Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ONeill on October 06, 2010, 09:23:38 PM

Title: Astronomy Thread
Post by: ONeill on October 06, 2010, 09:23:38 PM
See how bright Jupiter is tonight? (SE)

Well, what's that flickering hoor almost due West? It's not a planet. Is it Arcturus from Bootes?
Title: Re: Astronomy Thread
Post by: Hereiam on October 06, 2010, 10:44:14 PM
Just had a look there, jesus she is bright alright. Its amazing when you actually take the time and look up on a clear nite. Was watchin the last meteor shower a while back and seen a slow moving star going across the sky , turns out it was the international space station. Mad
Title: Domhan Eile
Post by: drici on October 07, 2010, 07:15:43 AM
(http://www.fondos10.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/Mars-Attacks.jpg)
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2010, 09:37:38 AM
O'Neill, what app you using?
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 10:09:30 AM
It's called Planets and it's free I think. Well, it was months ago. Fairly useful app with a few things to mess about with.
Post by: Orior on October 07, 2010, 11:36:57 AM
I cant believe its taken us this long to start an astronomy thread, so good on you ONeill.

Btw, I'm Capricorn.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on October 07, 2010, 11:59:16 AM
(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQKShKQbC7i3Xc2XFvXWHScnAAgJqnEljEPxNpbbJJtK419h3I&%3Cbr%20/%3Et=1&usg=__h3zgNmVzExncDZ-GU0KwtXImYqk=)
OR

(http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRq-7WQMs5r0OblJQnvdy4LYiA-ULklFVPsraM3BfLwv95gFBM&t=1&h=149&w=249&usg=__FtPF7gwrARCx46RQxBAyV06EJYs=)
Post by: Hardy on October 07, 2010, 12:55:10 PM
Yes - good stuff.

Astronomy Ireland is worth a look:
http://www.astronomy.ie/freestuff.php
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 09:08:49 PM
Jupiter in fine fettle tonight. Wish I'd a telescope.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2010, 10:10:57 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 09:08:49 PM
Jupiter in fine fettle tonight. Wish I'd a telescope.
Downloaded thon app. The chap in the west definitely seems to be in Bootes.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 07, 2010, 10:22:27 PM
Cloudy here in Dublin so missing out (again)  >:(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2010, 10:45:19 PM
My Knowledge on planets and stars positions is poor, so help me out. If i'm looking towards Cave hill from j,town where will i best see it? Or is it obvious?
Post by: Minder on October 07, 2010, 10:55:23 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 07, 2010, 10:45:19 PM
My Knowledge on planets and stars positions is poor, so help me out. If i'm looking towards Cave hill from j,town where will i best see it? Or is it obvious?

Stand on a chair and you will be able to see it better.
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 10:57:49 PM
What's the brightest thing in the sky, non-moon?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2010, 11:01:54 PM
Probably above east Belfast somewhere as it's about south south east. Best seen earlier in evening just as it's getting dark as it's the first light in the sky and really obvious.
Post by: turk on October 07, 2010, 11:13:17 PM
Tony, that's Jupiter. If you get a look at it through good binoculars you should be able to see four of its moons
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 11:22:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2010, 11:01:54 PM
Probably above east Belfast somewhere as it's about south south east. Best seen earlier in evening just as it's getting dark as it's the first light in the sky and really obvious.

I found the opposite but maybe due to trees on the East. Right now, at SSE (23:20), it's brilliant.
Post by: rosnarun on October 07, 2010, 11:22:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 10:57:49 PM
the sun??
aprt from that its venus or jupiter depending on time of year month ect...
Post by: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 11:25:20 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 07, 2010, 11:22:33 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 10:57:49 PM
the sun??
aprt from that its venus or jupiter depending on time of year month ect...

I'm answering his question. Right now, Jupiter should be the brightest thing in the sky.
Post by: fitzroyalty on October 07, 2010, 11:33:07 PM
Is that what I saw earlier this evening? Thought it was a helicopter or something..Could it be that bright?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2010, 11:38:16 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 07, 2010, 11:22:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2010, 11:01:54 PM

I found the opposite but maybe due to trees on the East. Right now, at SSE (23:20), it's brilliant.
Best seen now when you know what to look for. For the likes of MR you cant really miss is when it and the moon are the only things in the sky!
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2010, 11:40:52 PM
Quote from: turk on October 07, 2010, 11:13:17 PM
Tony, that's Jupiter. If you get a look at it through good binoculars you should be able to see four of its moons
Well aware of that. But thanks anyway.
Post by: muppet on October 07, 2010, 11:47:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 07, 2010, 11:40:52 PM

Outside the solar system it is Sirius which is usually just lower in the sky and left of Orion.

Best paid App is goskywatch. Best free one is the one O'Neill mentioned planets.
Post by: AbbeySider on October 08, 2010, 02:33:37 PM
I missed taking a look at Jupiter when it was at its brightest a few weeks ago. But if its clear this weekend ill take a look.

What kind of telescopes have you guys?

I got a Celestron XLT 150 last year, its pretty good but I need to get a lens kit for it.
Post by: turk on October 08, 2010, 04:50:27 PM

Sorry Tony, misread thread
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2010, 04:57:04 PM
Quote from: turk on October 08, 2010, 04:50:27 PM

Sorry Tony, misread thread
That's okay. You're cool, I'm cool.
Post by: ONeill on October 10, 2010, 08:50:34 PM
Jupiter baring all tonight. Any confirmation on that flicker in the West?
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 10, 2010, 09:04:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 10, 2010, 08:50:34 PM
Jupiter baring all tonight. Any confirmation on that flicker in the West?

Still SE?
Post by: ONeill on October 10, 2010, 10:24:11 PM
Yep, heading S.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 20, 2010, 11:49:15 PM
Fierce light off the moon tonight.
Post by: Nally Stand on December 21, 2010, 12:02:19 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 20, 2010, 11:49:15 PM

Eclipse tonight/morning in the early hours. By all accounts, if there's no cloud cover, Ireland is one of the best places to view it from

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/rundown/2010/12/calling-all-night-owls-and-moon-gazers-total-lunar-eclipse.html
Post by: Main Street on December 21, 2010, 12:34:46 AM
The best places are further north and west of Ireland.
The moon is so bright now, the stars are all but invisible.
Post by: ziggysego on December 21, 2010, 12:38:22 AM
Mmmh, a warm bed or a night outside in -10 temperatures?

