Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: 5 Sams on October 18, 2011, 10:38:03 PM

Title: Your 1st "real" concert...
Post by: 5 Sams on October 18, 2011, 10:38:03 PM
...not Luvbug or Hugo Duncan...but the 1st real rock/pop band you saw live...one that was in the charts when you went to see them..time to embarrass your self lads...

Mine was Howard Jones, Avoniel Leisure Centre in 1983 (I think) :-\ :-[ :-[ :-[

Have to say I stepped up to the mark 2 years later with The Boss in Slane... :)
Title: Re: Your 1st "real" concert...
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 18, 2011, 10:40:02 PM
Status Quo - antrim Forum, 1991 i think
Post by: ziggysego on October 18, 2011, 10:40:42 PM
Garth Brooks and Trisha Yearwood at the Kings Hall, Belfast in 1998.
Post by: ardal on October 18, 2011, 10:41:52 PM

Simple minds
The waterboys
The smiths
Blue in Heaven
In Tua Nua

Didn't go to see the smiths nor simple minds. Thunder and lightning meant that simply minds took all awards as they solo introd "step up to the water front" but god was on their side, if not it was a toss up between the waterboys and leslie Downall
Post by: Main Street on October 18, 2011, 10:53:17 PM
Rory Gallagher at the Stadium, I was wearing denims so it must have been christmas 1972.
The band were just set up on a stage in the middle where the ring was. Rory promised he would move around so we could all get a closer look.
Thank you very much.
Post by: Family guy on October 18, 2011, 10:57:35 PM
ACDC in madison square about 3 years ago,1st concert was class could feel the whole place shake,never thought i was one for concerts but that was a class night
Post by: Orior on October 18, 2011, 11:04:40 PM
I'm not giving the year but.....

The Indians, at the Nuremore, Co. Monaghan
The Nolan Sisters, Ballyshannon, Co. Donegal
Gary Glitter, Queens Student Union, Belfast
Squeeze, Queens Student Union, Belfast

Happy, innocent, carefree days without any of the modern age cynicism.
Post by: ONeill on October 18, 2011, 11:07:40 PM
Michael Bolton, Dublin, 90s.
Post by: passedit on October 18, 2011, 11:09:57 PM
Stiff Little Fingers, The Members and Terry Hooley making a cod of himself with a couple of Outcasts in the Ulster Hall.

Twasn't today or yesterday.

Post by: maggie on October 18, 2011, 11:12:14 PM
Boyzone, Dungannon Leisure Centre'93.
First 'proper' concert was Robbie in Slane. Not sure what the year was.
Post by: passedit on October 18, 2011, 11:14:44 PM
Quote from: Main Street on October 18, 2011, 10:53:17 PM
Rory Gallagher at the Stadium, I was wearing denims so it must have been christmas 1972.
The band were just set up on a stage in the middle where the ring was. Rory promised he would move around so we could all get a closer look.
Thank you very much.

Saw him in the INF hall in Hilltown sometime in the eighties. About twenty 'fans' there and about sixty more bodies wonderin where the fcuk was Big Tom. Weird night.
Post by: Boycey on October 18, 2011, 11:15:29 PM
AC/DC supported by Y&T, RDS Simmonscourt 22nd Oct 1982. Still one of my all time favourites too..
Post by: LostInSpace on October 18, 2011, 11:19:09 PM
Woodstock, White Lake, New York 1969
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2011, 11:20:17 PM
What age are you hoors?! Did anyone see Buddy Holly?
Post by: ardal on October 18, 2011, 11:22:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2011, 11:20:17 PM

They're all handy enough to work out, more or less, except for that bollo+cks Orior, when were the nolans and glitter about? Early 70´s? Makes him about 55 yrs old if right
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2011, 11:31:50 PM
First big one I can remember was U2 PopMart in Botanic Gardens around 1997. Must have been to something before that though  ???
Post by: Orior on October 18, 2011, 11:34:19 PM
Quote from: ardal on October 18, 2011, 11:22:50 PM

They're all handy enough to work out, more or less, except for that bollo+cks Orior, when were the nolans and glitter about? Early 70´s? Makes him about 55 yrs old if right

Close, but no cigar.
Post by: FL/MAYO on October 18, 2011, 11:37:22 PM
U2 Leisureland Galway January 1982, only a few hundred at the concert.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2011, 11:43:38 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 18, 2011, 11:34:19 PM
Quote from: ardal on October 18, 2011, 11:22:50 PM

Close, but no cigar.
Squeeze would have been bigger late 70s so I'd say year of birth is c.1960 making you 51/52.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on October 18, 2011, 11:47:38 PM
Do the saw doctors in the town square in Ballina count?

