Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Seany on March 12, 2010, 12:22:30 AM

Title: PDC Premier League of Darts
Post by: Seany on March 12, 2010, 12:22:30 AM
Just a question.  Watched it tonight.  James Wade was booed every time he went for a double.  Anyone know why?  Seems like a decent chat.  Only 26 and a great talent.  Premier champion.  Or am I giving too much credit to the drunken mobs who attend such events?

Title: Re: PDC Premier League of Darts
Post by: Hound on March 12, 2010, 07:40:46 AM
Quote from: Seany on March 12, 2010, 12:22:30 AM
Just a question.  Watched it tonight.  James Wade was booed every time he went for a double.  Anyone know why?  Seems like a decent chat.  Only 26 and a great talent.  Premier champion.  Or am I giving too much credit to the drunken mobs who attend such events?

Wade would be regarded as an arrogant ballix. In particular when he was on the circuit first, he developed his reputation of having a big head and a big mouth. I think he's improved in that regard, but he reacts poorly to any abuse he gets from the crowd, which just increases the abuse. The crowd only really go after him during the PL, because its become "part of the fun". King and Lewis get plenty of abuse too at times.

Wade is definitely a great talent, although going through a bit of a bad patch.

Sleeping with a 44 year old  :o   But Helen Chamberlain is in good shape for that age, and she has a few bob. ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 09, 2010, 01:53:20 PM
some darts match last night between taylor and anderson. has sid widdell never heard a player been booed before he kept saying the crowds treatment of taylor was a disgrace
Post by: Boycey on October 09, 2010, 02:27:06 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 09, 2010, 01:53:20 PM
some darts match last night between taylor and anderson. has sid widdell never heard a player been booed before he kept saying the crowds treatment of taylor was a disgrace

Have to say he was right in fairness..
Post by: the Deel Rover on October 09, 2010, 02:31:27 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 09, 2010, 02:27:06 PM

i know taylor was been booed for practically every throw Boycey but my point is that other players have been booed and i have never heard him say anything about it 
Post by: Boycey on October 09, 2010, 03:17:41 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on October 09, 2010, 02:31:27 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 09, 2010, 02:27:06 PM

i know taylor was been booed for practically every throw Boycey but my point is that other players have been booed and i have never heard him say anything about it

I'm sure I've heard him on about it before when other players, usually Wade and King got it. Its generally harmless kind of a mob mentality thing but last night it got a bit out of hand and people were calling out as he was throwing. All players deserve respect when throwing but if you are 15 times World Champion you definitely do.
Post by: bigfrank on February 02, 2011, 07:10:46 PM
Anyone for the darts in belfast on the 24th Feb??? I have went this past 3 years and love it...great nights craic...have been a slack c%$t this year tho and didnt get tickets YET.....only single tickets left online...few of us hoping to go so been nice to have few together...usually is loads on ebay but next to none this year.......
Post by: SHEEDY on February 10, 2011, 08:18:43 PM
what a performance from mark webster, blew wade away with some brilliant darts.
Post by: sammymaguire on February 10, 2011, 10:33:25 PM
Taylor took some thumping from Jackpot tonight... The winds of change are nigh in the world of Darts
Post by: sammymaguire on March 17, 2011, 10:24:53 PM
Taylor back on top but what about the fans in Glasgow throwing coins and beer at the current World Champ when he got on top of Anderson with 8 straight sets in a row. Sad stuff indeed but the two lads on stage never lost their cool.
Post by: Minder on March 17, 2011, 10:27:47 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on March 17, 2011, 10:24:53 PM
Taylor back on top but what about the fans in Glasgow throwing coins and beer at the current World Champ when he got on top of Anderson with 8 straight sets in a row. Sad stuff indeed but the two lads on stage never lost their cool.

There seemed to be some vermin at that tonight, I was flicking over to it and they were booing Wade and they were also booing Taylor.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 17, 2011, 10:43:59 PM
Quote from: Minder on March 17, 2011, 10:27:47 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on March 17, 2011, 10:24:53 PM

There seemed to be some vermin at that tonight, I was flicking over to it and they were booing Wade and they were also booing Taylor.
Sporting event + alcohol + Glasgow = scum
Post by: upmonaghansayswe on March 18, 2011, 11:29:50 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbl-ZoZFOpo&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbl-ZoZFOpo&feature=related)

Watch from 8.05 on.. Coin thrown at Lewis..
Post by: Club Rossa on May 19, 2011, 08:17:26 PM
Some performance from Lewis there,wiped the floor with Taylor.
Post by: SHEEDY on May 19, 2011, 08:41:36 PM
lewis v anderson in final. should be some match. plenty of 180's in store
Post by: Up The Middle on May 20, 2011, 09:47:25 AM
Could Barney have looked anymore disinterested during the play off last night, i used to think he was a great player and seemed like a really down to earth sort of fella, but last night he just seemed like an arse
Post by: sammymaguire on February 09, 2012, 10:27:26 PM
Some game Taylor v Lewis with Taylor 6-1 down coming back for a 7-7 draw  :o
Post by: BennyHarp on February 09, 2012, 10:39:21 PM
Quote from: sammymaguire on February 09, 2012, 10:27:26 PM
Some game Taylor v Lewis with Taylor 6-1 down coming back for a 7-7 draw  :o

Unbelievable stuff! Taylor averaging 112 and Lewis 104.
Post by: Gold on February 09, 2012, 11:12:19 PM
Great game. Wish Taylor won though!
Post by: sammymaguire on February 16, 2012, 09:26:21 PM
9-darter tonight, Taylor back to his awesome best
Post by: the Deel Rover on February 16, 2012, 09:30:02 PM
Typical taylor, painter was in control and then taylor  hits the 9 darter. The last 2 weeks he has been unreal
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2012, 09:56:19 PM
Wade losing it completely again!
Post by: Don Johnson on February 16, 2012, 09:59:52 PM
(http://oi42.tinypic.com/4kbp76.jpg)
Post by: laceer on February 17, 2012, 12:31:00 PM
Is that Paddy McCourt?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 29, 2017, 09:53:29 PM
Can't find the other darts thread.  Some final of the masters on at the moment. Mvg and Anderson.  Averages are unreal, the standard just keeps getting better.
Post by: Boycey on July 30, 2017, 09:00:17 PM
Vintage Taylor at the World Matchplay...

Crushed everybody, MVG in the quarters, Lewis in semis and Wright in the final, I'm delighted to see him get another day in the sun. He's won 16 of the 24 finals in this particular tournament  :o
Post by: AZOffaly on July 30, 2017, 09:02:43 PM
Quote from: Boycey on July 30, 2017, 09:00:17 PM
Vintage Taylor at the World Matchplay...

Crushed everybody, MVG in the quarters, Lewis in semis and Wright in the final, I'm delighted to see him get another day in the sun. He's won 16 of the 24 finals in this particular tournament  :o

Was watching it all week. He gets under my skin with his holier than thou shit, given he is the sorest loser and worst winner of them all, but his darts this week were class and he deserved to win it. Some achievement. He fairly gave MVG a reminder.
Post by: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 09:20:32 PM
Trying to shout for Gurney here but he doesn't make himself easy to like..
Post by: Targetman on October 07, 2017, 09:35:05 PM
Naw couldn't like him if you rared him, c'mon Whitlock!!
Post by: SHEEDY on October 07, 2017, 09:57:32 PM
Quote from: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 09:20:32 PM
Trying to shout for Gurney here but he doesn't make himself easy to like..
+1, c'mon whitlock.
Post by: Syferus on October 07, 2017, 09:59:21 PM
It's be good for an Irish player to win a major.
Post by: Targetman on October 07, 2017, 10:26:55 PM
Feck that!!
Post by: Syferus on October 07, 2017, 10:28:15 PM
Better player by a distance, shouldn't have let Whitlock hang around as long as he did.
Post by: Boycey on October 07, 2017, 11:09:51 PM
I'm glad he won in the finish but he's gonna have to work on his onstage demeanour, it's shocking!! When an Irish crowd is getting a home throwers back you know he's doing something wrong.
Post by: the goal was on on October 08, 2017, 12:39:56 AM
He is a spoon and love to see someone slap him one! It's an effort for him every time to get his darts out of the board
Post by: Never beat the deeler on October 08, 2017, 02:11:38 AM
Just watched it on YouTube there. Glad he won but you couldn't warm to him.
Most darts players can be unlikable at times to be fair.

Taylor, Lewis the worst of them for me followed in no order by Thornton, Pipe van huybrechts
Post by: AZOffaly on October 09, 2017, 01:11:04 PM
van Gerwen seems to be trying to cultivate this arrogant attitude too. MAybe with Taylor going he thinks Darts needs a big bully on top.

Gurney has a jaw you'd never get tired of punching.
Post by: bennydorano on November 19, 2017, 08:53:03 PM
Another title for MVG. Only watched bits & pieces but I see (Twitter) that Taylor threw the toys out of the pram again after getting beat in semi.
Post by: SHEEDY on November 19, 2017, 09:04:29 PM
Taylor just confirming in the last few days what an unlikeable p***k he actually is.

Mvg looks a near cert for the world championship, different league to the rest.
Post by: Targetman on November 19, 2017, 09:29:46 PM
A complete tosser, the sooner he retires the better, he'd better feckin retire!!
Post by: Boycey on November 19, 2017, 10:05:04 PM
I hope he wins one final world title, greatest of all time  8)
Post by: mrdeeds on December 14, 2017, 07:53:41 PM
Poor O Connor having double trouble.
Post by: Boycey on December 14, 2017, 08:59:14 PM
Before the begrudgers get ahead of me, it'd be great to see The Power bow out with title no. 17
Post by: Syferus on December 14, 2017, 09:14:15 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 14, 2017, 08:59:14 PM
Before the begrudgers get ahead of me, it'd be great to see The Power bow out with title no. 17

It would be genuinely horrible. How anyone can watch is childish, egotistical behavior over the years and even contemplate rooting for him I don't know.

Not that he as any chance.
Post by: square_ball on December 14, 2017, 09:41:59 PM

I hope he gets to the final and MVG hammers him 7-0.

Post by: Syferus on December 14, 2017, 10:21:32 PM
Quote from: square_ball on December 14, 2017, 09:41:59 PM

I hope he gets to the final and MVG hammers him 7-0.

I hope it's Barney that beats him. That would be glorious.
Post by: Targetman on December 14, 2017, 11:32:46 PM
Its not totally out of the question that Taylor could win this, it would be feckin unbearable if he did, 4/6 MVG no value in that unless you're lumping on, should be some good darts!
Post by: stew on December 15, 2017, 02:10:59 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 14, 2017, 09:14:15 PM

It would be genuinely horrible. How anyone can watch is childish, egotistical behavior over the years and even contemplate rooting for him I don't know.

Wha????

Hes had about 20 chances and taken 16 of them ffs.

Best there will ever be.

Dick.
Post by: Syferus on December 15, 2017, 02:12:57 AM
Quote from: stew on December 15, 2017, 02:10:59 AM

Wha????

Best there will ever be.

Dick.

I have absolutely no interest in discussing anything with you.
Post by: stew on December 15, 2017, 11:20:39 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 15, 2017, 02:12:57 AM
Quote from: stew on December 15, 2017, 02:10:59 AM

Wha????

Best there will ever be.

Dick.

I have absolutely no interest in discussing anything with you.

The feeeling is mutual however I apologise, I meant to infer Taylor is a dick not you, in this case, I thought I had amended the post to reflect that, apologies.
Post by: Boycey on December 15, 2017, 08:59:37 PM
The great man on next..
Post by: Therealdonald on December 15, 2017, 10:40:32 PM
I genuinely would have liked to have seen Taylor in his prime now. I don't think he would match his 16/20 record, he'd still be successful but how much, who knows. But he is a complete bell end.
Post by: bennydorano on December 19, 2017, 10:38:23 PM
Favourites getting chinned all over the shop this year
Post by: Targetman on December 19, 2017, 10:48:07 PM
Yep, Lewis the latest victim, very surprised at that!
Post by: mrdeeds on December 19, 2017, 10:49:16 PM
Lim a blast from past.
Post by: Syferus on December 19, 2017, 11:04:09 PM
Quote from: Targetman on December 19, 2017, 10:48:07 PM
Yep, Lewis the latest victim, very surprised at that!

Munch was excellent. He can beat Reyes if he brings the same form to the second round.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 20, 2017, 08:51:35 PM
Great show by carlows steve lennon, he was beaten 3-2 by michael smith but he can be really proud of that performance. Started slow and missed a few doubles but really grew into it and smith was relieved to get over the line in the end.
Post by: bennydorano on December 20, 2017, 09:20:35 PM
Couple of years ago I thought Smith was a sure fire future winner of the WC, disappeared a bit but you wouldn't know the way things are going this year, could be worth a few bob ew.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on December 21, 2017, 12:21:11 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 20, 2017, 09:20:35 PM
Couple of years ago I thought Smith was a sure fire future winner of the WC, disappeared a bit but you wouldn't know the way things are going this year, could be worth a few bob ew.

Anything can happen, but you're prob as well put on the nose. He is in the same half of the draw as MVG so he would potentially meet him in the semi.
If he is playing well, that's the most likely place he'll fall so i would imagine a better value bet to win outright.
Post by: dec on December 21, 2017, 12:24:19 AM
Quote from: SHEEDY on December 20, 2017, 08:51:35 PM
Great show by carlows steve lennon, he was beaten 3-2 by michael smith but he can be really proud of that performance. Started slow and missed a few doubles but really grew into it and smith was relieved to get over the line in the end.

Ireland (North or South) has never produced a really good darts player, unlike snooker where Higgins, Taylor and Doherty all have won the World Championship.
Post by: Syferus on December 21, 2017, 01:56:05 AM
Quote from: dec on December 21, 2017, 12:24:19 AM
Quote from: SHEEDY on December 20, 2017, 08:51:35 PM

Ireland (North or South) has never produced a really good darts player, unlike snooker where Higgins, Taylor and Doherty all have won the World Championship.

Dolan got to the final of the Grand Prix hitting the hardest possible 9 darter in the process; Gurney won the same competition this year.

Many larger darting countries than Ireland have never produced any major winners.
Post by: Boycey on December 21, 2017, 03:37:29 PM
Gurney shaping up well, he's currently number 4 in the world I think.

There are now far too many players in the World Championships and it goes on far too long. I suppose it's working as it packed every night. Mind you there are relatively few of them there for the darts  :)
One round less would be plenty, a couple of the sessions were almost completely devoid of any top players, the best on view last night was Simon Whitlock ffs if i went and he was top of the bill I'd feel short changed...
Post by: Syferus on December 21, 2017, 03:57:09 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 21, 2017, 03:37:29 PM
Gurney shaping up well, he's currently number 4 in the world I think.

There are now far too many players in the World Championships and it goes on far too long. I suppose it's working as it packed every night. Mind you there are relatively few of them there for the darts  :)
One round less would be plenty, a couple of the sessions were almost completely devoid of any top players, the best on view last night was Simon Whitlock ffs if i went and he was top of the bill I'd feel short changed...

Far too many, with premlims knocking out the likes of Adrian Lewis!! The WC is not too long.
Post by: Boycey on December 21, 2017, 04:23:31 PM
Oh yeah I forgot you think Lewis is some kind of superstar  ;D

There'll always be shocks that's not really the point I'm making..
Post by: Syferus on December 21, 2017, 04:37:39 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 21, 2017, 04:23:31 PM
Oh yeah I forgot you think Lewis is some kind of superstar  ;D

There'll always be shocks that's not really the point I'm making..

Two-time world champion - that's what makes him a star. Only player with the game to outscore Anderson or Van Gerwen going full bore.

