GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ha ha derry on December 16, 2015, 07:50:29 AM

Title: Best after dinner speakers on GAA circuit
Post by: ha ha derry on December 16, 2015, 07:50:29 AM
Our club are having their 50th anniversary next year and want to make it special. Who would you suggest ? Nelson Mc Causland is busy 😉
Title: Re: Best after dinner speakers on GAA circuit
Post by: illdecide on December 16, 2015, 08:53:58 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on December 16, 2015, 07:50:29 AM
Our club are having their 50th anniversary next year and want to make it special. Who would you suggest ? Nelson Mc Causland is busy 😉

If u have deep pockets Peter Canavan is v good
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 16, 2015, 09:25:19 AM
Benny Tierney is always good value
Post by: Norf Tyrone on December 16, 2015, 10:12:26 AM
It depends your angle. We'd Benny for our 40th and he was pretty good. Up for the craic and with a few funny tales to tell.

Post by: PAULD123 on December 16, 2015, 10:41:42 AM
I would definitely agree that Benny is a great speaker. But even better is Joe Brolly. Joe is nothing like what you see him on TV, he is very funny, quick witted and not all that snearing stuff you see for the cameras. He will also talk to the people there, not just do his bit on the stage.

But to be honest the speakers are only as good as the host. Our club has held a few "audience" nights:

Asking James McCartan -  What was you greatest achievement in football? and then going on to ask the exact same question of Ross Carr, Benny Tierney and Paddy Doherty is hardly going to provide scintillating and revealing answers.

Post by: screenexile on December 16, 2015, 11:24:34 AM
Scullion has some great yarns for those types of things as well!!
Post by: ha ha derry on December 16, 2015, 07:09:00 PM
We have a Brian Cody for the serious side but would like a second speaker more for the craic. Wouldn't necessarily need to be Gaa personality, just sports personality !
Have had Joe Brolly before (club member) so maybe give him the nite off to let his hair down 😜
Post by: Louth Exile on December 17, 2015, 10:16:57 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on December 16, 2015, 07:09:00 PM
We have a Brian Cody for the serious side but would like a second speaker more for the craic. Wouldn't necessarily need to be Gaa personality, just sports personality !
Have had Joe Brolly before (club member) so maybe give him the nite off to let his hair down 😜

Well if Joe is a club member then he is the first to ask! Simonstown Gaels celebrated their 50 years in 2015 and held a legends night. Colm got a load of his Indo buddies in, including Joe. It was an excellent night. My favourite was Kimmage, but Joe was excellent. Colm being the local man was slightly reserved, but a well put together night and the MC was crucial, on that occasion it was another Simonstown man who writes for Independent news and media in the big shape of Colm Keyes. Basically, I'm saying, ask Joe about the Simonstown gig
(http://www.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/ehdbfghrytd.jpg)
Post by: armaghniac on December 17, 2015, 04:12:38 PM
Yer man Olly that posts here would be some crack.
Post by: ha ha derry on December 17, 2015, 07:33:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 17, 2015, 04:12:38 PM
Yer man Olly that posts here would be some crack.

Yip, certainly entertaining but affordability might be the issue. 😄
Post by: foxcommander on December 17, 2015, 08:44:04 PM
Surely you'd invite Willie Ross or Gregory Campbell along?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 18, 2015, 03:19:19 AM
We've had Adrian Logan out here before, he was always good crack.
Post by: ha ha derry on December 18, 2015, 08:00:28 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 18, 2015, 03:19:19 AM

Aye, wee Logie might be good if we ignore the Tyrone issue 😁
Post by: redhandefender on December 18, 2015, 04:51:40 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on December 18, 2015, 08:00:28 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 18, 2015, 03:19:19 AM

Aye, wee Logie might be good if we ignore the Tyrone issue 😁

Datsun donaghey
Post by: bannside on December 18, 2015, 09:18:03 PM
At his best you couldn't get much better than Gerry Donnelly.
Post by: Gaffer on December 18, 2015, 10:33:39 PM
Who is Gerry Donnelly?
Post by: orangeman on December 18, 2015, 11:47:39 PM
Quote from: Gaffer on December 18, 2015, 10:33:39 PM
Who is Gerry Donnelly?

