Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 11:39:34 AM

Title: The Good News Thread
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 11:39:34 AM
Stories of recession,job losses,deaths, and general grumpiness or gear grinders not allowed..
I guess that rules pintsofguinness out of posting so.....
Title: Re: The Good News Thread
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 11:40:26 AM
Woman has sight restored after 46 years of blindness

FOR 46 years, Jenny O'Connell was afraid to hope her sight could be restored but yesterday she saw her family for the first time. Doctors at a Dublin hospital partially restored her vision with a rare treatment.

Ms O'Connell from Dún Laoghaire, Co Dublin, lost her vision at the age of 11. After a complex procedure to insert an artificial cornea at the Royal Victoria Eye and Ear Hospital, she was yesterday able to see again with her right eye.

"What a shock. I just can't believe it actually happened . . . it's all my dreams together, but at the same time I wasn't hoping for it, you know. I was afraid to."

Ms O'Connell, who had never seen her husband Seán or her son and daughter before, was resting in hospital last night after being visited by family members.

"I've never seen what Michael and Martina looks like, any of my family, or my husband," she told RTÉ news yesterday.

The event was tinged with added poignancy by the fact that Ms O'Connell's husband had lost his sight in recent years due to diabetes.

The first person Ms O'Connell saw was her consultant ophthalmologist William Power, who said the treatment, known as Boston keratoprosthesis, was rare in Ireland.

"In layman's terms it's an artificial plastic window that goes into a person's cornea," he said.

Mr Power said the custom-made device had been inserted into Ms O'Connell's eye four weeks ago and covered over with a flap of skin, which was removed yesterday.

"We're the only centre in the country doing it. In the last five or six years we've put in about 13 but Jenny is quite unusual in terms of being without vision for so long."

Mr Power said that before treatment, Ms O'Connell was only "vaguely aware" of an extremely bright light being shone in front of her right eye, and her left eye was already irreparably damaged.

But yesterday she was able to read numbers and letters on a chart when the bandage was removed two hours after the final stage of the surgery.

Ms O'Connell lost her sight following a bad reaction to a medicine, which lead to a very rare condition known as Stevens-Johnson syndrome. It was the morning of her sister's birthday party, she recalled.

"I wasn't feeling well and daddy called me in, came into me and said to me was I not getting up. So I asked him to put the light on and I realised he said he had the light on, so we realised it wasn't – I couldn't see."
Post by: thebigfella on May 13, 2009, 11:41:07 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 11:39:34 AM
Stories of recession,job losses,deaths, and general grumpiness or gear grinders not allowed..
I guess that rules pintsofguinness out of posting so.....

What about 2 for 1 offers in Tesco's? Only if they are on Irish stuff though.
Post by: Ping Pong Santa on May 13, 2009, 11:43:07 AM
On stick of my two stick Kit Kat this morning was all chocolate.
Post by: Tankie on May 13, 2009, 11:46:14 AM
Gonna head to Edinburgh for a 2night trip to watch the Heineken Cup final, gonna cost a fortune but roll on Leinster....cant wait!
Post by: Lecale2 on May 13, 2009, 11:48:01 AM
Could this be merged with the "Price of Drink In Newry" thread?
Post by: Bogball XV on May 13, 2009, 12:25:32 PM
The unemployment rate still hasn't hit the anticipated peak of 38%.
In further good news, the rampant hyper-inflation predicted by most economic observers has not yet started to rear its ugly head.
Post by: pintsofguinness on May 13, 2009, 12:27:31 PM
I havent been made redundant yet, that's all my good news.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 13, 2009, 12:30:17 PM
I'm off to Madrid on my Stag tomorrow where it will be a nice 23°C
Post by: bcarrier on May 13, 2009, 01:06:09 PM
Fair play to you RLL. Heres loads ..

http://optimistworld.com/News.aspx
Post by: D4S on May 13, 2009, 02:39:36 PM
Good man DInny Breen have a great time ye lucky bollix!

Good news from me is that I got a pay rise last friday...if you don't ask you don't get ;D!
Post by: SidelineKick on May 13, 2009, 02:44:19 PM
My wages were in my account this morn as opposed to Friday. Last week it was Thursday. I'm hoping if it continues at this rate I'll soon be getting paid for 6 months work in the space of a couple of weeks!
Post by: the colonel on May 13, 2009, 03:18:04 PM
violence in glasgow was down 25% after the old firm at the weekend

(domestic violence was up 20% though)
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 13, 2009, 04:09:09 PM
I had a great time at the Skydome watching the Blue Jays smash the Evil Empire (New York Yankees) for the 1st time this season.

I'm also going to the Toronto FC - Montreal derby match in the Canadian Club Championship tonight.

And it's a bank holiday this weekend  :D
Post by: Gnevin on May 13, 2009, 04:14:04 PM
Tom Humphries hasn't written anything since the 10th  ;)
Post by: Hereiam on May 13, 2009, 04:16:57 PM
Gona be a daddy this year for the first time.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 04:18:12 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on May 13, 2009, 04:16:57 PM

Good man  :)
Post by: SidelineKick on May 13, 2009, 04:19:02 PM

That you know of... ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on May 13, 2009, 04:22:01 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 13, 2009, 04:18:12 PM

Good man  :)

is nothing better... good luck and savour every minute your time with your child.
Post by: Stalin on May 13, 2009, 06:50:31 PM
Im touching cloth and theres a toilet about 5yards away with bog roll and everything!
Post by: Stalin on May 13, 2009, 06:52:08 PM
FFS spoke too soon
Post by: Chrisowc on May 14, 2009, 09:46:47 AM
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/article6284548.ece
Post by: red hander on May 14, 2009, 07:06:50 PM
From Belfast Telegraph today

Officers fined for dropping litter from police car

By Alan Erwin

Two police officers have been convicted of throwing litter from their staff car into a Co Antrim parking area.
One of them was also found guilty of flouting smoking laws by lighting up in a work vehicle before tossing his cigarette butt out the window.

Imposing fines on Constables Kim McKee and Donal Adams, District Judge Amanda Henderson said: "I'm aware of the consequences these convictions may have on other areas of your professional lives."
Ms McKee and Mr Adams, whose ages were not disclosed and with addresses given as care of Newtownabbey PSNI station, were prosecuted over an incident at Sixmilewater car park, Ballyclare, in May 2008.

Both accepted being there drinking tea and coffee and eating cookies from a Subway food outlet during a break while on duty. But they denied allegations that a steaming tea bag and milk carton was thrown from the police car.
Mr Adams, a smoker, also rejected witness claims that he took a puff from a cigarette before discarding it out the driver's side window.

The case against them was based on evidence supplied by a litter warden and worker for Newtownabbey Borough Council.  Mr Adams was given an extra £100 penalty for smoking in a smoke-free place, namely a work vehicle.
The officers were also both ordered to pay £100 in costs after Mr Irvine argued the case had been "vigorously contested by both defendants at every turn".

Cookies?  Whatever happened to doughnuts!
Post by: ziggysego on May 14, 2009, 11:10:18 PM
Just after watching Question Time on the BBC. David Dimbley told Margaret Beckett that she was fingered by the Daily Mail. She blushed and the audience broke out in fits of laugher  :D
Post by: Minder on May 15, 2009, 08:57:42 AM

A Northumberland millionaire is selling his £16m country estate and giving every penny of the proceeds to charity.

Brian Burnie is open to offers for the Doxford Hall Hotel and its 10 acre estate near Alnwick.

He hopes to use the profits from the sale to establish and pay for a Macmillan cancer nurse for north Northumberland.

The 64-year-old also hopes to pay for a set of custom-made vehicles to take cancer patients to and from hospitals.

Mr Burnie said: "We live in a me, me, me society and it has always been important to me to think of others.

"We can all do something by leaving money to charity when we die, but why don't we do something while we are still living?"

Writing out the cheque is the easy bit - its actually getting off your jacket and helping the cause you want to support that is the hard part

Brian Burnie
Father-of-three Mr Burnie said he and his wife Shirley - a breast cancer survivor - would live on their private pension when the estate was sold.

He said: "We won't exactly be selling the Big Issue but we will be downsizing.

"I've done the stately home bit - the bricks and mortar - but I've always been a people person.

"To be able to do something to help people has a much bigger return than any financial gain."

The Newcastle-born millionaire joked he "went to school in Heaton and not Eton".

'Millionaires in kindness'

He said: "You are what your parents are and you should never forget your roots - we were millionaires in kindness, not money.

"Writing out the cheque is the easy bit - it's actually getting off your jacket and helping the cause you want to support that is the hard part."

Mr Burnie began his working life as a 15-year-old grocery delivery boy before beginning a student apprenticeship for builders John Laing.

He progressed to become a trained engineer before moving into management - firstly in the building industry then in petrochemicals.

In 1979, Mr Burnie and a partner started investment company Kelburn Holdings in Newcastle before later moving into recruitment.

Brightly coloured vehicles

This all led to Mr Burnie and his wife buying Doxford Hall from Northumberland County Council in 1993.

It is now a 25-bedroom hotel and spa complex which also hosts conferences and weddings.

Mr Burnie said he will call the transport service Daft As A Brush and will use brightly coloured vehicles.

Mr and Mrs Burnie have been contributing to charity for the last 40 years, supporting various cancer charities, inviting war veterans to their home for meals and opening their door to the less fortunate on Christmas Day.

A spokeswoman for Macmillan Cancer Trust said: "We are hoping to meet with Mr Burnie next week to discuss his plans and look forward to working with him to help people affected by cancer in Northumberland."