If not then U2 landsdown road
Post by: Puckoon on October 18, 2011, 11:56:25 PM
The prodigy in the kings hall, Belshaft. 1995, or 1996 cant remember. T'was a december I think.
Post by: mc_grens on October 19, 2011, 12:32:05 AM
First was REM in Slane in '95.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 19, 2011, 12:39:01 AM
Oasis - (supported by The Prodigy and The Bootleg Beatles) - Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork City - 1996
Post by: DownFanatic on October 19, 2011, 12:57:54 AM
Oasis at the Limelight in Belfast in September 1994. The night that they went to Number 1 with Definitely Maybe :) Everyone says that they were there that night.

Slane 2003 with RHCP, Foo Fighters, QOTSA, PJ Harvey and Feeder.
Post by: Lone Shark on October 19, 2011, 01:03:55 AM
Blink (the original Irish version obviously!) outside Tullamore Harriers, 1994 Telethon. Followed by Whipping Boy in Athlone IT the following year.
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 19, 2011, 07:51:17 AM
Quote from: Boycey on October 18, 2011, 11:15:29 PM
AC/DC supported by Y&T, RDS Simmonscourt 22nd Oct 1982. Still one of my all time favourites too..

Mine too, I can still remember it, what an introduction to concerts. I had a studded wrist band and denim jacket will all the patches.
Post by: Abble on October 19, 2011, 08:08:56 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on October 18, 2011, 11:47:38 PM
Do the saw doctors in the town square in Ballina count?

If not then U2 landsdown road

Do the saw doctors at the arena in Armagh count?

If not then Goats Dont shave same venue

If not then U2 landsdown road - zooropa
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 19, 2011, 08:09:23 AM
Big Country - RDS 1985
Post by: nrico2006 on October 19, 2011, 08:41:07 AM
Still a concert virgin, but I always said I would go and see Justin Timberlake when he is next in Belfast.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 19, 2011, 08:46:37 AM
The Four of Us Newry town hall circa 1991. First real one was Feile 1991, first band I went in to see were the Stiffs, unreal, Inxs were amazing that weekend!
Post by: screenexile on October 19, 2011, 08:48:53 AM
First big concert I was hoping to go to was Michael Jackson in Pairc ui Caoimh iin 1988 . . . but my Dad couldn't get me tickets for that!

I ended up going to see Chris de Burgh at the King's Hall and I f**king loved it! I was 7 at the time.
Post by: tbrick18 on October 19, 2011, 09:01:27 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 18, 2011, 10:40:42 PM
Garth Brooks and Trisha Yearwood at the Kings Hall, Belfast in 1998.

I was at that too....it was surprisingly good!
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 19, 2011, 09:06:17 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 19, 2011, 08:09:23 AM
Big Country - RDS 1985

Those amazing colossal men, hot house flowers, Big Country and Meatloaf - The Friday night at Feile 90.

I was 16 and it was one the greatest weekends of my life - hard to believe it was 21 years ago..... :'(

Big Country were brilliant...
Post by: behind the wire on October 19, 2011, 09:13:13 AM
Quote from: DownFanatic on October 19, 2011, 12:57:54 AM
Oasis at the Limelight in Belfast in September 1994. The night that they went to Number 1 with Definitely Maybe :) Everyone says that they were there that night.

Slane 2003 with RHCP, Foo Fighters, QOTSA, PJ Harvey and Feeder.

Same here. Great concert.

Always wished i had been at slane the year they showed the ireland match when they qualified for the world cup. 2001??
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on October 19, 2011, 09:21:14 AM
Quote from: mc_grens on October 19, 2011, 12:32:05 AM
First was REM in Slane in '95.

Snap. I haven't been back to Slane since as nothing will beat that night for me.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 19, 2011, 09:44:40 AM
QuoteThose amazing colossal men

As far as I can recall they were called Thee Amazing Colossal Men...
Post by: Harold Disgracey on October 19, 2011, 09:48:52 AM
The Housemartins Ulster Hall 1987. Had a couple of pints with them in the Linenhall bar beforehand. IIRC the Farm supported them.
Post by: seafoid on October 19, 2011, 09:49:01 AM
Prince at Wemberlee 93. I think I saw Smashing Pumpkins at the RDS the same year.

What's the best concert you were ever at? 

