Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: new devil on October 09, 2007, 05:23:04 PM

Title: Las Vegas
Post by: new devil on October 09, 2007, 05:23:04 PM
Hitting Vegas in a few weeks....anyone have any tips on best places to see,eat etc
Title: Re: Las Vegas
Post by: amigo on October 09, 2007, 05:33:03 PM
 ALL OF IT !!!! ;) its amazing man. An adults disney land !!!
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 09, 2007, 08:32:32 PM
I was there in May and had a good enough time. Its the type of place to go with the boys and leave the wives and girlfriends at home. Three nights is enough in the place unless you love to gamble. I would recommend you take a trip to the Grand Canyon, it is about a four hour drive and along the way stop at the Hoover Dam for a look. If you have time stay at the Grand Canyon for a night and watch the Sunrise and sunsets as they are supposed to be amazing. I did not have time to do this unfortunately. I went to two shows the Blue Man Show at the Venetian which was disappointing but the Cirque De Soliel (spelling) "O" show at the Bellagio is worth the money, just amazing. If you are a drinker it can get expensive to drink in the big hotels but there are alot of watering hole along the strip where you can gamble and drink relatively cheaply. The Old Las Vegas is worth a visit also but some of the older casinos are very run down.
Post by: Fishbat on October 09, 2007, 10:42:46 PM
If you are putting a few quid in the machines, just tip the waitress well and you'll get plenty of cheap drink all night instead of the $6.50 per bottle ye pay at the bars.  Fountain show at the Bellagio at night is worth a video, and the hoover dam.  Theres that new walkway over the canyon too - looks great

try and get into as many of the hotels as ye can for a nosey...too much stuff to see......and don't burn yourself out in the first 2 nights!

Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 09, 2007, 11:06:22 PM
Did i not hear they built a wal around it?
For north and south to keep them out?
Post by: balladmaker on October 09, 2007, 11:39:35 PM
When gambling on the tables,the drink is free.  No doubt you pay for it when you loose gambling, but it has to be done.  Be careful not to fall into the same trap as I did.....while drinking bottles of Bud, whenever half the bottle had barely gone, the waitress landed over with a new beer. Now they don't allow you to have more than one bottle on the table at a time, so you naturally throw the remaining half of the bottle into you, give the empty to the waitress and take the new 'free' bottle.  5 minutes later, exact same thing, and all of a sudden after an hour or so, you're well on your way to being plastered....and being drunk and gambling don't go hand in hand, you suddenly think your 'Cool Hand Luke'....enough said.

As for sights, check out the light show at Freemont Street, the older part of vegas.  Checkout the Forum shops beneath Caesar's Palace, nice ambience.  The casino's are the main attraction, just amazing to walk around. The wealth is unreal, plush is an understatement.  Helicopter flight from Vegas over the Grand Canyon is unreal, but costly, approx. $300.  The only reason I did it was because I won a few quid the night before and decided to spend it on something memorable rather than loosing it again.

Post by: blast05 on October 10, 2007, 12:33:25 AM
Spend a half day walking around the hotels - absolutely amazing. Bellagio was the one for me - spent 4 nights there in a suite over looking the lake. If i lived to be a thousand, i could not stay in a better hotel room or hotel !
Hit the black jack tables and be prepared to lose a few hundred
Shop in the shopping centre in the basement of Caesars Palace (and bring an empty suit case) - an incredible place. If the Mrs is with you then keep her away from the shops in the Bellagio - unless you win big in the Casinos !!
Do the Grand Canyon by helicopter
Contrary to another opinion, wasn't that impressed by Cirque Soleil in the Bellagio
Don't bother with the revolving restaurant on top of the highest building in Vegas - not great but around €150-€180 for dinner for 2
You have to check a nightclub out as well - was in one in the Venetian - wow, the talent !
And be prepared for around 10 mils of walking per day. Just to get accross the road from the Bellagio to the Parisian seemed to involve about an hour of a walk.