I think I'll go to bed. Night.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on December 21, 2010, 12:44:36 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 21, 2010, 12:02:19 AM

Eclipse tonight/morning in the early hours. By all accounts, if there's no cloud cover, Ireland is one of the best places to view it from

http://www.pbs.org/newshour/rundown/2010/12/calling-all-night-owls-and-moon-gazers-total-lunar-eclipse.html

Any idea what time it starts at?
Post by: Arthur_Friend on December 21, 2010, 12:54:43 AM
Quote from: Arthur_Friend on December 21, 2010, 12:44:36 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on December 21, 2010, 12:02:19 AM

Any idea what time it starts at?

Got it - around 6.30 am

http://news.scotsman.com/news/Scots-to-get-best-view.6666997.jp
Post by: Main Street on December 21, 2010, 07:23:56 AM
About 3/4 eclipsed now. That was/is the brightest moon I have ever witnessed.
Post by: Arthur_Friend on December 21, 2010, 07:33:02 AM
Quote from: Main Street on December 21, 2010, 07:23:56 AM
About 3/4 eclipsed now. That was/is the brightest moon I have ever witnessed.

Lucky you, I'm looking at feckin snow clouds.  >:(
Post by: Main Street on December 21, 2010, 07:50:29 AM
The stars are glowing all over the sky now. She is eclipsed now but there is still a hint of a dim rusty orange sheen to her. Not quite a total eclipse?
Post by: gerry on December 21, 2010, 08:30:15 AM
Another chance to see it on the 15th june. Hopefully no fog then unlike this morning.
Post by: Main Street on December 21, 2010, 09:06:58 AM
Live feed of the eclipse over Iceland

http://live.mila.is/tungl2/ (http://live.mila.is/tungl2/)
Post by: StGallsGAA on December 21, 2010, 09:15:37 AM
QuoteThe stars are glowing all over the sky now. She is eclipsed now but there is still a hint of a dim rusty orange sheen to her. Not quite a total eclipse?

Yes it was a total eclipse.  When the earth's shadow totally eclipse the moon the sunlight bends around the earth's atmosphere making the moon orange and quite visible.

Glad I set the alarm to watch it now.  Deadly!
Post by: Olly on July 12, 2011, 11:42:00 AM
Happy birthday to Neptune. It is 1 today since it was invented.

It would take years to get there. Even if you put a baby in a rocket and sent it there with provisions like milk etc and it lived til 70 it would be long dead before it got there.
Post by: Goldengreen on January 20, 2012, 10:40:01 AM

http://www.donegalskies.com/#!vstc3=aurorawatch

QuoteAurora Alert: 21st Jannary

On 19th of January the sun blasted a coronal mass ejection (CME) towards Earth.  The CME is predicted to strike the Earths atmosphere on the 21st of January at 22.30(+/- 7 hours). The effect of this CME, will result in evaluated chances of northern lights displays above Ireland and the UK. Stay tuned to Spaceweather.com,  Softservenews.com/aurora for elevated Kp values and keep an eye out for clear skies. Kp values of 6 or greater should result in aurora displays over Ireland and northern parts of the UK.
Post by: lawnseed on January 20, 2012, 01:41:31 PM
i'm heading up carrickatuke tonight. i'm reliably told that if i look north i'll see a black hole.. richill or portadown. :D sorry lads
Post by: southdown on January 20, 2012, 04:48:25 PM
Thinking of going to Iceland soon, is it any good for seeing the northern lights?
Post by: Goldengreen on January 20, 2012, 05:18:47 PM
ya you have a good chance of seeing them in Iceland:

http://www.re.is/DayTours/Allourtours/Details/Northern-Lights-Tour-Oct-March/

if you go to Iceland you have to go to the Blue Lagoon too. Lovely Country Iceland would recommend it to all
Post by: balladmaker on January 20, 2012, 08:09:31 PM
Remember seeing the northern lights as clear as anything off to the right of the M1 between Moira and Lurgan a few years back, amazing.
Post by: muppet on January 20, 2012, 08:14:29 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on January 20, 2012, 08:09:31 PM
Remember seeing the northern lights as clear as anything off to the right of the M1 between Moira and Lurgan a few years back, amazing.

That was Ballymena.
Post by: Aerlik on January 22, 2012, 06:43:33 AM
It is not uncommon to see the Aurora Borealis in Ireland.  First time I saw it I thought Coleraine was on fire. :D
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 23, 2012, 07:00:40 PM
What's the best time of night to look for the Aurora Borealis
Post by: Denn Forever on January 25, 2012, 06:51:11 PM
On RTE news that Aurora Borealis might be seen in the North West tonight.
Post by: Orior on February 07, 2012, 10:01:31 PM
I wouldnt mind taking a spin in one of these yokes...

http://360vr.com/2011/06/22-discovery-flight-deck-opf_6236/index.html (http://360vr.com/2011/06/22-discovery-flight-deck-opf_6236/index.html)
Post by: ONeill on March 17, 2012, 09:40:47 PM
Isn't that Venus on top tonight?
Post by: Square Ball on March 17, 2012, 10:07:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 17, 2012, 09:40:47 PM
Williams?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 18, 2012, 07:27:30 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 17, 2012, 09:40:47 PM
Venus, Jupiter and Mars clearly visible this evening.
Post by: winsamsoon on March 20, 2012, 03:17:11 PM
How come we are seeing these so clearly at the minute? (the answer maybe obvious but not to me lol)
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2012, 04:04:46 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on March 20, 2012, 03:17:11 PM
How come we are seeing these so clearly at the minute? (the answer maybe obvious but not to me lol)
http://earthsky.org/astronomy-essentials/visible-planets-tonight-mars-jupiter-venus-saturn-mercury (http://earthsky.org/astronomy-essentials/visible-planets-tonight-mars-jupiter-venus-saturn-mercury)
Post by: Orior on March 20, 2012, 08:35:01 PM
Even though Jupiter and Venus look like they are only a few inches apart, I feel I had better point out that there is actually many miles between the two planets.
Post by: ONeill on March 20, 2012, 08:40:18 PM
Quote from: Orior on March 20, 2012, 08:35:01 PM
Even though Jupiter and Venus look like they are only a few inches apart, I feel I had better point out that there is actually many miles between the two planets.

