Things that make you go What the F**k?

Started by The Real Laoislad, November 19, 2007, 05:54:25 PM

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on November 27, 2023, 07:14:10 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on November 27, 2023, 07:00:28 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 27, 2023, 06:15:28 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on November 27, 2023, 11:59:30 AM
Quote from: Orior on November 27, 2023, 11:03:34 AMWhat about sex - are they allowed to have sex? Maybe it only matters if it is:

1) on your own
2) with another first team member
3) with a squad member
4) with a squad member from the neighbouring parish
5) with a woman (over 40)
6) with a woman (under 40)
7) with a sheep
8 ) nun of the above
9) all the above

But only with management approval.

A quickie at best they'll approve? certainly no bondage or foreplay allowed.

I would have thought the Physio would be expecting an extensive warm up to prevent injury.
GPS should be attached and it has to be uploaded to the group.

I've seen a brave few physios that you'd happily have an extensive warm up with!!!

Load of shite these things,  Clarenbridge apparently. They obviously have serious ambition but show me any club who doesn't have at this time of year. I know we would have had drink bans but they were obeyed mostly in spirit than actuality. As players though when someone stepped out of line we dealt with it in-house. Bate the shite out of them in a tackling grid...that put the notion out of them to take the piss.
Load of bollix alright.
So a lad that makes a living in Dublin is seriously expected to travel down for training every week from January onwards? I assume they mean for a weekend session but still that's taking the piss.
No way you can expect a guy whose life is now elsewhere to travel back very single weekend for training.

A drink ban is pointless. I never drinked during fball seaason, I seen guys on or off drink and still could play the same. There no harm in a odd drink. Binge drinking another matter!

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 27, 2023, 07:31:40 PMA drink ban is pointless. I never drinked during fball seaason, I seen guys on or off drink and still could play the same. There no harm in a odd drink. Binge drinking another matter!
Absolute waste of time. You can't stop young lads from having a few beers from time to time and nor should you try to.
Now clearly lads should not be on the piss a few days before a championship game - that goes without saying - but that's very different to having a blanket drink ban.

All part of the wider drive to "elite performance" throughout the association. Got a good laugh last year when some S&C lad on Twitter was proudly showing off the end of season tests they were putting the Offaly U14 development squad through. "Putting them through their paces".

All this over training, silly bans etc, takes all the enjoyment out of fball, which is what a amateur sport is supposed to provide.

Theres a balance to it, any team taking themselves seriously won't be drinking the week before a championship game, but some of the best bonding and memories you'll ever make is heading back for a few pints after a game. Nothing mad because you still want to get back on track at training during the week.

Oh I'm so glad I played in the times I played...

That said as I got older I remember chasing a league title and I got wind of lads that were still well oiled, we lost by a point and needed to win another game for the title, I let rip in changing rooms, they give me the collective "aye dead on" of course who am I to give off about being worse for wear the next day.

Championship was/is and I'd say for every club different. Wouldn't be too many that would let themselves down in prep for that game!

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 27, 2023, 10:24:08 PMOh I'm so glad I played in the times I played...

That said as I got older I remember chasing a league title and I got wind of lads that were still well oiled, we lost by a point and needed to win another game for the title, I let rip in changing rooms, they give me the collective "aye dead on" of course who am I to give off about being worse for wear the next day.

Championship was/is and I'd say for every club different. Wouldn't be too many that would let themselves down in prep for that game!

Happened to many of us. I remember being fit as f**k, ridiculously so in school. Playing Senior from 16. Could swing off a 10 foot Basketball rim and field ball from the skies.

Hit university at 18 and hit the drink and pizza hard. Dont think i was ever injured before it, by the end of 1st year i gained a stone (not of muscle) and was heading South. End of 2nd year i'd gained another stone and remember i nearly couldnt start (shouldnt have) on club U21 team.
Many others (who i would have seen as poor footballers((basically just handpassers like all players are now)) were getting stronger in Gyms etc and leaving me in their dust.

Aged 21 i couldnt touch the bottom of the Basketball net (which is 9 foot high).

Further i got away from it the worse i got. Nearly all comebacks ruined by injuries given carrying extra weight.
Fast forward to my 30s and i was eating healthier and trying to do my best (but the injuries i'd sustained as a result of the above never let me be my best again) and like you i was then the one giving out to kids for doing what i did (actually nearly not as bad as i did).

Circle of life and without proper guidance or support/family etc easy to go that way.

Balance to it is the key. I couldnt handle find it!

AnPuca

Is there any update on the condition of the carer and the wee child stabbed in Dublin?

Can't get that poor wee one out of my head.

burdizzo

Don't know, but in the Irish Times today they said there were grave concerns for her life. As far as I know, she's still on life support. Horrendous.

Lookit is the same as voilĂ  in French. A direct translation. Interviews with players from Mayo, Ros and Galway will never sound the same again.

Any citizen, especially a child, is entitled to privacy in relation to their health. There should be no expectation of hourly bulletins to satisfy certain people's agenda.

GAABoardMod5

Quote from: armaghniac on November 30, 2023, 06:05:56 PMAny citizen, especially a child, is entitled to privacy in relation to their health. There should be no expectation of hourly bulletins to satisfy certain people's agenda.

I've deleted a few posts on the child.

Please refrain from speculation.

Lets hope for a full recovery for child and carer. Assume the others injured are ok?