Recent posts

General discussion / Re: The Many Faces of US Polit...
Last post by whitey - May 21, 2024, 04:17:33 PM
Quote from: Itchy on May 21, 2024, 04:10:10 PM
Quote from: whitey on May 21, 2024, 02:46:52 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 21, 2024, 02:10:15 PMIt's degree lads. The Republicans want to give carte blanche to Israel. They're going mad at Biden for even pausing the shipments of 2000 lb bombs, with the House officially "rebuking" him recently. They're on tv arguing that the Gazan civilians are fair game because they elected and support Hamas. You think it's bad for the Palestinians now? Just wait till Trump wins and the GOP take back the Senate this autumn.

I know of Republicans who wouldn't care if every single resident of Gaza was killed

Their logic is that the Palestinians voted in Hamas, so they now need to live with the consequences

You don't think their are democrats that think that too?

No I don't

If there are, that would be a very peripheral group....whereas for republicans it's the default position
General discussion / Re: Man Utd Thread:
Last post by Armagh18 - May 21, 2024, 04:15:44 PM
Henderson should be nowhere near it at this stage tbh. Surprised Sancho didn't at least make the 33 man squad.

Shaw included but knowing him he's about 3 stone overweight after being out for so long so he'll probably be cut.
General discussion / Re: Holidays
Last post by PMG1 - May 21, 2024, 04:12:34 PM
Quote from: galwayman on May 21, 2024, 09:13:34 AM
Quote from: PMG1 on May 21, 2024, 12:39:25 AM
Quote from: galwayman on May 20, 2024, 11:36:52 PMJust wondering has anyone on here been to both the Austrian and Swiss Alps in the summer and able to compare them?
Have a week to take off work in early July and now thinking of trying to get a sneaky week away - but don't want the usual Med resort type break.
I was looking at Zell am See and Seefeld in Austria initially, but also looking at Morzine (mainly due to the free outdoor public heated pool) and Annecy in France.
I'm going research blind now though so am secondf guessing myself!
We've been away already earlier in the year, so trying to keep this as cheap as possible (so probably won't be able to stump up for accommodation with a pool for the kids).
Just looking for somewhere scenic with some swimming possibilities for the kid within walking distance of a reasonable choice of restaurants.
Anyone been to the areas mentioned?
Have been to Zell Am See a few times in the summer, lovely spot, don't need pool as there is an open air pool by the lake and can also swim in the lake which is class. Haven't been in 10 years or so but hope to go back soon. Moraine I haven't been to but it's on my bucket list
Cheers for that. Do you remember if the lake was an okay temperature to swim in?
Let's just say my two girls wouldn't be the bravest in terms of cold water :-)
It does look lovely.
Is the food decent?
Was in France last year and was surprised at how samey and so-so the food was in comparison to the North of Majorca for example.
Water in the lake was a great temperature to swim in, weather can be quite warm in the summer and water heats accordingly. Food was first class especially the breakfast, a lot of locally sourced fruit and veg. It's a very healthy holiday, beautiful walk around the lake or even just stroll up and down the lake side without doing the full circuit. Walking up the mountain is great also with some great paths or just cable car to top and walk down. Most hotels will give you great value on bike hire which is recommended, the one is stayed in gave the bikes free. There is always festivals on too
General discussion / Re: The Many Faces of US Polit...
Last post by Itchy - May 21, 2024, 04:10:10 PM
Quote from: whitey on May 21, 2024, 02:46:52 PM
Quote from: J70 on May 21, 2024, 02:10:15 PMIt's degree lads. The Republicans want to give carte blanche to Israel. They're going mad at Biden for even pausing the shipments of 2000 lb bombs, with the House officially "rebuking" him recently. They're on tv arguing that the Gazan civilians are fair game because they elected and support Hamas. You think it's bad for the Palestinians now? Just wait till Trump wins and the GOP take back the Senate this autumn.

I know of Republicans who wouldn't care if every single resident of Gaza was killed

Their logic is that the Palestinians voted in Hamas, so they now need to live with the consequences

You don't think their are democrats that think that too?
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 ...
Last post by RedHand88 - May 21, 2024, 04:08:11 PM
Can confirm it is all true.
I have two sources.
One is my cousins cousins friends Portuguese girlfriend who works on the resort, saw it all kick off. Mad what she is saying, too bad to repeat.
Solicitors will be making a fortune from it all that's for sure.
Would explain the poor performances since then.
Last post by Blowitupref - May 21, 2024, 04:08:11 PM
Quote from: Dag Dog on May 21, 2024, 03:37:16 PMI'm surprised Rashford's exclusion is even noteworthy.
He's been miles off the standard for a year. 

I see Sancho who has been in decent form with Dortmund hasn't made the squad either. Jordan Henderson a regular selection for Southgate also didn't make the cut.
GAA Discussion / Re: Sam Maguire 2024 Group 1 ...
Last post by smort - May 21, 2024, 03:56:46 PM
Come on guys, you can't leave us hanging like that

Spill the beans
Last post by Dag Dog - May 21, 2024, 03:37:16 PM
I'm surprised Rashford's exclusion is even noteworthy.
He's been miles off the standard for a year. 
General discussion / Re: Death Notices
Last post by Dag Dog - May 21, 2024, 03:34:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 18, 2024, 09:07:05 PMTony O'Reilly

Remember when he got knighted and got very tetchy by people calling him Tony instead of Sir Anthony!
Did he eventually get over himself?
Laois / Re: Laois Senior Footballers 2...
Last post by Countyminor - May 21, 2024, 03:33:40 PM
Watched it on GAA Go, decent enough I thought aside from the fact there was no co-commentary and no analysis done. James Kelly, Brian Byrne, Simon Fingleton, Evan O'Carroll and Rioghan all very good.

There's been a small bit of shite spewed on this forum lately about younger players not being good enough. Compare the team from Sunday to the one that got the shite kicked out of them in Aughrim in 2022 or the one that got us relegated to Division 4 back in 2017. Some far less notable names on the team sheet perhaps, but we've added some great pace and mobility in the likes of Shaun Fitz, Rioghan, Fingleton and Heffernan that the likes of JO'L and Lillis weren't offering us in the not so far away past.

This team is nicely balanced and competitive at Tailteann cup level. I would not be surprised if we beat Fermanagh wherever that may be but we will most likely eventually get caught in the longer grass by more quality opposition like Down or god forbid Kildare if they get their act sorted.

The important thing should be to keep that nucleus of recent u20 graduates together and build their minutes. Right now those lads are doing just fine.