Like from Ardboe to Aughrabrack.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2012, 11:50:40 PM
Crescent moon and Venus is a nice picture tonight.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 27, 2012, 12:00:01 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2012, 11:50:40 PM

And very low in the sky. An impressive sight.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 12:00:25 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 26, 2012, 11:50:40 PM

It was absolutely stunning around 8:30. The moon, Venus and Saturn were painted onto a dark blue canvas.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 08:41:03 PM
What a view right now. Venus, Jupiter and Mars very clear. Some sight.
Post by: Hereiam on March 27, 2012, 10:30:15 PM
What is the twinkling star to the south low in the sky?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 27, 2012, 10:36:02 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 27, 2012, 10:30:15 PM

...how i wonder what you are...
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 10:37:26 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 27, 2012, 10:36:02 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 27, 2012, 10:30:15 PM

...how i wonder what you are...

Saturn is quite low down SE
Post by: Hereiam on March 27, 2012, 10:39:00 PM
I found out its Sirus.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2012, 10:41:01 PM
Any of you ladies have a telescope? If so what sort of dough for a decent one?
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 10:46:01 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 27, 2012, 10:39:00 PM
I found out its Sirus.

Sirus is SSW...if you run your eye at the same level SSE you'll see Saturn beside Spica.
Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 10:46:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2012, 10:41:01 PM

Hoping to get my hands on a new yoke within the next 3-4 days. Will let you know how she goes.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2012, 10:48:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 10:46:43 PM

Hoping to get my hands on a new yoke within the next 3-4 days. Will let you know how she goes.
You do that sir. As good a time as any.
Post by: Hardy on March 27, 2012, 10:56:53 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 10:46:01 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 27, 2012, 10:39:00 PM
I found out its Sirus.

Sirus is SSW...if you run your eye at the same level SSE you'll see Saturn beside Spica.

I thought it was Sirius.

(But not that sirius.)

Post by: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 11:00:54 PM
Ignored.
Post by: Nally Stand on March 27, 2012, 11:03:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 27, 2012, 10:46:43 PM

What sort, if you don't mind me asking? Keen on investing myself.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2012, 11:26:30 PM
NI Amateur Astronomy Association recommend this yoke as a starter model.

http://www.eaas.co.uk/cms/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=85%3Achoosing-your-first-telescope&catid=5%3Alearning-zone&Itemid=8 (http://www.eaas.co.uk/cms/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=85%3Achoosing-your-first-telescope&catid=5%3Alearning-zone&Itemid=8)

It is currently going for about £200 on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Skywatcher-SKYLINER-150P-PARABOLIC-DOBSONIAN-TELESCOPE/dp/B005KBR5P2/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1332886895&sr=1-2 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Skywatcher-SKYLINER-150P-PARABOLIC-DOBSONIAN-TELESCOPE/dp/B005KBR5P2/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1332886895&sr=1-2)

Amazon also has any number of other makes/models with motorised/computerised mounts for a couple of hundred quid.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_3_4?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=telescopes+for+astronomy&sprefix=tele%2Celectronics%2C236 (http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_3_4?url=search-alias%3Delectronics&field-keywords=telescopes+for+astronomy&sprefix=tele%2Celectronics%2C236)
Post by: Nally Stand on March 27, 2012, 11:40:01 PM
Gentleman Tony.

You have one yourself? Serious amount of research needs done before buying!
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2012, 11:49:25 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 27, 2012, 11:40:01 PM
Gentleman Tony.

I have a really old Tasco that I got for my birthday about 20 years ago and took it up from the home place a few weeks ago to give to the eldest but the field of view is so small and the mount so lightweight that it's hard to maintain any focus on even something as big as the moon. I'm seriously considering investing in a new one but not crazy money either*. I'd say the night skies of the past few weeks have seen sales shoot up!

*But I also want to buy an iPad and the missus won't let me I've decided I can't buy both. ;)

Post by: Nally Stand on March 28, 2012, 12:07:50 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2012, 11:49:25 PM
Gentleman Tony.

I have a really old Tasco that I got for my birthday about 20 years ago and took it up from the home place a few weeks ago to give to the eldest but the field of view is so small and the mount so lightweight that it's hard to maintain any focus on even something as big as the moon. I'm seriously considering investing in a new one but not crazy money either*. I'd say the night skies of the past few weeks have seen sales shoot up!

*But I also want to buy an iPad and the missus won't let me I've decided I can't buy both. ;)

Buy the telescope and then insist that it needs the google skymap app on ipad to for it to work. I'm like an agony uncle.

No idea which to go for. Been reading up on them on and off for months, but in fairness, that's probably going to be the way it'll be for a good few months yet!
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 28, 2012, 12:14:05 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 28, 2012, 12:07:50 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2012, 11:49:25 PM
Gentleman Tony.

Buy the telescope and then insist that it needs the google skymap app on ipad to for it to work. I'm like an agony uncle.

No idea which to go for. Been reading up on them on and off for months, but in fairness, that's probably going to be the way it'll be for a good few months yet!
We're man, it's what we do! That's why we don't have wardrobes full of clothes and shoes we don't wear. Take your time, choose carefully and use it when you buy it. It's genetically pre-destined that you spend months researching every possibility.

I've already been spending ages working out various iPad permutations and I don't have that many choices!

Post by: Lecale2 on March 28, 2012, 08:20:10 AM
I took this on Monday night.

(http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/p480x480/551516_244394575657564_100002610698687_496436_420400919_n.jpg)
Post by: ludermor on March 28, 2012, 08:48:28 AM
Did you leave the lense cover on?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 28, 2012, 08:53:12 AM
Quote from: ludermor on March 28, 2012, 08:48:28 AM
Post by: Hardy on March 28, 2012, 09:34:01 AM
Quote from: ludermor on March 28, 2012, 08:48:28 AM

Retort of the month.
Post by: Lecale2 on March 28, 2012, 12:43:40 PM
Jesus boys that's fine photograph of the new Moon over belfast.
Post by: ludermor on March 28, 2012, 01:03:48 PM
Quote from: Lecale2 on March 28, 2012, 12:43:40 PM
Jesus boys that's fine photograph of the new Moon over belfast.
Ah im kidding, it is a cool photo.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on April 18, 2012, 10:23:38 PM
Just after seeing the International Space Station cross the sky there.
Post by: Sandino on April 24, 2012, 02:27:08 PM
I see some people had great views of the Northern Lights last night did any one mange to see them. Posible views tonight also I think.
Post by: orangeman on April 24, 2012, 11:05:18 PM
Quote from: Sandino on April 24, 2012, 02:27:08 PM
I see some people had great views of the Northern Lights last night did any one mange to see them. Posible views tonight also I think.

