U14 Féile

Started by No wides, June 16, 2016, 09:29:04 AM

Quote from: johnneycool on June 16, 2016, 11:53:49 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 16, 2016, 11:18:34 AM
They stayed with us last year and got beat in the Div1 (minus the strong county winners) final. Had a better squad the year before who cantered Div2.

Lots of lamenting during the pinting about the fall off come senior. Pints were nice though (and cheap)  :)

Not wanting to go off topic, but this up until recently was never an issue for us and it was discussed at length and the general belief was that there was a disconnect between juvenile hurling and the adults.

Back in the day once you were out of U14 you trained with the seniors and that was that, no one thought any different. You still played U16 and minor games, but you also got a game with the thirds or reserves on the Sunday if you were up for it. The reserves played before the senior game and you stayed and watched the game and even at that we'd maybe take an U14 team up the country and they'd get a game with the days opponents U14's as well, so they'd have witnessed the senior game between packets of crisps and playing hide and seek and so forth, but there was a natural progression all the way up for them to see.

With the advent of rules prohibiting U16's, now U17's playing adult hurling and our training now staggered slightly. The U17's and minors still train with the seniors though there seems to be 'inputs' from parents not wanting their youngsters playing with the adults even though some are bigger than a lot of our senior hurlers and we're finding the kids are dropping off a lot more and we'd be struggling for numbers for a reserve team.
The new rules were introduced for a good reason and that's fine, but we're going to have to come up with a way of fixing that disconnect for both parents and the children to see what its all about.

I've heard the term that for a lot of families its just another sport to dip in and out of and there's a certain level of truth in that as well.

That's very true Johnney..... Which makes the transition from minor to senior harder

With lads in lower and upper 6th and all the focus that has in households, dual clubs can be seen in a poor light if they flog minors up senior as well.

There is an issue here all the same. How class would it be for all clubs to have 2 or 3 senior teams in each grade. Why stop playing a game you enjoy playing? The reasons need to be understood and addressed

Great evening of hurling in Newport. The kids love it and there's a really competitive but friendly spirit.

No wides

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 07:58:20 PM
Great evening of hurling in Newport. The kids love it and there's a really competitive but friendly spirit.

Brillant to hesr AZ Cashel has been amazing kids all packed off and enjoiying a pint.

The kids are all off enjoying pints?? Ye Ulster lads are savages 😃 BBQ in the park tomorrow evening. Looking forward to it.

Quote from: No wides on June 17, 2016, 08:16:45 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 07:58:20 PM

Brillant to hesr AZ Cashel has been amazing kids all packed off and enjoiying a pint.

Feck sake, what are the Dads on? Whiskey???

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 08:27:02 PM
The kids are all off enjoying pints?? Ye Ulster lads are savages 😃 BBQ in the park tomorrow evening. Looking forward to it.

I hope they're on the Magners, rehydration and all that

Quote from: johnneycool on June 17, 2016, 10:05:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 17, 2016, 08:27:02 PM

I hope they're on the Magners, rehydration and all that

Hope the first aiders have plenty rennies in the bag for tomorrow mornings matches  ;D

No wides

Ye are all a gas lads lmao, we put in some solid performances, but ultimately we were punching above our weight in division 3 and went out of the shield in the quarter final, great weekend and great experience for all the young lads, congrats to all for a brilliantly organised tournament.

I saw a team from Laois playing in Division 9 and they'd beat most teams in Division 2 or 3

SkillfulBill

Dungannon in a feile hurling final 2 years in a row not bad for a crowd of footballers.

Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 18, 2016, 10:02:12 PM
Dungannon in a feile hurling final 2 years in a row not bad for a crowd of footballers.

Are Eoghan Rua the hurling wing of the Clarkes?

There's a serious effort hurling wise going into these youngsters, fair play to the lads behind it. We're meeting their U10's and U12's everywhere we go

SkillfulBill

Quote from: johnneycool on June 18, 2016, 10:31:58 PM

There's a serious effort hurling wise going into these youngsters, fair play to the lads behind it. We're meeting their U10's and U12's everywhere we go

I waiting with great anticipation for someone within either Eoghan Ruadh or the Clarkes to answer this one........

Quote from: SkillfulBill on June 18, 2016, 10:39:45 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 18, 2016, 10:31:58 PM

I waiting with great anticipation for someone within either Eoghan Ruadh or the Clarkes to answer this one........

I'm under the impression they're separate entities. Eoghan Ruadh's are building a new pitch just off the Donaghmore roundabout at the minute.

On a separate note, my eldest lad (5yo) attended a recent hurling academy for last 12 weeks with the Eire Ogs in Carrickmore. On the warm evenings there were 180+ kids at it (from u6 to u10). Great to see it in full flow, their new pitch in the town is an absolutey fantastic set up. Fair play to them all.

Dualta Duane

180+ kids from u6 - u10... thats huge!
keep them all at it! assuming there was boys and girls both? what odds have Paddy Power on yous for Feile in 2020/2022??? ;D