, another Cappagh man, on hunger strike in Long Kesh in 1981.
Tony Gormley
Anthony "Tony" Gormley (Irish Antoine Ó Goirmleadhaigh), born 17 September 1962, was from Galbally, County Tyrone, and joined the PIRA in 1981.
Gormley was the second oldest in a family of six children and grew up with Declan Arthurs and Seamus Donnelly Gormley owned a successful engineering sub-contracting company and had twelve employees and was a strategist within the East Tyrone Brigade.
Song
An Irish rebel song was written as a tribute to the IRA members, entitled "Loughall Martyrs". It's lyrics state that the Provisionals were "brave volunteers", and that Lynagh was a "gallant soldier". The SAS are described as "butchers", and are accused of using disproportionate force, as well as not offering the opportunity to surrender. The final verse pays tribute to the eight men by name.
Subsequent Brigade activity
The SAS ambush had no noticeable effect on the level of terrorist activity in East Tyrone. In the two years prior to the Loughgall ambush the IRA killed 7 people in East Tyrone and North Armagh, and 11 in the two years following the ambush. Ed Moloney, Irish journalist and author of the Secret History of the IRA, states that the Provisional IRA East Tyrone Brigade lost 53 members killed in the Troubles - the highest of any Brigade area. Of these, 28 were killed between 1987 and 1992
In August 1988, an SAS ambush killed IRA members Gerard Harte, Martin Harte and Brian Mullin as they tried to kill an off-duty UDR man.[26] On 11 February 1990 the Brigade managed to shot down a Lynx helicopter near Clogher by machine gun fire.[27] In October 1990, two more IRA men, Dessie Grew and Martin McCaughey were shot dead near Loughgall by undercover soldiers. In June 1991, three IRA men, Lawrence McNally, Peter Ryan and Tony Dorris died in another SAS ambush at Coagh, where their car was raked with gunfire The police stated the men were on their way to mount an ambush on Protestant workmen. In January 1992, IRA East Tyrone Brigade members killed eight building workers and severely injured another six, with a landmine at Teebane near Omagh. One of the workers killed, Robert Dunseath, was also a member of the Royal Irish Rangers. The men were working to re-build British Army bases damaged by IRA bombs. The men were all Protestants and this was widely perceived as a sectarian attack
Another four IRA members were killed in February 1992. The four, Peter Clancy, Kevin Barry O'Donnell, Sean O'Farrell and Patrick Vincent, were killed at Clonoe after an attack on the RUC station in Coalisland. Whereas the previous ambushes of IRA men had been well planned by British special forces, the Clonoe killings owed much to the inexperience of the IRA men in question. They had mounted a heavy DShK machine gun on the back of a stolen lorry, driven to the RUC/British Army station and opened fire with tracer ammunition at the fortified base. They then drove past the house of Tony Dorris, the IRA man killed the previous year, where they fired more shots in the air and were heard to shout, "Up the 'RA, that's for Tony Dorris". This gave ample time for the British Army to respond. The IRA men were intercepted by the British Army as they were trying to dump the lorry and escape in cars in the car park of Clonoe church. Two IRA men got away from the scene, but the four named above were killed. One witness has said that some of the men were wounded and tried to surrender but were then killed by British soldiers
In addition, the IRA in Tyrone was the victim of an assassination campaign carried out by the loyalist paramilitaries of the Ulster Volunteer Force. The UVF killed 40 people in east Tyrone between 1988 and 1994. Of these, most were Catholic civilians with no paramilitary connections but six of their victims were IRA members. Three of them were killed in a pub in Cappagh in March 1991. The IRA responded by killing senior UVF man Leslie Dallas.
An IRA bomb attack against British Paratroopers, also near Cappagh, during which a soldier lost both legs, triggered a series of clashes between troops and local residents in mid-May 1992. The riots lasted for several days, ending up with the paratroopers assault on three bars, where they injured seven civilians. Another street fracas between a King's Own Scottish Borderers platoon and Republican sympathizers in Coalisland resulted in the theft of an army machine gun, later recovered nearby.[34] Six Paratroopers were charged with criminal damage in the aftermath, but were later acquitted.
The Brigade was the first to use the Mark 15 Barrack-Buster mortar in an attack on 5 December 1992 against a police station in Ballygawley.[35]
From mid-1992 up to the present day the Brigade is still able to keep pressure on British forces in the region, despite its heavy losses. Indeed, the East Tyrone unit executed a total of eight mortar attacks against British security facilities and was also responsible for at least sixteen bombings and shootings. They also killed four members of the security forces in the same period.
The McKearney McCaughey Cumann remembers those members of the East Tyrone Brigade who gave their lives for Irish Freedom and we continue to uphold and fight for the ideals these brave Volunteers died for while these men were giving their lives for Irish Freedom Gerry Adams was undermining them by negotiating a Surrender the slaughter in Tyrone especaily from 1986 onward can only be seen as the British leaving the path clear for Adams to implement his control and strategy with out any problems from the "Hard men of Tyrone" we remember the Men who fell at Loughgall with Pride and can only say their struggle continues
Post by: ziggysego on April 29, 2007, 11:38:39 PM
Quote from: stew on April 29, 2007, 11:00:14 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 29, 2007, 05:55:30 PM

true ziggy but only if they are fresh and the yoke is still runny. Rollo are ok but for me the best ever were banjo's

Don't think I'm familiar with Banjo's. What are they Stew?
Post by: Midman on April 30, 2007, 01:07:32 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on April 29, 2007, 09:00:41 PM
White mice were great, but you couldnt beat a chocolate log. Anyone remember a Texan?