What time and where's the best place to go to ?
Post by: ONeill on April 24, 2012, 11:51:53 PM
Had a good go on a GTX-70 recently, including tonight. http://www.amazon.com/Meade-ETX70AT-Telescope-Tripod-Software/dp/B00005ATSR

It's fine for constellations and the moon but perhaps not strong/sharp enough for planets.
Post by: ONeill on May 25, 2012, 11:26:39 PM
How wrong I was. Took the scope out for a lookaround tonight and noticed Saturn was lurking due south. Managed to get the eye pieces lined up and it blew my mind - the rings were as clear as day. Great personal moment. It can only happen the first time once.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 26, 2012, 12:38:51 AM
Quote from: ONeill on May 25, 2012, 11:26:39 PM
How wrong I was. Took the scope out for a lookaround tonight and noticed Saturn was lurking due south. Managed to get the eye pieces lined up and it blew my mind - the rings were as clear as day. Great personal moment. It can only happen the first time once.
I'm jealous. Gonna have to take the plunge and buy one of these yokes.
Post by: Hardy on May 26, 2012, 10:13:05 AM

Something I'd love to see. I must call around to your gaff the next time I'm in the badlands.
Post by: Orior on May 26, 2012, 10:32:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 26, 2012, 10:13:05 AM

Something I'd love to see. I must call around to your gaff the next time I'm in the badlands.

Party time! I'll see you there too. Bring some nic-nacs.
Post by: ONeill on June 05, 2012, 11:18:10 PM
For anyone interested in the Venus yoke - http://venustransit.nasa.gov/webcasts/mtwilson/
Post by: Olly on June 06, 2012, 12:24:32 PM
I got up at 4.30 to get Venus in Transit.

(http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7245/7344665988_dec8820001.jpg)
Post by: Minder on July 08, 2012, 11:11:23 AM
http://m.io9.com/5923721/nasa-calls-this-newly-released-photo-of-mars-the-next-best-thing-to-being-there

Clearest photo yet of Mars
Post by: Armaghgeddon on July 08, 2012, 12:35:30 PM
I should have done astronomy at uni  :o
Post by: ONeill on July 08, 2012, 07:34:46 PM
Quote from: Minder on July 08, 2012, 11:11:23 AM
http://m.io9.com/5923721/nasa-calls-this-newly-released-photo-of-mars-the-next-best-thing-to-being-there

Clearest photo yet of Mars

Bastards stealing the Ulster GAA mantra.
Post by: Orior on July 31, 2012, 12:30:48 AM
Only 6 days to go before the Curiosity vehicle lands on Mars. Keep your fingers crossed for a successful touchdown.

http://www.universetoday.com/96434/t-minus-9-days-mars-orbiters-now-in-place-to-relay-critical-curiosity-landing-signals/ (http://www.universetoday.com/96434/t-minus-9-days-mars-orbiters-now-in-place-to-relay-critical-curiosity-landing-signals/)

http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/msl/index.html (http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/msl/index.html)
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 31, 2012, 12:42:53 AM
Quote from: Orior on July 31, 2012, 12:30:48 AM
Only 6 days to go before the Curiosity vehicle lands on Mars. Keep your fingers crossed for a successful touchdown.

http://www.universetoday.com/96434/t-minus-9-days-mars-orbiters-now-in-place-to-relay-critical-curiosity-landing-signals/ (http://www.universetoday.com/96434/t-minus-9-days-mars-orbiters-now-in-place-to-relay-critical-curiosity-landing-signals/)

http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/msl/index.html (http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/msl/index.html)
f**k I forgot to record Horizon tonight :(
Post by: stew on July 31, 2012, 01:53:50 AM

Truest words ever spoken on this board, the sight of the rings is monumental, an unforgettable moment.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on August 12, 2012, 02:29:58 AM
Caught the international space station on camera, its a bit poor as I havent had time to figure out iso, shutter speed setting or set manual focus

Here is a pic of it...

(http://i45.tinypic.com/106x6c2.jpg)

Not to forget the persieds tonight
Post by: ONeill on August 12, 2012, 09:02:22 PM
Not much chance of seeing this shower tonight.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2012, 10:01:13 PM
How is that motorised scope working out O'Neill. Seen a display of them in Currys/PC World the other day but the missus wouldn't let me look at them  :-[
Post by: Dougal Maguire on August 13, 2012, 10:10:28 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2012, 10:01:13 PM
How is that motorised scope working out O'Neill. Seen a display of them in Currys/PC World the other day but the missus wouldn't let me look at them  :-[

Also time you were back at the books - standards are slipping.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2012, 10:18:05 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on August 13, 2012, 10:10:28 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 13, 2012, 10:01:13 PM

Also time you were back at the books - standards are slipping.
8) Really should have a wee ? in there too.
Post by: ONeill on August 13, 2012, 10:59:28 PM
The scope is fine. Because of smart phones, the motorised bit is redundant now. Hateful country though for clouds.
Post by: ONeill on August 14, 2012, 09:24:40 PM
Great sky the night. Keep er lit a wee while longer, Jesus.
Post by: LeoMc on August 15, 2012, 08:42:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 13, 2012, 10:59:28 PM
The scope is fine. Because of smart phones, the motorised bit is redundant now. Hateful country though for clouds.
?
Post by: ONeill on August 15, 2012, 09:12:53 AM
Sorry, I thought Tony was referring to the auto tracking devices on it. By the time the scope has burrrrrred its way around to whatever star you've programmed it to go to, you'll have found a lot more by holding up the sky at night app on the phone.
Post by: LeoMc on August 15, 2012, 11:12:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 15, 2012, 09:12:53 AM
Sorry, I thought Tony was referring to the auto tracking devices on it. By the time the scope has burrrrrred its way around to whatever star you've programmed it to go to, you'll have found a lot more by holding up the sky at night app on the phone.

