Movie recommendations

Started by corn02, October 23, 2007, 10:13:39 AM

Blade Runner 2049 was really good, solid 8/10. Has to be seen in the cinema.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 16, 2017, 08:37:25 AM
Blade Runner 2049 was really good, solid 8/10. Has to be seen in the cinema.

Definitely! I don't think it would be near the same experience watching it in the house!

The Circle - Tom Hanks and Emma Watson. A pile of sh*te.

HiMucker

Brawl in Cell Block 99.  Tarrantino Esque.  Worth a watch.  7/10

Watched Wonder Woman. I was very impressed with the lead actress.

Not impressed with the story line. Why bring set it in WW1?

Was not impressed with the lead actor.

David Thewlis is a crap actor. I think he should try has hand at comedy roles, not an evil master.

HiMucker

Anyone seen Bad day for the cut?  Worth a watch?

Thor Ragnarok decent. 8/10.

Quote from: ballinaman on October 09, 2017, 02:28:33 PM
Wind River is worth a watch. 7/10

Really enjoyed it, Renner is a great actor. Tough going at times

William Wild's 'Feather' during the closing credits was perfect

Worry been breaking and bringing me down
And counting all the times that I fall
But when my time comes I won't be counting at all
I feel all my filth when I look in your eyes
But it falls as light as a feather in the night

Bad day for the cut is good. Cell block 99 was very good too.

I watched the The Lives of Others, yet again.
This time of viewing, near the end when the writer went to the stasi archives (visitors welcome) to retrieve his spy file,  the clerk had a brief look at his docket and says "this will take some time". When a porter finally came to him with a tea trolley chock full of his stasi files, he dryly said to the writer "my respects".

Watched a film called The Witch (2015) on the strength of a recommendation tweet from Rob Delaney. I sat through it for a bit thinking this isn't much kop, as it it went on it got much better building to a fine ending, not jump out scary but one that gets inside your head, I've been thinking about it a lot since I watched it. I've no doubt a lot of people will watch it and think it's shite but I'd recommend it highly.

Harold Disgracey

Finally got round to seeing The Death of Stalin this evening, excellent it was too.

Quote from: Harold Disgracey on November 05, 2017, 11:11:54 PM
Finally got round to seeing The Death of Stalin this evening, excellent it was too.

Not as funny as I thought it would be but compelling viewing all the same. In part it was moving as they drag yer man off to his death in the final scene.

Well acted but it had a cracking cast. The stories it makes reference to are incredible and hilarious too. Stone-arse, the hockey team, the symphony recording, Polina's jailing.

mrdeeds

Watched Southpaw the weekend. Cliched as feck but alright.

Saw Wonder at the weekend.

If your easily emotionally manipulated probably not for you or maybe it is. I enjoyed it though a solid 3/5.