There's been many more upsets in the first round this year. It's clear the overall standard in the PDC is going up and there's less sure bets, apart from maybe the top two. Reducing the size of the WC would be mad in that context.
Post by: bennydorano on December 21, 2017, 05:15:22 PM
The early rounds are perfect schedule fillers for Sky pre- Christmas, most years the real business doesn't kick in until the 27th December and it can feel like 2 different tournaments, but the shocks this year are testament to the rising standards & winning TV schedule / formula.
Post by: Boycey on December 21, 2017, 07:00:32 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 21, 2017, 05:15:22 PM
The early rounds are perfect schedule fillers for Sky pre- Christmas, most years the real business doesn't kick in until the 27th December and it can feel like 2 different tournaments, but the shocks this year are testament to the rising standards & winning TV schedule / formula.

That's near enough spot on but I'd say if ya looked back there's probably a couple of shocks every year. Look I love the darts I'll watch most nights but I think it's gone a wee bit quantity over quality..
Post by: AZOffaly on December 21, 2017, 09:29:17 PM
There's a fair few 3-0 and 3-1 too but I love them.
Post by: Boycey on December 21, 2017, 09:33:31 PM
Bloke with a Cavan4Sam sign in the crowd 😄.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 21, 2017, 09:52:29 PM
Saw that.  The ubiquitous Mayo 4 Sam was there a few years ago.
Post by: Syferus on December 21, 2017, 10:16:41 PM
Both of the first matches were one-sided.. in favour of the player who wasn't the seed.
Post by: square_ball on December 22, 2017, 08:09:07 AM
Justin Pipe being an asshole coughing behind a player as he was going for a double.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 22, 2017, 08:27:55 AM
Quote from: square_ball on December 22, 2017, 08:09:07 AM
Justin Pipe being an asshole coughing behind a player as he was going for a double.

I don't like watching him. He's so deliberate and looks like an arse.
Post by: square_ball on December 22, 2017, 09:11:01 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 22, 2017, 08:27:55 AM

Just realised it was actually on match dart. I'd say the crowd will be on his back in the next match.
Post by: LooseCannon on December 22, 2017, 09:13:23 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 22, 2017, 08:27:55 AM

At least I'm not the only one who thinks that.
Post by: Boycey on December 22, 2017, 07:21:37 PM
1st proper nights darts  8)

Suljovic vs Thornton
Anderson vs Lim
MVG vs Wilson
Post by: Boycey on December 22, 2017, 08:39:26 PM
Hard not to like Mensur...
Post by: Boycey on December 22, 2017, 09:17:54 PM
Lim just missed double 12 for the 9 darter, 28 years on :o
Post by: gallsman on December 22, 2017, 10:41:40 PM
Caught the end of it. Sounded like he gave Anderson plenty of it.

Another 9 darter so far down the line would have been an incredible story.
Post by: Orior on December 23, 2017, 12:46:04 AM
Anyone see the video of the guy dressed at a bag of chips? He was attached by six blokes dressed as seagulls, lol
Post by: bennydorano on December 23, 2017, 07:52:45 PM
Gurney under pressure
Post by: AZOffaly on December 23, 2017, 08:33:16 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 23, 2017, 07:52:45 PM
Gurney under pressure

Gone. Never looked comfortable.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 23, 2017, 08:36:29 PM
You can't help but like big john henderson.
Post by: Boycey on December 23, 2017, 08:36:55 PM
Big Hendo becoming a bit of a cult figure lately..
Post by: SHEEDY on December 23, 2017, 08:43:16 PM
Justin pipe is gonna gets dogs abuse from the crowd in this one after the coughing incident in the last round.
Post by: Asal Mor on December 23, 2017, 09:08:31 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on December 23, 2017, 08:36:29 PM
You can't help but like big john henderson.
Must have Kilkenny ancestry with a name like that and those rugged good looks.
Post by: Asal Mor on December 23, 2017, 09:10:24 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on December 23, 2017, 08:43:16 PM
Justin pipe is gonna gets dogs abuse from the crowd in this one after the coughing incident in the last round.
Was really enjoying Pipe's antics. Pity he missed those darts to take the set. Was really getting under Taylor's skin.
Post by: Targetman on December 23, 2017, 10:44:49 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 23, 2017, 08:36:55 PM
Big Hendo becoming a bit of a cult figure lately..
Yeah great to see him chin Superchin!!
Post by: Seany on December 24, 2017, 11:23:49 AM
Ridiculous to see the treatment of Justin Pipe last night. OK. He coughed. Really?  Was that going to put off his opponent when there's an avalanche of noise behind him? Wayne Mardle making disgraceful presumptions as to his guilt. The total fawning over Taylor continues and is sickening.
Post by: Syferus on December 24, 2017, 11:51:37 AM
Quote from: Seany on December 24, 2017, 11:23:49 AM
Ridiculous to see the treatment of Justin Pipe last night. OK. He coughed. Really?  Was that going to put off his opponent when there's an avalanche of noise behind him? Wayne Mardle making disgraceful presumptions as to his guilt. The total fawning over Taylor continues and is sickening.

Wayne Mardle was spot on calling a spade a spade. Not his fault the crowd took it too far.

I'd like the crowd to get on Taylor's back..
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 24, 2017, 02:40:04 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on December 23, 2017, 09:10:24 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on December 23, 2017, 08:43:16 PM
Was really enjoying Pipe's antics. Pity he missed those darts to take the set. Was really getting under Taylor's skin.
Was really enjoying himself and didn't seem to give a shite that he lost.
Post by: Seany on December 24, 2017, 05:04:27 PM
http://www.live-darts.com/category/darts-interviews/pipe-hits-back-at-mardle-over-coughgate-20171224-0002/
Post by: bennydorano on December 24, 2017, 05:51:32 PM
Thought Mardle did a bit of a Paisley 'Grand old Duke of York' routine with Pipe, get the snowball rolling & gtf outa the way. Can't be nice for Pipe at the minute.
Post by: TabClear on December 24, 2017, 06:05:08 PM
http://www.live-darts.com/category/darts-news/world-darts-championship-walk-on-girls-201411220002/

Merry Christmas! :)
Post by: Syferus on December 24, 2017, 06:32:27 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 24, 2017, 05:51:32 PM
Thought Mardle did a bit of a Paisley 'Grand old Duke of York' routine with Pipe, get the snowball rolling & gtf outa the way. Can't be nice for Pipe at the minute.

Nonsense. He called it as it happened. Why you'd expect him not to is beyond me.

You do the crime you do the time. The actual act was scum, Mardle commenting on it certainly wasn't the part of it all to be getting upset about.

Pipe wasn't likeable even before that incident.
Post by: Boycey on December 24, 2017, 07:47:27 PM
I saw Pipes interview with the German guy last night, it came across as feasible enough what he said. I'd like to hear the other guy Bernie Smiths take on it too. Either way I'm not sure Wayne Mardle is qualified to be judge and jury on the situation.
Post by: Syferus on December 24, 2017, 07:58:36 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 24, 2017, 07:47:27 PM
I saw Pipes interview with the German guy last night, it came across as feasible enough what he said. I'd like to hear the other guy Bernie Smiths take on it too. Either way I'm not sure Wayne Mardle is qualified to be judge and jury on the situation.

He walked closer to him and timed a cough when his opponent was throwing for the match. Anyone trying to make out there's leeway for any other interpretation really is doing some serious samba moves to clear all the mental hurdles.
Post by: Boycey on December 24, 2017, 08:38:00 PM
The video evidence does look pretty bad, but maybe he stood there every time the other fella played, maybe there was no sound from the cough he made. I'd like to be in possession of all the facts before some fellas career is ruined. If he is vindicated at the end of it how many people will remember? He'll always be the guy who cheated at the World Championship rightly or wrongly..
Post by: Asal Mor on December 24, 2017, 09:55:24 PM
Well said Boycey. Mardle is jumping to conclusions in a most unfair way. Pipe is saying on twitter that there was no sound, he says he stifled the cough. Bernie Smith never reacted and didn't have any issue as far as I'm aware. Mardle wasn't a sporting player himself. Often saw him gesturing to the crowd to make more noise while his opponent was throwing. Of course that was just him being "a flamboyant character". He was such a shite player he had to try something I suppose.
Post by: bennydorano on December 24, 2017, 10:29:37 PM
Mardle's entitled to his opinion but it doesn't mean he's right. His actions look way OTT the further from the event we get.

In this era of change like the wind social media storms Mardle could end up in more bother than Pipe. Pipe has said he and his family have received abuse.
Post by: Syferus on December 24, 2017, 10:44:40 PM
There was nothing over the top pointing out the obvious. You're on a loser trying to rake him over the coals for it. A pundit that could watch what happened and give a mealy-mouthed take like you seem to have wanted has no purpose being a pundit in the first place.
Post by: bennydorano on December 24, 2017, 10:53:41 PM
Being a hyperbolic gobshite is par for the course with some Sky commentators and Mardle is particularly awful, not surprised you buy it.
Post by: Syferus on December 24, 2017, 11:23:54 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 24, 2017, 10:53:41 PM
Being a hyperbolic gobshite is par for the course with some Sky commentators and Mardle is particularly awful, not surprised you buy it.

Pipe did exactly what Mardle said he did. Case closed.
Post by: bennydorano on December 24, 2017, 11:58:48 PM

http://www.live-darts.com/category/darts-interviews/pipe-hits-back-at-mardle-over-coughgate-20171224-0002/

Justin Pipe has hit back at an "out of order" Wayne Mardle following his comments on the coughing controversy which shrouded Pipe's World Championship campaign.

Pipe found himself at the centre of an alleged cheating scandal after footage emerged of him appearing to cough while his First Round opponent- Bernie Smith - was throwing for a match double.

New Zealand's Smith subsequently missed the double and went on to lose the match in a tie break seat, with Pipe setting up a Second Round glamour tie against Phil Taylor.

Pipe was eventually whitewashed 4-0 at the hands of the 16-time World Champion on Sunday and was subjected to a torrent of abuse from the Alexandra Palace crowd for the duration of the contest.

The Taunton thrower has vigorously denied the allegations and has responded angrily to comments made by Sky Sports analyst Mardle - who branded Pipe's actions as "desperate" and "despicable".

"It's been very hard," said Pipe, speaking to the PDC's Dan Dawson. "I've kept my mouth shut.

"It's very hard to look back at two and a half thousand people and say: 'I've got proof that Bernie heard nothing and I didn't cough.'

"I've been verbally attacked and abused, and my family's come in for it as well.

"Mardle's bang out of order for me.

"It's totally wrong, you do not jump to the conclusion that somebody has heard something when they haven't.

"Bernie Smith didn't hear anything, I held that cough back, I did not hide my body movements.

"Wayne Mardle could not wait to jump onto that and he's bang out of order."

Mardle also called for DRA (Darts Regulatory Authority) to take disciplinary action, and PDC Chairman Barry Hearn confirmed on Twitter that the incident had been referred the sport's governing body.

Pipe admits he can understand how the incident could have come across on television, but believes it has been blown out of proportion.

"It looks awful and I said that to my wife and my children," he added.

"But there's no noise. It actually hurt me a little bit to hold it back, just like you do when you're driving down the road and you've got a sneeze.

"I've been playing darts on TV for ten years, I know where the cameras are, the stage is mic'd up, there's people with mics on and nobody heard anything.

"I'm going to go on Twitter, which is pretty much a tool for hatred, and post the pictures of Bernie's message to me that say: 'I didn't hear anything, bro.'

"The haters will hate. I don't care about Wayne Mardle fans, they don't bother me.

"My family and my genuine fans will know, the PDC and everyone involved knows that I did nothing and that's all that matters to me."

Pipe received £18,500 for his run to the Second Round, but could be faced with a sizable fine if he is to be found guilty of bringing the sport into disrepute.

Post by: Asal Mor on December 25, 2017, 12:47:39 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 24, 2017, 11:23:54 PM

A fool thinks himself to be wise, but a wise man knows himself to be a fool - William Shakespeare
Post by: Syferus on December 25, 2017, 01:00:10 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on December 25, 2017, 12:47:39 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 24, 2017, 11:23:54 PM

A fool thinks himself to be wise, but a wise man knows himself to be a fool - William Shakespeare

You thought Ched Evans was innocent.
Post by: Boycey on December 27, 2017, 07:24:47 PM
Peter Wright is a daft looking boyo...
Post by: Syferus on December 27, 2017, 07:29:06 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 27, 2017, 07:24:47 PM
Peter Wright is a daft looking boyo...

Almost as daft as Justin Pipe, alright.

Darts is showbiz.
Post by: Boycey on December 27, 2017, 07:41:39 PM
What?
Post by: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 08:00:31 PM
This game is mental. 
Post by: Boycey on December 27, 2017, 08:09:55 PM
Yeah great stuff.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 27, 2017, 08:27:32 PM
What a win for jamie lewis, great performance.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 08:30:02 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on December 27, 2017, 08:27:32 PM
What a win for jamie lewis, great performance.

Excellent. He tightened up a bit in his scoring in the last set but Wright wasn't able to captalise and Lewis was cool enough to finish. Great game.
Post by: Boycey on December 27, 2017, 09:41:38 PM
Routine for Barney...

Now for MVG, has only lost 4 legs in the tournament so far  :o. Still lucky for him that Adrian Lewis went out so early...

Post by: bennydorano on December 27, 2017, 10:24:07 PM
MVG cruising. He's lost a bit of beef?
Post by: Seany on December 27, 2017, 10:46:23 PM
Price coming back...
Post by: SHEEDY on December 27, 2017, 10:50:53 PM
Mvg under pressure...
Post by: Targetman on December 27, 2017, 10:56:43 PM
Price should have been 3-2 up, can't see him winning now
Post by: SHEEDY on December 27, 2017, 11:03:39 PM
Mvg well below par tonight, scraped through. Barney up next for van gerwen, should be good.
Post by: bennydorano on December 27, 2017, 11:04:44 PM
Price will have nightmares about that, looked like it was there for the taking.
Post by: Gold on December 27, 2017, 11:13:19 PM
All mental. Blew it
Post by: AZOffaly on December 27, 2017, 11:15:02 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 27, 2017, 11:04:44 PM

It was. If he took the double tops, I think he had it. MVG was very rattled.

On another note, it's sad to see Dave Clark seems to be getting worse with his Parkinsons. He was struggling to get words out tonight. Bastard of a disease.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2017, 12:51:08 AM
Price wasn't right.
Post by: LooseCannon on December 28, 2017, 08:44:22 AM
Barney to beat MvG!
Post by: bennydorano on December 28, 2017, 09:37:15 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 28, 2017, 12:51:08 AM
Price wasn't right.
Pity you can't tag on this forum, TF would be proud.
Post by: Boycey on December 28, 2017, 03:04:10 PM
One sided stuff today so far...
Post by: Syferus on December 28, 2017, 09:32:49 PM
That's probably the last time we'll have to bear witness to Philip Taylor winning a darts match.
Post by: Boycey on December 28, 2017, 09:35:11 PM
bear #justsaying
Post by: Targetman on December 28, 2017, 10:30:25 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 28, 2017, 09:32:49 PM
That's probably the last time we'll have to bear witness to Philip Taylor winning a darts match.
Hope you're right, Anderson not in great form but winning all the same, Jamie Lewis going well earlier on
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 29, 2017, 01:45:46 PM
Some stuff from Lewis
Post by: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 03:29:39 PM
Cracking comeback going on from Van den Bergh here and turning into a quality match.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 29, 2017, 03:43:08 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 03:29:39 PM
Cracking comeback going on from Van den Bergh here and turning into a quality match.
deciding set now. Some comeback.
Post by: bennydorano on December 29, 2017, 03:52:33 PM
Some viewing
Post by: SHEEDY on December 29, 2017, 03:55:07 PM
Aaah gutted for van den bergh, was hoping he was going win that. Some match though.
Post by: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 04:05:33 PM
Thought the crowd were being absolute c***ts to Cross. It's one thing cheering on the underdog, another completely to boo the opponent. VdB had the darts for it there. D16 just wouldn't fall for him. Turned off afterwards but the averages must have dropped off a final bit in the ninth set as before that they were absolutely rattling them in.
Post by: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 04:41:26 PM
Some bill coming up in the evening session.
Post by: tintin25 on December 29, 2017, 05:09:56 PM
Any good streams to watch the Darts?
Post by: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 05:23:57 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on December 29, 2017, 05:09:56 PM

Yep.
Post by: tintin25 on December 29, 2017, 06:38:01 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 05:23:57 PM

Yep.