Post by: AQMP on October 19, 2011, 10:13:55 AM
Elvis Costello - Ulster Hall.  Think it was March 1978..either a few days before or after Patrick's Day, IIRC.
Post by: glens abu on October 19, 2011, 10:23:14 AM
Seen Amen Corner at Dunmore stadium 1967,also grops like Taste in Ulster hall,but 1st really big one was Led Zeppelin in Ulster hall 1969.
Post by: Bingo on October 19, 2011, 10:49:28 AM
U2 at RDS in 1993 for Zoo TV concert, was there for Friday and Saturday night.

Memories was the scale of the stage - massive. Also walking from RDS to Drumcondra after it, to the flat we were staying in. I was 17, on my own and had no idea of Dublin at all.

The main memory though is Saturday night, we got into the pit and Bono took Naomi Campbell up onto stage about 10 feet from my spec. I'll never forget that arse in a long tight red dress  ;D
Post by: Orior on October 19, 2011, 11:02:20 AM
My last concert was at the Odyssey in Belfast to see Dolly Parton's puppies. They were "real" good.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 19, 2011, 11:05:01 AM
Quote from: Bingo on October 19, 2011, 10:49:28 AM
U2 at RDS in 1993 for Zoo TV concert, was there for Friday and Saturday night.

Memories was the scale of the stage - massive. Also walking from RDS to Drumcondra after it, to the flat we were staying in. I was 17, on my own and had no idea of Dublin at all.

The main memory though is Saturday night, we got into the pit and Bono took Naomi Campbell up onto stage about 10 feet from my spec. I'll never forget that arse in a long tight red dress  ;D

What was Bono doing wearing a dress :-\
Post by: Bingo on October 19, 2011, 11:09:34 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 19, 2011, 11:05:01 AM
What was Bono doing wearing a dress :-\

Was the only way he could hide his high heels on stage.
Post by: Don Johnson on October 19, 2011, 11:16:17 AM
Not a big concert fan. Only been to a handful in my life.

The first I went to though was Scooter, back in 96 or 97.

They came out and were obviously baked off their faces, did about three songs and left. Money well spent.
Post by: aontroim on October 19, 2011, 11:32:20 AM
Gary Moore (RIP) - King's Hall 1989 - guitar legend!
Post by: Main Street on October 19, 2011, 11:53:59 AM
Gary Moore was in my second real concert, when he filled in for Eric Bell for a NYE Lizzy concert at the Stadium.
I had heard of him before but little else.
The guy took over the stage, reinterpreted the guitar lines in every song, reinvented 'The Rocker', that was one astonishing gig.
Lizzy's later dual guitar ensemble was as dull as dishwater by comparison.
But I wasn't 'into' Gary Moore with his own band.
Post by: westmayo on October 19, 2011, 12:50:48 PM
REM in Slane 1995, support from Oasis that night a few months before Morning Glory came out. That must be one of the last big shows they had proper tickets for each gig not just a printed off generic ticketmaster ones you get now.
Post by: Denn Forever on October 19, 2011, 01:02:38 PM
The Smiths in the SFX in 84 and then on to St. Pats Druncondra for Stockton's Wing.
Post by: ziggy90 on October 19, 2011, 01:56:55 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 18, 2011, 11:04:40 PM
I'm not giving the year but.....

The Indians, at the Nuremore, Co. Monaghan
The Nolan Sisters, Ballyshannon, Co. Donegal
Gary Glitter, Queens Student Union, Belfast
Squeeze, Queens Student Union, Belfast

Happy, innocent, carefree days without any of the modern age cynicism.
The Rolling Stones, Rod Stewart & The Faces & Slade, all at the Odeon Birmingham New St. Happy, carefree days as you said Orior, I can't believe how innocent the majority of us were back then. The only concerts I've been to since then have been Springsteen ones(plenty of them).   
Post by: 5 Sams on October 19, 2011, 02:55:06 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on October 19, 2011, 01:02:38 PM
The Smiths in the SFX in 84 and then on to St. Pats Druncondra for Stockton's Wing.

Now there's a blast from the past....brilliant band....

Post by: stew on October 19, 2011, 03:00:19 PM
Queen in England, 19 hundred and 79. ( I think)
Post by: gawa316 on October 19, 2011, 03:06:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2011, 11:31:50 PM
First big one I can remember was U2 PopMart in Botanic Gardens around 1997. Must have been to something before that though  ???

Snap. That was the one with the big lemon right?

