Windows Vista Vs Linux Ubuntu

Started by Deal_Me_In, September 07, 2007, 01:25:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deal_Me_In

I am interested in upgrading an existing computer (about 2 year old 512MB, 60GB Hard Drive nothing impressive). I have formatted the harddrive and now i am looking to install an operating system but i am unsure as to go with Windows Vista or Linuxs' Ubuntu. (I don not have enough memory to partition the Hard drive and Istall both)

For all you techies out there i was wondering which you would recommend.

I have been using windows OS for approx 10 years and have limited knowledge of Linux, but from comparison articles i have read they are relatively similar but linux is free and offers all their own free software. Anyone out there using ubuntu that can tell me what its like.

Cheers

aidanmcg33

Vista wont run that well on your current system. Ubuntu is ok. You might want to try opensuse if its your first time moving from windows. Interfaces havent got massive differences and again it doesnt cost you to get it. What you should do is run a dual boot system with windows xp and suse. that way, you can still use windows, but can also use suse till you have a bit more experience with it.

Gnevin

Linux is overrated unless your planning to run a server.
Anyway, long story short... is a phrase whose origins are complicated and rambling.

Deal_Me_In

I have fedora installed at the min but it is a bit clumsy looking, have no problems with the functionallity of it or with any of the programs like openoffice etc, just heard the ubuntu was the lated most user friendly version for other people in the house who would not bee very computer minded.

Captain Scarlet

cant help thinkin of Roots when i see this

Whats your name boy?
whip,whip,whip
Linux Obuntu  :-\
them mysterons are always killing me but im grand after a few days.sickenin aul dose all the same.

David McKeown