Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lynchbhoy on September 13, 2010, 04:48:45 PM

Title: Playstation 3 v xbox v nintendo
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 13, 2010, 04:48:45 PM
Howya folks,
I have been asked to track down whats best for the sisters kids in terms of playstation 3 or xbox etc.

Kids already have a playstation 2 and want to be able to swap the games with classmates who all seemingly have playstation 3's now.

I'd tell them to shut up and play with what they have, but first question can you play the ps2 games on the ps3 ?
Is there any benefit in upgrading to a xbox or wii or nintendo (is that the other big alternative - I cant even remember!!)

Where is best to buy these fecking things..

TIA
Santa claus
Title: Re: Playstation 3 v xbox v nintendo
Post by: Billys Boots on September 13, 2010, 04:54:56 PM
QuoteI'd tell them to shut up and play with what they have, but first question can you play the ps2 games on the ps3 ?

From bitter experience, despite what Sony have been blathering on about, the newer ps3s cannot play ps2 games.

QuoteWhere is best to buy these fecking things.

Smyth's still seem to have the best offers.  If trading in games, also go to Smyth's, they seem to give twice what the others do.
Post by: OverTheBlackSpot on September 13, 2010, 05:59:24 PM
Think the earlier PS3's were able to play PS2 games. Free on-line gaming is a plus for the PS3 & the HD blu-ray player too.
Post by: Lazer on September 13, 2010, 06:06:34 PM
Yep - the original PS3's can play PS2 games

However, for children, I recommend the Nintendo Wii - it encourages kids to be active instead of just sitting on front of the TV with the controls
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 13, 2010, 06:11:59 PM
Santa will be hauling a Nintendo Wii down our chimney this year. For older children and teenagers I'd go for PS3. If they have PS2 then it's a shoo in.
Post by: liihb on September 13, 2010, 06:16:17 PM
QuoteHowever, for children, I recommend the Nintendo Wii - it encourages kids to be active instead of just sitting on front of the TV with the controls

The xbox are bringing out that new controller where essentially you are the control, no need to hold anything, from all accounts (well Matt Cooper!) its goingto be savage altogether, could be worth getting that, and get the best of both worlds
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 13, 2010, 06:20:31 PM
Quote from: Lazer on September 13, 2010, 06:06:34 PM
Yep - the original PS3's can play PS2 games

However, for children, I recommend the Nintendo Wii - it encourages kids to be active instead of just sitting on front of the TV with the controls
The original ps3s play them but where would you get one now?

Lynch, for kids playing games, I would get the xbox - much more user friendly and cheaper than the ps3 and as Liihb says they have kinect coming out shortly which is more advanced than the glorified wii controlers that sony is introducing.
Post by: Lazer on September 13, 2010, 06:21:20 PM
Quote from: liihb on September 13, 2010, 06:16:17 PM
QuoteHowever, for children, I recommend the Nintendo Wii - it encourages kids to be active instead of just sitting on front of the TV with the controls

The xbox are bringing out that new controller where essentially you are the control, no need to hold anything, from all accounts (well Matt Cooper!) its goingto be savage altogether, could be worth getting that, and get the best of both worlds

Now that sounds like a lot of fun! I can't wait to try it out!
Post by: mc_grens on September 13, 2010, 07:13:33 PM
Go to x-box.com, watch the trailer for Kinect.

Decision made.
Post by: OverTheBlackSpot on September 13, 2010, 08:49:07 PM
The PS3 is bringing out (think its out all ready) a move controller the same as the wii.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 14, 2010, 09:27:56 AM
thanks folks
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 14, 2010, 09:34:33 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 14, 2010, 09:27:56 AM
thanks folks
In summary...they're all good!
Post by: Bogball XV on September 14, 2010, 12:01:27 PM
Quote from: OverTheBlackSpot on September 13, 2010, 08:49:07 PM
The PS3 is bringing out (think its out all ready) a move controller the same as the wii.
out in the next week or so, makes the decision a no-brainer - ps3 also has a blu-ray player.
Post by: mc_grens on September 14, 2010, 01:10:20 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 14, 2010, 12:01:27 PM
out in the next week or so, makes the decision a no-brainer - ps3 also has a blu-ray player.

Again, watch the trailer for Kinect- NO CONTROLLERS!
Post by: deiseach on September 14, 2010, 01:56:33 PM
The wedding obviously went without a hitch since The Real Laois Lad is not on playing his anointed role as Sony's biggest fanboy. For the rest of us, the questions re PS3 v 360 is whether there are any exclusive titles that appeal to you and whether the extra few quid for Blu-ray is worth it. The Wii is a different beast altogether, not really comparable with the other two (which was Nintendo's evil plan / dumb luck - people buy either/or with the PS3 and the 360 leaving the Wii as a standalone purchase)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 15, 2010, 11:54:39 PM
Bought a Wii this evening with Sports, Sports Resort and Super Smash Bros Brawl for £129 in toys r us. Bargain.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 01:54:27 PM
Quote from: mc_grens on September 14, 2010, 01:10:20 PM

got round to watching it, you might have supplied a link!!  Anyway, not that impressed, I sorta like the controller element for most games?  You'd have to try it out a time or two to see if it appeals.  Dfinitely better for fighting games etc, but the driving looked a bit crap - no? 
You can get a ps3 for about £200 and since it has the 'move' thing out this week it'll surpass wii and is also a blu-ray player, has to be the best value, especially for LB's nephews and nieces as their mates all have ps3's too.
Post by: thebigfella on September 16, 2010, 03:04:36 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 01:54:27 PM

got round to watching it, you might have supplied a link!!  Anyway, not that impressed, I sorta like the controller element for most games?  You'd have to try it out a time or two to see if it appeals.  Dfinitely better for fighting games etc, but the driving looked a bit crap - no? 
You can get a ps3 for about £200 and since it has the 'move' thing out this week it'll surpass wii and is also a blu-ray player, has to be the best value, especially for LB's nephews and nieces as their mates all have ps3's too.

