Colm Keys top 50 fuballers

Started by seafoid, November 01, 2016, 02:24:25 PM

It never ceases to amaze me the amount of people who get worked up about these lists by lazy journalists who fees the general non-knowing public with this stuff.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on November 02, 2016, 09:22:17 AM
It never ceases to amaze me the amount of people who get worked up about these lists by lazy journalists who fees the general non-knowing public with this stuff.
+1.
Space filling nonsense.

Is it just me or is every second online/print media GAA piece a list of some description?
'The top 20 hurlers with red hair' etc.

Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 11:17:49 AM
Is it just me or is every second online/print media GAA piece a list of some description?
'The top 20 hurlers with red hair' etc.

Great idea!

This lad would be there somewhere:

'Top 20 hurlers named Mickey'.

20. Mickey Burke (Meath)

On sports journalism I think Eugene McGee said it well.

EMcG: A lot of the matches are shite, but the worst of all is having to write the column in wintertime. I sit down every Saturday night and say, 'What am I going to write here?'. I'm 30 years writing columns now, for God's sake! And some of the stuff I write on Monday is pure shite.

PK: It can't be gold every week.

EMcG: No, and people still remember you for some of the columns and that's a nice treat to get, but I don't envy the guys who have to work full-time GAA reporting on the dailies, it's a fate worse than death.

People will read shite all the time.

"One way of looking at the history of the human group is that it has been a continuing struggle against the veneration of 'crap'." Neil Postman

Most sports journalism is shite.
But you wouldn't miss it.

Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 11:33:00 AM
'Top 20 hurlers named Mickey'.

20. Mickey Burke (Meath)

f**k! Does Mickey try to play hurley as well!!

Typical Mayo man.
Wouldn't know one end of a hurl from the other.
For your information, Mickey Burke is on the national team, that's how good he is.
Here he is playing against the old enemy, Scotland.

Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 02:26:29 PM
Typical Mayo man.
For your information, Mickey Burke is on the national team, that's how good he is.

Imagine facing a helmeted Mickey, without a helmet!

Incredible bravery.
God rest him.

Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 02:57:03 PM
Incredible bravery.
God rest him.

I propose we all wear a thistle for a month to commemorate him.

Typical Mayo man.

Scottish fella on the far left looks like he's borrowed his son's bicycle helmet.

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: muppet on November 02, 2016, 03:00:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 02:57:03 PM
Incredible bravery.
God rest him.

I propose we all wear a thistle for a month to commemorate him.

Mickey should have gone through him, he pretty much defeated Ireland himself in the latest international the other week.

Typical Mayo man.

His right arm looks black and blue already from the belts he took. Needed him back in the day against John Jeffries and Finlay Caulder. He's have opened those lads.