Now it all makes sense. Cheers.
Post by: ONeill on September 14, 2012, 11:24:37 PM
Another fine moment 3 nights ago. Finally located the Andromeda galaxy. I'd a fair idea of the general location but after nearly smashing the thing in frustration at my ineptitude on a clear Tuesday night, I stumbled across it.

Jaysus, we're nothing in the universe really. Our galaxy is a small dot. Our solar system is a smallish section within our galaxy. There are billions of galaxies out there. I wonder what Larry thinks about it all.
Post by: heganboy on September 14, 2012, 11:46:48 PM
want to see just how insignificant we are?
http://htwins.net/scale2/
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 14, 2012, 11:47:30 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 14, 2012, 11:24:37 PM
Another fine moment 3 nights ago. Finally located the Andromeda galaxy. I'd a fair idea of the general location but after nearly smashing the thing in frustration at my ineptitude on a clear Tuesday night, I stumbled across it.

Jaysus, we're nothing in the universe really. Our galaxy is a small dot. Our solar system is a smallish section within our galaxy. There are billions of galaxies out there. I wonder what Larry thinks about it all.

It's what makes it fantastic. I am looking at getting a Seben telescope (because theyre cheap) and I do think it will be money well spent, I definitely won't run out of things to look at in the sky! Finally managed to take a picture although slighly blurry picture of Jupiter and three of it's largest moons the other night,
Post by: ONeill on September 15, 2012, 12:34:38 AM
Quote from: heganboy on September 14, 2012, 11:46:48 PM
want to see just how insignificant we are?
http://htwins.net/scale2/

Bloody brilliant. Took me a wee while to know to move the cursor at the bottom.
Post by: ONeill on September 15, 2012, 12:36:02 AM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on September 14, 2012, 11:47:30 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 14, 2012, 11:24:37 PM

It's what makes it fantastic. I am looking at getting a Seben telescope (because theyre cheap) and I do think it will be money well spent, I definitely won't run out of things to look at in the sky! Finally managed to take a picture although slighly blurry picture of Jupiter and three of it's largest moons the other night,

That's my final big wish. I've yet to get Jupiter and moons. I will before the month is out. 
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 15, 2012, 01:08:13 AM
Oneill, what telescope do you have?

(http://i47.tinypic.com/2yyytzb.jpg)

Taken from a HX100V, I do need to improve handling of camera  :-[
Post by: ONeill on September 15, 2012, 03:16:40 PM
It's a Meade 70. Nothing adventurous. Is it easy enough to pick up the gizmo to connect the camera to the scope?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 15, 2012, 09:15:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 15, 2012, 03:16:40 PM
It's a Meade 70. Nothing adventurous. Is it easy enough to pick up the gizmo to connect the camera to the scope?

Could I connect a camera to it?
Post by: ONeill on September 15, 2012, 09:58:20 PM
Yes.
Post by: orangeman on September 20, 2012, 03:38:48 PM
This is a MUST WATCH piece.

Enjoy !!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-19637073
Post by: Square Ball on September 20, 2012, 09:16:00 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 20, 2012, 03:38:48 PM
This is a MUST WATCH piece.

Enjoy !!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-19637073

watched that today in work, twice, some cracking photos indeed and couldnt decide which one i thought was the best.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 21, 2012, 11:18:06 PM
Clear view of jupiter tonight
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 22, 2012, 12:56:57 AM
(http://i48.tinypic.com/35l8axf.jpg)

Jupiter and 4 of its moons
Post by: ONeill on September 22, 2012, 08:07:18 AM
What's your telescope?
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 22, 2012, 01:53:58 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 22, 2012, 08:07:18 AM
What's your telescope?

Haven't got one yet O'Neill, currently considering getting one though. This was taken from a bridge camera last night. Would like to try and get a picture that defines Jupiter a bit more but don't think it is possible.
Post by: Bud Wiser on September 22, 2012, 01:55:51 PM
Was there somebody throwing rocks last night? It was mentioned on RTE News this morning?
Post by: ONeill on September 22, 2012, 02:41:06 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on September 22, 2012, 01:53:58 PM
What's your telescope?

Haven't got one yet O'Neill, currently considering getting one though. This was taken from a bridge camera last night. Would like to try and get a picture that defines Jupiter a bit more but don't think it is possible.

Jeepers. I'm getting nothing like that with the telescope. Can you get Uranus and Neptune? They're out south around 10-midnight.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 22, 2012, 02:52:09 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 22, 2012, 02:41:06 PM
Quote from: Armaghgeddon on September 22, 2012, 01:53:58 PM
What's your telescope?

Jeepers. I'm getting nothing like that with the telescope. Can you get Uranus and Neptune? They're out south around 10-midnight.

Haven't tried yet. Depending on how clear the skies are tonight I will give it a go.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 22, 2012, 10:56:28 PM
Getting pictures of Uranus, but not clear enough, need to do something with manual focus apparently, it is a difficult planet to track.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 22, 2012, 11:37:08 PM
That Jupiter east-nor-east tonight?
Post by: ONeill on September 22, 2012, 11:38:44 PM
Aye that's it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 22, 2012, 11:45:03 PM
Was following your tip for Neptune and Uranus but cloudy to the south in anotherwise pretty good sky. Typical!
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2012, 12:17:23 AM
Good call there Baloney. Got off me arse and the woolies on. That's another one off the list - Jupiter in all its glory with 4 moons in tow, crystal clear. Will sleep better now.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 23, 2012, 12:34:36 AM
Wont be getting many pictures tonight, to much cloud.
Post by: ONeill on September 23, 2012, 12:40:33 AM
Can you get a good one of the seven sisters cluster - Pleiades - to the right of Jupiter? Some say you can get a good blue tint if lucky.
Post by: Armaghgeddon on September 23, 2012, 01:06:06 AM
I have a picture of the sky with the 7 sisters in. Laptop is pissing about and wont let me upload them atm. - As soon as I say that it uploads.