Says who?

Plus I wish people would dry their eyes over Bluray. It's really a niche format now (due to the step up from DVD not being as big as VHS to DVD but also sheer price of discs too) and I expect downloadable content to surpass it within the next 3 years. 

You should buy the system their friends have, not because you can swap games but for the ability to play against them online (Although XBox live is completely Superior to PSN. Again it's a paid for service and you can completely see that the subscriptions are channelled back into the service to improve it).
Post by: J OGorman on September 16, 2010, 03:17:24 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 15, 2010, 11:54:39 PM
Bought a Wii this evening with Sports, Sports Resort and Super Smash Bros Brawl for £129 in toys r us. Bargain.

the Wii is some craic...the wee one has one of the sports / fitness games were you jump over logs and do ski jumps and the like, some laughin done
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 16, 2010, 03:33:55 PM

That's the xbox you are thinking off - the ps3 is closer to £300
Post by: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 04:13:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 16, 2010, 03:33:55 PM

249 with games etc from amazon

320gb with move 269from amazon- not released until nov though
Post by: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 04:18:47 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on September 16, 2010, 03:04:36 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 01:54:27 PMSays who?

Plus I wish people would dry their eyes over Bluray. It's really a niche format now (due to the step up from DVD not being as big as VHS to DVD but also sheer price of discs too) and I expect downloadable content to surpass it within the next 3 years. 

You should buy the system their friends have, not because you can swap games but for the ability to play against them online (Although XBox live is completely Superior to PSN. Again it's a paid for service and you can completely see that the subscriptions are channelled back into the service to improve it).
Not a fan boy, nor an avid user so go easy on me, but surely since in this instance the mates all have ps3's it hardly matters if its to play online or swap games?

I disagree about blu-ray too, discs aren't any more expensive than dvds were when they first came out and prices drop rapidly after they've been on release for a few months.  Whilst it's true that online will surpass it, won't the ps3's 320 gb hard drive be pretty useful then?  The ps3 can also play 3d if you wanted to invest in a 3d tv (i wouldn't recommend it).

Re the wii, the 'move' review i read stated that movement was captured more accurately on ps3 than wii and graphics massively exceeded the wii, so it would stand to reason that it gives a better experience, i'm open to opinion though.
Post by: pintsofguinness on September 16, 2010, 04:22:45 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 04:13:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 16, 2010, 03:33:55 PM

Aye, that's not £200.

Anyone I know that has both an xbox and ps3 (inc myself - and I know bigfella has both too) would have the xbox first.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 16, 2010, 04:34:16 PM
X box is excellent, young lad has it and the quality of the games is brilliant.  Got Halo Reach today and fcuk the graphics and gameplay is unreal.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 04:41:27 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on September 16, 2010, 04:22:45 PMThat's the xbox you are thinking off - the ps3 is closer to £300

Aye, that's not £200.

Anyone I know that has both an xbox and ps3 (inc myself - and I know bigfella has both too) would have the xbox first.
Aye, but it's closer to £200 than £300 ;) and I did get one for £207 last year - one of the fat ugly ones though.
Post by: thebigfella on September 16, 2010, 05:04:43 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 04:18:47 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on September 16, 2010, 03:04:36 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 16, 2010, 01:54:27 PMSays who?

Not a fan boy, nor an avid user so go easy on me, but surely since in this instance the mates all have ps3's it hardly matters if its to play online or swap games?

I disagree about blu-ray too, discs aren't any more expensive than dvds were when they first came out and prices drop rapidly after they've been on release for a few months.  Whilst it's true that online will surpass it, won't the ps3's 320 gb hard drive be pretty useful then?  The ps3 can also play 3d if you wanted to invest in a 3d tv (i wouldn't recommend it).

Re the wii, the 'move' review i read stated that movement was captured more accurately on ps3 than wii and graphics massively exceeded the wii, so it would stand to reason that it gives a better experience, i'm open to opinion though.

TBF no one buys games now thinking I can swap with my mates. Everyone buys the same games just so they can compete against each other online.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 16, 2010, 05:48:04 PM
Fancy dans with your broadband!  :'(
Post by: lurganblue on September 16, 2010, 08:47:01 PM
i agree, buy the one that his friends also have. i have had both the x box and the playstation 3 but i prefer the ps3 simply because more of my friends are on the playstation network. i havent found much difference in x box live and the PSN tbh.  I never had a problem with either (except x box were charging me for the pleasure)

Blu-ray play is a novelty that wears off and i dont think many kids would care about it.

i also had a wii a few years ago but sold it.  never used it as i thought the games werent of the same standard as the x box or ps3 but each to their own.

Post by: tyroneboi on September 16, 2010, 09:00:51 PM
What is the PSN like? Is there much lag time when your playing games? I take it any game you can play on xbox live you can play on PSN?
Post by: Benny Sweeney on February 20, 2012, 09:49:10 PM
How do I change language settings? have it on italian:( cant change it back:(