One of brothers mates had a backyard over looking it so twus a cheap night for us. Mind buying 10 bottles of red dog for it!
Post by: saffron sam2 on October 19, 2011, 03:09:59 PM
Self-Aid, RDS 1986.
Post by: Aerlik on October 19, 2011, 03:57:24 PM
Oasis - can't remember the year

Post by: heganboy on October 19, 2011, 04:02:59 PM
For a big "International" act- Simple Minds RDS supported by Texas and Something Happens- June 22nd 1989 was the first big one, Charlene Spiteri came out to the whole crowd chanting "we want you", and we all did want her...

Great thread by the way

best gigs were Christy at the point March 17th 1994

Luka bloom in the mandela hall QUB 1993 (with maybe 20 people in the room as they had printed the posters and the tickets with the wrong date so they pulled the crew from the bun a ti in with the offer of free pints, your man comes out and says don't worry about it, one of the best nights of my life there was only two other people in the room)

U2 Botanic Gardens after peace broke out supported by D Trimble and J Hume- euphoric audience (sorry to the purists have seen U2 maybe 15 times live from '87 onwards and that was the daddy- don't really count them as a "real" international act which is why simple minds above )

The Four of Us always brilliant live from '89 in St Enda's GAA Omagh to 2010 in Belfast (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdFETI5OXJ0 is a one hour show of them live fantastic way to spend an hour..)

Gutted that I was having a beer with a friend in a crappy little bar in Rumson NJ, left to go home about 9.30 and an hour later Bruce Springsteen and Steve Van Zandt came in with their wives for a few drinks and played acoustic for an hour. Steve's real wive played his stage wife in Sopranos and Patti Scialfa plays with Bruce on stage.

Post by: muppet on October 19, 2011, 04:06:09 PM
Quote from: ardal on October 18, 2011, 10:41:52 PM

Simple minds
The waterboys
The smiths
Blue in Heaven
In Tua Nua

Didn't go to see the smiths nor simple minds. Thunder and lightning meant that simply minds took all awards as they solo introd "step up to the water front" but god was on their side, if not it was a toss up between the waterboys and leslie Downall

Wasn't the Smiths, it was Lloyd Cole and the Commotions. My first concert too except that I was working at it. The thunder storm was spectacular.
Post by: Orior on October 19, 2011, 04:09:58 PM
Has anyone been to a "continuity" concert?
Post by: Bingo on October 19, 2011, 04:14:31 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on October 19, 2011, 03:06:12 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 18, 2011, 11:31:50 PM

Snap. That was the one with the big lemon right?

One of brothers mates had a backyard over looking it so twus a cheap night for us. Mind buying 10 bottles of red dog for it!

Worked in the bar at that concert - scary shit with the crowd wedged against it, bar falling in, security pulling people out of crush. Ended up taking cash at the bar counter - the prepaid ticket huts were abandoned after one collapsed! Never seem as much cash - it was carried off in paper bins!

Also landed at a house party after it with the strangest gathering of people i ever met -  turned out they were all doctors and the like from one of the hospitals but they were weird - looking and personality wise. Good times mind!
Post by: Massey-135 on October 19, 2011, 04:51:02 PM
Oasis in Prehen playing fields in Derry, 2002
Post by: Stevie g 8 on October 19, 2011, 05:06:15 PM
Oasis in cork in 97
Post by: Stall the Bailer on October 19, 2011, 05:06:39 PM
Slane 1998 (The Verve,  Manic Street Preachers, Robbie Williams, James )
Post by: Oraisteach on October 19, 2011, 05:22:49 PM
This thread has me banjaxed because of my porous memory.  You'd think you'd remember your first, wouldn't you.

Apart from the usual Irish fare—Horslips, Thin Lizzy, Rory and Planxty—I can't recall my first, but I'd have to say the most significant, though not necessarily the best, was Pink Floyd's Dark Side of the Moon at the Liverpool Empire in the early 70's.

Saw Lou Reed there too about the same time. Maybe Bob Marley.  But have to say that I'm still annoyed that I couldn't be arsed going to see Queen, even though I worked the concert.  Because my friend liked them, a lad whose taste was crap, I decided to head off to a nearby pub during the show after the set-up. 
Post by: Puckoon on October 19, 2011, 05:49:03 PM
Not completely un-related - but Thin Lizzy (whats left of them) are playing here in Reno on Wednesday. I've never seen them in action - is what's left of them now worth a ticket?
Post by: Maguire01 on October 19, 2011, 05:56:11 PM
Therapy? / Ash / Joyrider - The Point - 1995
Post by: laoislad on October 19, 2011, 06:01:45 PM
Oasis 1996 Páirc Uí Chaoimh.
Post by: ross4life on October 19, 2011, 06:02:25 PM
AC/DC Point Theatre, Dublin, 1991. I wonder was any of our older members at Woodstock 69?
Post by: AFS on October 19, 2011, 06:16:35 PM
Foo Fighters at the Point in 2002. Great night, looks a bit shit here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pL6Lu09efdU) though.