Derry man. Very funny man and excellent as an after dinner speaker.
Post by: bannside on December 19, 2015, 09:16:08 AM
http://champions-speakers.co.uk/sports-speakers/rugby-speakers/gerry-donnelly/

In the heady days before the bust and just about every club had a corporate dinner, Gerry was almost unbookable. Would go round each table and guaranteed to pick someone out and tell a (usually unflattering) story about them. Place would be in stiches. A class act in full flow.

Post by: Newbridge Exile on December 19, 2015, 11:08:09 AM
Quote from: bannside on December 19, 2015, 09:16:08 AM
http://champions-speakers.co.uk/sports-speakers/rugby-speakers/gerry-donnelly/

In the heady days before the bust and just about every club had a corporate dinner, Gerry was almost unbookable. Would go round each table and guaranteed to pick someone out and tell a (usually unflattering) story about them. Place would be in stiches. A class act in full flow.

Would agree 100%, been to a number of functions thst Gerry compered,  a  very witty man
Post by: ha ha derry on December 19, 2015, 05:03:26 PM
Gerry Donnelly... The very man. Have not heard him in a long time.
Post by: theticklemister on December 19, 2015, 07:51:52 PM
I am available.
Post by: 5 Sams on December 19, 2015, 09:00:08 PM
Quote from: ha ha derry on December 19, 2015, 05:03:26 PM
Gerry Donnelly... The very man. Have not heard him in a long time.

+1 Heard him once. Brilliant.
Post by: TrueGaeil on April 05, 2018, 09:58:54 PM
Any footage of Gerry Donnelly lads?
Post by: Jinxy on April 06, 2018, 12:15:42 AM
Buff Egan.
Post by: bannside on April 06, 2018, 08:28:48 AM
Funny enough I bumped into Gerry Donnelly at a match in South Derry on Wednesday night and he was in great form. I have his number if anyone ever needs it just pm me.

Our club had Tim Mc Garry at our 75th anniversary last year and he was Ok, funny enough depending on your humour. But Gerry was the MC and warm up act, and he was typically hilarious. Whole place in stitches.

One that brought the roof down was he was driving through a local village (rivals you could say, and adaptable to which function he is at) and he saw one of those blankets hanging out in a public place where people wish someone a happy birthday.

This one said "Happy 38th Birthday......Granny!"

Though as the man says, it's the way he tells them!
Post by: RedHand88 on April 06, 2018, 11:01:41 AM
Jim Allister
Post by: Jinxy on April 06, 2018, 12:55:31 PM
A lot of Gerry Donnelly fans here.
Is he 'Ulster' funny, or 'funny' funny?
Bear in mind, Give My Head Peace is still going.
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 06, 2018, 02:07:08 PM
We had Adrian Logan a long time ago and haven't a clue what he was like. Pat Spillane was over last year and everyone agreed he was the best guest we've ever had.
Post by: seafoid on April 06, 2018, 03:02:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 06, 2018, 12:55:31 PM
A lot of Gerry Donnelly fans here.
Is he 'Ulster' funny, or 'funny' funny?
Bear in mind, Give My Head Peace is still going.

He might be cut out of the same cloth as Paddy Heaney of the Irish news, a mystery man
Post by: rosnarun on April 06, 2018, 05:42:40 PM
Quote from: illdecide on December 16, 2015, 08:53:58 AM
Quote from: ha ha derry on December 16, 2015, 07:50:29 AM

If u have deep pockets Peter Canavan is v good
how much or are you just trying to blacken his name
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 08, 2018, 06:41:54 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on April 06, 2018, 02:07:08 PM
We had Adrian Logan a long time ago and haven't a clue what he was like. Pat Spillane was over last year and everyone agreed he was the best guest we've ever had.