Post by: Onion Bag on May 15, 2009, 10:01:42 AM

Congratulations, hope all goes well
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 28, 2009, 11:19:13 PM
Bank holiday weekend coming up and the weather is suppose to be hot!
Post by: Tankie on May 29, 2009, 12:15:00 AM
Leinster are European Champions!!!!
Post by: Capt Pat on May 29, 2009, 12:19:08 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 14, 2009, 11:10:18 PM
Just after watching Question Time on the BBC. David Dimbley told Margaret Beckett that she was fingered by the Daily Mail. She blushed and the audience broke out in fits of laugher  :D

Unfortunately the image of the question time audience laughing is not the one  that came to mind but that of Margaret Becket being fingered is now burned into my mind forever. :P
Post by: Eoghan Mag on May 29, 2009, 12:19:23 AM
I'm presenting a trad music show on local radio tomorrow!
Post by: Capt Pat on May 29, 2009, 12:20:16 AM
Quote from: Tankie on May 29, 2009, 12:15:00 AM

barcelona are Europeand Champions and not the devils.
Post by: whiskeysteve on May 29, 2009, 12:43:11 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 29, 2009, 12:20:16 AM
Quote from: Tankie on May 29, 2009, 12:15:00 AM

barcelona are Europeand Champions and not the devils.

No more soccer for the summer!

Hallelujah
Post by: Eoghan Mag on May 30, 2009, 12:49:28 AM

No more soccer for the summer!

Hallelujah

So you've never heard of the League of Ireland then?  ;D
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 01, 2009, 08:29:03 PM
I got my Canadian work visa extended for 2 more years today. Couple that with Tyrone's victory and our GAA club's 50th anniversary banquet on Saturday night - it's been a great few days
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 12, 2009, 01:00:47 PM
Here is a bit of news sure to cheer us all up on a miserable Friday  ;D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/8097018.stm
Post by: ziggysego on June 12, 2009, 01:35:33 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on June 12, 2009, 01:00:47 PM
Here is a bit of news sure to cheer us all up on a miserable Friday  ;D

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk_politics/8097018.stm

Had a feeling that was going to be it ;)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 12, 2009, 02:12:54 PM
Mrs Shamrock Shore won €4k yesterday in a Benevolent Fund draw  ;D
Post by: SidelineKick on June 12, 2009, 02:17:10 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 12, 2009, 02:12:54 PM
Mrs Shamrock Shore won €4k yesterday in a Benevolent Fund draw  ;D

What's that got to do with you?  ;)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 12, 2009, 02:22:45 PM
True  >:(
Post by: SidelineKick on June 12, 2009, 02:24:37 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 12, 2009, 02:22:45 PM
True  >:(

Post by: bcarrier on June 13, 2009, 09:34:59 PM
http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/0613/euromillions.html
Post by: ziggysego on June 13, 2009, 10:14:28 PM
Quote from: bcarrier on June 13, 2009, 09:34:59 PM

Decent fella, that man in the shop. Wouldn't know if I would do the same.
Post by: tyronefan on June 13, 2009, 11:41:30 PM
jes I know what I'd do

I'm a nice guy but i'm no Santa Claus   ;D
Post by: Square Ball on June 13, 2009, 11:51:45 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 13, 2009, 10:14:28 PM

neither do I Ziggy, its a hard one to call.

what would you do?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 13, 2009, 11:56:12 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on June 13, 2009, 11:51:45 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 13, 2009, 10:14:28 PM

neither do I Ziggy, its a hard one to call.

what would you do?

No question I would have done the same as the shopkeeper...
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 14, 2009, 01:23:20 AM
Saw that on the news this evening. Very very honest man. I hope the winner sorts him out with a few quid, its the least he deserves.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 14, 2009, 08:50:42 AM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on June 14, 2009, 01:23:20 AM
Saw that on the news this evening. Very very honest man. I hope the winner sorts him out with a few quid, its the least he deserves.

Good to hear all right but I would give the shopkeeper something back as a gesture of goodwill. Poor form if he wasnt rewarded in someway, 1000 euro voucher maybe.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 14, 2009, 10:24:27 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 14, 2009, 08:50:42 AM

Good to hear all right but I would give the shopkeeper something back as a gesture of goodwill. Poor form if he wasnt rewarded in someway, 1000 euro voucher maybe.
I was thinking more like 10%.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2009, 10:53:26 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 14, 2009, 08:50:42 AM

If I was the shopkeeper I'd tell him to stick his voucher up his hole if he produced that.

I would have done what the shopkeeper done and if and if it was me who won the money I'd give the shopkeeper half.
Post by: thebigfella on June 14, 2009, 11:00:30 AM
Give him fcuk all. At the end of the day the guy bought the ticket fairly and it would have been theft if he didn't hand it over.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2009, 11:04:46 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 14, 2009, 11:00:30 AM
Give him fcuk all. At the end of the day the guy bought the ticket fairly and it would have been theft if he didn't hand it over.
It's attitudes like that that has the country the way it is, me me me me me.

What would you have done if you were the shopkeeper?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 14, 2009, 11:16:04 AM
Jees i was only suggesting without thinking, of course if it happened me i give alot of consideration probably couple a grand but 10% is going a bit far,

Either way the shopkeeper deserves something for sure and we all agree on that. Great story lets hope he gets a nd reward and more imortantly is happy with it.
Post by: thebigfella on June 14, 2009, 11:30:06 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2009, 11:04:46 AM

Hand it over. The fact is the guy bought it and if he gives me something I would probably turn it down. Why should the shopkeeper be rewarded for being honest?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 14, 2009, 11:30:45 AM
On todays paper that the shopkeepers dream was to own one of those holiday motorhomes,The fella that owns the ticket is gonna buy him one..
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2009, 11:40:17 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 14, 2009, 11:30:06 AM

Hand it over. The fact is the guy bought it and if he gives me something I would probably turn it down. Why should the shopkeeper be rewarded for being honest?
He's not being rewarded for being honest, he's also being rewarded for conducting a search to find who bought the ticket.  He could have put it in the bin not knowing or he could have kept it himself, fact is, yer man would not have a penny if it wasnt for the shopkeeper.
Post by: ardal on June 14, 2009, 12:15:28 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2009, 11:40:17 AM

He's not being rewarded for being honest, he's also being rewarded for conducting a search to find who bought the ticket.  He could have put it in the bin not knowing or he could have kept it himself, fact is, yer man would not have a penny if it wasnt for the shopkeeper.

I hope the reason it's got so much publicity is to highlight the simple fact that honesty is a positive think, and may be rewarded
Post by: thebigfella on June 14, 2009, 12:48:45 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2009, 11:40:17 AM

He did the right thing, big deal. He couldn't have kept it himself, because he would have knowing claimed it illegally. It's a straight cut case of theft in my eyes and there are a few cases in England which back up my views, not sure about the South.

If you read the previous post and what he is supposed to have been saying in the paper, the "shopkeepers dream was to own one of those holiday motorhomes", seems to me he's hinting at something and expecting a little cut  ::)
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2009, 01:00:40 PM
QuoteIf you read the previous post and what he is supposed to have been saying in the paper, the "shopkeepers dream was to own one of those holiday motorhomes", seems to me he's hinting at something and expecting a little cut
I havent seen the article so I dont know what context that was reported, if the shopkeeper said it, was asked by the paper or asked by the man who won the money. 

You might give him nothing, I'd give him half because without his honesty and effort of finding me I'd have won none of it. 
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 14, 2009, 01:03:42 PM
I'd definitely give the shopkeeper something, around 10% or so of the winnings.

It's not as if the shopkeeper found a suitcase full of money, he couldn't have kept the ticket and cashed it in anyway.
Post by: thebigfella on June 14, 2009, 01:26:54 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 14, 2009, 01:00:40 PM
QuoteIf you read the previous post and what he is supposed to have been saying in the paper, the "shopkeepers dream was to own one of those holiday motorhomes", seems to me he's hinting at something and expecting a little cut
I havent seen the article so I dont know what context that was reported, if the shopkeeper said it, was asked by the paper or asked by the man who won the money. 

You might give him nothing, I'd give him half because without his honesty and effort of finding me I'd have won none of it. 

Me neither and I'm basing what I say on that post. Also I didn't say I would offer nothing but my gripe is that it is almost expected of the guy/me/yourself to reward someone for doing the right thing. Give him nothing a wait and see the usual suspects give out; I reckon the shopkeeper too will be in the paper crying about it too.
Post by: thebandit on June 14, 2009, 01:35:14 PM
Seemingly he's buying the shopkeeper a camper van worth 40k.
Post by: Derry Dolly on June 15, 2009, 08:53:30 AM
would def have to hand it in..wouldnt want to but u couldnt have luck with stolen money..
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2009, 09:44:17 AM
I'd hand it in too. You'd get nothing but bad cess for using someone else's luck.

On whether he'd have gotten away with it or not, of course he would have. It was a €4 quick pick that the customer left on the counter. Unless he's got photographic memory, assuming he even glanced at the ticket, he'd never have known it was 'his' numbers.

It wouldn't have been signed or anything like that, so there'd be no reason for the customer to challenge it, and the shopkeeper could have stayed schtum.

I'm glad he didn't, and I'm glad he's getting a bit of a reward, but I'm a bit uneasy about how the winner came to know that it was his dream to own a camper van.

Still, winners all around I'd say. A Good news story, but it's actually a bit sad that it's newsworthy at all, you'd like to think most people would do the right thing.
Post by: tyrone girl on June 15, 2009, 09:47:44 AM
Was reading in magazine at the wknd there that some english couple found a ticket for the daily play lotto or something like that and apparently she went to hand it back to the cashier who told her to keep it (cashier denies this).
Anyway they cashed it in for £30,000 and then the police were directed to their door and they were prosecuted for fraud. They had £15,000 of it spent and the remaining £15,000 is frozen in their account until end of september until the court hearing. Apparently the woman who lost it religously kept a note of her numbers and when they came up and she realised she had no ticket she contacted camelot and they worked from there.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 15, 2009, 09:55:14 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on June 15, 2009, 09:47:44 AM
Was reading in magazine at the wknd there that some english couple found a ticket for the daily play lotto or something like that and apparently she went to hand it back to the cashier who told her to keep it (cashier denies this).
Anyway they cashed it in for £30,000 and then the police were directed to their door and they were prosecuted for fraud. They had £15,000 of it spent and the remaining £15,000 is frozen in their account until end of september until the court hearing. Apparently the woman who lost it religously kept a note of her numbers and when they came up and she realised she had no ticket she contacted camelot and they worked from there.