Post by: sans pessimism on October 19, 2011, 07:05:50 PM
Dylan-Slane 1984
Post by: gerrykeegan on October 19, 2011, 09:06:17 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 19, 2011, 05:49:03 PM
Not completely un-related - but Thin Lizzy (whats left of them) are playing here in Reno on Wednesday. I've never seen them in action - is what's left of them now worth a ticket?

Puck, haven't seen them live myself, but they were on the late late show and if you Google thin lizzy late show you can watch them, might give you a notion whether you go or not.
Post by: Ulick on October 19, 2011, 09:18:02 PM
Everly Brothers, Grosvenor Hall, Belfast. '83 or '84.
Post by: westmayo on October 19, 2011, 10:08:47 PM
Quote from: AFS on October 19, 2011, 06:16:35 PM
Foo Fighters at the Point in 2002. Great night, looks a bit shit here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pL6Lu09efdU) though.

That doesn't look like The Point in that video
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 19, 2011, 10:21:43 PM
First stadium concert was The Joshua Tree concert at Croke Park.

My dad brought me and the brother down and dropped us off outside Quinn's, my dad then headed of to relatives for the day. We headed straight into an offy and bought two 2 litres of cider and as i was standing there hold the bottles my dad drove past me  ;D ;D shaking his fist wound down the window and said he'll sort me out later FFS. I was 16

Had been to a clatter of concerts at the Kings hall previously, T'pau, Five star, Duran Duran, Depeche Mode (top concert) And then went to Erasure in the Ulster Hall (crazy concert)

Most of the concerts at the Kings Hall were free ones, we knew the door men (La Salle Teachers)

Been to the rest of the U2 concerts though, but don't think I'll head to any more, can't be arsed paying the big money for them
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 19, 2011, 10:40:11 PM
The Radiators From Space, circa about 1976.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 19, 2011, 10:49:37 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 19, 2011, 10:21:43 PM
First stadium concert was The Joshua Tree concert at Croke Park.

My dad brought me and the brother down and dropped us off outside Quinn's, my dad then headed of to relatives for the day. We headed straight into an offy and bought two 2 litres of cider and as i was standing there hold the bottles my dad drove past me  ;D ;D shaking his fist wound down the window and said he'll sort me out later FFS. I was 16

Had been to a clatter of concerts at the Kings hall previously, T'pau, Five star, Duran Duran, Depeche Mode (top concert) And then went to Erasure in the Ulster Hall (crazy concert)

Most of the concerts at the Kings Hall were free ones, we knew the door men (La Salle Teachers)

Been to the rest of the U2 concerts though, but don't think I'll head to any more, can't be arsed paying the big money for them
Would like to have seen Depeche Mode in the day.
Post by: Orangemac on October 19, 2011, 11:45:29 PM
Faith No More at Dalymount in 1993
Post by: boojangles on October 20, 2011, 01:05:24 AM
The first Witness (before Oxygen) Fairyhouse 2000 I think. Faithless and Beck played but for the life of me I can't remember anybody else who played. Was bitten by the Festival bug that day.
Post by: AFS on October 20, 2011, 01:15:20 AM
Quote from: westmayo on October 19, 2011, 10:08:47 PM
Quote from: AFS on October 19, 2011, 06:16:35 PM

That doesn't look like The Point in that video

Because it's not. It's the Ambassador. Didn't realise that they played in Dublin twice that year, as well as doing Witnness.
Post by: Seamroga in exile on October 20, 2011, 06:37:10 AM
Metallica - Antrim forum, 1/10/88. 3 1/2 hours they played.
Post by: Billys Boots on October 20, 2011, 08:19:44 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 19, 2011, 08:09:23 AM
Big Country - RDS 1985

You know how I love to correct you - it was Dec 1984.  Em, I was at that one too!
Post by: Heshs Umpire on October 20, 2011, 09:15:22 AM
Michael Jackson, Pairc Ui Chaoimh - 1988
Post by: mc_grens on October 20, 2011, 09:16:35 AM
Quote from: Orior on October 19, 2011, 04:09:58 PM
Has anyone been to a "continuity" concert?

Saw the Continuity Stone Roses (I think Reni had left at that point) in Cork in '95.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 20, 2011, 09:36:11 AM
QuoteYou know how I love to correct you - it was Dec 1984.  Em, I was at that one too!