Logie's a great man for keeping 'er lit. Were there many of your Spillane adulatory 'everyone' who wasn't totally wasted? :P
Post by: Syferus on April 08, 2018, 06:50:12 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 08, 2018, 06:41:54 PM

Logie's a great man for keeping 'er lit. Were there many of your Spillane adulatory 'everyone' who wasn't totally wasted? :P

Christ. More chips than the Indian on a Saturday night.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 08, 2018, 06:58:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 08, 2018, 06:50:12 PM

"Chips" in an Indian? You need to get out more!
Post by: Syferus on April 08, 2018, 06:59:37 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 08, 2018, 06:58:02 PM

I don't think you've seen what people order in the Indian..
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 08, 2018, 07:57:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 08, 2018, 06:59:37 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on April 08, 2018, 06:58:02 PM

I don't think you've seen what people order in the Indian..

Nah, just more of your syferusian nonsense.  :P

In fairness to Spillane though, he's done his fair share of after dinners in Tír Eoghain, and no complaints.  :)
Post by: Unlaoised on April 09, 2018, 09:41:13 AM
Seen Dj Carey before ....A big of a snooze fest nice man

Davey Fitzy wasn't as good as I thought.

Had Mick Lyons from ~Meath way back and he was a bit boring as well if I remember.

Denis Bastick was quiet good.....

The best was Canavan but as someone said I think he cost the club a fortune it wasn't my club I just went along for the night!
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2018, 09:57:47 AM
Quote from: Unlaoised on April 09, 2018, 09:41:13 AM

Had Mick Lyons from ~Meath way back and he was a bit boring as well if I remember.

The best was Canavan but as someone said I think he cost the club a fortune it wasn't my club I just went along for the night!

You should have got Mick Lyons from Longford.
Or the one from Carlow.
The Meath Mick Lyons wouldn't even be in the top 5 of Mick Lyonses.
Good to know the one and only 'Dennis Bastick' was quiet good though (deep breaths Hardy... deep breaths).
Post by: seafoid on April 09, 2018, 10:57:48 AM
Who is on the circuit anyway ?
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 09, 2018, 12:50:37 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2018, 09:57:47 AM

Or the one from Carlow.
Good to know the one and only 'Dennis Bastick' was quiet good though (deep breaths Hardy... deep breaths).

Whats Boylan like? 
Post by: Unlaoised on April 09, 2018, 01:40:52 PM

Or the one from Carlow.

Head scratching ......What's your point??
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2018, 02:23:42 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on April 09, 2018, 12:50:37 PM

Or the one from Carlow.

Whats Boylan like?

He's great.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2018, 02:25:04 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on April 09, 2018, 01:40:52 PM

Or the one from Carlow.

His point is you had no need to say 'Mick Lyons from Meath'. Everyone with an arse in their trousers knows who Mick Lyons is.

You made it worse by not saying Denis Bastick from Dublin :)
Post by: Unlaoised on April 09, 2018, 02:35:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on April 09, 2018, 02:25:04 PM
Quote from: Unlaoised on April 09, 2018, 01:40:52 PM

Or the one from Carlow.

His point is you had no need to say 'Mick Lyons from Meath'. Everyone with an arse in their trousers knows who Mick Lyons is.

You made it worse by not saying Denis Bastick from Dublin :)

Some of the younger folk on here might not have known him....Sorry what a terrible error to make I must try harder!!!!
Post by: AZOffaly on April 09, 2018, 02:42:40 PM
Don't apologise to me. Apologise to the Meath lads. They hold an awful grudge :)
Post by: Jinxy on April 09, 2018, 02:59:50 PM
Too late, the damage is done.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 10, 2018, 10:01:48 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 09, 2018, 02:59:50 PM
Too late, the damage is done.

Sorry Lads ....

If it makes it better I often had a pint in the company of Bernard flynn a few years back and altough I never liked him as a player or a pundit he is great company and knows the game inside out!!!
Post by: Orchard park on April 10, 2018, 10:45:37 AM
rosnaruin off this board seems to be a hugely entertaining and witty performer. maybe a duet of him and Syferus