Aye, but that bit in bold is the difference. If I knew I bought a ticket, and knew my numbers, I'd be on to the shop as well, looking at CCTV etc.

But if I had a quickpick, and couldn't find it later on, I'd just assume I lost it, and wouldn't have a clue the numbers came up.
Post by: tyrone girl on June 15, 2009, 10:03:00 AM
Yep id be the same. They had big time financial worries and when they found a ticket for 30k suppose temptation got the better of them.
Post by: screenmachine on June 15, 2009, 10:34:44 AM
Lets be honest here, if you found a ticket that had any money on it, be it a tenner or ten million, I'd be laughin all the way to the bank/pub.  Finders keepers, losers weepers.  People say you might have bad luck, nonsense - you make your own luck in life!
Post by: ludermor on June 15, 2009, 11:36:41 AM
On a similar vein there was a polish lad working on our site and put an accumulator on the football a few months ago. He hadnt a clue what to do so one of the other lads went with him to the bookies to give him a handy. It was only a wee bet ( cant remember but something like a fiver) The bet came up and he won around 600k! He goes back to poland and buys himself and his family ( who are still living in poland) a swanky new house with a pool etc. He lands back to work and gives the guy who helped him 30k.
Incidently he said he had to leave leave poland cause the polish mafia were after him but i dont know if he brought the family with him. 
Post by: stpauls on May 26, 2010, 10:42:03 AM
i figure rather than starting a new thread i would resurrect this one, and let you all know i am going to be a dad for the first time in November!! it can't come quick enough!!
Post by: eggy bread on May 26, 2010, 10:44:16 AM
Quote from: stpauls on May 26, 2010, 10:42:03 AM
i figure rather than starting a new thread i would resurrect this one, and let you all know i am going to be a dad for the first time in November!! it can't come quick enough!!

You won't be saying that in December!  :D Seriously it is fantastic my third is 4 weeks old, the sleepless nights are worth it.
Post by: stpauls on May 26, 2010, 10:52:34 AM
Quote from: eggy bread on May 26, 2010, 10:44:16 AM

You won't be saying that in December!  :D Seriously it is fantastic my third is 4 weeks old, the sleepless nights are worth it.

so i've heard, but the brother in law had one in January and he said the exact same thing!!  ;D
Post by: Doogie Browser on May 26, 2010, 10:55:31 AM
My man!
(http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:NOgpkKnD4hhXoM:http://www.logistique.org.uk/assets/static_ball.jpg)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 26, 2010, 11:56:37 AM
Ata boy, stpauls, if he/she ever needs tips of how to run around sloped gardens let me know ;)
Post by: stpauls on May 26, 2010, 12:07:28 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 26, 2010, 11:56:37 AM
Ata boy, stpauls, if he/she ever needs tips of how to run around sloped gardens let me know ;)

i might do, the new house is being built on the side of a hill!!  :P
Post by: ziggysego on May 26, 2010, 12:30:23 PM

Congratulations stpauls :)
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 03, 2010, 11:03:23 AM
Sun is shining and this morning on the Tom Dunne show I heard a young traveller girl called Selina sing a song called The Wedding Bells and it was simply stunning to listen to, has to be heard...

Can listen to it here

http://www.newstalk.ie/programmes/all/tom-dunne/from-limerick-to-carnegie-hall/ (http://www.newstalk.ie/programmes/all/tom-dunne/from-limerick-to-carnegie-hall/)
Post by: stpauls on November 07, 2010, 12:38:27 AM

well, the big day arrived eventually!! my son was born on Thursday night at 10.53pm at 8lbs 8oz!!! to say i am over the moon would be an understatement!! hopefully get him home later on today!!!  :) :) :)
Post by: ross4life on November 07, 2010, 12:47:35 AM
Quote from: stpauls on November 07, 2010, 12:38:27 AM

well, the big day arrived eventually!! my son was born on Thursday night at 10.53pm at 8lbs 8oz!!! to say i am over the moon would be an understatement!! hopefully get him home later on today!!!  :) :) :)

After the bad news about Ardmhachaabu on here today! this is good to hear congrats man all the best i hope mom is keeping well?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on November 07, 2010, 01:46:42 AM
Quote from: ross4life on November 07, 2010, 12:47:35 AM

After the bad news about Ardmhachaabu on here today! this is good to hear congrats man all the best i hope mom is keeping well?
+1 ross4life, congrats st paul, what did you call him?
Post by: stpauls on November 07, 2010, 09:13:50 AM
if any of you can recall the Irish names thread I posted on about a month ago, we called him Seán Mícéal, after his 2 grandfathers!!  ;D
Post by: ziggysego on November 07, 2010, 09:17:15 AM
Congratulations stpauls. A lovely name.

I look forward to seeing your wee lad don a Tyrone jersey for the Minors in 16 years time ;)
Post by: Square Ball on November 07, 2010, 12:25:12 PM
if any of you can recall the Irish names thread I posted on about a month ago, we called him Seán (fada on the a) Mícéal (fadas on the i and e), after his 2 grandfathers!

Control, alt and the letter St Pauls.

Congratulations and enjoy
Post by: pintsofguinness on November 07, 2010, 12:31:37 PM

good to hear some good news, congratulations!
Post by: theskull1 on November 07, 2010, 12:34:54 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 07, 2010, 12:25:12 PM
if any of you can recall the Irish names thread I posted on about a month ago, we called him Seán (fada on the a) Mícéal (fadas on the i and e), after his 2 grandfathers!

or use the Alt Gr key
Post by: vav on November 07, 2010, 12:35:24 PM
Congratulations stpaul, hope mam & baby are doing fantastically
Post by: Nally Stand on November 07, 2010, 02:13:22 PM
Congrats St Pauls great news
Post by: stpauls on November 07, 2010, 10:46:01 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on November 07, 2010, 12:25:12 PM
if any of you can recall the Irish names thread I posted on about a month ago, we called him Seán Mícéal, after his 2 grandfathers!

awesome, worked a treat SB, thanks for that!!  :)
Post by: mylestheslasher on November 07, 2010, 11:31:42 PM
Great news st Paul. Glad to hear all are well.
Post by: AZOffaly on November 08, 2010, 09:49:35 AM
Congrats StPaul. On a weekend that saw horrific news about ardmhachaabu, it's great to see such happy news.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 08, 2010, 09:59:49 AM
And the wheel keeps turning!!!  Well done stpaul, good size of a boy and the name will carry on.  All those spuds up Shanro and laps of the garden did ye some good ;D
Post by: Puckoon on November 08, 2010, 04:10:59 PM
Good stuff St Pauls - congratulations.
Post by: The Iceman on November 08, 2010, 04:51:44 PM
Circle of Life

an amazing thing - CONGRATS St Pauls - your life will never be the same again!
Post by: stpauls on November 08, 2010, 09:40:24 PM
cheers lads, finally got Seán home this evening, so the fun really starts now, though it is great to have him in his own home to get him settled!!
Post by: Puckoon on November 08, 2010, 10:06:37 PM
Quote from: stpauls on November 08, 2010, 09:40:24 PM
cheers lads, finally got Seán home this evening, so the fun really starts now, though it is great to have him in his own home to get him settled!!

Absolutely - tis much more comfortable to not be able to sleep in your own house than not being able to sleep in a hospital!  ;)
Post by: Hardy on November 09, 2010, 11:21:09 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 08, 2010, 10:06:37 PM

Absolutely - tis much more comfortable to not be able to sleep in your own house than not being able to sleep in a hospital!  ;)

Congratulations, stpauls.

When we brought our first lad home, he woke at 2 a.m., screaming. We quickly deduced (I have no idea how) that constipation was the problem, but we had no idea what to do about it. So we called the hospital he had left only hours previously. It seemed to be the same logic as calling the shop when you get your washing machine home and there's a problem with it. He's not working - how do we fix him?

For the record, the solution was a tiny soap suppository - worked within five minutes.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 09, 2010, 11:26:04 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 08, 2010, 10:06:37 PM

:D :D ain't that the truth puck . Congrats stpauls enjoy the wee man as the years don't be long  flying by anyway the first 3 years are the toughest  :D
Post by: Agnes Dipesto on November 09, 2010, 12:30:38 PM
Congratulations Stpauls. Love the name too.
Post by: Hedley Lamarr on November 09, 2010, 12:32:46 PM
Congratulations....the first half dozen are the hardest reared.....after that it's plain sailing ;)
Post by: tyrone girl on November 09, 2010, 04:05:06 PM
Congrats St Pauls . Hope he brings you many years of happiness. Lovely name
Post by: omagh_gael on February 28, 2011, 05:27:57 PM
My finacee gave birth to our first child at half one today. A wee boy called Dylan! He's a little beauty, can't get over it.

I have a new found respect for women after that. She gave birth using only gas and air, unreal stuff. I wouldn't be fit for half of it!

So watch out championship 2022, there could be a player of the year from Tyrone named Dylan. Remember the name ;)
Post by: Puckoon on February 28, 2011, 05:32:20 PM
Mighty Stuff OG.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 28, 2011, 05:33:09 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 28, 2011, 05:27:57 PM
My finacee gave birth to our first child at half one today. A wee boy called Dylan! He's a little beauty, can't get over it.

I have a new found respect for women after that. She gave birth using only gas and air, unreal stuff. I wouldn't be fit for half of it!

So watch out championship 2022, there could be a player of the year from Tyrone named Dylan. Remember the name ;)
Congrats Omagh Gael, best of luck to ye all.

I dont think ill even be fit for being in the room never mind the other stuff.
Post by: muppet on February 28, 2011, 05:36:10 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 28, 2011, 05:32:20 PM
Mighty Stuff OG.

OG Óg!  ;D

Congrats, but I'd head out tonight if I were you.