Post?
Post by: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 06:46:05 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on December 29, 2017, 06:38:01 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 05:23:57 PM

Yep.

Post?

Flawless IPTV
Post by: tintin25 on December 29, 2017, 06:55:49 PM
Can't get it on chromebook, thanks anyway.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 29, 2017, 07:47:23 PM
Van Gerwen is really struggling to find his game. Price could/should have beaten him, and he's lucky to be 1-1 with Barney at the moment. Phil Taylor could win this f*cking thing.
Post by: Boycey on December 29, 2017, 07:47:36 PM
This pair of hoors wouldn't win a match in the BDO...
Post by: bennydorano on December 29, 2017, 08:00:56 PM
Falls over the line for 2-1. Poor stuff so far, like a big derby match that ends up shite & you don't even get to see a pigging match either
Post by: SHEEDY on December 29, 2017, 08:02:34 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on December 29, 2017, 06:55:49 PM
Can't get it on chromebook, thanks anyway.
try mobdro. Its on it, just checked it there on a tablet.
Post by: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 08:05:17 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 29, 2017, 07:47:36 PM

You'd win a match in the BDO.
Post by: Boycey on December 29, 2017, 08:16:25 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 08:05:17 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 29, 2017, 07:47:36 PM

You'd win a match in the BDO.

Ha I'm not going through this again  :D. I am looking forward to it starting next weekend though..
Post by: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 08:49:50 PM
This has turned from crap to classic..
Post by: laceer on December 29, 2017, 09:01:35 PM
Turned out a quality match. Both are different class. Van Gerwan can fairly turn it on when he needs to.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 29, 2017, 09:04:20 PM
Mvg always manages to pull it out of the fire.
Post by: Targetman on December 29, 2017, 09:04:53 PM
Anderson needs to up his game or Phil the popular will do him!
Post by: AZOffaly on December 29, 2017, 09:15:24 PM
I really hope this is the end for taylor. But I suspect it won't.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 29, 2017, 10:02:52 PM
Anderson is hard to watch. So many 1s 5s and 3s.
Post by: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 10:04:27 PM
The back injury looks to have seriously slowed down Anderson. Taylor with plenty of gamesmanship, slowing it down and letting Anderson get into his own head.

Odds on to make the final now IMHO.
Post by: Targetman on December 29, 2017, 10:16:52 PM
Taylor can only throw it away now, it's gonna be Taylor v MVG final
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 29, 2017, 10:26:58 PM
Fair play to Taylor, whatever you say about him he was a great darts player and is determined to go out on a high.
Post by: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 10:36:14 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 29, 2017, 10:26:58 PM
Fair play to Taylor, whatever you say about him he was a great darts player and is determined to go out on a high.

Might go and get himself a few girls in his van to celebrate.
Post by: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 10:36:37 PM

Captain Premature?
Post by: Targetman on December 29, 2017, 10:39:20 PM
Not over yet!!
Post by: Minder on December 29, 2017, 10:43:00 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 29, 2017, 10:36:14 PM

Might go and get himself a few girls in his van to celebrate.

Post by: Boycey on December 29, 2017, 10:51:08 PM
Go on The Power  8)
Post by: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 10:51:50 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 29, 2017, 10:51:08 PM
Go on The Power  8)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/scotland/1306433.stm
Post by: bennydorano on December 29, 2017, 10:52:35 PM
Hateful ****. Don't think I've ever once supported that hoorbag.
Post by: Boycey on December 29, 2017, 10:56:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 10:51:50 PM
Go on The Power  8)

Why have you posted that?
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 29, 2017, 11:00:31 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 10:36:37 PM

Captain Premature?

Silly Syferus.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on December 29, 2017, 11:03:51 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 29, 2017, 10:56:11 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 10:51:50 PM
Go on The Power  8)

Why have you posted that?

Because he's a miserable hoor
Post by: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 11:07:09 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 29, 2017, 11:00:31 PM

Captain Premature?

Silly Syferus.

Maybe don't hand out the congratulations before the match is over next time?
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 29, 2017, 11:34:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 11:07:09 PM

Captain Premature?

Silly Syferus.

I wasn't congratulating him. Pointed out he was a great player and is determined to go out on a high. Now stop playing the silly Syferus.
Post by: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 11:40:17 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 29, 2017, 11:34:04 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 29, 2017, 11:07:09 PM

Captain Premature?

Silly Syferus.

I wasn't congratulating him. Pointed out he was a great player and is determined to go out on a high. Now stop playing the silly Syferus.

"Fair play to Taylor.."

Silly indeed.
Post by: Jim Bob on December 30, 2017, 12:59:57 AM
Have to give credit to Taylor.
At 57 years of age and producing to that level is unreal !
The skill in these darts is unreal. Anyone  who plays it will realise that
Post by: From the Bunker on December 30, 2017, 01:50:53 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on December 30, 2017, 12:59:57 AM

Not just skill but nerve! Steve Davis said that when his decline started to happen it was due to nerve. He still had the shots just old age had taken his nerve. A Davis was young when this started to happen. This makes Taylor's achievements even more outstanding.
Post by: Syferus on December 30, 2017, 02:10:41 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 30, 2017, 01:50:53 AM

Not just skill but nerve! Steve Davis said that when his decline started to happen it was due to nerve. He still had the shots just old age had taken his nerve. A Davis was young when this started to happen. This makes Taylor's achievements even more outstanding.

Taylor was shîting himself when Anderson started to hit form. Old school Taylor would have won that one 5-1.
Post by: Jim Bob on December 30, 2017, 02:28:37 AM
Taylor at 57 years of age WON!!!!
Nothing more needs to be said.
Post by: Syferus on December 30, 2017, 03:09:33 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on December 30, 2017, 02:28:37 AM
Taylor at 57 years of age WON!!!!
Nothing more needs to be said.

Dennis Priestly was playing the world championships into his sixties, lad.
Post by: Jim Bob on December 30, 2017, 04:26:28 AM
And what?
Post by: Rossfan on December 30, 2017, 09:59:41 AM
I only have a passing interest in Darts but it's another opportunity for Roscommon's national embarrassment to make a bigger clown of himself.
Post by: Boycey on December 30, 2017, 01:56:50 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 30, 2017, 02:10:41 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on December 30, 2017, 01:50:53 AM

Taylor was shîting himself when Anderson started to hit form. Old school Taylor would have won that one 5-1.

If the best you can come up with is that the semi-retired 57 year old didn't win by enough he's doing ok I'd suggest. Regardless of what happens now he goes out on a high. 

Fcuk the begrudgers  8)
Post by: Syferus on December 30, 2017, 03:02:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on December 30, 2017, 09:59:41 AM
I only have a passing interest in Darts but it's another opportunity for Roscommon's national embarrassment to make a bigger clown of himself.

You don't post enough in this thread to embarrass yourself too much, don't worry.
Post by: gallsman on December 30, 2017, 08:07:04 PM
Nice start from Lewis after losing the first two legs. Strange from Taylor not to go back to the 20 to leave him a shot at 170 and gave Lewis six darts to get out from 65.
Post by: Targetman on December 30, 2017, 08:09:26 PM
Go on young Lewis!!
Post by: gallsman on December 30, 2017, 08:35:08 PM
Lewis hitting D16 every time
Post by: SHEEDY on December 30, 2017, 08:42:24 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 30, 2017, 08:35:08 PM
Lewis hitting D16 every time
except when it mattered to win the 3rd set. Lewis starting to miss a few doubles now.
Post by: Maiden1 on December 30, 2017, 08:47:40 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 30, 2017, 08:07:04 PM
Nice start from Lewis after losing the first two legs. Strange from Taylor not to go back to the 20 to leave him a shot at 170 and gave Lewis six darts to get out from 65.

That's twice now Taylor has not left 170 when he could have when the other guy on an out.  That time 232 left.  He missed the first dart and was 212 could have went for bull.  If he gets it he is on 162 with a dart left and guaranteed a finish if he misses and gets 25 he is on 187 and can go for treble 20 or treble 17 with last dart and guaranteed on an out.  John Part was saying that.  I guess Phil knows what he is doing :)
Post by: gallsman on December 30, 2017, 08:53:27 PM
Lewis has had plenty of chances here and could have been up 4-0.

Taylor being his usual prat with his theatrics and gesticulations on stage.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 30, 2017, 09:35:32 PM
Young Lewis lad wasn't able to take any pressure shots all night. Taylor into the final on his last ever World championship almost like it was written in the stars for him.
Post by: bennydorano on December 30, 2017, 09:43:07 PM
Hope MVG makes it to the final (defo not a gimme), he will do all in his power to thrash Taylor in his last game, now that would be a fitting exit.
Post by: Boycey on December 30, 2017, 10:10:33 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 30, 2017, 09:43:07 PM
Hope MVG makes it to the final (defo not a gimme), he will do all in his power to thrash Taylor in his last game, now that would be a fitting exit.

Aye his whole career will count for nothing if that happens  :D

It'll bookend it nicely if it happens, I think Priestley stuffed him 6-0 or 6-1 in one of his 1st finals
Post by: Syferus on December 30, 2017, 10:13:47 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 30, 2017, 09:43:07 PM

The most enjoyable 7-0 drubbing you'll ever see in darts, hopefully.
Post by: longballin on December 30, 2017, 10:16:06 PM
Loving the hatred for Taylor here... whatever happens he's a legend. 16 World titles...  Bristow got same hatred but turned out he was sound
Post by: bennydorano on December 30, 2017, 10:22:11 PM
Love Bristow, bought his Autobiography, it's funny but shit, after a while you just think it's one spoof after another.

Cross is a smug looking git.
Post by: Boycey on December 30, 2017, 10:51:39 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 30, 2017, 10:22:11 PM
Love Bristow, bought his Autobiography, it's funny but shit, after a while you just think it's one spoof after another.

Funny Bristow was one of my serious childhood heroes, I ran into him in Dublin Airport 10 or so years ago and he couldn't have been more obnoxious had he tried.. they say you should never meet ur heroes.
Post by: Syferus on December 30, 2017, 10:57:17 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 30, 2017, 10:51:39 PM

Funny Bristow was one of my serious childhood heroes, I ran into him in Dublin Airport 10 or so years ago and he couldn't have been more obnoxious had he tried.. they say you should never meet ur heroes.

Funny that Taylor's darting father was a bit of a git in your opinion.
Post by: bennydorano on December 30, 2017, 11:16:13 PM
MVG on the way out I reckon.
Post by: Maiden1 on December 30, 2017, 11:25:24 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 30, 2017, 10:51:39 PM

Bristow needed someone to practice with back in the day.  Phil Taylor who was working in a ceramic factory at the time said he would do it.  Taylor went on to beat him in world final in 1990.  Bristows dad after the match 'never teach a man how to do your job!'

Post by: bennydorano on December 30, 2017, 11:35:24 PM
Some leg there by MVG, cud be the turning point.
Post by: gallsman on December 30, 2017, 11:42:45 PM
The way MVG is playing, Taylor could very well go out with the win.

Anyone think the boards are chewing up really badly? It was noticeable enough in the first match but it's shocking in this one with more sets. Could potentially play a part in a long final.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 30, 2017, 11:47:52 PM
Down to the wire this game. I think its better going into a final off the back of a tight semi final.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2017, 12:09:27 AM
That should have been it for MVG but serious stones from Cross to force sudden death.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 31, 2017, 12:11:50 AM
World champion out! Love a good underdog story like that.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2017, 12:13:13 AM
Fair play to Cross. Fully deserved. Hopefully he hasn't punched himself out after that.

Looks to be be a real breakthrough year for some of the new blood.
Post by: Syferus on December 31, 2017, 12:13:50 AM
Taylor is going to do Cross.

Disaster.
Post by: bennydorano on December 31, 2017, 12:14:04 AM
Fucksake MVG. Can't take to that Cross boy at all but hope he wins now. MVG will have nightmares.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 31, 2017, 12:14:28 AM
Watch a match, some drama. Fair play to cross, serious balls shown to win that. The crowd booing mvg on his doubles was definitely uncalled for.
Post by: Targetman on December 31, 2017, 12:15:13 AM
Fair play to Cross, good to see the underdog prevail, its anyone's final!!
Post by: mrdeeds on December 31, 2017, 12:15:25 AM
The crowd have being booing all week. Bad form.
Post by: Cunny Funt on December 31, 2017, 12:17:08 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 31, 2017, 12:11:50 AM
World champion out! Love a good underdog story like that.
Said he wasn't a professional darts player this time last year and now in the world final  :o
Post by: AZOffaly on December 31, 2017, 12:18:10 AM
Was he not in the BDO last year?
Post by: Targetman on December 31, 2017, 12:18:26 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on December 31, 2017, 12:15:25 AM
Aye you won't get that behaviour at the Lakeside next week when the real darts starts!!
Post by: Syferus on December 31, 2017, 12:19:42 AM
Quote from: Targetman on December 31, 2017, 12:18:26 AM
Aye you won't get that behaviour at the Lakeside next week when the real darts starts!!

Mainly because no one will turn up to watch it.
Post by: gallsman on December 31, 2017, 12:21:13 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 31, 2017, 12:14:04 AM
Fucksake MVG. Can't take to that Cross boy at all but hope he wins now. MVG will have nightmares.

Ah, I think he comes across as likeable enough.
Post by: From the Bunker on December 31, 2017, 12:22:18 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 30, 2017, 11:47:52 PM
Down to the wire this game. I think its better going into a final off the back of a tight semi final.

I think it's the opposite. A lot of adrenaline burned!

Taylor, knows the pace and psychology of the game. Will be interesting to see how he handles Cross.
Post by: yellowcard on December 31, 2017, 12:24:51 AM
MVG has a serious amount of missed doubles, the crowd booing can't have helped and the referee should have stepped in. That said, Cross played well and it could have went either way. Hope Cross wins it now, would be horrible to see Taylor signing off with a win and listening to Mr Smug after it.
Post by: LooseCannon on December 31, 2017, 12:56:04 AM
Quote from: Syferus on December 31, 2017, 12:19:42 AM
Quote from: Targetman on December 31, 2017, 12:18:26 AM

Mainly because no one will turn up to watch it.

You definitely got that from BordnaMonaman's book of one liners.
Post by: mouview on December 31, 2017, 02:10:15 AM
Quote from: gallsman on December 30, 2017, 11:42:45 PM

Anyone think the boards are chewing up really badly? It was noticeable enough in the first match but it's shocking in this one with more sets. Could potentially play a part in a long final.

Looked fairly pock-marked on the treble-19s alright, but it was/shudda been a new board after the first semi'.
Post by: Syferus on December 31, 2017, 02:39:17 AM
Quote from: mouview on December 31, 2017, 02:10:15 AM

Looked fairly pock-marked on the treble-19s alright, but it was/shudda been a new board after the first semi'.