Dunno about Texans but I remember Texas bars. A manly confectianary if ever there was one!  ;D
Post by: Tyrones own on April 30, 2007, 02:20:57 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on April 29, 2007, 09:00:41 PM
White mice were great, but you couldnt beat a chocolate log. Anyone remember a Texan?

Good man 5ive Times, i had been wrecking my head for days trying to remember the name of it.
Great yoke when you were a lad although i remember my mother dividing it into 4 pieces for us,
money wasn't that plentiful at the time. Ah the good o'l days :D
Post by: screenmachine on April 30, 2007, 09:26:18 AM
anyone remember a bar called secret, absolutely immense...mite google it and start a campaign to get them reproduced!!
Post by: his holiness nb on April 30, 2007, 10:13:48 AM
I used to love zero bars, anyone remember them?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 30, 2007, 10:23:03 AM
Anyone remember Sky ice cream bars? they had a flake in the middle surrounded by vanilla ice cream
I love Tam Tams though.Anyone that has been to Oz will know these
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 30, 2007, 10:55:13 AM
what about those 'united' bars
I loved them
them and a supercan of coke!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 30, 2007, 10:55:59 AM
or anyone remember 5-4-3-2-1's?
Post by: full back on April 30, 2007, 11:12:07 AM
Quote from: screenmachine on April 30, 2007, 09:26:18 AM
anyone remember a bar called secret, absolutely immense...mite google it and start a campaign to get them reproduced!!

Any luck with this campaign?
Secret was a superb bar - not too heavy & very very tasty
Post by: laughinpaddy on April 30, 2007, 11:18:46 AM
Secret Bars, to quote Homer Simpson aaaaaaaaagghhhhhhh (mouth wateringly good!!!).
Also great was the Walnut Whip!
Post by: full back on April 30, 2007, 11:21:21 AM
Quote from: laughinpaddy on April 30, 2007, 11:18:46 AM
Secret Bars, to quote Homer Simpson aaaaaaaaagghhhhhhh (mouth wateringly good!!!).
Also great was the Walnut Whip!

Have they stopped making Walnut Whips?
Post by: laughinpaddy on April 30, 2007, 11:25:27 AM
Haven't seen one in a while so just assumed they had ???
Could be wrong though.
Post by: his holiness nb on April 30, 2007, 11:28:55 AM
the walnut whip is alive and well
had one last week
Post by: Ryano on April 30, 2007, 01:46:39 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on April 30, 2007, 10:23:03 AM
Anyone remember Sky ice cream bars? they had a flake in the middle surrounded by vanilla ice cream
I love Tam Tams though.Anyone that has been to Oz will know these

Oh ya Tim Tams are the biz. My missus done the year down under and came back ravin about Tim Tams. Converted me to them too. Bit like a Penguin but with more toffee and are far better tasting. She dunks them in Coffee and the sucks the melted toffee out of the them. Spankin gorgeous....
Post by: screenmachine on April 30, 2007, 01:52:58 PM
apparently secrets were to expensive with the packaging and what have you and sales musnt have rocketed so that is the story behind their demise...gutted >:(
Post by: ziggysego on April 30, 2007, 03:15:18 PM
Anyone remember the old crisps that were knocking about in the late 80's. Burger Bites. Cheap as fook, but damn nice.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on April 30, 2007, 03:16:46 PM
You can still buy them down here Ziggy
Post by: lurganblue on April 30, 2007, 03:17:35 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on April 30, 2007, 03:15:18 PM
Anyone remember the old crisps that were knocking about in the late 80's. Burger Bites. Cheap as fook, but damn nice.

they're still about round here too ziggy. they're all good.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 30, 2007, 03:23:52 PM
QuoteBurger Bites

A board favourite from long ago I believe.
Post by: ziggysego on April 30, 2007, 03:26:55 PM
Frick! They mustn't be in Tyrone anymore, I can't see them anywhere for love or money.......... preferably money.
Post by: Hardy on April 30, 2007, 03:29:33 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 30, 2007, 03:23:52 PM
QuoteBurger Bites

Yes. Official snack of the GAA board.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 30, 2007, 03:30:50 PM
You can get them in the wee irish deli beside me in the bronx aswell as Hot lips!!! ;)
Post by: heganboy on April 30, 2007, 03:32:20 PM
Burger bites, quavers and skips make the wee skite to the bronx worthwhile...

Anyone remember pacers? Green and white stripey chews? Minty if I remember correctly
Post by: ziggysego on April 30, 2007, 03:32:47 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 30, 2007, 03:29:33 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 30, 2007, 03:23:52 PM
QuoteBurger Bites

Yes. Official snack of the GAA board.

Well that's a good one. Anyone off-board I asked doesn't remember them. I guess it takes a certain kind of person.....
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 30, 2007, 04:40:44 PM
Crunchoes were another cheap as fook, damn nice packet o crisps. Haven't seen them around much lately.