Post by: Puckoon on February 28, 2011, 05:37:41 PM
He's going to be posting on here now at the most random of times during the nights.
Post by: ziggysego on February 28, 2011, 06:40:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 28, 2011, 05:57:45 PM
An 11 year old player of the year would be amazing. I hope he grows up to be good at sums like his da.

Congratulations OG and pass on my congratulations to your fiancé.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 28, 2011, 08:19:01 PM
Congrats Omagh Gael
Post by: AZOffaly on February 28, 2011, 08:20:16 PM
Great stuff Omagh Gael. Congrats to both of ye.
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 28, 2011, 09:33:05 PM
Great stuff OG, congrats.
Post by: seafoid on February 28, 2011, 09:35:02 PM
Lads we need more good news. Muppet is up to 188 pages.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 28, 2011, 11:22:50 PM
An 11 year old player of the year would be amazing. I hope he grows up to be good at sums like his da.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 28, 2011, 11:58:11 PM

It's amazing what child birth can do to your mental arithmetic ;)

Hitting the sack now after a mad day. Cheers for all the good wishes, I'm going to have plenty of fun over the coming weeks, months and years.

P.S. There is truely nothing as moving and emotional as the birth of your child. I never realised it was possible to experience as many emotions in such a short time as I did today. It really is a miracle.

Post by: Tony Baloney on March 01, 2011, 12:13:55 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on February 28, 2011, 11:58:11 PM

Hitting the sack now after a mad day. Cheers for all the good wishes, I'm going to have plenty of fun over the coming weeks, months and years.

P.S. There is truely nothing as moving and emotional as the birth of your child. I never realised it was possible to experience as many emotions in such a short time as I did today. It really is a miracle.
Remember that when theyre writing on the walls and tramping food into the carpet!
Post by: Orior on March 01, 2011, 12:25:44 AM
Congrats Omagh Gael. It is an amazing thing being handed your first child.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 01, 2011, 11:15:49 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 01, 2011, 12:13:55 AM

Remember that when theyre writing on the walls and tramping food into the carpet!

And pissing on you when you're changing their nappies, or putting the sky card into the DVD player, orhat she really telling grannie that "you're not really as old as mummy says you look"!!!

Maith thu Mrs OG to be though, tis a fine thing!  Congrats to both of you.
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 01, 2011, 11:53:12 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 01, 2011, 11:15:49 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 01, 2011, 12:13:55 AM

And pissing on you when you're changing their nappies, or putting the sky card into the DVD player, orhat she really telling grannie that "you're not really as old as mummy says you look"!!!

Maith thu Mrs OG to be though, tis a fine thing!  Congrats to both of you.

Congrats OG

You will have tough days ahead of you and do not believe anyone who tells you it gets easier as they grow up, these people are liars. My four year olds asthma kept me up all Saturday night, I finally got to bed at 7.00am and slept for 2 hours, dragged myself out of the bed to cook him an omelette as he was poorly, he happily lashed into it, only to start coughing,he turned to me as he started to gag, I reached out cupping my hands together and he puked into them. But those moments will always be surpassed by many many more brighter ones.

Get some sleep.
Post by: The Iceman on March 03, 2011, 04:03:53 PM
Good work OG - congrats.
I don't know if things get easier as they get older. I think you just become immune to it. I don't remember what a full nights sleep feels like. I got 5 hours straight there on Tuesday Night and woke up feeling great. There will be ups and downs but I have never felt more joy in my life.
For me personally i love watching my Da interact with my Son. Great to see the lessons passed down and watch my Da act like a young fella again.
Enjoy every minute
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2011, 03:15:41 PM
Dinny Jnr was born this morning - a health 8lb 13 and already looking like the future of Kildare football....
Post by: muppet on March 22, 2011, 03:17:45 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2011, 03:15:41 PM
Dinny Jnr was born this morning - a health 8lb 13 and already looking like the future of Kildare football....

Congrats Dinny.

We'll see you on here every 3 hours round the clock now for a few weeks.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 22, 2011, 03:18:37 PM
Congrats Dinny and best regards to Mrs Dinny.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 22, 2011, 03:19:55 PM

Good man Dinny, and Mrs Dinny as well of course. Don't forget you can always head over the border into Edenderry if you want him to be a good Biffo :D

Good to see the auld Rochfortbridge bloodline still going anyhow.

Congrats again/......
Post by: Hardy on March 22, 2011, 03:28:10 PM
Well done Dinny. I hope the little lad grows up to wear the flour bag and play in Kildare's next victory over Meath.
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 22, 2011, 03:30:16 PM
Cheers lads, will be intereseting if the Rochfortbridge bloodline delivers for Kildare, it's not bad on his mothers side either... ;)
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on March 22, 2011, 03:32:57 PM
Congrats Dinny.

An ounce of breedin' is worth a tonne of feedin'
Post by: Declan on March 22, 2011, 03:38:12 PM
Congrats to all Dinny.
Post by: heffo on March 22, 2011, 04:22:08 PM
Congratulations Dinny!
Post by: ziggysego on March 22, 2011, 04:23:13 PM
Congratulations Dinny. I look forward to your 'middle of the night' postings now :)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 22, 2011, 05:54:49 PM
Maith thu to the Breen family, Denis kieran geezer breen is some mouthful!
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 22, 2011, 07:15:52 PM
Congrats Dinny, Can't remember if you have kids already but will give you my standard advise......................it doesnt get any easier!
Post by: muppet on March 22, 2011, 07:21:39 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on March 22, 2011, 07:15:52 PM
Congrats Dinny, Can't remember if you have kids already but will give you my standard advise......................it doesnt get any easier!

Why, does the lead in your gun run out?
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 22, 2011, 07:44:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 22, 2011, 07:21:39 PM

How did you bring yourself to even looking at this tread!
Post by: muppet on March 22, 2011, 07:47:41 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on March 22, 2011, 07:44:23 PM
Quote from: muppet on March 22, 2011, 07:21:39 PM

How did you bring yourself to even looking at this tread!

(http://supportyourlocalgunfighter.com/wp-content/uploads/Bart-Simpson-Dont-Tread-On-Me.jpg)

Post by: ONeill on March 22, 2011, 08:11:32 PM

How did that happen?

Hope little Nicklas chooses wisely.
Post by: laoislad on June 11, 2011, 02:55:28 PM
The 3 months are up and the first scan done, laoislad(or lass) junior will be arriving just in time for Christmas!   
Post by: Denn Forever on June 11, 2011, 02:59:27 PM
Congratulations and best of luck with the dry run today.
Post by: Minder on June 11, 2011, 03:01:27 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 11, 2011, 02:55:28 PM
The 3 months are up and the first scan done, laoislad(or lass) junior will be arriving just in time for Christmas!   

Good lad, not be long to you have him/her in the Dublin shirt............
Post by: Blowitupref on June 11, 2011, 03:11:52 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 11, 2011, 03:01:27 PM

& a Man United shirt no doubt  :P
Post by: ziggysego on June 11, 2011, 04:32:35 PM
Congratulations LaoisLad. Just what Dublin needs, another kn**ker running about the place.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on June 11, 2011, 05:07:40 PM

congrats laoislad, this time 4 years ago our wee girl was born. our 3rd child turned 1 last week ! this could be the start of a houseful.
Post by: laoislad on June 13, 2011, 10:10:07 AM

Not a hope of that ever happening.
Post by: Canalman on June 13, 2011, 11:25:52 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 13, 2011, 10:10:07 AM

I guarantee that it will happen (if you hang around in Dublin). Many a country man/woman new  in Dublin has said that before to find out that the Dubs are not the ogres that many would like them to be.
Anyway congrats!!!!!!
Post by: heffo on June 13, 2011, 03:30:54 PM
Congrats Laoislad - only question now is whether it's be St Bernadettes or Lucan Sarsfields!
Post by: LeoMc on June 13, 2011, 03:45:15 PM

You should ask herself if she would not hould on for another week or so to get a better birthday for the underage football.
Post by: laoislad on June 14, 2011, 08:40:46 AM
Quote from: Canalman on June 13, 2011, 11:25:52 AM
Quote from: laoislad on June 13, 2011, 10:10:07 AM

I guarantee that it will happen (if you hang around in Dublin). Many a country man/woman new  in Dublin has said that before to find out that the Dubs are not the ogres that many would like them to be.
Anyway congrats!!!!!!
Are sure I know some of ye aren't that bad sure didnt I marry one.!
Post by: armaghniac on June 14, 2011, 05:36:36 PM
The Good news is that my boss, colloquially known as Voldemort, is leaving. He has a new job elsewhere, elsewhere isn't where I work, so we are both happy.
Post by: Onion Bag on August 17, 2011, 02:25:25 PM
Mrs Onion Bag give birth to our little daughter in the wee hours this morning, everyone 100%
Absolutely delighted, no bad news could knock me off this cloud 9 today
Post by: AZOffaly on August 17, 2011, 02:36:39 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on August 17, 2011, 02:25:25 PM
Mrs Onion Bag give birth to our little daughter in the wee hours this morning, everyone 100%

Great stuff Onion Bag. Congrats to ye, glad everyone is doing well.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 17, 2011, 03:02:04 PM
(http://blogs.smh.com.au/mashup/images/applause.gif)

Like falling in love again, congrats.
Post by: The Iceman on August 17, 2011, 03:14:32 PM

good work lad  - life is about to flip upside down and all for the better!
Post by: laoislad on August 17, 2011, 03:26:16 PM

Congrats lad,not long to go now myself either!
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 17, 2011, 03:30:22 PM

Congrats to you and mrs onion bag. Tis some feeling allright enjoy and don't wet the babys head too much  ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 17, 2011, 03:31:26 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 17, 2011, 03:26:16 PM

ya better play as much golf as you can for the next wee while then LL
Post by: Nally Stand on August 17, 2011, 03:33:11 PM

Congrats to all Onion
Post by: ONeill on August 17, 2011, 03:38:40 PM
Congrats Onion on your Shallot.
Post by: ziggysego on August 17, 2011, 03:42:36 PM