Taylor took down the board after the first match and signed it and handed it to Lewis. Aka his usual trick. It was a new board for the second match.
Post by: stew on January 01, 2018, 03:29:15 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 31, 2017, 02:39:17 AM
Quote from: mouview on December 31, 2017, 02:10:15 AM

Taylor took down the board after the first match and signed it and handed it to Lewis. Aka his usual trick. It was a new board for the second match.

I just watched a clip of Taylor in Holland and he was pissed because some cub he was playing poured himself a glass of water and did not do the same for him, is this lad supposed to feed him grapes between sets???

This man has lost the run of himself, best of all time without a doubt but a knob to go with it.
Post by: Boycey on January 01, 2018, 08:51:15 PM
Cross looking very good here. It's some story if he wins, turned pro less than a year ago  :o
Post by: longballin on January 01, 2018, 08:56:01 PM
Taylor getting tanked but whatever happens can't take 16 World titles off him... a legend.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 01, 2018, 09:03:33 PM
3-1 now a comeback on the cards? so far the tight semi final win has worked wonders for Cross while Taylor could have done with tighter semi final..
Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2018, 09:15:36 PM
Enjoying some Schadenfreude here
Post by: longballin on January 01, 2018, 09:35:56 PM
Age 57 at end of his career still gets to the World final... Taylor still a great. Some darts by Cross though...
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 01, 2018, 09:37:16 PM
Cross will be getting his cigar out for that break. Very impressive performance.
Post by: yellowcard on January 01, 2018, 09:45:05 PM
Cross has played brilliantly, has very similar playing style and celebrations to MVG and it will be some battle with those 2 next season. Taylor has been soundly beaten and not sorry to see him thrashed.
Post by: seafoid on January 01, 2018, 09:46:46 PM

Like wex vs kilkenny in hurling 2017

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/live/2018/jan/01/rob-cross-v-phil-taylor-pdc-world-darts-championship-final-live

Phil Taylor's reputation alone has taken care of many of his opponents, and an entire generation of darts talent was suffocated by the Power at his best. Rob Cross, who was watching the tournament at home last year, has come here for Taylor's final match, and is wiping the floor with him.
Post by: longballin on January 01, 2018, 09:50:04 PM
Despite the gloating by some here, Taylor is having a ball knows he's been well beaten and his legacy is secured...
Post by: Cunny Funt on January 01, 2018, 09:58:38 PM
Taylors worse final beating since 1994. Still though 170,000 money for runners up is a nice retirement package. Well done to Cross some story he was close to flawless tonight and he beat the very best to win this championship.
Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2018, 10:00:13 PM
That is some performance by Cross, savage stuff.
Post by: Syferus on January 01, 2018, 10:11:34 PM
Taylor hammered by unknown Rob Cross, such a perfect way for him to go out  ;D ;D ;D

He tried every trick he had, playacting the whole match, to absolutely no avail.

Incredible debut season by Cross.
Post by: longballin on January 01, 2018, 10:17:19 PM
Even in defeat it was Taylor's night!  8)
Post by: yellowcard on January 01, 2018, 10:31:57 PM
Quote from: longballin on January 01, 2018, 10:17:19 PM

Both he and Sky made sure of that. Made it all about Taylor post match and Cross was nearly apologising for having beaten him. Wouldn't be surprised if Taylor told him not to celebrate so that he could soak up the acclaim because the lack of emotion from Cross was bizarre for a first time winner.
Post by: longballin on January 01, 2018, 10:37:05 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on January 01, 2018, 10:31:57 PM
Quote from: longballin on January 01, 2018, 10:17:19 PM

Both he and Sky made sure of that. Made it all about Taylor post match and Cross was nearly apologising for having beaten him. Wouldn't be surprised if Taylor told him not to celebrate so that he could soak up the acclaim because the lack of emotion from Cross was bizarre for a first time winner.

I doubt that but I did think Cross should have got more acclaim... Taylor's career is unreal though...
Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2018, 10:38:17 PM
If it had've been MVG there he wouldn't stood for the nonsense. Taylor supposedly tried his mind games & slabbering with MVG a few years back and MVG is meant to have told him 'shut up knob'😀
Post by: longballin on January 01, 2018, 10:46:31 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 01, 2018, 10:38:17 PM
If it had've been MVG there he wouldn't stood for the nonsense. Taylor supposedly tried his mind games & slabbering with MVG a few years back and MVG is meant to have told him 'shut up knob'😀

Taylor another hate figure in time will be loved like Bristow, Chris Eubank... arrogant but is playing the gallery....
Post by: Syferus on January 01, 2018, 10:48:54 PM
Quote from: longballin on January 01, 2018, 10:46:31 PM

Taylor another hate figure in time will be loved like Bristow, Chris Eubank... arrogant but is playing the gallery....

No, he's just an arrogant git who is also a convicted sex offender. He was a great darts player but impossible to like or celebrate.
Post by: longballin on January 01, 2018, 10:51:32 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 01, 2018, 10:48:54 PM
Quote from: longballin on January 01, 2018, 10:46:31 PM

No, he's just an arrogant git who is also a convicted sex offender. He was a great darts player but impossible to like or celebrate.

I like him... I didnt know that though  :o
Post by: yellowcard on January 01, 2018, 11:05:41 PM

It was during the Grand Slam of darts a few months back, he tried his gamesmanship during a break in play and MVG told him where to go. Cross was like a lion during the match and wasn't intimidated one bit but let Taylor take centre stage after it so it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if Taylor had words.
Post by: Syferus on January 01, 2018, 11:10:01 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on January 01, 2018, 11:05:41 PM

It was during the Grand Slam of darts a few months back, he tried his gamesmanship during a break in play and MVG told him where to go. Cross was like a lion during the match and wasn't intimidated one bit but let Taylor take centre stage after it so it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if Taylor had words.

Even I think that's a nonsense suggestion. It was quiet clear that Cross was the one bringing Taylor over to take photos with the trophy, while Taylor looked rather uncomfortable if anything.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 01, 2018, 11:28:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 01, 2018, 10:11:34 PM
Taylor hammered by unknown Rob Cross, such a perfect way for him to go out  ;D ;D ;D
Surely for any of his haters a perfect way for him to go out was early exit and not to reach the final collecting 170,000 cheque and bear in mind that is close to the same money he collected for his last World title win in 2013.
Post by: Syferus on January 01, 2018, 11:36:57 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 01, 2018, 11:28:37 PM
Surely for any of his haters a perfect way for him to go out was early exit and not to reach the final collecting 170,000 cheque and bear in mind that is close to the same money he collected for his last World title win in 2013.

Taylor wasn't playing this tournament to top up his bank account.
Post by: Captain Obvious on January 02, 2018, 12:00:53 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 01, 2018, 11:36:57 PM

Played it to give it his best shot on his last ever World tournament. Lets be honest He had no chance of winning the final after that kiss of death prediction ;D

Quote from: Syferus on December 31, 2017, 12:13:50 AM

Disaster.
Post by: Syferus on January 02, 2018, 12:06:20 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 02, 2018, 12:00:53 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 01, 2018, 11:36:57 PM

Played it to give it his best shot on his last ever World tournament. Lets be honest He had no chance of winning the final after that kiss of death prediction ;D

Quote from: Syferus on December 31, 2017, 12:13:50 AM

Disaster.

I was hoping I'd jinx the bastard alright. I'm delighted he got humiliated so I'm afraid you're on a losing docket there.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 02, 2018, 12:16:05 AM
Big shake up in the premier league.
Mvg
Wright
Cross
Anderson
Gurney
Sulovic
Whitlock
Williams
Price
Out go Taylor, Adrian Lewis,  Chizzy,  wade, huybrechts and klaasen.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 02, 2018, 12:26:44 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 02, 2018, 12:16:05 AM
Mvg
Wright
Cross
Anderson
Gurney
Sulovic
Whitlock
Williams
Price

How does it work? I thought it was top 8 plus 2 wild cards? Obv not - Chizzy is 8th and with Taylor above him in the rankings that would move him up a step to 7th.
Smith has to feel lucky - he bombed in his first year in the premier league and he's 12th in the world rankings.

Also, wtf has happened to Adrian Lewis - 20th in the world some slip for one of the most naturally gifted (albeit totally lazy) players!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 02, 2018, 12:30:27 AM
I think it's actually just top 4 and 6 wildcards.
Post by: Gold on January 02, 2018, 02:10:34 AM
Cross was like a robot. Best ive ever seen on doubles.

Double 18 OMG!
Post by: Boycey on January 02, 2018, 08:32:30 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 02, 2018, 12:16:05 AM
Mvg
Wright
Cross
Anderson
Gurney
Sulovic
Whitlock
Williams
Price

Bar Taylor going out theres not that much loss of quality in it except maybe Whitlock for Lewis. Lewis is playing like a drain but also has the potential to be very good.. Chizzy and Wade are good honest pros but probably on a downward trend.. The other two were easily expendable also.

The league starts in 4 weeks in Dublin, I'm taking my lad for his 1st trip to it 😎
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2018, 11:40:19 AM
I've been dipping in and out a bit in the Darts this past few months but very surprised to see Whitlock back in there?
Post by: TabClear on January 02, 2018, 12:08:02 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 02, 2018, 11:40:19 AM
I've been dipping in and out a bit in the Darts this past few months but very surprised to see Whitlock back in there?

Same as that. Fair play to Barney for sticking around so long at the top. I assume he is well over 50 now?

I think the quality is probably roughly the same in the Premier League as before (Taylor's exit excepted), but I would question whether the crowds will be as involved with the current list of players . Obviously Taylor had a unique standing in the game but the likes of Wade and Lewis also used to polarise opinion, both good and bad which created a lot of atmosphere.
Post by: Boycey on January 02, 2018, 12:08:52 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 02, 2018, 11:40:19 AM

He's be lucky to be in it but he's a popular enough thrower, capable enough when on form, always liable to finish 170 and has a good walk-on tune :)
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2018, 10:25:44 PM
Good article on Taylor and public ambivalence.

https://news.paddypower.com/darts/2018/01/02/phil-taylor-darts-greatest-but-will-he-be-missed/?AFF_ID=16562&utm_source=t.co&utm_medium=referral&dclid=CPD_7p2outgCFYqoUQodYgYJ5Q
Post by: Syferus on January 02, 2018, 10:38:04 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 02, 2018, 10:25:44 PM

https://news.paddypower.com/darts/2018/01/02/phil-taylor-darts-greatest-but-will-he-be-missed/?AFF_ID=16562&utm_source=t.co&utm_medium=referral&dclid=CPD_7p2outgCFYqoUQodYgYJ5Q

Sums up his legacy brilliantly.

I would argue that the general perception of darts is much better than the author suggests, indeed I haven't heard many who've sneered at it as a sport in a long time. It's taken the place snooker held for many decades in the public's consciousness, from what I can see.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 03, 2018, 11:20:31 AM
Quote from: Syferus on January 02, 2018, 10:38:04 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 02, 2018, 10:25:44 PM

Sums up his legacy brilliantly.

I would argue that the general perception of darts is much better than the author suggests, indeed I haven't heard many who've sneered at it as a sport in a long time. It's taken the place snooker held for many decades in the public's consciousness, from what I can see.

Didn't read the article, but I think Darts is fairly well respected. The technical skill required, and the nerve needed to be a good darts player is very impressive.

Post by: Boycey on January 03, 2018, 11:25:39 AM
Written by a 25 year old 'freelance' journo who writes clickbait pieces for the Sun, Mirror, Daily Mail and Paddy Power, enough said..

Taylor indeed could be a right knob at times but his overall legacy will be his sheer domination of his sport over a substantial period. He also suffers from the well established begrudgery syndrome that is so popular in this part of the world the more you win the more people dislike you..
Post by: Minder on January 03, 2018, 11:45:59 AM
Quote from: Boycey on January 03, 2018, 11:25:39 AM
Written by a 25 year old 'freelance' journo who writes clickbait pieces for the Sun, Mirror, Daily Mail and Paddy Power, enough said..

Taylor indeed could be a right knob at times but his overall legacy will be his sheer domination of his sport over a substantial period. He also suffers from the well established begrudgery syndrome that is so popular in this part of the world the more you win the more people dislike you..

Don't think it's begrudhery with Taylor, more how he has conducted himself over the years. All smiles when he is winning but a cross between David Brent & a man child when it's not going his way.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2018, 11:57:08 AM
Quote from: Minder on January 03, 2018, 11:45:59 AM

Don't think it's begrudhery with Taylor, more how he has conducted himself over the years. All smiles when he is winning but a cross between David Brent & a man child when it's not going his way.

I dont know anyone who likes losing! If you're a competitive sports man (Darts being a sport) then losing wont bring smiles...

Not all aspects of Taylor was great, but that said he's not on his own, plenty sportsmen out there who will always rub people up the wromg way.. his personal achievements in professional darts is hard to beat, so for that he has to be respected, his personal life is not going to make everyone happy but i doubt very much he gives a feck..

Ive been to the SSE when they played and its certainly a great nights entertainment, hopefully it continues to get stronger even with the fall off of some of the better characters 
Post by: gallsman on January 03, 2018, 12:09:34 PM
My problem with Taylor wasn't that he was a bad loser, it was that he was frequently a terrible winner.
Post by: Boycey on January 03, 2018, 12:23:26 PM
The point I'd be making is that I don't really care whether Taylor or any other sports star for that matter is a good/bad winner/loser it's what they do at their sport that defines them and sets them apart. The other stuff is superfluous and only comes relevant if you let it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 03, 2018, 12:51:41 PM

It's easy to dislike someone when they are dislikeable.
Post by: Syferus on January 03, 2018, 02:26:54 PM
Rodger Federer isn't perfect either but he shows you can be the GoAT in a major sport and not be a total ass. Anyone who defends Taylor and doesn't admit his behaviour taints his legacy has a purposeful blind spot for his many misdeeds on stage and verifiably off it.

To say the fact he's a convicted sex offender "only comes into it if you let it" is an incredible statement in itself Boycey. It comes into it for any right-minded human being.
Post by: Boycey on January 03, 2018, 02:35:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 03, 2018, 02:26:54 PM
Rodger Federer isn't perfect either but he shows you can be the GoAT in a major sport and not be a total ass. Anyone who defends Taylor and doesn't admit his behaviour taints his legacy has a purposeful blind spot for his many misdeeds on stage and verifiably off it.

To say the fact he's a convicted sex offender "only comes into it if you let it" is an incredible statement in itself Boycey. It comes into it for any right-minded human being.

Jesus lad that's some leap from what I actually said.
Post by: Syferus on January 03, 2018, 02:42:30 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 03, 2018, 02:35:58 PM
Quote from: Syferus on January 03, 2018, 02:26:54 PM

Jesus lad that's some leap from what I actually said.

You said it, not me.
Post by: trileacman on January 03, 2018, 06:14:41 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 03, 2018, 12:23:26 PM
The point I'd be making is that I don't really care whether Taylor or any other sports star for that matter is a good/bad winner/loser it's what they do at their sport that defines them and sets them apart. The other stuff is superfluous and only comes relevant if you let it.

So i suppose you'd say that Suaez is one the best players english football has ever seen?
Post by: Franko on January 04, 2018, 12:55:59 AM
You're over thinking this one lads.

Smashing darts player, bit of a cnut.

End of story.
Post by: trileacman on January 04, 2018, 10:42:19 AM
Quote from: Franko on January 04, 2018, 12:55:59 AM

End of story.

Only Boycey is overthinking it. We can all agree he's a successful cuunt. Only Boycey thinks that winning excuses his cuntishness.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 04, 2018, 12:10:01 PM

End of story.

Exactly.  Best I've seen at putting the boot in when a lad misses a double or has a poor turn.

His behaviour on and off stage would make you want to kick him up the hole 
Post by: LooseCannon on January 04, 2018, 01:12:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 04, 2018, 12:10:01 PM

End of story.

