U2

Started by 5 Sams, February 07, 2009, 11:11:06 PM

..right lads and lasses...like them or not the biggest band in the world are about to release a new album...and by all accounts they are gonna be playing ar an talamh naofa in July.

If you're a fan gimme your top 3 U2 tunes.......... if you're not a fan you know you love their music ;)...join in..

Seo mo rogha

Red Hill Mining Town
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytRekLUX3GE

Staring at the Sun
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5A8-N_SUcUc

And then of course the daddy of them all......

Bad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPyhYczii8I

Eoghan Mag

I'm only a luke-warm fan. I hated their last album but the one before it was good.

1 Hawkmoon 269
2 Electrical Storm
3 Elevation

AFS

In general I can't stand them, but I don't think the new one (something about boots or something ???) is that bad. I see most U2 fans don't have much time for it, maybe thats why I like it  :-\

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 07, 2009, 11:11:06 PM
..right lads and lasses...like them or not the biggest band in the world are about to release a new album...and by all accounts they are gonna be playing ar an talamh naofa in July.

If you're a fan gimme your top 3 U2 tunes.......... if you're not a fan you know you love their music ;)...join in..

Seo mo rogha

Red Hill Mining Town
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytRekLUX3GE

Staring at the Sun
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5A8-N_SUcUc

And then of course the daddy of them all......

Bad

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aPyhYczii8I

Are they really the biggest band in the world still? Is a U2 concert really an "event"? I've seen them before but I think they've been pretty gash for a good few years now.

However, in the spirit of the thread:
Red Hill Mining Town is a great call 5Sams.
I Will Follow.
Angel of Harlem

I fecking hate U2.

Bono is a knob but I am definitely a fan of theirs.

Three picks that have personal resonance for me:

Hold me, thrill me, kiss me
Angel of Harlem
Desire

Van Diemen's Land
Peace on Earth
One

Van Diemen's Land definitely my favourite. Wikipedia tells me it was one of only 4 U2 songs sung by the Edge.

Red hill mining town is probably my favourite.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AyIbYW9B8FQ  Wake up dead man

Any other song after that.

My main gripe with U2 is that they havnt really evolved. That said, the time they tried something different (Zoo) they got slated.

DrinkingHarp

All I want is You
Bullet the Blue Sky
Silver and Gold
Two Hearts Beat as One

Gaaboard Predict The World Cup Champion 2014

Its probably COOL to hate U2 nowadays but jaysus lads some of the music they have produced is unreal...

I'll get back to yiz tomorrow when the Becks wears off ;)

give her dixie

I have loved U2 since I saw the video of New Years Day in '83 as a 13 year old. 2 years later, my 1st ever concert was the Unforgettable Fire" concert in '85 in Croke Park, 2 weeks before Live Aid. Since then, I havn't missed a concert from every tour. Now, nearly 27 years later, I can't wait to get the new album, and see them again for their 4th tour at Croke Park. They have given me some musical memories for many years.

I had the privlidge to see them in Feb '06 in Santiago Chile, and with the new president in the audience, Bono had 60,000 people crying when he talked about how Pinochet took his victims to the National stadium, (where U2 were playing, but not at the same time), and had them killed. And then the Edge took out an Andean 12 string guitar that the President had given him that day, and together with Bono, the 2 of them did "Mothers Of The Disapeared". The sight of so many people young and old crying, made me feel so proud that an Irish band could have such an impact on the Chilean people.

So, Mothers Of The Disapeared" is my favourite.
next stop, September 10, for number 4......

carnaross

I was introduced to their music in the early 80's by a friend, wasn't particularly impressed till I saw their video of New Year's Day on TOTP. Told everybody I knew after that, they'd be huge. First saw them in Sheffied arena on the indoor leg of the ZOO TV tour. Got to go backstage before the show (couldn't believe there was no alcohol available for anyone) as a cousin of mine was working with the band. Also saw them in Roundhay Park Leeds on the outdoor leg and most lately at Man. City. Always thought they are brilliant both live and in the studio. Many songs are very poignant to me: Kite, Sometimes You Cant Make It On You Own and Bad to name three.
Anyone travelling to Leeds to work/study are welcome to join St. Benedicts Harps GAA in Leeds.