Congratulations Onion Bag. Delighted for you both, on this good news. There'll be some celebrations in McCrea's tonight ;)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 17, 2011, 03:46:13 PM

Congrats OB, I bet you cried? ;)

Quote from: laoislad on August 17, 2011, 03:26:16 PM

There'll be some mess when your waters break!!!!
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on August 17, 2011, 04:46:48 PM
Congratulations Mrs OB and well done OB  ;) :)
Post by: Onion Bag on August 17, 2011, 05:11:23 PM
Thanks alot everyone for the lovely posts, I'm smiling from ear to ear all day.
Laois Lad, the best thing I have ever experienced, you will love it

Post by: Puckoon on August 17, 2011, 05:24:09 PM
Good man - congratulations. Little daughters are a special breed.
Post by: ross4life on August 17, 2011, 05:29:57 PM
Well done Onion Bag congrats first of many i'm sure.
Post by: Square Ball on August 17, 2011, 05:38:51 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on August 17, 2011, 05:24:09 PM
Good man - congratulations. Little daughters are a special breed.

yeah then they become little girls and its down hill.

congrats Mrs and Mr Onion
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 12:23:56 PM

Good stuff OB. Busy nesting myself, our first one due next month, managing to fit in a fair amount of drinking as well before it all goes pear shaped...
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 19, 2011, 02:53:09 PM
Good man Croi, get as much sleep now as you can, you will most likely never sleep the same again. Will he/she be a Dub?
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 19, 2011, 02:56:11 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 12:23:56 PM

Good stuff OB. Busy nesting myself, our first one due next month, managing to fit in a fair amount of drinking as well before it all goes pear shaped...

Can just imagine baby and Mum arriving home from hospital, locked out as Croí tries to locate the house keys....
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 03:01:57 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 19, 2011, 02:53:09 PM
Good man Croi, get as much sleep now as you can, you will most likely never sleep the same again. Will he/she be a Dub?

Me hole, first sign of a solo we'll be moving back & commuting (herself may not be aware of this yet). Junior Croí is already announcing his/her presence with some painful kicks, could be the first 45 taker in the family  :P

Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 19, 2011, 02:56:11 PM

Can just imagine baby and Mum arriving home from hospital, locked out as Croí tries to locate the house keys....

...after sleeping in the back of the car the night before :D
Post by: gerrykeegan on August 19, 2011, 03:29:49 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 03:01:57 PM

Me hole, first sign of a solo we'll be moving back & commuting (herself may not be aware of this yet). Junior Croí is already announcing his/her presence with some painful kicks, could be the first 45 taker in the family  :P

Could be a real Dub and is just practising kicking in doors!
My oldest (4) has his Dublin top already and its is favourite! We live  around the corner form the Brogan's Plunketts so I am doomed.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 03:35:50 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on August 19, 2011, 03:29:49 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on August 19, 2011, 03:01:57 PM

Could be a real Dub and is just practising kicking in doors!
My oldest (4) has his Dublin top already and its is favourite! We live  around the corner form the Brogan's Plunketts so I am doomed.

I think one of them half and half O'Neills top could be in order for Christmas so, Westmeath maroon that is...
Post by: muppet on August 20, 2011, 03:48:16 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 19, 2011, 02:56:11 PM

You will rescue them Dinny, or they could always go to Magpie Seanie's house.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 09, 2011, 06:49:26 PM
It's a girl, 8 pounds 6 and a little bruiser to boot. Came out facing the ceiling so not a sign of difficult days to come I hope. Week early as well, reckon she wanted to be out for the U21 final in Thurles tomorrow but Mrs. Croí is refusing to sign the release form. The little one will have to wait for the Gerry Reilly final next Wednesday to make her debut in the maroon and white babygro. Terrified of leaving her in behind reception.
Post by: ziggysego on September 09, 2011, 06:52:03 PM
Congratulations to you both.
Post by: laoislad on September 09, 2011, 06:57:14 PM
Congrats Croí
Post by: Puckoon on September 09, 2011, 07:26:36 PM
Congratulations to all involved.  :)
Post by: heffo on September 09, 2011, 09:09:36 PM
Good man Croi congrats
Post by: Onion Bag on September 09, 2011, 09:38:00 PM
Congrats Mr & Mrs Croi, hope all is well, our wee one is now 3 weeks old and flying, the crack starts now
Post by: AZOffaly on September 09, 2011, 09:48:54 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 09, 2011, 06:49:26 PM
It's a girl, 8 pounds 6 and a little bruiser to boot. Came out facing the ceiling so not a sign of difficult days to come I hope. Week early as well, reckon she wanted to be out for the U21 final in Thurles tomorrow but Mrs. Croí is refusing to sign the release form. The little one will have to wait for the Gerry Reilly final next Wednesday to make her debut in the maroon and white babygro. Terrified of leaving her in behind reception.

Great stuff Croi, congrats to ye both. Do her a favour though, return to your roots with her, and I don't mean the bridge :)

Well done
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 09, 2011, 10:35:56 PM
Maith sibh Croi. Good healthy size and no doubt she will be Croi do chroi! 
Post by: gerrykeegan on September 09, 2011, 10:58:54 PM
Congrats Croi, get some sleep, and don't start the bed time stories with "wait till I'll tell you about 2004"
Post by: Shamrock Shore on September 09, 2011, 11:14:28 PM
Best to all the Croí folk. Enjoy Sky News at 4 am!
Post by: Square Ball on September 09, 2011, 11:16:35 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 09, 2011, 11:14:28 PM
Best to all the Croí folk. Enjoy Sky News at 4 am!
prefered the BBC myself or the wonders of teletext and ceefax going further back. congrats to all
Post by: Hardy on September 10, 2011, 12:16:22 PM
Well done Croí. (You don't have to worry about early hours TV if you arrange things right. Just like beer, draught is better than bottled.)
Post by: muppet on September 10, 2011, 12:23:28 PM

Congrats, Croí.

Bye bye sleep for the foreseeable future but if there is ever an acceptable reason for being woken during the night, your own flesh and blood is it.

Having said that it might be a good way to see the Rugby World Cup.

Post by: laoislad on September 10, 2011, 12:35:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 10, 2011, 12:23:28 PM

Congrats, Croí.

Bye bye sleep for the foreseeable future but if there is ever an acceptable reason for being woken during the night, your own flesh and blood is it.

Having said that it might be a good way to see the Rugby World Cup.

Would that not just send him back asleep again?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 11, 2011, 03:14:16 PM
As they would say down in Wexford, quare sound lads on here. Home today and settling in well to the sleeping, eating and shitting (as is the young one). She was disappointed to hear the U21's came up short and is doubly psyched up for the U16's on Wednesday.

Hardy, that's the best bit of advice I've heard since I was advised to stay away from the business end.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 11, 2011, 03:19:21 PM
Good man Croí, congrats to all, our escapades at the golf is a good example of what it's like trying to look after the kids in the middle of the night  ;)
Post by: laoislad on September 26, 2011, 09:07:29 PM
Just found a Double Decker in the press that I forgot was there!
Post by: Hashtag on September 26, 2011, 09:10:11 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 26, 2011, 09:07:29 PM

Let us celebrate this success with the adding of chocolate to milk.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2011, 09:10:59 PM
Best news I've seen in 13 pages.
Post by: Don Johnson on September 26, 2011, 09:13:01 PM
What's the press? If it is the hot press then the double decker will be all melted to shite.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 26, 2011, 09:14:02 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on September 26, 2011, 09:13:01 PM
What's the press? If it is the hot press then the double decker will be all melted to shite.
A Mexican cupboard.
Post by: muppet on September 26, 2011, 09:46:24 PM

I once drove a JCB into the garden and went to bed.

The demon drink.
Post by: ross4life on November 25, 2011, 10:45:10 PM
A Dutch cyclist who has represented her country at the Paralympics could be set to compete in the able-bodied event after an amazing incident saw her regain the use of her legs.

The Independent reports that Monique van der Vorst was paralysed from the waist down and had been confined to a wheelchair for 13 years.

She won two silver medals at the Paralympics by powering a bike with her hands but last year she was knocked off her bike in a crash.

What could have led to a serious injury actually did the opposite. Van der Vorst started to feel her feet tingle and within months she was able to walk.

Her recovery was so rapid that she started competing on a regular bicycle - then progressed to a point that has seen her earn one of just 11 places in a top women's professional cycling team.

http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/25112011/58/paralysed-cycling-champ-cured-crash.html
Post by: Puckoon on January 05, 2012, 04:29:04 PM
For all posters in the USA - Father Ted is now on Netflix "watch it now".

This is good news.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 24, 2012, 08:13:02 PM
(http://bit.ly/iQT1jQ)

Just a great picture..
Post by: laoislad on May 24, 2012, 08:22:23 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 24, 2012, 08:13:02 PM

Just a great picture..

Love it.
Post by: ziggysego on May 24, 2012, 09:01:04 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on May 24, 2012, 08:13:02 PM

Just a great picture..

This is what is so good about sport.
Post by: Tony Baloney on May 24, 2012, 11:33:01 PM
Great photo.
Post by: Declan on May 25, 2012, 08:10:12 AM
Absolutely brilliant picture that
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 25, 2012, 09:15:24 AM
Twould warm even the coldest heart.
Post by: The Iceman on May 25, 2012, 01:32:56 PM
Been away for a while covering a new job on the West Coast and working crazy hours, trying to sell a house and buy a house 3000 miles away but I'm happy to report the birth of my new son!
Weighed in at a wopping 9lb 15

Everybody doing well and healthy thank God.

Accepting all donations of spuds.....
Post by: ziggysego on May 25, 2012, 01:36:23 PM
Congratulations Iceman, delighted for both you and Icewoman.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 25, 2012, 01:57:04 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on May 25, 2012, 01:32:56 PM
Been away for a while covering a new job on the West Coast and working crazy hours, trying to sell a house and buy a house 3000 miles away but I'm happy to report the birth of my new son!
Weighed in at a wopping 9lb 15

Everybody doing well and healthy thank God.