Post by: Carmen Stateside on October 10, 2007, 12:45:42 AM
You jammy cnut >:(   
Enjoy ;)
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 10, 2007, 01:08:26 AM
Quote from: blast05 on October 10, 2007, 12:33:25 AM
Spend a half day walking around the hotels - absolutely amazing. Bellagio was the one for me - spent 4 nights there in a suite over looking the lake. If i lived to be a thousand, i could not stay in a better hotel room or hotel !
Hit the black jack tables and be prepared to lose a few hundred
Shop in the shopping centre in the basement of Caesars Palace (and bring an empty suit case) - an incredible place. If the Mrs is with you then keep her away from the shops in the Bellagio - unless you win big in the Casinos !!
Do the Grand Canyon by helicopter
Contrary to another opinion, wasn't that impressed by Cirque Soleil in the Bellagio
Don't bother with the revolving restaurant on top of the highest building in Vegas - not great but around €150-€180 for dinner for 2
You have to check a nightclub out as well - was in one in the Venetian - wow, the talent !
And be prepared for around 10 mils of walking per day. Just to get accross the road from the Bellagio to the Parisian seemed to involve about an hour of a walk.

Blast, which Cirque Soliel did you see, they have about 5 different shows and from what I have been told by people that have seen a few other Cirque shows "O" is the best.
The hotels are huge, stayed at the Bellagio myself, sounds like a similar room over looking the lake as well. Best hotel I have ever been in and that including the Travellers Friend in Castlebar ;D ;D
Bring a good pair of walking shoes as you will find yourself wandering. Bring water with you where ever you go as you will get dehydrated very quickly in the desert climate.
Post by: Puckoon on October 10, 2007, 01:30:01 AM
Check out freemont street, the water show at the bellagio at night, the rollercoaster at new york new york, 9  fine irishmen at the new york new york, and what ever you do, dont buy tickets for ANY nightclub from a taxi driver - even if they are VIP tickets. If you are offered these tickets, they more than likely not be valid for the night that the f**king taxi man is driving you to the nightclub. :-[
If you are going to gamble, play poker - its one of the few games where you have most of the control over your money.

Or, come to Reno, and do it all for a fraction of the cost. ;)
Title: Puckoon
Post by: john mcgill on October 10, 2007, 07:00:01 AM
Do they still have an Irish Society in Reno?  I played a gaelic match there in the late 70's/ early 80's (the brain is gone!) and had a great time.  With the high altitude you could kick a ball a mile.
Post by: amigo on October 10, 2007, 07:50:47 AM
Have fun Frank ! :o
Post by: MauriceMalpas on October 10, 2007, 10:53:01 AM
If your visit is a short one and you wish to see the Canyon I'd recommend getting the helicopter trip. I think its about $200 or maybe a little more. You're picked up from your hotel beforehand and dropped back afterwards. The Chopper touchs down in the Canyon for 30 min or so where ye get a picnic and champagne. You should be dropped back to your hotel about 5 hrs after pickup which to me is single biggest advantage as you'll wipe out a full day if you get the bus etc.

Get the rollercoaster at NY NY.

Went to Love, the Beatles Cirque du Soleil, great show in the Mirage.

If you're goin with the bird then go for a meal at:

http://www.stratospherehotel.com/topworld.html (http://www.stratospherehotel.com/topworld.html)
Post by: lfdown2 on October 10, 2007, 11:00:57 AM
ye have to check out the palms, unreal, went to the moon nightclub on the top of it some view of the city, and it and the playboy club (sight to behold!!) are 1 so admission gets you into both!speak to the concierge in the hotel tell them you are looking free passes for it and want on the guest list thats the important part!!
Post by: AZOffaly on October 10, 2007, 11:05:22 AM
If you are staying for longer than a few days, I would heartily recommend staying overnight down on the Canyon Floor, in a sort of ranch which is among the Havasupai Indians. It is absolutely beautiul down there, and you can go white water rafting on the Colorado river down there, as well as bathing in the beautiful Havasupai Falls on the Canyon floor as well. You can either hike down or get a chopper, but be aware (so you don't kick up a fuss about it), the Havasupai Indians get preferance in the helicoptor slots, as they use it for commuting out of the canyon.

Havasupai Falls, or Havasu Falls

(http://www.fwhphotographer.com/HavasuFalls3bg.jpg)

(http://www.photoseek.com/99AZ-07-21-Havasu-Falls.jpg)

It's beautiful.