(http://i31.servimg.com/u/f31/13/51/52/83/dsc02110.jpg) (http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=202&u=13515283)
Post by: ONeill on October 05, 2012, 10:57:21 PM
Quare view of the moon and Jupiter side by side tonight.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 05, 2012, 11:21:18 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 05, 2012, 10:57:21 PM
Quare view of the moon and Jupiter side by side tonight.
Was gonna post that too. Was looking class earlier when it was low in the sky above Armagh with Jupiter about 11o'clock above the moon.
Post by: amallon on October 06, 2012, 09:52:49 AM
Looking forward to this comet in 2013.  It could be brighter than the moon and possibly even visible during daylight.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2209293/Comet-brighter-moon-fly-Earth-2013.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2209293/Comet-brighter-moon-fly-Earth-2013.html)
Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2012, 03:47:09 PM
Anyone out rioting over the next few nights look up and you'll see the best meteor shower around - the Geminid meteor shower. They'll be at their best and brightest on Thursday night but last night I caught a few. There may be as many as up to 100 an hour on the 13th.

Get your coat on and stretch out on a sunbed.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 11, 2012, 03:49:07 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 11, 2012, 03:47:09 PM
Anyone out rioting over the next few nights look up and you'll see the best meteor shower around - the Geminid meteor shower. They'll be at their best and brightest on Thursday night but last night I caught a few. There may be as many as up to 100 an hour on the 13th.

Get your coat on and stretch out on a sunbed.
Peak time O'Neill? Past childrens bedtime??
Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2012, 03:50:30 PM
You'll see a few from 9pm onwards but peak time really 12am -5am. East mostly.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 11, 2012, 03:57:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 11, 2012, 03:50:30 PM
You'll see a few from 9pm onwards but peak time really 12am -5am. East mostly.
Cheers will check out with boys before they go to bed (at 9 not 12!).
Post by: ONeill on December 11, 2012, 04:05:57 PM
Fairly spectacular views of Venus chasing the moon these last few mornings.
Post by: Minder on February 19, 2013, 06:33:23 PM
There will be a clear sighting of the International Space Station this evening at 6.55pm, from the West.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 19, 2013, 07:17:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 19, 2013, 06:33:23 PM
There will be a clear sighting of the International Space Station this evening at 6.55pm, from the West.
Motoring along nicely past the moon.
Post by: ONeill on February 19, 2013, 10:06:39 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 19, 2013, 06:33:23 PM

There's been a clear sighting every night for a week FFS. Twice last night I had the family lined out watching it. Tonight, just the neighbours.

Interesting to see yer man tweeting about it as gaeilge (sic hardst) as he passed over Ireland. Some woman says he was on Radio Ulster this morn. He can play The Washerwoman on the penny whistle.

Title: Nodlaig Mhaith
Post by: drici on February 21, 2013, 02:07:47 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 19, 2013, 10:06:39 PM

Interesting to see yer man tweeting about it as gaeilge (sic hardst) as he passed over Ireland. Some woman says he was on Radio Ulster this morn. He can play The Washerwoman on the penny whistle.

A lot more damage to be done if they'd been over Gaoth Dobhair and District during the Christmas.
Post by: All of a Sludden on August 11, 2013, 09:28:27 PM
Look North East around midnight.

The skies are expected to shimmer with a "natural firework display" tomorrow night as a meteor shower crosses into the earth's atmosphere, astronomy experts have predicted.

Although the Perseids meteor shower is an annual event, the British Royal Astronomical Society believes prospects for this year's showing are particularly good and could mean up to 60 shooting stars an hour.

Stars gazers will need only their own eyes to enjoy the natural occurrence, which is a result of material falling from the tail of Comet Swift-Tuttle, which last passed near the Earth in 1992.

"Comet Swift-Tuttle won't be visiting our neck of the woods again until the year 2125, but every year we get this beautiful reminder as the Earth ploughs through the debris it leaves in its orbit" said Professor Alan Fitzsimmons of Queen's University Belfast.

"Every meteor is a speck of comet dust vaporising as it enters our atmosphere at 36 miles per second. What a glorious way to go."

Meteors, commonly known as shooting stars, are the result of small particles entering the Earth's atmosphere at high speed. These heat the air around them, causing the characteristic streak of light seen from the ground.

They mostly appear as fleeting flashes lasting less than a second, but the brightest ones leave behind trails of vaporised gases and glowing air molecules that may take a few seconds to fade.

The Perseids meteor shower is active each year from around mid-July to late-August, but for most of that period only a few meteors an hour will be visible. The best display will last from late Monday evening through to early Tuesday morning.
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2013, 09:44:08 PM
If you look up in any direction you'll see them. Bastard clouds.
Post by: ONeill on October 21, 2013, 08:54:26 PM
http://wechoosethemoon.org/

Post by: muppet on October 22, 2013, 01:34:18 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 21, 2013, 08:54:26 PM
http://wechoosethemoon.org/

Fantastic link cheers.
Post by: Hardy on October 22, 2013, 11:05:30 AM
That's brilliant!
Post by: Billys Boots on October 22, 2013, 01:03:17 PM
Cool, thanks.
Post by: Orior on October 22, 2013, 01:32:43 PM
Great show!
Post by: ONeill on November 29, 2013, 01:04:32 AM
Bad day for ISON
Post by: Syferus on November 29, 2013, 01:39:21 AM
That Sun yoke is a pure bollix. Who knew ice melts who it gets hot?
Post by: Orior on November 29, 2013, 11:53:09 AM
Should really have been in the Death Notices thread.

Anyway it is interesting to hear that planet earth started life with no water, which is required to sustain life. Scientists suggest we got water from a comet. Therefore life as we know it was created by a comet.

Worryingly though, it could also be destroyed by a comet. So lets just go out and party. Ladies, drop me a pm.
Post by: Hereiam on November 29, 2013, 12:51:08 PM
Explain this one to me. If an asteroid hit the earth with even a couple of 1000 tons of water where did the rest come from. Are they saying that every last drop of water on this planet came from asteroids or did the water just multiply to fill the oceans.
Post by: deiseach on November 29, 2013, 12:59:32 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 29, 2013, 12:51:08 PM
Explain this one to me. If an asteroid hit the earth with even a couple of 1000 tons of water where did the rest come from. Are they saying that every last drop of water on this planet came from asteroids or did the water just multiply to fill the oceans.

