NI job losses

Started by seafoid, February 17, 2016, 08:05:24 PM

Quote from: seafoid on February 19, 2016, 02:34:53 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on February 19, 2016, 09:19:56 AM
Quote from: seafoid on February 19, 2016, 12:01:14 AM
What industries does NI specialise in, other than welfare ?

40% of all recording heads in computers etc are made in Derry. That's a lot of recording heads.
Does it need some new industries or services?

Location wise general manufacturing is going to be difficult to revive. Even wise tax breaks and incentives there are more cost effective areas of the world to use a hub for these multi nationals.

Has to be some new thinking and new direction for the future.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-35059735

Quote from: Saffrongael on February 19, 2016, 09:27:33 AM
FAO MilltownRow2 From his Twitter - @JP_BIZ "Local boss of Bombardier says job cuts would still have happened even if workers had accepted pay deal last year. Issue not resolved."

Quote from: ONeill on February 18, 2016, 09:42:59 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on February 18, 2016, 09:16:09 PM
Having worked in a unionised production environment the Union's main priority, apart from self promotion,  is ensuring every worker is viewed as an equal. The most useless, lazy, work-shy, always off sick, raising pathetic grievances rather than work,  trouble-makers got the full backing of the Union to prevent them being disciplined or getting a poor appraisal rating for being a useless layabout.  When the union ensures that type doesn't get the road it endangers everyones future.

Going off subject a bit, but how dangerous do you think it is to not be part of any union? Say, just have a good lawyer?

Does that leave you feeling a bit of a fraud if a union negotiates a better pay deal which you will benefit from?

The unions will give you exactly the same 'legal' service as a lawyer.  The benefits of being part of a Union is the power of numbers.  If you're getting a bad deal in work and not part of the union then the company just shafts you and gets rid of you.  If you're a Union member the risk Union action happening which can cause havoc,  depending on the industry.

Indiana is the only one with the expertise and the vision to save the NI economy

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 19, 2016, 02:45:27 PM

FAO MilltownRow2 From his Twitter - @JP_BIZ "Local boss of Bombardier says job cuts would still have happened even if workers had accepted pay deal last year. Issue not resolved."
If they rejected the deal over an extra hour on a Friday and a 2 year pay freeze in a period of low inflation, then they are an amazing shower of mugs. Shocking stuff!

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2016, 06:44:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on February 19, 2016, 02:45:27 PM

If they rejected the deal over an extra hour on a Friday and a 2 year pay freeze in a period of low inflation, then they are an amazing shower of mugs. Shocking stuff!

Was great finishing up at 11.45am on a Friday.... But Franko knows a man who has a twitter account that will tell you something else...

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2016, 02:50:43 PM
Having worked in a unionised production environment the Union's main priority, apart from self promotion,  is ensuring every worker is viewed as an equal. The most useless, lazy, work-shy, always off sick, raising pathetic grievances rather than work,  trouble-makers got the full backing of the Union to prevent them being disciplined or getting a poor appraisal rating for being a useless layabout.  When the union ensures that type doesn't get the road it endangers everyones future.

Going off subject a bit, but how dangerous do you think it is to not be part of any union? Say, just have a good lawyer?

Does that leave you feeling a bit of a fraud if a union negotiates a better pay deal which you will benefit from?

The unions will give you exactly the same 'legal' service as a lawyer.  The benefits of being part of a Union is the power of numbers.  If you're getting a bad deal in work and not part of the union then the company just shafts you and gets rid of you.  If you're a Union member the risk Union action happening which can cause havoc,  depending on the industry.
Our company has over 2000 employees in the north and not a union in sight. They aren't a necessity.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2016, 07:43:57 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 19, 2016, 02:50:43 PM

Our company has over 2000 employees in the north and not a union in sight. They aren't a necessity.

Ours too.
1500 worker's and non union.

anyone who says unions are not necessary assumes that the conditions of now are forever.
Unions were destroyed in the US and now one third of workers work freelance.
This chart shows what happens without unions

http://www.counterpunch.org/2015/01/15/40-years-of-economic-policy-in-one-chart/

Life is contingent

Quote from: Smokin Joe on February 19, 2016, 07:06:02 AM

Approx 40% of the world's mobile crushing / screening equipment is manufactured in NI (according to Invest NI).
3 fairly large indigenous Pharma companies.

Quote from: LeoMc on February 19, 2016, 09:50:05 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on February 19, 2016, 07:06:02 AM

Approx 40% of the world's mobile crushing / screening equipment is manufactured in NI (according to Invest NI).
3 fairly large indigenous Pharma companies.
Tis true. Blow-ins for the tax breaks in the south.

Google Brian Conlon and his company First Derivatives Seafóid. Ex county player for Down. Global player based out of Newry. PM me if you want more details.

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 19, 2016, 10:56:03 PM

Google Brian Conlon and his company First Derivatives Seafóid. Ex county player for Down. Global player based out of Newry. PM me if you want more details.
Are you trying to set him up on a date? Are you Brian?

Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2016, 10:57:22 PM

Feck off ya hoor ye! Conlon has some operation. 1,000+ employees. Multi million pound turn over. All started with a loan from the Credit Union.

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 19, 2016, 11:23:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2016, 10:57:22 PM

Feck off ya hoor ye! Conlon has some operation. 1,000+ employees. Multi million pound turn over. All started with a loan from the Credit Union.
Know all about it. A mate worked for FD in the 90s. You've done well for yourself 5 Sams.