As for Vegas, well you'll have a ball, Freemont Street, New York New York, the Forums at Ceasars Palace, the Bellagio (especially the water show at night), Treasure Island, The Venetian, Paris Paris but you definitely should get out of town to see Lake Mead, the Hoover Dam (do the tour, but not if you are claustraphobic), and the Canyon. Even if you don't go into it, Grand Canyon is the one place I have ever been that is truly Awe-Inspiring when you first see it, and as has been mentioned the Sunrise and Sunset there are spectacular. I lived in Arizona for 4 years, and every single visitor, including repeat visits, wanted to go to the Canyon, and I never ever got tired of it. I must have been there 10  - 15 times.

Post by: Give-it-Timber on October 10, 2007, 12:29:54 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 09, 2007, 11:39:35 PM
Be careful not to fall into the same trap as I did.....while drinking bottles of Bud,

yeah, watch out for this, i did exactly the same thing   :P   :P
Post by: Dangleberrys on October 10, 2007, 02:05:48 PM
Vegas = 
:D ;D :o ::) :P :-* :'(

Bank balance post Vegas =  :'(
Post by: longball on October 10, 2007, 05:08:09 PM
Is this about Las Vegas- in the hills of donegal??
Post by: new devil on October 10, 2007, 10:13:03 PM
Quote from: amigo on October 10, 2007, 07:50:47 AM
Have fun Frank ! :o

Frank ??? ???

Thanks for all the tips lads...cant wait to get away...not taking the woman a few lads from home are coming to stay in NY with me for 10 days so we going to Vegas for 4 days

Have any of yous heard of the bunny ranch  ;)
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 01:45:55 AM
Yes, they take Visa. Heres a link to the one closest to me, the mustang ranch.

PROBABLY NOT SAFE FOR WORK.

http://www.worldfamousbrothel.com/ (http://www.worldfamousbrothel.com/)

Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 02:27:53 AM
Then ill delete it. I thought it was just the website for the bunny ranch.
Post by: new devil on October 11, 2007, 03:19:32 AM
Is the bunny ranch as good as everyone says it is? what sort of money you talking?
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 05:18:55 AM
Its all good. Its something different thats for sure. We just had a couple of drinks in the mustang ranch, so I couldnt tell you how much the actual services are.
Post by: john mcgill on October 11, 2007, 07:18:01 AM
Lost Wages
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 11, 2007, 07:55:33 AM
If you want to see Vegas at night, go to the top of the Stratosphere Hotel. And if you are brave enough take a go on the big shot, altough I hear they now have a contraption that shoots you off the side-----knees get weak thinking of the dizzing height :o

www.stratospherehotel.com

go to attractions

Insanity and Extreme
Post by: AZOffaly on October 11, 2007, 09:23:42 AM
I went on the big shot it's class. On the topic of some of the previous posts, Crazy Horse Too, up near the Stratosphere is worth a look as well ;) (It's a club though, not a brothel),
Post by: new devil on October 11, 2007, 04:23:09 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 11, 2007, 07:55:33 AM
If you want to see Vegas at night, go to the top of the Stratosphere Hotel. And if you are brave enough take a go on the big shot, altough I hear they now have a contraption that shoots you off the side-----knees get weak thinking of the dizzing height :o

go to attractions

Insanity and Extreme

Yea thats the hotel were staying at..whats it like?
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 04:58:39 PM
Its very tall.
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 11, 2007, 05:10:40 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 11, 2007, 04:23:09 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on October 11, 2007, 07:55:33 AM

go to attractions

Insanity and Extreme

Yea thats the hotel were staying at..whats it like?

If you are going with the lads it will be fine, not a place for a romantic get away. The hotel is about 3 miles from the new strip where the Bellagio, Caesars Palace and the Venitan etc are located but there are plenty of taxi's to get you about. I see from a previous post you are travelling with a bunch of lads so you will have a great time no matter what part of Vegas you are in.
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 05:30:58 PM
FL/MAYO - I took the wife to the resturaunt at the top of the stratosphere - she thought it was very romantic!
Across the street from the stratosphere is a place called the new frontier hotel/casino. One of the smaller ones on the strip. They have bikini bull riding however.
Also if you happen to end up in a place called the red rooster - wear verucca socks.
Post by: new devil on October 11, 2007, 05:35:00 PM
Thanks FL i intend 2! which hotel would be the best to play poker in or is there much difference?
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 05:41:56 PM
If you want to maybe see some of the big name poker players, hit the bellagio or the rio. In terms of prices (I dont know your bankroll) they are all pretty similar in that they offer big games and smaller games.
If you want to play limit look for something thats 4/8$ blinds. Anything less will have too many tourists in the game that want to play every hand.
If you want to play a no limit game Id suggest buying into a 1/2$ blind no limit game with about 200$ chips. Just wait for a monster of a hand and you could easily walk away with 500/600$.
Poker rooms that arent that nice include the NEW ORLEANS AND FITZGERALDS.