I presume that back in the early days of the Solar System the skies were littered with comets. There was a lot of material out there and the Sun's gravity was pulling things into its orbit which in turn were forming into planets, moons, asteroids and comets. So impacts from comets might have been a frequent event, and a lot of them would have been a lot bigger than a few thousand tons.
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 29, 2013, 01:31:44 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on November 29, 2013, 12:51:08 PM
It rained for 40 days and 40 nights.
Post by: Syferus on November 29, 2013, 01:50:16 PM
de comet survived.
Post by: laoislad on November 29, 2013, 01:57:38 PM
Quote from: Syferus on November 29, 2013, 01:50:16 PM
de comet survived.

Awful shame it didnt land in the middle of Roscommon.
Post by: mouview on November 29, 2013, 03:02:45 PM
Or Rathkeale
Post by: deiseach on November 29, 2013, 03:30:20 PM
Comet strikes in middle of Roscommon with the force of a thousand Hiroshimas. No one hurt.
Post by: Lar Naparka on November 29, 2013, 03:58:21 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 29, 2013, 03:30:20 PM
Comet strikes in middle of Roscommon with the force of a thousand Hiroshimas. No one hurt.
Nah,  accounts coming in of widespread devastation and injuries all around. Strangely enough, not a single incidence of brain damage has been reported.
Post by: deiseach on November 29, 2013, 04:09:11 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 29, 2013, 03:58:21 PM
Quote from: deiseach on November 29, 2013, 03:30:20 PM
Nah,  accounts coming in of widespread devastation and injuries all around. Strangely enough, not a single incidence of brain damage has been reported.

(http://i.qkme.me/3qpxnx.jpg)
Post by: CD on November 29, 2013, 05:24:06 PM
I still can't get over the fact that there's an astronomy thread on here!!
Post by: armaghniac on November 29, 2013, 09:37:16 PM
Quote from: CD on November 29, 2013, 05:24:06 PM
I still can't get over the fact that there's an astronomy thread on here!!

I don't see why not, plenty of spacers post here. Also astronomy, like football, is centred on Armagh.
Post by: Nally Stand on November 29, 2013, 11:59:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 29, 2013, 09:37:16 PM
Also astronomy, like football, is centred on Armagh.
ISON was like Armagh. Showed potential, but when it faced the heat, just crashed and burned  :P
Post by: Syferus on November 30, 2013, 12:53:24 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 29, 2013, 11:59:51 PM
ISON was like Armagh. Showed potential, but when it faced the heat, just crashed and burned  :P

It survived.
Post by: Nally Stand on November 30, 2013, 01:14:40 AM
Quote from: Syferus on November 30, 2013, 12:53:24 AM
Quote from: Nally Stand on November 29, 2013, 11:59:51 PM

It survived.

It didn't really though. Just a small part of it did. Like Armagh football, it's not what it once was and we will never see it fulfil the potential it once had.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 30, 2014, 05:25:47 PM
(http://legault.perso.sfr.fr/transit_iss_moon_101220_25.jpg)

http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/badastronomy/2010/12/30/when-natural-and-artificial-moons-align/#.UuqFffl_uSr
Post by: laoislad on March 16, 2014, 07:37:23 PM
Anyone else watching Live from Space now on C4.
Post by: armaghniac on March 16, 2014, 07:52:10 PM
Are there any MAS 777s out there?
Post by: Nally Stand on March 21, 2014, 03:38:07 PM
Newly released NASA interactive map of the moon's north pole, which allows you to zoom in and see it in unbelievable detail. Well worth a look.
http://lroc.sese.asu.edu/gigapan/
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 21, 2014, 09:45:43 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on March 21, 2014, 03:38:07 PM
Newly released NASA interactive map of the moon's north pole, which allows you to zoom in and see it in unbelievable detail. Well worth a look.
http://lroc.sese.asu.edu/gigapan/
Nice link Nally. Cheers.
Post by: Orior on March 21, 2014, 10:23:23 PM
I once paid a man a handy sum to have a crater on the moon named Orior.

No sign of it - the bastid must have just made off with my money. Bastid.
Post by: armaghniac on March 21, 2014, 11:08:39 PM
This thread is for complete spacers.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 21, 2014, 11:34:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 21, 2014, 11:08:39 PM
This thread is for complete spacers.
Stick it up Uranus.
Post by: Hardy on April 17, 2014, 08:09:07 PM
ISS visible over Ireland these nights. 9:04 tonight, going roughly from West to Southeast.
Post by: Minder on April 17, 2014, 08:27:09 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 17, 2014, 08:09:07 PM
ISS visible over Ireland these nights. 9:04 tonight, going roughly from West to Southeast.

I thought it was 9:02 tonight & also 10:39.

There have been some really clear sightings this week.
Post by: Ball Hopper on April 17, 2014, 08:38:56 PM
http://www.isstracker.com/

Post by: Tony Baloney on April 17, 2014, 08:47:33 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 17, 2014, 08:27:09 PM

You must have a very tight schedule if you can't afford that extra 2 mins just in case.
Post by: Minder on April 17, 2014, 09:05:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 17, 2014, 08:47:33 PM

You must have a very tight schedule if you can't afford that extra 2 mins just in case.

The "extra two minutes" would cause you to miss it simpleton
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 17, 2014, 09:08:05 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 17, 2014, 09:05:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 17, 2014, 08:47:33 PM

The "extra two minutes" would cause you to miss it simpleton
If you went out at 9:02 and it didn't arrive you could wait an "extra 2 mins" to see it simpleton  ;)
Post by: Hardy on April 17, 2014, 10:32:10 PM
9:02 Dublin; 9:04 Cork.
Post by: Hereiam on April 17, 2014, 10:44:19 PM
Just watched it fly over. Crazy stuff.
Post by: Hardy on May 08, 2014, 05:38:57 PM
These pics continue to amaze me.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/cool-Mars-rover-self-taken-photo-robot_zps456b170a.jpg) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/cool-Mars-rover-self-taken-photo-robot_zps456b170a.jpg.html)
Post by: Hardy on May 10, 2014, 01:00:26 PM
A solar eclipse seen from space

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/solareclipsefromspace1_zpsdd60d357.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/solareclipsefromspace1_zpsdd60d357.png.html)
Post by: Orior on May 10, 2014, 08:09:35 PM
Surely there has to be an extended arm for a selfie?
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 10, 2014, 10:57:08 PM
Quote from: Orior on May 10, 2014, 08:09:35 PM
The fella in the studio took it.
Post by: moysider on May 12, 2014, 10:50:45 AM
Quote from: Orior on May 10, 2014, 08:09:35 PM

