NI job losses

Started by seafoid, February 17, 2016, 08:05:24 PM

Both my sisters in law and my cousin work for FD. Top company.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2016, 11:29:36 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 19, 2016, 11:23:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2016, 10:57:22 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 19, 2016, 10:56:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 19, 2016, 12:01:14 AM
What industries does NI specialise in, other than welfare ?

Google Brian Conlon and his company First Derivatives Seafóid. Ex county player for Down. Global player based out of Newry. PM me if you want more details.
Are you trying to set him up on a date? Are you Brian?

Feck off ya hoor ye! Conlon has some operation. 1,000+ employees. Multi million pound turn over. All started with a loan from the Credit Union.
Know all about it. A mate worked for FD in the 90s. You've done well for yourself 5 Sams.

Fcuk all to do with me. Played a bitta ball with Brian in the 80s and 90s. Serious operator. If it wasn't for a freak injury playing for QUB in the 80s he would have two All Ireland medals. He was that good.

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 19, 2016, 10:56:03 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 19, 2016, 12:01:14 AM
What industries does NI specialise in, other than welfare ?

Google Brian Conlon and his company First Derivatives Seafóid. Ex county player for Down. Global player based out of Newry. PM me if you want more details.

Great organisation.
If I had been 20 years younger I'd could have ended up working for them!  Not many of us anticipated such a company in Newry when I was at the Abbey. Fair douze.

The wee pharma company up by the train station isn't doing too bad for Newry either, nor the wee Dimplex Crew.

@Tony Baloney,  I was just stating the benefits of the unions over single case situations with a solicitor. The unions are a dying beast in some industries and not necessary in others but in the likes of the public sector they are vital in my opinion as you're dealing with tax payers money and a government who will cut the shit out of whatever they feel is weakest. A strong Union is keep to protect them.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 19, 2016, 07:20:45 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2016, 06:44:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 19, 2016, 02:45:27 PM
http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-35059735

Quote from: Saffrongael on February 19, 2016, 09:27:33 AM
FAO MilltownRow2 From his Twitter - @JP_BIZ "Local boss of Bombardier says job cuts would still have happened even if workers had accepted pay deal last year. Issue not resolved."
If they rejected the deal over an extra hour on a Friday and a 2 year pay freeze in a period of low inflation, then they are an amazing shower of mugs. Shocking stuff!

Was great finishing up at 11.45am on a Friday.... But Franko knows a man who has a twitter account that will tell you something else...

Not me MR2.  I doubt your slovenly attitude towards work must extend to your posting here also.

Quote from: Franko on February 20, 2016, 12:05:55 PM

FAO MilltownRow2 From his Twitter - @JP_BIZ "Local boss of Bombardier says job cuts would still have happened even if workers had accepted pay deal last year. Issue not resolved."
If they rejected the deal over an extra hour on a Friday and a 2 year pay freeze in a period of low inflation, then they are an amazing shower of mugs. Shocking stuff!

Was great finishing up at 11.45am on a Friday.... But Franko knows a man who has a twitter account that will tell you something else...

Not me MR2.  I doubt your slovenly attitude towards work must extend to your posting here also.

So that's you admitting you're full of shite?? Apology accepted  ;)

To answer a post you put to me before, in not an expert in anything I post unless its something I've worked at..... I've asked more questions about things on these threads than purport to know everything.. Unless you've noticed everybody on a discussion board has a view point, you don't agree with everybody, calling me names, cnut,sloth and whatever else has no value to your contribution (IMHO)

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 20, 2016, 09:49:09 AM
The wee pharma company up by the train station isn't doing too bad for Newry either, nor the wee Dimplex Crew.

@Tony Baloney,  I was just stating the benefits of the unions over single case situations with a solicitor. The unions are a dying beast in some industries and not necessary in others but in the likes of the public sector they are vital in my opinion as you're dealing with tax payers money and a government who will cut the shit out of whatever they feel is weakest. A strong Union is keep to protect them.
But the civil service doesn't give a shit about the tax - payers money. Through self-interest the unions prevent the rest of the tax paying public from having an efficient, cost - effective public sector.

Was talking to someone who works in the technical side in Bombardier.... 580 to lose jobs in first year 500 next year.... Belfast seems to have been hit the hardest.  There will be some casual losses first and possible packages for earlier redundancy.... But will be down to manager appraisals! He said that if they got rid of the dead wood they'd operate a lot more effectively and efficiently..... I wonder what dead wood means??

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2016, 04:33:11 PM
Was talking to someone who works in the technical side in Bombardier.... 580 to lose jobs in first year 500 next year.... Belfast seems to have been hit the hardest.  There will be some casual losses first and possible packages for earlier redundancy.... But will be down to manager appraisals! He said that if they got rid of the dead wood they'd operate a lot more effectively and efficiently..... I wonder what dead wood means??
I would imagine that a place like Bombardier operates to strict lean manufacturing principles so of there is little chance of addional savings there then getting rid of staff is the last option available. Every company has passengers so after getting rid of temps, contractors and early retirement and dead wood as you say the actual cuts might not be too deep for the hard - working, technically competent staff at the factory. I have been there, done that and it's no craic!

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2016, 12:40:28 PM

To answer a post you put to me before, in not an expert in anything I post unless its something I've worked at..... I've asked more questions about things on these threads than purport to know everything.. Unless you've noticed everybody on a discussion board has a view point, you don't agree with everybody, calling me names, cnut,sloth and whatever else has no value to your contribution (IMHO)

Erm... Sorry to knock you off your high horse but the first one to resort to petty name calling was yourself.  And no, it's not an apology, it's me telling you that I wasn't the person who was quoting the Twitter link, contrary to your assertions.  Try to keep up, you really are making yourself look silly here.

Quote from: Franko on February 20, 2016, 05:03:21 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2016, 12:40:28 PM

Erm... Sorry to knock you off your high horse but the first one to resort to petty name calling was yourself.  And no, it's not an apology, it's me telling you that I wasn't the person who was quoting the Twitter link, contrary to your assertions.  Try to keep up, you really are making yourself look silly here.

Ok

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 20, 2016, 05:01:57 PM
I would imagine that a place like Bombardier operates to strict lean manufacturing principles so of there is little chance of addional savings there then getting rid of staff is the last option available. Every company has passengers so after getting rid of temps, contractors and early retirement and dead wood as you say the actual cuts might not be too deep for the hard - working, technically competent staff at the factory. I have been there, done that and it's no craic!

Is it just bombardier staff in Belfast being made redundant ?

Quote from: Minder on February 20, 2016, 05:06:32 PM

7000 overall bombardier companies and the 3 main plants in Belfast will be over 1000, across-the-board i.e management right down and through all departments.... Composites side of things are doing really well but they may lose some skill sets which will be hard to replace.... Also no apprentices taken on, which is huge, as it will have a knock on effect when business picks up.... They'd just opened up a brand new spot at the old Nortel factory to accommodate new apprentices....

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 20, 2016, 05:14:48 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 20, 2016, 05:06:32 PM

7000 overall bombardier companies and the 3 main plants in Belfast will be over 1000, across-the-board i.e management right down and through all departments.... Composites side of things are doing really well but they may lose some skill sets which will be hard to replace.... Also no apprentices taken on, which is huge, as it will have a knock on effect when business picks up.... They'd just opened up a brand new spot at the old Nortel factory to accommodate new apprentices....
Didn't realise the old site on Doagh Road was being used. Good to see it, it was a shame to see the plant being mothballed.

Newton Emerson in the Irish News maintains the Union advised it's members to accept the cost cutting measures ???