Heres a good link.

http://www.allvegaspoker.com/ (http://www.allvegaspoker.com/)

Youll find a link to all the rooms, what games the offer, what limits they offer and what daily tournaments they run. The tournaments are alot of fun, and once you buy in, you cant lose any more money. With cash games you can lose whatever you have on the table.

***** Dont forget to ask the pit boss of the room if there is a "dealer add on" at the table, before you buy into your tournament. In this instance youll be offered the opportunity to increase your chip stack before the tournament for X$. The number can range from 5$ to 200$. To win the tournament you will need those extra chips, just make sure they are available for a price you are willing to pay - before you pay for your tournament fee.
Post by: new devil on October 11, 2007, 05:52:43 PM
Cheers puckoon..Ive played poker at casinos before just not Vegas..usually play 5/5 no limit cash games, can get a bit rough  :'(

What part of the states do you live?
Post by: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 05:54:37 PM
No problem. I live in Reno, Nevada - but I spent 6 months in vegas last year.
Cash games get very rough - but can be very profitable if you have the patience.
Infact - Im off to a tournament now.
Post by: new devil on October 11, 2007, 05:59:47 PM
GOOD LUCK....don't for get these 8)

:o :o Reno that would be sum spot to live. was thinking of moving 2 the west coast for couple of years once get sick of NY
Post by: Dubh driocht on October 11, 2007, 06:45:40 PM
Surprised nobody has mentioned Mandeley Bay (THE Hotel ).We saw Mamma Mia there - serious hotel with a 24 Sports betting room with more big screens than I have ever seen.Great bars/restaurants/shops I wasn't there on a Sunday but would be surprised if they didn't have a GAA screen. The Venetian is also amazing - agree with the advice to see a number of them- we didn't make the Bellagio.
The canyon is well worth a visit- we had planned to fly but left one passport in LA (where we were staying) and they wouldn't let us on - we had to take the bus which was fine- the Skywalk thing cost $100 for 4 of us and they don't allow cameras on as they said people were throwing things off at the start.
If you are bad/mad , Barry Manilow is still on .Elton John was coming around now but tickets will be hard to get.
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 11, 2007, 09:54:49 PM
Quote from: new devil on October 11, 2007, 05:35:00 PM
Thanks FL i intend 2! which hotel would be the best to play poker in or is there much difference?

Puckoon seems to be the man to talk to about the gambling in Vegas but there seems all types of gambling spots to suit everyones needs. 
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 25, 2008, 02:29:17 PM
what'd be a good budget to take down there if I was going for 3 nights?

not much of a gambler - slots and roulette mainly
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2008, 02:48:38 PM
Gab,
You could eat once a day in any of the buffets for 20$
Drinking is free while you gamble, with a tip for the waitress
Nightclub prices start around 20$, but you can pay up to 50$ on weekends
Cabs are expensive, as its sparse and the traffic can suck and thus run up the tab.

Without gambling, going out to bars and paying for drinks, and just trying to fit 2 or 3 activities a day - you could easily run though 100$ a day. Just bring your bank card.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 25, 2008, 03:00:04 PM
I'm planning on bringing money - and leaving the card at home - the temptation might be too much
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2008, 03:14:28 PM
If you dont gamble much, or get lucky once 150$ a day is decent. But you can lose 20$ on a penny slot machine or a 5$ roulette table in an instant. Dont be calling me to come get you, its 8 hours of the most boring drive in the world.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 25, 2008, 03:20:49 PM
It's a stag weekend - so there'll be plenty of us to help each other out
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2008, 05:06:41 PM
These are the guys we used.