Exactly.  Best I've seen at putting the boot in when a lad misses a double or has a poor turn.

His behaviour on and off stage would make you want to kick him up the hole
And peg a few darts at him as well.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on January 06, 2018, 02:35:36 PM
Very enjoyable 1st game in the BDO. Mark McGeeney beat Wolfie Adams. McGeeney obviously very Irish. From Coventry but wears a tricolour on his collar.
Post by: Syferus on January 06, 2018, 02:58:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 06, 2018, 02:35:36 PM
Very enjoyable 1st game in the BDO. Mark McGeeney beat Wolfie Adams. McGeeney obviously very Irish. From Coventry but wears a tricolour on his collar.

I'm amazed at how much of a cliff Adams seems to have fell off in recent years. At one stage he would have been more than competitive in the PDC but now he can't even beat random lads in a BDO where the standard is lower and lower every year.

We missed out on some great Taylor-Adams games because of the split. Manley-Hankey would have been some pairing in their pomp too.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 06, 2018, 02:59:37 PM
There's a good game on at the moment with two young lads. I wonder is the BDO also getting an influx.
Post by: Syferus on January 06, 2018, 03:05:52 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 06, 2018, 02:59:37 PM
There's a good game on at the moment with two young lads. I wonder is the BDO also getting an influx.

They have copped on a little with tv deals in recent years but the horse had already long since bolted. The PDC is producing its own young talent independent of the BDO these days, the best thing that could have happened was if they'd accepted Hearn's buyout a few years back and became a feeder for the PDC circuit. The Lakeside has such great significance to darts that a proper PDC-produced major in an intimate venue (akin to the Circus Tavern) would be really special.
Post by: Syferus on January 07, 2018, 04:06:05 PM
Five setter with averages in the mid-70s here. Watching it feels like I've drank a bottle of Dreamy Sleepy Nighty Snoozey Snooze.
Post by: mrdeeds on January 07, 2018, 04:53:53 PM
After seeing Waites take out 133. Mitchell lost his first set averaging 107.
Post by: Christmas Lights on January 07, 2018, 05:23:05 PM
Why is scotty too Hotta unseeded?
Post by: Seany on January 15, 2018, 09:36:47 AM
Decent final yesterday at the Lakeside. There's a thesis in the whole PDC, BDO thing. Even the supporters are different - no cheering or stupid chanting in the BDO, which is good, although the arrogance of the BDO in acting as if the PDC doesn't exixt, is hilarious.
Post by: Hound on January 15, 2018, 01:06:59 PM
Quote from: Seany on January 15, 2018, 09:36:47 AM
Decent final yesterday at the Lakeside. There's a thesis in the whole PDC, BDO thing. Even the supporters are different - no cheering or stupid chanting in the BDO, which is good, although the arrogance of the BDO in acting as if the PDC doesn't exixt, is hilarious.

Being sick last week I saw almost every dart at the Lakeside! In fairness, they mention the PDC a lot more than they used to and never negatively. The Durrant - Williams quarter final had the side story that if Durrant lost he'd join the PDC and that was mentioned countless times.

The standard is nothing like the PDC. In that QF, Durrant averaged 100.9, the only ton-plus average in the tournament. In the PDC version there were 24 ton plus averages, 13 different players achieving it. But there was great entertainment nonetheless, the 4 quarter-finals on Friday all going to the final set being the highlight of the week.

Also a young 15 year old Kildare lad, Killian Heffernan did himself proud in the youth final. He was up against the 17 year old defending champion from Holland, who is a certainty to make it in the adult ranks, and he was just too good for Killian.  But our man took a great first set, including a stomping 156 finish.  One gas thing the commentators pointed out was that Killian's hero is Phil Taylor, and not only does he use Taylor's darts, he has the exact same throwing style and his darts lie in the board exactly like Taylors! Hopefully we'll see a lot more of him in the future.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 15, 2018, 01:47:27 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 15, 2018, 01:06:59 PM
Quote from: Seany on January 15, 2018, 09:36:47 AM

Being sick last week I saw almost every dart at the Lakeside! In fairness, they mention the PDC a lot more than they used to and never negatively. The Durrant - Williams quarter final had the side story that if Durrant lost he'd join the PDC and that was mentioned countless times.

The standard is nothing like the PDC. In that QF, Durrant averaged 100.9, the only ton-plus average in the tournament. In the PDC version there were 24 ton plus averages, 13 different players achieving it. But there was great entertainment nonetheless, the 4 quarter-finals on Friday all going to the final set being the highlight of the week.

Also a young 15 year old Kildare lad, Killian Heffernan did himself proud in the youth final. He was up against the 17 year old defending champion from Holland, who is a certainty to make it in the adult ranks, and he was just too good for Killian.  But our man took a great first set, including a stomping 156 finish.  One gas thing the commentators pointed out was that Killian's hero is Phil Taylor, and not only does he use Taylor's darts, he has the exact same throwing style and his darts lie in the board exactly like Taylors! Hopefully we'll see a lot more of him in the future.

Agree with all that Hound. I think the reason the averages are lower in the BDO is the doubling. A lot more doubles missed than in the PDC. There seems to be a lot more 140s and less 180s too, but that's not a massive deal. I

That youth final was good standard too, after young Heffernan's 156, the Dutch lad took out 170! Great stuff.
Post by: bennydorano on March 04, 2018, 09:50:42 PM
What's with the one man and his dog attendances at the UK Open?? Isn't it one of the 'classics'? ???
Post by: Syferus on March 04, 2018, 09:52:24 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 04, 2018, 09:50:42 PM
What's with the one man and his dog attendances at the UK Open?? Isn't it one of the 'classics'? ???

You might have heard there was a bit of snow this week..
Post by: AZOffaly on March 04, 2018, 09:53:17 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 04, 2018, 09:50:42 PM

Butlins made them play it behind closed doors due to the conditions for travel etc. PDC are not impressed.
Post by: bennydorano on March 04, 2018, 10:04:03 PM
Saw a bit of a Twitter kerfuffle the other night right enough.

Butlins will pay for that I'd imagine.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 04, 2018, 11:20:05 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 04, 2018, 10:04:03 PM
Saw a bit of a Twitter kerfuffle the other night right enough.

Butlins will pay for that I'd imagine.

The really daft thing is that there were people on site staying there who had purchased tickets and they weren't allowed in!
Post by: SHEEDY on April 05, 2018, 08:16:55 PM
What a display by michael smith whitewashing barney 7-0.
Post by: Syferus on April 05, 2018, 08:24:31 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on April 05, 2018, 08:16:55 PM

Barney doesn't take this stuff seriously.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on April 05, 2018, 09:22:51 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 05, 2018, 08:24:31 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on April 05, 2018, 08:16:55 PM

Barney doesn't take this stuff seriously.

FFS  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Tyroneforsam on April 06, 2018, 12:00:57 AM
Like him or loath him, Eric Bristow was instrumental in bringing darts to where it is today. RIP.
Post by: Syferus on April 06, 2018, 02:11:40 AM
Quote from: Tyroneforsam on April 06, 2018, 12:00:57 AM
Like him or loath him, Eric Bristow was instrumental in bringing darts to where it is today. RIP.

I don't think anyone much loathed him. One of the most important darts players of all time. Only 60.
Post by: stew on April 06, 2018, 02:48:38 AM
He was everything I thought I should have hated as he was an English, cocky, arrogant bastard yet he was sublime, a character and an iconic figure in a game of precision I admired, RIP Eric, you are a darting legend, second only to the power and a thousand times more likeable, that said you defined your sport and made it what is is today.
Post by: Gaafan2 on April 07, 2018, 09:22:52 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 06, 2018, 02:11:40 AM
Quote from: Tyroneforsam on April 06, 2018, 12:00:57 AM

I don't think anyone much loathed him. One of the most important darts players of all time. Only 60.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/sport/2018/apr/06/eric-bristow-personified-darts-golden-age

I'll think you'll find many did, mind you I was not one!
Post by: Boycey on May 17, 2018, 09:27:43 PM
Obscene darts from MVG tonight  :o
Post by: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 09:39:19 PM
Quote from: Boycey on May 17, 2018, 09:27:43 PM

Until the break he was unreal.
Post by: Boycey on May 17, 2018, 09:51:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 17, 2018, 09:39:19 PM
Quote from: Boycey on May 17, 2018, 09:27:43 PM

Until the break he was unreal.

Yeah, started to throw like a mere mortal as soon as I'd posted  ;D
Post by: bennydorano on November 18, 2018, 09:12:00 PM
Interesting finish to Grand Slam of Darts, Gerwyn Price a total knob.
Post by: Targetman on November 18, 2018, 09:33:20 PM
Wasn't watching, what did Rambo do?
Post by: yellowcard on November 18, 2018, 09:35:36 PM
If ever there was an example of how to get into an opponents head, that was it by Price.

Anderson played the opponent instead of the dart board and paid for it.
Post by: bennydorano on November 18, 2018, 09:49:49 PM
He was pretty unrepentant after as well, no handshakes either.
Post by: Seany on November 19, 2018, 09:49:29 AM
Anderson is great when it's going his way but just can't take a beating.  I saw him give verbals to Gurney too when he was being beaten by him and Barney too.  I thought his interview about the farting incident was vulgar and very unpleasant. 
Post by: bennydorano on November 20, 2018, 01:11:29 PM
BBC News - Grand Slam of Darts: Crackdown planned on darts 'gamesmanship'
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/darts/46268394
Post by: gallsman on November 20, 2018, 01:17:22 PM
Barney retiring end of next year.
Post by: Over the Bar on November 22, 2018, 08:49:14 AM
Quote from: gallsman on November 20, 2018, 01:17:22 PM
Barney retiring end of next year.

And why not, he's a millionaire. . Enjoy the wealth that 99% of other professionals in his game never managed to amass playing until their 60s. 
Post by: Maiden1 on November 22, 2018, 09:13:11 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on November 20, 2018, 01:11:29 PM
BBC News - Grand Slam of Darts: Crackdown planned on darts 'gamesmanship'
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/darts/46268394
https://www.bbc.com/sport/darts/46246500
Post by: bennydorano on November 25, 2018, 10:32:26 PM
Gurney wins Players Champìonship v MVG
Post by: Seany on February 05, 2019, 11:18:29 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/darts/47115773

Gary Anderson out of the Premier League.
Post by: mrdeeds on December 17, 2019, 10:28:37 PM
Some win in darts there for female player. Crowd were awful though.
Post by: TabClear on December 18, 2019, 07:07:43 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on December 17, 2019, 10:28:37 PM

I did nt see it, what was going on with the crowd?
Post by: mrdeeds on December 18, 2019, 09:36:31 AM
Quote from: TabClear on December 18, 2019, 07:07:43 AM
Quote from: mrdeeds on December 17, 2019, 10:28:37 PM

I did nt see it, what was going on with the crowd?

Constantly booed and heckled her opponent simply because he was male. He behaved well throughout and was very sporting.
Post by: Hound on December 21, 2019, 10:14:30 PM
Fallon does it again!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on December 30, 2019, 10:16:15 PM
f**k MVG is a horrible hoor
Post by: bennydorano on December 30, 2019, 11:02:43 PM
What did he do?

Hard to see anything other than MVG annihilating Wright.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on December 30, 2019, 11:13:05 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 30, 2019, 11:02:43 PM
What did he do?

Why's that?
Post by: Boycey on December 30, 2019, 11:25:56 PM
MVGs form has been underwhelming the whole tournament but he has still had enough, should Wright play to his peak MVG will have to improve...

Post by: bennydorano on December 31, 2019, 09:27:10 AM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on December 30, 2019, 11:13:05 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 30, 2019, 11:02:43 PM
What did he do?

Why's that?
Because Wright is renowned for filling the pants when push comes to shove and especially against MVG. I'd like to see Wright win btw
Post by: bennydorano on December 31, 2019, 09:30:22 AM
Wright was VG last night but Price was pretty brutal, he lost it mentally early on and couldn't recover, see him going yapping on twitter too. Definitely a case of loving to dish it out but not being able to take it for Price.
Post by: yellowcard on December 31, 2019, 02:41:36 PM
MVG has in recent times looked as though he has lost a bit of his love for darts, certainly has played nowhere near his brilliant best in the last year. His B game is still enough to beat most players and win tournaments and much like Taylor, he has a lot of players beaten before the match begins. But he lacks a serious rival who can consistently challenge him, Anderson at his peak was about as close as anyone came. Wright has played better than MVG in this tournament but he has a mental block when it comes to big finals and with Van Gerwen in particular which he needs to overcome.
Post by: bennydorano on December 31, 2019, 04:59:15 PM
See Fallon Sherrock has pulled out of the Ladies BDO Worlds. No sponsorship £££ coming in, 85% of tickets remain unsold for BDO Champs. It's demise couldn't be too far away or maybe a return to amateurism
Post by: Targetman on December 31, 2019, 05:59:15 PM
Given the standard of some of the darts thrown you'd be forgiven for thinking it had returned to amateurism, apart from Wolfie of course!!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 01, 2020, 08:18:13 PM
Good final
Wright 3-2 up

Now 5-3 up
Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2020, 08:51:56 PM
Wright looking mentally tough, hope he does it.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on January 01, 2020, 09:09:41 PM
What a performance from Snakebite, blew MVG away there's no two ways about it
Post by: yellowcard on January 01, 2020, 10:42:51 PM
Brilliant performance by Wright when it counted. Nearly man of darts finally gets his just reward and MVG actually put in his best display of the tournament and still got beat by 4 sets which just shows how well Wright performed.
Post by: Hound on January 01, 2020, 11:12:04 PM
Delighted for Wright. Well deserved!

Pity about the BDO news. The letter to the players about the reduction in prize money has been leaked and it shows how shambolic an organization they are. Actually admits their brand name is 'toxic' on social media so they've been unable to get a sponsor!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2020, 11:40:05 PM
BDO look like it hasn't got much of a future. Seems like they have only sold 15% of the available tickets for the O2.
Post by: Hound on January 12, 2020, 10:16:53 AM
Great win for Duleek youngster Keane Barry winning the youth world title in comprehensive fashion, averaging over 90. Gave a really good interview afterwards too.
Post by: Hound on January 13, 2020, 08:50:09 AM
Enjoyable BDO final with Wayne Warren deservedly coming out on top of the all Welsh final.
They seemed like two gents and it was a flashback to the old days when it showed them practising together during the mid session interval, with Warren polishing off a pint!
94 average or thereabouts and a very good standard final (albeit there was some dross during the tournament).

