Battle of the Boyne - Meath Vs Louth - Leinster Final 11/7/2010

Started by thejuice, June 29, 2010, 06:21:56 PM

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2010, 02:04:22 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2010, 01:57:48 AM
Ah come on Sligonian there is absolutely no excuse for that carry on. The referee did make a monumental c**k up but he still should not be subjected to that sort of intimidation from mindless eejits.

Louth were robbed of what would've been their greatest day in donkey's years so you can understand the level of fustration of people but you have to show a level of self control - for me Peter Fitzpatrick deserves a lot of credit for his actions. The footage of the young Louth garsún in tears when what I presume was his father was being held by a security guard was heartbreaking. That man should be absolutely ashamed of himself.

It was no c**k up, ffs if he wanted to give louth fair play he would of asked the umpires. In no way was this a mistake. Its far to PC and Niave to give the ref that excuse.

Ive never even come close to this with refs but fck me i can understand. If this had happened Sligo in 07 i would of went ballistic and i dont know what I would have done.

It's still no excuse for physically intimidating and confronting the referee. There was an injustice perpretated on Louth but you can't behave that way no matter how fustrated you are. The book should be thrown at these clowns because there is no excuse. You can hardly say to the Guards that "I was fustrated and I'll regret my actions when I've calmed down".

Contrast the actions of these "fans" today to the Offaly crowd in '98 after Cooney had blown up early in the hurling semi-final against Clare

agorm

Of course Louth deserved to win on the balance of the play but the team that deserves to win doesnt always do so. It is  v v rare for a decision to be overturned no matter how bad it is but the vibes from the Sunday Game indicated that it is possible that a replay will be considered, I dont really mind. It would give closure on the one hand but you could also ask why is it happening here and not on all the other occasions that decisions like this happen and does it allow the thugs to win?

No matter what happens some of the Louth supporters didnt cover themselves in glory at all. Those near me were fine but there must have been thousands of them booing Cian Ward all the time for the frees, way way more than the token jeering when Louth were taking frees.

On top of that the thuggery of a few that we all saw and I hope that the Louth Co. Board conduct an investigation and ban the thugs from games (not  easy I know)

On top of that a Meath player getting struck on the pitch.

On top of that I heard from two sources that Sean Boylan was struck in the stands after being approached by a Louth "supporter".

We all have to accept defeat no matter how hard done by it seems. ARe these people supporters at all or are they bandwagon jumpers? Every Louth supporter around me was fine and were a bit shocked to be honest, I actually said to them I didnt think it was a goal and most were just bemused by it all.

Quote from: agorm on July 12, 2010, 02:50:33 AM
Of course Louth deserved to win on the balance of the play but the team that deserves to win doesnt always do so. It is  v v rare for a decision to be overturned no matter how bad it is but the vibes from the Sunday Game indicated that it is possible that a replay will be considered, I dont really mind. It would give closure on the one hand but you could also ask why is it happening here and not on all the other occasions that decisions like this happen and does it allow the thugs to win?

No matter what happens some of the Louth supporters didnt cover themselves in glory at all. Those near me were fine but there must have been thousands of them booing Cian Ward all the time for the frees, way way more than the token jeering when Louth were taking frees.

On top of that the thuggery of a few that we all saw and I hope that the Louth Co. Board conduct an investigation and ban the thugs from games (not  easy I know)

On top of that I heard from two sources that Sean Boylan was struck in the stands after being approached by a Louth "supporter".

We all have to accept defeat no matter how hard done by it seems. ARe these people supporters at all or are they bandwagon jumpers? Every Louth supporter around me was fine and were a bit shocked to be honest, I actually said to them I didnt think it was a goal and most were just bemused by it all.

Is this a race to the bottom to see who's fans were the worst? The main crux of your point is correct but why do you feel the need to talk about the behaviour of the Louth fans, if the majority of them were fine? What about ; what about ; what about ::)

Hotrocks

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 12, 2010, 01:23:42 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2010, 12:51:38 AM
If Louth dont get a replay they should forfeit the qualifier match in protest. 25000 x 30euro is what Louth gave the GAA today to be cheated.

There have been way worse crowd problems at club games involving refs, these Louth GAA fans shouldnt be scapegoated, they barely even touched the ref. I remember seeing footage of Niall Cahalane punching a ref in the jaw at a club game after final whistle and he writes for the examiner now.

Sorry SLIGONIAN, complete bollix.

1. The GAA can't grant a replay here because it would very quickly end up in a snarl-up of fixtures, as if there weren't enough issues with those already. The result is the result unless it's a case of the game not running to full-time (as happened with Jimmy Cooney and the Offaly and Clare hurlers a few years ago).

2. You're trying to excuse assaults on the ref with comparison to worse assaults. That's not on, the ref should never be manhandled, and those Louth 'fans' are a disgrace to their county, and should be banned from whichever jurisdiction the GAA hold, be that club or county. Don't attempt to play the whataboutery card here please.