http://www.aardvarkbailbonds.com/ (http://www.aardvarkbailbonds.com/)
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2008, 08:49:14 PM
Hope you arent staying in the Monte Carlo.... Its burning up.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/7210121.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/7210121.stm)
Post by: Square Ball on January 25, 2008, 09:01:18 PM
was watching it on news 24, the fire fighters have it under control
Post by: Tyrones own on January 26, 2008, 01:35:32 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 01:45:55 AM

Just noticed this post now Puck, didn't they close the Mustang for tax evasion, is she open again?
and that red rooster, isn't that a swingers joint ;) ye durty dog ye ;D
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2008, 02:26:54 AM
Quote from: Tyrones own on January 26, 2008, 01:35:32 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 11, 2007, 01:45:55 AM

Just noticed this post now Puck, didn't they close the Mustang for tax evasion, is she open again?
and that red rooster, isn't that a swingers joint ;) ye durty dog ye ;D

The red rooster is indeed. What can I say, I know some people who know some people who like to make friends with lots of big black people. :D
Post by: Tyrones own on January 26, 2008, 02:32:41 AM
QuoteThe red rooster is indeed. What can I say, I know some people who know some people who like to make friends with lots of big black people.

:o Nice............       but you didn't answer the first question ;)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 26, 2008, 08:52:11 AM
Vegas is booked - June 12th to 15th in the Flamingo Hotel and Casino

Puck, you'll venture up for a pint?
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2008, 05:23:52 PM
Id be venturing down if I was going for a weekend in las vegas. Id need to submit the leave request form now! Ill know nearer the time with the baby and all. Maybe ill jump in the car and go for the hell of it, and thanks for the invitation.

BTW, June 12th-15th? You will melt.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 26, 2008, 05:37:03 PM
happy days
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2008, 10:08:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 26, 2008, 05:23:52 PM
Id be venturing down if I was going for a weekend in las vegas. Id need to submit the leave request form now! Ill know nearer the time with the baby and all. Maybe ill jump in the car and go for the hell of it, and thanks for the invitation.

BTW, June 12th-15th? You will melt.

you weren't kidding  :o :o
Post by: Paddyofthehall on June 26, 2008, 09:33:17 AM
Guys - heading to Vegas end of Sept for 4/5 days with the missus - flights booked but no hotel - any tips where to stay - somewhere on the strip.... and not too expensive but something she'll like (you know what the birds are like - they love clean rooms that look good)!! Is that stratosphere hotel the place to go for dinner to make her happy for a night!

I like playing 21, roulette etc don't know if I'll chance texas holdem..

Also can you give tips on where to book shows trips etc
Cheers in advance
Post by: Over the Bar on May 08, 2018, 06:26:45 PM
I'm for Vegas in Oct for the wedding anniversary!  Any recommended websites to book tickets for shows?  Any I've looked at have fairly hefty booking fees! Cheers
Post by: Don Johnson on May 08, 2018, 09:47:07 PM
We pre booked a couple before the last time, then when we were there we noticed the discounted prices on the day at the Tix Tonight booths.

Back in September so will probably leave it to then to book this time.
Post by: Don Johnson on August 23, 2018, 09:10:15 PM
Anyone watched any GAA over in Vegas?

We arrive the Saturday before the AI Final so will be up early to watch it the next day. I think Ri Ra in Luxor will be showing it but any other options?
Post by: Rois on August 24, 2018, 03:34:44 PM
Possibly 9 Fine Irishmen in NYNY - I recall there being premiership football on in there so it's a possibility. 

I'm there on 13th Sep myself (in Mandalay Bay).
Post by: balladmaker on August 24, 2018, 04:38:49 PM
QuoteI think Ri Ra in Luxor will be showing it but any other options?

I think Ri Ra is in Mandalay Bay
Post by: JoG2 on August 24, 2018, 10:28:14 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on August 23, 2018, 09:10:15 PM

We arrive the Saturday before the AI Final so will be up early to watch it the next day. I think Ri Ra in Luxor will be showing it but any other options?