Mad thing is the prizemoney still hasn't been announced. For both 2018 and 2019 it was:

Winner   Â£100.000
Runner up   Â£35.000
Semi final   Â£15.000
Quarter final   Â£6.500
Last 16   Â£4.500
Last 32   Â£3.250
Last 40   Â£2.000

This year it is definitely reduced, but no confirmation how much. Apparently a leading Dutch darts website said they had been leaked the proposed prizemoney, but hard to be believe it was reduce that much:

Winner £23.000
Runner-up £10.000
Semi final £5.000
Quarterfinal £4.000
Last 16 £3.000

Runner-up Jim Williams has confirmed he'll be trying to join the PDC circuit via the Q school next week. Keane Barry will also be attempting to qualify
Post by: Targetman on December 18, 2020, 09:50:54 PM
Anyone watching the darts, 66 year old Paul Lim came from 2 sets down to win 3-2, its open this year as to who will win, a wee wager on the ever popular Gerwin Price
Post by: Boycey on December 18, 2020, 10:05:28 PM
Don't think I'd even watch the final if it was Price Vs Wright  ;D
Post by: Helix. on December 18, 2020, 10:06:35 PM
Quote from: Targetman on December 18, 2020, 09:50:54 PM
Anyone watching the darts, 66 year old Paul Lim came from 2 sets down to win 3-2, its open this year as to who will win, a wee wager on the ever popular Gerwin Price

Wouldn't be a darts person but watched it there. Seemed to be an age they were both on the double in the last set. Oldest winner and first person to have a 9 darter. Some going for 66 years of age!
Post by: sid waddell on December 29, 2020, 10:15:36 PM
Van Gerwen is in big trouble

3-1 down to Joe Cullen in a race to 4
Post by: bennydorano on December 29, 2020, 10:41:35 PM
Got outa Jail a bit but class told. Cullen kept his worst leg for the last leg unfortunately for him
Post by: NotedObserver on December 29, 2020, 10:57:49 PM
Outstanding from both
Post by: Targetman on December 29, 2020, 11:00:01 PM
Great game, would have liked Cullen to win but last leg was terrible
Post by: sid waddell on January 01, 2021, 02:52:54 PM
Gary Anderson is showing that class is permanent here
Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2021, 07:03:15 PM
Gurney back in the hunt at 2-2, good qf
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 01, 2021, 07:27:04 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 01, 2021, 07:03:15 PM

Hard to like thon price boy
Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2021, 07:58:47 PM
Fucks sake, what happened the you have to win by 2 legs in deciding set???
Post by: andoireabu on January 01, 2021, 08:02:56 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 01, 2021, 07:58:47 PM
Fucks sake, what happened the you have to win by 2 legs in deciding set???
Couldn't do it because they had a crowd at the first night and there was a 10pm curfew in London. And because they couldn't do it then it had to carry through the tournament.
Post by: sid waddell on January 01, 2021, 08:48:50 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on January 01, 2021, 07:27:04 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 01, 2021, 07:03:15 PM

Hard to like thon price boy
Price is a very unconvincing villain

He actually comes across as a lovely fella, and quite smart too

Van Gerwen is in trouble again here

I think Chizzy will do him

Anderson will win this out
Post by: reillycavan on January 01, 2021, 08:54:27 PM
MWG now 3/1. Stuck a sneaky €20 on him to win 🤣
Post by: sid waddell on January 01, 2021, 09:01:36 PM
Chizzy misses double 12 for a nine darter but goes out in 11, and is 4-0 up now, one set away

He's no respecter of reputations and in a one off game he can take out anybody

He beat Phil Taylor before at Ally Pally and beat Ted Hankey 5-4 from 4-1 down at Lakeside when Hankey was World Champion

Bet anything Anderson beats him in a semi-final though

Wouldn't be surprised if Bunting beats Price in the other semi

Post by: bennydorano on January 01, 2021, 09:05:10 PM
Chiswell has form for filling the pants regularly at any stage - not looking likely tonight tho, serious darts.
Post by: sid waddell on January 01, 2021, 09:06:36 PM
Van Gerwen 11/1 in running now

I'm raging I didn't stick 20 on Chizzy before this
Post by: sid waddell on January 01, 2021, 09:12:05 PM
Wow

Ruthless by Chizzy

A 5-0 victory over van Gerwen

Not many would have predicted that scoreline
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 01, 2021, 09:12:42 PM
The way 2020 has gone ( and I know were in 2021 now ) but would anyone rule out a chizzy bunting final ?
Post by: Rich Ricci on January 01, 2021, 09:38:55 PM
Ruthless stuff from Chizzy. If he plays anywhere close to that the rest of the tournament he wins, simple.

Just hope he keeps it up, a lot of players seem to play out of their skin against MVG and then don't back it up next round. Seen it plenty with Phil Taylor and to an extent Ronnie in the snooker.
Post by: Targetman on January 01, 2021, 10:19:23 PM
Chizzy was unreal tonight, would like to see him win it but any of the last 4 will fancy their chances, been some great matches this tournament
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2021, 07:02:29 PM
Bunting firing some doubles
Post by: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 07:13:14 PM
Price was cruising for the first set and a half I thought it was going to be a whitewash. Bunting has been brilliant since. Big set here.
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2021, 07:15:31 PM
I was thinking the exact same. Price needs this one or it'll get away from him like MVG last night
Post by: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 07:19:47 PM
Price wins the set. Few mistakes creeping into Buntings game now. Still wouldn't like to call it.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 02, 2021, 07:33:28 PM
Stupid question but I'll ask it anyway
Is it only us viewers who hear the crowd noise ?
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2021, 07:43:07 PM
Oh that could be a very big set for Bunting 4-3
Post by: sid waddell on January 02, 2021, 07:46:54 PM
Bunting winning this wouldn't be a surprise at all to those who know the game

The guy has been a World Champion, he has the class
Post by: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 07:48:05 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on January 02, 2021, 07:33:28 PM

I was wondering the same. Usually sky have a channel without crowd noise for the football but not for the darts so made me think it was in the actual arena.
Post by: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 07:50:40 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on January 02, 2021, 07:46:54 PM

He hasn't made a huge impact in the PDC though so winning the world champs would be a surprise. He wouldn't have been many peoples pick to win it from the outset.
Post by: SHEEDY on January 02, 2021, 07:51:35 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 07:48:05 PM

I was wondering the same. Usually sky have a channel without crowd noise for the football but not for the darts so made me think it was in the actual arena.
yeah it's in the arena as well, few players in earlier rounds were complaining it was putting them off on the doubles etc when they had oohs and aahs when they missed, so I think they toned it down a bit.
Post by: thewobbler on January 02, 2021, 07:57:27 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 07:50:40 PM

He hasn't made a huge impact in the PDC though so winning the world champs would be a surprise. He wouldn't have been many peoples pick to win it from the outset.

He's actually never come within a fart's whiff of a televised tournament since his switch from the BDO.

He's a good player but has a tendency to throw loose darts. If you can't average 100+, the PDC closing stages aren't for you.

Good game this. A career best from Bunting has kept it very interesting
Post by: Seaney on January 02, 2021, 07:58:39 PM

No players hear too, in earlier rounds Price wanted noise to be louder in an post match interview.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 02, 2021, 08:03:14 PM
Quote from: Seaney on January 02, 2021, 07:58:39 PM

Was wondering as it would be very subdued without it
At least in football there would a lot of shouting from other players coached etc

No players hear too, in earlier rounds Price wanted noise to be louder in an post match interview.
Post by: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 08:18:44 PM
Good match there. Looking forward to this next semi final. Would love to see Chizzy do it.
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2021, 08:20:23 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 02, 2021, 07:57:27 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 07:50:40 PM

He's actually never come within a fart's whiff of a televised tournament since his switch from the BDO.

He's a good player but has a tendency to throw loose darts. If you can't average 100+, the PDC closing stages aren't for you.

Good game this. A career best from Bunting has kept it very interesting
Well I dunno, Sid is in the know like

Bunting played very well, interesting to hear them talk about the stinker of a personal year he actually had.
Post by: FermGael on January 02, 2021, 08:48:52 PM
BDO Enterprises Ltd has been liquidated
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2021, 09:00:24 PM
Even tho hes won Set 2 Chisnall's mental frailties clear to see here, I think MVG was just waiting for it to kick in last night and it never came. He's every chance against Anderson tho
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2021, 11:17:58 PM
Adrian Lewis's poor run of form explained https://youtu.be/DBIklO7796Y
Post by: square_ball on January 02, 2021, 11:23:48 PM
Anderson-Price will be a great final. Don't mind who wins it. Price is a knob but he's entertaining.

Disappointing from Chizzy. A case of after the Lord Mayors show there.
Post by: Boycey on January 03, 2021, 08:07:01 PM
Gezzy might be a lovely fella but that celebration gets my goat.. .
Post by: square_ball on January 03, 2021, 08:16:02 PM
Warming up nicely here.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on January 03, 2021, 08:50:41 PM
At work so only following updates online but sounds like Price is on fire!

Really dislike his celebrations / antics but actually seems like a decent bloke on interviews
Post by: Rich Ricci on January 03, 2021, 08:59:50 PM
Virtuoso stuff from Price on D20 so far here. Anderson being steam rolled
Post by: square_ball on January 03, 2021, 09:00:05 PM
Price has been unbelievable. The 5th set he won was as good a set of darts as you're ever likely to see.
Post by: screenexile on January 03, 2021, 09:29:50 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 03, 2021, 09:00:05 PM
Price has been unbelievable. The 5th set he won was as good a set of darts as you're ever likely to see.

Jesus how many darts does he need???
Post by: RedHand88 on January 03, 2021, 09:33:52 PM
This is unbelievable. Anderson will be smelling blood now.
Post by: sid waddell on January 03, 2021, 09:36:02 PM
Stuck a fiver on Anderson at 11/1 when he got back to 2-2 in the last set, he was 80/1 at 2-0 down
Post by: square_ball on January 03, 2021, 09:36:19 PM
This could be the biggest bottle job since Van De Velde.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 03, 2021, 09:38:29 PM
I was about to post the name Jean vandervelde springs to mind lol.

The seeing that happen to sports people. They never tend to recover from it. However not over yet.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on January 03, 2021, 09:40:30 PM
Wise up. He's hardly gonna lose it from here. Yous all losing the run of yourselves after a dropping a set. Price is a quare ballbag though
Post by: sid waddell on January 03, 2021, 09:42:36 PM
Comedy doubling, Price gave Anderson every chance but he couldn't take it
Post by: Boycey on September 18, 2021, 10:04:40 PM
Darts on ITV4 now.

Fallon Sherrock leads MVG 6-4 at the break in final
Post by: Boycey on December 17, 2021, 10:16:34 PM
Young lad on his World Championship debut just done this

https://twitter.com/OfficialPDC/status/1471957006386798592?t=9yKj1rB-3ncSzQ-7Ur3Vmg&s=19
Post by: dec on December 17, 2021, 10:45:16 PM
So with BDO bust do their players play in this one now/
Post by: SHEEDY on December 17, 2021, 10:59:37 PM
Quote from: Boycey on December 17, 2021, 10:16:34 PM
Young lad on his World Championship debut just done this

https://twitter.com/OfficialPDC/status/1471957006386798592?t=9yKj1rB-3ncSzQ-7Ur3Vmg&s=19
brilliant match, unreal final leg.
Post by: Targetman on December 17, 2021, 11:26:41 PM
That final leg was unreal, very good match compared to the one before,  67 year old Paul Lim still going (got beat though)
Post by: Boycey on December 18, 2021, 03:02:49 PM
Another 9 darter today...

https://twitter.com/OfficialPDC/status/1472217789620527112?t=cU_TLKb8dcBZgj818HMd-Q&s=19
Post by: Targetman on December 18, 2021, 03:12:51 PM
Its happening far too often now, must have made the treble and doubles larger!!
Post by: Boycey on December 18, 2021, 03:20:58 PM
Nah laser guided darts....
Post by: SHEEDY on December 21, 2021, 10:00:52 PM
First big shock of the tournament with no5 seed Dimitri van den Bergh getting dumped out by German Florian Hempel 3 sets to 1
Post by: Ghost on December 28, 2021, 05:47:30 PM
MVG out after a positive covid test. Crap way to go out that.

Price very lucky to beat Huybrects in a sudden death leg last night too.
Post by: timmyot501 on December 29, 2021, 09:48:44 PM
Offensive chanting apparently from the crowd towards price both tonight and in his last match. Don't know what they were chanting though.  Pundits not happy with it whatever it was
Post by: mrdeeds on December 29, 2021, 10:00:44 PM
Quote from: timmyot501 on December 29, 2021, 09:48:44 PM
Offensive chanting apparently from the crowd towards price both tonight and in his last match. Don't know what they were chanting though.  Pundits not happy with it whatever it was

He's Welsh so was about sheep.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 29, 2021, 11:12:32 PM
Great win for Michael Smith, unreal quality from both players
Post by: Ghost on December 30, 2021, 02:46:47 AM
Quote from: timmyot501 on December 29, 2021, 09:48:44 PM

Price acts a mouth on stage for the whole of his career and then he/pundits are outraged when fans finally turn against him. Surprised it took them so long to
Post by: square_ball on January 01, 2022, 09:37:29 PM
I know they talk about this great atmosphere at the darts and it usually is but no harm that is toxic at the minute. Anderson earlier and now Wright getting it. I don't think it helped Rdyz in the slightest either. It's going to be even worse for Price now.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on January 01, 2022, 09:52:04 PM
Just a load of lads getting dressed up in stupid costumes for a piss up and singing irrelevant football songs. They'd know more about a big loaf than they would about darts
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2022, 10:23:45 PM
It is full of banter merchants treating it like a stag do. They couldn't give a shite about the darts.
Post by: Ghost on January 01, 2022, 11:22:22 PM
Brilliant match there. As talented as he is, I'll never tire of seeing Price getting beat. Hope Smith goes on to win the whole thing now.
Post by: Itchy on January 01, 2022, 11:23:37 PM
2 great games there, brilliant drama.
Post by: SHEEDY on January 02, 2022, 12:03:35 AM
2 great games but crowd were a disgrace. They've been poor all tournament, English nationalism/Brexit crowd in all its glory
Post by: RedHand88 on January 02, 2022, 09:18:02 AM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on January 01, 2022, 09:52:04 PM
Just a load of lads getting dressed up in stupid costumes for a piss up and singing irrelevant football songs. They'd know more about a big loaf than they would about darts

Isn't that all darts is?
Post by: square_ball on January 02, 2022, 11:28:33 AM
I don't think the crowd has been as bad over the years as it is this year. Booing players on their throw, cheering bad darts etc. is ridiculous.

2 great games last night. Smith probably playing the best of the remaining 4.
Post by: Itchy on January 02, 2022, 11:30:50 AM
I'm only a casual fan but what was all the booing about, just little Engerlanders cheering their own? Michael Smith seemed like a gent after anyway, said the shouting put him off too. First time I saw a player asking for someone to be removed from the crowd.
Post by: thewobbler on January 02, 2022, 12:13:38 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 02, 2022, 11:30:50 AM
I'm only a casual fan but what was all the booing about, just little Engerlanders cheering their own? Michael Smith seemed like a gent after anyway, said the shouting put him off too. First time I saw a player asking for someone to be removed from the crowd.

It's social media behaviour reflecting itself into the real world. People have become so accustomed to thinking it acceptable to vociferously and unrepentantly target "opponents" online, that it's breaking its way into sport.

See the man hurtling his pint at a losing horse the day before for more evidence.

People are c***ts.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on January 02, 2022, 09:03:30 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 02, 2022, 09:18:02 AM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on January 01, 2022, 09:52:04 PM

Isn't that all darts is?
No
Post by: square_ball on January 03, 2022, 08:50:03 PM
This final could turn into a damp squib very quickly. Smiths doubles have been atrocious so far.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 03, 2022, 08:50:22 PM
Do these 2 boys not realise the holidays are over and alarms are set for early tomorrow  !!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 03, 2022, 08:57:10 PM
Now Smith has turned up !!
Post by: thewobbler on January 03, 2022, 09:50:09 PM
Strange game.

It's close. The lead is changing hands regularly. There's been a ball of 180s and some great checkouts.

All the ingredients are there.

But it feels flat.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 03, 2022, 10:16:32 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 03, 2022, 09:50:09 PM
Strange game.

It's close. The lead is changing hands regularly. There's been a ball of 180s and some great checkouts.

But it feels flat.

Commentators though try and turn it into the best sporting spectacle in the world
Post by: thewobbler on January 03, 2022, 10:24:20 PM
Too many legs are being won with the opponent toiling with 171+ still left. That's the problem. Very few ding dong legs. Which is reflected in the averages.
Post by: Orior on January 03, 2022, 10:51:08 PM
Wright to the Smith "go practice your doubles", lol

Great match. Two decent players.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on January 04, 2022, 02:57:44 AM
Wright too good, a legend.
Smith unlucky, a serious scorer.
Post by: Itchy on January 04, 2022, 09:01:13 AM
Quote from: Orior on January 03, 2022, 10:51:08 PM
Wright to the Smith "go practice your doubles", lol

Great match. Two decent players.