Accepting all donations of spuds.....

Great stuff. When did you move to Galway? ;) congrats on the new arrival. Some size of a man already :)
Post by: Onion Bag on May 25, 2012, 02:26:02 PM
Congrats Iceman, hope all goes well
Post by: Hardy on May 25, 2012, 04:27:22 PM
Congratulations. And remember Icepeople - be careful in the heat of California.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 25, 2012, 05:14:40 PM
Great news - hope all are well back in the Igloo
Post by: stpauls on July 17, 2012, 01:44:12 PM
i know it has been 2 weeks (joys of building in the middle of nowhere and not able to get internet) but my second son was born on 1st July, weighing 8lbs 8oz!! can report that he is doing great!!
Post by: EC Unique on July 17, 2012, 01:46:52 PM
Quote from: stpauls on July 17, 2012, 01:44:12 PM
i know it has been 2 weeks (joys of building in the middle of nowhere and not able to get internet) but my second son was born on 1st July, weighing 8lbs 8oz!! can report that he is doing great!!

Good man. Keep them coming for Errigal.  :D
Post by: ziggysego on July 17, 2012, 01:47:48 PM
Quote from: stpauls on July 17, 2012, 01:44:12 PM

Great news. Congratulations Mr & Mrs stpauls.
Post by: stew on July 17, 2012, 11:43:29 PM
Congrats to all breeders on this page..........................if someone could show me how to breed boys into the gene pool I would be eternally grateful. ;)
Post by: FermGael on September 25, 2012, 11:59:58 AM
Congratulations to Mr & Mrs SuperSarsfields on the birth of their baby daughter.
Post by: ziggysego on September 25, 2012, 03:20:59 PM
Congratulations Mr & Mrs SuperSarsfields. I'll look forward to you keeping me company in the wee hours of the morning, on the gaaboard now.
Post by: Onion Bag on November 30, 2012, 04:46:30 PM
Mrs OB give birth yesterday morning to our new son, weighing 9lb 9oz. All doing well thank god, it really is a mans world when u witness what women go through. Just glad it's all over
Post by: Hardy on November 30, 2012, 05:03:36 PM
Congratulations, well done and best wishes to the little scallion.
Post by: Orior on November 30, 2012, 05:04:32 PM
Life changing moment.

Congratulations!
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 30, 2012, 05:15:23 PM
Congrats Onion bag great news. Hardys post gave me a good auld laugh.
Post by: Dinny Breen on November 30, 2012, 07:52:42 PM
Great news

Very good Hardy, that gave me a good chuckle.
Post by: Oraisteach on November 30, 2012, 08:00:28 PM
Congrats, OB
Post by: Harold Disgracey on November 30, 2012, 10:01:43 PM
Congrats OB.

At the other end if the spectrum, my granny celebrated her 103rd birthday yesterday. Amazing woman.
Post by: The Boy Wonder on November 30, 2012, 11:57:19 PM
Be the holy - nineteen and nine was a long time ago. What's her secret ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2012, 12:18:21 AM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on November 30, 2012, 10:01:43 PM
Congrats OB.

At the other end if the spectrum, my granny celebrated her 103rd birthday yesterday. Amazing woman.
That's some effort. Is there anyone alive that was born in the 19th Century?
Post by: ONeill on December 01, 2012, 12:28:54 AM
What?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2012, 12:46:26 AM
Quote from: ONeill on December 01, 2012, 12:28:54 AM
What?
Is there anyone alive that was born on or before 1899 or older than 112? I thought the original question was obvious?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2012, 12:50:36 AM
Yes Tony that is indeed an interesting question.

http://health.usnews.com/health-news/living-well-usn/articles/2012/03/09/worlds-oldest-people (http://health.usnews.com/health-news/living-well-usn/articles/2012/03/09/worlds-oldest-people)
Post by: ONeill on December 01, 2012, 12:51:52 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oldest_people#Ten_verified_oldest_people_living
Post by: ONeill on December 01, 2012, 12:54:33 AM
http://www.grg.org/Adams/E.HTM
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 01, 2012, 01:04:40 AM
Japan and USA is where it's at. Right I am hitting the hay or I won't see 50.
Post by: ziggysego on December 01, 2012, 12:47:42 PM
Congratulations Mr & Mrs Onion Bags. Delighted for you both. It'll be a Hunky Dory Christmas for youse! ;-)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 04, 2012, 04:46:09 PM
Well done OB & Hardy. Found out last week that no 2 is on the way next year, will focus the mind for the Christmas sessions.
Post by: BenDover on December 04, 2012, 06:11:52 PM
Congrats Croi hope all goes well ye'l know yourself with 2. OH gave birth till no.2 2weeks ago and no.1 has been a ball of energy since. Also congrats to RealSpirit on his new arrival
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 04, 2012, 06:48:07 PM
Thanks BD and well done to yourself and your OH. Yeah, juggling two childer should be 'fun', another reason to have the gaaboard meet before June.
Post by: Orior on December 04, 2012, 08:51:24 PM
My good news.

Had to take the dog to the vet (that's not the good news).

It cost me about £200 (that's not the good news).

Tesco pet insurance sent me a cheque to cover it (that's a bit of good news).

Then I lost the cheque. I searched high and low, left and right, in and out, over and under, every room in the house, every compartment of my laptop bag, every drawer at my desk in work, and finally emptied two very large recycling bags (much to the entertainment of my work colleagues) but to no avail.

Then this morning I found it in a pocket of my other jacket. Woo-hoo, good news!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 04, 2012, 09:02:59 PM
Typical. Always in the last place you look.
Post by: heganboy on December 05, 2012, 11:29:55 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 04, 2012, 09:02:59 PM
By definition...
Post by: Orior on December 05, 2012, 12:22:56 PM
Quote from: heganboy on December 05, 2012, 11:29:55 AM
By definition...

Not true.

The momentum I had gained before finding the cheque meant that I continued to search 5 more places before getting stopped.
Post by: johnneycool on December 05, 2012, 01:14:15 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 01, 2012, 12:54:33 AM
http://www.grg.org/Adams/E.HTM

Note the very noticeable amount of F's as opposed to M's on that list, so we're beat before we start Tony.

Why do men die before women?

Because we want to.

Post by: Orior on December 05, 2012, 10:49:36 PM
Good news!

Man's best friend can now drive you to the pub and back again

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-20614593 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-asia-20614593)
Post by: Dinny Breen on December 07, 2012, 06:43:44 AM
For everyone that tweets using the hashtag #SageXmasGiving Sage will donate €1 to St. Vincent de Paul @SVP_Ireland
Post by: Declan on December 07, 2012, 07:46:14 AM
QuoteFor everyone that tweets using the hashtag #SageXmasGiving Sage will donate €1 to St. Vincent de Paul @SVP_Ireland

Nice touch - shared!
Post by: Billys Boots on December 07, 2012, 09:48:22 AM
Quote from: Declan on December 07, 2012, 07:46:14 AM
QuoteFor everyone that tweets using the hashtag #SageXmasGiving Sage will donate €1 to St. Vincent de Paul @SVP_Ireland

Nice touch - shared!

Tweeted Dinny, fair play.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 07, 2012, 09:58:51 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on December 07, 2012, 09:48:22 AM
Quote from: Declan on December 07, 2012, 07:46:14 AM

Nice touch - shared!

Tweeted Dinny, fair play.

A little bit misleading, it should say for the first 1000 who tweet not for everyone, they have set a limit of €1000
Post by: Hardy on December 08, 2012, 10:37:37 AM
Quote from: Orior on December 05, 2012, 12:22:56 PM
Quote from: heganboy on December 05, 2012, 11:29:55 AM
By definition...

Not true.

The momentum I had gained before finding the cheque meant that I continued to search 5 more places before getting stopped.

:D :D Excellent!

It would be cruel to suggest that all you had to do was call Tesco and ask them to issue a replacement cheque. Worse, though, it would show no respect at all for the rules of comedy.
Post by: All of a Sludden on January 02, 2013, 05:37:51 PM
http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/1UWxQU/:18eUn!Ets:WHqaaaph/www.buzzfeed.com/mjs538/moments-that-restored-our-faith-in-humanity-this-y/
Post by: AZOffaly on May 21, 2013, 05:00:29 PM
Good news down Newport way. Mrs AZOffaly has delivered Tipperary's next Camogie star into the world. Mammy and baby doing well. Relief and joy all round.
Post by: Oraisteach on May 21, 2013, 05:09:01 PM
Awesome!  That IS good news, especially amid all the other grim news.  Fantastic, brilliant, and every other superlative.  Name yet?  Thinking about Arizona or Phoenix.  Don't go with Flagstaff or Tempe.
Post by: Hardy on May 21, 2013, 05:32:57 PM
Clara, of course. Well done to AZ and all the Offalies.
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 21, 2013, 05:37:39 PM
Great news AZ, congrats to all.
Post by: rodney trotter on May 21, 2013, 05:44:21 PM
Well done AZ
Post by: muppet on May 21, 2013, 05:47:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 21, 2013, 05:00:29 PM
Good news down Newport way. Mrs AZOffaly has delivered Tipperary's next Camogie star into the world. Mammy and baby doing well. Relief and joy all round.

Congrats AZ.

Double trouble now!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on May 21, 2013, 05:53:56 PM
As I said earlier congratulations,any sign of the Gentleman yet? :P
Post by: ziggysego on May 21, 2013, 07:04:48 PM
Great new AZ, delighted for you both.
Post by: gerrykeegan on May 21, 2013, 07:58:19 PM
Well done AZ and Mrs AZ. Now we know the reason the board was down!
Post by: The Iceman on May 21, 2013, 08:18:25 PM
'
Well done! Congrats!
Post by: Declan on May 22, 2013, 08:45:12 AM
Congrats to you and the boss AZ
Post by: Dinny Breen on May 22, 2013, 10:12:07 AM
Quote from: Declan on May 22, 2013, 08:45:12 AM
Congrats to you and the boss AZ

Jaysus Declan surprised you even knew a Good News Thread existed  ;)
Post by: Orior on May 22, 2013, 11:39:21 AM

Well done Mrs AZOffaly. But why Tipp?  Hang on, who's the Dad?