Yep - on mature recollection you are indeed correct!
Post by: charlieTully on October 20, 2011, 10:51:06 AM
faith no more ulster hall 1990. best venue in Ireland.
Post by: muppet on October 20, 2011, 11:16:17 AM
Quote from: hardstation on October 20, 2011, 10:25:35 AM
Oasis, Lansdowne Road, 2000.

I was at that myself.
Post by: Declan on October 20, 2011, 12:51:30 PM
First gig I remember was around 75/76 when we were on hols in Bundoran and the folks brought me to see Tommy Makem & Liam Clancy. First solo gig would have been in the National Stadium early 80s to see a crowd called Imagination!!! - Trying to impress a young wan at the time- didn't work :D
Post by: Denn Forever on October 20, 2011, 01:11:38 PM
Imagination - Just an Illusion

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=21VbKgOM0gg
Post by: Declan on October 20, 2011, 01:12:51 PM
QuoteImagination - Just an Illusion

Oh dear - very bad flashbacks Denn
Post by: men in black on October 20, 2011, 01:13:27 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 19, 2011, 12:39:01 AM
Oasis - (supported by The Prodigy and The Bootleg Beatles) - Páirc Uí Chaoimh, Cork City - 1996

And full on Buckfast
Post by: Billys Boots on October 20, 2011, 01:36:59 PM
Quote from: Declan on October 20, 2011, 01:12:51 PM
QuoteImagination - Just an Illusion

Oh dear - very bad flashbacks Denn

I'd say the Stadium was hopping that night.  ;D
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 20, 2011, 01:56:48 PM
Didnt think that shower Imagination did gigs.

Yer man Leeeeeeeeeee Something was as camp as a row of tents.

Post by: Estimator on October 20, 2011, 05:27:54 PM
REM in Slane: July '95
First real indoor concert was at the Ulster Hall was in December '95 for Joyrider / Ash / Therapy

That started a run of outdoor summer concerts:
Oasis in Pairc Ui Chaoimh -'96
Trip to Tipp - '97
U2 in Botanic Gardens - '97
The Verve in Slane - '98
Post by: balladmaker on October 20, 2011, 08:11:57 PM
Siamsa Cois Laoi, Pairc ui Chaoimh, 1986 ... those were the days!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mu9e84oIO2A (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mu9e84oIO2A)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNNqjToweQ4 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FNNqjToweQ4)
Post by: ardal on October 20, 2011, 08:33:22 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 19, 2011, 04:06:09 PM
Quote from: ardal on October 18, 2011, 10:41:52 PM

Simple minds
The waterboys
The smiths
Blue in Heaven
In Tua Nua

Wasn't the Smiths, it was Lloyd Cole and the Commotions. My first concert too except that I was working at it. The thunder storm was spectacular.

Spot on, I wasn't sure which of the two so it was eeny meanny minnny mo.

Still have the fecking T shirt; christ it's 25yrs old now
Post by: Orangemac on October 20, 2011, 11:56:49 PM
Quote from: Estimator on October 20, 2011, 05:27:54 PM
First real indoor concert was at the Ulster Hall was in December '95 for Joyrider / Ash / Therapy
Was at that myself, great gig. Used to love Therapy , saw them 3 times around 1995/1996.
Post by: Main Street on October 21, 2011, 12:26:02 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 19, 2011, 05:49:03 PM
They are a bona fide hard rock band in their own right, if you like that sort of thing.

If you missed them in Reno, here is an excellent quality footage of a concert they did at Hellfest 2001
http://liveweb.arte.tv/fr/video/Hellfest___Thin_Lizzy/ (http://liveweb.arte.tv/fr/video/Hellfest___Thin_Lizzy/)

Post by: Maguire01 on October 21, 2011, 05:50:38 PM
Quote from: Orangemac on October 20, 2011, 11:56:49 PM
Quote from: Estimator on October 20, 2011, 05:27:54 PM
Was at that myself, great gig. Used to love Therapy , saw them 3 times around 1995/1996.
They're back in the Ulster Hall in 2 weeks.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 21, 2011, 07:12:31 PM
Quote from: heganboy on October 19, 2011, 04:02:59 PM

The Four of Us always brilliant live from '89 in St Enda's GAA Omagh to 2010 in Belfast (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdFETI5OXJ0 is a one hour show of them live fantastic way to spend an hour..)