There was drama but a lot of poor legs too. The semis were better quality but in the last 2 sets I think Mr Snakebite really turned it on.
Post by: Hound on January 04, 2022, 10:07:46 AM
Strange game.

But it feels flat.

As Wright said afterwards, there was a strange atmosphere, although he meant it differently than what we are talking about!
The crowd seemed more interested in booing than cheering. Although the players were perhaps a bit too gentlemanly towards each other, there were no real celebrations when a big leg  or even big set was won, that might have raised the atmosphere. Smith in particular should have tried to milk the fact that he had a big majority on his side, but he didn't.
Post by: yellowcard on January 04, 2022, 10:26:31 AM
Quote from: Hound on January 04, 2022, 10:07:46 AM
Strange game.

But it feels flat.

As Wright said afterwards, there was a strange atmosphere, although he meant it differently than what we are talking about!
The crowd seemed more interested in booing than cheering. Although the players were perhaps a bit too gentlemanly towards each other, there were no real celebrations when a big leg  or even big set was won, that might have raised the atmosphere. Smith in particular should have tried to milk the fact that he had a big majority on his side, but he didn't.

The final is played on one of the most depressing nights of the year. The day before most people return to work after Christmas. The festive atmosphere created during the Christmas break has subsided and the final is very often a let down compared to some of the previous rounds. Also most of those fans are crammed in to watch just 2 players play out 13 sets so there could potentially be 60+ legs of darts from the same 2 players. That is a long match watching the same 2 players given that one of the main attractions of darts is the quick fire nature of the games. On other evenings you could have 8 different players playing much shorter matches so the earlier rounds are often far more interesting from a fans point of view.
Post by: seafoid on January 04, 2022, 12:29:09 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on January 04, 2022, 02:57:44 AM
Wright too good, a legend.
Smith unlucky, a serious scorer.
the Mayo of darts
Post by: mrdeeds on March 06, 2022, 01:39:17 PM
Keane Barry about to get to UK semi.
Serious talent at 19.
Post by: Hound on March 06, 2022, 02:45:42 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on March 06, 2022, 01:39:17 PM
Keane Barry about to get to UK semi.
Serious talent at 19.
And Limerick's William O'Connor now also into the semi. Amazing stuff from them. While Barry could be a serious operator, O'Connor a bit more of a journeyman, fantastic achievement for him to the semi of a major televised event
Post by: SHEEDY on March 06, 2022, 04:55:10 PM
The 2 lads kept apart in the draw, all-ireland final on the cards
Post by: Targetman on March 06, 2022, 09:05:12 PM
Great start by Barry but Smith just blitzed him after that, O' Connor going well
Post by: Targetman on December 15, 2022, 10:36:30 PM
Bad performance from Keane Barry but Tyrone's Nathan Rafferty just through to meet Bully Boy Smith in the 2nd round, who do we fancy to win it? Just had a wee punt on Smith @ 6/1
Post by: square_ball on December 15, 2022, 11:44:01 PM
Well done to Mickey Mansell from Tyrone too he won his first round match but then got beat by Peter Wright in the 2nd round. I think it was only his 2nd win at the Ally Pally so fair play to him.

And yeah Rafferty played well he's a class player. I think it's MVG's year this year. Though I do like Smith and outside bet would be Johnny Clayton.
Post by: rodney trotter on December 17, 2022, 10:37:01 PM
Cameron Menzies the Scottish player done some amount of theatrics during his game.
Post by: SHEEDY on December 29, 2022, 11:35:05 PM
Go Johnny go... Great match but glad to see Clayton get the win 👌
Post by: square_ball on December 30, 2022, 09:14:51 AM
Great match last night. Best of the tournament so far imo. Rock a future world champion. Clayton a class act though.
Post by: Orior on December 30, 2022, 09:18:35 AM
Quote from: SHEEDY on December 29, 2022, 11:35:05 PM
Go Johnny go... Great match but glad to see Clayton get the win 👌

Hard luck Josh, for a while I thought he might do it. Fine display of paraphernalia too - NI fleg, Union Jack and poppy so doubt he plays much hurling.
Post by: Sportacus on December 30, 2022, 11:03:57 AM
The darts are brilliant. Pure psychology. Clayton was ice cold, Rock couldn't finish his chances. Pressure got to him. 
Post by: tintin25 on December 30, 2022, 11:05:43 AM
Quote from: Orior on December 30, 2022, 09:18:35 AM
Go Johnny go... Great match but glad to see Clayton get the win

Hard luck Josh, for a while I thought he might do it. Fine display of paraphernalia too - NI fleg, Union Jack and poppy so doubt he plays much hurling.

Couldn't care less about any of that, he's from NI so I wanted him to win
Post by: Hound on December 30, 2022, 11:12:28 AM
I've small bets on Clayton and Cross for added interest (though did them without checking that MvG was in the same part of the draw 😕) so I was up for Clayton. But I would prefer if the lads from the 6 counties didn't wear anything that could be construed as sectarian. Having said that, I didn't mind the NI flag (that's what's on screen for all the NI players), I didn't see the poppy and I don't mind Dolan's shamrocks, but Rock's union jack flights did annoy me. No need for it

But he looks like a top class player in the making and should quickly become Ireland's best ever darter. 
Post by: NotedObserver on December 30, 2022, 11:22:40 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on December 30, 2022, 11:05:43 AM
Quote from: Orior on December 30, 2022, 09:18:35 AM
Go Johnny go... Great match but glad to see Clayton get the win

Couldn't care less about any of that, he's from NI so I wanted him to win

Where was the poppy?
Post by: yellowcard on December 30, 2022, 11:57:03 AM
Rock played well last night but he tightened up when it came to finishing off legs and really ought to have won that match. But if he continues scoring the way he has then the titles will follow.

The political statements with all the paraphernalia are actually self defeating in an individual sport but he is young and probably comes from a working class background where it is normal to use flags and emblems so I wouldn't be too judgemental. As he joins the top rank of players he'd be best to ditch the Union Jack darts though and focus on the darts.
Post by: Rossfan on December 30, 2022, 12:28:45 PM
Why is the old Stormont flag, (obsolete for 50 years and exclusive of 56% of people there) still used for sporting events?
Also why the need to display flags in an individualist sport like darts or golf?
Post by: mrdeeds on January 01, 2023, 08:40:37 PM
Price with the ear defenders is different.
Post by: SHEEDY on January 01, 2023, 08:43:09 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on January 01, 2023, 08:40:37 PM
crowd haven't even been that bad, Clemens playing better stuff. Price looks rattled.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on January 01, 2023, 08:45:24 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on January 01, 2023, 08:40:37 PM

Couldn't like thon Welsh hoor if ye breast fed him
Post by: square_ball on January 01, 2023, 09:05:30 PM
Price made an absolute mug of himself there.
Post by: mrdeeds on January 01, 2023, 09:09:38 PM
It's his own behaviour that causes the boos.
Post by: bennydorano on January 02, 2023, 06:56:25 PM
Ear defenders over ear plugs! Have watched Mervyn King many times with the ear plugs, Price with the ear defenders over the plugs made absolutely no sense bar maybe he thought he'd rattle the German. Spoke afterwards and apparently said he mightn't return to the Ally Pally. Bet he feels a right knob today, but you never know what's going on inside someone's head and he's tightly wound at the best of times.

Would love to see Clemens getting thru 2nite, big big ask!
Post by: rodney trotter on January 02, 2023, 09:59:33 PM
Smith played really well tonight. Van Gerwen cruising so far.
Post by: thewobbler on January 02, 2023, 10:22:30 PM
There's not much point in anyone else even bothering when MVG is in the mood. They all know if too. Taylor obviously did likewise for 20 years but MVG's ability to switch and pick out any treble or double on the board when he needs it, is unparalleled.

Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 02, 2023, 11:27:10 PM
Peak taylor v peak mvg who wins. Watched a bit tonight yer mans like a machine
Post by: Ghost on January 02, 2023, 11:34:21 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 02, 2023, 11:27:10 PM
Peak taylor v peak mvg who wins. Watched a bit tonight yer mans like a machine

Peak Van Gerwen without question.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 03, 2023, 12:01:40 AM
The standard is higher then when Taylor was dominating. As good as Van Garwen is,he hasn't won the World since 2019. He's back to that level of 2019 in this tournament.
Post by: thewobbler on January 03, 2023, 12:34:57 AM
I'd have an inkling towards MvG myself as his ability to make top class players look like pub drunks is extraordinary.

But the thing with darts is that averages just don't lie. They can't get padded over time. There's no adjustment needed to compare old with new like in many sports. And Taylor's averages would stack him up to take this down to the final leg, and maybe even win this game.
Post by: andoireabu on January 03, 2023, 02:49:29 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 03, 2023, 12:34:57 AM
I'd have an inkling towards MvG myself as his ability to make top class players look like pub drunks is extraordinary.

But the thing with darts is that averages just don't lie. They can't get padded over time. There's no adjustment needed to compare old with new like in many sports. And Taylor's averages would stack him up to take this down to the final leg, and maybe even win this game.

I'd edge towards MVG also but Taylor would slow the game down a lot if he was playing MVG to try and put him off his rhythm.  I remember watching him against Anderson in one of the last years he played and he was at all sorts of sh1te trying to put Anderson off his game.
Post by: tintin25 on January 03, 2023, 04:18:47 PM
No-one is coming close to Taylor's achievements in fairness
Post by: yellowcard on January 03, 2023, 04:52:21 PM
Yes as much as I don't like Taylor he was a freak of nature. It's unlikely that anyone will come close to matching his number of titles or dominate a sport the way he did. MVG was at his level for 5 or 6 years but then he fell back into the pack. He looks like he might be getting back close to that level again and at his absolute peak he was more explosive than Taylor but I don't think he beats Taylor for consistency of performance. 
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on January 03, 2023, 05:49:57 PM
People picking MVG over the best player of all time is hilarious
Post by: SHEEDY on January 03, 2023, 06:21:21 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on January 03, 2023, 05:49:57 PM
it's hardly hilarious, peak Mvg would beat Taylor imo, Mvgs scoring, doubling and averages are up there with anything Taylor produced. Taylors level of consistency at the top though will never be matched.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on January 03, 2023, 08:33:59 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on January 03, 2023, 06:21:21 PM
Quote from: GiveItToTheShooters on January 03, 2023, 05:49:57 PM
it's hardly hilarious, peak Mvg would beat Taylor imo, Mvgs scoring, doubling and averages are up there with anything Taylor produced. Taylors level of consistency at the top though will never be matched.
It's definitely hilarious
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2023, 08:50:52 PM
Have i just watched the best leg of darts ever?!?!
Post by: andoireabu on January 03, 2023, 08:53:59 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2023, 08:50:52 PM

Ridiculous standard so far. Never seen both on for 9s like that before
Post by: gerrykeegan on January 03, 2023, 08:54:43 PM
It can't be topped. Two lads bought had a throw for 9 darter, one gets it one doesn't, what can top that
Post by: Targetman on January 03, 2023, 08:55:21 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2023, 08:50:52 PM
It'd take some beating!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2023, 08:57:16 PM
in a final too!
Post by: thewobbler on January 03, 2023, 09:05:32 PM
It can't be bettered that leg. Darts has done perfect *

* treble 20, treble 19, bull, when done 3 times would actually be more perfect, even if the result is the same. But nobody ever going to do that.
Post by: seafoid on January 03, 2023, 09:45:18 PM
Smith is back in front. Great tension
Post by: Targetman on January 03, 2023, 10:09:39 PM
Football didn't come home now they're singing "Darts " is coming home!!
Post by: Redhand Santa on January 03, 2023, 10:27:09 PM
Peak van g being better than peak Taylor looks a bit silly after another big loss tonight.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 03, 2023, 10:27:40 PM
Smith played brilliant in fairness to him.
Post by: thewobbler on January 03, 2023, 10:28:28 PM
Quote from: Redhand Santa on January 03, 2023, 10:27:09 PM
Peak van g being better than peak Taylor looks a bit silly after another big loss tonight.

As good as smith was tonight, i agree with you. Doubt Taylor ever lost 4 sets in a row in his life.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2023, 10:30:27 PM
Yer man was startin to wobble if mvg had won that set it couldve been some finish. Great entertainment
Post by: RedHand88 on January 03, 2023, 10:44:31 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 03, 2023, 10:30:27 PM
Yer man was startin to wobble if mvg had won that set it couldve been some finish. Great entertainment

Mvg looked completely different after that last break. I think you're right. Had he have won that set he would have won out I think. Smith got over the line just in time. Some game!
Post by: Ancharraig123 on January 30, 2023, 08:32:44 PM
Anyone know how one would go about getting a ticket or two for Belfast Thursday?
Thanks
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on June 08, 2023, 10:39:24 PM
Anyone know when the release date is usually for premier league fixtures 2024.  ?

Was in Belfast the first night last year early in February
Post by: Targetman on December 20, 2023, 09:46:24 PM
Darts time again folks, just watched 16 year old Luke Littler throw some stuff to win 3-0, who do you fancy to win it, its as open as it has been for years.
Post by: square_ball on December 20, 2023, 09:50:19 PM
How is that lad 16??? He looks about 40.

https://x.com/officialpdc/status/1737583612650746316?s=46
Post by: Targetman on December 20, 2023, 10:05:31 PM
I know, its the first time I've seen him throw, I had him for 23/24ish, he's 17 in January, another year at minors!
Post by: square_ball on December 20, 2023, 10:33:39 PM
Wright gone. As bad a performance as you'd see from a top player.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 20, 2023, 11:06:17 PM
Quote from: Targetman on December 20, 2023, 10:05:31 PMI know, its the first time I've seen him throw, I had him for 23/24ish, he's 17 in January, another year at minors!
Please tell me his nickname is Adolf.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 20, 2023, 11:35:38 PM
Quote from: square_ball on December 20, 2023, 09:50:19 PMHow is that lad 16??? He looks about 40.

https://x.com/officialpdc/status/1737583612650746316?s=46

Oldest looking 16 year old I've ever seen.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 20, 2023, 11:50:56 PM
Quote from: square_ball on December 20, 2023, 10:33:39 PMWright gone. As bad a performance as you'd see from a top player.

Awful. Average 80 or something like that? Sky were blaming his darts.
Post by: statto on December 21, 2023, 09:03:09 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 20, 2023, 11:50:56 PM
Quote from: square_ball on December 20, 2023, 10:33:39 PMWright gone. As bad a performance as you'd see from a top player.