(Sorry AZ, a poor joke, congrats to you too)
Post by: Declan on May 22, 2013, 01:05:21 PM
QuoteJaysus Declan surprised you even knew a Good News Thread existed 
Ah now and again I allow myself a smile :D
Post by: Nally Stand on May 22, 2013, 01:25:33 PM
Maith sibh AZ!
Post by: seafoid on May 30, 2013, 05:11:47 PM

EU agrees to end decades of overfishing

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/0/05c56eba-c8fa-11e2-bb56-00144feab7de.html

European fleets will have to end overfishing by the end of the decade and substantially abandon the practice of discarding after the EU agreed a sweeping overhaul of its troubled fisheries policy.
The agreement – between representatives from the European Commission, the parliament and member states – came shortly after 3am on Thursday morning following an all-night bargaining session that was, itself, preceded by more than a year of negotiations.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 31, 2013, 11:45:19 AM
Behind the curve on this one, great news AZ, well apart from the Tipperary angle.  :P

On the run in ourselves, better not make any moves tomorrow.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2013, 05:27:45 PM
Was up in the bathroom there now and I heard a someone shouting, didn't hear it clearly with the wind and the rain but heard something, came downstairs and went out into the garden heard it again and it was a definite cry for help coming from a house which backed on to our neighbours house but I still couldn't see what was up.

Was worried that it was my neighbour who is 9 months pregnant!! Didn't want to deal with that one, eventually I got a look into the other back garden and there was an old man in his late 80's lying where he fell, in the rain and muddy grass, I bounced over the fence like a Gisele and ran over to him, the old boy had been lying there for 30 minutes FFS shivering and in a bit of discomfort but he seem as if legs and hip were fine. Went into his house and got a blanket to throw round him to keep him warm while I went to get help from his son in-law who lived next door (he was in his late 60's!!) he was a ton weight managed to get him up and onto his bed.

Worries me had I not came home from the shop and went up stairs would anybody hear his calls or if they did would they have bothered to do anything!! The son in law was fast asleep so he couldn't hear him.
Post by: glens abu on June 15, 2013, 05:33:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2013, 05:27:45 PM
Was up in the bathroom there now and I heard a someone shouting, didn't hear it clearly with the wind and the rain but heard something, came downstairs and went out into the garden heard it again and it was a definite cry for help coming from a house which backed on to our neighbours house but I still couldn't see what was up.

Was worried that it was my neighbour who is 9 months pregnant!! Didn't want to deal with that one, eventually I got a look into the other back garden and there was an old man in his late 80's lying where he fell, in the rain and muddy grass, I bounced over the fence like a Gisele and ran over to him, the old boy had been lying there for 30 minutes FFS shivering and in a bit of discomfort but he seem as if legs and hip were fine. Went into his house and got a blanket to throw round him to keep him warm while I went to get help from his son in-law who lived next door (he was in his late 60's!!) he was a ton weight managed to get him up and onto his bed.

Worries me had I not came home from the shop and went up stairs would anybody hear his calls or if they did would they have bothered to do anything!! The son in law was fast asleep so he couldn't hear him.

Well done MR2,we should always look out for our elderly neighbours as we are all heading there ourselves. >:(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2013, 05:37:05 PM
Aye need to check in on neighbours, so all boarders have a wee check on your elderly ones near by.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2013, 07:19:05 PM
Well done MR2.

Did you find his cash when you were in "getting a blanket"?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2013, 07:26:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2013, 07:19:05 PM
Well done MR2.

Did you find his cash when you were in "getting a blanket"?

He'd nothing in his wallet, nice tv though ;)

Was well into his 80's, I'd to throw his quilt round him, it was cover in mud and soaking after a second, rain pissing down ffs. His son in law was late sixties and didn't move well also, ya wonder how we'll end up when (if) we hit that age, can't be great.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2013, 09:37:58 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 15, 2013, 07:29:13 PM
Surprised you didn't try and recruit the two of them for your Southy match against Sarsfields.

Zimmer frame in the corner so defo not up to the task, rugby I'd say was his game though
Post by: Hardy on June 17, 2013, 12:06:41 PM
He was lucky you had the ballet training.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 17, 2013, 01:10:33 PM

Were you wearing this little number when you 'bounced over the fence'?
(http://cdn01.dailycaller.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/Gisele-Bundchen.jpg)

You're a real hero!!!
Post by: johnneycool on June 17, 2013, 01:56:18 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 17, 2013, 01:10:33 PM

Were you wearing this little number when you 'bounced over the fence'?
(http://cdn01.dailycaller.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/Gisele-Bundchen.jpg)

You're a real hero!!!

Jez,
  If MR2 had bounced over the fence looking like that the old lad would have had a heart attack (as well as a boner)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 17, 2013, 03:35:54 PM
No the wife stayed put, she came round in the car as it was raining ;)
Post by: LeoMc on June 17, 2013, 04:09:00 PM

I had to read that a second time before I figured out the pictures.  ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on June 17, 2013, 04:11:19 PM
Here's MR taking the fence on!

(https://encrypted-tbn2.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTNd66y_7R9ODf6FmAsPWGF5VztvcpWBaQ4sd-2aRUMewDKN9U39Q)
Post by: laoislad on June 17, 2013, 04:26:54 PM
I started this thread as a place for good news not as a Look at me I'm f**king great I saved someone's life thread.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 17, 2013, 04:31:14 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on June 17, 2013, 04:09:00 PM

Too subtle?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 17, 2013, 04:32:39 PM

She can hop
Post by: LeoMc on June 17, 2013, 05:20:51 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 17, 2013, 04:31:14 PM

Too subtle?
Bad speller.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 17, 2013, 05:47:52 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 17, 2013, 04:26:54 PM
I started this thread as a place for good news not as a Look at me I'm f**king great I saved someone's life thread.

The good news was that the old man lived!! Had he died we could have called it. Bad news thread. Was just a reminder to watch your elderly neighbours. Not about me or Gisele/ gazelle. More photos please
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 17, 2013, 08:05:28 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 17, 2013, 03:35:54 PM
No the wife stayed put, she came round in the car as it was raining ;)
What was my missus doing round there?!
Post by: omagh_gael on June 21, 2013, 10:34:41 AM
My missus gave birth to our 3rd child in Altnagelvin last night, our first wee girl! All going great so far, however, the next few weeks will be interesting as our two boys are only 1 and 2! Had finally got back into the routine of getting 6-7 hours sleep a night, I can't see that happening too much over these next few months.
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 21, 2013, 11:06:47 AM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 21, 2013, 10:34:41 AM
My missus gave birth to our 3rd child in Altnagelvin last night, our first wee girl! All going great so far, however, the next few weeks will be interesting as our two boys are only 1 and 2! Had finally got back into the routine of getting 6-7 hours sleep a night, I can't see that happening too much over these next few months.

Congrats OG, you'll have some craic with those 3 so close together in age  :o
Post by: Declan on June 21, 2013, 11:11:57 AM
Congrats to you and the boss OG
Post by: laoislad on June 21, 2013, 11:16:34 AM

Congrats.
You may tie a knot in it for a few years....
Post by: Nally Stand on June 21, 2013, 11:30:17 AM
Comhghairdeas OG!
Post by: BennyHarp on June 21, 2013, 11:44:04 AM

Congratulations - its 3 months now since we had our wee fella and he's doing great. Not sure how we'd have coped had we another two running around though! Best of luck with it.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 21, 2013, 11:56:25 AM
Congrats OG. Enjoy the day or two honeymoon period before they come home
Our wee girl was by far our easiest baby so you should be grand.

As ye know I wouldn't recommend 4 ;)
Post by: Hereiam on June 21, 2013, 12:00:23 PM
Ahh omagh I have 3 boys, a 4yr old a 2yr old and a new born at 12 weeks. I had got use to handling the two first boys but the 3rd one just throws everything out the door. I cant remember the last full nites sleep I had.
Post by: omagh_gael on June 21, 2013, 12:32:32 PM
Cheers lads. Will be some craic over the coming months but we're lucky that both our lads sleep 12 hours a night and would sleep through an earthquake so hopefully (down on my knees begging!) that continues.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 21, 2013, 01:19:08 PM
Great stuff OG. There's a bit of a baby boom on at the moment apparently. Our little lady is a month old today, and Croi has had great news himself I think....
Post by: johnneycool on June 21, 2013, 01:28:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 21, 2013, 01:19:08 PM
Great stuff OG. There's a bit of a baby boom on at the moment apparently. Our little lady is a month old today, and Croi has had great news himself I think....

It's time..........

(https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcT58ZYAjulpBGAB3cADTFXOqT2iqP0RvHN0X8gizmk7_1p3uIL4MA)
Post by: Rois on June 21, 2013, 01:44:35 PM
Ah congrats OG, great to hear.  The lucky girl will have two big brothers to look after her then.

You're all making me broody on here.  If I have to bring my wedding forward from next summer, you'll know why...
Post by: Hardy on June 21, 2013, 03:21:55 PM
Congratulations.

Oh, by the way ...

the next few weeks decades will be interesting
Post by: The Iceman on June 21, 2013, 04:35:16 PM
Good stuff Omagh Gael - always happy to hear of growing families!
Post by: omagh_gael on June 21, 2013, 09:51:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 21, 2013, 03:21:55 PM
Congratulations.

Oh, by the way ...

the next few weeks decades will be interesting

Jaysus I'm stressed enough as it is here without that!