Yeah +1. How does that work?? ???
Post by: heganboy on May 15, 2014, 02:45:44 AM
love this from the bbd:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbc.com/future/bespoke/20140304-how-big-is-space-interactive/index.html
Post by: stew on May 15, 2014, 01:09:54 PM
Quote from: heganboy on May 15, 2014, 02:45:44 AM
love this from the bbd:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/bbc.com/future/bespoke/20140304-how-big-is-space-interactive/index.html

Heganboy thank you for posting that, the dimensions are staggering.
Post by: muppet on July 23, 2015, 11:51:49 PM
http://video.nationalgeographic.com/video/short-film-showcase/a-hundred-million-stars-in-3-minutes?source=searchvideo (http://video.nationalgeographic.com/video/short-film-showcase/a-hundred-million-stars-in-3-minutes?source=searchvideo)

Andromeda, the next town over.

Post by: laoislad on August 12, 2015, 11:10:04 PM
This meteor shower taking place tonight. Is there a time on it?
I've looked out a few times and can't see anything.
Post by: trileacman on August 12, 2015, 11:20:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 12, 2015, 11:10:04 PM

You live in Dublin yeah? Too much background light I'd imagine, head up Carantoohill.
Post by: laoislad on August 12, 2015, 11:27:49 PM
Quote from: trileacman on August 12, 2015, 11:20:54 PM

You live in Dublin yeah? Too much background light I'd imagine, head up Carantoohill.
Im down home in Laois tonight so no issues with background light.
Post by: macdanger2 on August 12, 2015, 11:35:48 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 12, 2015, 11:27:49 PM
Quote from: trileacman on August 12, 2015, 11:20:54 PM

Im down home in Laois tonight so no issues with background light.

I think 11-4 is the window
Post by: general_lee on August 12, 2015, 11:37:08 PM
Apparently every ten minutes if you live in a town, every minute in the country, you should be able to see something. I'm assuming it's cloudy overhead so not going to bother..
Post by: finbar o tool on August 13, 2015, 09:07:23 AM
went out last night for 15/20 minutes and saw 11 shooting stars/meteoroids. it was very cool!
PS im a culchie!  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on February 11, 2016, 04:43:30 PM
Einstein vindicated, gravitational waves identified from a black hole collision 1.3 billion years ago.
https://www.theguardian.com/science/across-the-universe/live/2016/feb/11/gravitational-wave-announcement-latest-physics-einstein-ligo-black-holes-live

The effect required noting a distortion  the equivalent of about one 10,000th the width of a proton. We have all been subject to this distortion.
Post by: heganboy on February 11, 2016, 09:27:46 PM
this is the biggest thing to happen in physics possibly ever. Up there with Einstein, Newton and the greats.

We all got a little bit smarter today...
Post by: Itchy on February 11, 2016, 09:57:47 PM
Quote from: heganboy on February 11, 2016, 09:27:46 PM
this is the biggest thing to happen in physics possibly ever. Up there with Einstein, Newton and the greats.

We all got a little bit smarter today...

Does this mean Mayo will win Sam?
Post by: mouview on February 11, 2016, 11:55:59 PM
They'll have won it in Croker about 1,000,000th. of a second before it's known down home.
Post by: oakleaflad on February 23, 2017, 03:54:56 PM
Anyone have any thoughts about the TRAPPIST-1 discovery?
Post by: stew on February 24, 2017, 10:29:47 AM
Quote from: oakleaflad on February 23, 2017, 03:54:56 PM
Anyone have any thoughts about the TRAPPIST-1 discovery?

1E would do me, I think that is the best option based on the information at hand so far, problem is we would need half light speed capability to even try and get there at all and we absolutely not even close to that speed yet, even then the people that started out there would be dead by the time they got there, if they got there.

Fascinating find however.
Post by: ONeill on February 24, 2017, 11:45:51 PM
Yea, but we don't have to get there. Just send signals.
Post by: armaghniac on February 24, 2017, 11:59:46 PM
I think one of these planets would make an excellent home for the DUP.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 25, 2017, 02:17:02 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 24, 2017, 11:59:46 PM

if you tell them God made it for them, they just might go.
Post by: Windmill abu on February 25, 2017, 09:29:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 24, 2017, 11:59:46 PM

Which one. The Orange one near the star or one of the further out ones which might need a renewable heating scheme to warm them up?
Post by: Orior on December 11, 2017, 01:13:05 PM
Major announcement by NASA on Thursday.

https://www.space.com/39032-nasa-alien-planet-kepler-discovery-announcement.html

Will this confirm that we're not alone?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2018, 08:58:58 PM
Not astronomy as such but that double booster landing from Falcon Heavy was pure class.
Post by: heganboy on February 06, 2018, 09:02:30 PM
Wasn't it!
Pretty epic!
Post by: Hound on February 07, 2018, 08:43:54 AM
That was just about the most enjoyable 15 minutes of viewing I've seen in a long time. Turned it on probably in the same frame of mind as I watch the odd F1 race (might see a good crash here) but found the whole thing super. Great launch and the return of the two boosters, with synchronised landings to boot!, the "lad" in the car with Bowie playing, and "Don't Panic" on the display. It was class.

I hadn't looked into in all prior to watching it, so pretty much everything was a surprise, which I supposed helped my awe and wonder. And watching it with kids helped too!

Presume the Core thingy that was supposed to land on the drone ship didn't work out as planned!   
Post by: BenDover on February 08, 2018, 08:03:26 AM
Quote from: Hound on February 07, 2018, 08:43:54 AM
That was just about the most enjoyable 15 minutes of viewing I've seen in a long time. Turned it on probably in the same frame of mind as I watch the odd F1 race (might see a good crash here) but found the whole thing super. Great launch and the return of the two boosters, with synchronised landings to boot!, the "lad" in the car with Bowie playing, and "Don't Panic" on the display. It was class.

I hadn't looked into in all prior to watching it, so pretty much everything was a surprise, which I supposed helped my awe and wonder. And watching it with kids helped too!

Presume the Core thingy that was supposed to land on the drone ship didn't work out as planned!
It was reported that only one of the three core engines ignited and it missed the drone ship by about 300m.