McMullans will definitely show it 100%
Post by: Don Johnson on August 25, 2018, 09:30:27 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on August 24, 2018, 10:28:14 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on August 23, 2018, 09:10:15 PM

McMullans will definitely show it 100%

Like the look of that place. 7 minute taxi from the Cosmo.
Post by: bigfrank on April 25, 2019, 04:03:24 PM
This topic has been closed for a bit but im sure i will get the necessary help im after....heading to vegas now in a few weeks with the wife,neither of us have ever been,wondering what would people recommend we see or do...is it best to book tickets in advance for shows? the grand canyon helicopter ride? Or just ask at reception for help with it all. Any particular tour operator for package i should go for regards the helicopter tour,seems to be endless options online

feel free to shoot out other ideas...restaurants,bars,attractions,golf courses  :P :-* if she would let me,would prefer to have a rough idea of what we are going to do each day
Post by: Taylor on April 25, 2019, 04:07:49 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on April 25, 2019, 04:03:24 PM
This topic has been closed for a bit but im sure i will get the necessary help im after....heading to vegas now in a few weeks with the wife,neither of us have ever been,wondering what would people recommend we see or do...is it best to book tickets in advance for shows? the grand canyon helicopter ride? Or just ask at reception for help with it all. Any particular tour operator for package i should go for regards the helicopter tour,seems to be endless options online

feel free to shoot out other ideas...restaurants,bars,attractions,golf courses  :P :-* if she would let me,would prefer to have a rough idea of what we are going to do each day

How long are you going for Frank?
Post by: TabClear on April 25, 2019, 04:21:16 PM

First problem......
Post by: bigfrank on April 25, 2019, 04:28:59 PM
Ohhhh i heard you loud and clear Tabclear,she will have jetlag for few days so il gamble then lol. Im there for 4/5 nights and then head on to cancun,i will likely need help and advice for it too but thats for another topic..

on google here now just searching the very obvious 'things to do in vegas',i dont think il be bored thats for sure.
Post by: Rois on April 25, 2019, 04:33:24 PM

Topgolf driving range can be fun even for a non-golfer - drinks at your booth etc.  I think there's also a floor with a pool.  It's at the back of MGM at the airport end of the strip.

There's a golf course out the back of the Wynn hotel - we had a really nice lunch out on the terrace (it's a dressed-up kind of place but it was lovely). 

The Hoover Dam is really boring so don't make a separate trip out of it. 
Post by: laoislad on April 25, 2019, 04:57:52 PM
Hoover Dam is a must imo. Loved it.
Post by: bigfrank on April 25, 2019, 05:00:38 PM
Im actually staying in the MGM and seen that topgolf facility on hotel website so hopefully get up to it. Also seen the Shadow Creek Golf Course in Las Vegas where tiger played phil for a million bucks online...just a cool $500 to play it if your staying in the MGM with limo transfer...anyone wanna caddy?? ::)
Post by: Rois on April 25, 2019, 05:25:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 25, 2019, 04:57:52 PM
I must have missed something.  We stopped because we were driving past, but if I'd gone out of my way to see it, I'd have been disappointed.  Glen Canyon dam in Az much better for seeing a dam up close. 
Post by: Gmac on April 25, 2019, 06:02:02 PM
In Vegas right now 95 degrees today will be very hot in a few weeks ,at Mandalay Bay great for kids with all the pools
Post by: laoislad on April 25, 2019, 08:37:59 PM
Quote from: Rois on April 25, 2019, 05:25:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 25, 2019, 04:57:52 PM
I must have missed something.  We stopped because we were driving past, but if I'd gone out of my way to see it, I'd have been disappointed.  Glen Canyon dam in Az much better for seeing a dam up close.
I'm the type who could spend all day watching Extreme Engineering or How it's Made,plus I found it fascinating to see how they generate the Electricity.I thought the generator room was pretty fecking sexy to be honest!  ;D
Post by: Rois on April 25, 2019, 09:01:10 PM
Said to Mr Rois this eve about it, and he did say that it would probably be more interesting for people who liked engineering. We were not those people.

Gmac, how are you enjoying MB? I admit to being disappointed by the pool because when we got there in a day 1 it was early eve and there were empty plastic glasses and bottles littered through the Lazy River. Hopefully better experience for you.