Saw Brendan and Declan do an acoustic set in the Spirit Store, Dundalk a couple of months ago. Top class.
Post by: downredblack on October 21, 2011, 09:13:41 PM
Bad Manners - Milestone , Balbriggan - 1982/3
Post by: 5 Sams on October 21, 2011, 10:45:26 PM
Quote from: downredblack on October 21, 2011, 09:13:41 PM
Bad Manners - Milestone , Balbriggan - 1982/3

I thought I was bad with Howard Jones DRB..you make me look cool :D :D :D
Post by: Ulick on October 21, 2011, 11:10:06 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams link=topic=20482.msg1035858#msg1035858
/quote]

You are bad, but Buster Bloodvessel is still cool after all these years. Bad Manners concerts have been up there with the best I've attended over the past 25 years.
Post by: Myles Na G. on October 22, 2011, 11:48:26 AM
Saw Tenpole Tudor in 1980. Don't remember anything else they did, but remember this song well enough.
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x3zaew_ten-pole-tudor-swords-of-a-thousand_music
Post by: thejuice on October 22, 2011, 03:29:46 PM
The Fun Lovin' Criminals in the Olympia 1996.

Great live band but only had 2 good albums.

Check out that lovely Gibson sound on this -->
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vekX_pro09I

Think their singer Huey Morgan owned Eamonn Dorans pub for a while.
Post by: eiled in the bushes on October 22, 2011, 03:56:20 PM
ozzy in the ulster hall,cant mind the year,sometime in mid 80's.  saw him 3 times in about 2 years.great performer,sad to see him trying to perform now
Post by: downredblack on October 22, 2011, 05:18:29 PM
Quote from: Ulick on October 21, 2011, 11:10:06 PM
/quote]

You are bad, but Buster Bloodvessel is still cool after all these years. Bad Manners concerts have been up there with the best I've attended over the past 25 years.

Ahh Sams you are missing a trick here - great band and as Ulick says their gigs are up there with the best I've been to . Did you have a spikey mullet back in the day when you were going to Howard Jones gigs  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQEmp7y-UDA&feature=related
Post by: thejuice on October 22, 2011, 05:26:48 PM
Quote from: eiled in the bushes on October 22, 2011, 03:56:20 PM
ozzy in the ulster hall,cant mind the year,sometime in mid 80's.  saw him 3 times in about 2 years.great performer,sad to see him trying to perform now

Tony Iommi was on Newstalk the other day saying they've been playing together again. New material and a tour being rumored. Would have liked to see them back in the day but now I can't imagine Ozzy being up to it. Or Bill Ward for that matter from last I heard he had heart problems.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 22, 2011, 06:32:36 PM
Quote from: downredblack on October 22, 2011, 05:18:29 PM
Quote from: Ulick on October 21, 2011, 11:10:06 PM
/quote]

Ahh Sams you are missing a trick here - great band and as Ulick says their gigs are up there with the best I've been to . Did you have a spikey mullet back in the day when you were going to Howard Jones gigs  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQEmp7y-UDA&feature=related

:D :DWas dragged along by a woman DRB but he was surprisingly good!!
Post by: Gaffer on October 22, 2011, 08:53:09 PM
Undertones Clubland Cookstown 1980.

Damien O'Neill  (lead guitar) asked me for some of my KP nuts I was eating as I watched them pack away their own gear!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on October 22, 2011, 09:18:06 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on October 22, 2011, 08:53:09 PM

Damien O'Neill  (lead guitar) asked me for some of my KP nuts I was eating as I watched them pack away their own gear!

i assume you didnt score that night !!
Post by: 5 Sams on October 22, 2011, 09:39:06 PM

Was that the Pink Pussycat Gaffer??? Had a few good nights in there in the 90s...
Post by: Gaffer on October 22, 2011, 09:42:54 PM
Quote from: Hoof Hearted on October 22, 2011, 09:18:06 PM

i assume you didnt score that night !!

Naw and many other nights as well !
Post by: Gaffer on October 22, 2011, 09:45:12 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on October 22, 2011, 09:39:06 PM

Was that the Pink Pussycat Gaffer??? Had a few good nights in there in the 90s...

That's it although it was known as Spookys then.

There wasn't much Pink Pussy about for me at that time.
Post by: eiled in the bushes on October 22, 2011, 09:49:41 PM
Quote from: thejuice on October 22, 2011, 05:26:48 PM
Quote from: eiled in the bushes on October 22, 2011, 03:56:20 PM

Tony Iommi was on Newstalk the other day saying they've been playing together again. New material and a tour being rumored. Would have liked to see them back in the day but now I can't imagine Ozzy being up to it. Or Bill Ward for that matter from last I heard he had heart problems.
geezer says he aint up for it.  i see iommi has a new book out,should be worth a read
Post by: thebuzz on October 23, 2011, 12:52:07 AM
First concert was Status Quo in Dalymount Park in 79. Left home at 3 on the Friday morning to cycle to Dublin  (120 mile - the Maracycle hadn't even been dreamt of). I was 17 and the other lad was 15. We were as mad as hatters.