Think you're right AZ, in my small estate in Loughmacrory (a very small wee place) there have been at least 10 babies born in the past year and by the looks of some of the other women there could be a few more on the way. Although I once congratulated a woman I kind of knew on her recent pregnancy and it turned out she was just a bit fat, yikes. That was a tricky one. 
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2013, 09:56:30 PM
It's certainly the most exhausting gig out there

Congrats omagh gael
Post by: Oraisteach on June 21, 2013, 10:04:42 PM
Congrats to you and your wife, OG.  Thank goodness you got the girl otherwise you could get going at it for years.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 21, 2013, 10:12:35 PM
Well done OG.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 12, 2013, 02:34:57 PM

Aye, we had a bouncing baby girl there a couple of weeks ago. Bouncing as in wanting to be fed the whole time. Her two year old sister is taking well to her and aiming the tantrums in my direction. Knot is firmly tired and am already pestering herself that we need a spa break, something I've always resisted. Half day off in Croker on Sun, I'll be the fella slumped over the table in the Premium level.

Congrats and best wishes to all recent fathers out there (you'll need it)  :P
Post by: muppet on July 12, 2013, 02:46:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 12, 2013, 02:34:57 PM

Aye, we had a bouncing baby girl there a couple of weeks ago. Bouncing as in wanting to be fed the whole time. Her two year old sister is taking well to her and aiming the tantrums in my direction. Knot is firmly tired and am already pestering herself that we need a spa break, something I've always resisted. Half day off in Croker on Sun, I'll be the fella slumped over the table in the Premium level.

Congrats and best wishes to all recent fathers out there (you'll need it)  :P

Congrats Croí!
Post by: Oraisteach on July 12, 2013, 02:58:42 PM
Yes, Croi, congrats.  There appears to be a period of fecundity on the bord, and I don't mean the "feck it" variety of some Mayo supporters when they arrive at Croke Park.

Sorry that you have to endure that feeding furor, but I have to attribute at least part of that to your name, "croi."  For next few months you might think of changing your name to "Snore na hEireann" or "Armagh Fan na hEireann."  Either one, in the near future, may induce a soothing silence.

Good luck to you, your wife and the little one.
Post by: gerrykeegan on July 12, 2013, 03:39:17 PM
Congrats Croi.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 13, 2013, 11:28:38 AM
Congrats Croi! Hope all goes well.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2014, 01:23:34 PM
A shout out for Laois lad and Mrs Laois lad.

Proud parents of a new babby boy born at 9.24 this morning.

Post by: supersarsfields on April 18, 2014, 01:39:26 PM
Hope young Luis is doing well. Ditto ma and da.
Post by: Asal Mor on April 18, 2014, 01:41:28 PM
Congrats Laois Lad. Best of luck.
Post by: BennyCake on April 18, 2014, 01:42:55 PM
Poor Luis. I feel for him  ;D
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 18, 2014, 02:03:48 PM
Congrats to Mrs and Mrs Laoislad and Laoislad Jr. on the new arrival.
Post by: stiffler on April 18, 2014, 03:08:00 PM
A mate received a new liver after being on the list for a considerable period.

Still early days but things appear to be going well. Fingers crossed for the road ahead.

Post by: Rois on April 18, 2014, 03:18:06 PM
Quote from: stiffler on April 18, 2014, 03:08:00 PM
A mate received a new liver after being on the list for a considerable period.

Still early days but things appear to be going well. Fingers crossed for the road ahead.
That's brilliant news - I hope they cope well.  I love hearing news like that. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 18, 2014, 03:22:56 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2014, 01:23:34 PM

Another Liverpool supporter, suppose he'll grow up during a successful period of dominance!!

Anyway, I'm sure he'll have him hurling so that's not too bad, well done to Mr and Mrs Laoislad!!
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2014, 03:34:57 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 18, 2014, 01:23:34 PM

Congrats LL.

Less time for the running now.
Post by: Puckoon on April 18, 2014, 03:44:35 PM
Good Man, and contratulations to the family!
Post by: gerrykeegan on April 18, 2014, 04:22:47 PM
Congratulations Laoislad.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 12, 2016, 10:12:15 AM
Well that was a fairly infertile period in the boards history, should pick up in another 8 and a half months due to Robbie Brady's antics.

Son and heir to my debts arrived recently, delighted I finally have someone I can grab on Sunday morning and say that he wants to be taken to a match.
Post by: muppet on July 12, 2016, 01:23:09 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 12, 2016, 10:12:15 AM
Well that was a fairly infertile period in the boards history, should pick up in another 8 and a half months due to Robbie Brady's antics.

Son and heir to my debts arrived recently, delighted I finally have someone I can grab on Sunday morning and say that he wants to be taken to a match.

Congrats Croi.
Post by: laoislad on July 12, 2016, 01:26:16 PM
Jaysis I thought the wife had another baby without me knowing!
Hadn't seen those posts above before.
Eh.. Thanks I guess, even if it took me two years to say it...

Oh and congrats Croi.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 12, 2016, 02:53:49 PM
Congratulations Croi. Make sure you start the indoctrination programme early before the young lad finds out where he is from...
Post by: Asal Mor on July 12, 2016, 07:29:15 PM
Congrats Croi and Laoislad. Best of luck to you and your families.  :)
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 12, 2016, 11:25:56 PM
Congrats Croí, boys are mad!!!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 13, 2016, 04:54:48 PM
Thanks lads, indoctrination programme has already commenced.
Post by: laoislad on July 22, 2016, 09:12:48 AM
Farrandeelin getting married today.
Best of luck lad.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 22, 2016, 09:31:44 AM
Congrats Farrandeelin, best of luck and take in every moment truly one of the great days in anyone's life...
Post by: AZOffaly on July 22, 2016, 10:15:03 AM
Good man Farr, congrats and well done. Best of luck to ye both.

And Croí, congrats as well. Another BIFFO in the world is great news.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on July 22, 2016, 10:22:00 AM
The beginning of the end...
Post by: Denn Forever on November 21, 2017, 04:17:35 PM
MUGABE HAS RESIGNED.
Post by: johnneycool on November 21, 2017, 04:30:05 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 21, 2017, 04:17:35 PM
MUGABE HAS RESIGNED.

Yeah,
     Now the Crocodile takes over. The people will rejoice.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 21, 2017, 04:38:54 PM
Haha. Never read the thread since I got married. Things all going well 16 months later. :)
Post by: seafoid on December 10, 2017, 09:00:01 PM
https://m.independent.ie/entertainment/television/tv-news/watch-irish-group-make-live-final-of-germanys-got-talent-after-wowing-judges-with-irish-take-on-pop-hit-36394597.html

https://youtu.be/uoHVtOS5prU
Post by: seafoid on February 22, 2018, 11:12:50 AM
https://m.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/derry-and-slaughtneil-star-chrissy-mckaigue-shares-moving-letter-he-received-that-proves-just-how-special-the-gaa-is-36631556.html
Post by: Rois on March 03, 2018, 08:13:10 PM
I do believe our own haranguerer tied the knot today. Maith sibh!
Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 03, 2018, 08:35:18 PM
Quote from: Rois on March 03, 2018, 08:13:10 PM
I do believe our own haranguer tied the knot today. Maith sibh!

I think you're in the wrong thread   ;)
Congrats haranguer
Post by: Denn Forever on September 09, 2020, 10:58:32 AM
I thought this was feel good.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/other-sport/2020/0905/1163463-iroquois-nationals-lacrosse-ireland-world-games/
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on September 09, 2020, 11:26:48 AM
They've changed their kit to Green, white and gold/orange in honour. Nice Jersey too!
Post by: BennyCake on September 23, 2020, 09:03:45 PM
The Den with Ray, Zig and Zag is coming back!!!!!!
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 23, 2020, 09:30:24 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 23, 2020, 09:03:45 PM
The Den with Ray, Zig and Zag is coming back!!!!!!

Good news is in short supply nowadays..
Post by: Orior on September 23, 2020, 09:52:52 PM
Roof Fuddley Edwards is joining the Belfast Newsletter.
Post by: johnnycool on September 24, 2020, 10:47:47 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 09, 2020, 10:58:32 AM
I thought this was feel good.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/other-sport/2020/0905/1163463-iroquois-nationals-lacrosse-ireland-world-games/

That's a very commendable thing to do. Well done Ireland Lacrosse.
Post by: J70 on December 03, 2021, 12:59:49 AM
Been a while since anyone posted in the good news thread! Thought this might be a good place for this story.

A brother of Neil and Eamon McGee is being hailed after going in to the water to rescue a woman from the Swilly river in Letterkenny. He's a Garda in the town.

Think he still lines out for Gaoth Dobhair as well.

https://www.donegaldaily.com/2021/12/02/garda-hailed-a-hero-after-river-rescue/ (https://www.donegaldaily.com/2021/12/02/garda-hailed-a-hero-after-river-rescue/)
Post by: Rudi on December 03, 2021, 10:40:57 AM
Quote from: J70 on December 03, 2021, 12:59:49 AM
Been a while since anyone posted in the good news thread! Thought this might be a good place for this story.

A brother of Neil and Eamon McGee is being hailed after going in to the water to rescue a woman from the Swilly river in Letterkenny. He's a Garda in the town.

https://www.donegaldaily.com/2021/12/02/garda-hailed-a-hero-after-river-rescue/ (https://www.donegaldaily.com/2021/12/02/garda-hailed-a-hero-after-river-rescue/)

Fair play to him, decent skin. Pretty sure he still plays ball, thats him pictured beside Gaoth Dobhair Garda Station close to the large industrial estate.
Post by: grounded on December 03, 2021, 09:29:31 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 03, 2021, 12:59:49 AM

No mean feet in that freezing water. Saved her life. True hero.
Post by: AustinPowers on November 17, 2022, 01:17:57 PM
I had a feeling this would happen.

Neighbours is coming back.

Great news so it is  ::)

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-63660032
(https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-63660032)
Post by: Armagh18 on November 17, 2022, 02:09:56 PM
I suppose Michael Murphy retiring is good news for every full back in Ulster?
Post by: yellowcard on November 17, 2022, 02:16:28 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 17, 2022, 02:09:56 PM

That might be true if it wasn't for the fact that he spent most of his time around midfield.
Post by: square_ball on November 17, 2022, 02:38:02 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 17, 2022, 02:09:56 PM

Brendan Rodgers might disagree.