I've been there 3 times now and my favourite hotel was Trump  :-[
Post by: Gmac on April 26, 2019, 12:19:22 AM
It's very busy but clean more families here than single people ,the main thing in Vegas is bring a fat wallet and be prepared to spend/lose it all.
Post by: Taylor on April 26, 2019, 08:33:16 AM
4/5 days will go in a flash.
Few things are must do in my opinion having been there 6 times.

Shooting guns on a range
You could fly to the canyon/rim (I know it isnt the proper one) in a half day trip or if you dont want to do a half day you can fly over the strip at night.
See the Bellagio fountains
See the volcano show at the Mirage
Do the rides on top of the stratosphere
Take in a show - loads of options
Post by: Aristo 60 on April 26, 2019, 01:27:10 PM
Quote from: Rois on April 25, 2019, 09:01:10 PM
Said to Mr Rois this eve about it, and he did say that it would probably be more interesting for people who liked engineering. We were not those people.

Gmac, how are you enjoying MB? I admit to being disappointed by the pool because when we got there in a day 1 it was early eve and there were empty plastic glasses and bottles littered through the Lazy River. Hopefully better experience for you.

I've been there 3 times now and my favourite hotel was Trump  :-[

Mr Rois has gone up in the world since I've known him but I suppose that could be said of us all  ;D
Post by: Aristo 60 on April 26, 2019, 01:27:56 PM
ps - Excalibur all the day!
Post by: Don Johnson on April 26, 2019, 01:57:57 PM
Go to see Absinthe at Caesars or Opium at the Cosmo. Or better yet see both. They are both unreal, hilarious shows.

Food wise I loved the buffets - the best we did were the Wicked Spoon at the Cosmo, the Aria and the Caesars buffets.
Post by: Taylor on April 26, 2019, 02:07:09 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on April 26, 2019, 01:57:57 PM
Go to see Absinthe at Caesars or Opium at the Cosmo. Or better yet see both. They are both unreal, hilarious shows.

Food wise I loved the buffets - the best we did were the Wicked Spoon at the Cosmo, the Aria and the Caesars buffets.

The breakfasts here are ludicrous.
Steak/ribs/wings/curries all at 9am  :o
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2019, 02:32:12 PM
Good to see we can still afford nice trips. With us in the grip of uncertainty due to Brexit and with the economy so bad!
Post by: bigfrank on April 30, 2019, 02:29:31 PM
In terms of spending/money on such trips what do you find works best?? only so much cash you really wanna take with you on long trips...travellers cheques easily cashed in hotels/casinos??? debit cards at atm's have fee's im guessing,the rate for sterling to dollars is crap also. what about a post office type money card,top it up and use it when u can and have additional cash for tipping/gambling etc??
Post by: Hardy on April 30, 2019, 02:58:51 PM
I signed up to N26 (https://n26.com/en-eu/) (similar to Revolut) recently for a trip to Australia. Perfect. Didn't handle cash once for the whole trip. You get 5 free cash withdrawals per month if you must.
Post by: Kickham csc on April 30, 2019, 03:44:59 PM
Quote from: Taylor on April 26, 2019, 02:07:09 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on April 26, 2019, 01:57:57 PM

The breakfasts here are ludicrous.
Steak/ribs/wings/curries all at 9am  :o

No such thing as breakfast in Vegas, its a pit stop
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2019, 05:27:03 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 30, 2019, 02:58:51 PM
I signed up to N26 (https://n26.com/en-eu/) (similar to Revolut) recently for a trip to Australia. Perfect. Didn't handle cash once for the whole trip. You get 5 free cash withdrawals per month if you must.
Any reason for not using Revolut?
Post by: shark on April 30, 2019, 06:00:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 30, 2019, 05:27:03 PM

https://www.wired.co.uk/article/revolut-trade-unions-labour-fintech-politics-storonsky
Post by: Hardy on April 30, 2019, 07:34:04 PM

There was, but I can't remember what it was and it wasn't major. I didn't know about the stuff Shark refers to. I just remember that, when comparing the two, N26 had something slightly preferable, but I could easily have gone for either.
Post by: shark on April 30, 2019, 07:47:14 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 30, 2019, 07:34:04 PM

There was, but I can't remember what it was and it wasn't major. I didn't know about the stuff Shark refers to. I just remember that, when comparing the two, N26 had something slightly preferable, but I could easily have gone for either.

They are much of a muchness. Getting the spot rate on FX is great.