Saw AC/DC in the Ulster Hall that year with Bon Scott. Great concert. Saw UFO in the Ulster Hall as well.
Went to numerous concerts and festivals in the 80s.
Reading 1980, Donnington 81 and 85, Slane 81,82,83,85 and 87. Great times - old and settled now.
Last couple of concerts were UFO and Nazareth in the Spring & Airbrake.
Post by: Orangemac on October 23, 2011, 08:02:50 AM
Quote from: thebuzz on October 23, 2011, 12:52:07 AM
First concert was Status Quo in Dalymount Park in 79. Left home at 3 on the Friday morning to cycle to Dublin  (120 mile - the Maracycle hadn't even been dreamt of). I was 17 and the other lad was 15. We were as mad as hatters.

Saw AC/DC in the Ulster Hall that year with Bon Scott. Great concert. Saw UFO in the Ulster Hall as well.
Reading 1980, Donnington 81 and 85, Slane 81,82,83,85 and 87. Great times - old and settled now.
Worked with a fella from Attical on a building site many moons ago and he had some choice stories to tell about Slane 87 that couldn't be repeated on a public forum :D
Post by: lawnseed on October 23, 2011, 11:02:49 AM
luvbug at shellagh carnivale.. when they did the horslips medlay the stage fell on top of us.yeeha!  closely followed by the boss in the rds
Post by: Armaghtothebone on October 26, 2011, 11:25:22 PM
Queen in the RDS 1984.
Freddie RIP
Post by: armaghniac on October 26, 2011, 11:33:51 PM
Quoteluvbug at shellagh carnivale.. when they did the horslips medlay the stage fell on top of us.yeeha!  closely followed by the boss in the rds

Which was the best??
Post by: thejuice on October 27, 2011, 08:21:48 PM

Someone sent me this link,
-->
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Xgf1pj014k

were any of you at it?
Post by: muppet on October 27, 2011, 08:31:32 PM
Quote from: thejuice on October 27, 2011, 08:21:48 PM

-->

were any of you at it?

Olly was there.

If he hand't eaten the 'Z' on his keyboard he might be more recognisable.
Post by: lawnseed on October 27, 2011, 08:34:50 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 26, 2011, 11:33:51 PM
Quoteluvbug at shellagh carnivale.. when they did the horslips medlay the stage fell on top of us.yeeha!  closely followed by the boss in the rds

Which was the best??
at the time, many years ago... around armagh luvbug were as good as it got
Post by: thejuice on October 27, 2011, 08:45:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 27, 2011, 08:31:32 PM

-->

were any of you at it?

Olly was there.

Why would he go to see a band he had been fired from 4 years previously?  ;)

Still, good one.  :)
Post by: mc_grens on October 27, 2011, 09:33:40 PM
Cracking' Elbow live performance on Radio 2 right now for anyone who's interested.
Post by: muppet on October 27, 2011, 09:38:10 PM
Quote from: thejuice on October 27, 2011, 08:45:11 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 27, 2011, 08:31:32 PM

-->

were any of you at it?

Olly was there.

Why would he go to see a band he had been fired from 4 years previously?  ;)

Still, good one.  :)

Why wouldn't he?

Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 27, 2011, 09:49:15 PM
What would have been the oddest concert you have been to? I mean a concert you would not have normally have went to but the girlfriend/friend wanted you to go or you got free tickets and thought, fcuk it I'll head over!

I always liked Chris DeBurg's "Don't pay the Ferryman" album but would never have dreamed of going to his concert but as it works out a mate and I ended up with  free tickets one night for the Kings Hall. Concert was great and afterwards I went off to meet the girl (wife now) at Larry's Piano bar for her Christmas do in Belfast.

After a few drinks in walks in Chris himself and with a few requests he sets himself down at the piano and knocks out a few songs, none of his own, but other singers, he finished up with Hey Jude that had us all singing "Na na na nanna na, nanna na hey Jude" Brilliant night
Post by: Puckoon on October 27, 2011, 09:52:12 PM
I went to see Celine Dion in Cesar's Palace in Las Wages. 150$ a pop for the tickets - but it was actually very good.

To the people who answered about thin lizzy - thanks. Got too drunk to go see them.