Awful. Average 80 or something like that? Sky were blaming his darts.
Williams didn't even have to play well to beat him.  Haven't been able to see much to date but normally only really gets going after Xmas.  Fancied Price to win it from the outset. 
Post by: Targetman on December 21, 2023, 07:33:21 PM
Littler takes the first set, crowd singing " you've got school in the morning "
Post by: Capt Pat on December 21, 2023, 08:11:31 PM
Quote from: Targetman on December 21, 2023, 07:33:21 PMLittler takes the first set, crowd singing " you've got school in the morning "

Littler has some physique on him for a 16 year old. Is there a special diet all the darts players are on?
Post by: Targetman on December 21, 2023, 10:31:50 PM
He definitely wasn't bullied at the trough but tbf there's a new breed of thrower the likes of Cullen, Humphries, Price, Dobey etc who seem to have broke with the traditional diet of pints and heart attacks on a plate!
Post by: Targetman on December 23, 2023, 09:23:28 PM
Josh Rock bites the dust too, btw he's the only thrower I've seen that didn't have the PaddyPower logo on his top, nothing to do with the colour, naw ffs wise up!!
Post by: bennydorano on December 23, 2023, 10:18:45 PM
Quote from: Targetman on December 23, 2023, 09:23:28 PMJosh Rock bites the dust too, btw he's the only thrower I've seen that didn't have the PaddyPower logo on his top, nothing to do with the colour, naw ffs wise up!!
Is he over 18? Have to be
Post by: Targetman on December 23, 2023, 10:42:15 PM
He's 23
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 24, 2023, 12:12:22 AM
Can't believe that lad 16. Looks nothing near it.
Post by: Targetman on December 28, 2023, 10:20:24 PM
Good win for Brendan Dolan beating Gerwin Price, and baby face Luke Littler had some win last night,Superchin up next
Post by: SaffronSports on December 28, 2023, 10:26:39 PM
Great to see Price beat and an Irish man doing it makes it all the better.
Post by: statto on December 29, 2023, 12:04:14 AM
Quote from: Targetman on December 28, 2023, 10:20:24 PMGood win for Brendan Dolan beating Gerwin Price, and baby face Luke Littler had some win last night,Superchin up next
superchin hard enough to like, think he tries to say the right things but he comes across generally as ungenuine and a bit of a knob. Think he will struggle to get past chisnell. littler playing Barney would be great if Barney can win tomorrow.
Post by: square_ball on January 01, 2024, 03:51:47 PM
Dolan getting absolutely annihilated here by Littler.
Post by: Hound on January 01, 2024, 11:16:56 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 01, 2024, 03:51:47 PMDolan getting absolutely annihilated here by Littler.
Bren can beat anyone on his day, but he's not the very top level type that can string together 3 or 4 such performances. Wide open now with MvG gone. Humphries favourite but beatable
Post by: statto on January 02, 2024, 08:56:57 AM
Massive shock MVG going out last night, really didn't see that coming. 

Humphries should win his semi final, really think the other one is the toss of a coin.  Cross has been there done that and could argue he is the favourite as he is the only player to have been to this stage before and more importantly delivered.  Will be hoping Litler goes all the way at this stage. 
Post by: Jim Bob on January 02, 2024, 09:49:35 AM
See Littner is stepping out with a 21 year old.
Wonder how long that going on? Hmmmm
Post by: Mourne Red on January 02, 2024, 12:04:25 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on January 02, 2024, 09:49:35 AMSee Littner is stepping out with a 21 year old.

Been going on for 3 years apparently.. Bit noncey that, should lock her up
Post by: Saffrongael on January 02, 2024, 12:34:17 PM
Littler looks about 35
Post by: Targetman on January 02, 2024, 09:21:11 PM
He's 1 set away from the final, unreal talent, and can play u17's this season!!
Post by: square_ball on January 02, 2024, 09:33:43 PM
He's the real deal. He'll dominate darts for the next 20 years whether he wins it tomorrow night or not.
Post by: Targetman on January 02, 2024, 09:38:28 PM
Rob Cross didn't throw bad he just came up against a machine, Humphries could beat him though ( if he wins next)
Post by: Hound on January 02, 2024, 09:42:24 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 02, 2024, 09:33:43 PMHe's the real deal. He'll dominate darts for the next 20 years whether he wins it tomorrow night or not.
Needs some good advice and could do with getting fit. Otherwise could well go off the rails.

But for this tournament he has been super, better every game. That was a top class semi final performance against a very good opponent.
Post by: Itchy on January 02, 2024, 09:46:19 PM
Some talent that gasun.

I was reading there that Darts will be in the 2028 Olympics. Imagine them lads down the Olympic village eating kebabs in the middle of all the athletes.
Post by: mrdeeds on January 02, 2024, 10:51:24 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on January 02, 2024, 12:04:25 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on January 02, 2024, 09:49:35 AMSee Littner is stepping out with a 21 year old.

Been going on for 3 years apparently.. Bit noncey that, should lock her up

They met only a few weeks ago playing FIFA online.
Post by: Itchy on January 02, 2024, 10:54:20 PM
Humphries was mighty impressive there in other semi. Should be a brilliant final.
Post by: SaffronSports on January 02, 2024, 11:08:05 PM
Thought Gary Anderson was spot on when he told the media to leave the kid alone. Used Josh Rock as a reference and spoke about other next big things falling away and blamed a lot of that on the media. One I remember is Kirk Shepherd. Reached the final about 15 years ago and I've no idea what he's at now.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2024, 08:41:38 AM
Its interesting that in any other 'sport' if someone came from nowhere and reached a final and lets say won, they'd be saying they have used enhancing drugs, not the same for darts it seems ;)
Post by: Targetman on January 03, 2024, 08:35:44 PM
Some 2nd set from the Littler, this is gonna be good!
Post by: square_ball on January 03, 2024, 09:20:01 PM
He is so good this fella. Humphries would be 5-1 up against 99% of players.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 03, 2024, 09:32:41 PM
That double 2 miss will haunt him.
Post by: mrdeeds on January 03, 2024, 09:32:49 PM
Can Litler get even better or is he at his peak already because he seems that good? Dart players form can fluctuate, Adrian Lewis is nowhere near level he was and the many come and go.
Post by: square_ball on January 03, 2024, 09:46:37 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 03, 2024, 09:32:41 PMThat double 2 miss will haunt him.

It was a big dart. Could have been 5-2 and ended up 4-3.

Some of the finishing has been superb.
Post by: Targetman on January 03, 2024, 09:52:02 PM
Humphries scoring the last 3 sets has been unreal
Post by: square_ball on January 03, 2024, 10:04:07 PM
That was some performance by Humphries. Littler too was brilliant. Hopefully that isn't his peak and he'll be about for years to come.
Post by: mrdeeds on January 03, 2024, 10:06:54 PM
Humphries is some player but his walk on song is awful.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 03, 2024, 10:24:26 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on January 03, 2024, 10:06:54 PMHumphries is some player but his walk on song is awful.

There is worse.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 03, 2024, 10:25:06 PM
Never really watched much darts but jaysus that was enjoyable. Some boy for 16!
Post by: jcpen on January 04, 2024, 08:34:40 AM
Is it a prerequisite for the majority of Dart players to be obese?
Post by: trailer on January 04, 2024, 09:13:05 AM
Great game. Littler I hope can keep this level up. Incredible talent. Humphries was excellent. From 4-2 down to power through. Fantastic.
Post by: balladmaker on January 04, 2024, 09:36:56 AM
Quote from: jcpen on January 04, 2024, 08:34:40 AMIs it a prerequisite for the majority of Dart players to be obese?

Lower centre of gravity at the oche :-)
Post by: statto on January 04, 2024, 09:45:54 AM
Quote from: jcpen on January 04, 2024, 08:34:40 AMIs it a prerequisite for the majority of Dart players to be obese?
In the past would have been known to be, but there are now acadamies and that for younger players to come through(One of which was Littler) so you will probably see a change in the next while. 
Post by: Look-Up! on January 04, 2024, 09:50:21 AM
Serious game of darts. Scoring was unreal from both players. Having the throw was pretty much meaningless for getting to a finish first because any weak darts were punished by the opponent. Littler was excellent. Had some patches, you couldn't really call them wobbles, but a few moments where he was a little less than world class and it cost him the match. Humphries was just relentless from set 6.   
Post by: Itchy on January 04, 2024, 10:01:23 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2024, 08:41:38 AMIts interesting that in any other 'sport' if someone came from nowhere and reached a final and lets say won, they'd be saying they have used enhancing drugs, not the same for darts it seems ;)

Ironically, Darts could be the purest of all sports as there is no way to cheat at it unless someone comes up with remote control darts
Post by: yellowcard on January 04, 2024, 11:15:06 AM
Quote from: Itchy on January 04, 2024, 10:01:23 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 03, 2024, 08:41:38 AMIts interesting that in any other 'sport' if someone came from nowhere and reached a final and lets say won, they'd be saying they have used enhancing drugs, not the same for darts it seems ;)

Ironically, Darts could be the purest of all sports as there is no way to cheat at it unless someone comes up with remote control darts

In terms of the physical sense this is true, darts and snooker are the 2 that would not benefit from drugs that benefit the bodies physical capacity. However drugs that help calm the nerves would be a potential stimulant that could enhance performance such as beta blockers which are now banned from sports such as golf and darts and were thought to have been used in the past. Not sure where alcohol would fall into this equation but I know a lot of pub darts players who would need a few pints to play at their best level.   
Post by: bennydorano on January 04, 2024, 11:45:06 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on January 04, 2024, 11:15:06 AM
Quote from: Itchy on January 04, 2024, 10:01:23 AM

In terms of the physical sense this is true, darts and snooker are the 2 that would not benefit from drugs that benefit the bodies physical capacity. However drugs that help calm the nerves would be a potential stimulant that could enhance performance such as beta blockers which are now banned from sports such as golf and darts and were thought to have been used in the past. Not sure where alcohol would fall into this equation but I know a lot of pub darts players who would need a few pints to play at their best level.   
I was always in the Snooker zone in the 2-4 pints window, then it all went to shit
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 04, 2024, 11:50:12 AM
Sames Benny

Bill Werbenuik would laugh at the pair of us (if he were still alive)
Post by: DuffleKing on January 04, 2024, 12:46:14 PM

There have been snooker players suspended in the past for taking beta blockers - which slow the heart rate and overall body rhythm. Hard to think they wouldn't aid performance in darts also.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2024, 01:56:07 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on January 04, 2024, 12:46:14 PMThere have been snooker players suspended in the past for taking beta blockers - which slow the heart rate and overall body rhythm. Hard to think they wouldn't aid performance in darts also.

Having seen the darts players I'd have assumed that most of them would be using beta blockers due to their health style
Post by: Hound on January 04, 2024, 02:32:50 PM
Quote from: statto on January 04, 2024, 09:45:54 AM
In the past would have been known to be, but there are now acadamies and that for younger players to come through(One of which was Littler) so you will probably see a change in the next while. 
Already changed hugely over the last 20 years. No requirement to be fit to play darts, but most of the younger lads tend to be. Humphries a prime example. Aspinal, van den Bergh, Price, Clayton, Noppert, Cullen, Dobey are all top players who aren't overweight. Most of the others just a little bit overweight. Only a few in the obese category.  I think Littler's bulging stomach is to do with fizzy drinks rather than the historic alcohol/obesity issues.
Post by: Itchy on January 04, 2024, 02:39:25 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 04, 2024, 02:32:50 PM
Quote from: statto on January 04, 2024, 09:45:54 AM
Already changed hugely over the last 20 years. No requirement to be fit to play darts, but most of the younger lads tend to be. Humphries a prime example. Aspinal, van den Bergh, Price, Clayton, Noppert, Cullen, Dobey are all top players who aren't overweight. Most of the others just a little bit overweight. Only a few in the obese category.  I think Littler's bulging stomach is to do with fizzy drinks rather than the historic alcohol/obesity issues.

Did I see a photo on the tv yesterday of Humphries playing Littler as kids and Humphries was a big unit?

Littler says he has kebabs and pizza in prep for the big games and celebrates with them too (and a vape). He is the Sean Quigley of Darts
Post by: square_ball on January 04, 2024, 02:45:41 PM
Yeah Humphries lost serious weight in the last couple of years. 4 or 5 stone going from different newspaper articles.

(https://i.postimg.cc/3wtbGDhN/IMG-3438.jpg) (https://postimages.org/)
Post by: toby47 on January 10, 2024, 03:44:47 PM
I've been offered a few tickets for the darts in the SSE arena in Belfast this year. Is it a decent night out worth going to?

I'm a casual darts watched over Xmas every year, but don't watch it any other time of year. Probably more hooked this year due to the Littler story.
Post by: tintin25 on January 10, 2024, 04:22:55 PM
Quote from: toby47 on January 10, 2024, 03:44:47 PMI've been offered a few tickets for the darts in the SSE arena in Belfast this year. Is it a decent night out worth going to?

I'm a casual darts watched over Xmas every year, but don't watch it any other time of year. Probably more hooked this year due to the Littler story.

Couple of friends went to one a year or two ago. Now these boys are up for the craic and love a night out as much as anyone but both said they wouldn't go near it again - alot of scumbags, drinks being fcuked about the place and sectarian chanting.

Best avoid.
Post by: Decod89 on January 10, 2024, 04:39:30 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on January 10, 2024, 04:22:55 PM
Quote from: toby47 on January 10, 2024, 03:44:47 PMI've been offered a few tickets for the darts in the SSE arena in Belfast this year. Is it a decent night out worth going to?

Been to the Belfast and Dublin ones a few times, mostly 8/9 years ago.

Its a decent enough atmosphere for the most part. There definitely seemed to be a change at the Belfast one as the poster above has said. You would be lucky if half the crowd is still there by the time the last game starts, most clear out early because they know there will be a schmozzle at the end.

If you are with a good sized group and have a table its great craic, the seats around the sides less so.

Post by: statto on January 19, 2024, 06:14:10 PM
9 darter for Litler in Bahrain Masters against Aspinall.Into semis now against Price.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 19, 2024, 07:16:45 PM
Quote from: statto on January 19, 2024, 06:14:10 PM9 darter for Litler in Bahrain Masters against Aspinall.Into semis now against Price.
Saw that. He seems to have put on another 2 stone in the last 2 weeks.
Post by: square_ball on January 19, 2024, 07:50:57 PM
And three in a 170 finish as well for good measure in the next match.

Anyone see the fella MVG was playing yesterday? I think I'd beat him and I haven't played darts in about 20 years.
Post by: SaffronSports on January 19, 2024, 08:11:52 PM
Beat MVG in the final. This kid is the real deal
Post by: square_ball on January 19, 2024, 08:14:57 PM
Yip he is unbelievable. Beat 3 very good players today without breaking a sweat.
Post by: Hound on January 19, 2024, 09:01:20 PM
Genuinely superb to get a 9 darter in the quarters and to follow it up with wins over Price and Van Gerwen. He's a mess though. For a 16/17 year old to be that overweight is wrong. I bet none of the Big Cliffs, Big Daves, etc from the 80s were that big at 16!
Post by: statto on January 19, 2024, 09:57:00 PM
Quote from: Hound on January 19, 2024, 09:01:20 PMGenuinely superb to get a 9 darter in the quarters and to follow it up with wins over Price and Van Gerwen. He's a mess though. For a 16/17 year old to be that overweight is wrong. I bet none of the Big Cliffs, Big Daves, etc from the 80s were that big at 16!
Be interesting to see how he gets on the next couple years when he turns 18 and is classified as an adult.17 weeks of the premier League being on the road wouldn't be great for the diet and he has to qualify for a right few of major tournaments too I'm led to believe.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 20, 2024, 12:57:05 PM
Has to be one of the worst looking Trophies for a tournament winner,

Looks like one of those dodgy souvenirs your Aunt buys you from a stall on a Summer Sun Holiday that looks great at the time, but when you get home it looks cringe.

(https://i2-prod.dailystar.co.uk/incoming/article31924743.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/0_Screenshot-195.png)
Post by: marty34 on January 20, 2024, 02:10:05 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on January 20, 2024, 12:57:05 PMHas to be one of the worst looking Trophies for a tournament winner,

Looks like one of those dodgy souvenirs your Aunt buys you from a stall on a Summer Sun Holiday that looks great at the time, but when you get home it looks cringe.

(https://i2-prod.dailystar.co.uk/incoming/article31924743.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/0_Screenshot-195.png)

I'd say it's made of gold.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on March 28, 2024, 10:14:41 PM
Littler v Asp now in Belfast final
Great to hear Mr Brightside one more time