FOSB what did you think of Sluddens performance, or are you trying to defend him?

who the f**k left a Tyrone man ref a game of football. Sure, throwing the ball and all sorts of cheating are an acceptable part of the game up there.

Idiotic decision.

Joe Sheridan quoted in the Irish Times today:

I think it was a perfect goal

What a complete and utter knob.

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on July 12, 2010, 06:54:43 AM
who the f**k left a Tyrone man ref a game of football. Sure, throwing the ball and all sorts of cheating are an acceptable part of the game up there.

Idiotic decision.

You mean let not left? You need a lesson in the Queen's English.

In the Onion Bag

Quote from: hardstation on July 12, 2010, 12:07:26 AM
I agree.
Btw, Sludden may as well have had a 5 year old escorting him off. Thon Garda was a fat, useless b**tard. His job needs looked at.

The Guard concerned ought to be commended for restraining his professionally trained instincts for natural justice. 
Surely he too had some sympathy with misjustice of Louth.  He did well not to have a go himself, well done that man.

In the Onion Bag

IT WAS NEVER A SCORE. 
SHERRIDEN DID NOT GET DOWNWARD PRESSURE ON THE BALL.

agorm

Quote from: stephenite on July 12, 2010, 03:09:50 AM
Quote from: agorm on July 12, 2010, 02:50:33 AM

Is this a race to the bottom to see who's fans were the worst? The main crux of your point is correct but why do you feel the need to talk about the behaviour of the Louth fans, if the majority of them were fine? What about ; what about ; what about ::)
Of course I am entitled to talk about their behaviour even if the majority were ok. I actually cant understand your logic, I'll check again....maybe this isnt a discussion board and I am not entitled to an opinion!!
BTW the booing was worse than any we have come up against (including Dublin and Mayo).

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on July 12, 2010, 02:04:22 AM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on July 12, 2010, 01:57:48 AM
Ah come on Sligonian there is absolutely no excuse for that carry on. The referee did make a monumental c**k up but he still should not be subjected to that sort of intimidation from mindless eejits.

Louth were robbed of what would've been their greatest day in donkey's years so you can understand the level of fustration of people but you have to show a level of self control - for me Peter Fitzpatrick deserves a lot of credit for his actions. The footage of the young Louth garsún in tears when what I presume was his father was being held by a security guard was heartbreaking. That man should be absolutely ashamed of himself.

It was no c**k up, ffs if he wanted to give louth fair play he would of asked the umpires. In no way was this a mistake. Its far to PC and Niave to give the ref that excuse.

Ive never even come close to this with refs but fck me i can understand. If this had happened Sligo in 07 i would of went ballistic and i dont know what I would have done.

When there is a score the umpires confer and then raise a flag. The umpires stood motionless untill the ref told them to raise the flag. The ref had to tell the umpire to do his job. That's nothing to do with fair play it's the fact that the unpires forgot they had a job to do untill the ref correctly reminded them to do it.

Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 08:10:29 AM

When there is a score the umpires confer and then raise a flag. The umpires stood motionless untill the ref told them to raise the flag. The ref had to tell the umpire to do his job. That's nothing to do with fair play it's the fact that the unpires forgot they had a job to do untill the ref correctly reminded them to do it.
Wrong.

The umpires do not wave the flag if they are not sure if its a score or if they see a clear infringement.

The umpires did not stand motionless. One raised his arm to signal he wanted to tell the ref something he'd seen (presumably that Sheridan carried the ball over the line).

Quote from: Hound on July 12, 2010, 08:34:01 AM

Wrong.

The umpires do not wave the flag if they are not sure if its a score or if they see a clear infringement.

The umpires did not stand motionless. One raised his arm to signal he wanted to tell the ref something he'd seen (presumably that Sheridan carried the ball over the line).

Then why didn't he/they say so? As far as I could see Sludden was looking at two mannequins who had nothing to tell him.

Capt Pat

I thought that lone garda did all that he could he do. He had to stay by Sludden as the blows were coming in, there were numerous people trying to get at Sludden and if the the garda goes off and tries to dish out justice on any of those fans then the ref is left unguarded.

Where were the other gardai and officials? Surely there should have been a garda escort of about4 gardai to get te ref off the pitch. I am sure I have seen that before.

Quote from: Zapatista on July 12, 2010, 08:40:15 AM
Quote from: Hound on July 12, 2010, 08:34:01 AM

Wrong.

Then why didn't he/they say so? As far as I could see Sludden was looking at two mannequins who had nothing to tell him.
Jeez Zap, did you look at it or what?

Sludden didnt give the umpire any chance, he didnt want to know. He just ordered him to award the goal. Now maybe he should have stood his ground and refused to wave the flag unless Sludden gave him a proper hearing, but that's about as likely to happen as Sheridan holding his hands up and saying it wasn't legal.